http://www.abc.net.au/sport/content/200610/s1752977.htm
Mabye all this will stop, good on ya west! :D :thumbsu:
Grimreepah
1 Oct 2006, 22:38
luthor's not going to be happy:cool:
black_hart
2 Oct 2006, 02:34
I knew there was a reason I liked westy:D
It'd be interesting if Aker continues to open his gob, and the Doggies say "stuff you, you can go somewhere else".
Grimreepah
2 Oct 2006, 03:23
Akermanis forced to apologise (http://www.realfooty.theage.com.au/realfooty/articles/2006/10/01/1159641212081.html)
Why should he apologise? There's nothing wrong with what he said? :rolleyes:
My question is; Why should he apologise to the Bulldogs? He's not their player until the trade is done and we know anything can happen between now and 2.00pm Friday the 13th. A bit pre-emptive of the Bullies.
Shouldn't he appologise to the "Team Aker" on BF who've been running his campaign for letting the team down? Must be spilled cornflakes at the breakfast table of campbel, Lady Lawrence, Skilts. warhead, Homo jr etc... this morning.
Maybe if he apologises to the Brisbane Lions for besmirching the name, maybe an apology to our CEO, Maybe an apology to Simon Black and the rest of his TEAM MATES, maybe an apology to Cresswell for destroying his career, maybe an apology ....this is too tiring the list goes on and on.
Maybe "TEAM AKER" or the "AKER BACKERS" whatever they are calling themselves still can't see anything wrong in what their golden child is doing.
Did anyone say "ceasefire"? I doubt it. Does anyone truly expect "Team Aker" to take this humiliation laying down? Just wait for the vitriol spewing from their camp following this unexpected hurdle.
Bobby Beecroft
2 Oct 2006, 08:54
Similar article in the other paper.
http://www.heraldsun.news.com.au/footy/common/story_page/0,8033,20508733%255E20322,00.html
Contacted & unavailable for comment, thats a first.
Maybe the other 15 clubs would also not have tolerated the $hit, we've endured also.
Shock, Horror.
Similar article in the other paper.
http://www.heraldsun.news.com.au/footy/common/story_page/0,8033,20508733%255E20322,00.html
Contacted & unavailable for comment, thats a first.
Maybe the other 15 clubs would also not have tolerated the $hit, we've endured also.
Shock, Horror.
Is the only reason he is not available for the comment that the footy season is over and there is no more footy show??????????????
From same article:
The ill feeling between Akermanis and his former club is at an all-time low.
Brisbane star Jonathan Brown was incensed with his former teammate's comments during The Footy Show.
The pair appeared on separate segments but, according to sources, Brown was on the verge of confronting Akermanis once the show was finished.
How sad is that?? Hopefully being told off by another club will do the job.
ok, this one is is out there but it's food for thought...
if I was the running the show at the Bullies and wanted to trade for Aker and he had settled on my club as his preferred destination, i would advise him to do exactly what he has been doing in recent weeks
pay out on the Lions to scare off other suitors and then I would 'slap him with a feather duster' in the media to create the impression that the Bullies are losing interest and that he is a less attractive proposition...it drives his price down and the Lions deperation to trade up
even if it wasn't part of a sneaky Bullies campaign (and no disrespect to the Bullies, it would be just playing hardball) to some degree it's worked...aker's price is going down
my biggest hope it that some other clubs get involved through a geneuine interest in Aker or just through a desite to make the Bullies pay more for Aker (i.e. because they are seen as a looming contender etc)
worst case scenario for all parties = no club wants Aker and he sits out his contract with us :(
Do you really think that Smorgon would bother to be involved in a scenario like that?
They may do that, who knows? Knowing Aker, i can see him being at Richmond or Essendon next year, and this past 3 months has been a huge plan.
Bobby Beecroft
2 Oct 2006, 13:15
They may do that, who knows? Knowing Aker, i can see him being at Richmond or Essendon next year, and this past 3 months has been a huge plan.
As I posted Aker & Sheeds had a secret chat on Saturday morning.
