View Full Version : Gibbs

ICanDressMyself
12 Oct 2006, 19:23
Can anyone confirm that Bryce Gibbs is a Kangaroos fan? A mate of mine said he did some work in his room today and it was littered with Kangaroos merchandise?

Am I not with it because I thought he was a Crows fan.. my brother also chats to him and has confirmed he is a Crows fan.

:confused:

KUNG FU
12 Oct 2006, 19:31
He stated in the media recently he wanted to stay in Adelaide (which is what he has been saying privately for a long time) but...

http://www.ais.org.au/austrules/gibbs.asp

Truck Rutten
12 Oct 2006, 19:31
Can anyone confirm that Bryce Gibbs is a Kangaroos fan? A mate of mine said he did some work in his room today and it was littered with Kangaroos merchandise?

Am I not with it because I thought he was a Crows fan.. my brother also chats to him and has confirmed he is a Crows fan.

:confused:

Yep he's a Kangaroos supporter.

AndrewJo
12 Oct 2006, 19:46
Yep he's a Kangaroos supporter.
Victor Harbour Roos where his dad played.

crowsarethebest
12 Oct 2006, 22:19
Yeah he's a Kangaroos supporter... it says in his AIS profile.

crows4always
12 Oct 2006, 22:22
spot on Ross kicked over the ton for Victor, a few years back.

crows4always
12 Oct 2006, 22:26
Victor Harbour Roos where his dad played.
spot on Ross kicked over the ton for Victor a few years back.

ICanDressMyself
12 Oct 2006, 22:32
spot on Ross kicked over the ton for Victor a few years back.

Was the username crows4ever taken mate? :p

Thats_Gold
16 Oct 2006, 17:26
Another reason y the crows are dreaming if they think he'll go back there

bluesforever
16 Oct 2006, 17:48
Carlton board.

Capitalist
16 Oct 2006, 18:14
Carlton board.

one that didn;t take long :rolleyes:

Carlton seem to a ****er for each $ is handed to them by the AFL

murph#3
16 Oct 2006, 18:19
http://www.sanfl.com.au/default.aspx?s=genericnewsdisplay&kw=55&aid=105111

he's a north supporter.

mick_foley
16 Oct 2006, 18:35
It's called a loan, or don't you understand that?

Loans are normally paid back, for the life of me i cannnot see Carlton paying any money back to the AFL so it's NOT A LOAN. :eek:

murph#3
16 Oct 2006, 18:37
Loans are normally paid back, for the life of me i cannnot see Carlton paying any money back to the AFL so it's NOT A LOAN. :eek:

maybe if you did some research instead of guessing out of your arse you'd know that we have to pay the money back by (i think) october 2008 but we definitely have to pay it back. whether or not we are financially strong enough is a diferent story but you know very well that we'll have have our shyt together and sorted out by then.

Capitalist
16 Oct 2006, 18:37
It's called a loan you half wit, or don't you understand that?

Yes a loan.....

Hi I am (or close to being) insolvent and have no actual repayment method - can you loan me some money ?

HBF why don;t you just wonder back to the blues board and discuss who your are going to pick up in the draft - surely that is more interesting

HBF
16 Oct 2006, 18:42

We are required to pay it back to the AFL at the completion of the 2008 season. Tell me how that isn't a loan pea brain?

Capitalist
16 Oct 2006, 19:00
Ok, we'll take Gibbs, give him the #4 jumper and let him board with the Kernahans for 6 months or so until he gets his feel on the ground.

He realise the rich history of our club compared to Adelaides that seem to sack anyone over 30 (Hart, McGuiness, McDermott), and never want to leave.

BTW. changed the topic pretty quickly there bud. Realise you were p1ssing into the wind huh?

No not at all - I am just sick to death of arguing about Bryce Gibbs I am sick of threads about him being started on the AFC board I am sick of Carlton Supporters always having to have their two bobs worth on EVERY thread that gets brought up.

Carlton are a rabble who's "rich history" came back to bite them on the arse with there every dodgy dealings finally surfacing. Take Gibbs honestly I couldn't care less thats whats the draft for I feel so sorry for the lad I would at least hope a decent club like the Dons could snatch him.

