View Full Version : The questions and answers to all things VAFA over the Summer...watch this space!
wizza14
22 Nov 2006, 19:55
Combined with a great coaching appointment in Mick Duggan, a new ground and new admin, some exciting(and damn tough) recruits who can play the game, I can assure you SKOB will be the place to be next season.
Brian, word around the Mores is that Mick Duggan might bring a few ex team mates with him, namely Jarrod Morrison. Would be a huge pick up if he went across.
Brian has spoken
22 Nov 2006, 20:33
Brian, word around the Mores is that Mick Duggan might bring a few ex team mates with him, namely Jarrod Morrison. Would be a huge pick up if he went across.
Hi Wizza, nice to have you on the VAFA thread. Yes, Mick is working diligently on the whole set up. I think he is a very smart guy who wont waste 90% of his time worrying about 2 % of the playing list, in other words there wont be many high maintenace guys at SKOB next year.
When I return to Australia I will be giving him a hand recruiting, and without naming any players I think that there will be a certain hard edge core who play the game the way Duggo did that will be terriffic for SKOB.
frase18
22 Nov 2006, 23:10
Lads, below is copied from the D4 boards, any news if this is true?
Re: D4 Section Ammos
Erm...guys, St Marys have somehow managed to get the fella who was rated the 3rd best player in the VAFA last season to drop down into the bottom senior division - I think it'd be fair to say he's the best U22 player in the entire VAFA by a fair margin. So it's nothing short of an absolute coup that he's playing.
He'll make more than a "fair impression" - he'd be 2/1 on to win the competition B&F. I just hope opposition sides don't target him because he's clearly the best player in D4. A pint sized rover who is always at the bottom of the packs and has good pace. Things must be bad at Marcellin if they couldn't convince him to stay. Unless St Marys made him an offer he could refuse......mmmm....
bit disapointing to hear that if its true, top guy he is, fair to say he'll tear apart that competition. Replaceable player anyways if he doesn't want to play with the eagles. Dont worry about how things are going at the good one on bulleen road, big revival coming.
Bigfootyfan
23 Nov 2006, 18:51
Saw on the AFL website they have done their phantom draft for the year. See Brett Collins from St Bedes is listed to go at pick 87, any chance do u think
Flanker
24 Nov 2006, 10:22
Scribe, i have heard the OLD T's have lost a couple of good ones: Pretty and Amore to Diamond Valley, Davies retired, Kenna to the Southern league, young Ramsden to Old Geelong and a couple of other boys following the school coach to the Reds.
Monkeyboy
24 Nov 2006, 10:30
Scribe, i have heard the OLD T's have lost a couple of good ones: Pretty and Amore to Diamond Valley, Davies retired, Kenna to the Southern league, young Ramsden to Old Geelong and a couple of other boys following the school coach to the Reds.
That is a raping!
the big dog
24 Nov 2006, 10:59
Sounds like OT's could be the next of the established A grade clubs to follow OMs and Marcelin into B grade in 2008.
In my opinion, they performed above expectations in 2006 and if it wasn't for the very weak OMs and the rebuilding Marcelin they could well have been relegated.
Early prediction: Trinity and Brighton to be relegated.
I think your source is turning everything up just a tad. ;)
Pretty and Amore are good mates with a few DVFL lads, but our senior coach has spoken to them both at length and said they're staying with us. Matty Davies is undecided, and Kenna/Ramsden may well be considering their options.
With respect, Richard Ramsden made little impact last year in the reserves when his knee pemitted him to play, and Anthony Kenna may need a change of scene to reinvigorate his footy. It would be great if Matty decided to continue on, but not everyone at a footy club is going to be satisfied all the time.
As for big dog's prediction, I'll happily drop some dough on T's staying up at this early juncture. The fact is that from rounds 7 though to 12 last season Trinity defeated St Bernards, Old Scotch, OMs, Marcellin, Old Ivanhoe and Old Haileybury before the team (having secured A Grade for 2007 with 6 weeks to go) ran out of puff. We didn't just pinch a game here or there, we were consistently better than our opposition for a month and a half.
Nothing wrong with making relegation predictions 5 months before the season even starts, I guess it's simply a matter of how seriously they're taken. :thumbsu:
Slay Master G
27 Nov 2006, 11:43
Big news for the Old Xavs.
2 big name players were spotted wining and dining with the Balwyn FC president. Are the wheels falling off at Toorak Park....? Would collectively be a massive loss for them if both were to depart for the almighty $$$$.
soupsey
27 Nov 2006, 12:07
Flemming and who else G?