Sheedy do something like this?
Warwick show some respect ;)
Conspiracy theories - love em.
He was a tiger in his youth Warwick. You never know..............
Grimreepah
2 Oct 2006, 13:28
I don't buy the conspiracy with the Bulldogs. Eade, and Wallace for that matter, are straight shooters. Sheedy on the other hand...
worst case scenario for all parties = no club wants Aker and he sits out his contract with us :(
It is unlikely that Aker will sit out his contract with us beatnik. IMO there is sufficient reasons for the club to rescind his contract and make him sit out twelve months out of football with no financial consequences on the club.
It is alleged the club have engaged the services of the biggest IR Law firm in the country (about a month ago) specifically to make sure all the T's are crossed and I's are dotted when it comes to the next step in the Aker saga.
Expect the club to play absolute hard ball negotiating a trade for Aker. So all these conspiracy theories may be happening but they are all for naught. I believe the club will play it's hands to get the best deal possible or nothing.
Nothing means letting Aker go in limbo for twelve months.
BrisGirl
2 Oct 2006, 13:40
Hopefully being told off by another club will do the job.
:p .....I laughed and laughed
I don't buy the conspiracy with the Bulldogs. Eade, and Wallace for that matter, are straight shooters. Sheedy on the other hand...
you know i enjoy exploring the dark side of any issue Grim ;)
i did put in a disclaimer though because i have always thought the Bullies were straight shooters as well (particularly their recruitment of Eade...brilliant stuff)
It is unlikely that Aker will sit out his contract with us beatnik. IMO there is sufficient reasons for the club to rescind his contract and make him sit out twelve months out of football with no financial consequences on the club.
It is alleged the club have engaged the services of the biggest IR Law firm in the country (about a month ago) specifically to make sure all the T's are crossed and I's are dotted when it comes to the next step in the Aker saga.
Expect the club to play absolute hard ball negotiating a trade for Aker. So all these conspiracy theories may be happening but they are all for naught. I believe the club will play it's hands to get the best deal possible or nothing.
you've been a steady hand on the tiller throughout this debate mate and have given me confidence
i agree that the club will play hard - the fact that they are so determinedly tight-lipped has made made me think that we are operating to some wider plan...or perhaps legal advice as you suggest ;)
If the trade to another AFL club does not happen I can only repeat these wise words from another thread.
"I would hate to see Aka running around in Red next year, playing for the reds and getting all the media for them.and support of the youngsters for them.
He played Rugby at Nudgee didn't he,was teased for wanting AFL over it.He could be a brilliant winger or Gregan type.He could play for Australia.shudder at the thought."
BrisGirl
2 Oct 2006, 14:48
If the trade to another AFL club does not happen I can only repeat these wise words from another thread.
"I would hate to see Aka running around in Red next year, playing for the reds and getting all the media for them.and support of the youngsters for them.
He played Rugby at Nudgee didn't he,was teased for wanting AFL over it.He could be a brilliant winger or Gregan type.He could play for Australia.shudder at the thought."
He wants to go to Melbourne, this is what this is all about.
re: conspiracies:
i am sorry to quote MarkT but I thought he worded it well - made it sound less like a coordinated undercover operation and more like clever negotiation tactics...
If the Dogs want Aker they would want to seem half hearted. The want him cheap and Brisbane can't pay him to not play so the Dog's want it to be deal with them or PSD freebie. The more noise they make about Aker's issues the better for them.
Grimreepah
2 Oct 2006, 15:07
The Aker vs West/Smorgan comments are already dividing the Bulldog supporters.
That was always going to happen. I warned em but got chased off.;)
He wants to go to Melbourne, this is what this is all about.
I was being a tiny bit :rolleyes:
Homer Jnr
2 Oct 2006, 15:41
Reds used their $$$ on Clinton Schifcofske.
Who is he?
Homer Jnr
2 Oct 2006, 16:08
Who is he?
League convert. Played Full-Back for the Maroons in Game 3 of Origin and kicked the conversion that put them up 16-14.
