View Full Version : Where will Michael Gardiner end up?

Gunnar Longshanks
3 Oct 2006, 00:17
Let's just get it out of the way:

Moe 3rds.

Yes - it's hilarious. It's a really clever and original joke - no-one would ever see it coming. But it's been said once now, so anyone milking it a second time would look like a moron, right?

So, where will Gardiner end up? Someone is going to pick him up.

I don't know whether they'll trade for him or just pick him up in a PSD, but someone will think "hang on - this bloke is a better ruckman than our current third-stringer."

Where do you reckon? Will WC get anything in return or will he go in the PSD?

delirious1
3 Oct 2006, 00:21
most likely end up in the psd i think

chelsworthgale
3 Oct 2006, 00:23
Psd Imo

blumfieldisback
3 Oct 2006, 00:40
my mate heard a rumour that gardiner was caught in a stolen car last week. Could be a horrible rumour but aparently under the trade rumours thread something along these lines was mentioned?????

id say he will enter the psd and unfortunately essendon will pick him up and sheeds will brag about what a catch we have??????? damn living nation.

Boy from the West
3 Oct 2006, 00:45
my mate heard a rumour that gardiner was caught in a stolen car last week. Could be a horrible rumour but aparently under the trade rumours thread something along these lines was mentioned?????

id say he will enter the psd and unfortunately essendon will pick him up and sheeds will brag about what a catch we have??????? damn living nation.
Be careful when progressing runours accusing blokes of crimes mate. Reckon he will get picked up in trade as he has too much of an upside potentially. Strong coach might get something out of him - Essendon, Swans, Hawks, Demons, Carlton (but club politics seem to say no there, Bulldogs. Bulldogs looks ideal to me.

Wally Matera
3 Oct 2006, 00:49
In the priory

go team
3 Oct 2006, 00:49
Moe 3rds

MAG87
3 Oct 2006, 01:00

Moe 3rds.

Yes - it's hilarious. It's a really clever and original joke - no-one would ever see it coming. But it's been said once now, so anyone milking it a second time would look like a moron, right?

I don't know whether they'll trade for him or just pick him up in a PSD, but someone will think "hang on - this bloke is a better ruckman than our current third-stringer."

i think gardiner will end up at the corner of the junction of tonkin hwy and thomas rd hitchhiking a ride to get out of here. thats how much disrepsect i have of him right now. he was my fav player prior to 03 and now he can get ****ed.

Rodgerramjet
3 Oct 2006, 01:09
Jail

philhawk
3 Oct 2006, 02:27

Moe 3rds.

No clubs have expressed interest in Gardiner according to the Eagles. :o

sauce_head
3 Oct 2006, 02:35
In the priory

LOL!

Traditionally at St Kilda to get a retirement fund. Think the blues might pick him up.

GoOsH1
3 Oct 2006, 02:41
if 2 clubs decide to go for him we might get a 3rd rnd pick or an upgrade on one of our picks. But if it does eventuate it will probably be in the last hour of trading on friday.

Embers
3 Oct 2006, 03:11
Hell

PrideOf
3 Oct 2006, 08:55
Hell

Carlton?

Nick Stojkovski
3 Oct 2006, 09:02
I think that if St Kilda dont go after Spider and get him they would have to have a crack at Gardiner if they have any chance of geting a premiership.
They have shown now for a number of years that they cant win a premiership without a ruckman.

RECORDS!
3 Oct 2006, 09:13
Be careful when progressing runours accusing blokes of crimes mate. Reckon he will get picked up in trade as he has too much of an upside potentially. Strong coach might get something out of him - Essendon, Swans, Hawks, Demons, Carlton (but club politics seem to say no there, Bulldogs. Bulldogs looks ideal to me.

What a load of rubbish. Are you saying that John Worsfold is not a strong coach. He would put the fear of god into anyone. This bloke is a loser who will not get picked up at all if any of the stories coming from your state in the past week are even 1/4 true.

Freo Shark
3 Oct 2006, 09:34
Its irrelevant how good the coach is. Woosha aint a pussy !

