View Full Version : my cat loves the Brisbane Lions

danielcanberra
1 Oct 2006, 17:56
I thought it was time I shared. Here is her 'pet' bandana signed by most of the players. She was also featured in the Young Lions newsletter (for kids), and Bernie 'Gabba' Vegas sent her a signed photo.

http://i104.photobucket.com/albums/m176/keisercat/DSC00669-1.jpg

danielcanberra
1 Oct 2006, 17:58
http://i104.photobucket.com/albums/m176/keisercat/BerniePic.jpg

danielcanberra
1 Oct 2006, 18:01
http://i104.photobucket.com/albums/m176/keisercat/DSC00643-1.jpg

Kaitsey
1 Oct 2006, 18:04
haha what the hell are you going on about!

Herbs
1 Oct 2006, 18:32
Nice red x's you have there........:p

Vipertooth
1 Oct 2006, 18:34
My cat goes for the lions. And im not joking :)

danielcanberra
1 Oct 2006, 19:11
Nice red x's you have there........:p

Try Firefox browser

danielcanberra
1 Oct 2006, 19:17
My cat goes for the lions. And im not joking :)

Neither was I, hence the pics.

Please share some photos Vipertooth.

Seriously, my cat disagrees with me on favourite players though. She's taken a real shine to Josh Drummond. I said to her, "hey what about Blacky" and she just meowed at me. I told her that Drummo told me that he's more of a dog person even though he doesn't have one. Yeah, she's always going for dog people.

TheBrownDog
1 Oct 2006, 19:59
Try Firefox browser

I'm a Firefoxer. I see nothing also.

Warwick
1 Oct 2006, 20:06
Neither was I, hence the pics.

Please share some photos Vipertooth.

Seriously, my cat disagrees with me on favourite players though. She's taken a real shine to Josh Drummond. I said to her, "hey what about Blacky" and she just meowed at me. I told her that Drummo told me that he's more of a dog person even though he doesn't have one. Yeah, she's always going for dog people.
And we have a new member for the "posts while under the influence" club on the Brisbane BF board.

Grimreepah
1 Oct 2006, 20:09

Hmmmm... I'm starting to worry about you. Perhaps it's for the best that the pics aren't coming up.;)

danielcanberra
1 Oct 2006, 20:42
And we have a new member for the "posts while under the influence" club on the Brisbane BF board.

Err, I'm always like this and not under the influence of anything.

Crikey, check out the last membership category on the left hand side
http://shop.afl.com.au/lions/

danielcanberra
1 Oct 2006, 21:04
I'm a Firefoxer. I see nothing also.

I've added links to the original posts.

scott522
2 Oct 2006, 09:41
The links come up error - try tinypics

danielcanberra
2 Oct 2006, 10:39
The links come up error - try tinypics

I've used photo bucket and replaced them.

scott522
2 Oct 2006, 14:39
nice !!!

danielcanberra
2 Oct 2006, 15:55
nice !!!

Thanks. A better reaction!

I reckon Charmo's newfoundland Watson gets dressed up in Lions gear.

Chasing the Dream
2 Oct 2006, 20:55
http://i9.tinypic.com/33ayv74.jpg

Mine does too!!

His name is Fitzroy and loves watching Friday Night Football with me.

I originally wanted to call him Brown Dog, but that was vetoed due to the fact that he is not brown and not a dog either.:o I am now glad I did not call him Aka.

Chasing the Dream
2 Oct 2006, 21:03
http://i10.tinypic.com/2ah9lxw.jpg

Here is a second pick.

He loves playing with the 2003 cup!!

danielcanberra
2 Oct 2006, 21:39
Fitroy is so cute.

Keiser watches the games with me too (when they are telecast).

Warwick
2 Oct 2006, 21:42
I prefer dogs.

Cats don't have opposable thumbs.

loyallion
2 Oct 2006, 22:02
Awwwwwwww both those cats are cute Fitzroy looks like my Rory she loves the footy aswell.

Warwick
2 Oct 2006, 22:24
Considering this is a thread for our pets, i would like you to meet Furball:

http://img113.imageshack.us/img113/803/dogsc4.png (http://imageshack.us)

Named after what he eats for breakfast.

John
2 Oct 2006, 22:37
They say that some people look like their pets Warwick:p.

