View Full Version : Millewa Football League
Pages :
[
1]
deposit
26 Oct 2006, 13:20
What great news Nangiloc is back in action with a strong comittee and a real champion as Pres.
Gol Gol are losing a heap of players this year, which should see them fall back to the pack, although they will shell out a heap of $$$$ and buy in a few more players to prop up the numbers.
3 Lake sides look to be ok although not sure about Meringur
Cardross will keep improving
Euston are going to struggle, from all reports.
Is there any word on new signings at this stage? any big names to come into the league.
Nangiloc have appointed 34-year-old Ash Wakefield as senior coach. Wakefield has played in 8 successful Grand Finals in the Riverland Independent League,
He has also played with Loxton North and West Adelaide in the SANFL
and has kicked 100 goals on 3 separate occasions.
This will be his first coaching role
Now all D's need to do is get a few players back.
lil kerr'y
3 Dec 2006, 07:29
sounds like a good player to have around the club! good on the dee'z
Nangiloc will be very competetive next year aswell as signing Ash rumor is they maybe announcing an assistant very soon. Former sfl premiership player! Go The Dees!!!!!!!
deposit
11 Dec 2006, 08:49
Nangiloc will be very competetive next year aswell as signing Ash rumor is they maybe announcing an assistant very soon. Former sfl premiership player! Go The Dees!!!!!!!
Also sounds like half of Sth Mildura will be out at Bambill this year with a few more players to come.
Could be a more interesting year this year with Gol Gol losing some important players and a few other clubs picking up handy players.
GeeBruz
13 Dec 2006, 07:44
Also sounds like half of Sth Mildura will be out at Bambill this year with a few more players to come.
Could be a more interesting year this year with Gol Gol losing some important players and a few other clubs picking up handy players.
Let's hope so coz the MFL certainly needs it. There is a lot of talk about Nangy, Goly and Bambill but whats the go with the other sides?
Coaches? Recruits? etc....
deposit
13 Dec 2006, 11:27
Heard a few boys are not too happy with sparrow as the new coach at Gol Gol.:rolleyes:
Any news on who's coaching Cardy, Euston and Meringur? Any moves into or out of those clubs?
rocket3
17 Dec 2006, 19:18
Well, Nangiloc have got off their collective arses and decieded to put in alittle bit of an effort next year.
If they couldnt be bothered (and that is what it came down too) this year, why bother at all.
The league went well without them.
Cardross and Meringur at times in the last 5 years often played with 18- 19 players and really tried hard to pull in the nessasary players to play out a season.
When it was Nangilocs turn to struggle, they decided to go fishing instead.
Very soft option.
Most of the Nangiloc players went to Meringur and i doubt they will be giving any clearances due to hardship and then they should play the same game as Nangiloc did.
Afterall , the then Prez of the league is now the prez of Nangiloc.
As for Bambill stealing SM players, Bambill has always been known as a club that throws money at players to buy a team, so there is nothing new there.It didnt work last year.$$$
I think Cardy will stay the same, dont know the the same coach is staying but the playing group is tight but will need some fast midfielder to stay compeditive.
Not bad for a team who played in a grand final last year (got badly beaten) but only pay the coach to play.
The sad thing is , they will need to have to start paying players to attract quaility.
I hope Euston can hang in there.
but if they cant.. well hey they can always go fishing for a year cant they Nangiloc?
chalkie
18 Dec 2006, 15:20
As for Bambill stealing SM players, Bambill has always been known as a club that throws money at players to buy a team, so there is nothing new there.It didnt work last year.$$$
[/quote]
Rocket would I be correct in assuming you're a werimull or gol gol player/supporter as they're the 2 teams you neither mentioned or had a go at?
Can you name the south players bambill have taken? I think you will find it is only 3 blokes that played there last year and one of them is the coach.
rocket3
18 Dec 2006, 16:52
Rocket would I be correct in assuming you're a werimull or gol gol player/supporter as they're the 2 teams you neither mentioned or had a go at?
Can you name the south players bambill have taken? I think you will find it is only 3 blokes that played there last year and one of them is the coach.
Someone else brought up the question of stealing SM players , not me.
I said, Bambill have always been known to throw money at players to buy a side.
Chalkie, you can assume all you want.
