View Full Version : Bumped thread:Johnson makes his decision - Collingwood (according to Channel 10)

chapmanmagic35
12 Oct 2006, 18:51
Channel 10 have reported Johnson has said he wants to go to Collingwood. Make of it as you want.

carn_the_cattas
12 Oct 2006, 18:59
They also said that Geelong want more than Pick 28.

nananana catman
12 Oct 2006, 19:05
They also said that Geelong want more than Pick 28.
Which if they dont get youd assume hed stay, unless they are really keen to offload him.

Ricardo
12 Oct 2006, 19:08
Johnson to Collingwood....gee, a fairly full forward line, another Leon Davis.

catempire
12 Oct 2006, 19:35
If true, that's what's called burning your bridges.

If Collingwood don't offer better than pick 28 he won't be going anywhere yet he'll have to face his team mates and explain why he didn't want to play with them anymore.

Way to go Steve. You're as stupid as you look.

S "Thinks He's Daicos" J
12 Oct 2006, 19:37
Since when has what Channel 10 said been true?

Dave The Man
12 Oct 2006, 19:45
If True SJ must be a Smart Man!

CatmanForever
12 Oct 2006, 20:02
Collingwood offered him a carton of VB and a carton of winnie blues to sweeten the deal....and he was in like flyn.

Mr Sensitive
12 Oct 2006, 20:15
i thought channel 10 said Hawthorn had entered the race for s.johnson and that they were his preferred destination??

rizzo
12 Oct 2006, 21:22
GIve me Chris Egan and a decent pick.

Mr Sen.. They said collingwood not hawks.

Ferga18
12 Oct 2006, 21:32
looks like Geelong are going to accept collingwoods second round pick for Steve Johnson. News just came through on SEN. No Joke!!

Will be interesting to see tommorow.

rizzo
12 Oct 2006, 21:35
ill personally kick eveyrone at the GFC in the pants if we accept that. Johnno is worth a pick 14 - 20. If not they better throw something in.

Jim Boy
12 Oct 2006, 21:36
yikes, I'd accept the second round pick only if it was one minute till trade deadline. We must really be desperate to get rid of him.

Mooney_d'King
12 Oct 2006, 21:37
looks like Geelong are going to accept collingwoods second round pick for Steve Johnson. News just came through on SEN. No Joke!!

Will be interesting to see tommorow.

Forgive my ignorance, but a second round pick implies the draft, right? And what player is ready to play from the draft - aren't they all young kids? So we get rid of a ready-to-go player (with all his faults, but also his magic) and end up with a project player that won't be ready for years? That sounds bloody stupid, if I'm right about things, really bloody stupid.:thumbsd:

PLEASE, tell me I'm wrong:mad: !

Mooney_d'King
12 Oct 2006, 21:39
ill personally kick eveyrone at the GFC in the pants if we accept that. Johnno is worth a pick 14 - 20. If not they better throw something in.

Yes, one... MILLION.. dollars *puts little finger in mouth and pats mini-me*

ryderman
12 Oct 2006, 22:01
Fair dinkum- if geelong accept a 2nd round pick only for steve johnson- I will give up supporting this pathetic club.

He is a gun player who only needs a decent pre-season to have a ripping year.

If Collingwood is the team after him, I would be happy to get a 3rd round pick and Cameron Cloke.

Black Panther
12 Oct 2006, 22:08
i thought channel 10 said Hawthorn had entered the race for s.johnson and that they were his preferred destination??

Correct

He wants to be a Dawk

rizzo
12 Oct 2006, 22:13
If Collingwood is the team after him, I would be happy to get a 3rd round pick and Cameron Cloke.
lmao thats worse then 28!!

ablettjnr
12 Oct 2006, 22:14
by the sounds of these conflicting stories...seems like crap to me.

VikingCat
12 Oct 2006, 22:15
According to the AAP trade nightlead, Swann has confirmed that the Pies have pulled out of the running for Johnson.

Ferga18
12 Oct 2006, 22:22
he is not worth a pick inside the first 20. maybe inside first 30

ablettjnr
12 Oct 2006, 22:24
According to the AAP trade nightlead, Swann has confirmed that the Pies have pulled out of the running for Johnson.
**** yeah@!!

catempire
12 Oct 2006, 22:28
http://townsvillebulletin.news.com.au/common/story_page/0,7034,20570495%255E23211,00.html

Meanwhile, Swann said the Magpies had dropped out of the race for Geelong small forward Steve Johnson.

S "Thinks He's Daicos" J
12 Oct 2006, 23:19
What a relief. I'm counting down to 2PM tomorrow.

rizzo
12 Oct 2006, 23:20
same, hopefully we get something good for johnno

ablettjnr
12 Oct 2006, 23:22
i think i may struggle to sleep.

i also think i have a problem.

