View Full Version : Kingsley has one of the new assistant coaching roles

dreamkillers
17 Oct 2006, 20:47
Kingsley to begin coaching career in London (http://portadelaidefc.com.au/default.asp?pg=news&spg=display&articleid=303480)
Port Adelaide Football Club Tue 17 October, 2006

As Power coach Mark Williams prepared to fly out for a ‘trip of a lifetime’ to London on Tuesday morning, he confirmed recently retired premiership player Adam Kingsley will join him in the coaches’ box for the 2007 season.

Kingsley, who is currently in London as ‘chaperone’ with a group of younger players who traveled ahead of the team, is widely recognised for his football smarts and will take on an assistant coaching role. It is still to be determined what part of the field he will be responsible for, be it forward, back or midfield.

“Adam Kingsley will be part of our coaching staff as an assistant coach and so he will be practicing and learning on the job whilst in London, so that will be great for him,” said Williams.

“He has played most of the areas of the ground so he is very capable of taking over any one of those positions, so we will see how he progresses.”

In addition to confirming Kingsley as a coach of the club, Williams talked about the wonderful opportunities the trip provided the group was fantastic for the club and the individuals involved.

“We’ve had a high turnover in players over the last few years either through retirements or de-listings, so Warren will have the opportunity along with some of the leaders to really mix with some of the young guys because they’re going to be the heartbeat of our side going forward.

Visits with premier league clubs Portsmouth and Fulham have been organized for the full traveling party, while one-on-one visits organized with the likes of Liverpool and Manchester United are on the agenda for Williams and his key people. The team will also visit Lords, the House of Lords and Wembley Stadium.

“I’ve never been to Europe. It is a chance of a lifetime. We’re going to see Manchester United and Liverpool and a couple of us are going to see the greatest derby in the world of Inter Milan versus AC Milan.

“Our medical, coaching and fitness staff are all mixing with their equivalents at different clubs over there. The opportunity to go and watch professional clubs train and play and meet with their people and swap ideas is going to be invaluable.

“We’ve had Liverpool and Newcastle and Aston Villa come out and train with us and use our facilities and they are very welcoming to us.

It is a great opportunity and one you can’t get unless you have the great support of Government, as we do with the Rann Government and the likes of great South Australians Robert Champion de Crespigny and Maurice de Rohan who sadly passed away recently. Physiotherapist Glen Dodd, who has brought some teams out to Australia, has also organized some visits for us.” Williams said.

Rather than hinder the club’s pre-season Williams said he thought it was a bonus for the club.

“We feel like we are getting a march on the rest of the competition because our players have had to train through, they’ve had to do some kicking, running and weights, more than they normally would, so that’s important for us,” Williams said.

It will be a busy trip for the Power team and whilst there the team in conjunction with the South Australian Government set to promote South Australia and encourage expat South Australians and Australians to come South Australia in a time when the state is enjoying a job boom, primarily associated with the mining and defence industries.

Game Details – Power v Cats @ The Oval, Tuesday 17th October

1.30pm local, (10pm SA time) Saturday 21st October @ The Oval

Tickets are available through www.surreycricket.com (http://www.surreycricket.com). Alternatively call 08712 461100. Tickets cost £20 for adults and £10 for Under 16's

Listen to the game Live on BBC

The game will not be televised, but can be heard live at www.bbc.co.uk/london/live/aussie_rules.ram (http://www.bbc.co.uk/london/live/aussie_rules.ram)

Ford Fairlane
17 Oct 2006, 21:56
I'm sure he has a good football brain and all, but he's not going to be bringing a whole new, fresh perspective to the coach's box, is he?

dreamkillers
17 Oct 2006, 22:03
I'm sure he has a good football brain and all, but he's not going to be bringing a whole new, fresh perspective to the coach's box, is he?

Given he has pretty much been under Williams all his career at Essendon and Port it would probably have been better to let him get some ideas at other clubs..........

*PAF
17 Oct 2006, 22:38
I think he'll be good, could even be a top coach in his own right eventually.
Has brains, knows what is required to succeed and how to make the most of limited opportunities as he certainly has never had it handed to him on a platter.
Good pick up IMO. :thumbsu:

Toots Hibbert
17 Oct 2006, 22:55
Yeah I would have thought Kingers would have benefitted from experience elsewhere. Muybe he's picked up some ideas from the coaching course he doing.

OT the article says we've had Liverpool, Aston Villa and Newcastle use our facilities. Anyone know when?

Jesse
17 Oct 2006, 22:55
I think its hard to tell if someone is a good coach unless they coach you. I'm sure we wouldn't have appointed him if he wasn't the best option for us.

dreamkillers
17 Oct 2006, 23:20
OT the article says we've had Liverpool, Aston Villa and Newcastle use our facilities. Anyone know when?

I'm not sure which clubs they were but 2 were at the club during 2004 as they were in Australia for a series of matches being played in the country.....there should be articles on the visits in the news archive on the club website.

blackdiamond
17 Oct 2006, 23:23
Who would have thought this three years ago?

