View Full Version : Its good to see Hawthorn is starting to bully teams

Hawkk
10 Oct 2006, 03:03
Whether it was Kennett's relocation suggestion, or the aggressive stance taken by Pelchen and more generally the club in rewards to trades with Everitt and Thornton, its really good to see the Hawks taking an aggressive approach and pulling their weight around instead of sitting back and letting things happen. Even if we don't snare Thornton and lose Everitt to the PSD draft, we as a club have taken a giant step forwards this season :thumbsu: Potential trades and lures like the recent Thornton fiasco are encouraging signs highlighting how far we have come on and off the field since the Thompson incident 2 years ago. We seem to be a much harder and aggressive club then we have been over the last 10-15 years – in fact as long as I can remember really supporting the club, instead of sitting back and letting things work out we are starting to go in for the kill irrespective of the consequences - the Everitt PSD trade. In my mind this is a step in the right direction and bodes well for the future.

To make things even better, opposition supporters are starting to take notice, better yet starting to hate us.

First they ignore us
Then they laugh at us
Then they hate/fear us

Remember a healthy trading/drafting table, is a healthy future - while opposition fans may disagree, in my eyes we have the best trading/drafting staff in the game. The future is definately very bright and while we have smooth operators like Pelchen at the helm its only going to get more and more brighter :thumbsu:

medusala
10 Oct 2006, 03:16
Talk quietly but carry a big stick. No point in unecessarily offending people as Machiavelli once pointed out.

Remember, if you play poker with the same people and flog them every time it wont take long before they wont play with you again.

kolchak
10 Oct 2006, 03:40
GS EDIT: Quote deleted here as has the original offending post by BestyWesty. He is warned.

How so?

We have got more mongrel now!!!

BestyWesty
10 Oct 2006, 03:42
How so?

We have got more mongrel now!!!

Could you imagine a world without Dolphins?

kolchak
10 Oct 2006, 03:44

Im waiting for the punch line.

BestyWesty
10 Oct 2006, 03:54
Im waiting for the punch line.

Dolphins are the future

delirious1
10 Oct 2006, 04:15
Dolphins are the future
..:confused:

Adelaide Hawk
10 Oct 2006, 07:53
Dolphins are the future

Shut up idiot.

Thaihawk
10 Oct 2006, 10:23
Whether it was Kennett's relocation suggestion, or the aggressive stance taken by Pelchen and more generally the club in rewards to trades with Everitt and Thornton, its really good to see the Hawks taking an aggressive approach and pulling their weight around instead of sitting back and letting things happen. Even if we don't snare Thornton and lose Everitt to the PSD draft, we as a club have taken a giant step forwards this season :thumbsu: Potential trades and lures like the recent Thornton fiasco are encouraging signs highlighting how far we have come on and off the field since the Thompson incident 2 years ago. We seem to be a much harder and aggressive club then we have been over the last 10-15 years – in fact as long as I can remember really supporting the club, instead of sitting back and letting things work out we are starting to go in for the kill irrespective of the consequences - the Everitt PSD trade. In my mind this is a step in the right direction and bodes well for the future.

To make things even better, opposition supporters are starting to take notice, better yet starting to hate us.

First they ignore us
Then they laugh at us
Then they hate/fear us

Remember a healthy trading/drafting table, is a healthy future - while opposition fans may disagree, in my eyes we have the best trading/drafting staff in the game. The future is definately very bright and while we have smooth operators like Pelchen at the helm its only going to get more and more brighter :thumbsu:

Well said HAWKK.

I can feel the fear clubs had of us during the 70's and 80's returning which is great.
Other supporters are starting to see 'THE REBIRTH OF THE MIGHTY HAWKS' and they are worried!

