View Full Version : Pick 2= Joel Selwood
Bender The Offender
8 Oct 2006, 19:18
I reckon that seeing as Gibbs will most likely be picked up number 1 i think we should pick up Selwood at pick 2. He is a good leader and the second best midfielder in the draft. It may be a risk getting him but i think it will be worth it. We do need a future star midfeilder
Bomberz_pacers07
8 Oct 2006, 19:21
would love to get him but wouldn't pick him over Gumby or Hansen.
Bender The Offender
8 Oct 2006, 19:25
would love to get him but wouldn't pick him over Gumby or Hansen.
it would be good if we could also have pick 5 or something
BRING BACK FIRST ROUND PRORITYS:thumbsu:
Bomberz_pacers07
8 Oct 2006, 19:43
i would hav an orgy if they had the 1st round priority picks still in especially for this draft. Picks 2 and 4:eek: :eek: :eek: Gumby AND selwood or another high quality player.
Bender The Offender
8 Oct 2006, 19:49
i would hav an orgy if they had the 1st round priority picks still in especially for this draft. Picks 2 and 4:eek: :eek: :eek: Gumby AND selwood or another high quality player.
that would be awesome
Osmodiar
8 Oct 2006, 20:55
yeah. I'm surprised not many people have mentioned how we're the first team to get screwed over by abolishing the priority pick(til later in first round). IMO it's a good thing its gone, but its just typical it happens to essendon :(
What about Carlton??? They would've had a day out... they definately would've picked Gibbs 1st and then would've had the option of going for Hansen, Gumbleton OR Leuenberger!
It would've been unfair it there was a priority pick but i wouldn;t have been complaining. It's our (sheedy's) fault anyway... Sheedy was the one who kept saying that it's too much of an advantage. IMO he started saying it one year 2 early!
btw, we're gonna get a KPP with pick number 2, the question is WHO? But we alredy have 13 threads on it so dont give your opinions here.
Audemars Piguet
8 Oct 2006, 21:49
Would have turned out something like this:
Priority 1: (Carlton) GIBBS
Priority 2: (Essendon) HANSEN
Pick 1: (Carlton) LUENBURGER
Pick 2: (Essendon) SELWOOD
I have a feeling, based on our previous drafts, that we might have gone the CHB and CHF double, getting Hansen and Gumbleton. I couldnt imagine gumbleton slipping to 5th.
danzan22
9 Oct 2006, 00:47
Pick 2: (Essendon) SELWOOD *drewl* that would be soo good, selwood, stanton and watson racking up posetions, hansen dominating chb, that would be as good as getting judd
Bentleigh
9 Oct 2006, 02:33
What a shame they took it away.
:)
blumfieldisback
9 Oct 2006, 02:33
why dont we continue this thread by dreaming that in 99 we beat carlton in the prelim and therefore smashed north in the granny or in 2001 we were the ones who used drips in our arms for a season to leave our players fresh and re-hydrated, that hird and mercuri were in full flight for it and we won our third flag in a row.
Stop speaking about what could have been and get on with what we have, which isnt much. the threads about taking selwood at no. 2 and whilst i can see the merit in it, there seems to be a risk taking a kid that has had a season ending knee injury. we'll should start talking about what kid we're going to take after trade week.
a fit and healthy joel selwood is well and truely worth pick 2... if his knee is ok he will be a superstar ...:thumbsu:
Longy413
9 Oct 2006, 09:08
What a shame they took it away.
:)
Not at all, should have been done years a go.
a fit and healthy joel selwood is well and truely worth pick 2... if his knee is ok he will be a superstar ...:thumbsu:
The exact reason why i wouldnt go near him.
We do need a future star midfeilder
Brent Stanton. Jobe Watson goes alright too.
go_the_bombers
9 Oct 2006, 10:05
Brent Stanton. Jobe Watson goes alright too.
He forgot about them ;) :p
Selwood will probably be a great player but at this stage we cant be taking risks on injuries.
Winders will return and add something to our midfield. Our gun quartet would sound like Watson, Stanton, Monfries and Winderlich. Special mention to Dempsey as he matures physically a little more and desperately unlucky would be Dyson, but HFFlank could be his niche.