Dont know much about those two sides thats why.
what can you say about Gol Gol, they pay ******** loads to players so they win a premiership.
They will probably win it again.
deposit
19 Dec 2006, 11:30
Someone else brought up the question of stealing SM players , not me.
I said, Bambill have always been known to throw money at players to buy a side.
Chalkie, you can assume all you want.
Dont know much about those two sides thats why.
what can you say about Gol Gol, they pay ******** loads to players so they win a premiership.
They will probably win it again.
I didn't actually say that Bambill were steeling Players, I was just inferring that Morgs was taking a few with him. We all know that for some reason people seem to head to bambill over other clubs (not always to do with cash).
As far as Gol Gol go they do pay a few players, however there are a fair few gettign nothing, just hanging around with mates.
deposit
19 Dec 2006, 11:35
Well, Nangiloc have got off their collective arses and decieded to put in alittle bit of an effort next year.
If they couldnt be bothered (and that is what it came down too) this year, why bother at all.
The league went well without them.
Cardross and Meringur at times in the last 5 years often played with 18- 19 players and really tried hard to pull in the nessasary players to play out a season.
When it was Nangilocs turn to struggle, they decided to go fishing instead.
Very soft option.
Most of the Nangiloc players went to Meringur and i doubt they will be giving any clearances due to hardship and then they should play the same game as Nangiloc did.
Afterall , the then Prez of the league is now the prez of Nangiloc.
I think Cardy will stay the same, dont know the the same coach is staying but the playing group is tight but will need some fast midfielder to stay compeditive.
Not bad for a team who played in a grand final last year (got badly beaten) but only pay the coach to play.
The sad thing is , they will need to have to start paying players to attract quaility.
I hope Euston can hang in there.
but if they cant.. well hey they can always go fishing for a year cant they Nangiloc?
Rocket I would say that it is harder than you would think getting a team together at the moment esp when you are located out at Nangi... They get my praise for having a year off and getting their things together and will come back a better club, with more local support now that people know what it is like with out their footy side.
You will find that all sides have been playing with only 18 at times, including Gol Gol over the last 5 years. That is just the fact of life for MFL and SFL reserves sides, there are not enough people to go around, even though Imps and Sth Mildura have 30 Reserves to pick from each week.
Wells Train
19 Dec 2006, 12:33
Luke Gane is coach of Cardy. Have spoken to him and he has some players in mind, was just sounding out intentions but sounds confident of a good year.
deposit
19 Dec 2006, 15:35
Luke Gane is coach of Cardy. Have spoken to him and he has some players in mind, was just sounding out intentions but sounds confident of a good year.
They have a lot of work to do, should not have played in the GF
chalkie
19 Dec 2006, 16:11
Does anyone know if Chris B will be staying at Cardy as a player? There is strong talk that josh kelly is taking a year off to spend more time with his young family. Would be a big loss to lose 2 key onballers.
rocket3
19 Dec 2006, 16:41
why shouldnt they have played in the GF?
What a ridiculous statement.
rocket3
19 Dec 2006, 16:51
Rocket I would say that it is harder than you would think getting a team together at the moment .
I know quite well what it takes to get a team together in the Millewa league.
It takes comittment, alot of dedication, leadership and apart from all that pride in your club.
If you dont have at least these , then dont bother.
As Nangiloc's example shows.
snakepit
19 Dec 2006, 20:18
why shouldnt they have played in the GF?
What a ridiculous statement.
totally outclassed rocket. how do u reckon gol gol would go in town? i speak to quite a few of the players there who think they would have beaten merbein last year, although I think not.
rocket3
20 Dec 2006, 05:52
there was no doubt they were badly beaten by a much stronger side.
But to say they shouldnt of played in the Grand final, when they earnt that very right, is completely wrong.
I only ever watch the Millewa league so i cant past comment on merbein.
deposit
20 Dec 2006, 07:25
there was no doubt they were badly beaten by a much stronger side.
But to say they shouldnt of played in the Grand final, when they earnt that very right, is completely wrong.
I only ever watch the Millewa league so i cant past comment on merbein.
Werimull were the only side to get near Gol Gol all year, the issues around the finals this year are sensitive so I will leave it at that.