He was all but delisted at the end of 2003, a late reprieve most probably saved his career and then he was part of the 2004 premiership team.

I know he's the Austrlia's Brainiest Footballer, but coaching?

Choco please don't give him control of the backline, just imagine the bombscare situations if that happens.

Not quite sure where I would like him coaching, he couldn't be much worse than McGuinness as a forwards coach but what could he possibly add in that area?

Anyway all the best Kingers, you are good bloke and Im sure you will give it your best. :thumbsu:

Spadge
17 Oct 2006, 23:40
im concerned about too many players jumping straight into coaching roles

someone said elsewhere that francou should be ports midfield coach... kingsley has now landed a coaching role... matty primus is ruck coach...

while i think its great that our great players remain around our club i am concerned we may be filling our coaching roles with ex players who have no coaching experience at all

we need some experienced heads to assist and improve our team not just ex players we all get sentimental about

RussellEbertHandball
17 Oct 2006, 23:43
Yeah I would have thought Kingers would have benefitted from experience elsewhere. Muybe he's picked up some ideas from the coaching course he doing.

There is annual or bi-annual junior soccer tournament in Adelaide for players upto u/17 level. Paralowiepower or Ryan Nolan being Adelaide based soccer fans probably know a lot more about it than me. These English clubs as well as other European clubs and South American clubs send their junior academy players to the tournament. I remember an article on the Port website I'm pretty sure in 2004 when the Liverpool squad were in town, they used our facilities.

RussellEbertHandball
17 Oct 2006, 23:56
im concerned about too many players jumping straight into coaching roles

someone said elsewhere that francou should be ports midfield coach... kingsley has now landed a coaching role... matty primus is ruck coach...

That was me. I figured Francou would have spent a lot of time in the coaching box during 2003 +04 + 06, so he would have a pretty good idea how it works, the expectations, and the demands. He's also a bright bloke so I thought he could be a good fit.

I'm not sure about Kingsley. He is a smart footballer, but has been a mate of Choco's and coached by him for a long time so he might not be bringing anything new to the box.

If Sanderson moves into Morris' role, then Kingsley probably will move into Sanderson's role with developing the this years new kids and the other young players. I think he should be given a crack at this job before he ends up as a permanent member of the coaching panel.

Powerstufff
18 Oct 2006, 00:04
Have to be wary of the old 'foreign is better' view. Between Port's interviewing other candidates and Chocco's deep knowledge of some of these guys we need to acknowledge that sometimes our own people are the best.

Spadge
18 Oct 2006, 00:08
Have to be wary of the old 'foreign is better' view. Between Port's interviewing other candidates and Chocco's deep knowledge of some of these guys we need to acknowledge that sometimes our own people are the best.which is fine if our people are the best qualified people for the position
im all for keeping things port adelaide but we cant just chuck ex players into senior coaching roles that have never coached in any capacity before
they need to learn the ropes
sometimes a team needs a few new ideas thrown around the coaching box and having ex players in that circle i cant see many new things being brought to the table

RussellEbertHandball
18 Oct 2006, 00:08
........“I’ve never been to Europe. It is a chance of a lifetime. We’re going to see Manchester United and Liverpool and a couple of us are going to see the greatest derby in the world of Inter Milan versus AC Milan.......

I'm going to do my Johnny Warren impersonation here, Choco if you want to watch the world's greatest sporting derby you go to get youself to Brazil, Rio de Janeiro, the 105,000+ Maracana stadium and watch Flamengo vs Vasco da Gama for next years pre-season fact finding trip. In the 1950's thru to the 1980's they used to get over 150,000 people to this derby when the Maracana was mainly an all standing stadium.

Powerstufff
18 Oct 2006, 07:32
.... if you want to watch the world's greatest sporting derby.....Lockleys v Flinders Park U18s. Go you Dees!

Andre
18 Oct 2006, 11:14
Have to be wary of the old 'foreign is better' view. Between Port's interviewing other candidates and Chocco's deep knowledge of some of these guys we need to acknowledge that sometimes our own people are the best.
In theory that sounds fine, but given a choice Choco is going to pick a protege every time (it appears).

I'm very happy with Primus as ruck coach - played at two AFL clubs, 2 times All-Australian ruck, so good at it, they had to change the rules to stop him, plus an inspirational captain. And all without being particularly gifted physically - wasn't the tallest or strongest ruck around, but a very smart player. Wouldn't matter which clubs he'd played at, with that resume any AFL club would be mad to pass him by as ruck coach.

Kingsley has been a one club player effectively - I think Kingsley could make a great coach, but I'd like him to get a couple of years elsewhere firstly, similarly with Francou.

