View Full Version : *Zero Tolerance for Trolls* - Rules for the Hawthorn Forum

philhawk
7th October 2006, 15:34
Rules of the Hawthorn Forum: - Discussion thread. Post questions, queries etc.

Due to an spate of recent trolling on the Hawthorn Forum in recent times, the Moderators of the Hawthorn Forum thought it was best that Rules were issued to state the otherwise bleeding obvious to those fans who previously thought it ‘fun’ to troll this forum.

If you are an opposition supporter and ‘feel like a troll’, then Bay 13 is the place for you, not this forum.

Hawthorn Forum – First and foremost, this a Hawthorn Forum which is for the most part, generally where Hawthorn supporters can post. Fans of other clubs are more then welcome to get involved in debate and discussion on this Board, but keep it sensible and constructive; otherwise you can easily be banned from the forum.

Constructive Posts – As touched upon above, keep the debate on this board constructive and don’t resort to personal abuse when discussing a particular matter. If you don’t agree with the views of someone on this board, try and resolve the matter in a fair and sensible manner.

Respect – Everyone is entitled to their opinion (heck Wars have been fought over this). There will always be times when people present points that you disagree with both in principle and in fact. If you disagree with them, sort out the matter peacefully and preferably without making snide/sarcastic/belittling remarks. That said, if you make a completely stupid remark, you can’t expect to hide behind the rule afterwards when people rib into you!

Bumping old threads – It’s great to hold people accountable for the stuff that they post. However if you make it your sole objective on a forum to continuously bump old threads and generally ‘make a goose of yourself’, then you’ll be shown the door, at least on a temporary basis.

'SMS' Talk – Abbreviations here and there are more than fine. But when people start talking like ‘I wuv hwthaorn’ then it gets a little annoying. When composing threads, try to appreciate the importance of using capitals for Proper Nouns because otherwise, why do we bother speaking and reading this beautiful language?!

Rumours – This isn’t Bay 13. If you’ve got a rumour of some sort to tell the general ‘Hawk community’, add a link to the URL you read it on or mention the source that you heard it on (e.g. the radio network SEN).

In addition to this, please note that all posters must anyway adhere to the rules outlined by the ‘BigFooty 10 Commandments’ which can be found

http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/faq.php?faq=vb_board_usage#faq_forum_rules

Finally, all the Moderators for this forum are reasonable people who are more than willing to take time to listen to what anyone has to say. If you’ve got any queries concerning the Hawthorn Board, feel free to PM any one of us and we’ll be more than happy to help out.

If anyone has any queries about these rules, or feel that another rule needs to be added, feel free to post your queries in this thread and one of the Moderators will be more than happy to answer any questions you may have.

Go Hawks!

Gary Shadforth, Binxy, RustyHawk and Philhawk

amos
7th October 2006, 16:01
Phil, what actually happens to a troll? How many warnings do they get? If they get banned, is it from our forum or the site? Is it their IP addy or just their name (meaning they can come back using a different identity). That Geelong guy has been trolling our forum for days now about Buddy and Geelong's new F and S pick.

One other thing, can we offer a quick education for the younger Hawk fans here as the grammar of this site is a killer (I'm an English teacher so do forgive):

they're = they are (They're one of the most improved teams this year).
their = possessive (Hodge is their sweeping backman).
there = identifies a place and is the opposite of here. (There are eighteen players on a football field).

Two more :
Add an 's' for pluralisation. 1 Hawk, 2 Hawks.
Add an apostraphe for possession . Hawthorn's Home Ground.

sput1956
7th October 2006, 16:02
I hope you start to practice what you preach.

amos
7th October 2006, 16:07
I hope you start to practice what you preach.Was that directed at my English lesson? Hard to tell without the quotation. Or was it a broadside at our moderator?

philhawk
7th October 2006, 16:11
Phil, what actually happens to a troll? How many warnings do they get? If they get banned, is it from our forum or the site? Is it their IP addy or just their name (meaning they can come back using a different identity). That Geelong guy has been trolling our forum for days now about Buddy and Geelong's new F and S pick.

Good question, Amos. I believe the policy will be along the lines of a warning first up and upon repeat infringement, a request will be made to ban their account from the Hawthorn forum (not BigFooty).