Catman
13 Oct 2006, 00:04
same, hopefully we get something good for johnno

Straight swap for Tarrant! ;)

Scarlett30
13 Oct 2006, 00:22
Same. You and I have been massive SJ supporters, we need him.

DBAH0
13 Oct 2006, 00:25
http://townsvillebulletin.news.com.au/common/story_page/0,7034,20570495%255E23211,00.html
I wouldn't be trusting a story from the Townsville Bulletin FWIW.

I don't think anyone knows how this is going to end up tomorrow.

At least I'd like to see us go for Collingwood's 3rd rounder, and we give back our 4th if we're going to settle for their 2nd rounder, or work Ryley Dunn into the negotiations if it's in the 3 team deal revolving around Tarrant.

DBAH0
13 Oct 2006, 00:26
He is a gun player who only needs a decent pre-season to have a ripping year.

Problem with this statement is, he may NEVER have a decent pre - season.

Catman
13 Oct 2006, 00:33
he may NEVER have a decent pre - season.

Not may, will.

Ammo Man
13 Oct 2006, 00:36
I'm an SJ fan and hope he remains with us. But there was speculation on radio tonight that the main reason the Cats are keen to trade him is that his ankles are in a bad way and if they wait another year they may get nothing for him. But,as Scott Clayton said, no club will take a player without putting him through a thorough medical examination.

Of course another question is what SJ's attitude will be like in 2007 [if no trade takes place] knowing the club was prepared to dice him.

CatmanForever
13 Oct 2006, 00:43
Of course another question is what SJ's attitude will be like in 2007 [if no trade takes place] knowing the club was prepared to dice him.

Can it get any worse I ask? I think he only has one year left on his contract anyway so if he isn't traded he has one more year to prove himself or be delisted.

Frappe
13 Oct 2006, 00:47
Collingwood offered him a carton of VB and a carton of winnie blues to sweeten the deal....and he was in like flyn.

There has been some implication that SJ's extra-curricular activities aren't the greatest...anyone care to expand.

Copernicus
13 Oct 2006, 01:28
Well, who knows what's going on now? Is he still trade bait or does it look more likely that we'll hold onto him?

Jim Boy
13 Oct 2006, 08:31
I reckon he is gone and we'll take whatever is on offer. There is not enough upside about this player to compensate for all the downside.

rizzo
13 Oct 2006, 08:32
if he stays at least the footy club will have some ripping parties...

Seb
13 Oct 2006, 08:38
I reckon he is gone and we'll take whatever is on offer. There is not enough upside about this player to compensate for all the downside.

Nail on the head.

He had the most potential of any player to walk through the clubs doors in the last 10 years, but never kicked on, never cared enough. I'm now happy for him to go, but i admit, i was a huge fan :(

People who don't work hard at it, don't try, don't bother to better themselves and make the club a huge priority piss me off.

CharlieG
13 Oct 2006, 09:22
Nail on the head.

He had the most potential of any player to walk through the clubs doors in the last 10 years, but never kicked on, never cared enough. I'm now happy for him to go, but i admit, i was a huge fan :(

People who don't work hard at it, don't try, don't bother to better themselves and make the club a huge priority piss me off.

Straight swap. Solomon for Johnson. Seems fair to me.

( :p )

Seb
13 Oct 2006, 09:34
Typical ;)

TheTimeCometh
13 Oct 2006, 09:48
would rather a player that can play straight away.

SJ will be kickin' his odd bag of four and malfunctioning somewhere else - if he can just stay off the brekky bongz.

catempire
13 Oct 2006, 09:52
I disagree. It's not a matter of taking what we can get. Losing SJ is taking 30 goals out of the team that will need to come from somewhere else (and some if we are to make any dent in finals aspirations). To lose him for pick 28 or worse would be unsatisfactory. The club must now realise this fact and be practical about it.

worthogs
13 Oct 2006, 09:54
Nail on the head.

As it loks like he will probably stay and im not sure that is the best option, we can oly hope that this might turn him around like Fev at Cartlton last year. Attitude suxd for both ans both wanted out. Fev turned it around all be it after some sex and off the booze.....If SJ can get a girl pregnant and then dry out who knows what he could do.

Mooney_d'King
13 Oct 2006, 10:39
As it loks like he will probably stay and im not sure that is the best option, we can oly hope that this might turn him around like Fev at Cartlton last year. Attitude suxd for both ans both wanted out. Fev turned it around all be it after some sex and off the booze.....If SJ can get a girl pregnant and then dry out who knows what he could do.

http://www.theage.com.au/realfooty/news/afl/futures-hang-on-footys-frenetic-friday/2006/10/13/1160246291841.html

"Collingwood chief executive Greg Swann also said it was difficult to predict whether Tarrant would go or stay.

