View Full Version : AVATAR Awards

joshhem
24 Oct 2006, 13:01
Members of the den get voting. Vote for your favourite...

John
http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/image.php?u=25994&dateline=1160122047

The Flying Belgian
http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/image.php?u=17249&dateline=1160478068

Lady Lawrence
http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/image.php?u=4034&dateline=1152773602

TheBrownDog
http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/image.php?u=17216&dateline=1128887557

Weevil
http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/image.php?u=7166&dateline=1125346173

Did I miss anyone???

Warwick
24 Oct 2006, 13:05
There is something about the look on Browny's face that forces me to vote for him.

toddy
24 Oct 2006, 13:28
likewise, and John's is quite scary!!

John
24 Oct 2006, 13:39
likewise, and John's is quite scary!!

Michael Voss scares you!!!

Perhaps I should change it to something a bit eeerhh.......... more palatable.

toddy
24 Oct 2006, 13:42
Apologies forgot it had changed...

Grimreepah
24 Oct 2006, 13:53
BrownDog for me.

Lady Lawrence's reminds me of a troll.

Helix is another candidate. Still waiting on the Sherminator. Vidman's is pretty good. Lioness' avatar is very good.

joshhem
24 Oct 2006, 14:06
BrownDog for me.

Lady Lawrence's reminds me of a troll.

Helix is another candidate. Still waiting on the Sherminator. Vidman's is pretty good. Lioness' avatar is very good.

OK, I missed a few. Sorry guys...

Change to the rules: The top 2 from this poll will advance to the final and I will start a new poll with those that aren't in this one. Let me know of anyone else that needs to be included.

John
24 Oct 2006, 14:09
OK, I missed a few. Sorry guys...

Change to the rules: The top 2 from this poll will advance to the final and I will start a new poll with those that aren't in this one. Let me know of anyone else that needs to be included.

I am thinking of changing mine, just the type of bloke that I am as I am already bored with it.

Warwick
24 Oct 2006, 14:23
I am thinking of changing mine, just the type of bloke that I am as I am already bored with it.
What about turning this into an avatar:

http://img460.imageshack.us/img460/9938/jessesmithce4.png (http://imageshack.us)

scott522
24 Oct 2006, 17:26
Go Belgian !

Warwick
25 Oct 2006, 11:12
John Wins!

/thread.

Grimreepah
5 Nov 2006, 15:55
We have a few more contestants now.

John
5 Nov 2006, 16:11
We have a few more contestants now.

Freeloaders don't count:p

danielcanberra
5 Nov 2006, 16:17
I like my Avatar. Do you?

Grimreepah
5 Nov 2006, 16:19
Freeloaders don't count:p

You sound like you're worried;)

Grimreepah
5 Nov 2006, 16:20
I like my Avatar. Do you?

Your avatar is full size. Did you buy a membership?

danielcanberra
5 Nov 2006, 16:25
Your avatar is full size. Did you buy a membership?

US$9.99 = A$13.31 via Paypal

The tiny avatar was giving me the shets.

John
5 Nov 2006, 16:32
You sound like you're worried;)

I am. That hippy stuff always gets all the votes;).

Grimreepah
5 Nov 2006, 16:33

Interesting logic.:p

John
5 Nov 2006, 16:34

It's a beauty Daniel and well worth $9.99us. :thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:

John
5 Nov 2006, 16:46
I have changed my avatar. I am in need of a signature to go with it. All suggestions are welcome:).

danielcanberra
5 Nov 2006, 16:50
I have changed my avatar. I am in need of a signature to go with it. All suggestions are welcome:).

Vyvyan Basterd: "Vyvyan is not a girl's name"

joshhem
6 Nov 2006, 14:57
Any Avatar is better than no avatar! Thanks Bigfooty....

konstas_87
6 Nov 2006, 16:17
i love the actual footage of that browny look, awesome :)

Snuka
6 Nov 2006, 17:36
Damn you ignorant fools!
You realise Monkey could beat Browny in a fight!

Lady Lawrence
7 Nov 2006, 07:49

It's not a pig it's a ferrett!

Grimreepah
1 Dec 2006, 19:54
I like your new avatar Lady Lawrence.:thumbsu:

scott522
1 Dec 2006, 20:13
I like your new avatar Lady Lawrence.:thumbsu:

Me too - it's adorable. great Stevie Wonder impersonation! :thumbsu:

Lady Lawrence
1 Dec 2006, 20:44
thanks, I have a heap of 'em, if anyone wants one let me know.

There's death metal cat, pimp cat, rocker cat, techno cat, let me know a genre and i'll get one to you.

TheBrownDog
1 Dec 2006, 22:21
My picture of Browny with a severe case of white line fever is hard to beat.

Love it when channel 10 show the video of it.

Lady Lawrence
2 Dec 2006, 16:05
My picture of Browny with a severe case of white line fever is hard to beat.