Boyler_Room
10 Oct 2006, 11:43

Douglas Adams did.

lethalselbow
10 Oct 2006, 11:57
Hawthorn are a disgrace and Hawkk you need to get a life you douche

BestyWesty... last time he was on television I thought he was going to cryee-whyee. :D

Don't think i like bullying other teams. Prefer us to do all the right things and have success do our talking for us.

Gunnar Longshanks
10 Oct 2006, 12:15
Whether it was Kennett's relocation suggestion, or the aggressive stance taken by Pelchen and more generally the club in rewards to trades with Everitt and Thornton, its really good to see the Hawks taking an aggressive approach and pulling their weight around instead of sitting back and letting things happen.This is pretty naive.

If you don't get what you want from the Thornton and Everitt deals, then all the bluster and bluff hasn't worked.

You're pretty easily impressed.

If Everitt goes in the PSD, that would be a bad outcome for Hawthorn. But some muppets will insist it's a step in the right direction.

Results are what count.

philhawk
10 Oct 2006, 12:18
This is pretty naive.

If you don't get what you want from the Thornton and Everitt deals, then all the bluster and bluff hasn't worked.

You're pretty easily impressed.

If Everitt goes in the PSD, that would be a bad outcome for Hawthorn. But some muppets will insist it's a step in the right direction.

Wrong. For starters, Everitt played barely any games for Hawthorn this year. In the meantimes, players like Cambell really stood up in the ruck position. So, no matter what the outcome of all this is, we wont be losing on-field by Spida's 'loss'.

Secondly, with all the off-field drama that Spida has caused the club, I personally (and i'm sure other Hawk fans are the same), would not bat an eyelid at the thought of Spida entering the PSD.

burner1
10 Oct 2006, 13:09
Yeah but if we end up with nothing because we try to screw other clubs over and bluff and bully them when we could for say have got a 2nd round pick if we werent trying to bluff sydney into giving a first round pick that spiders probably not worth then we lose. A 2nd round pick is prob fair for spider but if we dont get it because we are being pigheaded then we lose.

If at the end of the day clubs dont want to entertain deals with hawthorn due to the trouble involved in negoiating a fair outcome then we lose.

Gunnar Longshanks
10 Oct 2006, 13:09
Wrong. For starters, Everitt played barely any games for Hawthorn this year. In the meantimes, players like Cambell really stood up in the ruck position. So, no matter what the outcome of all this is, we wont be losing on-field by Spida's 'loss'.Losing Everitt in the PSD will be a bad outcome because you won't get anything for him.

Not because he'll be playing elsewhere.

Secondly, with all the off-field drama that Spida has caused the club, I personally (and i'm sure other Hawk fans are the same), would not bat an eyelid at the thought of Spida entering the PSD.So you'd prefer to lose him for nothing?

Sure.

lethalselbow
10 Oct 2006, 13:15
Losing Spida for nothing would just re-affirm Hawthorn as being hard nuts in the trading period. Not the worst thing in the world. :D

buddy23
10 Oct 2006, 13:16
Wrong. For starters, Everitt played barely any games for Hawthorn this year. In the meantimes, players like Cambell really stood up in the ruck position. So, no matter what the outcome of all this is, we wont be losing on-field by Spida's 'loss'.

Secondly, with all the off-field drama that Spida has caused the club, I personally (and i'm sure other Hawk fans are the same), would not bat an eyelid at the thought of Spida entering the PSD.

While I have faith in Pelchin after seeing his previous deals, this would be a terrible outcome for the club. We have the opportunity to secure "something". This could be a draft pick we use on a future star or a draft pick/player we trade on that results in us getting Thornton.

Make no mistake - Spider going into the PSD hurts.

Gunnar Longshanks
10 Oct 2006, 13:18
Losing Spida for nothing would just re-affirm Hawthorn as being hard nuts in the trading period. Not the worst thing in the world. :DThis is complete bollocks.

"Ooooh - we're hard nuts!"

Get over it.

lethalselbow
10 Oct 2006, 13:54
Right on it, champ.