I'm not exactly sure about the technical aspect of banning aliases is, but the Administrators on BigFooty are very, very thorough and I believe, can easily detect aliases and have them banned as well.

buddy23
7th October 2006, 16:13
you cant handle the truth!! go get a real job phill. try to get a life that does not involve big footy.

First on the hitlist - degenerates beware!

Gary Shadforth
7th October 2006, 17:09
Amos, Phil's heading containing the words 'Zero Tolerance' indicates that, from now on, the mods in this place will make application to have offending trolls banned should they ignore just one warning. That includes the likes of geelong_crazy26 who comes onto the Hawks' board with a facade of reasonable discussion and debate when actually his motive is to cause mischief. He has been given three warnings about his poor behaviour.

What exacerbates the control of trolls' bad behaviour is Hawks' posters taking their bait. Such has happened many times before I have personally come across an offending thread/post or received a reporting e-mail. Within any given hour an offending thread may have had a rush of replies and people can be just as quick querying why the thread hasn't been locked or deleted. One cannot be online 24/7. However, I believe three moderators will alleviate that somewhat.

noosa hawk mad
7th October 2006, 18:11
Moderators how do you become one and do you control the threads we view as i saw my old thread, today.Very new to the internet and love the Big Footy Hawthorn site,great insight and great banter keep up the good work guys:thumbsu: :thumbsu: :thumbsu: Working on my grammer amos CHEERS:)

Roughie
7th October 2006, 20:02
Thank God, Lets keep this forum a..............

http://img138.imageshack.us/img138/9857/trollzoneva4.jpg

Adelaide Hawk
7th October 2006, 21:39
I am 100% supportive of the mods in their stand. If I want to read rubbish about the Hawks, all I need to do is visit Bay 13 or the Main Board. I do not expect to read it on the Hawks forum, nor should I. Keep up the great work guys.

kriles76
8th October 2006, 05:58
I hope you start to practice what you preach.

.... and the first nomination is....

mark73
8th October 2006, 06:03
.... and the first nomination is....Just going by your comments on the D & T forum;

Obsession with what club? :confused: :o

kriles76
8th October 2006, 08:38
Just going by your comments on the D & T forum;

Obsession with what club? :confused: :o

I've got no problem with your club.... just the w@nkers who support it. :o

mark73
8th October 2006, 08:42
I've got no problem with your club.... just the w@nkers who support it. :o
So you pick out a Roos poster out of x amount to respond to.Obsession!! :thumbsu: :) :o

Hodge_is_God
8th October 2006, 11:47
So you pick out a Roos poster out of x amount to respond to.Obsession!! :thumbsu: :) :o

In May this fool wrote;

Well,I think I'm up to 4 posts,which would equal less than Matty's per day on our board

Doing a little search, this is now the 31st thread you've posted on in the Hawthorn board in the last year...what was that about obsession? :rolleyes:

Bennycoff
8th October 2006, 12:01
Good idea Phil, it keeps all these anti-Hawk supporters from posting absolute rubbish on our forums. Good idea, it's for Hawks supporters and opposition supporters with no biased comments, fair realistic comments no people trying to fire us up.

rdhopkins2
9th October 2006, 21:43
Good to see the antagonists get the boot and those that actually contribute to good clean fair discussion allowed to contribute....civilised debate!:thumbsu:

Katthawk
18th October 2006, 00:01

IDGAF
18th October 2006, 20:44
Go easy on me . I`m an old mate of Grendels :o

By the way ... what happened to the boy ?

Going to be hard to obey the policy due to recent events and appointments but i will do my best

philhawk
18th October 2006, 20:46

Going to be hard to obey the policy due to recent events and appointments but i will do my best

I know! I have no clue where he went? Maybe Gary can tell us when he comes back?

He just seemingly disappeared one day?

Hodge_is_God
19th October 2006, 10:18

Partial...?

Moderate...?

General...?

hodge-910111213
19th October 2006, 14:42
hey guys

wat does the term 'troll' actually mean? i dont understand it

Gary Shadforth
21st October 2006, 12:06
hey guys

wat does the term 'troll' actually mean? i dont understand it

Troll ? As I see it, a word used rather loosely here on BF. I suppose we can custom define the word for BF as a visiting poster, mostly of mischievous intent, who thread starts or posts an outlandish statement such as a personal insult directed at other BF members or having some ridiculous notion about or assessment of the status quo of the Hawthorn Football Club.