Right. I watched my only game of league this season last night. It is not my game to be honest and pass's me by. Union too for that matter.
Homer Jnr
2 Oct 2006, 16:14
Right. I watched my only game of league this season last night. It is not my game to be honest and pass's me by. Union too for that matter.
Understandable.
Living deep in Rugby League territory opens your eyes.
Our game is the greatest and none of the rugby codes compare to it, but they serve an entertainment purpose, particularly come Origin time.
Lady Lawrence
2 Oct 2006, 16:21
hasn't he left the Reds for overseas $$$$$'s?
Homer Jnr
2 Oct 2006, 16:24
hasn't he left the Reds for overseas $$$$$'s?
What?
He only signed a month or two back.
I haven't checked the news today... But... no...
Lady Lawrence
2 Oct 2006, 16:26
sorry my bad!! was watching something the other day that showed all the retiring/going overseas players and Schifcofske was one of those listed. Must have been a League thingy. Sorry :o
Homer Jnr
2 Oct 2006, 16:29
sorry my bad!! was watching something the other day that showed all the retiring/going overseas players and Schifcofske was one of those listed. Must have been a League thingy. Sorry :o
Yeah, their Grand Final breakfast I think...
With 1/2 the former Queensland playing roster in Perth and the other 1/2 scattered amongst the ACT, NSW and QLD, you had me scared for a moment, because it honestly wouldn't have surprised me.
Lady Lawrence
2 Oct 2006, 17:07
Yeah, their Grand Final breakfast I think...
With 1/2 the former Queensland playing roster in Perth and the other 1/2 scattered amongst the ACT, NSW and QLD, you had me scared for a moment, because it honestly wouldn't have surprised me.
who's the big Union signing that the Titans got back into League?
Grimreepah
2 Oct 2006, 17:07
Matt Rogers
Homer Jnr
2 Oct 2006, 17:08
Mat Rogers.
Isn't back in League until 2008.
If Acker stays it will only be because Brisbane has been offerred garbage and the main repercussion on Brisbane will be more difficulties in salary cap management.
For Acker things are likely to be more serious. This is realistically his last chance to land another contract. If he sits out next year he will be a year and a half out of football at 31 and there are not many teams that are going to want to take the punt for the money that he would get this year. If Brisbane play it smart they could also get out of paying him next year.
If there is no trade and I am Brisbane I don't take any action until after the free agent draft. You know if Acker is not traded there is no way he is keeping his mouth shut. There is likely to be sufficient grounds for termination of his contract (there is already) and with the draft already gone no team would be able to add him.
Like I said the only real problems is that his salary would still count against the cap. The players association aren't likely to be enthused though but by the same token are they going to pursue it too vigorously when Acker has been so clearly breaching the terms of his contract.
If his contract is broken then why would his salary count against the cap?
If Acker stays it will only be because Brisbane has been offerred garbage and the main repercussion on Brisbane will be more difficulties in salary cap management.
For Acker things are likely to be more serious. This is realistically his last chance to land another contract. If he sits out next year he will be a year and a half out of football at 31 and there are not many teams that are going to want to take the punt for the money that he would get this year. If Brisbane play it smart they could also get out of paying him next year.
If there is no trade and I am Brisbane I don't take any action until after the free agent draft. You know if Acker is not traded there is no way he is keeping his mouth shut. There is likely to be sufficient grounds for termination of his contract (there is already) and with the draft already gone no team would be able to add him.
Like I said the only real problems is that his salary would still count against the cap. The players association aren't likely to be enthused though but by the same token are they going to pursue it too vigorously when Acker has been so clearly breaching the terms of his contract.
Interesting post. What about kimps question?
If it got to that, they would have to choose to go one way or the other.
1) Delist him during the trade period and legally terminate his contract, saving that money from the club's TPP.
2) Legally terminate him after the trade period, save the money, BUT have the amount still counted in the TPP for that year.
I can't see a way of having your cake and eating it.
1) Delist him during the trade period and legally terminate his contract, saving that money from the club's TPP.
