View Full Version : Trades

Igor Stepanovs
2 Oct 2006, 21:14
These are all being discussed but most won't go through due to how difficult it is to trade etc. Not going to give up my sources so don't bother asking.

-Thornton will be become a Hawk as part of 3 way deal. Possibly involving Polak heading to Carlton. Hawks are desperate to get a 3rd party as what Blues want is mainly based on future needs, which is exactly what Hawks don't want to give up. This deal will be the type that involves a bunch of draft picks that will make it very confusing.

- Polak heavily chased by Tigers as mentioned many times. Freo looking for either 2 picks in top 30 or pick/midfield combo.

- Freo absolutely desperate to stock up on running/midfield depth. J Johnson, Moody, McGrath all massive chances to join.

- Spida is a Swan for sure. Hawks very keen on Buchannan. Swans not wanting to give him up in straight swap, would want an upgraded draft pick. Swans wanting to make Davis part of deal.

- Tarrant favoured to become an Eagle for either 1st round pick or 1st round + upgrade in 2nd round. Eagles unwilling to give up premiership players. Melbourne, Swans after Tarrant too but unwilling to give up as much as Eagles.

- Eagles will turn interest towards Kingsley if Tarrant deal falls through.

- Bulldogs trying to play down desperation to get Aker. 2nd rounder + Skipper is what they are willing to part with, Lions want Dogs 1st pick for their 2nd rounder on top of that. Bulldogs against this as they already feel Aker deal is short term.

- Bulldogs also interested in Toby Thurstans who Port are willing to trade due to personal problems. Been in heavy talks.

- Mal Michael discussing with 3-4 clubs. Major part of deal is club willigness to accept Michael's prefered training program.

- Interest in Gardiner has gone down over last few weeks due to another issue coming up (was not told what it actually was). Eagles will be lucky to get a late pick.

- James Kelly heavily shopped around. Carlton, Collingwood, Essendon, Melbourne and Kangaroos all keen.

- Carlton interested in Clark Keating and Cam Cloke.

- Few clubs keeon on Jason Cloke but willing to take their chances of getting him with late pick in draft.

sinepari
2 Oct 2006, 21:16

You had a believer until I read that.

HBF
2 Oct 2006, 21:19
Great read. Interesting to see how many of those actually happen come 2pm next week.

Igor Stepanovs
2 Oct 2006, 21:27
Great read. Interesting to see how many of those actually happen come 2pm next week.

Probably about two of them :p

Getting a deal done is extremely hard (which I like as it vicariously increases loyalty).

Two more that I forgot

- Bradshaw is really after the big bucks. Wants alot more money than Lions and most clubs are willing to give him. This is going to end up a very intersting one.

- Solomon will definitely not be at Essendon next year (pretty obvious). Tigers want him but willing to give very little in return. Melbourne a possibility. They are desperate to add a bit of grunt to their side (why they got Pickett) but will only go for Solomon if everything else falls through as they are very doubtful over his ability to get anywhere near fully fit.

Igor Stepanovs
2 Oct 2006, 21:28
You had a believer until I read that.

Why? Has held preliminary discussions with club already, will be talking to them again soon.

lion_gooner
2 Oct 2006, 21:44
wayde skipper and a 2nd round pick for aka? LOL no hope

Ysaye
2 Oct 2006, 22:50
I hope Freo concentrate on the Moody trade and ignore the others, as he is the only one that really matches what we want.

Jeremias
2 Oct 2006, 22:56
- James Kelly heavily shopped around. Carlton, Collingwood, Essendon, Melbourne and Kangaroos all keen.

:eek:

How interested are we in Cloke and Keating? Keating I could live with (just), but Cam Cloke!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!

Also, how heavily are we involved in talks with Kelly?

sinepari
2 Oct 2006, 23:05
We'll see. That's all I'll say.

smithos
2 Oct 2006, 23:13
Not sure why Carlton would be interested in Clark Keating, the guy's a September specialist, we need help in the ruck not help planning our end of season trips.

