View Full Version : Pike slams the cats on SEN
We should hire this guy as an assistant pronto!:thumbsu: He tore us apart last night on SEN but what he said was fair.
Said that what hope is there when the two biggest blokes at the club in Ottens and King are as soft as butter. Also didn't miss Scarlett. Said that we are too soft on the players and tolerate mediocirty. I tried to call in but the bloke answering the phones said that they weren't taking calls cause so many geelong fans had rung in to agree!
Seriously, why shouldn't we look at Pike for an assistant's role. He was a troubled player who went on to win 4 premierships, wants to move in to coaching and has a good football brain. He also knows what sort of team attitude is needed to win premierships. Instead of putting ads in the paper, maybe we should call this bloke and see if he is interested.
I wish we could hire him.
But the club is so precious in its belief of softies like King and Ottens.
:thumbsd:
Mr Sensitive
3 Oct 2006, 12:46
is this the pike from brisbane or the one in adelaide?
rossfunke
3 Oct 2006, 12:53
I don't know why they just dont put Ottens into the Ruck and King at FF. King can take a grab and kick a goal. Probably more mobile than Ottens, although both must have a massive pre season.
Mr Sensitive
3 Oct 2006, 12:55
I don't know why they just dont put Ottens into the Ruck and King at FF. King can take a grab and kick a goal. Probably more mobile than Ottens, although both must have a massive pre season.
lol.. mate, Ottens is much more mobile than King, who struggles to even lift his arms above his head these days, let alone pull down hangers.
is this the pike from brisbane or the one in adelaide?
Martin Pike, won a premiership with North and 3 premierships with Brisbane. He knows his stuff. Not always smooth on radio but he has a great footy brain.
rossfunke
3 Oct 2006, 13:07
lol.. mate, Ottens is much more mobile than King, who struggles to even lift his arms above his head these days, let alone pull down hangers.
Don't need him to take hangers, just put up his arms and hold the mark. go back and kick the goal.
Mr Sensitive
3 Oct 2006, 13:12
Don't need him to take hangers, just put up his arms and hold the mark. go back and kick the goal.
that's what i'm saying mate... King's shoulders are completely rooted, he wouldn't be able to hold anything above his head... there's no way he'd be effective as ff... Otto cops flak on the board but he was our best forward by a mile in the second half of this season, he presented well and was a strong target, only his kicking let him down at times. Besides Nathan and the Tomahawk will be rotating in the forward line next term.
Otto aint our best forward, the size of the bastard and he didnt even manage over 30 goals.
Scarlett30
3 Oct 2006, 13:31
Pike has applied for the vacant assistant’s job at Geelong. Judging by the comments I don’t think he got an interview.
Ammo Man
3 Oct 2006, 13:34
Seriously, why shouldn't we look at Pike for an assistant's role.
Cos he's a tosser. He's been at Hastings one year and is no certainty to be re-appointed. It would take a lot for me not to renew my membership in 2007, but getting Pike might just do it.:thumbsd:
thegerman
3 Oct 2006, 13:55
When is the last time you saw King take the mark of the year ??? Or take a contested mark for that matter ??
Cos he's a tosser. He's been at Hastings one year and is no certainty to be re-appointed. It would take a lot for me not to renew my membership in 2007, but getting Pike might just do it.:thumbsd:
Finally? Some reason.
Martin Pike? Who is he in the football world? Sure he won 4 Premierships, but coaching wise he is as stupid as he looks.
He really shouldn't comment on something he knows nothing about. Unless you are on the inner, reserve judgement until you know exactly what has occured. It sounds like nothing but sour grapes because he did not get an interview.
I've been told (i've spoken to a number of the senior players at Hastings) that he has little or no communication skills at Hastings and is unlikely to continue next season, however will be told to hand his resignation should he not obtain a higher position elsewhere.
He has no respect from the playing group and his attempts at being autocratic are borderline stupid.
Sure he's played in premierships but that means nothing in the coaching world.
P.S. Ottens is not soft, King on the other hand is very soft.