Ford Fairlane
18 Oct 2006, 11:29
Wonder if Port have spoken to Daryn Creswell? Heard he was interviewed for the Sturt job (and missed out), so he must be prepared to move to SA.

portentous
18 Oct 2006, 11:36
Kingsley has also done a lot of study outside of footy to prepare him for a role off field, which makes him a different proposition than most other former footballers.

captain ebert
18 Oct 2006, 12:44
im all for keeping things port adelaide but we cant just chuck ex players into senior coaching roles that have never coached in any capacity before they need to learn the ropes sometimes a team needs a few new ideas thrown around the coaching box and having ex players in that circle i cant see many new things being brought to the table

why cant we teach him the ropes? if its good enough for another club to have to teach him, good enough for another club to take that risk, why cant that club be us? he may work out to be an awesome asset & sending him elsewhere means we could lose that asset for 1, 3 or even 10 years, whilst we could have been benefitting during that time.

& fresh ideas? they all have to come from somewhere, its not just a matter of going to another club to coach, learn, develop & steal ideas etc - all clubs are always trying to evolve their game plans, staying at the leading edge, watching other teams train, match day videos, brain storming sessions etc etc.

personally im quite happy to have him on board - he shows passion & guts & we need to keep that around the place. id rather a port person than an ex crows/glenelg player etc...

captain ebert
18 Oct 2006, 12:45
I think Kingsley could make a great coach, but I'd like him to get a couple of years elsewhere firstly, similarly with Francou.

why cant francou impart his knowledge on our team right now?

i dont understand how going elsewhere is better - he was awesome at what he did, get him to pass that down to the young'uns now.

dreamkillers
18 Oct 2006, 12:54
i dont understand how going elsewhere is better - he was awesome at what he did, get him to pass that down to the young'uns now.

It's pretty simple in that you can pick up other ideas/methods that are employed at other clubs as well as getting a different perspective on how things are done elsewhere which then leads to how things can be done better overall.

A classic example of this is when Chocco coached at Glenelg as that would have been a bit of an eye opener for him but in the longer term was beneficial for him as he had to use different methods to what he would have done had he coached Port in the SANFL.

It's just about broadening your experience and knowledge which is much easier to do in an environment you are not used to.

captain ebert
18 Oct 2006, 13:40
It's just about broadening your experience and knowledge which is much easier to do in an environment you are not used to.

understand that, but we've got good club people ready to go, to give input & learn more at the same time, we can use them now i would have thought, especially with an eager young list.

i am imagining that someone like francou, for example, could go elsewhere, who is to say he would ever come back once gone?

i suppose i am tired of the club losing people for various different reasons, but losing them none the less.

Spadge
18 Oct 2006, 13:46
you have to understand also that because someone was a great player and has alot of knowledge and skill... it doesnt translate into being a good / great coach

captain ebert
18 Oct 2006, 13:50
you have to understand also that because someone was a great player and has alot of knowledge and skill... it doesnt translate into being a good / great coach

sure. lets find out :thumbsu:

Arsene Wenger
18 Oct 2006, 15:10
I reckon Villa and Liverpool were here for the Festival Cup - The annual juinor tournament played in Adelaide run by Glen Dods. However, i dont think it is going anymore.

Heres hoping tredders gets to see his beloved Gooners in London.

I think like alot of you that it would have been handy had Kingsley gone elsewhere and got some fresh ideas and then maybe come back. in the alternative, I hope he is not a "yes chocco whatever you reckon chocco" sorta bloke. (Now that hes not a player of course).

Porthos
18 Oct 2006, 15:12
Who would have thought this three years ago?Well me for one. Kingers was always tipped to be one of the most likely to be a coach as far as I can recall.

portentous
18 Oct 2006, 16:00
Yeah but you put Kingers' name forward for EVERYTHING Porthos. :)

Pred
18 Oct 2006, 16:12
"Bombscare" lol.

Good luck to him, for our sakes.

blackdiamond
18 Oct 2006, 18:47
Well me for one. Kingers was always tipped to be one of the most likely to be a coach as far as I can recall.

Come on! Where's the pic? :D

*PAF
18 Oct 2006, 19:08
"Bombscare" lol.
While it's true that once other coaches worked him out he was dangerous in our backlines, it is also fair to say that he was also the only one we had to cover for the loss of Wilson after that Sydney game.
Once Wilson came back in Kingsley went back to doing what he did best and that is running the lines in our midfield. Definitely very very good at doing that.

blackdiamond
18 Oct 2006, 23:02
Yes Kingers did run the lines well and he always had that happy knack of weaving past a few and kicking a goal - never quite knew how he did it.

In the backlines he was hell scary though, one game at AAMI against Collingwood they played Leon Davis against him - I don't think Mick Malthouse could believe his luck - not a good move on our part.

*PAF
19 Oct 2006, 09:42
... In the backlines he was hell scary though, one game at AAMI against Collingwood they played Leon Davis against him - I don't think Mick Malthouse could believe his luck - not a good move on our part.
That game Leon Davis was obviously under instructions to play Kingsley in the goalsquare, thus exposing his weakness and removing his run.
Very similar to what happened to Pickett at North Melbourne not too long before.