View Full Version : Draft Top 10

Pages : [1] 2

Poppa
4 Oct 2006, 22:28
hey, im bit lost on everyones opinion on who wil lgo in the top 10, so i wouldnt mind ya posting who ya think so i get a clear idea. if thats possible be all sweet

Bay Pie
4 Oct 2006, 22:45
Top3 certainties:
B Gibbs
S Gumbleton
L Hansen

Then in any order:
J Sellar
M Thorp
J Selwood
A Proud
L Jetta
M Launberger (not sure if that's correct spelling)
B Reid

smithos
4 Oct 2006, 22:51
Gibbs
Hansen
Gumbleton
Leuenberger
Thorp
Sellar
Selwood
Jetta
Reiwoldt
Proud
Collard
Connors

Jeremias
4 Oct 2006, 23:08
Gibbs
Gumbleton
Hansen
Thorp
Leuenberger
Sellar
Selwood
Proud
Riewoldt
Jetta

Rough_Edges
4 Oct 2006, 23:22
We won't get Riewoldt.

Citizen Erased
4 Oct 2006, 23:23
1.Bryce Gibbs
2.Lachlan Hansen
3.Scott Gumbleton
4.Mitchell Thorp
5.Matthew Leuenberger
6.Joel Selwood
7.James Seller
8.Jack Riewoldt
9.Nathan Brown
10.Brent Renouf

vinnie_vegas69
4 Oct 2006, 23:38
Here's a relatively unadventurous effort from me:

1. Carlton - Bryce Gibbs
2. Essendon - Lachlan Hansen
3. Kangaroos - Scott Gumbleton
4. Brisbane - Mitch Thorp
5. Port Adelaide - Albert Proud
6. Hawthorn - Matt Leuenberger
7. Geelong - Leroy Jetta
8. Richmond - James Sellar
9. St Kilda - Clayton Collard
10. Collingwood - Joel Selwood

Jezz_CFC
4 Oct 2006, 23:41
I reckon Carlton are more likely to take a KKP like Hansen Gumbleton or Leunberger

Jeremias
4 Oct 2006, 23:44
1.Bryce Gibbs
2.Lachlan Hansen
3.Scott Gumbleton
4.Mitchell Thorp
5.Matthew Leuenberger
6.Joel Selwood
7.James Seller
8.Jack Riewoldt
9.Nathan Brown
10.Brent Renouf

Gez, a couple of bolters there in Brown and Renouf.

Whilst I disagree, good on you for going out on a limb to such an extent :thumbsu:

I have a feeling Renouf will be coming to Carlton with 19. Brown, whilst I would love to get him at Carlton, will be gone by 35. top 25 for mine.

Merv
4 Oct 2006, 23:44
The draft is not until November 25.
Can't we at least wait until the trade week is over before making yet another one of these posts ffs?
Who knows who will be pick whatever

GET THORNTON

Blue_Blood
4 Oct 2006, 23:49
1. Carlton - Bryce Gibbs
2. Essendon - Scott Gumbleton
3. Kangaroos - Lachlan Hansen
4. Brisbane - Mitchell Thorp
5. Port Adelaide - James Sellar
6. Hawthorn - Matthew Leuenberger
7. Geelong - Albert Proud
8. Richmond - Jack Riewoldt
9. St.Kilda - Clayton Collard

Gilly1972
4 Oct 2006, 23:54
Here's a relatively unadventurous effort from me:

1. Carlton - Bryce Gibbs
2. Essendon - Lachlan Hansen
3. Kangaroos - Scott Gumbleton
4. Brisbane - Mitch Thorp
5. Port Adelaide - Albert Proud
6. Hawthorn - Matt Leuenberger
7. Geelong - Leroy Jetta
8. Richmond - James Sellar
9. St Kilda - Clayton Collard

I don't know about that Vinnie, best list i've seen, well thought through :thumbsu:

RooDog
5 Oct 2006, 00:14
ill be very happy if it pans out like you blokes are suggesting... im hoping tom hilsop slips to adelaide at pick 14!!

vinnie_vegas69
5 Oct 2006, 09:18
I don't know about that Vinnie, best list i've seen, well thought through :thumbsu:
Thanks mate :thumbsu:

ill be very happy if it pans out like you blokes are suggesting... im hoping tom hilsop slips to adelaide at pick 14!!
Very good chance of that, IMO, but Neil Craig already came out and said that you would be aiming for talls, no?

mark73
5 Oct 2006, 09:24
I reckon Carlton are more likely to take a KKP like Hansen Gumbleton or Leunberger
Doubt it.The media attention has virtually assured they will take Gibbs and you're underestimating the influence the media has.Imagine if Gibbs went to us and at age 20 did a Judd and won a brownlow while Carlton took Leuenberger or Hansen who were (like all talls) still developing.They'd never live it down.They'll take Gibbs.I'm 99.9% positive of that.

-EDIT- I'm not actually completely sold on Gumbleton as yet.He looks ok and does provide a presence but the (once again) comparisons that often come out about CHF that he is the next Carey are once again off as always.Carey at 17 was the strongest bloke on our list, this guy has tons of work to do.Also, he seems to do ridiculous stuff like throw himself back and get almost killed everytime.We all admire that stuff, but if he was to just become another injury prone KPP who spends more time out than in, it would just be another wasted pick.

HBF
5 Oct 2006, 09:28
1.Bryce Gibbs
2.Lachlan Hansen
3.Scott Gumbleton
4.Mitchell Thorp
5.Matthew Leuenberger
6.Joel Selwood
7.James Seller
8.Jack Riewoldt
9.Nathan Brown
10.Brent Renouf

No way Brown and Renouf will go top 10.