Ottens throws himself into packs, dives for the ball & runs to tackle. IIRC he led the club in contested marks. Why is he soft?
I'll add to the Hoff and Ammo Man - all I've heard this year is that he can't even coach Hastings - and some of you want him as an assistant because he got on the radio and said how crap we were.
Is that all some of you want from a coach? No ability to coach, but is willing to bag the club in public.
rossfunke
3 Oct 2006, 15:10
I'll add to the Hoff and Ammo Man - all I've heard this year is that he can't even coach Hastings - and some of you want him as an assistant because he got on the radio and said how crap we were.
Is that all some of you want from a coach? No ability to coach, but is willing to bag the club in public.
you know, if pike becomes an assistant and bags the cats in public, then it will be interesting to see if there are players in the group who would stand up to prove him wrong?... Maybe a bit of reverse psychology...???
jess_555
3 Oct 2006, 15:16
It's good that he's saying what he thinks. If coaches just go around denying that the club is falling apart or whatever then it's not gonna help the club. I didn't hear what he said but theres a fine line between bagging the club and identifying weak areas. You can't fix a problem until you identify it.
I have no idea who he is to be honest so yeah, I have no idea if he would be good or not for the job.
you know, if pike becomes an assistant and bags the cats in public, then it will be interesting to see if there are players in the group who would stand up to prove him wrong?... Maybe a bit of reverse psychology...???
So maybe Matty Scarlett should pretend that he can't defend to ensure Matty Egan takes his game to another level, or Gary Ablett Junior should miss goals intentionally from 25m out to prove that he needs help kicking goals from others..... Reverse psychology?
Maybe Kent was onto something? Retain him and make him captain!
someday-somehow
3 Oct 2006, 15:31
So maybe Matty Scarlett should pretend that he can't defend to ensure Matty Egan takes his game to another level, or Gary Ablett Junior should miss goals intentionally from 25m out to prove that he needs help kicking goals from others..... Reverse psychology?
Maybe Kent was onto something? Retain him and make him captain!
Gold!.
Martin pike was a great player but a complete idiot off the field, until his last couple of years they couldn't keep him out of the pub, and some reckon he'd be right at Geelong??...it beggars belief.:eek:
chapmanmagic35
3 Oct 2006, 16:29
What else would you expect from Pike?
CatmanForever
3 Oct 2006, 16:39
Martin Pike as assistant coach at the Cats......get real. Just because the bloke bags the club you think that means he must be right. That says alot more about some supporters than Martin Pike.
rossfunke
3 Oct 2006, 17:19
There is the problem with Geelong. Don't want to get someone in who is going to challenge the players.
The reason Geelong is so soft is because they have soft assistant coaches. I think Thompson is fine as head coach, but then you need tough honest assistant coaches.
Coaches who can be tough, honest, show little emotion to the playing group, but have their attention, are successful coaches, because they get the best out of their players.
someday-somehow
3 Oct 2006, 17:25
There is the problem with Geelong. Don't want to get someone in who is going to challenge the players.
The reason Geelong is so soft is because they have soft assistant coaches. I think Thompson is fine as head coach, but then you need tough honest assistant coaches.
Coaches who can be tough, honest, show little emotion to the playing group, but have their attention, are successful coaches, because they get the best out of their players.
I think the key word here is Coach, he might be correct in his harsh assessment and yes I believe that maybe some of these players need to be ruled over a bit harder but Pike does not have the runs on the board as far as a coach goes and if he's struggling to hold down a position in a minor league how is he going to step up to AFL?
Based on this assessment Phil Krakeour could call the cats weak and get a gig on the coaching panel.
rossfunke
3 Oct 2006, 17:32
I think the key word here is Coach, he might be correct in his harsh assessment and yes I believe that maybe some of these players need to be ruled over a bit harder but Pike does not have the runs on the board as far as a coach goes and if he's struggling to hold down a position in a minor league how is he going to step up to AFL?
Based on this assessment Phil Krakeour could call the cats weak and get a gig on the coaching panel.
