View Full Version : Going away?

Pages : [1] 2

Count Zero
28th October 2006, 11:36
Is anyone having an off season, or end of season, holiday in an exotic or interesting location?

I'm off to the UK and Europe for most of November but that hardly qualifies as exotic. Although some parts of Amsterdam offer unique "entertainments"... I've heard.

blackdiamond
28th October 2006, 14:09
Im about a couple of weeks away from taking off to the Unites States of America for a nine week period so I can catch up with my fiance.

Places to visit include:

New Orleans (this will be my home for most of it)
Los Angeles
San Diego
Tijuana (Mexico)
Phoenix
Grand Canyon
Las Vegas
Nevada
Yosemite National Park
San Francisco
Philadelphia
New York

I will probably be off to see a few other places as well.

Arsene Wenger
28th October 2006, 21:40
Im going to Melbourne for Oaks Ladies Day in a couple weeks.. Should be allright !

Count Zero
29th October 2006, 06:58
Im about a couple of weeks away from taking off to the Unites States of America for a nine week period so I can catch up with my fiance.

Places to visit include:

Los Angeles
San Diego
Tijuana (Mexico)
Phoenix
Grand Canyon
Las Vegas
Nevada
Yosemite National Park
San Francisco
Philadelphia
New York

That's quite a tour BD. It looks like you are spending the bulk of the holiday in the west. If you have time, the drive north of Frisco through the redwood forests up to Big Sur is breathtaking.

missionpossible
29th October 2006, 08:54
Im going to Melbourne for Oaks Ladies Day in a couple weeks.. Should be allright !

I am actually taking some time off next week and spending a few nights at the crown and going to the Mellbourne Cup so that is another thing that I can cross off of my list of things to do.

First trip without children for over 2 years :D

blackdiamond
29th October 2006, 11:14
That's quite a tour BD. It looks like you are spending the bulk of the holiday in the west. If you have time, the drive north of Frisco through the redwood forests up to Big Sur is breathtaking.

My time on the west only makes up about two of my nine week stay, thats just the Contiki tour.

I will most probably head back that way again sometime into the future (so much to see), from about the middle of next year the USA will most probably be my home.

Natman
29th October 2006, 18:44

Places to visit include:

Los Angeles
San Diego
Tijuana (Mexico)
Phoenix
Grand Canyon
Las Vegas
Nevada
Yosemite National Park
San Francisco
Philadelphia
New York

You are very fortunate to be able to see all of those places - I love the US as a place, but some of the people leave a lot to be desired.

I just returned from a work trip starting in Bergen in Norway, transited on a seismic survey ship to Algeciras/Gibraltar, then flew to Malta via Frankfurt and then home via bloody Frankfurt again.

blackdiamond
29th October 2006, 19:42
Very fortunate, the things girls make you do.

I probably wouldn't have thought too much about travelling overseas if it wasn't for my fiance moving over there. Sure there are always those things you say to yourself 'yeah I wouldn't mind doing that one day', but you never really put anymore thought to it - if it happens it happens I guess - would've been quite happy to live life out back here.

Life changes, make the most of what you have and enjoy! :) :thumbsu:

Rory
29th October 2006, 19:48

Places to visit include:

Los Angeles
San Diego
Tijuana (Mexico)
Phoenix
Grand Canyon
Las Vegas
Nevada
Yosemite National Park
San Francisco
Philadelphia
New York

Going to any Saints games? :) :thumbsu:

blackdiamond
29th October 2006, 20:11
I would like to, they are my adopted NFL club after receiving a Deuce McAllister jersey which is now nicely framed on my wall.

sog35
30th October 2006, 10:07
Off to Derby Day. Leaving Wednesday.

Sandola
30th October 2006, 12:42
What were you smoking. The giant redwood forests are indeed north of San Francisco ("Frisco" sounds exactly like "Port Power"). Big Sur is south. Monterey, Carmel, Pacific Grove, Santa Cruz.

But I'm very glad you enjoyed your trip!:D

*PAFC*13
30th October 2006, 13:37
Phuket (spelling?)

RoosterLad
30th October 2006, 15:19
correct PAFC 13.

I am going to Sellicks Beach this weekend.

PAFC2004
6th November 2006, 13:50
I've already been away this year... to the US. I'm planning to book a cruise very soon though.

wharfie_1870
6th November 2006, 15:35
Might spend a couple of weeks in Phaic Tan (http://www.jetlagtravel.com/phaic_tan/health.htm) to escape the xmas madness :)

blackdiamond
9th November 2006, 20:02
Im on my way, have a Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year everyone! :)

Bresh
9th November 2006, 20:08
Have fun Scott.

I'm heading over to the USA next year, off to the NBA All-Star Game in Las Vegas, also swinging by Los Angeles and Santa Monica. Probably hit up the Canyon while in Sin City.

portentous
10th November 2006, 06:12

Have a wonderful time Scott. Enjoy and stay safe.