Love it when channel 10 show the video of it.

totally agree - you can almost hear him snorting, bit like when the bull scrapes his hoof before the charge.

weevil
3 Dec 2006, 13:57
Crikey, I only discovered this thread now…I coulda been spending all this time spruiking for votes!!!

weevil
3 Dec 2006, 14:01
Your avatar is full size. Did you buy a membership?Grim you gotta get a bigger avatar.

Every time I see yours I think it’s hotdogs from BB.

Doesn’t do your credibility a load of good.

Grimreepah
3 Dec 2006, 14:35
Grim you gotta get a bigger avatar.

Every time I see yours I think it’s hotdogs from BB.

Doesn’t do your credibility a load of good.

Oh, crap. I had no idea:eek:

Lady Lawrence
3 Dec 2006, 15:01
i thought it was MEANT to be hotdogs!!

Grimreepah
3 Dec 2006, 15:06
i thought it was MEANT to be hotdogs!!

:eek:

Hotdogs is a clown. Please observe (http://www.ais.org.au/austrules/proud.asp).

Something must definitely be done about this.

Lady Lawrence
3 Dec 2006, 15:13
oh dear poor Albert!! even big he still looks like him!!

weevil
3 Dec 2006, 15:15
See that’s why the mods have been giving you a hard time they think you are hotdogs.

…Mustn’t like monkeys either... :eek: :p

Lady Lawrence
3 Dec 2006, 17:45
See that’s why the mods have been giving you a hard time they think you are hotdogs.

…Mustn’t like monkeys either... :eek: :p

nup this mod loves Monkey.

'They'll be sorry. They'll be sorry if I die - except that I can't. Whatever you do it ends up raining. What's it all for? What's the point of it all? And if it hasn't got a point, what's the point of that?'

weevil
3 Dec 2006, 17:56
nup this mod loves Monkey.

'They'll be sorry. They'll be sorry if I die - except that I can't. Whatever you do it ends up raining. What's it all for? What's the point of it all? And if it hasn't got a point, what's the point of that?'
Pigsy: 'Say something really insulting.'
Monkey: 'Okay... Pig!'

...You need to imagine the voices for it to be funny...

Warwick
26 Feb 2007, 15:15
Respect for John's atm.

The greatest sitcom ever made.

Lady Lawrence
26 Feb 2007, 15:19
yeah my grandad's mate was in that show and he came to my birthday party when I was about 6 and did magic tricks!!

Warwick
26 Feb 2007, 15:23
yeah my grandad's mate was in that show and he came to my birthday party when I was about 6 and did magic tricks!!
Awesome. Was he one of the other members of the platoon?

Lady Lawrence
26 Feb 2007, 15:37
honestly I was too little to really know who he was, I never watched the show when I was little but watched it when older with a new appreication but I'm buggered if I know which one he was, i think he's dead now though

John
26 Feb 2007, 16:09
Respect for John's atm.

The greatest sitcom ever made.

When reading through the NAB cup game thread against the Saints I was laughing my head off at the doom and gloom. We may well finish down the ladder but our whole season was being wiped based on a quarter of footy that was full of the new boys being played in monsoonal conditions. All I could think about was Fraser saying "Weera doomed" or Jones running around like a headless chook yelling "don't panic." My sense of humour I guess. When I searched for pics of them I found Captain Mainwaring. The bowler hat was the winner for me;). You keep loving those UK comedies Warwick and I will keep talking about em to you. I watched a repeat of Fawlty Towers on Saturday arvo on UK TV and I still laughed my head off even though I have seen them about 100 times. It was the episode when Polly had the amorous boyfriend in the foyer. She wore a tight fitting singlet and I am convinced that they used ice just prior to filming the scene;).
After she had received a lecture from Basil about dress codes she stomped of to get changed and the phone rang. Basil answer with "Fawlty Titties" I am still laughing now. Brilliant.

Grimreepah
26 Feb 2007, 16:44
Captain Mainwaring.

I thought is was Captain Mannering.

John
26 Feb 2007, 17:03
I thought is was Captain Mannering.

Pronounced mannering but spelt Mainwaring (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Captain_George_Mainwaring)

Warwick
26 Feb 2007, 19:59
When reading through the NAB cup game thread against the Saints I was laughing my head off at the doom and gloom. We may well finish down the ladder but our whole season was being wiped based on a quarter of footy that was full of the new boys being played in monsoonal conditions. All I could think about was Fraser saying "Weera doomed" or Jones running around like a headless chook yelling "don't panic." My sense of humour I guess. When I searched for pics of them I found Captain Mainwaring. The bowler hat was the winner for me;). You keep loving those UK comedies Warwick and I will keep talking about em to you. I watched a repeat of Fawlty Towers on Saturday arvo on UK TV and I still laughed my head off even though I have seen them about 100 times. It was the episode when Polly had the amorous boyfriend in the foyer. She wore a tight fitting singlet and I am convinced that they used ice just prior to filming the scene;).
After she had received a lecture from Basil about dress codes she stomped of to get changed and the phone rang. Basil answer with "Fawlty Titties" I am still laughing now. Brilliant.
No one does comedy better than the British.

No matter how many times i have seen an episode of Dad's Army, Blackadder, Fawlty Towers etc, i still get a laugh.