As far as Gol Gol in town, I think that they would struggle to start with. May have beaten Merbein but not too many others.
The main problem would be fielding the second and third teams to start with. Don't think it would be any good for either MFL or SFL if Gol Gol was to move as it would not bring much to the SFL and would put a further drain on the MFL.
Has anyone heard how Euston is going..... will they get a team together.
rocket3
20 Dec 2006, 09:03
Werimull were the only side to get near Gol Gol all year, the issues around the finals this year are sensitive so I will leave it at that.
most would understand the sadness that surrounded that final out at Gol Gol.
And my personal view was it should of been played a week after.
but Werrimal did have a chance if they were good enough to beat Cardross for that final berth.
They were not.
snakepit
20 Dec 2006, 09:21
most would understand the sadness that surrounded that final out at Gol Gol.
And my personal view was it should of been played a week after.
but Werrimal did have a chance if they were good enough to beat Cardross for that final berth.
They were not.
i tend to agree about having a week off, maybe it just wasnt possible. it was a big ask of the werrimul boys to back up like that. i personally hope the comp evens up a bit this year. does anyone know if the are allowed to water the grounds out at the lake? we are in deep trouble in town.
deposit
20 Dec 2006, 09:42
i tend to agree about having a week off, maybe it just wasnt possible. it was a big ask of the werrimul boys to back up like that. i personally hope the comp evens up a bit this year. does anyone know if the are allowed to water the grounds out at the lake? we are in deep trouble in town.
Have not heard about the grounds out there but will be going past tomorrow so will see how they look
deposit
22 Dec 2006, 22:22
Grounds at the lake were very green, not sure how they will hold up though.
Seemed as though there were no worries with water, they had it going al over the place in the middle of the day
Wells Train
24 Dec 2006, 10:08
totally outclassed rocket. how do u reckon gol gol would go in town? i speak to quite a few of the players there who think they would have beaten merbein last year, although I think not.
Mate we played gol gol a couple of years ago in the pre season with 4 to 5 of our best players not there. Last years side was better than that and we won by 11 goals. The gulf between Millewa and SFL is pretty big. Fitness levels are a major part of that
snakepit
25 Dec 2006, 09:06
Grounds at the lake were very green, not sure how they will hold up though.
Seemed as though there were no worries with water, they had it going al over the place in the middle of the day
i wouldnt be surprised if some sfl games go out there
snakepit
25 Dec 2006, 09:09
Mate we played gol gol a couple of years ago in the pre season with 4 to 5 of our best players not there. Last years side was better than that and we won by 11 goals. The gulf between Millewa and SFL is pretty big. Fitness levels are a major part of that
the gulf between sfl and the millewa is huge, I agree. gol gol have some very handy players although some wouldnt get a game with a top seconds side in town.
mullethead
26 Dec 2006, 05:29
the gulf between sfl and the millewa is huge, I agree. gol gol have some very handy players although some wouldnt get a game with a top seconds side in town. SNakepit, you must be kidding, I know imps seconds side very well, you name me the players in Gol Gol's starting 18 that wouldn't get a game in our 2's. Crikey we had Vas Saris getting a game and yet he wouldnt start in Gol Gol's side. I agree thjere is a huge gap between Gol Gol and any senior side but to say some wouldn't get a game in the seconds side is a bit much.
deposit
27 Dec 2006, 07:25
SNakepit, you must be kidding, I know imps seconds side very well, you name me the players in Gol Gol's starting 18 that wouldn't get a game in our 2's. Crikey we had Vas Saris getting a game and yet he wouldnt start in Gol Gol's side. I agree thjere is a huge gap between Gol Gol and any senior side but to say some wouldn't get a game in the seconds side is a bit much.
Vas would get a run in any MFL side... if nothing else for his size.
rocket3
27 Dec 2006, 08:50
Vas would get a run in any MFL side... if nothing else for his size.
in fact he did.
mullethead
27 Dec 2006, 09:01
Vas would get a run in any MFL side... if nothing else for his size.The big fella plays up forward, tell me who would you leave out of Gol Gol's forward line to include him.....brookes, sharman, or hooper
deposit
27 Dec 2006, 11:48
The big fella plays up forward, tell me who would you leave out of Gol Gol's forward line to include him.....brookes, sharman, or hooper
Fair Point, Gol Gol have had a very handy forward line, also when you include Stacka.
deposit
29 Dec 2006, 11:36
There has been talk about clubs putting up big dollars to get players in the past (including from me).... Is anyone able to put a figure to what would be say the top payments at a club as well as the number of players that are getting paid.
rocket3
29 Dec 2006, 12:05
There has been talk about clubs putting up big dollars to get players in the past (including from me).... Is anyone able to put a figure to what would be say the top payments at a club as well as the number of players that are getting paid.