Jack-Packenham
5 Oct 2006, 09:29
1. Carlton - Gibbs
2. Essendon - Leuenberger
3. Kangaroos - Hansen
4. Brisbane - Selwood
5. Port Adelaide - Gumbleton
6. Hawthorn - Thorp
7. Geelong - Sellar
8. Richmond - Riewoldt
9. St Kilda - Proud
10. Collingwood - Jetta

Selwood & Lueunberger wont get beyond pick4

RiteBak@Ya
5 Oct 2006, 09:55
1. Gibbs.................Carlton, best available
2. Hansen...............Essendon, local Vic over Gumbelton
3. Gumbelton...........North, next best and in need of key forward
4. Proud/ Armitage...Brisbane, been saying all along they will go local
5. Sellar..................Port, Local and versatile forward, in need
6. Selwood..............Hawthorn, will go next best mid
7. Leuenberger.........Geelong, next best, in need.
8. Thorp.................Richmond, licking there lips, next best
9. Reiwolt...............St Kilda, wonder why?
10. Jetta................Collingwood, next best and need pace.

Bobby Beecroft
5 Oct 2006, 09:57
4. Proud/ Armitage...Brisbane, been saying all along they will go local

When & Where have they stated this?

vinnie_vegas69
5 Oct 2006, 10:05
Doubt it.The media attention has virtually assured they will take Gibbs and you're underestimating the influence the media has.Imagine if Gibbs went to us and at age 20 did a Judd and won a brownlow while Carlton took Leuenberger or Hansen who were (like all talls) still developing.They'd never live it down.They'll take Gibbs.I'm 99.9% positive of that.
If Carlton were considering taking someone other than Gibbs, they'd be coming out in the media and stating that they hadn't made up their minds yet, just to prepare the fans for the possibility that they may not pick him and to get them used to the idea, so they don't riot post-draft.

Jack-Packenham
5 Oct 2006, 10:12
All clubs will go best available in the top 10. No club will draft for a specific need until later in the draft.

Phil McCrackin
5 Oct 2006, 10:22

Unlikely Jack.

Laycock's just signed for another 2 years, plus we've got Hille, Cartledge and the developing Ryder.

My hunch FWIW is that we'll go for Selwood. :)

HBF
5 Oct 2006, 10:25
This is how I think it will pan out:

#1 Carlton - Gibbs (Best available in the draft. Will certainly help Carltons midfield depth. Will play round one next year)
#2 Essendon - Leuenberger (Will provide a great combination with Ryder over the next decade or so.)
#3 Kangaroos - Gumbleton (Best available IMO for the 'roos. Can play either end, but with Petrie playing well down back, will be played more as a forward)
#4 Brisbane - Hansen(Again, best available, and will help offset the loss of Leppitsch and possibly Mal Michael)
#5 Port Adel - Thorp (Best available for Port. Can play anywhere but can see him settling at CHB)
#6 Hawthorn - Jetta (Need some speed through the midfeild and Jetta certainly has this. Very very classy player)
#7 Geelong - Proud (Classy midfielder that will fit in well down at the Cattery)
#8 Richmond - Sellar (With Stafford retiring and Knobel struggling, taking a developing ruckman cum forward will help out both Simmonds and Richo)
#9 St.Kilda - Selwood (Very classy midfielder who help offset the impending retirement of Robert Harvey. Best available in the draft IMO)
#10 Collingwood - Collard (Like Hawthorn, need some speed through the midfield and think the 'pies will pull the trigger on Collard at 10)

bus24
5 Oct 2006, 10:28
1 - L.Hansen (CARL) - May be shot here, but Carlton do need a KP player, especially a backman.

2 - B.Gibbs (ESS) - Best Midfielder in the draft

3 - S.Gumbleton (KANG) - Kangas also need some KP depth, of course there is some sentimental value here with the family relations

4 - M.Thorp (BL) - BL also need KP depth

5 - J.Sellar (PA) - South Aussie boy, If he is availabile at 5, I'd be surprised if Port did not take him, great prospect.

6 - L.Jetta (HAW) - Would be a fantastic injection of pace into a slowish midfield, would compliment guys such asMitchell fantastically, don't be surprised if the Kangas take him with pick 3

7 - C.Collard( GEEL) - add pace too a midfield that lacks it.

8 - J.Riewoldt (RICH) - Would be a fantatsic ingredient into a forwardline that needs more options after Richo departs.

9 - J.Selwood (COLL) - Could go much higher, but his knee injuries will probably push him down to low top 10 pick. Collingwood should go and buy a lottery ticket if he slips all the way down here, which seems likely at the moment

10 - M.Luenberger (STK) - Fantastic ruck prospect, could go much higher, even top 3, but with the amount of talent on the table, it is feasible that he could slip.

Captain Wacky
5 Oct 2006, 11:18
1. Carlton - Gibbs
3. Kangaroos - Hansen
4. Brisbane - Selwood
5. Port Adelaide - Gumbleton
6. Hawthorn - Thorp
7. Geelong - Sellar
8. Richmond - Riewoldt
9. St Kilda - Proud
10. Collingwood - Jetta

Selwood & Lueunberger wont get beyond pick4

Hope you're right!

mark73
5 Oct 2006, 11:57
Hope you're right!
Me too. ;)

RiteBak@Ya
5 Oct 2006, 13:27
When & Where have they stated this?

Its what Ive been saying all along. Don't profess to have the inside work just my opinion.

I highly rate both these players and consider them top both 10, IMO Brisbane would be mad not to go local. They could build a local dynasty ths year.

They could pick up all locals - Proud/ Armitage 1st round, Renouf/ Petterd 2nd round, Tippet/ Urquart 3rd round, Dzuzer 4th round.

If they get additional picks from trading Aker ect they could pick up most of them.

xplo
5 Oct 2006, 14:01
Its what Ive been saying all along. Don't profess to have the inside work just my opinion.