Nightwolf
2 Oct 2006, 23:17
Buchanon at Hawthorn = Nightwolf_69 doing cartwheels

scooter600x
2 Oct 2006, 23:35
These are all being discussed but most won't go through due to how difficult it is to trade etc. Not going to give up my sources so don't bother asking.

-Thornton will be become a Hawk as part of 3 way deal. Possibly involving Polak heading to Carlton. Hawks are desperate to get a 3rd party as what Blues want is mainly based on future needs, which is exactly what Hawks don't want to give up. This deal will be the type that involves a bunch of draft picks that will make it very confusing.

- Polak heavily chased by Tigers as mentioned many times. Freo looking for either 2 picks in top 30 or pick/midfield combo.

- Freo absolutely desperate to stock up on running/midfield depth. J Johnson, Moody, McGrath all massive chances to join.

- Spida is a Swan for sure. Hawks very keen on Buchannan. Swans not wanting to give him up in straight swap, would want an upgraded draft pick. Swans wanting to make Davis part of deal.

- Tarrant favoured to become an Eagle for either 1st round pick or 1st round + upgrade in 2nd round. Eagles unwilling to give up premiership players. Melbourne, Swans after Tarrant too but unwilling to give up as much as Eagles.

- Bulldogs trying to play down desperation to get Aker. 2nd rounder + Skipper is what they are willing to part with, Lions want Dogs 1st pick for their 2nd rounder on top of that. Bulldogs against this as they already feel Aker deal is short term.

- Bulldogs also interested in Toby Thurstans who Port are willing to trade due to personal problems. Been in heavy talks.

- Mal Michael discussing with 3-4 clubs. Major part of deal is club willigness to accept Michael's prefered training program.

- Interest in Gardiner has gone down over last few weeks due to another issue coming up (was not told what it actually was). Eagles will be lucky to get a late pick.

- Few clubs keeon on Jason Cloke but willing to take their chances of getting him with late pick in draft.
This is clearly all bollocks.

Igor has an accent.

matty_hawk
2 Oct 2006, 23:52
dare i say it...

source?

Merv
2 Oct 2006, 23:59

Source = Newspapers.

Most of those have been mentioned in newspapers or are just educated guesses.

What you are forgetting in the Thornton deal is Essendon can top any offer they want to and force him into the PSD.
If Essendon want him, he is theirs.

GET THORNTON

DSL64
3 Oct 2006, 00:49
Source = Newspapers.

What you are forgetting in the Thornton deal is Essendon can top any offer they want to and force him into the PSD.

GET THORNTON

Not quite - after all, you only have the SECOND pick in the PSD...
Carlton could re-draft him ;)

Merv
3 Oct 2006, 01:52
Not quite - after all, you only have the SECOND pick in the PSD...
Carlton could re-draft him ;)

That would be very clever wouldnt it.

He puts a price and terms on his head, that Carlton could agree to, but they don't.
Instead they choose him in the PSD and waste a pick.
Even they are not that stupid.

GET THORNTON

PS:If you were just trying to be clever, try harder

baywatch5
3 Oct 2006, 02:12

Good read....

Have heard Kelly's name alot. Any idea what Geelong are asking or whats been offered in return?

Also Kingsley?

viccles
3 Oct 2006, 08:08
Wouldn't mind Kelly down at the Roos looks a good player

irish_setanta
3 Oct 2006, 09:21
Source = Newspapers.

GET THORNTON

And at essendon he might be as good as Murphy, Allen and Cancereale.

DaSawx
3 Oct 2006, 09:49
And at essendon he might be as good as Murphy, Allen and Cancereale.

as opposed to Bannister and McGrath?

duckboy
3 Oct 2006, 10:25
Good read....

Have heard Kelly's name alot. Any idea what Geelong are asking or whats been offered in return?

Also Kingsley?

