17 Sunday, Jul 29 (Day) Adelaide Telstra Dome Home 2:10 pm
18 Sunday, Aug 05 (Day) Hawthorn MCG Home 2:10 pm
19 Sunday, Aug 12 (Day) Fremantle Subiaco Away 2:45 pm
20 Saturday, Aug 18 (Day) Carlton MCG Home 2:10 pm
21 Sunday, Aug 26 (Twilight) Richmond MCG Home 4:45 pm
22 Saturday, Sep 01 (Day) West Coast Subi Away 2:10 pm

thebigboy
25 Oct 2006, 13:42
Well looks like bryce gibbs can make his debut at home ;)

Bombers_Forever
25 Oct 2006, 13:58
5 Away trips- 2 to Subi, 2 to AAMI and one to SYD. At least there are more day games, which I prefer.

Longy413
25 Oct 2006, 14:09
Not enough games against Collingwood.....

We were due for a tough draw, we really shouldn't complain.

Barnsey3150
25 Oct 2006, 14:10
I guess we deserve a tough draw after this years performances but still a bit unfair. The thing that i hate the most is that our last round of the year won't be in Victoria and it will probably be James Hird's last game...and its against the best team in the competition.

DaSawx
25 Oct 2006, 14:10
Prefer day games too. Just have to make the most of our Melbourne games, we won 8 of 17 in 2005, we have 17 of 20 in Melbourne from rounds 2-21

Longy413
25 Oct 2006, 14:17
I guess we deserve a tough draw after this years performances but still a bit unfair. The thing that i hate the most is that our last round of the year won't be in Victoria and it will probably be James Hird's last game...and its against the best team in the competition.

People were complaining on SEN about this one.

Easy solution, if we aren't going to make the finals Jim plays his last game in Rd21 against Richmond. Could even be a great opportunity for him to pass on his jumper to a youngster for the last game.

If we are going to make the finals, chances are he could play his last game interstate anyway.

Nothing arguement for mine. I don't really think it matters.

DaSawx
25 Oct 2006, 14:31
At least we're at the Dome for the NAB Cup

122 days to go :thumbsu:

drew_j
25 Oct 2006, 14:49
As a priority Essendon are trying to get more experience into the young players. I think a tough draw makes for better experience.

Shane Hird
25 Oct 2006, 15:17
"What about me,it isn't fair"

Unless i travel to Vic during the season,i have to wait till rd22 to see the Dons in action:mad: :( :o :eek: f---- it!

DaSawx
25 Oct 2006, 15:23
what about round 19?

Shane Hird
25 Oct 2006, 15:32
what about round 19?

Holy s---! I was so focused on WC cause we played freo this year, i was sure we would only come here once next season.TA!

U beauty!

DaSawx
25 Oct 2006, 15:35
Holy s---! I was so focused on WC cause we played freo this year, i was sure we would only come here once next season.TA!

U beauty!

You get them twice in 4 weeks, as much as us ;)

Shane Hird
25 Oct 2006, 15:43
rd 2 is good for me too.

Early bragging rights with half my U8 Auskick team next year:thumbsu:

Lets hope:o

Darealrath
25 Oct 2006, 16:19
12:40 ? What are we u/12's ?

Tough draw. We'd want to win a good % of our first 10 to make the 8. I like the extra saturday arvo games though.

Don Draper
25 Oct 2006, 16:28
I think its not too bad, 17 of our final 20 games in Melbourne. Pretty good. Heres to next year..........

-Mav

DaSawx
25 Oct 2006, 16:32
if we did have to play Adelaide in AAMI round 1 is probably the best time to do so, get them before they hit their stride, may not win but hopefully not a thumping

Boris_Bewick
25 Oct 2006, 16:52
12:40 ? What are we u/12's ?

Wouldn't it be the same time Adelaide play most of their Sunday games?

To get the 1 o'clock in eastern states, therefore get the television coverage.

Then again not sure why as Channel Ten and Seven won't be needing to make room for Rugby League coverage like Channel 9 did.

mantis
25 Oct 2006, 17:01
WOOHOO I get to see 5 games next year, rounds 4,5,6,19 & 22. :thumbsu:

Bomberz_pacers07
25 Oct 2006, 17:02
Its gonna be tough round 4 and 5 only having the 4 day break inbetween each game. The draw doesnt worry me though bcoz any1 can win anywhere on there given day. i mean geelong beat freo at subi this year, just depends on how the team is playing on the day.