Thank you for displaying your blantant ignorance about AFC in regards to quoting sacking players over 30 its good to know that you actually know nothing about AFC.

I was simply trying to keep it civil but I suppose whats the point :rolleyes:

swanfan
16 Oct 2006, 19:05
[quote=HugeBluesFan]We did!
So what mate, we were cr@p this year.
Soggy Saos board. :)

Blue Red and Gold
16 Oct 2006, 19:33
It's called a loan, or don't you understand that?
Thats alright

Sounds much similar to Bryce Gibbs, who is only on loan to Carlton for 2 years ;)

Asty
16 Oct 2006, 19:33
We are required to pay it back to the AFL at the completion of the 2008 season. Tell me how that isn't a loan pea brain?

And if you dont pay it back what happens?
the afl goes "Ohh well they are a traditional club so we will let them off this time"

Why are carltons financials going to be any better in a couple of seasons time. They are going to be down the bottom again in next year so probably in more debt. What is their plan to get back in the black?

parrot
16 Oct 2006, 20:31
Thats alright

Sounds much similar to Bryce Gibbs, who is only on loan to Carlton for 2 years ;)

Bryce has already said he wants to stay at the club he goes to. I know you don't want to hear that. He'll be wearing the Blues famous number 4 next year and for 9 or more years after that. Watching Marc Murphy and Bryce Gibbs in action in the Blues midfield will be a great sight for all footy fans. Sit back and enjoy. :)

weagles_fan
16 Oct 2006, 20:34
Bryce has already said he wants to stay at the club he goes to. I know you don't want to hear that. He'll be wearing the Blues famous number 4 next year and for 9 or more years after that. Watching Marc Murphy and Bryce Gibbs in action in the Blues midfield will be a great sight for all footy fans. Sit back and enjoy. :)
Watching great young players like them winning a double figuire amount of spoons will be an even greater site.

Blue Red and Gold
16 Oct 2006, 20:45
Thats unusual for a possible recruit say this, never heard someone say that before, of yes I have, Fergus Watts said this oh.... ;)

I am not holding my breath with him coming back, if it happens it happens but I think we, as a club, have bigger things to worry about in the next 2 years.

Mad Dog
16 Oct 2006, 20:58
anyone would think our future rested on getting this guy......:rolleyes:

Gibbs: The new Pav

*yawn*

parrot
16 Oct 2006, 21:02
I am not holding my breath with him coming back, if it happens it happens but I think we, as a club, have bigger things to worry about in the next 2 years.

Good idea. :)

Jeremias
16 Oct 2006, 22:12
anyone would think our future rested on getting this guy......:rolleyes:

Gibbs: The new Pav

*yawn*

Exactly.

This is my first post back, I just regained access here, but let me say this-that is exactly what I have been saying.

Most of you Adelaide fans are obsessed with him. Just get over it already (not you, Mad Dog)

mick_foley
16 Oct 2006, 22:27
Exactly.

This is my first post back, I just regained access here, but let me say this-that is exactly what I have been saying.

Most of you Adelaide fans are obsessed with him. Just get over it already (not you, Mad Dog)

See you in 728 days time, until them who cares.

You may have Bryce Gibbs for his entire career but I have more confidence in the Adelaide Crows winning a flag before you guys do, even if we do not gain the services of Bryce Gibbs.

Jeremias
16 Oct 2006, 22:51
See you in 728 days time, until them who cares.

You may have Bryce Gibbs for his entire career but I have more confidence in the Adelaide Crows winning a flag before you guys do, even if we do not gain the services of Bryce Gibbs.

Was that ever in doubt? :rolleyes:

I too would be very worried if you didn't win one before us...

Sanguinarius
17 Oct 2006, 01:18

:rolleyes:

Tas
17 Oct 2006, 01:43
Poor Gibbs, another Kangaroos supporter going to end up pick 1 and end up at Carlton, Murphy last year and now Gibbs.