Bet you Hawthorn come out on top at the end of draft week. :D

Nightwolf
10 Oct 2006, 14:07
Gunnar is up there with Bentleigh and Embers as Bigfooty's worst. His/her posts are irrelevant..

Buster the hawk
10 Oct 2006, 14:08
Sydney just have to realise that in the AFL things don't come for free all the time.It is not their god given right to have a player of their choice for nothing just because they have played in the two GF's .To offer a third rounder for a player they obviously need and desire is an insult to the overall concept of trading as well as the player involved.Third rounders are usually used to throw a lifeline to a fringe player not to get possibly the best ruckman in the league who could win you another flag.

Frankston Rover
10 Oct 2006, 14:13
While I hope we get a good deal for Spida, losing him for nothing (it won't happen) is not the end of the world.

And why would you care anyway Gunnar?

Your team wins a flag and you hang around the Hawthorn Board?????

Lord_Espos
10 Oct 2006, 14:13
This is complete bollocks.

Get over it.

I think you may miss the point slightly. In any business deal you need to come across very strong and defiant. It makes the person you are dealing with realise you won't cave in easily.

If we agreed to the first thing Sydney gave us we know that we are not getting market value.

This issue will be resolved on the Friday in my opinion and there will be lots of talk. But you have to be strong because it means clubs don't take the piss out of you with crap trade offers.

And so what if we lose Everett in the PSD, it just stuffs Sydney around and ruins their chance of a potential dynasty. St Kilda will take him for sure with their PSD pick if they get the chance...

noosa hawk mad
10 Oct 2006, 14:20
This is complete bollocks.

Get over it.Hey Gunna Long****s:thumbsd: And BestyWesty what are you ON mate ;) Dolphins this is football dicussion not seaworld you TOOL:thumbsd:

burner1
10 Oct 2006, 14:31
I think you may miss the point slightly. In any business deal you need to come across very strong and defiant. It makes the person you are dealing with realise you won't cave in easily.

If we agreed to the first thing Sydney gave us we know that we are not getting market value.

This issue will be resolved on the Friday in my opinion and there will be lots of talk. But you have to be strong because it means clubs don't take the piss out of you with crap trade offers.

And so what if we lose Everett in the PSD, it just stuffs Sydney around and ruins their chance of a potential dynasty. St Kilda will take him for sure with their PSD pick if they get the chance...

I though the point is that being 'strong and defiant' as you say counts for nothing if our stubborness at the end of the day gets us nothing for spider (ie sydney go stuff you guys, were withdrawing our reasonable offer and take the chance we'll get him in the PSD)
A the loss of a 2nd round pick in a strong draft, in a list still needing further injection of talent, is a loss for our club.

Being seen as hard nuts by other clubs isnt neccesarily a good thing if they reckon trading with us is too much effort when other clubs are happy to trade on reasonable terms.

Gunnar Longshanks
10 Oct 2006, 15:20
To offer a third rounder for a player they obviously need and desire is an insult to the overall concept of trading as well as the player involved.Third rounders are usually used to throw a lifeline to a fringe player not to get possibly the best ruckman in the league who could win you another flag.If he's so incredibly valuable, then why were you only prepared to offer him a one-year contract?

Gunnar Longshanks
10 Oct 2006, 15:28
If we agreed to the first thing Sydney gave us we know that we are not getting market value.What do you think Sydney will ending up giving you?

What kind of outcome would vindicate the hardball approach taken by Pelchen?

And so what if we lose Everett in the PSD, it just stuffs Sydney around and ruins their chance of a potential dynasty.You don't want to lose Everitt for nothing. Stop pretending that you're completely indifferent to that happening.

Sydney don't desperately need Everitt. Jolly is a capable ruckman who had a bad GF. Not sure if you noticed, but Sydney went pretty well this year.

And what's this crap about a Sydney dynasty? Do people just like dropping that word in?