Are sheds , petrol , travelling money included?
I think Bambill are putting up a large backyard shed for someone.
deposit
29 Dec 2006, 13:24
Are sheds , petrol , travelling money included?
I think Bambill are putting up a large backyard shed for someone.
Yeah that sort of stuff goes on a bit too, Often work around the house like a new shed or garden helps to pay the way.
The poor year for the wheat farmers might see some of the funds dry up out at the lake too.
snakepit
1 Jan 2007, 06:46
SNakepit, you must be kidding, I know imps seconds side very well, you name me the players in Gol Gol's starting 18 that wouldn't get a game in our 2's. Crikey we had Vas Saris getting a game and yet he wouldnt start in Gol Gol's side. I agree thjere is a huge gap between Gol Gol and any senior side but to say some wouldn't get a game in the seconds side is a bit much.
your probably right but i only said some.
Has any1 else heard that steve bowden is coaching euston? I was told by several robinvale lads that he had signed to coach the bombers and had promised them he would be able to bring som handy players with him
Well they will certainly need the players....... I heard they were very shakey to even get a side together this year. Not sure where he will get the players from, could not see too many people putting their hand up to play out there.
Does anyone know the if the points system is used in the MFL and if so what it is?
galloping gasometer
5 Jan 2007, 08:26
Rob Morgan who is apparently coaching a team in this league the same one that played for Golden Square in Bendigo for a couple of years?:confused:
Better known as the Seagull or Gull as he never stopped squawking and talking.
mullethead
6 Jan 2007, 08:47
Rob Morgan who is apparently coaching a team in this league the same one that played for Golden Square in Bendigo for a couple of years?:confused:
Better known as the Seagull or Gull as he never stopped squawking and talking.
yep the same one gas!!!
Does anyone know when clubs are going to start preseason training and which clubs have been able to pick up some new recruits:confused:
Bambill begin training on the 29th, the day after the annual Bambill Cricket Match at the MSC oval. Lucky enough to get Ben Milsom from Mt Pleasant in the Heathcote FL as assistant coach. Couple of other names but no certainties... Anyone else?
Ben is a superb footballer and coach. Excellent speaker also. He took over the Mounts twos job 3 seasons ago, and took them to two premierships. Weren't the favourites this season, but got across the line with the self belief he drilled into the players. He speaks to all players as equals which I think is the key to coaching.
He played senior footy in the TDFL, LVFL and HDFL for about 10 years before concentrating on coaching and playing twos the past 2 seasons. Kicked 70-odd goals in his first year of senior footy back in about '97, and played in a couple of senior premierships along the way either on the ball or up forward. Dominated the last two seasons in the HDFL twos.
He is also a great fella, and is married with two kids. I know he is extremely keen to continue with a coaching career, so any club up that way will be extremely lucky to get him.
Fridge this bloke sounds like a super star...... what level is the HDFL two's compared to MFL?
There must be a fair buzz out there with you blokes at the moment, seems as though the cheque book has opened up again;)
Ben is a superb footballer and coach. Excellent speaker also. He took over the Mounts twos job 3 seasons ago, and took them to two premierships. Weren't the favourites this season, but got across the line with the self belief he drilled into the players. He speaks to all players as equals which I think is the key to coaching.
He played senior footy in the TDFL, LVFL and HDFL for about 10 years before concentrating on coaching and playing twos the past 2 seasons. Kicked 70-odd goals in his first year of senior footy back in about '97, and played in a couple of senior premierships along the way either on the ball or up forward. Dominated the last two seasons in the HDFL twos.
He is also a great fella, and is married with two kids. I know he is extremely keen to continue with a coaching career, so any club up that way will be extremely lucky to get him.