Bottom line its whether Gardiner wants a AFL career or go down in history as a incredibly talented player who pissed it all into the wind.

He might just be worth a late pick on a base salary and big performance payments. A 3rd or 4th round pick is a lottery. Throw the ball in his court and see if he has any self-respect.

Monocle
3 Oct 2006, 09:38
Claremont.

worthy
3 Oct 2006, 09:56
1%er MC.

footy_paul
3 Oct 2006, 10:15
essendon will pick him up in the psd only to groom ryder how to ruck but not act. on a serious note he will get picked up by essendon or carlton in the psd and probably just finish out his career in the vfl, unless he miraculously gets it all together.

PS. dont mention rumours about his off field actions unless proven in the news as you can get in a lot of trouble for rumours that are not to do with football

duckboy
3 Oct 2006, 10:18
I had a dream last night that Richmond took him in the National Draft as their second rounder!! Woke up in a cold sweat.. :eek:

LarryLong
3 Oct 2006, 12:23
PS. dont mention rumours about his off field actions unless proven in the news
"Proven in the news" - That's an interesting concept. :)

We could save the judiciary a lot of money if we could get them to get on board with this idea.

Karlostj
3 Oct 2006, 13:04
PSD if that.

Terry Tan
3 Oct 2006, 13:52
probably jail.

llosis
3 Oct 2006, 14:02
Coffin Cheaters FC

Ants
3 Oct 2006, 14:05
I know off-field this guy is a complete idiot. But on-field has there been any issues (except of course a knee reconstruction)?

If he's been playing well in the WAFL (which I hear he has), and has been playing in the ruck (no idea?), I find it hard to believe teams wouldn't take a punt on him. After all, three years ago he was the best ruckman in the league. People are lining up to take on Spider, who also has off-field issues and missed games this year, and yet Gardiner is years younger.

Personally, if I was Sydney/St Kilda, I'd be investigating Gardiner just as much if not more than Everitt.

But I still wouldn't offer more than a 3rd round pick for him :D

corporal
3 Oct 2006, 14:30
I think that if St Kilda dont go after Spider and get him they would have to have a crack at Gardiner if they have any chance of geting a premiership.
They have shown now for a number of years that they cant win a premiership without a ruckman.

Kosi & Gardener now thats one reliable ruck duo

JC1981
3 Oct 2006, 14:32
Carlton will trade a 3rd round pick for him and Rowan Jones.

The Old Dark Navy's
3 Oct 2006, 14:35
Carlton will trade a 3rd round pick for him and Rowan Jones.God no!. We already have Carrazzo who can miss goals from 10 metres out, we don't need RoJo.

Rough_Edges
3 Oct 2006, 14:41
Moe 3rds
LMAO gold.

blumfieldisback
3 Oct 2006, 14:45

what heis going to sue me from relaying a message that i heard from a friend pfft. Maybe is i was a journalist and printed an article without substantial proof then maybe i would be in trouble, however i did substantiate the fact it was a rumour.

blumfieldisback
3 Oct 2006, 14:48
essendon will pick him up in the psd only to groom ryder how to ruck but not act. on a serious note he will get picked up by essendon or carlton in the psd and probably just finish out his career in the vfl, unless he miraculously gets it all together.

PS. dont mention rumours about his off field actions unless proven in the news as you can get in a lot of trouble for rumours that are not to do with football

so effectively your saying this website is a farce an no one should ever post anything up because there rumours??????????????????????????????

footy_paul
3 Oct 2006, 14:51
so effectively your saying this website is a farce an no one should ever post anything up because there rumours??????????????????????????????

In regards to their personal life you ********, im trying to stop ppl from saying they heard he did this and that without proof. The rumours on this site should be directly related to the football ground not off it is what im saying

Boy from the West
3 Oct 2006, 15:13
What a load of rubbish. Are you saying that John Worsfold is not a strong coach. He would put the fear of god into anyone. This bloke is a loser who will not get picked up at all if any of the stories coming from your state in the past week are even 1/4 true.
Not rubbish at all pal.He stuffed up. He knows that his bridges are burnt here with WCE but a strong coach is his required to keep on on a path that is required to get him back playing AFL if it is to be. I made no insinuation that Woosh is not strong.

blumfieldisback
In regards to their personal life you ********, im trying to stop ppl from saying they heard he did this and that without proof. The rumours on this site should be directly related to the football ground not off it is what im saying

mate if your going to have the guts to swear then dont hide behind cryptic crap, you weak sod. The facts are footballers are more then just footballers and if this wasn't the case, gardiner would never have been sacked by the west coast eagles, its his own doings.

