View Full Version : David Spriggs

rossfunke
2 Oct 2006, 15:38
Just wondering if you guys think if we got Spriggsy back to the club.

He is out of contract, and had a awesome year in the swannies reserves team, also was an emergency for the Grand Final.

His pace has defienetely picked up since he left Geelong after that shocking accident, and his skill level has picked up too. Guess training with guns like Goodes, Kirk, Hall (quality players) helped.

I rated him very highly when he was with the Cats, and I think he could be benefitial to the team.

Could we use our final pick on him or get him in the PSD?

Kaitsey
2 Oct 2006, 15:38
how can you not have an awesome year in the swans reserves??

rossfunke
2 Oct 2006, 15:41
how can you not have an awesome year in the swans reserves??

He was averaging 30 possies a game, if Sydney were not a Premiership side/Runner's up, he would be playing senior footy for sure at just about any other AFL club.

BlueNWhite
2 Oct 2006, 15:44
Spriggsy's a dud mate - didn't want it enough at Geelong the first time around - why would anything have changed?

jess_555
2 Oct 2006, 15:44
I think he might be another one fo those guys that can play great in reserves but can't get it right in the seniors. :(

I don't think we would want him back anyway. I mean do we really need another small midfielder who is good-average?

someday-somehow
2 Oct 2006, 15:45
If he's that good why wasn't he in their best 22?, I think he was crap the last couple of years at Geelong and I don't see how that would change, pick him up as a rookie if noone else wants him perhaps

rossfunke
2 Oct 2006, 15:49
the last couple years at geelong were average, but knee reconstructions are very hard to come back from, and i watched games of him this year and he just looked dangerous, and could add whats missing to the geelong midfield... pace.

JUBJUB
2 Oct 2006, 15:50
Let's also bring back Scott Bamford,David Clarke,Brett Spinks and Tim Hargreaves

http://deephousepage.com/smilies/jpshakehead.gif

rossfunke
2 Oct 2006, 15:51
use have made your point lol

BlueNWhite
2 Oct 2006, 15:52
Reckon Justin Murphy's a show too Jub Jub while we're at it

rossfunke
2 Oct 2006, 15:57
some people have to take it one step too far sometimes :eek:

darren forssman
2 Oct 2006, 15:57
and jamie lamb and sean simpson

sticks74
2 Oct 2006, 16:03
and jamie lamb and sean simpson

and Adrian Hickmont out of retirement! Maybe Bernard Toohey lol

Catnip
2 Oct 2006, 16:06
Handley, Miles LOL

BlueNWhite
2 Oct 2006, 16:15
Sean simpson is my landlord - nearly died when the penny dropped when the missus and i were moving in... still got the awesome mop - helluva guy.

I'll see your Jamie Lamb and I'll raise you a Tristan Lynch

Scarlett30
2 Oct 2006, 16:19
He would still be at Geelong if he didnt go to the beach that day.

BlueNWhite
2 Oct 2006, 16:22
Who what where? :)

TheRealComptroller
2 Oct 2006, 16:27
Joel McKay and Leigh Brockman.

McKay was pick 15 in 1997.:mad:

BROCKMAN WAS PICK 8 IN 1996!:mad: :mad:

Ezra Bray was a real waste too; top 20 pick who never made the senior team.:mad: :mad:

JUBJUB
2 Oct 2006, 17:21
Reckon Justin Murphy's a show too Jub Jub while we're at it

So Mooney and co can finish him off ?

:D

CatmanForever
2 Oct 2006, 17:34
I'll raise you all with a Gary Ablett Snr.

darren forssman
2 Oct 2006, 17:39
I'll see your Jamie Lamb and I'll raise you a Tristan Lynch

trevor poole anyone???

darren forssman
2 Oct 2006, 17:40
He would still be at Geelong if he didnt go to the beach that day.

it never affected his disposal though...which has always been shocking.

BlueNWhite
2 Oct 2006, 17:44
How about a young metrosexual Daniel Lowther?

darren forssman
2 Oct 2006, 18:33
or Bret Bailey, one of our first trade dabbles.

Whispers
2 Oct 2006, 18:40
He was averaging 30 possies a game, if Sydney were not a Premiership side/Runner's up, he would be playing senior footy for sure at just about any other AFL club.

My mate who played in Sydney last year said that our GFL seniors is on par with the standard of the NSW league so 30 touches is good but not outstanding...