Fridge this bloke sounds like a super star...... what level is the HDFL two's compared to MFL?
There must be a fair buzz out there with you blokes at the moment, seems as though the cheque book has opened up again;)
The HDFL two's are prob about the same, if not, just below the MFL! Played 1's down there and know of Benny! Will be a good acquisition for Bambill and the league!
[quote=deposit;6505544]Ben is a superb footballer and coach. Excellent speaker also. He took over the Mounts twos job 3 seasons ago, and took them to two premierships. Weren't the favourites this season, but got across the line with the self belief he drilled into the players. He speaks to all players as equals which I think is the key to coaching.
Yeah there seems to be an awesome buzz around the club. As for the cheque book situation, I'm not too sure. About 8 blokes went for a run tonight down at the Lawn Tennis Club. Not bad seeing that the actual scheduled preseason is still 3 weeks away. Good vibes......[/quote]
You dont have to be Einstein to work out that you guys are throwing the money around again (although you are not the only ones...)
Yeah there seems to be an awesome buzz around the club. As for the cheque book situation, I'm not too sure. About 8 blokes went for a run tonight down at the Lawn Tennis Club. Not bad seeing that the actual scheduled preseason is still 3 weeks away. Good vibes......
You dont have to be Einstein to work out that you guys are throwing the money around again (although you are not the only ones...)[/quote]
Who else is throwing the money around out there other than Goly and Bambill?
players come and go and so does money.
Obviously Bamb$ll were so embarrassed
with not making finals (yet paying players well) last year, they have to do something.
players come and go and so does money.
Obviously Bamb$ll were so embarrassed
with not making finals (yet paying players well) last year, they have to do something.
Bambill did make the finals last year and were knocked out by Cardross in the first week.
Making the top four in a 7 team comp is not hard, even more so when you consider the quality of the bottom two sides.
Bambill Should be upset at finishing 4th when they are paying a fair bit out.
Nangi will have to shell out some coin this year to get the players back and for the new coach they picked up.
Werrimul usually throw a bit around as well.
Making the top four in a 7 team comp is not hard, even more so when you consider the quality of the bottom two sides.
Bambill Should be upset at finishing 4th when they are paying a fair bit out.
Nangi will have to shell out some coin this year to get the players back and for the new coach they picked up.
Werrimul usually throw a bit around as well.
No it isn't hard but they did struggle all year to fill a side and i'm pretty sure that they didn't dish that much out last year! Could be wrong tho!!!!!
Was only 6 teams in the comp last year too!!!! Which i spose makes it worse?
with regards to Nangi, most of good players went to Muringur, while nangi went carrot picking last year.
How are they going to get a clearance when that would make muringur struggle?
Clacker, would he go back to Nangi?
Macca, being the new league prez, has got his work cut out for him come clearance time.
GeeBruz
10 Jan 2007, 05:37
with regards to Nangi, most of good players went to Muringur, while nangi went carrot picking last year.
How are they going to get a clearance when that would make muringur struggle?
Clacker, would he go back to Nangi?
Macca, being the new league prez, has got his work cut out for him come clearance time.
Don't think it would be that hard for Clacka as he was with Nangi for long time before they sat the season out.
rocket3
11 Jan 2007, 12:21
spoke to someone from Cardy last night.
They have started training.
Seems like they have picked up alot of players from the same league.
It must be the club to play at this year with the new developments of the clubrooms and the Grand final play off , helps i suppose.
Some new players from outside the league as well.
deposit
11 Jan 2007, 12:43
spoke to someone from Cardy last night.
They have started training.
Seems like they have picked up alot of players from the same league.
It must be the club to play at this year with the new developments of the clubrooms and the Grand final play off , helps i suppose.
Some new players from outside the league as well.
Any Names????
rocket3
11 Jan 2007, 14:23
Any Names????
i dont think i should share them on a public forum when it was a private chat btw friends.
Wells Train
11 Jan 2007, 14:40
i dont think i should share them on a public forum when it was a private chat btw friends.
Best you keep it that way mate, word is they have been poaching players all over the place and the coach is even looking to get some players from his original club.
Don't know how good that info is but time will tell, seems a lot of underhanded stuff is going on out in the millewa this year
rocket3
11 Jan 2007, 17:19
Don't know how good that info is but time will tell, seems a lot of underhanded stuff is going on out in the millewa this year
"poaching players"
is that what you call underhanded?