Slay Master G
27 Nov 2006, 12:15
Flemming and who else G?
Incorrect.
I won't reveal any names as I am friends with one of them.
The Big Pineapple
27 Nov 2006, 12:20
2 big name players were spotted wining and dining with the Balwyn FC president. Are the wheels falling off at Toorak Park....? Would collectively be a massive loss for them if both were to depart for the almighty $$$$.
I think the real question SMG is where did you disappear to on Friday night?
You did more a phantom than Olivia Newton-Johns last squeeze.
The Big Pineapple
27 Nov 2006, 12:21
Incorrect.
I won't reveal any names as I am friends with one of them.
That's a lie... we know you have no friends!!!
Monkeyboy
27 Nov 2006, 12:56
Don't we all wish. Think they have the depth, unders and schoolies coming up to remain top couple next year. Xav's struggling....unlikely!
SMG - any moves to fill the big gaps at the Trott following the double whammy loss of the Hawk and Pete Callinan?? Where are things at?
As for the Balwyn raid on Xavs, can we safely presume the new EFL Tigers would be enticing a couple of former AFL Tigers to wear the yellow and black again?
Nobster72
27 Nov 2006, 15:27
SMG - any moves to fill the big gaps at the Trott following the double whammy loss of the Hawk and Pete Callinan?? Where are things at?
As for the Balwyn raid on Xavs, can we safely presume the new EFL Tigers would be enticing a couple of former AFL Tigers to wear the yellow and black again?
:) Scribe have heard from a good mate who is involved at EFL level that they have approached 6-8 players from East Burwood,some have AFL senior experience as well i am sure that Mick McGuane with his contacts will be able to recruit some pretty handy players,also rumor has it that Greg Stafford was approached as well,cannot confirm though.:cool:
Slay Master G
28 Nov 2006, 08:09
Scribe
I have no idea.
Expect an announcement over the coming days/weeks.
The President Wayne Dyer has been very professional as always in keeping his cards close to his chest to quell the Big Footy rumour mill.
JG Hornet
28 Nov 2006, 11:09
SMG and other Wesleyites
Why exactly did Hawkins, one of the most respected coaches you'd ever see in the amateurs, ditch the job at Collegians? And some of the people the club have been speaking to replace him haven't really covered themselves in glory in recent years...
Strange goings on from a club that really seemed to be going places
Slay Master G
28 Nov 2006, 12:33
SMG and other Wesleyites
Why exactly did Hawkins, one of the most respected coaches you'd ever see in the amateurs, ditch the job at Collegians? And some of the people the club have been speaking to replace him haven't really covered themselves in glory in recent years...
Mr Horn
Pat Hawkins has recently been promoted to partner at a law firm and his wife has recently had their first child. He decided that he could not devote the neccessary time to coaching considering the significant work and family commitments mentioned above.
I think it was the honourable thing for Pat to do and I, along with all other Collegians people, wish him well and look forward to his continuing support in the future.
I am not privy to the names of coaching candidates they have spoken to, could you please shed some light to the Big Footy faithful as to who they may be.
overtheline
28 Nov 2006, 12:45
SMG and other Wesleyites
SMG is right, his personal situation has changed dramatically and it isn't practical to do it. He is a fine coach but his time at Collgians does include missing finals in his first year, two lost grand finals( but obviously promotion) and relegation from A. Of course this years premiership. So a mixed bag really
soupsey
28 Nov 2006, 14:15
I think you will find that anyone who has been coached or has coached with the pumpkin will only have great things to say about him. He is one of ammo footy's great servants and A grade is poorer for him not plying his trade next year. As for the Balwyn raid.....the players who have been approached are johnny come latelys to OXFC anyway aren't they. The D train included. Now Mr Slay....How is the roll going?
Brian has spoken
28 Nov 2006, 15:22
Lads, nice to be back in town. I would speculate and guess that Ben Hackett and Damien Lynch could be on the way to the Tigers, along with young Arnold. All great mates who have plyed their trade for coinage before. Can confirm Stafford has gone to Balwyn also, along with OMs Mulquiney and Beaumont.
As far as the purple people at the Trott go, its no secret that Wayne Dyer runs a very tight ship and demands 100% committment from all and sundry. If Pat couldnt give that, then move over and appoint someone that can.
Early market for B Section
Top 4
Uni Blacks
Marcellin
Old Essendon
St Bedes Mentone
JG Hornet
28 Nov 2006, 15:41
That would be a real shame if Lynch went, he is a sensational player.
Isn't Balwyn the club who used to pay their players in knock shop vouchers not long ago? What sort of farcical club is this? And why would these players want to play in the SFL (or have they moved?) which is a crap competition.