*PAFC*13
10th November 2006, 08:41

You too mate, have a good holiday :thumbsu: !

dreamkillers
10th November 2006, 11:15

Have a great time and keep us up to date with your adventures..........:D

Sandola
10th November 2006, 11:30
Have a great time and keep us up to date with your adventures..........:D

DK! You lived! Or haven't you jumped yet?

dreamkillers
10th November 2006, 11:49
DK! You lived! Or haven't you jumped yet?

the jumps on Sunday afternoon..........should give me enough time to get over the hangover from tonight's celebrations.............

Ported
10th November 2006, 21:13
Going to darwin soon, either for new years of just after it. Should be fun, never been!

blackdiamond
13th November 2006, 08:07
the jumps on Sunday afternoon..........should give me enough time to get over the hangover from tonight's celebrations.............

Okay, what happened? Hope you didn't chicken out. :p

dreamkillers
13th November 2006, 09:29
Okay, what happened? Hope you didn't chicken out. :p

Not at all although it would have been interesting had the jump been on Saturday afternoon considering I got home from Friday night at 7:30am and spent most of the day on the couch under the a/c.

The jump itsefl was yesterday (Sunday) and as I posted in the birthday thread it was absolutely awesome. That feeling of free fall after leaving the plane is like nothing else I've ever done before and makes all previous theme park rides/roller coasters seem like a simple merry go round or ferris wheel.

Just the adrenalin rush you get is amazing and something I will never forget......I'm really looking forward to getting the dvd in a couple of days to see some of the expressions on my face - especially just after leaving the plane.

It's something I had always wanted to do and it was way better than I ever imagined it would be.......I understand now how people get addicted to it as it's just an incredible feeling that really can't be described unless you have done the jump. To think you are falling at over 200km/h by the time the first small parachute opens before the main one opens up and you then casually glide down the rest of the way before landing on the beach.

PAFC2004
13th November 2006, 09:31
Woohoo, booked my cruise! :)

dreamkillers
13th November 2006, 09:52
Woohoo, booked my cruise! :)

What boat and where........

I went on the Fairstar when I was 21 and had an amazing time but they don't quite let you get away with the antics we did in those days. Between the 4 of us in our cabin we had 40 spirit bottles (duty free of course) for the first 2 weeks before we refilled in Darwin

The best thing we did was stay up to watch the sunset on the first night which resulted is us getting to know all the security, bar and other staff who looked after us for the rest of the trip. Mind you the test evacuation a few hours later was interesting given we just wanted to sleep.

blackdiamond
14th November 2006, 04:40
Okay a bit of a run down from the first few days of my first overseas trip.

I left from Adelaide at 6am on Friday and arrived in Sydney to check in for the plane to Los Angeles.

There weren't many people on the plane, infact I had a whole row of three seats to myself so I could just use it as a bed - all 5'6 of me fitted quite nicely. I can't say I got that much sleep though, more shut eye than anything else. The food was good and the inflight entertainment (movies/music/games) wasn't too bad - although I had seen most of them so I was just stuck watching some Australian movies - Ten Canoes wasn't bad but anyone thinking of seeing Last Train to Freo should think again. Found it strange that they would also have alternative television shows like a follow up on Debbie Does Dallas - full frontal nudity on a plane flight with kids on board - strange!

I did get in a bit of trouble when arriving in Los Angeles (with the time difference it worked out to being 6am Friday as well), I went through customs and they had to take me to the secondary room. Problem being that I had a receipt of my ticket so I could go home in January but they wanted me to have an actual ticket so they had to sort this out first - there I was thinking I would be on the next flight home.

Apart from the above issue it was all kind of easy working through customs, nothing like what I had thought, I expected it to take much more time that it did. From there it was just a matter of waiting a few hours for my flight to Dallas.

I slept quite a bit from Los Angeles to Dallas but thankfully woke up just before touching down. Unless you are very lucky and your next flight is in the same terminal you really need to be aware and listen to see where your next flight departs from. From there you need to get on the free subway so it takes you to the correct terminal - its a fantastic service they provide and the airport is fantastic - much better than Los Angeles for the small piece I saw.

Then it was from Dallas to New Orleans, now that was a flight and a half but one I was glad to keep my eyes open for. This wasn't for what I might see when flying into New Orleans - it was dark so there was nothing to see anyway - it was the electrical thunderstorm that we were flying into that made it interesting. The pilot advised that it wasn't until we were in the air that he was advised that extra fuel had been added to the plane so he could try and fly the plane around the storm - the idea was to fly the plane to Littlerock and around the storm - as it worked out the storm was moving at a greater speed so we had to fly right through it in the end. The electrical storm was amazing though - just imagine the lights on a Christmas Tree flashing off and on in different sections continuously, not just here and there as we might see in some of the storms back at home.