Ok I'll have to dig deep to be certain, but off the top of my head I'm pretty sure you can't do that.
There are actually certain periods where you are not allowed to make list changes. Hence the 1st, 2nd and final list lodgement dates.
Ok I'll have to dig deep to be certain, but off the top of my head I'm pretty sure you can't do that.
There are actually certain periods where you are not allowed to make list changes. Hence the 1st, 2nd and final list lodgement dates.
Hypothetically what happens then if he stays here because we do not get a trade suitable to us. After a week or two when all lists are lodged our hero makes one more comment too many that is in breach of his contract?
He would stay on the list as that is not able to be changed but his contract would be terminated and there would be no obligation on Brisbane to pay him anything. List and contract are two separate things.
What Xplo said was exactly what I was getting at.
campbell
2 Oct 2006, 18:30
I would hate to think of the legal ramifications if we did that. eeek.
I would hate to be another player watching in those cricumstances, they could be thinking hey that could be me.
Not a good cohesive move I wouldnt think
He would stay on the list as that is not able to be changed but his contract would be terminated and there would be no obligation on Brisbane to pay him anything. List and contract are two separate things.
What Xplo said was exactly what I was getting at.
Capital:D:D:D. We are in the box seat:cool:
:D that's all folks:D
I would hate to think of the legal ramifications if we did that. eeek.
I would hate to be another player watching in those cricumstances, they could be thinking hey that could be me.
Not a good cohesive move I wouldnt think
There would be lawyers at 20 paces that is for sure. For that reason I can't see the AFL letting it get to that. They are going to be pressuring both Brisbane and the Bulldogs to be fair and reasonable.
That being said it is not beyond the bounds of possibility and if you don't think the scenario is being used as a negotiating strategy with Acker you are kidding yourself.
There would be lawyers at 20 paces that is for sure. For that reason I can't see the AFL letting it get to that. They are going to be pressuring both Brisbane and the Bulldogs to be fair and reasonable.
That being said it is not beyond the bounds of possibility and if you don't think the scenario is being used as a negotiating strategy with Acker you are kidding yourself.
Of course this is true to but I am still celebrating:D:D:D:D. we are in the box seat.
campbell
2 Oct 2006, 19:07
I think we may be just getting the tip of the iceberg at the moment.
Why would we do that.Just because we can?
if that happened, we as a club could do untold damage to our goodwill with our members,players, sponsers.Imagine the media.it would be really ugly.
It already is.
campbell
2 Oct 2006, 19:12
It already is.
nah.this ain't ugly.
If we terminated his contract, and refused to pay.That would be really really ugly, all around.
Grimreepah
2 Oct 2006, 19:15
nah.this ain't ugly.
If we terminated his contract, and refused to pay.That would be really really ugly, all around.
How's that. All Aker can do is bad mouth us in the media. Well he's already played his cards on that one.
He signed a legally binding contract. If he has breached the agreed terms of that contract (and I stress if -- I certainly haven't seen the contract), Brisbane could tear it up.
They've certainly been holding their cards very closely to the chest for a long time now.
campbell
2 Oct 2006, 19:18
How's that. All Aker can do is bad mouth us in the media. Well he's already played his cards on that one.
Do you honestly reckon the players association would let it happen.Let alone the AFL.
BULLTISH no more uglier than Port making a statement with Stevens. Except they had no option but to send him into the PSD instead of Collingwood.
Port has not had a problem with any of their players since. When Carr wanted to leave to Freo everything went smoothly and Port got the reasonable compensation.
The statement we will make to the players and the footy community is "We are a club with integrity and principles" and no two bit amateur thespian is going to hold a gun to our head and get away with it.
I think someone recently advised you to stay away from the trade period for your own good health. It's obvious you have not taken John's advice. Pity!
Grimreepah
2 Oct 2006, 19:21
Do you honestly reckon the players association would let it happen.Let alone the AFL.
If the Lions are entitled to tear up his contract, then they wouldn't be able to do anything even if they wanted to.