Others may wish to add or differ to my definition of a troll.

Gary Shadforth
21st October 2006, 12:24

I have had many PMs from other Hawks’ posters about Gren’s absenteeism from this place since May last. The breaking of confidentialities forbids me from giving an explanation. But I’ll take the opportunity of stating that Grendel personified the brown and gold died in the wool passionate Hawthorn supporter and was one of the great mods since the inauguration of BF. We miss him very much.

Katthawk
21st October 2006, 21:43
Partial...?

Moderate...?

General...?

Master Watchmog.... cromwell burns, Winny blows, and Mods spotcheck.

I watch. :p

Katthawk
21st October 2006, 21:46
Again, where is my mate Grendel? I miss him.

philhawk
25th October 2006, 14:03
Here's a warning to any opposition poster looking to cause trouble in this forum. Any snide, belittling or even sarcastic remark made about the Hawthorn association with Tasmania will see you banned with no warning - on most likely on a permanent basis.

At least you were warned.

hyperswivel
26th October 2006, 09:15
Sorry to play devil's advocate, but I think that's a touch heavy handed.

Who among us hasn't visited another team forum and offered a friendly barb, only to be met with similar outrageous force.

John 8:7 "He who is without sin among you, let him throw the first stone at her."

philhawk
26th October 2006, 10:55
Sorry to play devil's advocate, but I think that's a touch heavy handed.

Who among us hasn't visited another team forum and offered a friendly barb, only to be met with similar outrageous force.

Fair point Hyper, but I think friendly barbs will be easily recognized and accepted rather than the occasional dimwit who decides to post

HAHAhhaha Tassie Hawks

Dont you believe?

hyperswivel
26th October 2006, 11:05
touche mon ami.

:o

macdaddio
17th June 2007, 20:51
i hope you can stop these trolls phill

because yesterday i was so upset with all these post that a pie fan started and an eagles fan

i vented out my frustration on their threads, but this is suppose to be an hawk fan site.. i am here to listen and read about hawk news, and what you guys think of how we are travelling

i can take critisism, but from an hawk fan i can take it coz i know how you feel, but not from an outsider who follows other clubs and only here to start up crap threads

we are sitting here 3rd on the ladder and just smashed the blues by a reocrd 100 big ones

so why do these loosers come in here and talk crap

sory mate, but i,m a mad crazy hawk member of 5 years and supporter since i was little.

so thanx 4 ya support

go hawks

Gary Shadforth
18th June 2007, 00:02
Firstly macd, as frustrating and tempting as it maybe, it is advisable not to go onto other club forums and vent out your frustrations. In many instances they will come back at you by coming onto our board with unwanted trolling which creates considerable more work for the Hawks' mods.

When trolls come onto the Hawks board with rubbish they will be dealt with swiftly and firmly.

You can assist by just ignoring them and in any case trolls' unacceptable thread starts and/or posts will be deleted, infraction points, red or yellow cards or maybe banning will be imposed.

Cheers, macd.

Gary, on behalf of the mod team.

philhawk
18th June 2007, 00:59
Exactly, as Gary pointed out macd, it is frustrating when opposition supporters come onto this board with nothing positive to add, but it isn't advisable at all to go to other sub-forums and vent your spleen there!

As much as we try to clean up all the rubbish, we (Gary, Rusty, Binxy and myself) do occasionally miss a certain post here or there and the best thing to do is to report (http://img519.imageshack.us/img519/3382/reporttr8.gif (http://imageshack.us)) the post so that the Moderators are made immediately aware of it.

macdaddio
18th June 2007, 21:44
Exactly, as Gary pointed out macd, it is frustrating when opposition supporters come onto this board with nothing positive to add, but it isn't advisable at all to go to other sub-forums and vent your spleen there!

As much as we try to clean up all the rubbish, we (Gary, Rusty, Binxy and myself) do occasionally miss a certain post here or there and the best thing to do is to report (http://img519.imageshack.us/img519/3382/reporttr8.gif (http://imageshack.us)) the post so that the Moderators are made immediately aware of it.

ok .........but i havent vented out my fustration on other clubs sites......i only vent it out in here when i reconise a non hawk fan ...

but now i know what to do.............

cheers guys..........

go hawks

philhawk
18th June 2007, 21:53
ok .........but i havent vented out my fustration on other clubs sites......i only vent it out in here when i reconise a non hawk fan ...

but now i know what to do.............

cheers guys..........

go hawks

No worries, mate. :thumbsu:

Gary Shadforth
20th June 2007, 01:42
You can always add them to your ignore list.Quite true, witf. It's a great tool for those who wish not be frustrated.