I highly rate both these players and consider them top both 10, IMO Brisbane would be mad not to go local. They could build a local dynasty ths year.

They could pick up all locals - Proud/ Armitage 1st round, Renouf/ Petterd 2nd round, Tippet/ Urquart 3rd round, Dzuzer 4th round.

If they get additional picks from trading Aker ect they could pick up most of them.

They've said nothing of the sort.

If it comes down to two equally rated kids, they'll go for the Queenslander first, and often the Tasmanian or NT kid next (Brennan, Corrie, Sherman) and country kids after that (Adcock, Selwood).

But lay their last 5 years of draft picks out on the table and you'll see they take best available every time, regardless of size or home town -- Mitch Clark (WA) and Cam Wood (SA) have been their last two first round picks. There's a fair chance either Armitage or Petterd would be available for their second pick -- they'd be a fair chance they'd use their #22 there.

Richo83
5 Oct 2006, 14:22
I'm liking the idea of Richmond getting Thorp or Sellar.

Carlton - Gibbs
Essendon - Hansen
Kangaroos - Gumbleton
Brisbane - Thorp
Port Adelaide - Sellar
Hawthorn - Jetta
Geelong - Proud
Richmond - Selwood
St. Kilda - Leungberger
Collingwood - Collard

Other chances: Benjamin, Riewoldt,

I want Proud, or Thorp or Proud, but I'm afraid they will go too early. :(

People say that everyone will go best available, but with Richmond, they have a draftiing plan and will stick with it. Most likely to pick up a midfielder, then KPP then whoever's available. For instance even if Leungberger was available, I can't see Richmond taking him, even though everyone loves him.

Bobby Beecroft
5 Oct 2006, 14:28

Fair enough, but you did say 'they have been'.
Hope you wern't one of those Austin Lucy for the Lions No 1 pick in 2005.

The won't pay over the odds though for locals.
Next week will provide a clearer picture given they may be quite active in dealings.

Charliebrow16
5 Oct 2006, 14:34
If carlton get gibbs,
Essendon will definetly get hansen. Forget Gumbleton.

I'd like 2 get Riewoldt though. If he turns out 2 b better than his cousin, the team that gets him is gonna b laughing.

RiteBak@Ya
5 Oct 2006, 14:57
They've said nothing of the sort.

If it comes down to two equally rated kids, they'll go for the Queenslander first, and often the Tasmanian or NT kid next (Brennan, Corrie, Sherman) and country kids after that (Adcock, Selwood).

But lay their last 5 years of draft picks out on the table and you'll see they take best available every time, regardless of size or home town -- Mitch Clark (WA) and Cam Wood (SA) have been their last two first round picks. There's a fair chance either Armitage or Petterd would be available for their second pick -- they'd be a fair chance they'd use their #22 there.

Exactly, IMO Armitage and Proud are top 10 material. Many people have suggested you can throw a towel from 5 to 15. In that case they would go the Queenslander. Your opinion may differ. Fair enough!! Armitage has come right up the pecking order with a great 2nd half season in the QAFL

Nick Stojkovski
5 Oct 2006, 15:03
1. Carlton - Bryce Gibbs
2. Essendon - Scott Gumbleton
3. Kangaroos - Lachlan Hansen
4. Brisbane - Mitchell Thorp
5. Port Adelaide - James Sellar
6. Hawthorn - Matthew Leuenberger
7. Geelong - Albert Proud
8. Richmond - Jack Riewoldt
9. St.Kilda - Clayton Collard

Got to agree with you there!
That looks very likey to me

Gooka
5 Oct 2006, 15:44
Give me some names for pick 11.

Richo83
5 Oct 2006, 16:52
Give me some names for pick 11.

Ried and McKenzie would be two KPP, Riewoldt if he slips. If you go after a midfielder, then there is Collard, Houli, Hilsop, O' Brien, Hurley those players. Some of those aren't good enough for pick 11, so don't quote me there. But IMO the bulldogs should be looking for KPP, not midfielders. Grant isn't getting any older.

bus24
5 Oct 2006, 17:10
I think you mean Tom Hurley ?

I don't know whether he will go for sure in the draft if not he'll definatley get rookie listed.

Richo83
5 Oct 2006, 17:23

I don't know whether he will go for sure in the draft if not he'll definatley get rookie listed.

That's why I said, don't quote me. I know that Gibbs, Jetta, Selwood and Proud are argubally the top four midfielders, but from there it gets a bit hazy.

Pykie
5 Oct 2006, 17:31

i have a feeling for some reason that there is a higher opinion of him within clubs than on BF.

rossfunke
5 Oct 2006, 17:52
what about jetta?

deled3
5 Oct 2006, 18:08
Would love to get Sellar/Thorp though i dont think they will slip to 8.
Riewoldt seems more likely, unless we go for a mid, then i'd say Proud or Selwood if available.

bus24
5 Oct 2006, 18:29
i have a feeling for some reason that there is a higher opinion of him within clubs than on BF.