More and more players go. At this rate it'll be only Disco Seccull and Fraser Cameron left in amateur football.
Worst. Rule. Ever.
My two cents
Monkeyboy
28 Nov 2006, 15:47
Isn't Balwyn the club who used to pay their players in knock shop vouchers not long ago? What sort of farcical club is this? And why would these players want to play in the SFL (or have they moved?) which is a crap competition.
More and more players go. At this rate it'll be only Disco Seccull and Fraser Cameron left in amateur football.
Worst. Rule. Ever.
My two cents
I think they have moved to Eastern haven't they? Ammos will always remain number 1. Plenty of great, loyal players who love to play for their ex school / with mates etc.
But let's hope we don't lose Disco in the coming years to the Balwyn Lawn Bowls team!:D
The Late Mail
28 Nov 2006, 15:55
And why would these players want to play in the SFL
Balwyn (SFL) and Heidelberg (DVFL) will play in Division 1 Eastern League next year to create a 12 team super comp.
That must make the ammos a little worried in terms of their ability to attract and retain quality footballers
Brian has spoken
28 Nov 2006, 19:10
Balwyn (SFL) and Heidelberg (DVFL) will play in Division 1 Eastern League next year to create a 12 team super comp.
That must make the ammos a little worried in terms of their ability to attract and retain quality footballers
Why is it a 'super comp'? What a******** to describe the Eastern League. It is based purely on dough, and in my opinion would not have too many loyal players in it.
Even the great man Chubba Dinneen eventually took the $$$ and plyed his trade against fellow football cowboys.
How many would stay in that comp if it went Ammo?
I think you will find that anyone who has been coached or has coached with the pumpkin will only have great things to say about him. He is one of ammo footy's great servants and A grade is poorer for him not plying his trade next year. As for the Balwyn raid.....the players who have been approached are johnny come latelys to OXFC anyway aren't they. The D train included. Now Mr Slay....How is the roll going?
Ahhhhh... My departing mentour!
The roll is travelling along just nicely, after enjoying his first spring carnival in Melbourne he is now keen to show A grade what he is all abot in 07. Esp in games against OX.
port-man_fc
29 Nov 2006, 07:31
Heidelberg is in the DVFL next year not EFL.
The Big Trinity Kid
29 Nov 2006, 08:06
Worst. Rule. Ever.
My two cents
I agree with the great Hornet. Lynch is a sensational player and one of the best in the comp. He has touched up the old t's on multiple occasions. A real match winner and extremely hard to replace. I saw him play against Uni Blues in the finals this year and almost single handedly won the game for xavs to get them into the Granny.
Let us hope that common sense prevails and he sees that the amateurs is the best comp to play in. Plus his two great mates in Hackett and Arnold are wonderful players also.
Surely some pimp from the hierarchy at xavs could offer them discount movie tickets and free upsize to large coke next time they got to the movies. Don't xavs own Village cinemas?
Looks like xavs are getting slack! Old T's will definately pay for their movie tickets and large cokes!!!
soupsey
29 Nov 2006, 09:41
The way I see it, if you can't convince blokes to stay in A grade ammos then they are not the people to build your club on. If the cowboys need the coin then you will never convince them. The three mentioned from xavs have been great players but have come from elsewhere already. It is certainly becoming increasingly difficult to lure quality players to ammos for more than a year or two. Can you think of any from other leagues who have stayed in ammos for 5 plus years. It seems to be a stopover for quality players unless they are affiliated with schools. Is this such a bad thing?
Worst. Rule. Ever.
My two cents
knock shop vouchers thats the best thing ive heard:thumbsu: .. wot r u talking about farcical???:confused:
The Big Trinity Kid
29 Nov 2006, 13:20
Isn't Lynch from the school? Apparently Hackett also has a connection with school.
Being xavs, they will claim anyone who is a star as one of their own.
Can someone confirm this info for me before I continue paying out on xavs....not there is anything wrong with that!!!!
I think the amateurs offer a clean, fast-paced style of football that is attractive to play in and watch. Plus, the better players know their heads are not going to be targeted to replace the moosehead on the mantle piece.
Does anyone know of any player comings and goings for any clubs?
God knows we could do with some new players at Old T's after the departure of Andy Cultera.
Slay Master G
29 Nov 2006, 13:36
God knows we could do with some new players at Old T's after the departure of Andy Cultera.
Kid
Where has Cultrera gone?
Kid
Where has Cultrera gone?