In any case the highest quality board is here at the Hawks.

Keep it mind mate, and welcome back.

Tarkyn_24
13th July 2007, 12:10
"I wuv Hawthorn:p"

Hillarious.

But I promise I won't troll in any case.

Tarkyn_24
16th July 2007, 18:38
Lol nice rules :) gutless i think is the word that pops to mind.
Annnnnnnnnddddddddddddddd your prize is... a vacation from the hawthorn board

Mojo_14
2nd August 2007, 13:36
Are we the only club with these rules?
Ohh cool I'm a member now! Is there another status I can work myself towards? Like.. Supreme Mojo? or Philhawk number 2? I could be your wing man?

philhawk
2nd August 2007, 13:39
Are we the only club with these rules?

Ofcourse not, Mojo. Most club boards have them - with these rules in fact being based on the rules adopted in the West Coast forum.

RustyHawk
16th September 2007, 11:35
Just a reminder to the countless idiots from other teams who have come over here and posted trolling crap.. you will be DEALT WITH.

The Hawthorn Board is for Hawthorn supporters.

Big Footy provides 3 main forums to discuss all footy issues including:

The main AFL Board
Game Day forum
Bay 13

Use them, thats what there for.

Ignore the fact we dont accept trolling posts at your peril.

Have a nice day

(Binxy, Gary, Phil - just locking this thread for a few hours to keep focus on this message)

lickmerocks
27th September 2007, 09:23
Dear Hawk Moderators,

Last week i was suspended by the bigfooty police (mervyn Neagle) for posting on the Essendon board. What a disgrace.

There is a thing called freedom of speech in our country. I am happy to explain this to anyone that doesnt understand what freedom of speech is.

No profanitys were used in my thread however i did suggest after years of abuse from essendon people about vandenburg that Matty Lloyd was a dud of a captain for opening up his mouth in the media.

From there i was abused (called a horses hoof) and was happy to cop anything that came my way as i knew it would be a prickly subject especially for those that have taken great delight over the past 2 years bagging our club for Vandenburg being named skipper. But for someone to ban me who obviously thinks he is some sort of Policeman was an utter disgrace.

What a joke. Suspended from Bigfooty for 7 days. I have read the terms and conditions and cant believe a little banter every now and then is cause for suspension.

Is there an appeals board where i can take Mervyn Neagle to a tribunal for unfair dismissal?

anyway that my whinge for the day. Perhaps we should be a little more lenient amongst our friends and foes before banning people form a communtiy forum.

cheers,

Lickmerocks.

philhawk
27th September 2007, 09:30
Dear Hawk Moderators,

Last week i was suspended by the bigfooty police (mervyn Neagle) for posting on the Essendon board. What a disgrace.

There is a thing called freedom of speech in our country. I am happy to explain this to anyone that doesnt understand what freedom of speech is.

No profanitys were used in my thread however i did suggest after years of abuse from essendon people about vandenburg that Matty Lloyd was a dud of a captain for opening up his mouth in the media.

From there i was abused (called a horses hoof) and was happy to cop anything that came my way as i knew it would be a prickly subject especially for those that have taken great delight over the past 2 years bagging our club for Vandenburg being named skipper. But for someone to ban me who obviously thinks he is some sort of Policeman was an utter disgrace.

What a joke. Suspended from Bigfooty for 7 days. I have read the terms and conditions and cant believe a little banter every now and then is cause for suspension.

Is there an appeals board where i can take Mervyn Neagle to a tribunal for unfair dismissal?

anyway that my whinge for the day. Perhaps we should be a little more lenient amongst our friends and foes before banning people form a communtiy forum.

cheers,

Lickmerocks.

Lickme,

I understand your frustration, but you need to realise that all team boards are from posters of the club who support that team.

Unlike other boards like the Main Board or Bay 13, team board moderators have their own club in mind and don't like it when opposition supporters 'cross the line' and post silly things in their board.

Take for example if an opposition supporters were to insult our captain on this board. Whilst it's fine to do that on other boards, it clearly crosses the line on this board and retribution will be dished out.