SpringChoke
17 Oct 2006, 09:25
The next Crows supporter that starts yet another Gibbs thread on this board should be banned for life.

C4[2]Yo`DooR
17 Oct 2006, 10:01
Poor Gibbs, another Kangaroos supporter going to end up pick 1 and end up at Carlton, Murphy last year and now Gibbs.
You can have them both next year for picks #24 & #33 if you like :) - if the Kangas hire Pelchin.

The M'Hael
17 Oct 2006, 10:57
The next Crows supporter that starts yet another Gibbs thread on this board should be banned for life.

Add Pav and Rooch to that list too!

Truck Rutten
17 Oct 2006, 13:12
Exactly.

This is unbelievably rich coming from a Carlton supporter. You only have to have a cursory look through threads about Gibbs to see stuff from Carlton supporters along the lines of "I've never seen Gibbs play, but if we don't take him with pick 1 we're a bunch of idiots / we're going to regret it blah, blah, blah". Your supporters are hurting, and they are desperate for some hope that things are on the up. One 17 year old kid is not going to be your saviour though, no matter how good he is. Carlton's list is deficient everywhere except attack, and great teams are usually built from defence. Don't be surprised at all if you take somebody else.

crows98
17 Oct 2006, 13:19
Add Pav and Rooch to that list too!

I know a joke that starts like that.:D

A Gibbs, a Pav and a Rooch walk into a bar.:eek:

Agree, can we stop talking about player who is not currently a part of our club.

Mad Dog
17 Oct 2006, 13:29
This is unbelievably rich coming from a Carlton supporter. You only have to have a cursory look through threads about Gibbs to see stuff from Carlton supporters along the lines of "I've never seen Gibbs play, but if we don't take him with pick 1 we're a bunch of idiots / we're going to regret it blah, blah, blah". Your supporters are hurting, and they are desperate for some hope that things are on the up. One 17 year old kid is not going to be your saviour though, no matter how good he is. Carlton's list is deficient everywhere except attack, and great teams are usually built from defence. Don't be surprised at all if you take somebody else.
correct !

you would think Gibbs was taking 21 clones of himself to Carlton.

and for the very same reason - it staggers me that we expend so much energy on talking about plotting a return in 2 years. I'd love to have him at the club - and I hope he ends up with us - but if our future rests on getting him - then we're in trouble - we need to be more diverse than that - and that is exactly why we are criticising Carlton supporters.

I'm convinced that had Gibbs not been the subject of the "AFL rodgering the FS rules" fiasco....we wouldn't be so obsessed - and for that reason - neither would Carlton. The fact is the only reason there is so much interest in a possible #1 pick is because of the FS crapola.

Stiffy_18
17 Oct 2006, 13:32
Can I be the first to congratulate young Bryce on his fantastic achievement in Glenelg's best and fairest.

For a 17 year old to finish 3rd in the B&F for a club that missed the finals by a whisker speaks volumes of young kids character and football talent.

Well done Bryce and best of luck where ever you end up* :thumbsu:

*Stiffy_18 reserves the right to withdraw that statement if Bryce ends up at Alberton :D

earlsta
17 Oct 2006, 13:38
Congrats to Gibbs.

Has anyone been as successful as Bryce has playing at league footy prior to coming into the draft?

He's been playing for two seasons now, since he was 16 years of age.

Has anyone in the past 10 years done this?
Gibbs has played in the U/18's too right? But not all games, because he's playing SANFL?

Stiffy_18
17 Oct 2006, 13:41
Congrats to Gibbs.

Has anyone been as successful as Bryce has playing at league footy prior to coming into the draft?

Gibbs has played in the U/18's too right? But not all games, because he's playing SANFL?
Ryan Griffen made a debut for South Adelaide as 16 year old and was a regular in their side for a couple of years before getting drafted.

Mad Dog
17 Oct 2006, 13:42

Paul Thomas - Magarey Medal....;)

not quite the same I know but.....

earlsta
17 Oct 2006, 13:45
It will be interesting to see how Gibb's goes, if he adds on more bulk by the start of next year he could go really well. He's the same size as Judd, I really hope Carlton don't take him, they will just stuff him right up over there.