Grimreepah
2 Oct 2006, 22:40

Lol:D

Warwick
2 Oct 2006, 22:43
Rubbish.

http://img142.imageshack.us/img142/2734/dog2sj0.png (http://imageshack.us)

John
2 Oct 2006, 22:52
:D:D:DLOL Warwick

Grimreepah
2 Oct 2006, 23:17
Rubbish.

How many dogs have you got?

scott522
3 Oct 2006, 16:43
Will have to find the pic of my cockatiel Starr sitting on her Sherrin watching the footy...

danielcanberra
3 Oct 2006, 18:30
Watching the game...

http://i104.photobucket.com/albums/m176/keisercat/lions1.jpg

danielcanberra
3 Oct 2006, 18:39
Giving the paws up approval to the Lions doona cover. She loves sleeping on top of the Lions logo as it is made of 'felt' material.

http://i104.photobucket.com/albums/m176/keisercat/DSC00678.jpg

loyallion
3 Oct 2006, 19:06
Idont like the new Lions doona Ive got one that was released in 2001 it has lions all over it cartoon ones I rather that one the new one looks pretty boring.

danielcanberra
3 Oct 2006, 20:12
Idont like the new Lions doona Ive got one that was released in 2001 it has lions all over it cartoon ones I rather that one the new one looks pretty boring.

Boring but suitable for grownups....

loyallion
3 Oct 2006, 20:57
Boring but suitable for grownups....
Yeah I am aware its for Grown ups so is mine **** its only a quilt cover like your cat by the way boy or girl.

danielcanberra
3 Oct 2006, 21:03
Yeah I am aware its for Grown ups so is mine **** its only a quilt cover like your cat by the way boy or girl.

Keiser is a girl cat, and is 16 and a half years old. She has a cooked chicken diet.

She's claimed three of my Lions scarves. Thankfully I have another three which I refuse to share with her. And my beanies don't fit her, otherwise she'll claim them too.

Apparently, she's claimed ownership of the doona cover... not surprising considering she thinks all the furniture belongs to her...

loyallion
3 Oct 2006, 21:20
Keiser is a girl cat, and is 16 and a half years old. She has a cooked chicken diet.

She's claimed three of my Lions scarves. Thankfully I have another three which I refuse to share with her. And my beanies don't fit her, otherwise she'll claim them too.

Apparently, she's claimed ownership of the doona cover... not surprising considering she thinks all the furniture belongs to her...
Wow at least im not the only one with an old cat I have 3 cats one is 1 still a baby the other 2 are 14years old and 16 years old they are all females My 16 year old looks alot better then her daughter who is 14 they both still eat canned food and they love the football . infact Diddy the 14 year old was born the day before the 1992 Grand final Dussy the 16 year old used to love the footy she had a habit of playing with a soft football back in the day not now though.

sherminator
3 Oct 2006, 22:09
Considering this is a thread for our pets, i would like you to meet Furball:

http://img113.imageshack.us/img113/803/dogsc4.png (http://imageshack.us)

Named after what he eats for breakfast.

Sure you aren't a Collingwood supporter?;)

sherminator
3 Oct 2006, 22:15
Awwwwwwww both those cats are cute Fitzroy looks like my Rory she loves the footy aswell.

LOL, I have a cat named Rory. He is 18 and seanile, I don't like him much (mater of fact he p!sses me off)

But my other cat, Ruby, she is cute and big. She doesn't like footy much, she likes watching butterflies and pidgeons. She eats alot, too. Her nickname/s is 'Tubby, Tubsy and Fatty Fatty Fat Cakes'

loyallion
4 Oct 2006, 00:22
LOL, I have a cat named Rory. He is 18 and seanile, I don't like him much (mater of fact he p!sses me off)

But my other cat, Ruby, she is cute and big. She doesn't like footy much, she likes watching butterflies and pidgeons. She eats alot, too. Her nickname/s is 'Tubby, Tubsy and Fatty Fatty Fat Cakes'
It's good to know that I'm the only person who named there cat Rory the **** I copped when I named her that having my sister and mum say why are you calling a cat Rory I actually named her Rory after the football player Rory Hilton. I didnt care for his footy skills I just loved that name! hes a has been now was meant to be the next best thing for Brisbane they didnt think so lol got traded to Richmond and then de listed. Rory loves the footy she will get as close as she can to the TV screen and try to grab the footy LOL and she has a toy footy somewhere . She is a beautiful Grey tabby shes a Tonkenese cross manx and truly lives up to the Rory name( very fiesty and doesnt take any **** lol).