Everitt is 32, so any dynasty that he's central to will be short-lived.

If Everitt goes somewhere else in the PSD, that outcome would be far worse for Hawthorn than for Sydney. You lose a player for nothing, and Sydney remains a great side. But sure, puff out your chest and talk about how tough you guys are, and how you'll be screwing Sydney over by forcing Everitt to walk. Whatever helps you sleep.

Gunnar Longshanks
10 Oct 2006, 15:31
And why would you care anyway Gunnar?

Your team wins a flag and you hang around the Hawthorn Board?????I have an opinion.

I don't see where you're coming from.

Hawkk
10 Oct 2006, 15:34
What do you think Sydney will ending up giving you?

What kind of outcome would vindicate the hardball approach taken by Pelchen?

We are saying pick 15 now, but to tell you the truth I think we will accept pick 33 for him - IMO, pick 24 and 33 will be enough to seal the Thornton deal.

Gunnar Longshanks
10 Oct 2006, 15:40
We are saying pick 15 now...There's no way you'll get pick 15.

but to tell you the truth I think we will accept pick 33 for him...So your 'hardball approach' won't last long?

Gary Shadforth
10 Oct 2006, 15:43

Hear! Hear! Hawkk, totally concur.

http://i34.photobucket.com/albums/d107/GaryShadforth/002Draftmorning26.jpg

If Goldspink & coy wont let us bring back the biff on the field, well then, we'll do it at the trading table.

Hawkk
10 Oct 2006, 15:46
So your 'hardball approach' won't last long?
Well thats a second rounder, Sydney are offering their 3rd round pick. If we didn't play hardball there is no chance in hell we would get pick 33 for him.

If Carlton were happy with picks 24 and 47 for Thornton I reckon we would settle, they obviously want picks 24 and 33.

Corrosion
10 Oct 2006, 15:54
I don't see how Hawthorn is bullying Carlton?

Gunnar Longshanks
10 Oct 2006, 15:55
Well thats a second rounder, Sydney are offering their 3rd round pick. If we didn't play hardball there is no chance in hell we would get pick 33 for him.So what if Hawthorn don't get a first or second round pick for Everitt?

Would you admit that your approach to the negotiations had backfired?

If Carlton were happy with picks 24 and 47 for Thornton I reckon we would settle, they obviously want picks 24 and 33.Er, really?

Sounds to me like Carlton want to keep Thornton.

I don't think they'd be too happy about losing him for two 2nd-rounders.

Hawkk
10 Oct 2006, 15:59
So what if Hawthorn don't get a first or second round pick for Everitt?

Would you admit that your approach to the negotiations had backfired?

Er, really?

Sounds to me like Carlton want to keep Thornton.

I don't think they'd be too happy about losing him for two 2nd-rounders.
Thronton wants to go, I mean who wouldn't - he has stated publically he is even willing to go into the PSD with a huge front ended contract - only Carlton and Hawthorn can afford to pay him, Carlton would be the laughing stock of the competition if they re draft him in the PSD.

I guess we could throw in the electricity bill to spruce the deal up abit ;)

Gunnar Longshanks
10 Oct 2006, 16:02
Thronton wants to go, I mean who wouldn't - he has stated publically he is even willing to go into the PSD with a huge front ended contract - only Carlton and Hawthorn can afford to pay him, Carlton would be the laughing stock of the competition if they re draft him in the PSD.

I guess we could throw in the electricity bill to spruce the deal up abit ;)You know what would make Hawthorn the laughing stock?

If their much-vaunted 'hardball approach' saw them lose Everitt for nothing and miss out on Thornton.

How happy would you be with Pelchen's tactics then?

Hawkk
10 Oct 2006, 16:03
Not as bad as Carlton picking up a current player with a huge front ended salary with the first pick of the PSD, a player that doesn't even want to be at the club.

That's the definition of a rabble.

