View Full Version : Club Footy
big win for the Bombers 1's this week against kenmore....176-108, although it must be said the game was played on the undersized oval of the Jindalee football club:D, just the perecentage boost we needed.
hey hoju, big game in the 1's this week between caboolture and alex hills. Finals spots on the line....always a hearty battle between the bombers and the lions;)
Homer Jnr
5 Aug 2007, 21:01
big win for the Bombers 1's this week against kenmore....176-108, although it must be said the game was played on the undersized oval of the Jindalee football club:D, just the perecentage boost we needed.
hey hoju, big game in the 1's this week between caboolture and alex hills. Finals spots on the line....always a hearty battle between the bombers and the lions;)
Lucky bastards got to run around there. How does that size up compared to Robina?
We played them a few weeks back on their normal home deck and it was a mess. Rock hard and unbelievably uneven.
Huge game in the 1's this week, not a backward step will be taken either. Will be interesting watching from the sideline.
Gonna be runnin around in the 1's?
Chezwick
5 Aug 2007, 21:50
*Eye of the Tiger starts here*
For all your violence and football pleasure, everyone here to Yeronga Footy Club for the Triple Header Grudge match of the century between arch-enemies UQ and Yeronga :D
I'll finish this season with 2 games. Starting full time work just killed me sadly.But I've stayed involved by being goal umpire, water runner, and yesterday as the runner. Hey, anything to sing that glorious club song afterwards :D
Me thirds had a good win against Jimboomba (who incidently beat us in my last game) hard forght, and by god did those blokes do some cheap shots. What can you expect from thugs that were probarbly drunk the night before (Oh wait, THATS US!) Nah, Redbacks are tough bastards.....
But next week, Yeronga.... and I WANT A BIFF!
Homer Jnr
5 Aug 2007, 21:55
Careful in the seniors, the only way they got their win against us in the Seniors was with their goal umpire cheating.
Called 2 of their behinds as goals in the third quarter. Disgraceful. Give them a beating for everyone!
yeah mate i sure will be god knows what position tho...this season I have played every position except ruck and KP:D
Likely to be back on the HB Flank this week
Homer Jnr
7 Aug 2007, 15:29
yeah mate i sure will be god knows what position tho...this season I have played every position except ruck and KP:D
What number? I'll be sure to give you a razz and tell you to get a kick or somethin, haha.
Lucky bastards got to run around there. How does that size up compared to Robina?
it's smaller than robina, especially in terms of width, very narrow ground
What number? I'll be sure to give you a razz and tell you to get a kick or somethin, haha.
what's your number?:p
Homer Jnr
7 Aug 2007, 17:26
it's smaller than robina, especially in terms of width, very narrow ground
Damn, that'd be a treat.
Homer Jnr
7 Aug 2007, 17:27
what's your number?:p
47, bench/forward/ruck for the magoos.
Sherminator.
7 Aug 2007, 19:36
My b&f night is on Friday :cool:
campbell
8 Aug 2007, 09:08
My b&f night is on Friday :cool:
Who do you play for. Have a great b & F night.They are always a hoot.
campbell
8 Aug 2007, 09:11
Look out for the ruck/ FP in Div 1 this week, my youngest.You can't miss him all 6'5 of him.He also has been playing the last month in the ressies as well,so a double match time and then backs up in the 18's the next day.
Have a good game.
Look out for the ruck/ FP in Div 1 this week, my youngest.You can't miss him all 6'5 of him.He also has been playing the last month in the ressies as well,so a double match time and then backs up in the 18's the next day.
Have a good game.
hehe sounds like it:D........he's a bit keen, 1 game of footy per weekend is more than enough for me:o
should be a great game, it's always a battle with the Lions, tough and sometimes a little too spirited, but always enjoyable:)
campbell
8 Aug 2007, 09:34
hehe sounds like it:D........he's a bit keen, 1 game of footy per weekend is more than enough for me:o
should be a great game, it's always a battle with the Lions, tough and sometimes a little too spirited, but always enjoyable:)
Yeah loves his footy and sport that one.Ya gotta have a go, not be sedentary he reckons.Spirited is what footy is all about.lol.
LuckyLuke
10 Aug 2007, 18:32
Didn't know where to post this but i thought i'd share a nice experience i had.
I was at a function the Doncaster footy club held at lunchtime today and the guest speaker was one Robert Walls. My mate took me along to it and when he said Wallsy would be there i thought, "Gee, this might be good. He might tell some stories of the Bears and such."
Anyway, to cut a long story short, not only did I get to hear some great footy stories from Walls about Voss, D. White, playing and coaching Fitzroy, but i also got to sit next to one of the legends of the game. Ron Barassi came and sat next to me, stuck out his hand and said, "Hello, i'm Ron". I felt like saying "No shit!" But i was pretty much speechless. It was a great day with lots of stories and jokes from two of the greats.