Vidman
4 Oct 2006, 06:53

Does Rory have a much more talented older brother?
:o

Vidman
4 Oct 2006, 07:02
Ladies and Gentleman I give you aka..

http://webtrixtechnologies.com/external/image-library/tb_3829.jpg

of course he is a Volitan Lionfish. I named him aka cause when I first got him he was small and quick, and deadly accurate. He is a predator so he kills anything in the tank small enough, but shies away from the big boys. He doesnt play well with others. He's bulked up a lot since the photo was taken, but is still deadly. I discovered after I bought him that he is poisonous though. He's not deadly to humans, but can give seriously affect your mental state.

I guess I'm gonna have to find him a new tank in melbourne now.

irel
4 Oct 2006, 07:32
Ladies and Gentleman I give you aka..

http://webtrixtechnologies.com/external/image-library/tb_3829.jpg

of course he is a Volitan Lionfish. I named him aka cause when I first got him he was small and quick, and deadly accurate. He is a predator so he kills anything in the tank small enough, but shies away from the big boys. He doesnt play well with others. He's bulked up a lot since the photo was taken, but is still deadly. I discovered after I bought him that he is poisonous though. He's not deadly to humans, but can give seriously affect your mental state.

I guess I'm gonna have to find him a new tank in melbourne now.

What effect does Aka's poison have on Bulldogs?

Vidman
4 Oct 2006, 07:39
What effect does Aka's poison have on Bulldogs?

I'm not sure irel, my guess would be that his poisonous quills would take a while to penetrate the tough exterior of the bulldog, and that initially the poison would be slow acting, in fact it might show initial signs of acting as a stimulant. However after that initial period, I would imagine the Bulldog would slow down, start chasing it's own tail, and collapse in a heap around August or so. Of course the Lion fish would die in the process.

John
4 Oct 2006, 08:37
I'm not sure irel, my guess would be that his poisonous quills would take a while to penetrate the tough exterior of the bulldog, and that initially the poison would be slow acting, in fact it might show initial signs of acting as a stimulant. However after that initial period, I would imagine the Bulldog would slow down, start chasing it's own tail, and collapse in a heap around August or so. Of course the Lion fish would die in the process.

Haa haa. That is a post keeping as eye on. Onya Vidman.

Lady Lawrence
4 Oct 2006, 10:50
My dog refuses to wear anything, he did have a lions jumper but it stayed on for all of 10 seconds!!

http://i12.tinypic.com/4cj4xzt.jpg

He used to come to training at Coorparoo with me when he was really little, and one day he slipped his collar and ran off. I chased him around the oval and then he finaly took a sharp right and headed straight for the sheds where some of the boys were riding bikes, boxing etc. He made a beeline straight for Steve Lawrence (of course - he was setting out for maximum embarrassment) but hey it got worse. Steve picked him up and waited for me to catch up. He was giving him a cuddle and puppy was chewing his ear etc etc and Steve handed him to me and said cute puppy he's a jack russell right? Yeah I said a full pedigree. What's his name, at which point I wished for the floor to open up and swallow me even more. Max I said quietly as I realised Matthew Kennedy was standing right next to me and came up for a pat. The grin on his face was huge but I had to explain that he wasn't named after him!

irel
4 Oct 2006, 12:06
Haa haa. That is a post keeping as eye on. Onya Vidman.
I agree John. LL should make that a sticky so that all could occasionally through season 07 glance at the rate at which the poison is taking affect.

Great post Vidman.

Once again here it is:I'm not sure irel, my guess would be that his poisonous quills would take a while to penetrate the tough exterior of the bulldog, and that initially the poison would be slow acting, in fact it might show initial signs of acting as a stimulant. However after that initial period, I would imagine the Bulldog would slow down, start chasing it's own tail, and collapse in a heap around August or so. Of course the Lion fish would die in the process.

danielcanberra
4 Oct 2006, 18:34
What a mark!

