View Full Version : Dogs win allready with Aker
Membership's will soar
Corporates and Sponsor's interest will soar
Aker will have paid for himself 5 or 6 times over before the season has started.
I cant believe a national personality/franchise player has fallen into our hands so cheaply.
itsintheblood
14 Oct 2006, 00:09
It could also very easily end in tears.
danielcanberra
14 Oct 2006, 00:09
Membership's will soar
Aker will have paid for himself 5 or 6 times over before the season has started.
I cant believe a national personality/franchise player has fallen into our hands so cheaply.
Good for you.
konstas_87
14 Oct 2006, 00:10
Good for you.
agreed, wanted a higher pick but to be honest they can have him.
he was great for us when we were going well, but he's not a battler that we need during a rebuilding phase.
Redlegs14
14 Oct 2006, 00:28
Membership's will soar
I cant believe a national personality/franchise player has fallen into our hands so cheaply.I think you may be overrating the impact that Aker is going to have.
To call him a franchise player may be stretching it a bit too far.
soupaman
14 Oct 2006, 00:33
I think you may be overrating the impact that Aker is going to have.
To call him a franchise player may be stretching it a bit too far.
Nah. I think he could very well become one of the faces of the club. Hell certainly provide us with a lot more exposure and get our brand out there. i personally dont care what he says as long as both he and the team back it up. That was always one of the best things about Aka, he backed up 90% of the statements he made whilst at brisbane and hopefully will continue this streak with us.
Redlegs14
14 Oct 2006, 00:36
Nah. I think he could very well become one of the faces of the club. Hell certainly provide us with a lot more exposure and get our brand out there. i personally dont care what he says as long as both he and the team back it up. That was always one of the best things about Aka, he backed up 90% of the statements he made whilst at brisbane and hopefully will continue this streak with us.I hope you're right. I like Aker, but I think his best football's behind him. Just my opinion though.:thumbsu:
Warwick
14 Oct 2006, 00:38
That's where his worth will most benefit the dogs. The kids will love him. I'm not sure what all the young 'uns are going to do with their #12 jumpers at the Gabba. Turn the numbers around and support Strawb!!
black_hart
14 Oct 2006, 00:45
Yeah Akers best consistent footy is behind him but he's still capable of turning on a ripper of a game. Will certainly bring you publicity and lets hope it's good. Hope for the fans sake he does well for you as the doggies deserve some success.
Redlegs14
14 Oct 2006, 00:48
Yeah Akers best consistent footy is behind him but he's still capable of turning on a ripper of a game. Will certainly bring you publicity and lets hope it's good. Hope for the fans sake he does well for you as the doggies deserve some success.Totally agree.:thumbsu:
Bloods Rule!
14 Oct 2006, 00:50
He was a great player and you might get a few more good seasons out of him. But the real worry is that he won't be able to control his mouth - because he never has. The first time Rocket has an argument with a player or goes for a new strategy - and Aker blabs it all over the radio because it sounded like a clever thing to say - you might come to regret him being there.
The Doggies seem to me to be building something special as a team but Aker always regards himself as above the team. And I know the same could be said of Spida and there may be interesting times there too. But the Swans players have shown that they are prepared to be tough on a player who steps outside their rules - Aker just seems to regard such rules as a challenge to his freedom of speech.
At least we're going to know a lot more about the internal workings and politics of the Dogs than we have in the past.
Dry Rot
14 Oct 2006, 00:51
Membership's will soar
Bit of premature ejaculation here, IMO.
Rather than rub it into the Lions fans, I'm just relieved that a sensible deal was struck between two clubs acting in good faith.
In the same vein, I genuinely hope that the Lions pick up a young gun player with the pick they got for Aker, and that Aker can reproduce some of his best form for us.
Good footy karma all round. :)
"Franchise" "brand" ? :confused::confused:.
Dry Rot
14 Oct 2006, 00:52
Yeah Akers best consistent footy is behind him but he's still capable of turning on a ripper of a game. Will certainly bring you publicity and lets hope it's good. Hope for the fans sake he does well for you as the doggies deserve some success.