Sam the RAMA fan
25 Oct 2006, 17:23
We should beat Carlton in the NAB cup-round 1..

http://www.essendonfc.com.au/news/news.asp?nid=4912
They dont seem to happy about it...
But I like it.

I'm happy that someone else has got more friday night games...
and we've got more day games.

Round one will be good...confidence booster although round 1 this year was a confidence booster also...then look what happened.

I'm still aiming for 8th in 07..
Any higher and I will be shocked/over the moon..
any lower and meeh..it's footy...it's bound to happen,but hopefully no lower than 10th! ;)

GO BOMBERS 07!!

danzan22
25 Oct 2006, 17:29
i dont know if anyone noticed but we play richmond in rd 9 and rd 21, i thought you only played the teams you played in the first 7 games twice. can someone please tell me why this has happend

Sam the RAMA fan
25 Oct 2006, 17:37
i dont know if anyone noticed but we play richmond in rd 9 and rd 21, i thought you only played the teams you played in the first 7 games twice. can someone please tell me why this has happend

They said on sen today that this is the 1st time this has happend.
They would like something different.

DaSawx
25 Oct 2006, 18:16
The 8 matches from a particular round won't be exactly the same the next time around, nothing wrong with it IMO, they ised some schedule simulator that the NFL uses, welcome to the new age AFL

danzan22
25 Oct 2006, 18:24
this is probably a bad year for essendon to try and get back up the ladder with one of the toughest draws we have had in a long time. we play 4 of the top 8 teams twice including three of the preliminary finalist(fremantle, west coast, adelaide). we only play sydney once but that game is at the scg. we also start the year interstate and end the year interstate. lets hope our boys are up to this challenge ahead of them. if we manage to finish between 9-12 i think that will be a big step foward.
GO BOMBERS!!

red+black
25 Oct 2006, 19:25
Didn't need a tough draw to confirm we won't make finals next year. Shame it can't be fair and equal for everyone though.

danzan22
25 Oct 2006, 19:27
Didn't need a tough draw to confirm we won't make finals next year. never said we would make the finals, all i was saying is that trying to get back into the 9-12 area will be hard for essendon next year with this draw

bmwofoz
25 Oct 2006, 20:22
Last year the draw looked good on paper, we did crap, this year the draw looks ugly but if the youngest can develop and the older heads have a better year then we should win a few more games.

bmwofoz
25 Oct 2006, 20:23
never said we would make the finals, all i was saying is that trying to get back into the 9-12 area will be hard for essendon next year with this draw

We won't finish 9th, that where Richmond will finish

eastaugh36
25 Oct 2006, 21:21
I'm very happy with the draw. I get to see us kick our season off live, have decided that my 'Melbourne' game that I travel over for will be the Dreamtime at the G against Richmond and then get to see us in Adelaide again vs Port in a Sunday twilight game, with possibly another Melbourne trip in the latter rounds or hopefully finals. :thumbsu:

Dan26
25 Oct 2006, 21:47
You can't say whether it will be a tough draw, because no one knows how good the opponents we have to play are going to be. We "suspect" teams like Adelaide and West Coast are going to be good teams, but we don't know for sure. There are always surprise drop-offs, and there are always teams expected to go badly who improve.

So, instead I prefer to look at the venues, because that won't change.

We play 17 games in Melbourne, all at TD or MCG. That's good.

We play 5 times interstate. Perfectly acceptable. 4-5 times is the average, so 5 is fine.

So really, it's about the same draw we get every single year. We always get one of the better draws, and 2007 is no exception.

Shane Hird
25 Oct 2006, 22:07
You can't say whether it will be a tough draw, because no one knows how good the opponents we have to play are going to be. We "suspect" teams like Adelaide and West Coast are going to be good teams, but we don't know for sure. There are always surprise drop-offs, and there are always teams expected to go badly who improve.

So, instead I prefer to look at the venues, because that won't change.

We play 17 games in Melbourne, all at TD or MCG. That's good.

We play 5 times interstate. Perfectly acceptable. 4-5 times is the average, so 5 is fine.

So really, it's about the same draw we get every single year. We always get one of the better draws, and 2007 is no exception.

thats exactly as i see it! people moaning about the draw in Oct gets my goat up...big time

Dysons dealdy left boot
25 Oct 2006, 23:05
Iam a bit annoyed not cause of who we play but that I like the rest of the people that play footy on a sat arvo will miss out on two Carlton games a collingwood game a hawks game a st kilda match all at the G and a lions game also. Wish they made a few of these twilight games so people playen footy could go watch after they play.