Chugga Chugga
11 Jan 2007, 18:15
[quote=rocket3;6525402]"poaching players"
is that what you call underhanded?[/quot
i call underhanded a bloke tht lies,makes himself out to be somones his not,.. deep down really is a lil sissy n is not man enough to face up to his weaknessess, so takes the easy way out, work the rest out for ur self........
Wells Train
11 Jan 2007, 19:14
[quote=rocket3;6525402]"poaching players"
is that what you call underhanded?[/quot
i call underhanded a bloke tht lies,makes himself out to be somones his not,.. deep down really is a lil sissy n is not man enough to face up to his weaknessess, so takes the easy way out, work the rest out for ur self........
Take it easy chugga, its obvious some guys can't cut it in the big league anymore so they chase cash and pretend they are somebody cos they think their old club owes them something, well no it just doesn't work like that, everyone here know who the guys are who take the easy way out
rocket3
11 Jan 2007, 19:33
[quote=Chugga Chugga;6525633]
Take it easy chugga, its obvious some guys can't cut it in the big league anymore so they chase cash and pretend they are somebody cos they think their old club owes them something, well no it just doesn't work like that, everyone here know who the guys are who take the easy way out
The easy way out of what?
do i sence sour grapes here?
GeeBruz
12 Jan 2007, 05:39
Best you keep it that way mate, word is they have been poaching players all over the place and the coach is even looking to get some players from his original club.
"Poaching Players" a practice Merbein are all to familiar with Wellsy! Not that anyone would go out there these days.
deposit
12 Jan 2007, 08:29
Poaching Players is the term used by the people who have lost blokes to another club .......... good recruiting is the term used when you are the club picking up the new blokes.
It is part of footy and everyone does it!
To get upset about it is hypocritical because and some stage your club will benefit from 'poaching'.
GeeBruz
16 Jan 2007, 10:38
Very very quiet lads!!!!!
Whats happening out in the MFL? Nothing is being said about The Roos. Is Isaacs still coaching or did Aaron Walder get the job, which he wanted last year?
Steven Bowden is Coach of Euston.
Good that Euston has a coach but will he be able to attract the players needed to compete with the likes of Golly/Werrimul/Bambil and co?
Has coached Robinvale 2s and has some good contacts at both Rob & Sth but getting them cleared is the difficult part.
Great bloke, hope he goes well!!:thumbsu:
deposit
17 Jan 2007, 14:20
Steven Bowden is Coach of Euston.
Good that Euston has a coach but will he be able to attract the players needed to compete with the likes of Golly/Werrimul/Bambil and co?
Has coached Robinvale 2s and has some good contacts at both Rob & Sth but getting them cleared is the difficult part.
Great bloke, hope he goes well!!:thumbsu:
Quote:
Originally Posted by chalkie http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/images/buttons/viewpost.gif (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?p=6480548#post6480548)
Well they will certainly need the players....... I heard they were very shakey to even get a side together this year. Not sure where he will get the players from, could not see too many people putting their hand up to play out there.
Thanks for the update, again I can't see them having any joy this year no matter who these contacts are. Agree a good bloke and good luck to him, but he is jumping onto a sinking ship. Euston will not be around for much longer.
deposit
18 Jan 2007, 06:35
Reading on the Sunraysia thread that Mal Miller is going to Euston with Bowden.
A Clarke/P Marciano & T Best all following Bowden from sths to Euston with the later apparently travelling at some time.
Pretty handy inclusions if cleared?
chalkie
19 Jan 2007, 09:53
A Clarke/P Marciano & T Best all following Bowden from sths to Euston with the later apparently travelling at some time.
Pretty handy inclusions if cleared?
Seeing Besty and Chopper are from Euston you think they would have no problem getting a clearance.
I'm sure south will try to convince clarkey to stay at the kennel seeing he has the potential to play senior footy.He just has to decide whether he wants to have a real crack at it and get fit enough.
chalkie
21 Jan 2007, 14:49
Reading on the Sunraysia thread that Mal Miller is going to Euston with Bowden.