And I sincerely hope you get a young gun with the draft pick we traded.
Ted Ed Fred
14 Oct 2006, 01:01
Hope so :thumbsu:
peppy la pew
14 Oct 2006, 01:04
Well done Doggies on securing Acker because he will improve your list tremendously. However, to think he will attract corporate sponsorship is perhaps wishing for a little too much in the christmas tree.
Especially the acrimonious way he parted from his previous employer.
On the field now you blokes are looking very fast and dangerous, did i mention fast.
Good luck next year, by god you desrve some after the injuries you copped, and may we meet in September :thumbsu:
paul scholes
14 Oct 2006, 01:48
might not end to well with your new recruit either hmm wonder why?
Father Jack
14 Oct 2006, 11:24
I hope you're right. I like Aker, but I think his best football's behind him. Just my opinion though.:thumbsu:
A fair comment about a 30 year old, but his last game for the Lions wasn't too shabby.
I hope he does do well.
Has put a troubled year behind him, and his form held up reasonably considering all the goings on off the feild at the lions. Funny how aker got dropped whilst still collecting 18-20 touches a match with the added handicap that half his supposed team-mates were not giving him the ball. Whilst Michael Voss continued to struggle to get 6-8 touches a match with the added advantage all his team-mates bent over backwards to give him the ball.
What a strange team.
black_hart
14 Oct 2006, 12:23
Aker was dropped for a combination of form & also not complying with team rules. Nothing strange about that,Nick Davis & many other players have been dropped for disobeying team rules.
earthquake
14 Oct 2006, 12:26
Membership's will soar
Even with Aker and Mcdougall you still wont win a grand final
man them dogs are getting tired patting themselves on the back arnt they !!
well time will tell how good getting aka is , maybe good, maybe not , just ask yourselves boys why did the lions fall over backwoulds to see the back of him ? why did no player give a rats to see him go ? lets talk again in 2 seasons
earthquake
14 Oct 2006, 12:32
Aker was dropped for a combination of form & also not complying with team rules. Nothing strange about that,Nick Davis & many other players have been dropped for disobeying team rules.
The week before the grand final Davis was coming out in the media mouthing off etc of what he's going to do in the grand final and one of Sydney's team rules is NO media and when Hall was asked why Davis is talking to the media before the grand final and breaking team rules Hall refused to discuss the issue . When Davis was dropped there were many others with lower stats and work rate than Davis playing for the Swans , Davis was just the fall guy .
Has put a troubled year behind him, and his form held up reasonably considering all the goings on off the feild at the lions. Funny how aker got dropped whilst still collecting 18-20 touches a match with the added handicap that half his supposed team-mates were not giving him the ball. Whilst Michael Voss continued to struggle to get 6-8 touches a match with the added advantage all his team-mates bent over backwards to give him the ball.
What a strange team.
what a load of crap ! you sir are blind ! what about aka going stupid against the swans ????
Grimreepah
14 Oct 2006, 12:35
what a load of crap ! you sir are blind ! what about aka going stupid against the swans ????
I think he's just trying to provoke a reaction:rolleyes:
What a strange team.
M. Voss 2006 average disposals: 22
Say what you want about Aka, don't try to bring Voss down in the argument though because you will never win.
I think he's just trying to provoke a reaction:rolleyes:
And what a ripper, Irish keep on chuffing that weed
bulldogrob
14 Oct 2006, 13:39
Even with Aker and Mcdougall you still wont win a grand final
Thats right because the dawks are going to win one in 2008. What a joke :D :D :D
Grimreepah
14 Oct 2006, 13:43
And what a ripper
Very clever stuff. You are cool:thumbsu:
Warwick
14 Oct 2006, 13:45
Grow up mate. You are just looking like a fool.
RedLegs#5
14 Oct 2006, 13:49
MY CLUB IS THE BESTEST CLUB EVER AND THEY'RE GONNA BE BESTEST CLUB EVER FOREVER
What a stupid thread....