SouthSwans
26 Feb 2007, 20:03
CHAMPAGNE sketch comedy.

Anything Sitchy gets my vote.

The Flying Belgian
26 Feb 2007, 20:29

No matter how many times i have seen an episode of Dad's Army, Blackadder, Fawlty Towers etc, i still get a laugh.

Don't forget Yes Minister.

My Dad who sits with us at the footy, whenever Pikey would get the ball there'd be the refernce of "you stupid boy!" :D :D :D

Warwick
26 Feb 2007, 20:40
Don't forget Yes Minister.
Don't get me started, i will never stop.

One of the only British comedies i never really got into was Little Britian, which is strange because most like it. It is amusing, but misses the sharp wit.

Wednesday night on the ABC has a couple of good ones - Extras (pure genius) and The Worst Week of My Life.

My Dad who sits with us at the footy, whenever Pikey would get the ball there'd be the refernce of "you stupid boy!" :D :D :D
Classic. :D

I never really thought of that because Martin Pike is a lot different to Frank Pike.

Grimreepah
26 Feb 2007, 20:50

So you enjoyed 7's Comedy Classics?

Warwick
26 Feb 2007, 21:05
So you enjoyed 7's Comedy Classics?
Loved it. :thumbsu:

Good choice Channel 7!

John
26 Feb 2007, 21:36
The Office and Extras are oustanding. Yes Minister and Prime Minister are, like Fawlty Towers timeless. I can watch repeat after repeat. Though less a comedy, maybe more light entertainment, Minder is another that deserves a mention. It is on UK TV every Saturday night at 11.30 and I never miss it. It is almost a period piece now but I just love it.

The Flying Belgian
27 Feb 2007, 07:15
One of the only British comedies i never really got into was Little Britian, which is strange because most like it. It is amusing, but misses the sharp wit.

Gotta say I'm with you there. I've tried, but it just won't stick.

Lady Lawrence
27 Feb 2007, 08:50
yeah but no but yeah but

I absolutely adore Little Britain, went to see it llive couple of weeks back and laughed till my tummy hurt and I was crying. However being a Pom I do get a lot of the humour that passes some Aussies by.

But I also agree it is specific tastes. for example I don't find funny, Fawlty Towers, Are You Being Served, Yes Primeminister, Blackadder etc.

Bombs Away
27 Feb 2007, 10:01
You guys are forgetting one of the greatest comedies.

THE YOUNG ONES..

:D

Lady Lawrence
27 Feb 2007, 10:23
another one of my fave's have them on vhs!!

it's not a pig it's a ferrett!!

TheBrownDog
27 Feb 2007, 12:30
TFB takes the Avatar lead.

D-Generation/Late Show is hard to beat.

Sh*t Scared, Shirty The Slightly Aggressive Bear, Understanding Wogs, Graham and the Colonel, Rob Sitch's various celebrity impersonations ( I don't want to talk about women, I want to talk about cricket!... Like a tiiiiiiiger!) etc.

Best
Show
Ever

SouthSwans
28 Feb 2007, 11:30
TFB takes the Avatar lead.

D-Generation/Late Show is hard to beat.

Sh*t Scared, Shirty The Slightly Aggressive Bear, Understanding Wogs, Graham and the Colonel, Rob Sitch's various celebrity impersonations ( I don't want to talk about women, I want to talk about cricket!... Like a tiiiiiiiger!) etc.

Best
Show
Ever
Quite easily too IMO.

weevil
28 Feb 2007, 21:23
A cult British comedy that I really love is ‘The Mighty Boosh’

It’s back on SBS on Thursdays at 10 PM. Impossible to even begin to describe beyond: very surreal and very funny.

If you don’t know it do yerself a favor and check it out...

Warwick
31 Jul 2007, 16:35
lionbear's is a ripper at the moment. :thumbsu:

weevil
31 Jul 2007, 16:39
lionbear's is a ripper at the moment. :thumbsu:Yeah that is pretty sweet.

It’s a keeper.

lionbear
1 Aug 2007, 11:59
Thanks for that Weevil and Warwick, spent some time on it yesterday getting the jumpers looking just right. Really happy the way it came up.

Still I don't think I could top Monkey Magic:D

weevil
1 Aug 2007, 17:08
Thanks for that Weevil and Warwick, spent some time on it yesterday getting the jumpers looking just right. Really happy the way it came up.

Still I don't think I could top Monkey Magic:DI’ve said it before LB...you are a man of refined taste.

lionbear
1 Aug 2007, 20:02
I’ve said it before LB...you are a man of refined taste.

Well it was a top show:cool:

I have nearly bought all the Monkey Magic's on DVD I have seen them available on some Websites. My wife has even been pushing me to purchase them:D

J-Ro-20
14 Sep 2007, 11:00
what are peoples opinions of my avatar? i was thinking of changing it

putting ur opinions on the crows aside...please

edit...
oh sorry lions fans i didnt know that this thread was in the brisbane section. i thought it was a non footy related board. my bad