Boy from the West
Grow up

Dave The Man
3 Oct 2006, 15:26
I got a feeling he might become a Magpie!

footy_paul
3 Oct 2006, 18:12
mate if your going to have the guts to swear then dont hide behind cryptic crap, you weak sod. The facts are footballers are more then just footballers and if this wasn't the case, gardiner would never have been sacked by the west coast eagles, its his own doings.

ok your A FUKCING DIKCHEAD MATE

chelsworthgale
3 Oct 2006, 18:21
I love it how people on this website love the legal path...

"ooo be careful about what you say, be very careful"

In the end this place is an open forum for posting relevant rumours, skuttlebutt etc sometimes irrelevant material pops up and thats what moderators are for. If I am not mistaken wasn't the whole three players involved in the drug taking named on this website only to have the thread removed. Oh and the sanctions for the person naming the players... probably nothing. In the end legal ramafications imposed on anyone from posting on Bigfooty i syet to happen!

In other words post away with rumours truth and stories without fear, clowns posting be careful etc are kidding themselves.

chelsworthgale
3 Oct 2006, 18:24

I think you'll find the swear filter kicked in and cut that out...

HBF
3 Oct 2006, 18:34
Hopefully nowhere near Princess Park/Optus Oval/MC Labour Park.

Effes
3 Oct 2006, 19:09
Hopefully nowhere near Princess Park/Optus Oval/MC Labour Park.
QFT

Has Michael Gardiner been given enough chances?

blumfieldisback
3 Oct 2006, 19:13
I love it how people on this website love the legal path...

"ooo be careful about what you say, be very careful"

In the end this place is an open forum for posting relevant rumours, skuttlebutt etc sometimes irrelevant material pops up and thats what moderators are for. If I am not mistaken wasn't the whole three players involved in the drug taking named on this website only to have the thread removed. Oh and the sanctions for the person naming the players... probably nothing. In the end legal ramafications imposed on anyone from posting on Bigfooty i syet to happen!

In other words post away with rumours truth and stories without fear, clowns posting be careful etc are kidding themselves.

I know we had our disagreement before but i totally agree with this, i think people take this too seriously. As for footy paul and boy from the west i doubt it is me who needs to grow up, hope you guys feel satisfied.

Belly
3 Oct 2006, 19:25
Drunk behind the Wheel.

magpies42
3 Oct 2006, 19:42
rehab?

Davo-27
3 Oct 2006, 19:45
i reckon the hawks might get him for cheap............

blumfieldisback
3 Oct 2006, 21:36
i reckon the hawks might get him for cheap............

anyone will get him cheap, he will go into the psd it will save west coast signing a young player for 2 years who will never make it unless a miracle oocurs such as sydney getting goodes at pick 40 odd.

deanos_28
4 Oct 2006, 12:07
from an essendon point of view.
Bolton - Gardiner straight swap??? maybe soloman.
If not he will go to carlton in the PSD i think.
I dont think essendon need gardiner, as we already have alot of ruckmen, we dont needanother one playing VFL for us. in saying that, i disagree with essendon signing laycock again, i think carledge is a better option.
just my opinion.

JC1981
4 Oct 2006, 14:08
from an essendon point of view.
Bolton - Gardiner straight swap??? maybe soloman.
If not he will go to carlton in the PSD i think.
I dont think essendon need gardiner, as we already have alot of ruckmen, we dont needanother one playing VFL for us. in saying that, i disagree with essendon signing laycock again, i think carledge is a better option.
just my opinion.

Laycock is a better forward than ruckmen.