Gunnar Longshanks
10 Oct 2006, 16:07
Not as bad as Carlton picking up a player that doesn't want to be there in the PSD.Carlton can't afford to lose Thornton.

And Hawthorn's offer of a couple of 20-plus picks is inadequate.

Besides, I'm more interested in whether Hawthorn is actually prepared to lose Spida for nothing. I don't think they are, and if they try to out-stare the Swans, they'll get rolled.

Frankston Rover
10 Oct 2006, 16:08
Just for your benefit Gunnar I will try and explain Hawthorn's stance.

We have a player who, at 32, wants a two year contract. Hawthorn have taken a policy of only offering 1 year deals to players over 28 based purely on being caught out with guys like Nick Holland who was on big money for a small return.

Therefore, when guys like Crawford, Dixon and Everitt want a new contract we sign them on to 1 year deals to minimise our pain if these guys lose form or get injured. Crawford has been on 1 year deals for a while and as long as he performs, we keep offering him a contract.

Everitt would not accept a 1 year deal. Why, I don't know. If he'd stayed fit and played well, he would have got another year. But, if we had signed him up for two years and Rd 1 next year he does his knee, we would be stuck with a 33 year old ruckman no one would touch with a barge pole at trade time contracted to the club, on big money, for another 18 months.

We chose to stick to our guns to protect the club from this happening. Tough decision but a correct one IMO. Everitt then decided he didn't want to stay at the club and asked to be traded to a club that was prepared to offer him a 2 year deal.

Sydney has been interested since last year and with the retirement of Ball are now desperate for a good ruckman. Everitt can play and is the best ruckman available this trade period.

Now Hawthorn have to try and get the best result for Peter but also get the best result for the club. The club owes Peter nothing but Chris Pelchen is paid to ensure the Hawthorn Football Club has the best list possible, now and in the future. To trade Peter for a 3rd round pick on day 1 of trade week would not be a good option. He is either waiting for a better offer or holding out until the last minute whereby if the 3rd round pick is the best offer he will take it.

Make no mistake, Hawthorn will receive something for Peter Everitt.

Add to this Peter's behaviour at the club over the last 12 months, there is no way he could stay.

Hawthorn are in a very good position because now St Kilda are interested it will force Sydney to trade. But if the worst comes to worst and no other bids are made, we will take the 3rd round pick.

If by some fluke he ends up in the PSD, what have we really lost? A player who doesn't want to be at the club, a club that doesn't want him there and a playing group that performed better this year without him.

We have a few good honest ruckmen, Campbell, Bailey and Taylor with the possibility of Leuberger in the draft.

And with our next tilt at a flag still 3 or 4 years away, Peter wouldn't be here anyway.

Hope this helps you understand.

philhawk
10 Oct 2006, 16:17
Just for your benefit Gunnar I will try and explain Hawthorn's stance.

We have a player who, at 32, wants a two year contract. Hawthorn have taken a policy of only offering 1 year deals to players over 28 based purely on being caught out with guys like Nick Holland who was on big money for a small return.

Therefore, when guys like Crawford, Dixon and Everitt want a new contract we sign them on to 1 year deals to minimise our pain if these guys lose form or get injured. Crawford has been on 1 year deals for a while and as long as he performs, we keep offering him a contract.

Everitt would not accept a 1 year deal. Why, I don't know. If he'd stayed fit and played well, he would have got another year. But, if we had signed him up for two years and Rd 1 next year he does his knee, we would be stuck with a 33 year old ruckman no one would touch with a barge pole at trade time contracted to the club, on big money, for another 18 months.

We chose to stick to our guns to protect the club from this happening. Tough decision but a correct one IMO. Everitt then decided he didn't want to stay at the club and asked to be traded to a club that was prepared to offer him a 2 year deal.

Sydney has been interested since last year and with the retirement of Ball are now desperate for a good ruckman. Everitt can play and is the best ruckman available this trade period.

