View Full Version : Bring back the Roys!

Stocka
21 Feb 2002, 19:28
Living only a few minutes' walk from Princes Park, I can't help but feel a sense of sadness, thinking that in years gone past, the ground used to be a home for the Roys. On a personal level, it would be great just to have your club's home ground right next door, especially when it was quite a good hunting ground for the Roys. Likewise, on a more wholistic level, it's a damn shame for football, and football culture, that a club like Fitzroy still isn't playing at Princes Park (and likewise, Footscray at the Whitten Oval).

There were some great Roys games at Princes Park, in the late 80's, and early 90's - as I'm sure there were great Roys games at all of our home grounds.

Princes Park, in playing terms, was a great home for the Roys. I can only imagine, if we'd kept a top list of players, and finances hadn't been so tight, we'd have used the ground to take us to a GF. In fact, in our last stint with Princes Park as our home, most years, there was a sense of optimism - hoping the new recruits could top off an a combination which already boasted the likes of Roos, Osborne, Pert, Lynch, Armstrong, Lyon, Gale, Broderick, Kappler, Wheildon, Conlan, and the list goes on. Unfortunately, circumstances went against us.

What I'd give though, to see another season of the Roys running around at Princes Park, with Roos, Osborne, Lynch, and all the others, in the (Red) Maroon and Blue - and I'd love to see that bright Gold monogram flash across the green expanses of the ground, with someone kicking a ripper from half-forward - yearning with anticipation of the welcome roar of the Roys' faithful - anticipation, that the victorious feeling of kicking a goal, a good passage of play, a good quarter, winning a game, would also transpire to the length of a season - and perhaps finals glory.

Geez it sucks that it still isn't that way.

TwiggyDunn
21 Feb 2002, 20:09
That avatar looks familiar cos its on slant!

gregtri
23 Feb 2002, 09:02
fitzroy reds play in the roy jumper down at brunwick st, the true home of fitzroy. get down there this season your will love it .
heaps of roy boys get to the games.:D

OldLion
23 Feb 2002, 21:43
Couldn't agree more - and a flag to boot. Footy as is should be.

Stocka
24 Feb 2002, 18:52
:)

Don't get me wrong fellas, I love the Reds, and for that matter, the Lions (in the AFL) too, but I guess for me living near Princes Park, it's hard not to feel something, considering during that my time as a support saw the ground being "home" for the majority of the time.

I wonder what it must be like, for all those Roys fans who got to see the Roys play at Brunswick St., back in the 60's or earlier? Geez, wouldn't you love to take them along to a Reds game, and see the look on their faces, and hear their memories! I guess that's how I feel about Princes Park! Perhaps one day, we might see a Roys jumper run around there once again (now there's some motivation for having a Roys jumper for one AFL game per year in Melbourne, against a traditional Fitzroy rival!).

Carn the Roys!!!

Mobbenfuhrer
25 Feb 2002, 18:01
I agree re Princes Park, as, coming down from the country for work, I only got to see them regularly from 1988.

It was a great ground at that time.