View Full Version : We need an assitant coach.....carlton

blueboy152
3 Oct 2006, 14:21
:thumbsu: Who should we look at in terms of heaping the youngters getting better.

celtic_pride
3 Oct 2006, 14:28
UM Carlton board I reckon.

Borgsta
3 Oct 2006, 14:33
Agreed, so

Thread Moved.

Kooley
3 Oct 2006, 14:54
:thumbsu: Who should we look at in terms of heaping the youngters getting better.michael voss would be great as to rohan smith.

AlecDuncan
3 Oct 2006, 16:42
:thumbsu: Who should we look at in terms of heaping the youngters getting better.
Actually, we need an assistant coach and a fitness coach.

HBF
3 Oct 2006, 16:44
Brett Ratten
Michael Voss
Stephen Silvagni

AVCO
3 Oct 2006, 17:26
I wouldnt mind Chris Mainwaring as assistant coach

HBF
3 Oct 2006, 18:35
I wouldnt mind Chris Mainwaring as assistant coach

Where has been coaching in WA. I thought he worked in the media over in Perth.

Bluebear
3 Oct 2006, 18:58
Where has been coaching in WA. I thought he worked in the media over in Perth.

When Smorgan said we were expanding the assistant panel next year with two new positions I assume that means we are looking for four people?
Defence coach, fitness coach and 2 new possies? (additional assistant and additional recruiting)?
Anyone else see it this way?

bluesfan
3 Oct 2006, 19:16
When Smorgan said we were expanding the assistant panel next year with two new positions I assume that means we are looking for four people?
Defence coach, fitness coach and 2 new possies? (additional assistant and additional recruiting)?
Anyone else see it this way?

Yeah, I thought the same thing mate. I thought, 'Gee, Smorgan's trying to get 4 more people down to the club to fill assistant roles'. Yeah, defence coach, fitness coach and 2 new possies sounds about right to me.

I'd like to have this:

Michael Voss
Brett Ratten
Steven Silvagni
???????

Not sure who else...

Bluebear
3 Oct 2006, 20:09
Yeah, I thought the same thing mate. I thought, 'Gee, Smorgan's trying to get 4 more people down to the club to fill assistant roles'. Yeah, defence coach, fitness coach and 2 new possies sounds about right to me.

I'd like to have this:

Michael Voss
Brett Ratten
Steven Silvagni
???????

Not sure who else...

Had heard that Voss is staying in Brissie next year regardless of retirement or not (? family reasons). So unlikely.
Would love to see SOS as defence coach, Ratts as assistant with ?Mitchell - not sure how this would work.......
and ? new recruiting dude?
Ah who nows.

droppuntkick23
3 Oct 2006, 20:11
Assistant Coach not Assitant:eek:

Bluebear
3 Oct 2006, 21:35
Assistant Coach not Assitant:eek:

Do you want to quote anyone in particular?:confused:
While your on the English lesson, you shouldn't capitalise the c in coach, as the second word in your sentence.

If thats the most you're going to add to the discussion.......well, you know the old saying
"if you haven't got anything nice to say, then bugger off to the pies board!!"

audas
3 Oct 2006, 22:03
I remember reading some time ago that Platten was doing remarkably well as a coach....was some time ago, however the reports were great.

Also I seem to remember we had a fitness coach.

Bluebear
4 Oct 2006, 17:06
Also I seem to remember we had a fitness coach.

Peter Mulkearns was the strength and conditioning coach, and he was sacked along with Tony Elshaug as a result of the post season review.

http://carltonfc.com.au/default.asp?pg=news&spg=display&articleid=296111

Smorgan also stated
"to make the most of our squad, and this Panel will be increased by 2 extra Assistants over the current number."
I assume that means we are in fact looking for 3 assistants and a strength and conditioning guy.

http://carltonfc.com.au/default.asp?pg=news&spg=display&articleid=301105

Chandra
4 Oct 2006, 20:09

Generally clubs are appointing their Assitant & Development coaches to work specifically with young players and lists out of the VFL & TAC Cup coach ranks.

audas
4 Oct 2006, 21:55
Peter Mulkearns was the strength and conditioning coach, and he was sacked along with Tony Elshaug as a result of the post season review.

http://carltonfc.com.au/default.asp?pg=news&spg=display&articleid=296111

Smorgan also stated
"to make the most of our squad, and this Panel will be increased by 2 extra Assistants over the current number."
I assume that means we are in fact looking for 3 assistants and a strength and conditioning guy.

http://carltonfc.com.au/default.asp?pg=news&spg=display&articleid=301105

cheers.

Bluebear
5 Oct 2006, 13:31
Generally clubs are appointing their Assitant & Development coaches to work specifically with young players and lists out of the VFL & TAC Cup coach ranks.

What about Grant Thomas as a youth development guy? Seems to have done a great job with the Saints young guns.
(Hey, we could make a play for Riewoldt next times he's out of contract).

jj1978
5 Oct 2006, 13:44
What about Grant Thomas as a youth development guy? Seems to have done a great job with the Saints young guns.
(Hey, we could make a play for Riewoldt next times he's out of contract).

Not that I agree with this idea about Thomas, but he has stated he's a one club guy... Saints or nothing.

Bluebear
5 Oct 2006, 14:55
Not that I agree with this idea about Thomas, but he has stated he's a one club guy... Saints or nothing.

Yeh, I remember him saying something about that, but more in referrence to coaching.
I think he would be great in a Neil Balme type role, and really add a lot.
I know it would never happen.......just a thought.
Having said that, given that we are looking for (?) 3 assistant and a conditioning coach.
This would be great:
1. SOS
2. Ratten
3. Thomas/Harvey?/Whitnal (playing captain/assistant coach - novel idea....but is it feasable? All agree he has a great footy brain - too much to ask of a current player, or the next step in his evolution? Maybe thats ridiculous, just thinking out loud.)