SEN - Morning Glory were asking Billy about Kelly and a supposed trade to Hawthorn for Jordan Lewis this morning.

blumfieldisback
3 Oct 2006, 11:52
SEN - Morning Glory were asking Billy about Kelly and a supposed trade to Hawthorn for Jordan Lewis this morning.

jordan lewis, why would hawthorn get rid of one of its potential young guns it would go against their policy. If he is up for trade i hope essendon go after lewis and kelly and polak and thornton. Its not to much really.

duckboy
3 Oct 2006, 12:21
jordan lewis, why would hawthorn get rid of one of its potential young guns it would go against their policy.

I agree. Was just relaying what I heard.

TheGeneral
3 Oct 2006, 12:23
-Thornton will be become a Hawk as part of 3 way deal. Possibly involving Polak heading to Carlton. Hawks are desperate to get a 3rd party as what Blues want is mainly based on future needs, which is exactly what Hawks don't want to give up. This deal will be the type that involves a bunch of draft picks that will make it very confusing
http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showpost.php?p=5946817&postcount=47
Carlton interested in Clark Keating and Cam Cloke.
I doubt it since one is an absolute dud.

And the other is too old at 30 and only plays in September so he won't be of any use to Carlton.

Igor Stepanovs
4 Oct 2006, 20:27
More info...

-Thread on it already but can confirm Joel Perry has quit Kangaroos, he is no chance of being there next year. Would take his chances in PSD before re-signing.

-Bulldogs will get Joel Reynolds for a late pick.

-Carlton very keen on Seaby but Eagles want picks 17/19 and 33, while Blues only willing to give up pick 17/19. Could be involved in three way with Thornton to Hawks.

- Tarrant to Eagles is pretty much a done deal. Pick 16 is in the bag just talking over whether its pick 50 or Eagles 2nd round pick for Collingwoods 3nd round pick on top of that.

- Crows shopping Scott Welsh around

- Eagles have received interest for Ashley Sampi from Essendon but he is desperate to remain in WA.

- Essendon big favourites to get Kelly after a few clubs fell out of race due to Cats' excessive demands.

sinepari
4 Oct 2006, 20:37
I really doubt that. Particularly the Seaby one. Out of bounds, we only have 1 other ruckman (Cox)

Deledio2Tambling
4 Oct 2006, 21:01
Where did you get Perry has officially quit?

Igor Stepanovs
4 Oct 2006, 21:01
I really doubt that. Particularly the Seaby one. Out of bounds, we only have 1 other ruckman (Cox)

Eagles aren't shopping him around, just that Blues are very keen. If they can get picks 17 and 33 for him it would be hard to knock back. Eagles are also pretty certain to pick up a mature age ruckman either as a mature rookie or straight onto senior list to replace Gardiner either way.

Igor Stepanovs
4 Oct 2006, 21:02
Where did you get Perry has officially quit?

It's not "official" as of yet, I just said I can confirm he has quit. :)

Deledio2Tambling
4 Oct 2006, 21:04
How can you confirm he has quit? As a Tiger supporter I would love to know if he is a potential target of ours.

Igor Stepanovs
4 Oct 2006, 21:07
How can you confirm he has quit? As a Tiger supporter I would love to know if he is a potential target of ours.

I have been told he has quit the club. Told them to trade him or he will go into the PSD.

Tigers are chasing him hard, offered him a contract and made him feel a big part of their future. He is no doubt a potential target of yours.

micky_11
4 Oct 2006, 21:11
Bad news for perry what do you think we can get for him, and also what would be our chances of getting kelly

Deledio2Tambling
4 Oct 2006, 21:13
Being realistic as possible micky, what do you think you should get for him from Richmond?

micky_11
4 Oct 2006, 21:18
Thats what im not sure of and thats why i asked igor. I think he will be a great player but you could be thinking im just saying that because Perry is from the team i barack for, plus ur thinking he musnt be that great if he has only played 8 games or so, im not familiar with your list, but i would love the roos to get their hands on more draft picks

Igor Stepanovs
4 Oct 2006, 21:19
BTW I am using an alias of a bigfooty user I know. I haven't posted on this site beforehand but have come on here a bit to have a read.