RizzoTheRat
14 Oct 2006, 14:04
The Lions were hardly in a position of power here. They had a player the whole world knew was not going to play with them next year. They did the right thing, got the pick and did it early. I have a lot respect for the way they handled the whole situation.
The Bullies have taken a punt with Aker but the potential positives out weight the negatives IMHO. I'm sure fans are hoping Aker makes headlines for his playing rather than his mouth. The Rocket / Aker dynamic will be interesting to watch.
Very clever stuff. You are cool:thumbsu:
Lets get irish to invite us round, we can sit in bean bag's smoke his wicked weed and spend the next 3 days listening to his interpretations of his halucinations.
roostersgal4eva
14 Oct 2006, 15:09
Bit of premature ejaculation here, IMO.
Rather than rub it into the Lions fans, I'm just relieved that a sensible deal was struck between two clubs acting in good faith.
In the same vein, I genuinely hope that the Lions pick up a young gun player with the pick they got for Aker, and that Aker can reproduce some of his best form for us.
Good footy karma all round. :)
well thanks to not having to pay for his contract we keep Bradshaw:D:thumbsu:
getting a gun in the draft is a bonus :D:thumbsu:
The_Flying_Egg
14 Oct 2006, 15:31
It wasn't a combination of form and not obeying team rules. Form had nothing to do with it
Grimreepah
14 Oct 2006, 15:35
It wasn't a combination of form and not obeying team rules. Form had nothing to do with it
So when they said he was dropped for a combination of form and off-field conduct they were lying?
The_Flying_Egg
14 Oct 2006, 15:41
So when they said he was dropped for a combination of form and off-field conduct they were lying?
Yes, yes they were
Grimreepah
14 Oct 2006, 15:44
Yes, yes they were
Was Dermott lying when he wrote an article about Aker's lack of form?
Paddywackers
14 Oct 2006, 16:01
Dog's won this trade easily, poor trading by the Lions! :)
not really, aker wanted out, brisbane wanted him gone because of salary cap. They had to get rid of him and got a pick not poor trading.
Grimreepah
14 Oct 2006, 16:28
I think everyone agrees that the Dogs got Aker cheaply. Odds are that he will play a lot better than what he was at the start of this year.
D Mitchell
14 Oct 2006, 16:30
Dog's won this trade easily, poor trading by the Lions! :)Both clubs won. The circumstances were unusual. Brisbane needing to get rid of Akermanis for at least 2 reasons, salary cap relief and irretrievable breakdown between him the player group and coach, Footscray having salary cap space to enable it to absorb Akermanis' wage and willing to take the risk on a 30 year old body, no other serious suiters and little interest in Akermanis. The deal was done before trading even started. The scoring of trades as winners and losers might have currency in the last minute stuff, like Everitt, Sydney and Hawthorn, a waste of everyone's time because the deal in the end was the one first offered, but not in the Akermanis deal. Both clubs are to be commended for the civility of the trade.
OldLion
14 Oct 2006, 16:37
What a strange team.Ah .. it's going to be interesting seeing those Dogs fans pick up the defensive duties regarding Aka. And he hasn't actually played with them yet. I detect a touch of 'bitter and twisted' .. are you sure you don't support the Pies ?
monfries_young-gun
14 Oct 2006, 17:33
Any idea what number he will recieve??
Who's 12 at bullies?:)
Both clubs won. The circumstances were unusual. Brisbane needing to get rid of Akermanis for at least 2 reasons, salary cap relief and irretrievable breakdown between him the player group and coach, Footscray having salary cap space to enable it to absorb Akermanis' wage and willing to take the risk on a 30 year old body, no other serious suiters and little interest in Akermanis. The deal was done before trading even started. The scoring of trades as winners and losers might have currency in the last minute stuff, like Everitt, Sydney and Hawthorn, a waste of everyone's time because the deal in the end was the one first offered, but not in the Akermanis deal. Both clubs are to be commended for the civility of the trade.