Now Hawthorn have to try and get the best result for Peter but also get the best result for the club. The club owes Peter nothing but Chris Pelchen is paid to ensure the Hawthorn Football Club has the best list possible, now and in the future. To trade Peter for a 3rd round pick on day 1 of trade week would not be a good option. He is either waiting for a better offer or holding out until the last minute whereby if the 3rd round pick is the best offer he will take it.

Make no mistake, Hawthorn will receive something for Peter Everitt.

Add to this Peter's behaviour at the club over the last 12 months, there is no way he could stay.

Hawthorn are in a very good position because now St Kilda are interested it will force Sydney to trade. But if the worst comes to worst and no other bids are made, we will take the 3rd round pick.

If by some fluke he ends up in the PSD, what have we really lost? A player who doesn't want to be at the club, a club that doesn't want him there and a playing group that performed better this year without him.

We have a few good honest ruckmen, Campbell, Bailey and Taylor with the possibility of Leuberger in the draft.

And with our next tilt at a flag still 3 or 4 years away, Peter wouldn't be here anyway.

Hope this helps you understand.

Frankston, mate. I swear, every post of yours i've seen over the last few weeks have been absolutely GOLD!

Best poster on BigFooty by a mile! :D

jokiKan
10 Oct 2006, 16:26
You know what would make Hawthorn the laughing stock?

If their much-vaunted 'hardball approach' saw them lose Everitt for nothing and miss out on Thornton.

Which is what will happen in the end.

I really can't believe some of the theories from the Hawks fans on this board.

If Spida is so valuable, why didn't you offer him more than a 1 year deal. And then you come back and ask for our #15 for that. :eek:

GGF.

Frankston Rover
10 Oct 2006, 16:27
Thanks Phil. :thumbsu:

I just try and dumb it down as much as possible for the more mentally deficient amongst us.

I'm sure Gunnar gets it now ;)

Gunnar Longshanks
10 Oct 2006, 16:28
We have a player who, at 32, wants a two year contract. Hawthorn have taken a policy of only offering 1 year deals to players over 28 based purely on being caught out with guys like Nick Holland who was on big money for a small return.Sounds like Sydney have "a policy" of not trading 1st and 2nd round picks for ageing players.

Hawkk
10 Oct 2006, 16:30
That's fine, we will wack him in the PSD and send him to the Bay.

Likewise unless Carlton are retarded, we will get Thornton in the PSD as well.

Gunnar Longshanks
10 Oct 2006, 16:35
Thanks Phil. :thumbsu:

I just try and dumb it down as much as possible for the more mentally deficient amongst us.

I'm sure Gunnar gets it now ;)Pfftttt - I run rings around you in my sleep, champ.

I understand Hawthorn's policy of not giving two-year deals to older players.

And I think you probably will get something for Everitt. Youi'd have to be incompetent not to.

What bemuses me is the way Hawks fans are barring up over Pelchen's 'hardball approach' as though it proves you guys are again heavyweights not to be messed with.

Those posters are stroking it.

This attitude of "screw Sydney - we'll lose Everitt for nothing rather than get less than market value" is laughable. You'll take the best offer on the table, even if it's less than you originally demanded, and your hardball approach won't count for squat.

If you do stick to your guns, and let Everitt walk to the PSD, then that would be even worse.

mark73
10 Oct 2006, 16:36
Sounds like Sydney have "a policy" of not trading 1st and 2nd round picks for ageing players.
He's got you there W@nky.

Doesn't seem like the 'dumbing down' lasted any more than about 2 mins 20 secs. :) :o

Gunnar Longshanks
10 Oct 2006, 16:36
That's fine, we will wack him in the PSD and send him to the Bay."Yeah - that's fine.

We'll lose a player for nothing rather than get something.

Yeah - that's fine."

You guys are so tough. No-one will want to mess with you.

lethalselbow
10 Oct 2006, 16:59
"Yeah - that's fine.