I think we, we being the Brisbane Lions and it supporters, are on a winner.
campbell
2 Oct 2006, 19:26
If the Lions are entitled to tear up his contract, then they wouldn't be able to do anything even if they wanted to.
A contract is legally binding.He has said and done NOTHING that he hasn't said or done over the whole term of this time at our club.
We as a club can not let this become a legal mess. I for one want my club in one piece, not bankrupted.
A contract is legally binding.He has said and done NOTHING that he hasn't said or done over the whole term of this time at our club.
We as a club can not let this become a legal mess. I for one want my club in one piece, not bankrupted.
So prior to this season we allowed him to trash the club?
Grimreepah
2 Oct 2006, 19:31
Who are you trying to kid?:rolleyes:
If Aker is in breach of contract, then the club should definitely look at terminating his contract. Having him hang around for another year is not going to be pleasant by any stretch of the imagination.
Who are you trying to kid?:rolleyes:
If Aker is in breach of contract, then the club should definitely look at terminating his contract. Having him hang around for another year is not going to be pleasant by any stretch of the imagination.
Only if we fail to receive true recompense come trade time and then when the lists are in and we say he has breached his contract.;)
Look, none of us have seen his contract, so blanket statements of either 'He has done nothing wrong' or 'He has broken his contract' are pointless at this stage.
I would however very strongly suspect that if Brisbane were to take the contract breach angle, they would gurantee they were on granite solid legal grounds before proceeding.
It's all pure speculation at this stage.
campbell
2 Oct 2006, 19:37
Only if we fail to receive true recompense come trade time and then when the lists are in and we say he has breached his contract.;)
Hard to prove that one, especially if he doesn't open his mouth if he is not traded,
We would be up the proverbial.
Hard to prove that one, especially if he doesn't open his mouth if he is not traded,
We would be up the proverbial.
campbell his performance on last weeks footy show!!!! remember that as just one within the last week?
campbell
2 Oct 2006, 19:43
campbell his performance on last weeks footy show!!!! remember that as just one within the last week?
You see, I don't think it was bad.
I am sure he had his facts and proof before he said what he said.I heard from someone that it was a Board member who told him some of the stuff.
We don't really want that money on our TPP, so it would be a mistake to follow the legal course outside of trade periods. Ideally he'd be simply delisted and allowed to look after himself in one of the drafts.
You are either deaf, blind or stupid
or all of the above.
In your workplace they allow you to accuse your boss being a bully among other things without foundation or evidence and let you carry on as if nothing has happened?
Only fourteen days before the full fury of the Brisbane Lions legal force is unleashed (possibly, subject to sutisfactory trade outcome). There will be devastation in it's wake. For those that think that the AFL and AFLPA will not allow it, keep thinking it.
Expect similar from others: does Cresswell ring a bell. Do you think you can just go on national television and say what this individual has said and expect no consequences to follow.
Just bury you head in the sand an leave it there, the real world is too ugly for you.
Grimreepah
2 Oct 2006, 19:51
I didn't think you would. But bringing the club into disrepute may very well be a breach of contract. Contracts are normally in favour of the party that pays the money
I am sure he had his facts and proof before he said what he said.I heard from someone that it was a Board member who told him some of the stuff.
Of course you give him the benefit of the doubt, but why should anyone else believe it unless he is prepared to name his source.
In regard to his conduct over the last few years there is a standard legal clause which goes along the lines that previous breaches or failures to enforce terms does not constitute a waiver of future rights.
My point originally in making the contractual point was that although Brisbane's position is not the best it does have a few weapons that it can use. I do not think anyone will want all the dirty laundry done in the courts. I agree with Irel though the one that might be a bit different is the Creswell one. A point to consider on this too is that truth (not saying it was as I have no idea) is not a complete defence to any defamation action.
Sauce?
Ok and what about the revenge quotes. You do not think it is so bad that a contracted player of a club publicly states he wants revenge?
Yes and this board member told him "Now that you have this information go on national television and announce it to the world":rolleyes:
I heard from someone that a senior player trashed him at a function a week or two back. Do you believe that?