So with that in mind, we need to be careful and cautious when posting on other boards as technically, we are 'guests' on those boards and need to mind what we say.

On the flipside, if posters did abuse you for your comments on the Essendon Board, another thing that needs to be pointed out is that Board moderators show a fair bit of leverage for their own posters whenever they post on their board.

If an opposition supporter were to 'troll' on the board and people were to abuse him in response, the 'troll' would be infracted, whilst the other posts would be merely deleted.

That's the point of the team boards. It's a way for fans to discuss their team without opposition supporters coming in and 'ruining' it by making unneccessary comments.

lickmerocks
27th September 2007, 10:03
Thanks for your explanation Philhawk.

So what you are saying if i wanted to really stir up some trouble i could log in as a different person under the guise of an Essendon supporter and then post my comments about Lloyd and it would be tolerated.

I think its all a bit petty really. I feel a bit naughty for being named and shamed by Mervyn Neagle so i will stick to being very serious from now on and stick to the Hawks board only.

Merv Neagle
10th October 2007, 22:44
Dear Hawk Moderators,

cheers,

Lickmerocks.

Sorry to get off topic here and please delete this message if it deemed to not be appropriate for this thread

You were infracted firstly for trolling and then 20 minutes later you did it again.
Then the next day you come in and do it again

Your first infraction was just 1 point but when someone doesn't learn their lesson they get hit harder.

If you had of learnt your lesson after the second troll, you would of only had a yellow card, allowing you to still post.

The third time we also banned you from our board

If any of our supporters were stupid enough to do the same thing here i would hope and be happy that they get exactly the same treatment.

lickmerocks
11th October 2007, 09:45
Sorry to get off topic here and please delete this message if it deemed to not be appropriate for this thread

You were infracted firstly for trolling and then 20 minutes later you did it again.

Your first infraction was just 1 point but when someone doesn't learn their lesson they get hit harder.

If you had of learnt your lesson after the second troll, you would of only had a yellow card, allowing you to still post.

If any of our supporters were stupid enough to do the same thing here i would hope and be happy that they get exactly the same treatment.

Mervyn everything that was posted was the absolute truth and thats why it hurt you so much.

No language, sexual references, innuendos were used and it was a statement. It is called a football board/forum and its meant to be soemones opinion.

Next time you go waiving your police batton and want to send soemone to the tribunal read the post again and if you dont agree with it thats your bad luck...

Its called an opinion. Freedom of speech.

forrrestGump
31st October 2007, 21:14
do you need four pages of discussion

however i think standards should be consistent across all boards
as this is not currently the case

i apologise for this comment

Mojo_14
31st October 2007, 21:33
do we need four pages of discussion

And you think you belong to the 'we'?

Some boards are targeted more than others, rules and standards thus vary accordingly. Back to bay 13 kiddo!

keefriffhard
1st November 2007, 18:13
do you need four pages of discussion

i apologise for this comment

Who was a bit hammered last night....?

First time I've ever seen anyone post an apology as an edit for a post instead of deleting it.

Reflects the quality of Forrrrrrrrrest's posting in Bay 13. At least it made me laugh. :)

Mojo_14
1st November 2007, 18:20
Who was a bit hammered last night....?

First time I've ever seen anyone post an apology as an edit for a post instead of deleting it.

Reflects the quality of Forrrrrrrrrest's posting in Bay 13. At least it made me laugh. :)

Lol.. I think it was cause I already quoted him!

Binxy
1st November 2007, 18:37

If any of our supporters were stupid enough to do the same thing here i would hope and be happy that they get exactly the same treatment.I have no problem at all - You mod how you see fit, Merv - it's your board.

Man, I can be merciless after a bad loss/insipid performance - also, people forget that mods are human and if they're having a bad day, it will be reflected on the boards - sometimes it's not fair...so what...that's life...you don't like it, go somewhere else. :)

lickmerocks
7th November 2007, 07:28
I have no problem at all - You mod how you see fit, Merv - it's your board.

Man, I can be merciless after a bad loss/insipid performance - also, people forget that mods are human and if they're having a bad day, it will be reflected on the boards - sometimes it's not fair...so what...that's life...you don't like it, go somewhere else. :)

put your weapon down Binxy. you cut a scary figure as a moderator.