Stiffy_18
17 Oct 2006, 13:48
It will be interesting to see how Gibb's goes, if he adds on more bulk by the start of next year he could go really well. He's the same size as Judd, I really hope Carlton don't take him, they will just stuff him right up over there.
I hope they do take him. You can't stuff up a talent like that easily.

parrot
17 Oct 2006, 13:59

Absolutely. :)

earlsta
17 Oct 2006, 14:00
I just don't like the fact that Carlton who have an already bloody damn talented young squad, loose games all the time.

Sometimes it doesn't even look like they're trying, which I have to say everybody will probably agree with me on that one. I just dont like the culture over there.
Hate to see Gibb's go play for em :thumbsd:

parrot
17 Oct 2006, 14:10
I just don't like the fact that Carlton who have an already bloody damn talented young squad, loose games all the time. :

We didn't tank this year, but Denis was playing alot of very young players in the latter part of the season, that were clearly not ready physically for this level. It was a great experience for them however, and allows them to set goals over the preseason. We aren't getting nearly as many picks as what the Hawks and Saints had got recently. Many of our young players have come via the rookie draft. Marc Murphy, Josh Kennedy, Andrew Walker and Bryce Gibbs are our only top draft picks. We've had to put alot more effort in our recruiting efforts recently to compensate. Prior to this our recruiting was pretty slack. I think it's a fantastic environment for a young player like Gibbs. He'll be progressing with a large group of similar age, guided by our past champions. The Blues also have very strong South Australian links. :)

Crow-mo
17 Oct 2006, 17:51
Congrats to Gibbs.

Tony McGuinness won the Magarey at 17!

Macca19
17 Oct 2006, 18:02
Wanganeen was 16 for most of 1990 (drafted as a 15 year old). Kicked 40 goals as a forward/midfielder in a premiership year.

Theres been quite a few 16 year olds play at SANFL level in the last decade or so...probably not at the consistent level Bryce has for the past 18 months though.

Blue Red and Gold
17 Oct 2006, 18:18
I have been told by a guy who is in the know that Carlton will not pick up Gibbs with the number 1 pick.

They will pick the Ruckman from WA, name starts with an L, bit of a German sounding name.

Stiffy_18
17 Oct 2006, 18:22
I have been told by a guy who is in the know that Carlton will not pick up Gibbs with the number 1 pick.

They will pick the Ruckman from WA, name starts with an L, bit of a German sounding name.
If that turns out to be true, Essendon are laughing all the way to the bank on this one :D

crows98
17 Oct 2006, 18:24
Jarrod Rivers played SANFL as a 16 year old for North Adelaide.

Mark Ricciuto played AFL for the Crows as a 17 year old.

Did he play any SANFL league game for West Adelaide in 1992 as a 16 year or round 1, 2 or 3 in 1993?

He didn’t debut until round 3 IIRC.

Ben hart only played a few reserves game for North Adelaide in 1991 and started round 1 1992. (only league game was a trial game 2 years ago)

Blue Red and Gold
17 Oct 2006, 18:25
If that turns out to be true, Essendon are laughing all the way to the bank on this one :D
Just have to wait and see, but my source is pretty confident this will be the case.

Jeremias
17 Oct 2006, 18:28
Just have to wait and see, but my source is pretty confident this will be the case.

Who is your source?

crows98
17 Oct 2006, 18:30

That poses a very good question; if the Adelaide Crows had the number 1 pick this year would we have picked Bryce Gibbs or someone else that meet our major requirements?

IMO it would have been stupid if we drafted Bryce Gibbs with the number 1 pick because we need a strong marking KPP over another midfield player.

If we had the number 1 pick I would have gone for Hanson or Thorpe

Stiffy_18
17 Oct 2006, 18:36
That poses a very good question; if the Adelaide Crows had the number 1 pick this year would we have picked Bryce Gibbs or someone else that meet our major requirements?

IMO it would have been stupid if we drafted Bryce Gibbs with the number 1 pick because we need a strong marking KPP over another midfield player.