I'd love to draft him if i was in charge of recruiting, but I'm not so I dont know what other clubs are thinking about him.

mad-saint-guy
5 Oct 2006, 19:15
1: Gibbs (Carl)
2: Gumbleton (Ess)
3: Hansen (Kang)
4: Thorp (Bris)
5: Sellar (Port)
6: Riewoldt (Haw)
7: Jetta (Geel)
8: Leunberger (Rich)
9: Proud (Stk)
10: Selwood (Coll)

*Carlton have to go for Gibbs
*Essendon will pick either Gumby or Hansen, if they are looking to the immediate future they'll get Hansen, but if they're looking long-term they'll get Gumby
*Kangas will take whoever is left out of Gumby/Hansen
*Brisbane should take Thorp or Sellar with Selwood and Jetta outside chances
*Port will go best available, which will mean either Thorp, Sellar or Leunberger. Selwood might be a smokey
*Hawthorn could take anyone. They might go for Jetta for pace, Riewoldt as the best available KPP, Leunberger as best available or Proud/Selwood to boost their midfield. Very hard to pick.
*Geelong are a bit like Hawthorn. Lots of options, is out of Leunberger, Jetta, Riewoldt, Selwood and Proud
*Richmond have to take a tall. If Riewoldt/Sellar/Thorp is still available they'll jump. But with Stafford gone and Simmonds getting on they should probably go for a ruckman
*St Kilda will be desperate for Proud. Is the exact description of what they need. If he is unavailable the only players to be considered would be Selwood, Leunberger and maybe Jetta. Proud and Selwood are the clear top 2 preferences though
*Collingwood will just take whoever is left over of the obvious top 10

HBF
5 Oct 2006, 21:05
^^^ Can't see Leuenberger slipping that low.

Nightwolf
5 Oct 2006, 21:24
6: Riewoldt (Haw)
8: Leunberger (Rich)

*Carlton have to go for Gibbs
*Essendon will pick either Gumby or Hansen, if they are looking to the immediate future they'll get Hansen, but if they're looking long-term they'll get Gumby
*Kangas will take whoever is left out of Gumby/Hansen
*Brisbane should take Thorp or Sellar with Selwood and Jetta outside chances
*Port will go best available, which will mean either Thorp, Sellar or Leunberger. Selwood might be a smokey
*Hawthorn could take anyone. They might go for Jetta for pace, Riewoldt as the best available KPP, Leunberger as best available or Proud/Selwood to boost their midfield. Very hard to pick.
*Geelong are a bit like Hawthorn. Lots of options, is out of Leunberger, Jetta, Riewoldt, Selwood and Proud
*Richmond have to take a tall. If Riewoldt/Sellar/Thorp is still available they'll jump. But with Stafford gone and Simmonds getting on they should probably go for a ruckman
*St Kilda will be desperate for Proud. Is the exact description of what they need. If he is unavailable the only players to be considered would be Selwood, Leunberger and maybe Jetta. Proud and Selwood are the clear top 2 preferences though
*Collingwood will just take whoever is left over of the obvious top 10

Hawthorn rates The Berg behind Gibbs, Gumby and Hansen and have stated they will take the best available. If the big fella is there, they wont pass on him, guaranteed..

Tas
5 Oct 2006, 21:26
^^^ Can't see Leuenberger slipping that low.

I would be surprised if he was not in the top 5.

Tas
5 Oct 2006, 21:30
Hawthorn rates The Berg behind Gibbs, Gumby and Hansen and have stated they will take the best available. If the big fella is there, they wont pass on him, guaranteed..

Yeah, I think Berg is probably on par if not better than Hansen/Gumby but you would be nuts to recruit another freaking ruckman when you have Hale, McIntosh, Moran and Petrie who can all ruck and are all relatively young.

If we didn't look to have the ruck position sown up for a good 10 years then I think we would go for him and our talent scouts really rate him as a player. It would just be nuts to pass Gumby when our half foward line is pretty much non-existant and the cupboard pretty bare in that department.

Bentleigh
5 Oct 2006, 22:14
I very much doubt Richmond will go Reiwoldt with pick 8.

At least I hope not.

mad-saint-guy
5 Oct 2006, 23:03

Ok then, it might look more like this

6: Leunberger (Haw)
8: Riewoldt (Rich)

I very much doubt Richmond will go Reiwoldt with pick 8.
At least I hope not.

Who else would you go for? Midfield seems to be the only position Richmond have pretty well covered. With Richo probably gone in 2007 and question marks over Shulz, surely you'd need some other decent key-forwards apart from Hughes? Riewoldt can play back as well.

Bentleigh
6 Oct 2006, 00:00
Who else would you go for? Midfield seems to be the only position Richmond have pretty well covered

Proud or Selwood.

Midfeild needs to be improved jus as much as every other aspect of the list.

With Richo probably gone in 2007 and question marks over Shulz, surely you'd need some other decent key-forwards apart from Hughes? Riewoldt can play back as well.

Richo has signed a 2 year contract and has stated he wants to play as a long as possibile. Wallace has said he wants to play Richo as a Lynch-type player for a long time to come. But this is irievlent. You draft for 3/4/5+ years down the track, not next season.

costanza23
6 Oct 2006, 00:03
Geelong will take Proud ahead of Jetta.

McLeod23
6 Oct 2006, 01:15
I'm praying a quality tall somehow falls to #14.

Riewoldt, Sellar, whoever - I just want the best tall forward possible.

We finally develop a great talent in Hentschel and then... :(

OneEyedPie7
6 Oct 2006, 09:50
1. Gibbs
2. Gumbleton
3. Hansen
4. Thorp
5. Sellar
6. Leunburger
7. Proud
8. Riewoldt
9. Jetta
10. Selwood

Budda 230
6 Oct 2006, 10:14
Geelong will take Proud ahead of Jetta.

Geelong have stated that they will be picking "best available". So that may mean that Selwood is ahead of both those players.

Who knows? I believe this is one of the hardest drafts to pick in a long time.

borderbarry
6 Oct 2006, 10:56
Another Krakouer has crack
06 October 2006 Herald-Sun
Rebecca Williams
A FAMOUS footy name emerged as a standout in testing at the AFL draft camp yesterday, with Nathan Krakouer edging close to the record in the 20m sprint.

Krakouer, the cousin of Richmond's Andrew, clocked an impressive 2.83sec to finish just 0.04sec shy of the mark set by Port Adelaide's Rising Star winner Danyle Pearce in 2004.

The Claremont midfielder finished 0.07sec ahead of the next best sprinter, Nathan Djerrkura, of the Northern Territory.

