View Full Version : Leading mature age draftees
The Dustbin
3 Oct 2006, 21:32
Who is a chance out of the mature age players playing in the state leagues (SANFL, WAFL, VFL and QFL) to get drafted?
I reckon Cupido is a big chance to be back playing AFL next year, time will tell.
You would have to think that Aaron Edwards would be a chance.
Thunderstruck
3 Oct 2006, 21:56
Cupido has only played a handful of good games, the rest have been decidenly average. Many many more players in SANFL would deserve to go ahead of him.
Dunno how old you have to be to be considered mature age, but Alwyn Davey would have to get picked up I imagine.
Thunderstruck
3 Oct 2006, 22:19
Westhoff ;)
;)
Yer mate, Davey would be very stiff if he didn't go.
Tim Inkster is a player who I cannot understand why he isn't playing AFL, he's like a strong marking version of Luke Power and very smart, just perhaps not as quick.
Jezz_CFC
3 Oct 2006, 22:20
James Podsiadly is a chance most likely to bulldgos he plays for werribee in the VFL he is a FF and has been leading goal kicker 2 or 3 of the last 4 years
shane woewodin nominating for the drafts
sad delusional fool
Who is a chance out of the mature age players playing in the state leagues (SANFL, WAFL, VFL and QFL) to get drafted?
I reckon Cupido is a big chance to be back playing AFL next year, time will tell.
Cupdio would want to lose about 20 kilos this off season if he wants to get back to AFL level. Hes bigger than Dean Rioli
juddy_Like
3 Oct 2006, 23:32
sad delusional fool
Have you seen Woey play this year??? Hes been constistenly good in one of the worst WAFL teams in history.
And to think that this bloke is more sad, delusioned and foolish than Mark Powell who took his spot on the Kangas list. :rolleyes:
coasting
3 Oct 2006, 23:45
Podsiadly's name has been brought up on this board for the last 3 or 4 years. Surely if he was going to be drafted it would have happened by now? How old is he?
sinepari
3 Oct 2006, 23:52
Born 9th October 1981
Last chance.
irish_setanta
4 Oct 2006, 07:34
With Sheedy still coaching, anyones a chance to get drafted, even Derek Kickett.
CharlieG
4 Oct 2006, 08:47
What is the rule for a mature aged draftee? How many games are they allowed to have played at AFL, if any?
1. Cupido has been slow, fat & lazy in the sanfl
2. alwyn davey did not get an invite to the national or SA draft camps
3. anyone can be drafted at any age but there is a new mature rookie list for those who are 23+ and have never been on an AFL list
Daytripper
4 Oct 2006, 11:44
Would Justin McConnell from Glenelg be some sort of a chance ?
Looks awkward but gets a lot of the ball and has the necassary run required for AFL football.
No idea how old he is though.
Also would John Baird appeal to a team needing a spare parts defender ?
Averaged 23 possessions and 7 marks as a CHB for the Magpies this season.
micky_11
4 Oct 2006, 16:39
when u say magpies do you mean port magpies, or another team in a different league
Young Pres
4 Oct 2006, 18:45
Podsiadly's name has been brought up on this board for the last 3 or 4 years. Surely if he was going to be drafted it would have happened by now? How old is he?
He recently signed with Werribee for two more years. Has no intention of going to the AFL, was actually considering country footy before resigning.
Thunderstruck
4 Oct 2006, 22:54
when u say magpies do you mean port magpies, or another team in a different league
SANFL Port Magpies
Mc Connell is way too slow for AFL. Ben Haynes surely must be in consideration to get back in the system and Jermey Clayton would be the next considered for an elderly position on a list. But with the "super draft" supposedly this draft doubt any one will be looking to take an over aged deaftee.
fuzzyswan
5 Oct 2006, 01:21
how would rhys archard's chances be?
Rhys Archard is a star. Would love him at the Crows.
Boy from the West
5 Oct 2006, 01:59
2 guys from East Fremantle in the WAFL have been invited to State SCreening - Liam Anthony 19 (Half Forward) and Mc Garry 24 (KPP). Latter was on WCE rookie list several years ago.
Also would John Baird appeal to a team needing a spare parts defender ?
Averaged 23 possessions and 7 marks as a CHB for the Magpies this season.
I haven't seen him play this season, but in his time at North he was never going to be anything more than a spare parts player as you say. Not good enough to hold down a key position in the backline, and I don't think he would make it.
bringbackbucky
5 Oct 2006, 19:11
Jeremy Clayton deserves to be drafted. Will win his second magary medal tonight...
bringbackbucky
5 Oct 2006, 19:13
Have a feeling Nick Gill from North Adelaide will get picked up also.
James Podsiadly is a chance most likely to bulldgos he plays for werribee in the VFL he is a FF and has been leading goal kicker 2 or 3 of the last 4 years
Pods couple of chances are well behind him.
And he has only led the goal kicking once, in a year where Sautner missed 6 games.
No chance at all.
3. anyone can be drafted at any age but there is a new mature rookie list for those who are 23+ and have never been on an AFL listI really don't know what the target market for this new 'mature age rookies' rule is. Brent Backwell (2006 Magarey Medallist), Jeremy Clayton and Scott Borlace are three of the outstanding mid-twenties players in the SANFL, but all have been on an AFL list before. This theme would play itself out with most eligible players who have attributes that teams might be interested in, in other leagues as well.
In addition, barring long-term injury you can't even play them. What's the point? I can understand that you'll use the rookie list to pick up a raw 19, 20 or 21 year old to see if they have what it takes to improve into an AFL footballer within 2 years. But how much improvement can you expect from a player between the ages of 24 and 26? Surely by those kind of ages you should know if you want him on your senior list.
whippersnipper
9 Oct 2006, 01:11
With Sheedy still coaching, anyones a chance to get drafted, even Derek Kickett.
I'd shudder to think what Derek Kickett would say to Sheedy if he ever wanted to see him again.
sad delusional fool
do u even keep up with the WAFL fool? Woewodin had a pretty good year
cschreuder61
9 Oct 2006, 13:09
Ian Callinan from the Devils last year I thought was unlucky not to get drafted.
May be worth a punt as a mature age rookie now.
what about Jeremy Clayton from Port Magpies or Brett Backwell from Glenelg
Clayton was very close to being picked up by richmond last season but JC declined due to a pretty bad injury he suffered towards the end of last season
and Backwell fresh off winning the Magarey Medal clear by 9 votes
BK Eaglesfan
9 Oct 2006, 18:11
Have heard some talk Ezra Poyas from Sandringham may be a chance of having an AFL career resurrected.
Surely Aaron Edwards would be on some club's radar with a low pick.
If the draft goes as deep as many are saying it may not be a good year for mature age players though.
Ian Callinan from the Devils last year I thought was unlucky not to get drafted.
May be worth a punt as a mature age rookie now.
Agreed. A wasted talent.
Wasted how?