Answer: Nowhere
Frankly I think TBTK is not what he may seem. I doubt he could tell you which oval is the Daley and which is the Hudson out at Bulleen.
Rest assured - Cultrera's wearing green and gold again in 2007.
Brian has spoken
29 Nov 2006, 14:23
Answer: Nowhere
Frankly I think TBTK is not what he may seem. I doubt he could tell you which oval is the Daley and which is the Hudson out at Bulleen.
Rest assured - Cultrera's wearing green and gold again in 2007.
Andy wont be going anywhere, not even Balwyn. The only link Hackett has with Xavier College is that he swims at the Stevenson centre.
Player movements: Several of the 'cowboys' have left The Badlands for better wages. They will struggle in 07. Bernies struggling with numberds pre season, also victims of the $$$ in the EDFL.
Beaumaris looking at oblivion with large departures, MHSOB the same.
Nick Ries to the Lions along with possibly Tom Roach.
Old Scotch will struggle to replace big Gerta, who has apparantly left for massive coin at Balwyn...hope this is not true but wasnt happy with Price and co at the Cardinals last year. Beranger its well known will not be there either.
Uni Blues have lost Patterson to the bush as well as Torney.
Nick Holland a good chance when he gets back from O/S to suit up with the Blues.
Old Brighton have lost a heap and will be lucky to win a game, whilst De La will be very strong.
The Big Pineapple
29 Nov 2006, 14:52
Ex Bulldog Keiran McGuiness had approached Old Essendon about playing there in 2007 (apparently met a few of the OEG boys on derby day and got on like a house on fire) but was told he is not required. Can't take a trick the poor kid!
Bigfootyfan
29 Nov 2006, 15:00
Ex Bulldog Keiran McGuiness had approached Old Essendon about playing there in 2007 (apparently met a few of the OEG boys on derby day and got on like a house on fire) but was told he is not required. Can't take a trick the poor kid!
TBP, can tell you straight out that this is not true. Kieran is heading to the SANFL next year, was never considering Ammos as he needs the money as it is what he does for a living. If he was going to any Ammo club it would be SBMT as he knows a few boys down there and his brother in law also plays there.
Scott MacFlaherty
29 Nov 2006, 15:06
Stop lying TBP. Where do you get off starting rumours like this?
The Big Trinity Kid
29 Nov 2006, 15:13
Word out of the Cardinals is that the G-Train G-O-R-N and has had massive offers from other EFL clubs including Vermont and East Burwood.
Mark Ainley is a big chance to play at old brighton after a few years over in the west and before that at the kangaroos. Old Brighton will need his help. Scotty McGuiness and Barry Stoneham can't come out of retirement once again to help them be competitive.
Luke north from uni blues is going overseas and will be a massive loss to uni. With North, Patterson and Torney gone, can this be the end of an era for uni? Brooksy will need to stand up! Dutchy won't play.
Apparently the big guts from Harry trott, James Heritage, told Collegians that he is used to being in a good paddock and volunteered his services during the off season to keep the grass at a maintainable level as long as they replaced the existing fence with a post and wire fence.
The Big Pineapple
29 Nov 2006, 15:27
Kieran is heading to the SANFL next year, was never considering Ammos as he needs the money as it is what he does for a living.
At least he wont have to pay tax next year... no chance of him earning more than the tax free threshold!
The Big Pineapple
29 Nov 2006, 15:29
Stop lying TBP. Where do you get off starting rumours like this?
I've made a big footy career by starting rumours like this. It's what seperates me from the losers who take this site seriously!
Bigfootyfan
29 Nov 2006, 16:13
At least he wont have to pay tax next year... no chance of him earning more than the tax free threshold!
The package includes a job TBP
Brian has spoken
29 Nov 2006, 17:25
I agree with the great Hornet. Lynch is a sensational player and one of the best in the comp. He has touched up the old t's on multiple occasions. A real match winner and extremely hard to replace. I saw him play against Uni Blues in the finals this year and almost single handedly won the game for xavs to get them into the Granny.
Brett Dobson today signed with Balwyn, huge loss for The Eagles.
The Bortolottos have also signed with Balwyn, as have Lynch, Hackett and Arnold. Tim Fleming has decided to stay with Old Xavs.
Allan Murray from Springvale as well as Ben Schwarze have also signed and his bro Troy if he doesnt get picked up in the PS will also get on the bandwagon.
A couple of Uni Blacks lads have also thrown their hats in the ring there...
Now, who was the moron at VAFA HQ that changed the guidelines to allow this c r a p to happen? He should be sacked and strung up.