But that's just it! The reason he's struggling to hold down a position in a minor league is becasue it's a minor league. He would be treating them like professional atheltes, but there not, and they don't like it.
At the elite level, this can work, because you have players that are professional athletes. They tend to have an understanding that if they wish to compete at this level, it isn't easy.
I'm not saying go for Pike, I'm just saying how it could work. Geelong need to get tough on the field with a leadrship group of the toughies like Chappy, Mooney, Rooke, and off it with tough coaches. Who..., I don't know.
CatmanForever
3 Oct 2006, 17:58
rossfunke, Pike will never be a coach at Geelong
rossfunke
3 Oct 2006, 18:02
rossfunke, Pike will never be a coach at Geelong
That's fine with me. Everyone is quick to jump on him, so I usually like to put forward a way how it could work. And it's the way I think geelong has to go, we've gone back to our handbag ways.
Whoever they select, he needs to be tough and honest. Because this year, sometimes it looked like I was watching the Geelong Netball Club. And having a tough and honest assistants will rub off on the players so when we start looking like Netballers, players can step up and change their ways.
jess_555
3 Oct 2006, 18:16
That's fine with me. Everyone is quick to jump on him, so I usually like to put forward a way how it could work. And it's the way I think geelong has to go, we've gone back to our handbag ways.
Whoever they select, he needs to be tough and honest. Because this year, sometimes it looked like I was watching the Geelong Netball Club. And having a tough and honest assistants will rub off on the players so when we start looking like Netballers, players can step up and change their ways.
Why does everyone always have to bag netballers!!?!?! GRRRrrrrr Why not make it bowls or something? Glad I got that out, it's been building up.
But that's just it! The reason he's struggling to hold down a position in a minor league is becasue it's a minor league. He would be treating them like professional atheltes, but there not, and they don't like it.
At the elite level, this can work, because you have players that are professional athletes. They tend to have an understanding that if they wish to compete at this level, it isn't easy.
I'm not saying go for Pike, I'm just saying how it could work. Geelong need to get tough on the field with a leadrship group of the toughies like Chappy, Mooney, Rooke, and off it with tough coaches. Who..., I don't know.
If he can't do well at minor leagues, why do you think it's their fault, not his? It may be his fault. He is said to be a poor communicator.
This sound off sounds like he applied for the job and they laughed at it. Failing in minor leagues doesn't sound good in the resume.
Why does everyone always have to bag netballers!!?!?! GRRRrrrrr Why not make it bowls or something? Glad I got that out, it's been building up.
They are being sexist and you're being ageist;)
CatmanForever
3 Oct 2006, 19:14
Let's get Liz Ellis as our next assistant...we need some of that tough competitiveness that our netball players have.
It is all well and good to point out the deficiencies of a club, that is the easy part, but what a real coach does is finds the problems and comes up with a solution that erradicates the issue.
Gazzajr is god
3 Oct 2006, 20:15
So because he bags us we should appoint him coach. Get Sammy in the panel to while where at it. Maybe Sam as ruck coach, Rob Walls as a forward coach, Dermie as a tackling bag.
We need a coach. As in a "teacher". Teach them how to kick properly. Teach Otto how to use his body in a 1 on 4 contest etc etc. Someone that identifies weakness' and show them ways they can correct it.
Sometimes I feel like Bomber goes, "I know Henry cant kick but if he can mark the ball 10 times inside 50 then he could get 4 goals".
Playfairs kicking hasn't improved at all in 4 years. Ditto Mc Carthy. Ditto Gaz.
The skills coaches should of went years ago.
Wheres Buddha ???? Get him on the coaching panel. He would automatically have the respect of the players. Cresswell improved the midfield alot in the 12 months he was there.
Different point - Ottos ruck work was quite qood. 7 out of 10 of his taps would go to the opposition but thats not the point.
And we did come number 1 in contested marks as a team.
Im not sticking up for him because he was a "boom" recruit, Id admit he hasn't delivered to the hype which he came with but he doesn't deserve the crap he cops aswell.