In regard to his conduct over the last few years there is a standard legal clause which goes along the lines that previous breaches or failures to enforce terms does not constitute a waiver of future rights.
My point originally in making the contractual point was that although Brisbane's position is not the best it does have a few weapons that it can use. I do not think anyone will want all the dirty laundry done in the courts. I agree with Irel though the one that might be a bit different is the Creswell one. A point to consider on this too is that truth (not saying it was as I have no idea) is not a complete defence to any defamation action.
The first part of your quote means that it is within Jason Akermanis's interests to say nothing from now on?
Well, it's been that way for quite a while now, so I doubt it matters much either way from here on in.
I would think they've got 'enough in the can' by now if they ultimately decided that was the best way to go.
Chances are they'll strike a peachy deal with someone and all will be super and we'll hear nothing of this.
If you thought what Aker did as "not too bad", than you'll have no issues with naming the board member here on this forum?
So, who was it, what is his/her name?
Hey how have you seen his contract? Is it on the Lions website?
As far as I know individual contracts are not available anywhere. You can get a pretty good idea of the standard terms and conditions however by having a look at the collective bargaining agreement on the players association website.
http://www.aflpa.com.au/index.cfm?menuid=D2ADB4DC-D4F6-9270-9194BFFFFD90C753
Lady Lawrence
3 Oct 2006, 09:47
Couple of points on all of this that I have to comment on.
1. Up until this year Jason's comments whilst controversial and make you shake your head have not been in directly pointed at our club. Not all his comments this year are attacks of the club though but are seen this way due to perception with all that is going on. His gonna be a wallaby stuff, comments on the game's rules etc etc whilst perhaps not the best comments coming from a player certainly kept us on the back pages and were tolerable. Campbell you are way off base here with your nothing wrong with his comments over the year. I posted something similar at the weekend but was pretty crook and didn't take the time to explain my nothing wrong comment but this was with regards to the footy show only as I will below.
2. Some of the things he said on the footy show were pretty bad from the point of view that he was casting aspersions on someone who was not there to defend themselves. I truly doubt though Jason would have actually lied about it. Cressa after all has been public in his defense of Jason to Matthews and Bowers and there is now a lot of talk that he may be at the Buldogs. Jason out there with the pixies as he is, is certainly not stupid, far from it. He would not be risking relations with a possible assistant coach at the club he purports to be the only club he wants to go to. Pointing out the fact that we have made a big loss this year financially though - so what, it's public knowledge anyway and he was on a show and paid to make comment. Which I am sure if the club really wanted to with the lawyers thay have in place etc have been able to out some sort of injunction out there.
campbell
3 Oct 2006, 10:40
LL
I was meaning his comments on the footy show.I already knew it all anyway, so I didn't feel it was anything bad.
Over the year, I give up, with who is who in the zoo on all the comments from lethal,bowers,downie, aka.they all mesh together.they are all club employees and i hate any of it being played out in the public arena, which i have stated already numerous times.
trade week isnext week, so lets hope it over then, and we as a club get something and aka gets a new club.
Grimreepah
3 Oct 2006, 11:14
LL
I was meaning his comments on the footy show.I already knew it all anyway, so I didn't feel it was anything bad.
Over the year, I give up, with who is who in the zoo on all the comments from lethal,bowers,downie, aka.they all mesh together.they are all club employees and i hate any of it being played out in the public arena, which i have stated already numerous times.
trade week isnext week, so lets hope it over then, and we as a club get something and aka gets a new club.
What comments from Lethal, Bowers and Downie are you referring to?
campbell
3 Oct 2006, 11:18
What comments from Lethal, Bowers and Downie are you referring to?
grim
they all have come out over the duration and made many many comments about the aka issue.
from downie giving details of couselling sessions.things that should be kept in house.bowers saying we will tell aka where he goes, its not up to him. etc etc.
grim
they all have come out over the duration and made many many comments about the aka issue.
from downie giving details of couselling sessions.things that should be kept in house.bowers saying we will tell aka where he goes, its not up to him. etc etc.