Shane Hird
25 Oct 2006, 23:35
Iam a bit annoyed not cause of who we play but that I like the rest of the people that play footy on a sat arvo will miss out on two Carlton games a collingwood game a hawks game a st kilda match all at the G and a lions game also. Wish they made a few of these twilight games so people playen footy could go watch after they play.

next time you feel annoyed about our draw ricky, think of what its like to see only one or two games a year. Enjoy the footy mate,what ever ground it is. Its the only good thing about living in Melbourne;)

fish_bowl
26 Oct 2006, 03:21
is anyone disapointed at the fact that we play our last game in perth? you would have thought that the AFL would schedule us in melbourne for jim's last game (bar we make the finals). very very sad

mickyt888
26 Oct 2006, 04:50
omg omg omg!!! essendon vs west coast JUNE 8 telstra dome My BirthdaY!!! this first time essendon have ever played on june 8 in my time. can't wait i will be there:):):)

red+black
26 Oct 2006, 07:29
is anyone disapointed at the fact that we play our last game in perth? you would have thought that the AFL would schedule us in melbourne for jim's last game (bar we make the finals). very very sad
Well they didn't show such respect to a club (Fitzroy) so there's no way they'd do the same for a player.

DaSawx
26 Oct 2006, 09:43
Didn't Fitzroy announce the merger during their final season, after the draw was made? Only curious and don't mind being corrected, if Hird has to play in Perth for his final game, so be it

ant555
26 Oct 2006, 11:25
Its gonna be tough round 4 and 5 only having the 4 day break inbetween each game. The draw doesnt worry me though bcoz any1 can win anywhere on there given day. i mean geelong beat freo at subi this year, just depends on how the team is playing on the day.

Maybe be a bit tough for the players with the 4 day break but it is the same for both teams so there is no advantage to either side and both sides then get the advanatage of a 9 day break into the next round :thumbsu:

red+black
26 Oct 2006, 11:42
Didn't Fitzroy announce the merger during their final season, after the draw was made? Only curious and don't mind being corrected, if Hird has to play in Perth for his final game, so be it
Probably right there. Has Hird said he definitely won't play beyond 2007? I think he has, but even still, for many players, it's often debated this year will be his last, then they play on, and again, it's this year will be his last. Can't really factor this in to fixturing. Who knows when Rob Harvey will give it away? What about Michael Tuck? He could have kept going.

Longy413
26 Oct 2006, 11:49
From memory, Hird's closing line at his celebration dinner was something along the lines of - "We have 12 months left together to achieve something special, lets enjoy it."

eastaugh36
26 Oct 2006, 17:41
next time you feel annoyed about our draw ricky, think of what its like to see only one or two games a year. Enjoy the footy mate,what ever ground it is. Its the only good thing about living in Melbourne;)

Spot on. :thumbsu:

Shane Hird
26 Oct 2006, 17:59
How many Essendon supporters are like me?

At the start of every season,the last thing I think of is our draw. All I concern my self with is the next 2-3 games ahead. Its a total waste of energy looking at the draw pre-season and then pencil in wins and losses,worried about a game in rd 16 or something.

Anything can happen! I just look at the first 2 games of the season and worry about the rest when we come to it.

DaSawx
26 Oct 2006, 18:03
Good post Nobby, not only could Adelaide by vulnerable in round 1, maybe, best time to get them possibly, but there are a lot of winnable games straight after, Freo, Carlton, St. Kilda, Collingwood, Hawthorn, Brisbane and Richmond in Melbourne, all winnable

If we can get some 2005 form, we can win a lot of those games

Shane Hird
26 Oct 2006, 20:44
Good post Nobby, not only could Adelaide by vulnerable in round 1, maybe, best time to get them possibly, but there are a lot of winnable games straight after, Freo, Carlton, St. Kilda, Collingwood, Hawthorn, Brisbane and Richmond in Melbourne, all winnable

If we can get some 2005 form, we can win a lot of those games

Thats right! Its not as if we are totally depleted of talent to the point of writing off 07' before it even starts. On paper, we have the best young side in the comp. Lloyd will be straight into form from the first touch and other older players will step up and just put 2006 in the deleted file.

I wont have a bar of any comment that suggests we have a hard draw and will play all the "good teams" twice etc....Have Faith People:p