Lastly, everyone overlooks Bartel. I still think he would make a good captain. Theres no one harder in the team than Jimmy.
i reckon, i play mixed netball and love it! I also reckon ive played rougher netball games than some of the footy games ive played in. ;-)
But Thompson is just as soft. He allowed the senior players to do what they want both on and off the field this year. Our results spoke for themselves.
I agree, but it starts at the top.
Renegade
3 Oct 2006, 22:02
Pike>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>Thompson
thegerman
3 Oct 2006, 22:25
Pyke has a bigger mouth than Aker and just as hard to pull out of the pub than Carey.
Why would anyone want that at the club.
Sure you can assess any team that you want, but still you have to come up with answers and have some couth about yourself and the make these actions work on the park on gameday.
He doesn't seem to be aware of this.
I believe he put in for the job and wasn't given an interview. Sounds like sour grapes to me.
bulletproof
3 Oct 2006, 22:46
There is too much football coverage in Melbourne if his views are getting aired. A good ordinary player who was kicked out of 4 clubs for off field troubles. Next.
passthebottle
3 Oct 2006, 23:23
Who?
So this guy is an expert on Geelong now is he?
I am sure 3/4 of Geelong supporters could slam the club after this year. We all know the problems, we dont need someone who has no conection to the club to tell us.Average player who happened to be in the right place at the right time and scored a couple of flags along the way.
Hopefully we have a bit of a clean out and trade someone of a higher standard(Kelly comes to mind)not the usual fringe player(Playfair) and put afew players on edge. And Bomber gets a bit nastier.
Pike can f*** off back to what ever rat hole he crawled out of.
This is the numbnut that headbutted his C.E.O and rocked up smashed at a family day.O.J Simpson would get a gig before Pike.
I don't see what the big deal is (without hearing his comments).
Seems to me like he spoke the truth, and sadly for us, the truth hurts.
damn right :thumbsu:
Netball's a great game to play I reckon - not overly exciting watching (as a game ;)), but when playing it's one of the best (and if in a good comp, one of the quickest) games I've played.
And with the "soft as netball" thing. I've seen people break legs, ankles, arms, noses etc, even know of one guy that died playing netball (during the game before mine). Playing men's netball I saw another dude in my team get picked up from behind by his eyes once (if that makes sense) during a fight on the court.
Injury wise, I'm pretty sure Netball is the 3rd most dangerous sport played in Australia (obviously out of the mainstream sports) - I think Rugby League was the 9th most dangerous - maybe the saying should "as soft as League" :p
I don't see what the big deal is (without hearing his comments).
Seems to me like he spoke the truth, and sadly for us, the truth hurts.
That is not that problem. The problem is that some poeple on this board beleive he has the right ingredients to be Geelong's Assistant Coach next season and that is a huge worry.
Pike>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>Thompson
Gee, why doesnt that surprise me? :rolleyes:
Rustybugles
4 Oct 2006, 11:34
That is not that problem. The problem is that some poeple on this board beleive he has the right ingredients to be Geelong's Assistant Coach next season and that is a huge worry.
I don't think anyone in their right mind would think of appointing Martin Pike as a coach at Geelong - perhaps this is the man being considered. He has, however, said that he was not interested in any coaching position, having returned to Perth for family reasons.
Don Pyke quits the Crows
September 29, 2006
ADELAIDE Crows assistant coach Don Pyke has quit the AFL club.
Pyke, who has been an assistant to coach Neil Craig for the past two seasons, will return to his hometown of Perth to pursue business and other interests.
Pyke, a dual West Coast premiership player in the 1990s, had been linked to the vacant St Kilda coaching job.
But he said today he hoped to remain involved in football only on a part-time basis in Perth.
"It's a tough decision to leave the football club because I have loved my time here and have really enjoyed working with Neil, the other coaches and the playing group," Pyke said in a statement.
"I have a great passion and love for the game and would like to maintain some involvement into the future, though at this stage not on a full-time basis."
Adelaide's two other assistant coaches, Paul Hamilton and David Noble, have committed to remain with the Crows next year.
AAP