We're in good shape in the middle...they gel a few more years as a unit and can potentially become great!
you're right... its just gonna suck in a few years time when we're saying "if only we drafted selwood"... because if he is healthy he's a massive prospect.. surely in these days they must be able to get a solid idea on just where his knee is at?... take some of the risk factor out.. his brother adam was in a similar boat at under 18's level and only played a handfull of games (if that)... he slipped all the way down to the 50's in the draft as a result - he hasnt had a problem ever since, hopefully he gets over his injuries as adam did - because he is one hell of a talent... the fact he was in the top 10 for vertical leap at draft camp is a good sign for someone who's been out of action all year.
I reckon he's way to inside for your liking Marcuz. You seem to prefer the dainty outside types.
Bentleigh
9 Oct 2006, 14:36
Not at all, should have been done years a go.
After 2004. ;)
Blinga :thumbsu:
greysong
9 Oct 2006, 16:33
Selwood will probably be a great player but at this stage we cant be taking risks on injuries.
i believe injuries was the reason hawthorn and st kilda didn't take chris judd in 2001. if gibbs is gone and a midfielder is our first priority, we must take selwood.
Shane Hird
9 Oct 2006, 16:35
According to the 'West Australian" news paper yesterday the top 10 will be....
1. Gibbs 2. Leuenberger 3.Gumbleton 4. Armitage 5. Hansen 6.Seller 7.Thorp 8.Selwood 9.Renouf 10.Brown
I don't think any one knows what the hell carlton are going to do for the first pick.Proberly Gibbs but their are heaps of fast and skilled players to choose from.
We need to pick Gumbleton or Hanson with our first pick and then see what is left in the way of midfielders....there will be plenty to choose from!
yeah none of which will be as good as gibbs or selwood... im sick of having a mediocre midfield... but either way pick 2 will be a talented kid no matter what position he plays
i believe injuries was the reason hawthorn and st kilda didn't take chris judd in 2001. if gibbs is gone and a midfielder is our first priority, we must take selwood.
At other times i would take a risk with him but with the rebuilding at the stage we are at we should be not adding any more risks to it. Plus is a midfielder our number one priority? A decent tall is alos high on our shopping list.
At other times i would take a risk with him but with the rebuilding at the stage we are at we should be not adding any more risks to it. Plus is a midfielder our number one priority? A decent tall is also high on our shopping list.
Bender The Offender
9 Oct 2006, 16:53
agreed:thumbsu:
Eight times:confused: now that is freaky :eek:
Bender The Offender
9 Oct 2006, 16:54
stop saying that
well it wasnt supposed to come up that many times lol
Longy413
9 Oct 2006, 17:47
Bender The Offender
9 Oct 2006, 18:12
well it wasnt supposed to come up that many times lol
oh ok:D
At other times i would take a risk with him but with the rebuilding at the stage we are at we should be not adding any more risks to it. Plus is a midfielder our number one priority? A decent tall is alos high on our shopping list.
Anything to get your BigFooty status up, hey? ;)
Darealrath
9 Oct 2006, 19:57
Source ?
I reckon he's way to inside for your liking Marcuz. You seem to prefer the dainty outside types.
How hard is it to understand? Nobody questions the kid's talent, but knee troubles at his age is something of a concern.
you're right... its just gonna suck in a few years time when we're saying "if only we drafted selwood"... because if he is healthy he's a massive prospect.. surely in these days they must be able to get a solid idea on just where his knee is at?... take some of the risk factor out.. his brother adam was in a similar boat at under 18's level and only played a handfull of games (if that)... he slipped all the way down to the 50's in the draft as a result - he hasnt had a problem ever since, hopefully he gets over his injuries as adam did - because he is one hell of a talent... the fact he was in the top 10 for vertical leap at draft camp is a good sign for someone who's been out of action all year.
i doubt we'll be regretting anything mate, from all reports we can pick between 5 or 6 different blokes and end up with a super talent. If his knee is fine and we rate him the next best talent then pick him. But if his knee sounds even slightly dodgy then we forget about him.
hotwizz
10 Oct 2006, 10:36
couldnt agree more.. IMO if fit he's pick 2 worthy :thumbsu:
How hard is it to understand? Nobody questions the kid's talent, but knee troubles at his age is something of a concern.
James Hird had knee troubles at his age.
Yes and we used pick 70 something to get him not pick 2 ;)
Bender The Offender
15 Oct 2006, 13:04
he finished in the top 10 in the vertical jump so thats a good sign
GET SELWOOD