We would have gone with Gibbs simply because we consider him to be THE best prospect in the draft.

It would be stupid to pass up the best kid in the draft that happens to be a local for a need.

Blue Red and Gold
17 Oct 2006, 18:38
Who is your source?

Someone who is close to the recruiting team at Carlton.

It may not happen, personally I dont care, I am just passing on what I have heard.

Blue Red and Gold
17 Oct 2006, 18:39

We would be silly not to pick Gibbs, a South Aussie boy who is proven at SANFL level, it would be a no brainer.

Truck Rutten
17 Oct 2006, 18:43
Who is your source?

Why does it matter to you? Unless of course you're simply obsessed with getting Gibbs :eek:

Jeremias
17 Oct 2006, 18:47
Why does it matter to you? Unless of course you're simply obsessed with getting Gibbs :eek:

Because I want to determine the credibility of the source.

Not obsessed with getting Gibbs-that is Crow supporters. :)

crows98
17 Oct 2006, 18:53
Because I want to determine the credibility of the source.

Not obsessed with getting Gibbs-that is Crow supporters. :)

Who is obsessed? We only want what is rightfully ours.

Like I said 3 or 4 posts above if all things were even and we have the number 1 pick I would not pick him up as it doesn’t meet our needs. But that just my opinion.

As a supporter of the Adelaide Football Club I am just getting sick of being used as a bit of meat for you Victorian clubs and simply seen as a club that makes up the numbers by the AFL.

If we are obsessed, then it with getting things fair and equal in all aspects of the game and competition – like the father son rule for instance, and that is a god damm joke.

Blue Red and Gold
17 Oct 2006, 18:55
Who is obsessed? We only want what is rightfully ours.

Like I said 3 or 4 posts above if all things were even and we have the number 1 pick I would not pick him up as it doesn’t meet our needs. But that just my opinion.

As a supporter of the Adelaide Football Club I am just getting sick of being used as a bit of meat for you Victorian clubs and simply seen as a club that makes up the numbers by the AFL.

If we are obsessed, then it with getting things fair and equal in all aspects of the game and competition – like the father son rule for instance, and that is a god damm joke.
he was never rightfully ours though.

Mad Dog
17 Oct 2006, 18:56
We would have gone with Gibbs simply because we consider him to be THE best prospect in the draft.

It would be stupid to pass up the best kid in the draft that happens to be a local for a need.
exactly......:thumbsu:

I don't believe what I read here sometimes.....:confused:

Jeremias
17 Oct 2006, 18:57

Exactly right.

he did not qualify for the F/S rule. That is a fact. So he isn't rightfully yours at all. The AFL made the right decision.

crows98
17 Oct 2006, 18:59

He may not have been but both Kane and Chad Cornes would have been and Mathew and Jonathon Robran, Luke Darcy.

It’s not about Bryce Gibbs (he was just a major reason to fight for it), it’s about giving us the same opportunity the other clubs gain.

Blue Red and Gold
17 Oct 2006, 18:59
Exactly right.

he did not qualify for the F/S rule. That is a fact. So he isn't rightfully yours at all. The AFL made the right decision.
I wouldnt go that far.

The rule needs changing, and I think it will be changed, its just that the AFL didnt have the cajones to do it this year, because teams like Carlton would whinge and whine.

Blue Red and Gold
17 Oct 2006, 19:00
He may not have been but both Kane and Chad Cornes would have been and Mathew and Jonathon Robran, Luke Darcy.

It’s not about Bryce Gibbs (he was just a major reason to fight for it), it’s about giving us the same opportunity the other clubs gain.
I understand that, but you cannot make a claim that he is "rightfully ours"

We all know the rule is not ideal.

crows98
17 Oct 2006, 19:01
Exactly right.

How does someone whose father played 270 odd games in this state not qualified for the rule?

The rule is about keeping family heritage in the same football environment, if that not trying to keep the family heritage in the same football environment I do not know what is.

Jeremias
17 Oct 2006, 19:09
How does someone whose father played 270 odd games in this state not qualified for the rule?