JG Hornet
29 Nov 2006, 19:15
If all these player movements are true (and Brian, although I like your work, I take your comments with a considerable grain of salt) then our once great competition is in a lot of strife. Fancy being usurped by an imbecilic club like Balwyn, it's enough to make you throw up. This has reallly ruined my day.
For what it's worth, De La haven't lost anyone.
Monkeyboy
29 Nov 2006, 19:47
I just put $1,000.00 on Balwyn to win flag. Will win back $1,000.01 if they get up!:p
frase18
29 Nov 2006, 21:01
Brett Dobson today signed with Balwyn, huge loss for The Eagles.
The Bortolottos have also signed with Balwyn, as have Lynch, Hackett and Arnold. Tim Fleming has decided to stay with Old Xavs.
Allan Murray from Springvale as well as Ben Schwarze have also signed and his bro Troy if he doesnt get picked up in the PS will also get on the bandwagon.
A couple of Uni Blacks lads have also thrown their hats in the ring there...
Now, who was the moron at VAFA HQ that changed the guidelines to allow this c r a p to happen? He should be sacked and strung up.
you're kidding aren't you mate??
Brian has spoken
29 Nov 2006, 21:35
you're kidding aren't you mate??
Nah, Im afraid not. Dobbo signed on this arvo along with the Bortolottos.
Something for all to consider. Lynch was touting himself out at 1K per game, with Hackett and Arnold after $850. I know for a fact that Lynch is getting around 40% less than this, with Hackett and Arnold around 50% less than their asking fee. Are they worth this much coin when ex League boys are on around $800?
Also note that there are several more Ammo boys on their radar, one of those notables Matt Kempton and his mate Josh Giansiracusa.
frase18
29 Nov 2006, 21:39
hahah ok mate you can slander all you like, all 3 trained tonight, and im great mates with both bortolottos and nothing of the sort is happening.
but all this is good for a laugh, keep it going
Brian has spoken
29 Nov 2006, 21:58
hahah ok mate you can slander all you like, all 3 trained tonight, and im great mates with both bortolottos and nothing of the sort is happening.
but all this is good for a laugh, keep it going
Frase, Im actually not joking mate. Obviously I dont know these 3 all that well, but I do know that they have signed at Balwyn. I know that Balwyn did a lot of research on these guys also...
Just because they may have been at the Eagles tonight doesnt mean anything. Also, I recognise that signing with a club is one thing compared to actually playing with them, but for once I am actually trying to be half serious on here!:thumbsu:
By the way, if the Bortolottos dont end up at Balwyn, at least Big Footy is out there making a differance and getting instant denials or confirmations!!! Who need AAP?
What else have you got Hornet? 55 at SKOB...
frase18
29 Nov 2006, 22:06
well either your source is wanting to stir some rumours, or you've just got ordinary mail because i can reassure you 100% none of this is happening, but we'll wait and see, one of us will be wrong.
Mr. Bortolotto (father) has just been appointed treasurer i think of the club and i doubt his sons would leave, they knocked back an apparently lucrative offer along with a few other MOCFC players to go to play div 2 efl with Mitcham and if there has been an offer from balwyn the same would have been done.
Brian has spoken
29 Nov 2006, 22:11
well either your source is wanting to stir some rumours, or you've just got ordinary mail because i can reassure you 100% none of this is happening, but we'll wait and see, one of us will be wrong.
Mr. Bortolotto (father) has just been appointed treasurer i think of the club and i doubt his sons would leave, they knocked back an apparently lucrative offer along with a few other MOCFC players to go to play div 2 efl with Mitcham and if there has been an offer from balwyn the same would have been done.
Perhaps, but my source in impeccable(I think)! Lets hope they all stay for the sake of the VAFA because they are all top shelf VAFA talent. In reagrds to Mitcham, I have also heard the same thing, although they are not offering anywhere near the $$$ Balwyn are.
Slay Master G
30 Nov 2006, 08:48
Apparently the big guts from Harry trott, James Heritage, told Collegians that he is used to being in a good paddock and volunteered his services during the off season to keep the grass at a maintainable level as long as they replaced the existing fence with a post and wire fence.
BTK
I can confim that Mr Heritage's waistline ain't what it used to be, and after a weekend eating 3kg blocks of cheese, steak and sausages and swilling red wine, he has been hung out to pasture in the South Gippsland area in order to get some rehab.
linger_isgod
30 Nov 2006, 08:57
TBP, can tell you straight out that this is not true. Kieran is heading to the SANFL next year, was never considering Ammos as he needs the money as it is what he does for a living. If he was going to any Ammo club it would be SBMT as he knows a few boys down there and his brother in law also plays there.