If any footy fan gets a chance to listen to either of these two guys speak I'd say go for it. I never knew what the big deal with Walls was when Voss and co spoke so highly of him, but now i understand. He does have a lot of experience and tells some great stories from the 70's (which still actually interested me even though i was born in the 80's).
I wish i didn't have other plans for tomorrow night, otherwise i would be going to the Pride Reunion. I guess i'll have to wait till the next post GF dinner the Lions hold!
GO LIONS!
morphous
10 Aug 2007, 18:57
Have a good game.
Has he got blonde hair? My brothers 18 and I remember in the u16s for the lions there was a big blonde kid.
campbell
10 Aug 2007, 19:20
Has he got blonde hair? My brothers 18 and I remember in the u16s for the lions there was a big blonde kid.
Yep. tall piece of kid, they call him slim.Big boned, muscly kid not an ounce of fat on him.
campbell
10 Aug 2007, 19:24
Didn't know where to post this but i thought i'd share a nice experience i had.
I was at a function the Doncaster footy club held at lunchtime today and the guest speaker was one Robert Walls. My mate took me along to it and when he said Wallsy would be there i thought, "Gee, this might be good. He might tell some stories of the Bears and such."
Anyway, to cut a long story short, not only did I get to hear some great footy stories from Walls about Voss, D. White, playing and coaching Fitzroy, but i also got to sit next to one of the legends of the game. Ron Barassi came and sat next to me, stuck out his hand and said, "Hello, i'm Ron". I felt like saying "No shit!" But i was pretty much speechless. It was a great day with lots of stories and jokes from two of the greats.
If any footy fan gets a chance to listen to either of these two guys speak I'd say go for it. I never knew what the big deal with Walls was when Voss and co spoke so highly of him, but now i understand. He does have a lot of experience and tells some great stories from the 70's (which still actually interested me even though i was born in the 80's).
I wish i didn't have other plans for tomorrow night, otherwise i would be going to the Pride Reunion. I guess i'll have to wait till the next post GF dinner the Lions hold!
GO LIONS!
Sounds like an awesome lunch. I remember a few years ago going to apreseason match at Newcastle Lions vs Swans and Ron Barassi was there, and he was so nice and chatty.I was so shocked as the kids were all decked out in Lions gear. Hubby loved having a footy chat with a legend of the game.
Don't get me started on Walls. years ago when we were the Bears, my eldest was mascot at a Bulldogs match at Whitten Oval and Walls was coach. Not a pleasant time for my son and husband, having to listen t what they did in the dingy old cramped rooms.It was near the end of his tenue and from what they said and from what we could hear outside,, it was for the best he left our club.
morphous
10 Aug 2007, 19:37
Yep. tall piece of kid, they call him slim.Big boned, muscly kid not an ounce of fat on him.
And he played for Suncoast Power too in the States?
campbell
11 Aug 2007, 16:50
Alex Hills lost the Div 1 ressies by 5 goals.Go Lions.
Poor player for Alex Hills though,looked like a compound fracture of his tib and fib, in a real bad way.Ambulance on the ground to take him to hospital.Not nice hope he is okay.
Homer Jnr
12 Aug 2007, 22:13
Emperor, good win for your boys in the seniors. Our fellas just couldn't match your determination and drive and were overrun on a hot day.
Any update on the two blokes that went in ambulances post game from the magoos?
I was standing at Full Forward when the guys leg snapped, so about 120m away, and my opponent and I immediately knew what was happening. My best mate was standing next to it as it happened and he had to turn away, and one of our boys nearly vomited at the sight of it. It was a distressing incident.
Warwick
12 Aug 2007, 22:33
I'm working as a sports trainer atm and there is worse than really serious injuries on the field. You have to try and stay nice and calm, but it gets very difficult when you see a bone poking out of someone.
Warwick
12 Aug 2007, 22:36
Haha my junior stomping ground! :thumbsu:
The oval has seen better days that's for sure.
Any of you guys playing finals? I play this coming weekend for Rocky Panthers ressies, we win and we're through to the granny, same with the A grade team. Exciting times.:)
emperor
13 Aug 2007, 09:01
Emperor, good win for your boys in the seniors. Our fellas just couldn't match your determination and drive and were overrun on a hot day.
Any update on the two blokes that went in ambulances post game from the magoos?
I was standing at Full Forward when the guys leg snapped, so about 120m away, and my opponent and I immediately knew what was happening. My best mate was standing next to it as it happened and he had to turn away, and one of our boys nearly vomited at the sight of it. It was a distressing incident.
no mate I've got no official word yet, though needless to say both were terribly unfortunate incidents. The bloke who broke his leg was one of the real good guys around the club too and was in his last season I'm pretty sure, so a terrible way to finish, in fact I think he may have even been talked out of his retirement last year. I didn't hear much about it on the day and into the night didn't feel compelled to ask about the details either. As for the other fella, I think he's gonna be alright, but no doubt serious concussion. I'll give you a PM when I find out how they are doing.