The rule is about keeping family heritage in the same football environment, if that not trying to keep the family heritage in the same football environment I do not know what is.

Haven't read the rules?

Unfair or not, they are the rules. Bad luck-just move on :thumbsu:

PS, I am not trying to be malicious at all. Sometimes rulings don't go your way, but you just need to accept it and move on.

Macca19
17 Oct 2006, 19:10
It wouldnt be a silly thing picking Gumby or Hansen over Gibbs. The Crows need that type and by all accounts they both could become superstar KPP. Port is in the same boat. We really need a superstar young forward to take over in a few years.

BUT...even though that is the case, I think both Crows and Port would pick Gibbs over the others, despite the probable need of a gun KPP.

Truck Rutten
17 Oct 2006, 19:12

He was eligible when the AFL initially accepted the 200 SANFL game qualification criteria. It was only once the AFL were alerted to, and queried the inclusion of State and pre-season games in those figures that he wasn't. What does it matter if the 200 games included State & pre-season games? As long as it yielded a similar number of eligible fathers to the other clubs in the competition

If the AFL were adamant that the qualification couldn't include State & pre-season games then the fair, obvious and logical solution was to reduce the number of games required to 150 or 175 (minor round & finals only), whatever would have given the SA clubs a similar number of fathers to the other clubs.

CrazyQ
17 Oct 2006, 19:21
Can I be the first to congratulate young Bryce on his fantastic achievement in Glenelg's best and fairest.

For a 17 year old to finish 3rd in the B&F for a club that missed the finals by a whisker speaks volumes of young kids character and football talent.

Well done Bryce and best of luck where ever you end up* :thumbsu:

*Stiffy_18 reserves the right to withdraw that statement if Bryce ends up at Alberton :D
Daniel Wells finished 2nd in the Sandover medal.

:D

Stiffy_18
17 Oct 2006, 19:25
Haven't read the rules?

Unfair or not, they are the rules. Bad luck-just move on :thumbsu:

PS, I am not trying to be malicious at all. Sometimes rulings don't go your way, but you just need to accept it and move on.
No, not at all! You just like flying into Gibbs threads like flies to **** :rolleyes:

Blue Red and Gold
17 Oct 2006, 19:26
How did Douglas go in the B&F Stiff?

Would of featured well early.

Stiffy_18
17 Oct 2006, 19:42
How did Douglas go in the B&F Stiff?

Would of featured well early.
Not sure mate. Just read in one of the articles that Gibbs finished 3rd behind Mouse and McConnell.

Jeremias
17 Oct 2006, 19:46
No, not at all! You just like flying into Gibbs threads like flies to **** :rolleyes:

I am not being malicious. Just making conversation, as I am well within my rights to do.

I am sorry if you cannot see the difference between a malicious attack and mere conversation :rolleyes:

Blue Red and Gold
17 Oct 2006, 19:47
Not sure mate. Just read in one of the articles that Gibbs finished 3rd behind Mouse and McConnell.
No worries mate

Leaping Lindner
17 Oct 2006, 20:33
Jarrod Rivers played SANFL as a 16 year old for North Adelaide.

Mark Ricciuto played AFL for the Crows as a 17 year old.

Did he play any SANFL league game for West Adelaide in 1992 as a 16 year or round 1, 2 or 3 in 1993?

He didn’t debut until round 3 IIRC.

Ben hart only played a few reserves game for North Adelaide in 1991 and started round 1 1992. (only league game was a trial game 2 years ago)

Just for the record crows98. Ben Hart debuted in the 1st Semi Final in 1990 (alongside Peter Turner). IIRC he is still the youngest player to play his league debut at North (16 Years and 2 months or something like that.)

crows98
17 Oct 2006, 21:50
Just for the record crows98. Ben Hart debuted in the 1st Semi Final in 1990 (alongside Peter Turner). IIRC he is still the youngest player to play his league debut at North (16 Years and 2 months or something like that.)

Cool, thanks for that.

How many games did he play for North Adelaide in 1991?

He didn’t play in the North Adelaide premiership side did he?