``He (Krakouer) was that quick you hardly saw him, he just flew,'' AFL talent manager Kevin Sheehan said.
Could this be enough to get him into the top 10? I would think he would now be in the mix for the first round anyway.

Nightwolf
6 Oct 2006, 10:58
Another Krakouer has crack
06 October 2006 Herald-Sun
Rebecca Williams
A FAMOUS footy name emerged as a standout in testing at the AFL draft camp yesterday, with Nathan Krakouer edging close to the record in the 20m sprint.

Krakouer, the cousin of Richmond's Andrew, clocked an impressive 2.83sec to finish just 0.04sec shy of the mark set by Port Adelaide's Rising Star winner Danyle Pearce in 2004.

The Claremont midfielder finished 0.07sec ahead of the next best sprinter, Nathan Djerrkura, of the Northern Territory.

``He (Krakouer) was that quick you hardly saw him, he just flew,'' AFL talent manager Kevin Sheehan said.
Could this be enough to get him into the top 10? I would think he would now be in the mix for the first round anyway.

So because hes quick, hes top 10 material?

Danyle Pearce was a rookie FFS..

borderbarry
6 Oct 2006, 11:09
Mate, if he is a Krakourer, and very quick, he will be talented and wont go cheap.

vinnie_vegas69
6 Oct 2006, 11:25
How so?

Considering that Andrew Krakouer is barely getting a game for Richmond, and he's quick and skillful.

You can go tell St Kilda to use a 1st round pick on him, because I know Collingwood won't.

Richo83
6 Oct 2006, 19:50
How so?

Considering that Andrew Krakouer is barely getting a game for Richmond, and he's quick and skillful.

You can go tell St Kilda to use a 1st round pick on him, because I know Collingwood won't.

If Nathan is anything like Andy, I would be very dissapointed if we draft him.

Bulldogsnm1
6 Oct 2006, 22:11
Geelong I know are keen on Houli..

Bulldogsnm1
6 Oct 2006, 22:21
And Jetta will not go 1st round.......

mad-saint-guy
7 Oct 2006, 13:22
Who actually does want Jetta?

He won't go top 6 because of the huge amout of quality talls, Geelong have enough quick outside players with average kicking, Richmond have to go for either KPP or inside mid, St Kilda will only consider Proud and Selwood (maybe Leunberger if they are both gone), so Collingwood actually seems a pretty good fit.

Unless there is a recruiting manager out there that has fell in love with him or there is a coach that wants nothing but pace...there is a very god chance he'll still be available by Collingwood's pick and they do lack alot of pace.

Could we see...
7: Proud (Geel)
9: Selwood (Stk)
10: Jetta (Coll)

Bender The Offender
7 Oct 2006, 13:32
What i think will happen not the best 10
Leuenberger
Gibbs
Hansen
Selwood
Gumbleton
Thorp
Sellar
Jetta
Reiwoldt
Proud

i am taking a big punt i really have no idea

dalethomas13
7 Oct 2006, 13:34
i'd be very happy to take jetta at 10 without hesitation. We do lack leg speed and he would fit the bill completely. Didn't he average 20odd touches a game throughout this year??????? Yet, with that said i'd be happy to end up with one of proud, jetta or selwood.

Also note: its amazing to see armitage is constantly being left out of the top10. Interesting considering he has been the best performed kid at draft camp. Surely, he will be in the top 10 somewhere possibly brisbane at 4 as home grown talent??????

whippersnipper
7 Oct 2006, 13:35
Leuenberger
Gibbs
Hansen
Gumbleton
Thorp
Selwood
Jetta
Sellar
Reiwoldt
Proud
LOL, in your dreams, sunshine:D

rgauci
7 Oct 2006, 13:36
How come Armitage isn't featured in any of these top 10. Surely he'll go top 10. If he's still around for Fremantles pick at 13, i'll do a jig.

Harro
7 Oct 2006, 13:57
How come Armitage isn't featured in any of these top 10. Surely he'll go top 10. If he's still around for Fremantles pick at 13, i'll do a jig.

4: Leunberger (Bris)
6: Thorp (Haw)
7: Selwood (Geel)
10: Armitage (Coll)

There ya go.

Wayne91
7 Oct 2006, 14:26
I dont like jetta, i hope we dont pick him up.

Stock92
7 Oct 2006, 14:45
1. Gibbs
2. Gumbleton
3. Hansen
4. Thorp
5. Sellar
6. Leuenberger
7. Jetta
8. Riewoldt
9. Proud
10. Armitage

Bender The Offender
7 Oct 2006, 15:00
LOL, in your dreams, sunshine:D

i was not saying that cause i want it to happen i reckon will happen carlton need a ruckman

Axcellence
7 Oct 2006, 15:02
Who actually does want Jetta?

He won't go top 6 because of the huge amout of quality talls, Geelong have enough quick outside players with average kicking, Richmond have to go for either KPP or inside mid, St Kilda will only consider Proud and Selwood (maybe Leunberger if they are both gone), so Collingwood actually seems a pretty good fit.

Unless there is a recruiting manager out there that has fell in love with him or there is a coach that wants nothing but pace...there is a very god chance he'll still be available by Collingwood's pick and they do lack alot of pace.

Could we see...
7: Proud (Geel)
9: Selwood (Stk)
10: Jetta (Coll)

I reckon that's pretty accurate estimate.

The bold ones are the ones which I am not 100% about - Sellar as Port might be chasing a midfielder (logically) despite Sellar's SA credentials, Hawthorn - should they pick a ruckman rather than a KP?, and Jetta for Collingwood - dunno if they want to pick up another half forward/pocket type - rather than a proper midfielder?

I just think people are underestimating the "height" factor. Teams always go for taller personnel in each category and Proud/Jetta may drop then?

jimmy_clement#8
7 Oct 2006, 15:14
We'd be better grabbing Proud or Selwood than Jetta or Collard.