Boy from the West
5 Oct 2006, 00:19
Saw Channel 10 news in WA tonight. Gossage reported that Carlton were still a possibility for Gardiner. Apparently the footy department need to put a submission to the Board to allow them to go outside Smorgan's "guidelines".

IF they decide they want him they certainly won't take him at 1 or 17 but 19 is a posibility I suppose. Can't see them risking getting him in PSD if they decide they really want him. Interesting

GoOsH1
5 Oct 2006, 02:20
Can't see them risking getting him in PSD if they decide they really want him. Interesting
LOL, they'd risk it, seeing as they have the first pick, basically unless they have someone else in mind for the psd they'll wait and see if any offers come in for gardiner, if there is they can either trump it or let him go.

zero
5 Oct 2006, 02:27
LOL, they'd risk it, seeing as they have the first pick, basically unless they have someone else in mind for the psd they'll wait and see if any offers come in for gardiner, if there is they can either trump it or let him go.
yeah, but remember to get him in the PSD he has to nominate for it. if there is an offer from the saints or hawks for more money, and the eagles are happy to trade him for (say) a 3rd round pick, then he wont even get that far.

to get him to nominate for the PSD, they need to offer him more money than anyone else.

WoGiTaLiA
5 Oct 2006, 03:19
He needs to get out of Perth and away from the bad crowd he has become involved in, and where ever he goes needs to make sure he doesnt just get in with the same types in Melbourne or where ever he heads.

I'd actually like to see Adelaide take a shot at him. They have the leadership group in place and are in desperate need of a quality ruckman.

Karlostj
5 Oct 2006, 09:44
Saw Channel 10 news in WA tonight. Gossage reported that Carlton were still a possibility for Gardiner. Apparently the footy department need to put a submission to the Board to allow them to go outside Smorgan's "guidelines".

IF they decide they want him they certainly won't take him at 1 or 17 but 19 is a posibility I suppose. Can't see them risking getting him in PSD if they decide they really want him. Interesting

Pick 19???

You can't be serious.... with Beau McDonald perhaps available and everitt they could probably have either of them with that pick...

IF gardiner is picked up, it will be the PSD or late 3rd round.

mark73
5 Oct 2006, 09:47
In Fremantle, but not the football club. :)

Phil McCrackin
5 Oct 2006, 10:36
Claremont.

What Monocle said.

People seem to be overlooking one important fact concerning Gardiner - his best rucking days, in fact maybe all of his rucking days are behind him due to injury.

Bung knee/dodgy shoulder/on-going groin issues, you do the math.

brian.knight
5 Oct 2006, 13:25
Michael Gardiner will end up no where because he's crap and his poor attitude only compounds it. Why would any club consider getting this guy? Are they getting high too? :confused: He should just play in the WAFL or SANFL. What a wasted former no. 1 draft pick.

bus24
5 Oct 2006, 13:46
Picking up the soap

Charliebrow16
5 Oct 2006, 18:23
Essendon Wouldnt want gardiner, u can erase them from the picture.
They have a young, athletic ruckman already, In David Hille.
But i agree with deanos, that Essendon should have signed Cartledge instead of Laycock. Cartledge in my opinion has more potential.
I think Hawthorn would b the most interested in him atm, because it looks like Evritt will go 2 Sydney.
Dunno what they will give W.C though (remembering that they usually go for youth, instead of experience... so anything can happen!)

Ruddiger
6 Oct 2006, 01:50
Saints or Hawthorn.

swans12
6 Oct 2006, 09:13
The funny thing about Gardiner is that everyone keeps going on about the crowd he is involved with in WA.

He's on the outer with the Eagles, but they seem to have forgotten that Cousins has been connected with the same crowd on a number of occassions as well.

You dont here the fans jumping up and down about him.

I get the feeling he's no saint either.

It is interesting to watch a persons career (life) unravel before your eyes.

The old saying probably applies though.

If you lay down with dogs, you will catch some fleas.

Mrs Mercuri
6 Oct 2006, 12:17
Depending on what happens next week on the trade table and what players get delisted after that, i wouldn't mind so much if Essendon took the gamble and picked him up in the pre season draft. A change in scenery from WA would do him some good. Im sure Hirdy and Lloydy would have a chat to him to make sure his attitude was in the right place.