She takes the ball under the chin... while lying down.

http://i104.photobucket.com/albums/m176/keisercat/Keiserball.jpg

Ashli
4 Oct 2006, 18:41
aw that is so cute! ... so can I ask.. why do you take so many photos of ur cat with lions gear though?

danielcanberra
4 Oct 2006, 19:07
aw that is so cute! ... so can I ask.. why do you take so many photos of ur cat with lions gear though?

She's a tragic and fanatical Brisbane Lions supporter that's why.

And the photos are well received at the Lions office.

roostersgal4eva
4 Oct 2006, 19:36
she is so cute danielcanberra :D

danielcanberra
4 Oct 2006, 20:12

Also, I love my cat and the Brisbane Lions.

I want to adopt a Newfoundland one day, and call him Charmo... hee hee hee....

roostersgal4eva
4 Oct 2006, 20:15
Also, I love my cat and the Brisbane Lions.

I want to adopt a Newfoundland one day, and call him Charmo... hee hee hee....
I got this cat and wanted to call it Lynchy but couldnt cause i found out it its a she

So I grabbend the AL from Alastair and the LY from Lynch and hence she is called Ally

:D:D

danielcanberra
4 Oct 2006, 20:18
I got this cat and wanted to call it Lynchy but couldnt cause i found out it its a she

So I grabbend the AL from Alastair and the LY from Lynch and hence she is called Ally

:D:D

Cute. Any pictures?

roostersgal4eva
4 Oct 2006, 20:25
on my phone but i have to buy a data cable for the phone

danielcanberra
5 Oct 2006, 22:37
My dog refuses to wear anything, he did have a lions jumper but it stayed on for all of 10 seconds!!

Max is soooo cute!

What about the official Brisbane Lions dog tag?

danielcanberra
18 Oct 2006, 20:44
I've bumped this up for you CoZi

CoZi36
18 Oct 2006, 21:05
I've bumped this up for you CoZi

Aww gee thanks! :cool:

danielcanberra
30 Nov 2006, 20:34
http://i104.photobucket.com/albums/m176/keisercat/DSC00740.jpg

loyallion
5 Jan 2007, 00:14
Here is my Kitty Leo http://i11.tinypic.com/3z1igq9.jpg He's 16 weeks and I'm gonna get him to love the football Ive got him playing with a footy already. Here is my other Cat Rory
http://i3.tinypic.com/43r9qoz.jpg She loves the football. Everytime a lions game is on shes right there next to me watching it with me.

danzan22
5 Jan 2007, 00:21
daniel are u a women

danielcanberra
5 Jan 2007, 05:30
daniel are u a woman

Not going to dignify such a silly question with an answer.

Would you ask me such a silly question if I had a dog?

loyallion
5 Jan 2007, 09:26

Mate I admire that you have a cat and your male. It's way better than been some macho pig with a dog who believes that cats are stupid animals and are only good for feeding to pitballs to blood them. I don't mind dogs (I have 2 of them) but I love cats. More guys should own cats they make great companions and are cheaper to feed, and you don't have to be female to have one.

roostersgal4eva
5 Jan 2007, 09:40
this is Ally

http://img139.imageshack.us/img139/5065/pb140003xo2.jpg

:D

loyallion
5 Jan 2007, 09:57
this is Ally

http://img139.imageshack.us/img139/5065/pb140003xo2.jpg

:D

Awwww how cute is she, how old?

roostersgal4eva
5 Jan 2007, 10:09
just under a year

took her to the vet to worm her and give her the 1st vaccine

didnt flinch

danielcanberra
5 Jan 2007, 10:17
Mate I admire that you have a cat and your male. It's way better than been some macho pig with a dog who believes that cats are stupid animals and are only good for feeding to pitballs to blood them. I don't mind dogs (I have 2 of them) but I love cats. More guys should own cats they make great companions and are cheaper to feed, and you don't have to be female to have one.

Thanks!

I know most of the dogs in my neighbourhood, if that counts for anything - Dusty a kelpie who lives across the road, Sofie a Great Dane is the back neighbour, Hagrid was a Staffy next door (but his ppl had him put down), Zac a black bitsa down the road, Tessie a Border Collie two streets away who accosts me to play with her on my way home from work...

I've been meaning to adopt a Newfoundland dog for past last 10 years...

I didn't intentionally adopt a cat, she and her late brother just decided to move in... (and I am glad they did).