Been told that Miller has signed with ouyen for 2007. Thank god as most teams in the Millewa would need to put 2-3 players on him just to contain him. I've seen him make some very good defenders in sunraysia look silly
GeeBruz
24 Jan 2007, 13:56
Been told that Miller has signed with ouyen for 2007. Thank god as most teams in the Millewa would need to put 2-3 players on him just to contain him. I've seen him make some very good defenders in sunraysia look silly
Miller has definitely signed at Ouyen. Trained last night.
rocket3
24 Jan 2007, 16:58
Great!
now we can put the "Miller saga" in the solved basket.
i was starting to lose sleep over that.
chalkie
27 Jan 2007, 11:23
It appears most clubs have or are about to start Preseason training, can anyone share some of the new faces into the league. :confused:
Wells Train
28 Jan 2007, 08:45
Paul Jenkins has signed to play with werrimul. His brother is playing out there so thats the reason he gave me. Don't think we will clear him easily but he sounded as if it was a done deal in his mind
GeeBruz
29 Jan 2007, 13:47
Paul Jenkins has signed to play with werrimul. His brother is playing out there so thats the reason he gave me. Don't think we will clear him easily but he sounded as if it was a done deal in his mind
Can play some good footy but is a loose cannon at times. Would you agree Wellsy? Don't recon he'll get cleared anyway!
rocket3
29 Jan 2007, 14:37
If he isnt contracted for this year, i cant see how you could stop him.
-going to a different league
- a lesser league
- wanting to play with his brother
Im sure you could lose your money in better ways
GeeBruz
30 Jan 2007, 13:20
Still very quiet out at The Roos, whats happening? Zaccy or walder lads?
Werrimull look to have picked up a couple, h. cook from south apparently! if so a very handy pick up.
Bambill, the most talked about club out here! Is it true Denny Fox is suiting up for them this year? Early favourites???????
Goly - who have they recruited to replace the likes of Vandy. Seany Mac, Brooks etc....?
Cardy - think Bounias maybe be the only loss out there, but can they recruit enough to go one step better?
Euston - With Stevie B coaching could be the big improver!!!! May be able to snare a few robinvale boys!!!!!
Nangiloc - Haven't heard much since they announced thier coach! can he bring the Dee's back from the Dead? Who else have they signed?
Anyone got any answers boys?
rocket3
30 Jan 2007, 13:57
Werrimull look to have picked up a couple, h. cook from south apparently! if so a very handy pick up.
Bambill, the most talked about club out here! Is it true Denny Fox is suiting up for them this year? Early favourites???????
Goly - who have they recruited to replace the likes of Vandy. Seany Mac, Brooks etc....?
Cardy - think Bounias maybe be the only loss out there, but can they recruit enough to go one step better?
Euston - With Stevie B coaching could be the big improver!!!! May be able to snare a few robinvale boys!!!!!
Nangiloc - Haven't heard much since they announced thier coach! can he bring the Dee's back from the Dead? Who else have they signed?
I have heard cardy have recruited more than enough to cover for Bounias.
A great player for the Lions but he is only on one leg anyways.
Bambill are talking themselves up again eh? YAWN.
that happens every year, no big deal.
Muringur will be the ones who might struggle since the carrot pullers have decided to get off their collective arses this year.
Most nangy players went to the roos, so clearance time will be interesting.
Rabbito
30 Jan 2007, 14:08
Where's Sean Mc from Gol Gol heading?
deposit
30 Jan 2007, 15:21
Where's Sean Mc from Gol Gol heading?
Big exit of players from Gol Gol, over and above those mentioned also McGlynn and a number of blokes hanging up the boots... As well as lossing a few of the better players (as mentioned) as well as a number of the mid range ones as well which will have a big impact....
chalkie
30 Jan 2007, 19:14
GeeBruz, as requested
No Foxy is not playing for Bambill. You might see him at their games several times during the year as his wife is playing netball for them. He is also good mates with several of the guys there
Cooky was very close in going to Werrimull however he decided to resign with south.
Hopefully stevie can get a few r'vale boys to play with him this year ,asit appears he might loose felix 'the cat' and a few other old r'vale boys, who are already training with the eagles.Aaron Clarke also decided to stay at south.
Hope this answered some of your questions:cool:
GeeBruz
31 Jan 2007, 05:55
[quote=rocket3;6629623]I have heard cardy have recruited more than enough to cover for Bounias.