Despite his off field problems, there is no doubt that he has plenty of talent.:)

Charliebrow16
6 Oct 2006, 16:20
Depending on what happens next week on the trade table and what players get delisted after that, i wouldn't mind so much if Essendon took the gamble and picked him up in the pre season draft. A change in scenery from WA would do him some good. Im sure Hirdy and Lloydy would have a chat to him to make sure his attitude was in the right place.

Despite his off field problems, there is no doubt that he has plenty of talent.:)

Ok, i agree he has plenty of talent, however he's getting old.
Essendon have Hille, Laycock, Cartledge & Ryder.. we dont need anymore ruckmen.
Hille is only 23 yrs. old, so he has another 10 years in him. And i believe Ryder is going 2 b a star in the years to come.
Also, if we do get him (much 2 my disgust) i dont want 2 have 2 give up one of oure picks or a up & comer with a lot of potential.
Seems stupid in my opinion that we need Gardiner.

zero
6 Oct 2006, 23:22
The funny thing about Gardiner is that everyone keeps going on about the crowd he is involved with in WA.

He's on the outer with the Eagles, but they seem to have forgotten that Cousins has been connected with the same crowd on a number of occassions as well.

You dont here the fans jumping up and down about him.

the difference is when the eagles told cuz to break contact with "that crowd" he did, whereas gardiner told them they werent about to choose his friends for him.

cousins broke contact with gardy then too. they used to be thick as thieves (hehe), but they dont speak to each other now, and havent done for a while, pretty much by order of the club

scottwade
7 Oct 2006, 01:19
People seem to be overlooking one important fact concerning Gardiner - his best rucking days, in fact maybe all of his rucking days are behind him due to injury.

Bung knee/dodgy shoulder/on-going groin issues, you do the math. Absolutely correct. Furthermore watch how many times the word 'character' is used, in the next week, in relation to coaching changes, trades, potential draftees etc. Then imagine how a club could possibly pick up Gardiner and explain his character.

Bestbird
7 Oct 2006, 03:07
Absolutely correct. Furthermore watch how many times the word 'character' is used, in the next week, in relation to coaching changes, trades, potential draftees etc. Then imagine how a club could possibly pick up Gardiner and explain his character.

That maybe true

But there are always coaches around that may give him a go anyway if it suits the clubs needs

It is not as though he is the only player of questionable character to be given another chance at another club in sports history.

More so since the Grand Finals/ Finals in recent years clearly shows that an experienced or talented ruckman is almost a pre-requisite in winning a flag.

Which of course is why the Swans traded pick 16 for Jolly last year and are interested in Spider this year

sirjames
7 Oct 2006, 03:19
Being a drug mule for Kizon from Casuarina to Metro's Nightclub

Ted38
7 Oct 2006, 18:31
Being a drug mule for Kizon from Casuarina to Metro's Nightclub

then on to Adelaide!

sinepari
7 Oct 2006, 18:35
You're certain of the Crows link aren't you Ted!?

demoniac
8 Oct 2006, 13:56
That maybe true

But there are always coaches around that may give him a go anyway if it suits the clubs needs

It is not as though he is the only player of questionable character to be given another chance at another club in sports history.

More so since the Grand Finals/ Finals in recent years clearly shows that an experienced or talented ruckman is almost a pre-requisite in winning a flag.

Which of course is why the Swans traded pick 16 for Jolly last year and are interested in Spider this year

If is was only his bulging portfolio of off field issues then Gardiner would be in demand I suspect. But his body is broken, he has played only 129 games in 10years. Thats why he is going to find it hard to get to another club.

Blacky31
8 Oct 2006, 16:46
the difference is when the eagles told cuz to break contact with "that crowd" he did, whereas gardiner told them they werent about to choose his friends for him.

cousins broke contact with gardy then too. they used to be thick as thieves (hehe), but they dont speak to each other now, and havent done for a while, pretty much by order of the club

If you really believe that you are not the brightest spark!

Sir Luke Molan
8 Oct 2006, 16:50
jail probably...:D