Reckon Old Carey would be a good shout. Being from Carey and all...
The Big Trinity Kid
30 Nov 2006, 09:00
BTK
I can confim that Mr Heritage's waistline ain't what it used to be, and after a weekend eating 3kg blocks of cheese, steak and sausages and swilling red wine, he has been hung out to pasture in the South Gippsland area in order to get some rehab.
Correct me if I'm wrong, but isn't South gippsland where the 'Fat Farm' is. Perhaps Mr Heritage could pass on my regards to Lance Whitnall as he strolls down the passageway graced with portraits of previous 'Biggest Loser' constestants in Mick Nolan, Tony Lockett and Barge-Arse.
The Big Pineapple
30 Nov 2006, 09:29
BTK
SMG,
Can you please ask Fred or Chief to have your user name changed as it is currently misleading. You are no longer a slay master. In fact, you are a shadow of your former self.
Cheers
TBP
As an earlier poster indicated, he will not be playing Ammos. However, if he ever does in 5 years plus time, Old Carey would seem the logical choice if they are in an upper grade.
Plumber
30 Nov 2006, 09:39
Somebody should burn Sholly's over-sized undies, put the ashes in an urn and present it to him at VAFA HQ.
The new rules are certainly leading to the death of the comp.
Bigfootyfan
30 Nov 2006, 10:03
Only link to Carey is a scholership. No other ties really. Lives locally to SBMT but as i said wont be playing Ammos in the near future
Brian has spoken
30 Nov 2006, 11:40
Somebody should burn Sholly's over-sized undies, put the ashes in an urn and present it to him at VAFA HQ.
The new rules are certainly leading to the death of the comp.
Yep, you are right P. Heres a few names off the top off my head who have left since the rules changed: Lynch, M Giansiracusa, Dobson, M Lucas, D Jordan, Mc Kee, Mount, Studham. All and sundry, please add to the list.
Brian has spoken
30 Nov 2006, 14:45
the most important thing seen on this discussion
http://www.humornsex.com/gallerys/britney_upskirt//britney7b.jpg (http://www.humornsex.com/gallerys/britney_upskirt/britney7b.jpg)
http://www.humornsex.com/gallerys/britney_upskirt//britney8b.jpg (http://www.humornsex.com/gallerys/britney_upskirt/britney8b.jpg)
http://www.humornsex.com/gallerys/britney_upskirt//britney1b.jpg (http://www.humornsex.com/gallerys/britney_upskirt/britney1b.jpg)
Brian - I think you forgot to add Gertsman to that list, unless you're resiling from your previous mail. However, I'm pretty sure Dan Jordan left the season before last didn't he?
You've got 3 SKOB lads in that list, and the rest (aside from Studham who was only a one season player anyhow) are yet to be confirmed. A bit thin on the ground methinks.....
The Big Trinity Kid
30 Nov 2006, 16:15
Word out of Harry Trott has it that Jono Dixon has put up his hand to become playing coach for the 2007 season and beyond.
Apparently in his presentation to the board he highlighted the fact that all players will need to wear tight shorts to show-off their tanned legs they acquired via a discount rate given Dicko's VIP status at solarium studios.
The board said that would get back to him....
Brian has spoken
30 Nov 2006, 20:50
Brian - I think you forgot to add Gertsman to that list, unless you're resiling from your previous mail. However, I'm pretty sure Dan Jordan left the season before last didn't he?
You've got 3 SKOB lads in that list, and the rest (aside from Studham who was only a one season player anyhow) are yet to be confirmed. A bit thin on the ground methinks.....
To be honest Scribe, I couldnt be bothered today. There are lots in the market who are yet to reveal their intentions, but rest assured the s h i t is about to hit the fan re Ammo losses...stay tuned.
If Jono Dixon coaches the lions then the stynes like record he has accumulated for consecutive games will never be broken, he will NEVER move from FF and thursday night training will be at eve.
Grandstand Guru
1 Dec 2006, 09:21
Speaking of blokes leaving the VAFA, can anyone confirm that Tyquin and Collins from St Bede's are training with AFL clubs at the moment in the hope of a PSD lifeline or more likely, rookie spot??
Slay Master G
1 Dec 2006, 10:02
Speaking of blokes leaving the VAFA, can anyone confirm that Tyquin and Collins from St Bede's are training with AFL clubs at the moment in the hope of a PSD lifeline or more likely, rookie spot??