"We'll see what happens tomorrow," he said.

Meanwhile, Swann said the Magpies had dropped out of the race for Geelong small forward Steve Johnson."

Rosella
13 Oct 2006, 10:59
..If SJ can get a girl pregnant and then dry out who knows what he could do.

Not sure if the second necessarliy happens after the first. Plenty of blokes are fathers and boozers.

S "Thinks He's Daicos" J
13 Oct 2006, 11:04
Straight swap. Solomon for Johnson. Seems fair to me.

( :p )
Gee, your decision making could be worse than the real Charlie G!

Ammo Man
13 Oct 2006, 12:07
Magpies chief executive Greg Swann gave no reason as to why the Pies lost interest yesterday in the out-of-contract Johnson, but Geelong believes medical examination results this week were not flattering.

Geelong chief executive Brian Cook last night said that Johnson would now more than likely be re-contracted by the Cats. "Something might come up tomorrow, but we're not optimistic," Cook said.

Put your head down SJ and prove them all wrong!

http://www.theaustralian.news.com.au/story/0,20867,20570670-36035,00.html

cat in sydney
13 Oct 2006, 12:10
Apparently Freo are now out of the Tarrant hunt... and West Coast have also stated that they are out...
Does this mean that with the Pies chasing a small forward (Medhurst and SJ both mentioned), that we could do a deal for Tarrant involving SJ and Kelly? Does anyone see that as being a last minute twist in the trade week?
Not sure if it'd be worth it - but Geelong may just do it!?

Ammo Man
13 Oct 2006, 12:23
Apparently Freo are now out of the Tarrant hunt... and West Coast have also stated that they are out...
Does this mean that with the Pies chasing a small forward (Medhurst and SJ both mentioned), that we could do a deal for Tarrant involving SJ and Kelly? Does anyone see that as being a last minute twist in the trade week?
Not sure if it'd be worth it - but Geelong may just do it!?
Nah! Geelong has said Kelly is not on the table. And clubs now insist on thorough medical checks before agreeing to trades so that limits SJ's prospects elsewhere. The only way SJ will go is if we accept a late draft pick and we'd be crazy to do that.

I'm pleased both will be with us next year. But how must SJ feel after all this. There must be a better way to handle player trading.

cat in sydney
13 Oct 2006, 12:26
Nah! Geelong has said Kelly is not on the table. And clubs now insist on thorough medical checks before agreeing to trades so that limits SJ's prospects elsewhere. The only way SJ will go is if we accept a late draft pick and we'd be crazy to do that.

I'm pleased both will be with us next year. But how must SJ feel after all this. There must be a better way to handle player trading.

Yeah, it could go either way...
SJ could get a fright out of this and pull his finger out and play a blinder next year... or he could figure that because Cats rejected an offer of pick28 that they think he is worth quite a bit and he develops even more arrogance. Which way will it go??

TheTimeCometh
13 Oct 2006, 12:34
i'm sure he will contemplate it over an 'eye-opener' and ciggie...

DavidInellaFanClub
13 Oct 2006, 13:07
I'm sorry but too many people on this board rate Chris Tarrant FAR TOO HIGHLY!...tell me what this guy has done that even points to us giving up Kelly (once seen as a future elite midfielder in the comp) and Johnno (the guy who I believe has the most talent and ability to read the play at our club behind Chappy and Jnr).....Tarrant is from Collingwood so he immediately has a high profile...but i cant say ive ever seen this guy as any better that a "good ordinary player"....if we swapped kell and johnno for tarrant....i would be absolutely shattered.

cat in sydney
13 Oct 2006, 14:05
I'm sorry but too many people on this board rate Chris Tarrant FAR TOO HIGHLY!...tell me what this guy has done that even points to us giving up Kelly (once seen as a future elite midfielder in the comp) and Johnno (the guy who I believe has the most talent and ability to read the play at our club behind Chappy and Jnr).....Tarrant is from Collingwood so he immediately has a high profile...but i cant say ive ever seen this guy as any better that a "good ordinary player"....if we swapped kell and johnno for tarrant....i would be absolutely shattered.

While I wouldn't be 'shattered', I agree that Tarrant is not that good. It was only a thought that it MAY happen, as it had been thrown around earlier as a possible option. I think Tarrant is a good leading forward, but the positives do not go close to the negatives of having him around.
I'd rather see Kelly given a chance to respond to the crap year he's had.

S "Thinks He's Daicos" J
13 Oct 2006, 14:13
Tarrant has gone to Fremantle. Looks like Johnson will stay.

foxdoog50
13 Oct 2006, 14:21
Tarrant has gone to Fremantle. Looks like Johnson will stay.