Tigers are offering picks 25/26 and 41/42 (I forget which one they have) for Perry and your 3rd rounder.

micky_11
4 Oct 2006, 21:20
3rd round is not good enough

zero
4 Oct 2006, 21:21
wow, we are trading away our only other ruckman and premiership player? for only an early second rounder?

i hope thats untrue

bus24
4 Oct 2006, 21:26
Ben Hart has had interest from 8 clubs

Igor Stepanovs
4 Oct 2006, 21:28
wow, we are trading away our only other ruckman and premiership player? for only an early second rounder?

i hope thats untrue

No. It's either pick 17 or 19 AND 35. Eagles will not go for anything less. He won't be your only other ruckman anyone, getting a mature ruckman as mature rookie or straight onto senior list.

sinepari
4 Oct 2006, 21:29
Yeah but Griffiths will not have the same impact as Seabs. I saw Seabs yesterday arvo and this is BS!

Gunnar Longshanks
4 Oct 2006, 23:03
- Tarrant to Eagles is pretty much a done deal. Pick 16 is in the bag just talking over whether its pick 50 or Eagles 2nd round pick for Collingwoods 3nd round pick on top of that.I find this hard to believe.

sydney eagle
4 Oct 2006, 23:20
I think that Igor is Eddie Maguire in disguise !:p

Jezz_CFC
4 Oct 2006, 23:50
Ben Hart has had interest from 8 clubs

Hasn't ben hart retired?

hawk_talk
5 Oct 2006, 01:03
Buchanon at Hawthorn = Nightwolf_69 doing cartwheels

ill second that!! Please make it happen Pelchen

westbrom
5 Oct 2006, 02:13
Carlton will not be trading a 2nd and 3rd round draft pick for Seaby. Nothing at all against Seaby, but if this board wants to have a hope in hell of being around after Christmas they will not be trading a 2nd and 3rd round pick for a player unless he is worth well over those odds

Realistic Tiger
5 Oct 2006, 05:25
If the Tigers could pull a trade for Perry like they did with P.Bowden then I will be a happy chappy. Looking at it objectively we got a 50 game player for Pick 54? so for a kid that has played 8 games in 4 years I would suggest he would be worth a 3/4 Round at best.

mark73
5 Oct 2006, 07:07
If the Tigers could pull a trade for Perry like they did with P.Bowden then I will be a happy chappy. Looking at it objectively we got a 50 game player for Pick 54? so for a kid that has played 8 games in 4 years I would suggest he would be worth a 3/4 Round at best.
Then you would suggest wrong.Perry was a bottom age recruit.That is why he has been at the club for 4 years.He has just turned 21 and is only now starting to develop physically and gain a bit of maturity.He played 8 games this year, will probably play 12-15 next year.But it won't be at Richmond.

bus24
5 Oct 2006, 10:49
Hasn't ben hart retired?

Not Yet, atm it seems he thinks he can play on.

8 Clubs Interested do not include

Bulldogs
Port
Brisbane

It is strongly believed that Brisbane offered Ben Hart a 2 year deal late last year, however now they do not want him.

irish_setanta
5 Oct 2006, 12:39
Not Yet, atm it seems he thinks he can play on.

8 Clubs Interested do not include

Bulldogs
Port
Brisbane

It is strongly believed that Brisbane offered Ben Hart a 2 year deal late last year, however now they do not want him.