I think AFL clubs would consider that good performances on the tiny Brindisi St oval would not be a good indicator of their ability on the wide expanses of an AFL oval, besides, if Anstey didn't dominate VFL, why would a C Grade season change that.
young veteran
1 Dec 2006, 10:10
Tyquin is on St Kilda's permission to train list, which was up on the AFL site a few days ago. No other St Bede's players mentioned for any club.
THE BEACON
1 Dec 2006, 11:10
I think AFL clubs would consider that good performances on the tiny Brindisi St oval would not be a good indicator of their ability on the wide expanses of an AFL oval, besides, if Anstey didn't dominate VFL, why would a C Grade season change that.
May give a good indicator of how one plays in heavy & congested traffic & contrast that form to the wide expanses of an AFL oval as you say!
Archangel17
1 Dec 2006, 17:31
Keiran Mc was at D-Grade GF with several mates from Old Carey- was standing with Laidlaw who wasnt playing??? injured.. doesnt sound like a bloke with just a scholarship connection. Doubt he would play anywhere else in Ammos.. but it is probably a pointless argument as he will play in higher leagues for a few more years
Bigfootyfan
2 Dec 2006, 09:51
Can confirm Tyquin is currently training with St Kilda and Brett Collins starts on Monday after returning from schoolies.
Slay Master G
5 Dec 2006, 07:53
Big rumour.
Trent Skurrie (OEG) spotted at the Collegians gym session last night.
Will he be returning to play with good mates Nigel Roach in the Collegians backline?
Have he and Jono Dixon kissed and made up...?
Has he fallen out with The Big Pineapple after a very competetive day on the golf course in Barwon Heads...?
Questions that need answering.
Slay Master G
5 Dec 2006, 12:51
Could somebody please confirm the result of Collegians forward James Jorgensen's pie eating contest with the head of England's Barmy Army at the Adelaide Oval on Sunday.
Thank You
It's all true! And good luck to crackers trying to entice young James away from four and twenties and in to the sub twenties around the tan.
The Big Trinity Kid
6 Dec 2006, 12:55
I saw vision of the pie eating contest at the Adelaide Oval and what a tag team they made.
James Jorgensen interchanged with James Heritage to form a team that would put fear in the eyes of sumo wrestlers. If only that translated into fine football performances on the field, Collegians would be unstoppable.
And it was Herro that was the leader. He took Big Jorgie under his large cushioned wing and taught him how to fit multiple pies in your mouth at one time whilst still talking and sizing up his next batch of freshly made pies from the oven.
God bless James Heritage!
Phantom Strobler
7 Dec 2006, 09:00
Does anyone know the VAFA team training at Duncan McKinnon park, Murrumbeena last night. I drove past and saw about 12 players
Slay Master G
7 Dec 2006, 11:19
I saw vision of the pie eating contest at the Adelaide Oval and what a tag team they made.
James Jorgensen interchanged with James Heritage to form a team that would put fear in the eyes of sumo wrestlers. If only that translated into fine football performances on the field, Collegians would be unstoppable.
And it was Herro that was the leader. He took Big Jorgie under his large cushioned wing and taught him how to fit multiple pies in your mouth at one time whilst still talking and sizing up his next batch of freshly made pies from the oven.
God bless James Heritage!
Big Jorgie and James Heritage were pleased to take out the aptly named "Damian Lynch (Former Old Xav now at Balwyn on less $$ than he had hoped for) Pie Eating and Red Wine Swilling Contest" in Adelaide on Sunday.
Big Dame was very proud of his prodigies and hopes that they too will follow in his big footsteps to the goal squares of the EFL.
The Big Trinity Kid
7 Dec 2006, 11:35
Apparently Balwyn couldn't offer Lynch as much as he had hoped for, but made up for the inadequacy by offering him a big marketing deal with four 'n twenty pies.
The deal included a starring role as the famed 'Lard-Ass' in the re-make of the movie classic 'Stand By Me' and a contra deal as the face of Australia's next 'Biggest Loser' and 'Super Size Me II' after his 12 month binge on the famous footy pie.
Knowing Lynch's prowess in the eating stakes, you wonder if Balwyn really have made a good investment. The big fella won't make it won't make it out on the pitch next year. Maybe he will regret his decision to leave the old xavs with the constant ridicule next season.
Marc Shmurf 3
7 Dec 2006, 15:29
Apparently Balwyn couldn't offer Lynch as much as he had hoped for, but made up for the inadequacy by offering him a big marketing deal with four 'n twenty pies.
The deal included a starring role as the famed 'Lard-Ass' in the re-make of the movie classic 'Stand By Me' and a contra deal as the face of Australia's next 'Biggest Loser' and 'Super Size Me II' after his 12 month binge on the famous footy pie.