A great player for the Lions but he is only on one leg anyways.
Who have they recruited? (Cardy)
Heard a rumour Seany Mc maybe heading in town to south! Not sure if it is true or not but would be a huge loss for Goly aswell.
Thanks for the info on Foxy and cooky chalkie!
Big exit of players from Gol Gol, over and above those mentioned also McGlynn and a number of blokes hanging up the boots... As well as lossing a few of the better players (as mentioned) as well as a number of the mid range ones as well which will have a big impact....
What about the loss of brooks, hooper and stacka. That over 200 goals a season? Who will replace them?
Then vandenberg, mcglnnx2 to wentworth, o'callaghan and a few other possibilities. Going to be hard for Golly to get 4 in a row!
Wells Train
1 Feb 2007, 14:01
Can play some good footy but is a loose cannon at times. Would you agree Wellsy? Don't recon he'll get cleared anyway!
In terms of football ability he has heaps, and if fit would probably win the league medal out there. Can kick goals on both feet from 50 out and some and is very quick. In terms of dedication and attitude well maybe u could term him a "loose cannon" but don't think he will be cleared easily either
Spoke to someone on the Millewa committee and they mentioned when it comes to clearances, the reason for not clearing a player based on they are a required player, is not a valid one and wouldn't hold up in the appeal process. Can someone shed some light on this:confused:
Wells Train
1 Feb 2007, 14:26
Spoke to someone on the Millewa committee and they mentioned when it comes to clearances, the reason for not clearing a player based on they are a required player, is not a valid one and wouldn't hold up in the appeal process. Can someone shed some light on this:confused:
I tried to move clubs in 99 when i was just out of under 18s at the start of the season to merbein and i was refused and the reason being i was a required player and it would have meant a hearing to see if i could get it through. It costs 500 or did back then to go to the tribunal so if they were willing to do that they could get him cleared. How desperate are they to get him, time will tell i suppose
I'm not sure if I'm correct I think that if it goes to the tribunal that club opposing the clearance has to put up the $$ (around $500)
Wells Train
1 Feb 2007, 20:56
I'm not sure if I'm correct I think that if it goes to the tribunal that club opposing the clearance has to put up the $$ (around $500)
Yeah u are right thats why i felt compelled to stay, got where i wanted eventually
Recon there might be a few cases like this out in the Millewa this year!
Too, true!! I think the local footy this year is going to be more a numbers game than a ball game, most clubs are gunna struggle with numbers.
Most likely Rabbit! Who do you recon will struggle in this league for numbers?
I know a few years back when Muringur struggled.
They were getting raided left right and centre.
They used the excuse of "Required player" because if the players left, they would not have a side .
It has more validility (is that a word?) with Millewa teams because of no reserves teams.
As for Cardy and all other teams regarding new players,
talk of any movement before clearances are done is pure speculation.
Most likely Rabbit! Who do you recon will struggle in this league for numbers?
Demons, Hawks, Roos in the MFL
Roos, Merbein in SFL
Demons, Hawks, Roos in the MFL
Roos, Merbein in SFL
Has Goly lost that many that they will struggle?
Agree with the rest, except, don't recon Wenty will struggle!
They are keeping very tight lipped at the moment and i wouldn't
be suprised if they unveil a couple of big recruits very soon!
Has Goly lost that many that they will struggle?
Agree with the rest, except, don't recon Wenty will struggle!
They are keeping very tight lipped at the moment and i wouldn't
be suprised if they unveil a couple of big recruits very soon!
1's will be fine, 2's always struggle.
Gol Gol need to replace 10 or so, still have Penny, Sharman, Albert, Robinson, McInnery, Parkinson
It says in the Mallee thread that Sonny Lindsay is going to Merbein South (Meringur). Can anyone confirm that? Big bonus for the Roo's.
Well the person who posted that has no idea about the league.
It was Merbein South Swans and doesnt exsist anymore.
But i heard KK are interested
Well the person who posted that has no idea about the league.
It was Merbein South Swans and doesnt exsist anymore.
But i heard KK are interested
LOL. Thats only if Coomealla don't get to him first. Mbn sth merged with Meringur didn't they?