I suspect if you bothered to do some research on this campbell you will find that the comments about Akermainis by Bowers, Mathews, Downie and Kelly can be counted on less than 8 fingers and 2 thumbs and that would be an exageration by me. The counceling comment was made in the official relaese that is on the Lions site. I will not bother posting it to you as I have done countless times
This post by you is a furphy. A defence of the now undefendable. Akermanis has been asked by a club that he does not even play for to clam it. It has reached this point. I am told that he is an intellagent individual. I suspect he is not. He has lacked the ability to see that his actions have not been productive from minute one of this debarcle. He has done 90% of the talking and it has now reached this. How can you throw that post up and expect it to be taken seriously?
Grimreepah
3 Oct 2006, 11:42
grim
about the aka issue. they all have come out over the duration and made many many comments
What's the point of making stuff up? Who are you trying to kid? Or are you just having a lend of me?
campbel it is disgraceful what you are doing on the main board.
http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=273232
Do you ever stop and reflect what and who you are?
campbel it is disgraceful what you are doing on the main board.
http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=273232
Do you ever stop and reflect what and who you are?
Have you received your apolagy yet?:rolleyes:
Lady Lawrence
3 Oct 2006, 12:09
Ok we've all had enough, if you guys wanna keep laying into each other then go do it on the main board. I have asked until I am blue in the face with all of you.
None of us are ever going to all be in agreeance with this. I say black you say white etc etc etc, I ca see it's seven, you can see eleven, sound similar but not the same. so on and so forth.
Don't bring the main board in here.
If you make comments on the main board remember which team you say you barrack for, remember that people here will have their view of you and your posts clouded by what you say over there as well.
As a moderator I cannot and will not ban people from here for an opinion that conflicts with those of others be it minority or majority. I will however come down on people who start name calling and attack the poster not the post.
One thing to remember though. Carrying on like you lot are out on the main board is no different to what some of us have accused the Board and Club of doing by airing our dirty laundry in public.
The vitriol spewed forth by some on here sickens me.
Jason Akermanis you have a lot to answer for. You have ripped this club apart. Yes you may be bitter and yes the club may have done wrong by you - I guess one day we will or will not know but in the meantime is it fair for a few individuals at the club and your fall out with them - much as they may be warranted - is it fair that every passionate supporter gets dragged through mud with you as well.
Bowers - you too have a lot to answer for, your decisions on making some things public that should remain in house, your crap management of our great club and the financial losses we have incurred and whether or not all this disharmony is down to you or not - it is your job to run the club to the best it can be and you are failing miserably. You were handed a premiership winning team, with the best staff in the competition both on field and off field and now look at us.
All I can say is to all members on here if you agree with Bowers management of the club, vote the same board back in. If not use your bloody vote, turn up to the AGM and voice your opinion.
Have you received your apolagy yet?:rolleyes:
Pretty quick to demand one but slow with expressing of one!
Anotherwords no John.:rolleyes:
Grimreepah
3 Oct 2006, 12:29
Bowers - you too have a lot to answer for, your decisions on making some things public that should remain in house, your crap management of our great club and the financial losses we have incurred and whether or not all this disharmony is down to you or not - it is your job to run the club to the best it can be and you are failing miserably. You were handed a premiership winning team, with the best staff in the competition both on field and off field and now look at us.
Gee, you really have it in for the bloke. Has he done anything good?
Lady Lawrence
3 Oct 2006, 12:45
Instead of laying into me for questioning Bowers ability perhaps tell me what is OK about the points I have previously raised and what you think he has done that is good.
Not a Bowers fan - I think he deserves his own thread. However it does worry me how he comes up whenever Aker is 'discussed'.
They are very different issues in my mind. Issues that need to be addressed - separately.
Lady Lawrence
3 Oct 2006, 13:03
Not a Bowers fan - I think he deserves his own thread. However it does worry me how he comes up whenever Aker is 'discussed'.