You can add Carlton to the list of not interested, doesnt fit our youth policy. As for Brisbane, they should be interested in him, they are loosing players at a rapid rate.(if you beleive all the posts and newspaper articles)

blumfieldisback
5 Oct 2006, 12:49
You can add Carlton to the list of not interested, doesnt fit our youth policy. As for Brisbane, they should be interested in him, they are loosing players at a rapid rate.(if you beleive all the posts and newspaper articles)

Brisbane should just trade as many b graders as possible and get as many new darft picks to build a new side around J.Brown otherwise they are going to be average for the next 7 years. I would trade Aker, Bradshaw and Notting for higher draft picks.

bus24
5 Oct 2006, 12:49
I wouldn't have though anyone would be after a injury prone 33 year old (next year), no matter how much of a legend he has been.

Obviously this isnt the case

Doggy
5 Oct 2006, 13:11
I wouldn't have though anyone would be after a injury prone 33 year old (next year), no matter how much of a legend he has been.

Obviously this isnt the case

As good as Hart has been, I don't want someone that age coming to our young club. We got Montgomery last year, don't want more.

Murray
5 Oct 2006, 14:10
Oh, now I get it, this is one of them fantasy footy games

Bobby Beecroft
5 Oct 2006, 14:34
Brisbane should just trade as many b graders as possible and get as many new darft picks to build a new side around J.Brown otherwise they are going to be average for the next 7 years. I would trade Aker, Bradshaw and Notting for higher draft picks.

Bradshaw I would try & keep but not for ridiculous $$$.
I tend to agree with your theory though & know where your coming from.
Get some currency while we still can.

lyall
5 Oct 2006, 15:07
No Tarrent or Kingsely for us. The only thing we will be doing is getting rid of Gardiner and Mcdougall

Charliebrow16
5 Oct 2006, 16:15
More info...

- Essendon big favourites to get Kelly after a few clubs fell out of race due to Cats' excessive demands.

Ok, r we still favourites to get Kelly? I hope so!
But 1 question that has been troubling me for some time now is, what exactly do Geelong want for him?
Any1 got any guesses?

rossfunke
5 Oct 2006, 16:22
Ok, r we still favourites to get Kelly? I hope so!
But 1 question that has been troubling me for some time now is, what exactly do Geelong want for him?
Any1 got any guesses?

I'd say they would want pick 18, and possibly a later draft pick, but would settle for #18. But have heard Kelly is a required player at GFC in 2007 and beyond, so wont be traded... but anything can happen.

David_Brent
5 Oct 2006, 16:22
'Igor', how do you know all this? Are you a journalist? or is it stuff you have just put 2 and 2 together on? Not knocking you, just wouldnt mind knowing.

Are you Hutchy?

thecoastingcoaster
5 Oct 2006, 16:30

Snowball's chance in hell.

Kingsley is a hack and Eagles don't recruit hacks......although Tarrant isn't much better.

Realistic Tiger
5 Oct 2006, 16:34
Then you would suggest wrong.Perry was a bottom age recruit.That is why he has been at the club for 4 years.He has just turned 21 and is only now starting to develop physically and gain a bit of maturity.He played 8 games this year, will probably play 12-15 next year.But it won't be at Richmond.

From all reports he has asked to be traded after the Roos only offered him 1 year. Strange that if he was considered to be so talented and just about to show his true potential that a struggling club like the Roos would not secure him for at least 2 years. If the Tigers are prepared to offer what he is after then why not. If Perry was to fall through to the PSD I think we could claim him no worries as the clubs ahead of us either don't need him or will get better talent if there, i.e Polak & Thorton, leaving Perry to fall through for nothing. Kind of forces the Roos hand a bit wouldn't you agree.

Charliebrow16
5 Oct 2006, 16:45
I'd say they would want pick 18, and possibly a later draft pick, but would settle for #18. But have heard Kelly is a required player at GFC in 2007 and beyond, so wont be traded... but anything can happen.

Ok, The more i think about it the more i dont really mind if we pass up on Kelly.
Sure he is a great player, but Essendon should only pick him up if Sheeds is certain we r going 2 give the top 8 a real shake this year.
I'm not.
We cant pass up the 18th pick, coz we need all the youngsters we can get, we are currently in the rebuilding stage & what we need atm is some good youngsters.