Presti_is_god
7 Oct 2006, 15:16
I and Jetta for Collingwood - dunno if they want to pick up another half forward/pocket type - rather than a proper midfielder?

Spot on. We need to draft a fully fledged mid. not a part timer.

sinepari
7 Oct 2006, 15:20
I wonder how many current posters have seen Jetta / Collard play outside of the champs?

Murray
7 Oct 2006, 15:25
Leuenberger
Gibbs
Hansen
Selwood
Gumbleton
Thorp
Sellar
Jetta
Reiwoldt
Proud

i am taking a big punt i really have no idea
At least you admit it as opposed to the other 95% on this board who refuse to

sinepari
7 Oct 2006, 15:31
Gibbs is definitely no certainty for No. 1. Leuenberger and Hansen are still a strong chance.

Wayne91
7 Oct 2006, 15:33
I wonder how many current posters have seen Jetta / Collard play outside of the champs?

To be honest ive seen little of him but whenever i read something about him i think he is another leon davis type.

sinepari
7 Oct 2006, 15:35
AA two years in a row would suggest otherwise.

Cats!!
7 Oct 2006, 15:45
1- Gibbs (Carl)
2- Gumbleton (Ess)
3- Hansen (Kang)
4- Thorp (Bris)
5- Proud (Port)
6- Leungurger (Haw)
7- Seller (Gee)
8- Riewaldt (Rich)
9- Jetta (StK)
10- Selwood (coll)

Charliebrow16
7 Oct 2006, 15:53
1- Gibbs (Carl)
2- Gumbleton (Ess)
3- Hansen (Kang)
4- Thorp (Bris)
5- Proud (Port)
6- Leungurger (Haw)
7- Seller (Gee)
8- Proud (Rich)
9- Jetta (StK)
19- Selwood (coll)

I'm doubtful Selwood will go at 19.

1. Gibbs
2. Hansen
3. Gumby
4. Leunburger
5. Selwood
6. Proud
7. Sellar
8. Riewoldt
9. Thorpe
10. Reid or Petterd - To hard 2 choose!

Carnthe
7 Oct 2006, 15:56
1- Gibbs (Carl)
2- Gumbleton (Ess)
3- Hansen (Kang)
4- Thorp (Bris)
5- Proud (Port)
6- Leungurger (Haw)
7- Seller (Gee)
8- Proud (Rich)
9- Jetta (StK)
19- Selwood (coll)

I'm doubtful Proud will go at 5 and 8.

sinepari
7 Oct 2006, 16:01
I'm doubtful Selwood will go at 19.
I'm pretty sure he meant 10.

And guys, it's spelt Leuenberger.

carn_the_cattas
7 Oct 2006, 16:01
1- Gibbs (Carl)
2- Gumbleton (Ess)
3- Hansen (Kang)
4- Thorp (Bris)
5- Proud (Port)
6- Leungurger (Haw)
7- Seller (Gee)
8- Proud (Rich)
9- Jetta (StK)
19- Selwood (coll)

Whose the other Proud?

EDIT: Sorry, didnt see carnthe's post.

Cats!!
7 Oct 2006, 16:03
sorry, i fixed both mistakes up.

Kangas_Div
7 Oct 2006, 16:04
1. Carlton - Gibbs
2. Essendon - Hansen
3. Kangaroos - Gumbleton
4. Brisbane - Thorp
5. Port Adelaide - Sellar
6. Hawthorn - Leuenberger
7. Geelong - Selwood
8. Richmond - Riewoldt
9. St Kilda - Proud
10. Collingwood - Jetta

dalethomas13
7 Oct 2006, 16:14
1. Carlton - Gibbs
2. Essendon - Hansen
3. Kangaroos - Gumbleton
4. Brisbane - Thorp
5. Port Adelaide - Sellar
6. Hawthorn - Leuenberger
7. Geelong - Selwood
8. Richmond - Riewoldt
9. St Kilda - Proud
10. Collingwood - Jetta
pretty close to the money, yet all it takes is one change to throw this draft up in there. Interesting to see armitage left out- would think he could be a real chance to go to brisbane at 4.

Cats!!
7 Oct 2006, 16:18
pretty close to the money, yet all it takes is one change to throw this draft up in there. Interesting to see armitage left out- would think he could be a real chance to go to brisbane at 4.

Why has there all of a sudden been a push for armitage. He had a good draft camp. But that doesn't mean that will push him up. how many time have we heard of the athlete compared to the natural footballer. Although I havent heard much about armitage, can someone please tell me a little bit about him.

DanA
7 Oct 2006, 16:31
Why has there all of a sudden been a push for armitage. He had a good draft camp. But that doesn't mean that will push him up. how many time have we heard of the athlete compared to the natural footballer. Although I havent heard much about armitage, can someone please tell me a little bit about him.

I think Armitage has gone from being around 15 to now a potential top 10. Maybe even an option for the cats at 7. Can't see him going any earlier.

Ysaye
7 Oct 2006, 16:45

Name has been bandied around the media a bit as being a top 10 (See Matt Burgan, Melbourne Herald etc.), regardless of the camp - apparently there is significant interest from Brisbane.

mad-saint-guy
7 Oct 2006, 17:08
I reckon that's pretty accurate estimate.

The bold ones are the ones which I am not 100% about - Sellar as Port might be chasing a midfielder (logically) despite Sellar's SA credentials, Hawthorn - should they pick a ruckman rather than a KP?, and Jetta for Collingwood - dunno if they want to pick up another half forward/pocket type - rather than a proper midfielder?

I just think people are underestimating the "height" factor. Teams always go for taller personnel in each category and Proud/Jetta may drop then?