Knowing Lynch's prowess in the eating stakes, you wonder if Balwyn really have made a good investment. The big fella won't make it won't make it out on the pitch next year. Maybe he will regret his decision to leave the old xavs with the constant ridicule next season.
Since when did Lynch leave Xavs???
Brian has spoken
7 Dec 2006, 19:23
Does anyone know the VAFA team training at Duncan McKinnon park, Murrumbeena last night. I drove past and saw about 12 players
Would be Glen Eira or Old Xavs...
oldertimer
7 Dec 2006, 20:19
Would be Glen Eira or Old Xavs...
Maybe Ormond!
apparently dobson gave the speech of the century at the b&f.. telling all the biys 2 get bhind the club and dont desert it etc etc... horrible effort for him 2 leave marcellin...balwyn will b a joke of a club next year with all their new players...theyll never b a good TEAM
Monkeyboy
10 Dec 2006, 20:20
apparently dobson gave the speech of the century at the b&f.. telling all the biys 2 get bhind the club and dont desert it etc etc... horrible effort for him 2 leave marcellin...balwyn will b a joke of a club next year with all their new players...theyll never b a good TEAM
Quality club doesn't need a deserter preaching. They will be just fine. Strong school, strong culture. If you dont want to play with your mates and for the MFC jumper...good bye and good luck!
Benny MOF
11 Dec 2006, 08:31
So it's a done deal between Dobson and Balwyn.....?
Collegians vs Old Xavs in round 1.
Will big Damian Lynch square up against his oldest foe and arch nemesis in the battle that never ends.......
Or will he be too busy at Market Research focus groups, eating the free party pies which they provide????
Bigfootyfan
12 Dec 2006, 10:20
Congratulations to Brett Collins and SBMT, went at pick 6 to Hawthorn in this mornings Rookie Draft
Grandstand Guru
12 Dec 2006, 11:51
Also congrats to Ross Young - after a couple of years at the Bullants, following the Uni Blues premiership, elevated to Carlton rookie list
sImpLy f0oTy
12 Dec 2006, 14:14
http://vafa.asn.au/
Good write up on Brett Collins.
blueboys1
12 Dec 2006, 17:22
Great to see Brett collins make it
Hoping he gets a fair go next year
Ron Hitler Barassi
20 Dec 2006, 13:44
Does anyone know Mark Corrigan's movements for next year? I noticed that he was dropped for the VFL grand final for Sandringham. Seemed very stiff after playing in the prelim.
I saw him at the ammos GF on the same day. Must have been hard for him to watch his brother accept the premiership cup for Old Haileybury after having a couple of stellar years at the club himself.
BigMomma
20 Feb 2007, 16:58
Slay Master, could not help but pick you up on your earlier posting that the postage stamp producing an AFL list player. May be players who are good in traffic are worth looking at.
BrianSpeaking
18 Mar 2007, 21:03
Slay Master, could not help but pick you up on your earlier posting that the postage stamp producing an AFL list player. May be players who are good in traffic are worth looking at.
So, any new questions that we VAFA legends can answer? Or even any scurrilous rumours? Miiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiikke!
bob down
12 Apr 2007, 00:15
Big, big drama about to unfold in the VAFA. I cannot obviously reveal what is going on, but you will know what I am talking about when it happens.
Sausage roll
12 Apr 2007, 10:56
Big, big drama about to unfold in the VAFA. I cannot obviously reveal what is going on, but you will know what I am talking about when it happens.
MM, very interesting Bob. Does it have something to do with a D1 club?
Falcons07
12 Apr 2007, 11:28
MM, very interesting Bob. Does it have something to do with a D1 club?
I hope its that and nothing to do with more season delays/cancelations????
The Big Pineapple
12 Apr 2007, 12:14
I think there has been a leak of information from the AGM. This infornmation was confidential and all delegates signed a confidentiality agreement. It would seem that security at the AGM has been compromised. I blame JT and his bevy of blonde leggy groupies.
Gil McLaughlins Horse
12 Apr 2007, 12:19
Jason McNiece back umpiring A grade???
Sausage roll
12 Apr 2007, 12:28
Jason McNiece back umpiring A grade???
Bigger than that...far more sinister.
Champ or Chump
12 Apr 2007, 12:46
Will it effect ALL grades of VAFA football or just a specific club and or division?
Probably nothing, great way to fire up a dead thread though Bob!
Sausage roll
12 Apr 2007, 15:58
Will it effect ALL grades of VAFA football or just a specific club and or division?
Will affect a club, and three divisions.
I heard exactly what Bob had heard.