We'll lose a player for nothing rather than get something.

Yeah - that's fine."

You guys are so tough. No-one will want to mess with you.

You're one short of a six pack, Longshanks.

Gunnar Longshanks
10 Oct 2006, 17:01
You're one short of a six pack, Longshanks.
Make an argument.

Boring, predictable sledging impresses nobody.

SA HAWK
10 Oct 2006, 17:09
Pfftttt - I run rings around you in my sleep, champ.

And I think you probably will get something for Everitt. Youi'd have to be incompetent not to.

What bemuses me is the way Hawks fans are barring up over Pelchen's 'hardball approach' as though it proves you guys are again heavyweights not to be messed with.

This attitude of "screw Sydney - we'll lose Everitt for nothing rather than get less than market value" is laughable. You'll take the best offer on the table, even if it's less than you originally demanded, and your hardball approach won't count for squat.

If you do stick to your guns, and let Everitt walk to the PSD, then that would be even worse.I would rather lose him for nix than accept pick 49 if that is sydneys best offer.

Gunnar Longshanks
10 Oct 2006, 17:13
I would rather lose him for nix than accept pick 49 if that is sydneys best offer.That would be a dumb decision.

I think you'll get more than pick 49, but if that was the best offer on the table, you'd stupid to opt for nothing instead.

lethalselbow
10 Oct 2006, 17:16
Make an argument.

Boring, predictable sledging impresses nobody.

Hmmm... You're just a troll.

Furn
10 Oct 2006, 17:28
Pick 49 is nothing the difference between pick 49 and pick 80 odd after everyone has passed isnt much

mulhollanddrive
11 Oct 2006, 00:23
Is Josh Carr worth 1st,2nd,3rd round picks? No player in the last 3 years has gotten so much worth. Port traded him the year after sending Stevens into the PSD.

What you lose in pick 49 hypothetically you pick up in the future. Another Pelchen strategy, i like it.

Hawkk
11 Oct 2006, 00:55
Sounds like Sydney have "a policy" of not trading 1st and 2nd round picks for ageing players.

How long did that last?

LoneStar
11 Oct 2006, 02:08
Douglas Adams did.Yes but his was not a universe without dolphins as they said "So long and thanks for the fish" on their way off the planet.

Lukazzz777
11 Oct 2006, 02:11
Yes but his was not a universe without dolphins as they said "So long and thanks for the fish" on their way off the planet.

Well maybe the back-flips and spinning pirouettes of our Dolphins are not only telling us of our impending doom, but of the lasting humour they will find in Laidley's decision to give us two first round picks for Johnny Hay ...

:p

kolchak
11 Oct 2006, 02:27
Well maybe the back-flips and spinning pirouettes of our Dolphins are not only telling us of our impending doom, but of the lasting humour they will find in Laidley's decision to give us two first round picks for Johnny Hay ...

:p

I wonder if the Hawk recruiters had a hard time keeping a straight face when NM said they would offer 2 first round picks.

Lukazzz777
11 Oct 2006, 02:39
I wonder if the Hawk recruiters had a hard time keeping a straight face when NM said they would offer 2 first round picks.
Quite seriously thinking about that and I'm sure it would be very difficult... I mean think about that whole situation ...

Laidley to Pelchin ...

"We'll give you Pick 14 and Pick 18 for Johnny Hay"...
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v518/asspatrol/laidleyfreak.jpg

Pelchin, "Ah OK then !!!"

Even the dolphins found it funny ...

http://fohn.net/dolphin-pictures-facts/laughing-dolphin.jpg

kolchak
11 Oct 2006, 03:07
That's a great a post :thumbsu: , he needs a fake nose and mostache and glasses getup on. Whip that up in photoshop ;)

Lukazzz777
11 Oct 2006, 03:21
That's a great a post :thumbsu: , he needs a fake nose and mostache and glasses getup on. Whip that up in photoshop ;)

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/
v518/asspatrol/laidleyfreak.jpg

That's the link to the Laidley picture ... LOL

Maybe we could have a thread of photoshop mock-ups of this picture because it seriously makes me piss myself whenever I see it...