They are very different issues in my mind. Issues that need to be addressed - separately.
They come up because IMO he is the root cause behind it all.
Instead of laying into me for questioning Bowers ability perhaps tell me what is OK about the points I have previously raised and what you think he has done that is good.
LL you're very quick to accuse posters of 'laying in' or being 'abusive' when they disagree with you or your mates
how exactly is grim's post laying in?
it's a question on topic and there are no personally insulting statements :confused:
Sorry LL I just cannot agree with you on that. Akermanis issues began the day he made injudicious comment on the rotation of the players in the Courier Mail after the first game of the season that we lost to Geelong at Kardinia Park. Bowers did not make him write that nor force him to react as he has since. Kimp is correct IMO that they are separate issues. This has been the fundamental difference between the pro and anti akermanis camps. The anti have wanted him to be silent and the pro have blamed everyone else for his public comments other than Akermanis himself
Don't bring the main board in here.
i am confused...
why is it not OK to reference a relevant post on the same topic from the main board...
BUT
...it is ok to drag an Aker discussion back to your own pet hate (Bowers) even though no-one was talking about that :confused:
All I can say is to all members on here if you agree with Bowers management of the club, vote the same board back in. If not use your bloody vote, turn up to the AGM and voice your opinion.
as for Bowers' responsibility...
let me use an analogy: you are responsible for making this a courteous, respectful message board and obviously it isn't always...but does that make you a bad, terrible "gotta get rid of" moderator? i wouldn't think so...as you've said, you've tried and tried til you're blue in the face but not everyone's behaviour or performance is within your control
to apply the analogy, the lions board are obviously currently happy with Bowers as evidenced by the fact that he is still there
if the Lions posted losses every year before Bowers arrived, I assume that means he delivered the club's first profit - you've got to look at the plues as well as the minuses...no-one wants to post a loss but there is obviously a context
i prefer a steady hand at the tiller and I am glad our board is not playing 'musical coaches' like geelong or carlton :thumbsu:
not true at all
i did a search on aker-related issue a few weeks ago and found that there were oodles of complaints about Aker's mouth and behaviour from before Bowers time
i would post the links but I am sure to be shot down by The Coven for 'playing the man' mainly due to the fact that the quotes would expose the hypocrisy of many current Aker Backers
Grimreepah
3 Oct 2006, 13:29
I only ask because you and campbell have a lot of negative things to say about the club/board. I don't know if it is personal, or if this is a keep the bastards honest mindset or what, but from where I stand the level of anger seems to be disproportionate to the criticisms levelled at them. When I asked you last month whether you give any credit for the massive sponsorship deal they landed with Vodafone, you refused to answer. You just couldn't bring yourself to compliment them.
With regard to the points you raised:
1. Bowers not making things public that shouldn't have been - what are you referring to?
2. The financial loss - yes, but I am led to believe that some of that was because of the social club. And one has to take into consideration that a club that has lost all it's star players to injury and struggling on the field will have a drop in support. And the Vodafone deal means things are looking up for the future.
3. You are alluding that Bowers may be responsible for the disharmony - may I just point out that I was criticised (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=250746&page=8&highlight=Aker) for suggesting this would cause disharmony:p. But what has the board done wrong in this situation? If they had sacked Aker 7 years ago and not won any premierships there wouldn't have been any disharmony.
4. Staff turnover - While I'll admit this is not a good sign I don't know the circumstances so it may or may not be for the best. I do notice that you are critical of budget losses, but that you are also critical of cost cutting, so they are damned if they do and damned if they don't.
Obviously I'm not involved in any way with the board and I'm perfectly aware that others know a lot more than me, but you and campbell are being very critical of them and they don't have a right of reply, so I'm trying to think of things from their point of view as well.
So he has been on holidays, had his end of season surgery, been training, all whilst my club pays him.How dumb are we.
I've steered clear of the personal battles -- pretty tedious stuff really, but honestly, there comes a time when people have to take a step back and earnestly ask themselves whether words like 'my' or 'we' are any longer relevant.