I've also hosted an underground railway to rescue lost animals - Benson a lost labrador, Hagrid (originally until I worked out he actually lived next door), Sharn a Burmese...

danielcanberra
5 Jan 2007, 10:20
http://i104.photobucket.com/albums/m176/keisercat/DSC00768.jpg

loyallion
5 Jan 2007, 15:10
Thanks!

I know most of the dogs in my neighbourhood, if that counts for anything - Dusty a kelpie who lives across the road, Sofie a Great Dane is the back neighbour, Hagrid was a Staffy next door (but his ppl had him put down), Zac a black bitsa down the road, Tessie a Border Collie two streets away who accosts me to play with her on my way home from work...

I've been meaning to adopt a Newfoundland dog for past last 10 years...

I didn't intentionally adopt a cat, she and her late brother just decided to move in... (and I am glad they did).

I've also hosted an underground railway to rescue lost animals - Benson a lost labrador, Hagrid (originally until I worked out he actually lived next door), Sharn a Burmese...
That is a wonderful thing to do Daniel, we need something like that here where I live. Animal cruelity is very common here Cats are used to blood Pig dogs, dogs have been left to fend for themselves, I could go on but I won't but well done for doing that.

danzan22
5 Jan 2007, 15:31

its a serious question, u are hear posting pictures of your cats lol, maybe all this denial about not being a full time essendon supporter has got to you.

loyallion
14 Jan 2007, 00:59
I had to show you guys these pictures I was taking a picture of my Lions jersey for ebay, I left it for 2 minutes and my gorgeous little leo decided to hop on. Hes just turned 17 weeks and I think I've converted him to be a lions supporter.;) ( or at least to like footy)

http://i3.tinypic.com/47jvgq8.jpg

http://i12.tinypic.com/2wrpw07.jpg

danielcanberra
14 Jan 2007, 08:20
I had to show you guys these pictures I was taking a picture of my Lions jersey for ebay, I left it for 2 minutes and my gorgeous little leo decided to hop on. Hes just turned 17 weeks and I think I've converted him to be a lions supporter.;) ( or at least to like footy)

Is that a signed one you are selling?

I think Leo is dropping a hint that he wants to keep the jumper.

Have you taken out pet membership for Leo?

loyallion
14 Jan 2007, 21:23
Is that a signed one you are selling?

I think Leo is dropping a hint that he wants to keep the jumper.

Have you taken out pet membership for Leo?

No that one is the Baggy one I wear around the house the signed one is framed I have all lof the jerseys since the Lions merged in 1997 Leo loves this little footy I have in that pic it's his favorite toy and I was.nt aware that the Lions had a Pet Membership.

danielcanberra
3 Feb 2007, 23:58
My cat passed away around 12.50am early this morning (Sunday) at the vet who put her to sleep after she suffered a seizure when her tumour ruptured. She went into shock, could hardly move and panted heavily.

I will miss her.

Rest in Peace Keiser.

loyallion
4 Feb 2007, 00:07
My cat passed away around 12.50am early this morning (Sunday) at the vet who put her to sleep after she suffered a seizure when her tumour ruptured. She went into shock, could hardly move and panted heavily.

I will miss her.

Rest in Peace Keiser.

Awww I'm so sorry Daniel :( poor bugger

Kerr4PM
4 Feb 2007, 00:28

I will miss her.

Rest in Peace Keiser.
Poor Bloke.. Its never easy losing a pet especially one that you obviously loved and cared for so much..

:(

loyallion
4 Feb 2007, 00:40
Heres a pic of my 2 original cats on the left we have Duss shes now 17 and shes doing pretty well for her age too shes the mother of the cat on the right who is now 15 thats Diddy. Diddy isnt well though :( the poor bugger has cancer I only was told this the other day So she can go anyday which even to this point is making all teary eyed :( I raised this cat from the day she was born and when she eventually passes I am going to be so upset That cat was my bestfriend when I was a kid.

http://i19.tinypic.com/4hi8g2g.jpg

danzan22
4 Feb 2007, 00:43

I will miss her.

Rest in Peace Keiser.
Is this the first pet you have lost. I remember when my first pet died from being run over, sad times.

loyallion
4 Feb 2007, 00:45

I will miss her.