Any Hawk photoshop guru's care to mock up an even funnier spin on this pic ... I would happily pop it up as my Avatar Picture ...

Frankston Rover
11 Oct 2006, 09:11
Pfftttt - I run rings around you in my sleep, champ.

If you do stick to your guns, and let Everitt walk to the PSD, then that would be even worse.

Considering I answered all of your points in my previous post, I fail to see the point of it. But I'll try and give you even simpler answers if that helps.

Hawk fans are not "barring up" about our tough approach - they are happy we didn't sit down at 11.00am Monday morning, get offered pick 49 and then say, "Well we'd better take it, it could be the best offer."

Pelchen got lucky last year with the Hay deal. This year he's trying to offload a ruckman and gain a defender. He would know roughly what it will take to get Bret Thorton to Hawthorn and pick 49 probably won't do it.

So what does he do? He sticks to his guns and tries to organise a higher pick.
Considering that's what he's paid to do, I can't see the issue.

Now if Sydney don't come to the party, what can we do?

In reality, not much. We won't be able to get Thornton as we will not have much to offer and Everitt may walk into the PSD if Sydney take the 3rd round pick off the table.

In the end, we lose a ruckman and miss out on the defender.

Bad decisions by Pelchen? No. Hawthorn fans would be more angry if he'd caved in on the Monday or if he'd got screwed giving up too much.
Cost us Bret Thornton? We've never paid him a cent, he chose us - so what have we lost?
"Toughness Rating"? Who gives a sh*t what you or anyone outside the club thinks? Hawthorn fans see these types of things as encouraging as it shows we have the right people running the club. We will not be walked over or pushed into making rash decisions just because pressure is applied by people who have absolutely nothing to do with the running of our club.

Pelchen will get something for Everitt. It just depends on what.

And if your club had traded a player you knew could get you a better pick than what you got, in the first 2 days of trade WEEK, wouldn't you be annoyed?

And if you think you are running rings around me, you are sillier than I gave you credit for. Champ. :thumbsu:

Davo-27
11 Oct 2006, 16:25

First they ignore us
Then they laugh at us
Then they hate/fear us

mate i love this post, no point in being a shrinking violet...............go out there and do whats right for the club, f##$ everyone else.............

Davo-27
11 Oct 2006, 16:34
Carlton can't afford to lose Thornton.

And Hawthorn's offer of a couple of 20-plus picks is inadequate.

Besides, I'm more interested in whether Hawthorn is actually prepared to lose Spida for nothing. I don't think they are, and if they try to out-stare the Swans, they'll get rolled.

i would rather lose spida for nothing than to prop up sydney for a premiership next yr with a third rd pick.................:thumbsd:

The Cryptkeeper
11 Oct 2006, 17:04
And if you think you are running rings around me, you are sillier than I gave you credit for. Champ. :thumbsu:

Oh, he's sillier than you gave him credit for, make no mistake about that. Nobody accepts a deal such as the one the Swans offered on the first day of trade week. I have no problems if we let the prick go in the PDS if a suitable offer isn't forthcoming. There is no real point in taking a speculative third round pick for Everitt. Pelchen is better off using him as a pawn to advertise the fact that he and the Hawthorn Football Club will not be bullied. We lose next to nothing if Everitt goes in the PSD. He's 32 and is just about finished so we might as well leverage his past glories and try for something decent rather than recieve a substandard offer. The Swans are showing signs of bending in any case so either way you look at it, Pelchen comes out smelling roses. Gunnar Cockspanks or whatever his name is would on the other hand, roll over like a two dollar hooker. Thank the heavens for Hawthorn's sake that we don't have a muppet like this doing our negotiating.