Homer Jnr
13 Aug 2007, 09:15
no mate I've got no official word yet, though needless to say both were terribly unfortunate incidents. The bloke who broke his leg was one of the real good guys around the club too and was in his last season I'm pretty sure, so a terrible way to finish, in fact I think he may have even been talked out of his retirement last year. I didn't hear much about it on the day and into the night didn't feel compelled to ask about the details either. As for the other fella, I think he's gonna be alright, but no doubt serious concussion. I'll give you a PM when I find out how they are doing.
Cheers mate.
I know it was rather somber around the rooms after the win, other than the singing of the song, there was no real major celebration even though it was a good hard fought victory.
At least your seniors walked away with the points, that puts you right in the mix doesn't it?
emperor
13 Aug 2007, 15:20
Cheers mate.
I know it was rather somber around the rooms after the win, other than the singing of the song, there was no real major celebration even though it was a good hard fought victory.
At least your seniors walked away with the points, that puts you right in the mix doesn't it?
yeah we need to beat yeronga this week to guarantee a berth....if we lose we rely on other results going our way and that is probably unlikely. at home though so we are in with a real shot
Chezwick
24 Oct 2007, 10:05
Careful in the seniors, the only way they got their win against us in the Seniors was with their goal umpire cheating.
Called 2 of their behinds as goals in the third quarter. Disgraceful. Give them a beating for everyone!
Doesn't surprise me one bit
Oh yeah, BUMP
Div 3 this season won by Western Magpies over Logan, both teams we've somewhat been competitive against througout the season (probarbly because I didn't play), we even beat the eventual premiers by I think 1 point after the siren in an awesome game late in the season. :thumbsu: :D
So pretty much that was my first season of club footy. I played 2 games, for 2 losses, a concussion and a ****ing failed quad. Given that there will probarbly be 50 or 60 more new kids for next season, figured I better start building up my endurance so I can try win a place in ANY team.
Personally, I want to get back at Griffith for continual cheap shots against me :D , Yeronga, because they are Yeronga (BrownDog knows how the piss me off in Rec Footy... carn the Lemmings! :) and if those bogans from Caboolutre had a thirds team, I'd like a piece of them.... sif abuse me as a boundry umpire... not my fault it was touched off the boot :D
To those who are more experienced in club footy scene, any suggestions for me to build up endurance and speed ahead of official pre-season training?
morphous
24 Oct 2007, 11:30
To those who are more experienced in club footy scene, any suggestions for me to build up endurance and speed ahead of official pre-season training?
I've for the Bushies summer fitness program in a spreadsheet here if you want I'll it to you, it focus' on strength and endurance.
Send me a message with your email if you want it.
Has anyone played that non-contact aussie rules they have been advertising? I might give it a go seeing as my shoulder is gone. What could have been! :p
Dunno if anyone answered this (I just read the first two pages and the last two), but I converted our netball team into a "Rec Footy" team here in Sydney. Starting on Thursday. Going to be interesting to say the least, given most of our lack of actual AFL involvement.
Chezwick
24 Oct 2007, 12:20
Dunno if anyone answered this (I just read the first two pages and the last two), but I converted our netball team into a "Rec Footy" team here in Sydney. Starting on Thursday. Going to be interesting to say the least, given most of our lack of actual AFL involvement.
Couple of us here on the board play it out at Mt Gravatt AFC. Great fun. Even faced a former Red Lion apparantly. Was wondering why he was always looking at me at Come and Try Night (was wearing me UQ guernsey.... wonder if he wore 17 :confused:)
Homer Jnr
24 Oct 2007, 15:14
and if those bogans from Caboolutre had a thirds team, I'd like a piece of them.... sif abuse me as a boundry umpire... not my fault it was touched off the boot :D
We are a season or maybe two away from having a similar team setup to UQ. Just wait your turn, you'll get a crack at us eventually.
When did this abuse happen?
Chezwick
24 Oct 2007, 18:06
We are a season or maybe two away from having a similar team setup to UQ. Just wait your turn, you'll get a crack at us eventually.
When did this abuse happen?
Wasn't really abuse, just upset the reserves bench and a couple players on the field. One gave me a talking to, so the Umpire award a free kick.
Happened in the games earlier in the season at the Uni grounds
campbell
25 Oct 2007, 10:30
So Cheswick, which team at UQ do you play for?
How is the preseason stuff going, have any of you started that yet?
_charlie_
25 Oct 2007, 17:56
Howdy everyone,
I follow Wilston Grange. Not the best of years for us - lost our best player, alot of injuries, and kicked out early in the finals. Hopefully will kick back in 2008!
That's about it ... just stating my allegiance! :D
Chezwick
25 Oct 2007, 18:07
Well being a first year club, I only managed 2 games in the thirds.
Club pre-season hasn't started, but given I want to play more games this year, I'll probarbly start next week with some strength work. Never hurts to get ready early :D