Port seem to have a decent midfield; K.Cornes, C.Cornes, Salopek, S.Burgoyne, P.Burgoyne, Pearce, Casissi, Lonie, Symes, Thomson, and Thomas go alright. Yes, they could use a bit of quality depth but in terms of key-forwards (that will still be around in 3 years) they just have White and Willits (and maybe Thurstans).
The only young key defenders they have are Chaplin and Carlile.

Add to that Lade and Brogan are going to be gone in a couple of years leaving Deluca and Giles. Port are in desperate need of quality KPPs and if tey don't recruit a couple we could see a Hawthorn-esque dilema, except Port should be a serious finals contendor.

As for Hawthorn, the reason I had them going for Leuenberger is because he seems to be a class above the rest of the talls still available. Riewoldt might do well at AFL level but the Berg should be one of the best ruckman in the comp for quite some time. Imagine a combo of Leuenberger and Bailey wreaking havoc in the ruck with Campbell sitting in a forward pocket also taking a bit of the ruckwork.

Collingwood do need pure midfielders, but I think a star receiver capable of breaking games apart would do them more good then a decent hard working inside midfielder. Plus, there seems to be good depth for inside midfielders so it is likely someone like Uqrhart/Bird/Moss will be available to Collingwood for their later picks.

rgauci
7 Oct 2006, 20:28
EDIT: made a mistake.

goldcoast
7 Oct 2006, 20:34
If your referring to armitage I'm pretty sure he didnt play along with Renouf, Petterd, and Urqhuart from QLD.

foj1
7 Oct 2006, 21:30
Carlton- Gibbs- Wayne Hughes cant afford to make a mistake and Gibbs is a certainty to be a good AFL footballer. Tall blokes may be more valuable in the long term but Carlton wont take the chance.

Essendon- Gumbleton- Difficult to split Gumby and Hansen but Gumby has the potential to be something special at CHF. Will get the opportunity to learn off Hird, Lloyd and Lucas.

Roos- Hansen- What a pick 3! Tall, athletic back who is also dangerous forward or on the ball- see TAC finals. Will be fast hb line in a few years with Jesse Smith. Exciting stuff!

Brisbane- Thorpe- Toughest call so far. Big, strong, athletic and could play anywhere on the spine. Considered Leuenberger but Clark and Wood are two developing types. Would be more likely to consider Selwood IMO.

Port Adelaide- Sellar- Exciting talent. Tall athletic, I see him more as a KP prospect than ruck. Disappointing Nationals butwould be intriguing prospect with fit Tredrea. Too good to pass up. Considered Leuenberger but I think they will be satisfied with Lade, Brogan, Deluca.

Hawthorn- Leuenberger- What a steal! Hawthorn would take this in a heartbeat. Quite a replacement for Everitt. Could be an awesome ruck tandem with Bailey in the future. No brainer IMO.

Richmond- Nathan Brown- Many will disagree I know. This kid hates to be beaten. He is quick, strong and courageous. Had a very good Nationals and I could see him holding down a key position back in the future. Alternative is Selwood. I am on a limb but I think Richmond may go tall.

Geelong- Selwood- A fantastic pick up. Clearly the second best mid in the draft. Needs to get over injuries but he is tough hard and has leader written all over him. Just what Geelong needs imo.

St Kilda- Jetta- Speed, speed speed. Smallish but great vision, has the ability to run lines and has flair. Woooooooooooh! Would compliment Hayes, Dal Santo, Ball, Harvey. Considered Proud and Reiwoldt in this spot.

Collingwood- Reiwoldt- Tough to guage what the Pies will be after here. If they go tall I think Jack is their man. He is versatile, athletic and has made significant improvement throughout the year. If they go for pace Proud and Benjamin would be considered IMO.

Completed First Round
WB- McKenzie- Big unit who has a big motor. Strong and looks to be able to hold a key back in the future.
Melb- Proud- Could be another steal. Talented OB who would compliment their developing OB youth.
Freo- Benjamin- Tall, quick, athletic made for subiaco and the dockers imo.
Adel- Hislop- Very handy player, would be a nice fit with reilly, douglas and co when current ob give it away.
Syd- Allen- Earlier than most would have him But tall, athletic and capable of playing forward, back and pinch hit in the ruck.
WC- Mourish- More mythical than the Yeti. If he has the potential that seems to be going around then WC would have to roll the dice. Will he go earlier?
Carlton- M Brown- Tall who should develop into a good KP- considered Currie here as he is a bottom aged ruckman with a HEAP of potential. Would pair up well when Carlton take Kruezer with Number 1 next year;)
Essendon- Collard- Exciting mf- if he gets through to here Bomber fans should rejoice. Many would have him go earlier and that is fair enough.

dalethomas13
7 Oct 2006, 22:35
Carlton- Gibbs- Wayne Hughes cant afford to make a mistake and Gibbs is a certainty to be a good AFL footballer. Tall blokes may be more valuable in the long term but Carlton wont take the chance.

Essendon- Gumbleton- Difficult to split Gumby and Hansen but Gumby has the potential to be something special at CHF. Will get the opportunity to learn off Hird, Lloyd and Lucas.

Roos- Hansen- What a pick 3! Tall, athletic back who is also dangerous forward or on the ball- see TAC finals. Will be fast hb line in a few years with Jesse Smith. Exciting stuff!

Brisbane- Thorpe- Toughest call so far. Big, strong, athletic and could play anywhere on the spine. Considered Leuenberger but Clark and Wood are two developing types. Would be more likely to consider Selwood IMO.

Port Adelaide- Sellar- Exciting talent. Tall athletic, I see him more as a KP prospect than ruck. Disappointing Nationals butwould be intriguing prospect with fit Tredrea. Too good to pass up. Considered Leuenberger but I think they will be satisfied with Lade, Brogan, Deluca.