Well i would of thought if that happends, he will go to collingwood for a draft

BRING ON STOKESY:thumbsu:

S "Thinks He's Daicos" J
13 Oct 2006, 14:23
Well i would of thought if that happends, he will go to collingwood for a draft

BRING ON STOKESY:thumbsu:
For pick 28? You gotta be kidding me.

foxdoog50
13 Oct 2006, 14:27
For pick 28? You gotta be kidding me.

wELL ALL THE MEDICAL TES HE HAS HAD THE ALL DONT LIKE HOW HIS ANKLES ARE SHOWING UP

catempire
13 Oct 2006, 14:28
SJ is not going anywhere.

worthogs
13 Oct 2006, 14:34
Not sure if the second necessarliy happens after the first. Plenty of blokes are fathers and boozers.

But not all are elite level sportsmen...(or should be elite level sportsmen)

foxdoog50
13 Oct 2006, 14:36
I just read on a thread that Sydney have put a last bid in Johnson dont know how true that is?

worthogs
13 Oct 2006, 14:41
I just read on a thread that Sydney have put a last bid in Johnson dont know how true that is?

I think the Swans may think twice about taking any Geelong player after their great pick up in Sarge Chanmbers last year.

chapmanmagic35
1 Oct 2007, 01:59
Oh, thank god the Maggies said "pass" :thumbsu:;)

Linx
1 Oct 2007, 02:08
Yeah, it could go either way...
SJ could get a fright out of this and pull his finger out and play a blinder next year... or he could figure that because Cats rejected an offer of pick28 that they think he is worth quite a bit and he develops even more arrogance. Which way will it go??

:eek:

SS_Fury
1 Oct 2007, 02:14
had to double check the dates on some of these replies lol...i was thinking why would the cats get rid of SJ??!! they would be nuts!! oh hang on, 1 year too late

DavidInellaFanClub
3 Oct 2007, 21:14
If we put him up for trade now(OK, not a chance)...but what would you expect to get for him?

year of the cat
3 Oct 2007, 21:17
If we put him up for trade now(OK, not a chance)...but what would you expect to get for him?

5-10 pick.

YOTC
3 Oct 2007, 21:18
Chris Judd.

And Eagles first round pick.

And i'd still think we'd be ripped off

WE LOVE YOU STEVIE J!

xraycat
3 Oct 2007, 22:12
Just had a heart attack. Didn't realise this was a bump.

thought Stevie J going to collingwood!? for pick 28!? WTF!!

haywood jablome
3 Oct 2007, 22:14
he is not worth a pick inside the first 20. maybe inside first 30
lol:thumbsu:

CatmanForever
3 Oct 2007, 22:47
yeah we all have a PHD in Hindsight don't we :rolleyes:

Brasil2007
3 Oct 2007, 22:48
I doubt the deal ever would have been done even if he was fit.

happy hawk
3 Oct 2007, 22:51

I'd absolutley love Stevie J at the hawks. I rate him very highly. :thumbsu:

Just wondering whether you would do a straight swap for him. Johnson for pick 12.

YOTC
3 Oct 2007, 22:53
I'd absolutley love Stevie J at the hawks. I rate him very highly. :thumbsu:

Just wondering whether you would do a straight swap for him. Johnson for pick 12.

Good to see our Hawk friends are still sharp!

LifeSpan-Void
3 Oct 2007, 23:05
Have to admit, I was one calling for Johnson to get the chop after all the nonsense with the 06 VFL grand final, the drunken rubbish, then the arrest. When Collingwood pulled out of that trade I thought we would be stuck with this white elephant for another 12 months, but I have never been happier to say I was wrong. Hope he can consolidate it next season, and become one of the truly elite.

Whispers
3 Oct 2007, 23:43
Forgive us father.. we almost sinned!

Ninty
3 Oct 2007, 23:44
Damn this bumped thread, I was thinking a what the **** there!!!

S "Thinks He's Daicos" J
3 Oct 2007, 23:49
I've never strayed from him. Even last year, in a terrible year (and he had a lot of mates) he averaged two goals a game. Absolute superstar.

Norm Johnson20
3 Oct 2007, 23:49
About 3 guys sticking up for old Johno there... Real football nous. Pity one is gone.

Scarlett30
4 Oct 2007, 11:38
I've never strayed from him. Even last year, in a terrible year (and he had a lot of mates) he averaged two goals a game. Absolute superstar.

I have been a massive fan of SJ from the start, they bloke was always going to be the difference. Forget the GF we would not have been there if we didnt have this bloke in the prelim.

S "Thinks He's Daicos" J
4 Oct 2007, 12:55
About 3 guys sticking up for old Johno there... Real football nous. Pity one is gone.
He lives again.