Rest in Peace Keiser.

http://i5.tinypic.com/453z7u9.jpg

I am so sorry for your loss Daniel I really am.
Just remember this though By the looks of it she loved you alot and will know how your feeling right now. I know you will miss her mate its a hard thing to deal with she was your pet . Where she has gone she no longer feels anymore pain she might not be wiith you physically But I believe she is watching over you mate she knows you loved her and to show her thanks she loved you back.

R.I.P
Keiser

danielcanberra
4 Feb 2007, 01:51
Is this the first pet you have lost. I remember when my first pet died from being run over, sad times.

Her Fatty brother went before her in August 2004. Doesn't make it any easier.

He had Feline Immunodeficiency Virus (caught from fighting), and it was hard watching him deteriorate from starvation (the virus affected his nervous system and he could no longer eat).

Keiser had a good life (would have turned 17 in March). She ate out of fine bone china, slept in my bed (and under the covers in winter) and spent a lot of time on my lap. She loved her football team and enjoyed watching the games on TV with me.

Thanks guys/gals for your kind thoughts.

Vidman
4 Feb 2007, 07:55
Sorry to hear of your loss daniel. Going to spend some time with my dogs today, as you've made me appreciate them just a little more.

armagedon ready
4 Feb 2007, 08:44
I am really sorry to hear about your loss, and know the sadness you will be feeling. Pets are such an integral part of our lives.
I have often visited this thread, and found it pleasant and whimsical, and I am proud that supposedly "tough" Lions football supporters are prepared to share some personal experiences.
(Now soulmate has gone off with tears in her eyes)

John
4 Feb 2007, 19:12
I am really sorry to hear about your loss, and know the sadness you will be feeling. Pets are such an integral part of our lives.
I have often visited this thread, and found it pleasant and whimsical, and I am proud that supposedly "tough" Lions football supporters are prepared to share some personal experiences.
(Now soulmate has gone off with tears in her eyes)

Indeed AR. We had cats when I was a young bloke and when I went my folks added a dog. I decided that I was never going to have pets as I could not devote my time to them but always liked to head home and play with the family pet. When my father passed away over 10 years ago the pet dog became the biggest friend my mother has. She has since become involved in fostering dogs that people have dumped. It never ceases to amaze me as to the reasons that people dump dogs. Some of these animals are the most friendly of creatures but on a whim they are dumped. People take them to vets and animal baths and never return. Others never return to collect from Kennels after holidays. Those that even bother to take a dog to the pound give some of the most inane reasons for no longer wanting the dog. It is beyond my comprehension. If we are unable to be nice to dumb animals what hope is there that we can stop mans inhumanity to man.

Chasing the Dream
4 Feb 2007, 20:13
Sincere condolences Daniel.

As a fellow cat person, I have gone and searched out my cat "Fitzroy" and given him an extra scratch behind the ear.:thumbsu:

loyallion
4 Feb 2007, 20:18
Sincere condolences Daniel.

As a fellow cat person, I have gone and searched out my cat "Fitzroy" and given him an extra scratch behind the ear.:thumbsu:

Hey mate do you live near Beerwah at all?

http://i5.tinypic.com/42s4ggi.jpg

http://i9.tinypic.com/2mm7erp.jpg

Coz My little Leo looks alot like him

loyallion
15 Jun 2007, 21:12
Today I lost my beautiful dog Muttles to cancer:( she loved the Lions so much :( This dog was a one of a kind and was the smartest dog I've ever known.

R.I.P Muttles I'm gonna miss you girl:(

To any one with a pet, Make sure you tell them that you love them at least once a day you never know when their time is up.

Vipertooth
15 Jun 2007, 21:52
Today I lost my beautiful dog Muttles to cancer:( she loved the Lions so much :( This dog was a one of a kind and was the smartest dog I've ever known.

To any one with a pet, Make sure you tell them that you love them at least once a day you never know when their time is up.

I understand your pain

R.I.P Muttles

R.I.P Sally

Vidman
15 Jun 2007, 21:53

Sorry for your loss LoyalLion. I'm sure you were as loved by her, as she was by you.

danielcanberra
15 Jun 2007, 21:58
My sympathy loyallion.

It is always a difficult and upsetting time. I hope your pain will eventually be replaced by fond memories.

She know you loved her.

RIP Muttles.