Hawthorn- Leuenberger- What a steal! Hawthorn would take this in a heartbeat. Quite a replacement for Everitt. Could be an awesome ruck tandem with Bailey in the future. No brainer IMO.

Richmond- Nathan Brown- Many will disagree I know. This kid hates to be beaten. He is quick, strong and courageous. Had a very good Nationals and I could see him holding down a key position back in the future. Alternative is Selwood. I am on a limb but I think Richmond may go tall.

Geelong- Selwood- A fantastic pick up. Clearly the second best mid in the draft. Needs to get over injuries but he is tough hard and has leader written all over him. Just what Geelong needs imo.

St Kilda- Jetta- Speed, speed speed. Smallish but great vision, has the ability to run lines and has flair. Woooooooooooh! Would compliment Hayes, Dal Santo, Ball, Harvey. Considered Proud and Reiwoldt in this spot.

Collingwood- Reiwoldt- Tough to guage what the Pies will be after here. If they go tall I think Jack is their man. He is versatile, athletic and has made significant improvement throughout the year. If they go for pace Proud and Benjamin would be considered IMO.

Completed First Round
WB- McKenzie- Big unit who has a big motor. Strong and looks to be able to hold a key back in the future.
Melb- Proud- Could be another steal. Talented OB who would compliment their developing OB youth.
Adel- Hislop- Very handy player, would be a nice fit with reilly, douglas and co when current ob give it away.
Syd- Allen- Earlier than most would have him But tall, athletic and capable of playing forward, back and pinch hit in the ruck.
WC- Mourish- More mythical than the Yeti. If he has the potential that seems to be going around then WC would have to roll the dice. Will he go earlier?
Carlton- M Brown- Tall who should develop into a good KP- considered Currie here as he is a bottom aged ruckman with a HEAP of potential. Would pair up well when Carlton take Kruezer with Number 1 next year;)
Essendon- Collard- Exciting mf- if he gets through to here Bomber fans should rejoice. Many would have him go earlier and that is fair enough.
very slim chance of collingwood going tall with pick 10- especially with our lack of classy, pacy midfielders. At this pick we will take one of jetta, selwood or proud, just a matter of who is available at the time. A midfielder will almost be guaranteed to be taken here, yet anything can happen as we know on draft day as it did last year with some unexpected calls.

Jeremias
7 Oct 2006, 22:46

Completed First Round

Would be semi-happy if that happened.

Gibbs is almost a no-brainer now.

Would be a good 1st round for us, but not really because of selection 17. Don't really want Mitch Brown with this pick, there will be better players still available. What I would be very happy about is the fact that Brock O'Brien would still be around at 19. That would make me SO happy. So, Gibbs, M Brown and O'Brien would be very good for us, but I don't think we need Mitch Brown. Nathan, on the other hand...

Saint Corin
7 Oct 2006, 22:50
Guess thats what makes the draft good. Even thogh Riewoldt might be the best availiable player for collingwood it doesn mean he is high on their needs, and gives another club to pick him up with a later pick. The draft is worked well....

One thing we should adpot to finalise it would be the NBA system...
The lottery......... So like the bottom 4 teams are garentted a bottom 4 pick, but it is unkown who will get no.1, this makes teams go for wins a lot more... So it's the lower you are the better chance you are at getting a lower pick..

mad-saint-guy
7 Oct 2006, 23:09
Saints won't go for Jetta. We have plenty of super-quick receivers, what we need is a fast clearance player, and that is Albert Proud. All of our midfielders are one-dimensional (minus Harvey); they are either one-paced, hard working clearance players or fast, skilled receivers. We need a Shaun Burgoyne or Daniel Kerr that can win the ball in the middle, break away from the pack and deliver it well.

If Proud isn't available we would still be happy with Selwood, as we do lack midfield depth in general, not just Kerr types.

In the extremely unlikely event that both Proud and Selwood are gone by pick 9 Jetta may come in to contention but if any of Leuenberger, Thorp or Sellar are available we'd go for them. Hislop may be a bolter as well, and Armitage could be a smokey (I dont know anything about him though).

And would people please stop having St Kilda take Riewoldt with pick 9, its not going to happen. Look at our key forward stocks: Riewoldt, Gehrig, Koschitzke, Schwarze, Brooks, Watts. It is the only position (as well as small defenders) that we have completely covered.

Quigley
7 Oct 2006, 23:31
Armitage has been getting some attention lately. He made all Australian as one of Qld's gun midfield. He won the Qld rising star by a fair margin and apparently is a very good leader. Very solid prospect but not likely to go number 4. If Brisbane go small they will go with Selwood.

Paddywackers
8 Oct 2006, 00:18
Hawthorn- Leuenberger- What a steal! t

I find these clls humorous from people who hve done there own draft.

Palmer Stoat
8 Oct 2006, 00:27
very slim chance of collingwood going tall with pick 10- especially with our lack of classy, pacy midfielders. At this pick we will take one of jetta, selwood or proud, just a matter of who is available at the time. A midfielder will almost be guaranteed to be taken here, yet anything can happen as we know on draft day as it did last year with some unexpected calls.

I disagree with that. Collingwood needs talls just as much as it needs mids. Rocca, Wakelin, Presti, and Clement are all veterans. In terms of young KPPs who've we got coming through? C3, and maybe Rusling and John Anthony (and the jury is still out on whether the last two will develop into genuine KPPs). In terms of mids we have Thomas, Shaw, Pendlebury, and Swan developing, and the first two have genuine pace. The truth is that Collingwood needs mids (inside especially), a ruckman, and KPPs. So if a KPP is best available, I don't doubt we'll go tall. And if the best tall is dead equal with the best mid, well, we still may go tall.

whippersnipper
8 Oct 2006, 01:11
Gibbs is definitely no certainty for No. 1. Leuenberger and Hansen are still a strong chance.
Thanks Wayne:D