Do feel sorry for him because he has contested against some quality midfielders to play senior footy. However, I'd rather have a slow midfielder that can pin point passes instead of a fast midfielder who turns the ball over by foot.

Gazzajr is god
2 Oct 2006, 18:49
Throw in a Darren Steele.

(if you wanna talk wasted draft picks, I win with Steven Hooper. No1 pick 1990)

Spriggsy - no no no. I think we only held onto him in the hope his disposal would improve. It never did. Byrnes would run straight past him. He was never that quick. It was his endurance that stuck out at draft camp.

JUBJUB
2 Oct 2006, 19:39
How about a young metrosexual Daniel Lowther?

Ah..... good ole 'Piggy'.There's a blast from the past.

winty
2 Oct 2006, 19:51
What about David Ugrinic? Did he ever come over to wear the hoops?

I wish Jason Snell never busted his ankle. That guy was a star!

catempire
2 Oct 2006, 20:06
My mate who played in Sydney last year said that our GFL seniors is on par with the standard of the NSW league so 30 touches is good but not outstanding...

Do feel sorry for him because he has contested against some quality midfielders to play senior footy. However, I'd rather have a slow midfielder that can pin point passes instead of a fast midfielder who turns the ball over by foot.

Sydney reserves play in the ACTFL, not the NSW league. The ACTFL would be much stronger than the GFL.

JUBJUB
2 Oct 2006, 20:08
What about David Ugrinic? Did he ever come over to wear the hoops?

Eventually he did.The closest he got to a senior gig was playing in an Ansett Cup game against the Dishlickers at Artic Park.

Belly
2 Oct 2006, 20:15
Please tell me we can get Brett Spinx, Jason Mooney and Mitchell White back.

TheTimeCometh
2 Oct 2006, 20:48
We CAN get Brett Spinx, Jason Mooney and Mitchell White back.

TheTimeCometh
2 Oct 2006, 20:54
Gerard Power?

BlueNWhite
2 Oct 2006, 20:55
Shane Breuer?

TheTimeCometh
2 Oct 2006, 21:08
shane hamilton?

Mr Sensitive
2 Oct 2006, 21:26
bring back charlie gardiner... no wait he's still on the list... ARGH!!! <head explodes>

DBAH0
2 Oct 2006, 21:28
Could you actually rookie list Spriggs?

thegerman
2 Oct 2006, 21:49
Too small, not quick enough, 30+ possies in Swans reserves isn't good enough. They play in the Canberra league and it is a joke.

There is heaps better players out there and would prefer picking up another rookie instead of a guy nearing the end of his playing days.

Mr Sensitive
2 Oct 2006, 22:03
Could you actually rookie list Spriggs?

Yeah we could... I'm pretty sure that the AFL has made changes to the rookie list for next season so that clubs can rookie list one player over the age of 23, so as to prevent what happened to players like Damien Cupido last year... a wayward, yet talented player who probably would have been rookie listed by a club but because he was over 23 he was too old...
That said if the club does rookie list Spriggs then I'll go insane..

cats2rise
2 Oct 2006, 22:55
Brent Grgic (2002 IIRC) was another fantastic trade.

What about David Hanes, surely in the Gardiner column?

Partridge
3 Oct 2006, 12:06
the last couple years at geelong were average, but knee reconstructions are very hard to come back from, and i watched games of him this year and he just looked dangerous, and could add whats missing to the geelong midfield... pace.

Plus he also couldn't hit the side of a barn if he tried. Disposal is nothing short of appalling. And in the current Geelong team comprising Ling, Kelly and others that is saying something.

Not a prayer. Tried once. Failed once. Goodbye.

Mark Harvey
3 Oct 2006, 17:22
and Adrian Hickmont out of retirement! Maybe Bernard Toohey lol

dont rule out your good self darren, through in geoff miles, david shultz, russell merriman

Gazzajr is god
3 Oct 2006, 19:42
Throw in the man who ate up 45 seconds in the 89 granny. Dave Cameron.

Or how about a playing coach in Tudor.

Kingy's stuffed. Bring back Darren flanigan.

winty
4 Oct 2006, 10:33
Throw in the man who ate up 45 seconds in the 89 granny. Dave Cameron.

Or how about a playing coach in Tudor.

Kingy's stuffed. Bring back Darren flanigan.

I'd have Damien Bourke and John Barnes before Flanigan :D

Mr Sensitive
4 Oct 2006, 12:17
nahhh not john barnes, he's got a perpetual grudge against the GFC these days..