Agree. What I will say is that I do think that the salary cap issue is overrated as the Lions would have held on to him at all costs if NOT for the breakdown of his relationship with the club.
http://westernbulldogs.com.au/default.asp?pg=players&spg=playerprofile&personid=13101
Christ, could they of least used a photo of him in doggies shirt?
rapidshave
14 Oct 2006, 18:14
Photo's aren't taken till next year dill.
Ever heard of Photoshop? And why insult people. Very immature.
Why the Bulldogs will win the 2007 Premiership ?
1/ Pretty good team anyway in 2006
2/ Bought Jason Akermanis for stuff all
3/ Forgotten big man Luke Darcy returns
other reasons
4/ During season Rob Murphy and Mitch Hahn also return
5/ We get our injury list back to average rather than abnormally high
6/ Your players get injured
2007 Bring it on.. Cups coming back.. this time to the western suburbs.
johnnyhoward
14 Oct 2006, 19:24
It's Aker or Aka, not Acker...unless your name has some other meaning.
Aker must really be past it if he can't break into a bottom 4/5 side like Brisbane...Form had nothing to do with it and you know it.
Lets get irish to invite us round, we can sit in bean bag's smoke his wicked weed and spend the next 3 days listening to his interpretations of his halucinations.
are you a typical dogs supporter ???? if so you lot have more to worry about than aka !
It's Aker or Aka, not Acker...unless your name has some other meaning.
Aker must really be past it if he can't break into a bottom 4/5 side like Brisbane...Form had nothing to do with it and you know it.
Agggh Johnny as I said earlier about the premiership clock and StKilda (its 5.30 am you have just gotten up for a leak and the alarm is set for 6.00am to go to work)
Well a more contempory version of this is that it is now 6.15am you have woken up to release a god allmighty crYp and have now realised that you have no time left to wash or have a shower before you go to work.
That is unfortunately where the ill fated SS Titanic/StKilda currently sits on the premiership clock.
johnnyhoward
14 Oct 2006, 19:37
That article was around Round 6 or 7 if I remember correctly...after that game I think against Port he was back in form and gave a post-match interview where everything seemed OK again. Of course it wasn't, but he played some ripping games after that.
Grimreepah
14 Oct 2006, 20:54
That article was around Round 6 or 7 if I remember correctly...after that game I think against Port he was back in form and gave a post-match interview where everything seemed OK again. Of course it wasn't, but he played some ripping games after that.
IIRC he was dropped after the Sydney match. Voss and Matthews said it was a combination of form and off-field conduct. If you choose to think they were lying then that is your prerogative, but I'm not sure why they would.
Obviously when he was dropped later in the year it was solely because of his off-field conduct because he'd just had a very good game against the Roos.
Im confident akermanis will help us as a team. It has already been said by bot hthe club and akermanis himself that he will not be doing as much media next year, and we know he is is still a good footballer (won brisbanes b&f last year, number 1 in sheahans list for player who played 15 games or less).
He may be one year older but he will not be expected to be a full time midfielder, most likely spend more time in the forward line than midfield.
beatnik
15 Oct 2006, 01:11
as much as tools like 'Acker' on this board make me wish 'Aka' falls on his face for WB, the truth is I really like the Bullies and would like to see them do well
for guys like Westy, Chris Grant and especially Rocket Eade, i hope Aka pulls his head in and contributes to a successful year for the little Aussie battlers
good luck Doggies :thumbsu:
Warwick
15 Oct 2006, 01:11
I agree 100% Akermanis will be great value for the dogs. No question.
What i find hard to believe is some people think Aker will shut up completely, or not say anything controversial. I think these people are thinking "surely he wouldn't be that stupid". The thing is, Aker is Aker and he does what he likes. You can think the bulldogs will do anything to stop that, but it isn't going to happen.
As i've said before, i hope bulldog fans get as much joy from watching him as i did. I just wouldn't be holding my breath about him changing his ways.
Borgsta
15 Oct 2006, 02:04
Moved because there are about 2 serious posts in here. 1 by D. Mitchell and 1 reply to the same person.