Finally I arrived in New Orleans, 31 hours after I depated Adelaide - not much jet lag either - so I have been able to work myself into a different time zone quite quickly.

I haven't seen too much of New Orleans at this stage, have just been driven from the airport and across Lake Pontrachain for Sushi and then to my place of stay just outside of Baton Rouge.

The cars are so big over here, the class of cars are listed on the number plates and some are that big they are listed as trucks - its just unreal. The roads are bad, lots of pot holes and the stop lights just hang on like telephone wires. I haven't been game enough yet to try driving, just sitting in the passenger side seat I so want to drive on the left hand side of the road, plus the turning lanes are all open - very rare to see an island in the middle of the road.

The shops are huge - everything is like a bulk store and they don't have supermarkets here - they are SUPERmarkets. You can go to the likes of Target and get your groceries along with all the regular stuff you would expect to find. Im sure I will find other states to be different but here in Louisiana the shops are large and well spread out, not the jungle I thought it might be.

Its fairly multicultural here as well - I went to this place for lunch yesterday and I was served by a guy from Pakistan and he quickly picked up on where I was from - all he wanted to do was talk about cricket and how much he enjoys watching the likes of Ricky Ponting play. The American voices are interesting, you hear them start to talk and think its fine (can understand what they are saying no problems at all - you think to yourself), by the end of the conversation your like what did they say??? Its all good though, I really can't wait to get in some longer conversations with them as they all sound quite funny right now.

There was a game of College Football here on Saturday Night, LSU Tigers versus the Alabama Crimson Tide, I didn't go but just caught it on the television (hopefully I will get along to a game soon). What surprised me was the crowd that turned up to this game - 92,588 - I mean this is a College Game and it was only the 11th game of the season (finals are still a little way off). How do they get so many people to a game when they would be second to an NFL side like the New Orleans Saints? Very strange but Im sure I will learn more about this.

Anyway I will leave it there for now, will write some more a bit later.

portentous
14th November 2006, 05:51
I'd be interested in hearing more about how New Orleans has recovered from Katrina. I understand that the population is still well below it was prior to the Hurricane and large parts of the city are still "wasteland". Probably not the parts that BD frequents though.....

blackdiamond
14th November 2006, 06:47
I will let you know more about New Orleans and all that stuff later in the week.

I expect to be there (at least in the French Quarter) on Thursday.

Sandola
14th November 2006, 07:53
BD, start your own thread ("BD's Travels" or something) here. This will be great reading over the summer.

dreamkillers
14th November 2006, 09:35
I will let you know more about New Orleans and all that stuff later in the week.

I expect to be there (at least in the French Quarter) on Thursday.

Keep an eye out for the 'Goth' scene as it's supposed to be pretty amazing and you may even get to meet up with authors like Poppy Z Brite and the like.

PAFC2004
14th November 2006, 13:50
What boat and where........

I went on the Fairstar when I was 21 and had an amazing time but they don't quite let you get away with the antics we did in those days. Between the 4 of us in our cabin we had 40 spirit bottles (duty free of course) for the first 2 weeks before we refilled in Darwin

The best thing we did was stay up to watch the sunset on the first night which resulted is us getting to know all the security, bar and other staff who looked after us for the rest of the trip. Mind you the test evacuation a few hours later was interesting given we just wanted to sleep.

Pacific sun, to... the south pacific. I went on the pacific sky when it was around too.

dreamkillers
14th November 2006, 17:44
Pacific sun, to... the south pacific. I went on the pacific sky when it was around too.

Excellent.......

I know we're getting a few more of the bigger ships come through Darwin over the next 12 months (as they come down and go back for our tourist season) as well as some of the 'real luxury ships'.

We had one here a couple of weeks ago that had 500 passengers and 1200 crew so they were well and truly looked after.

It's something I will definitely do again in a few years but at this stage I'm looking into doing a solo parachuting course as I just loved the tandem jump on Sunday.

blackdiamond
15th November 2006, 13:09
We have a thunderstorm and tornado warning for tonight.

dreamkillers
15th November 2006, 13:59

We get thunderstorm warnings most evening here this time of year although the weather bureau has said we won't see any early cyclones before Christmas which generally means we'll have some before then.....:D

Troy Wingate
15th November 2006, 14:42

My fault Scott. I've been watching 'The Day After Tomorrow' and 'Twister'.

Every time I watch these movies, some kind of natural disaster happens somewhere in the world, 90% of the time in the USA. :D

Arsene Wenger
15th November 2006, 15:09
just quietly - my melb trip was a cracker. Ladies day at the races was special - throughly enjoyed it the weekend was just a mess in terms of drinking and partying....

Would reccommend a day at the races highly ..

blackdiamond
18th November 2006, 05:34
My fault Scott. I've been watching 'The Day After Tomorrow' and 'Twister'.

Every time I watch these movies, some kind of natural disaster happens somewhere in the world, 90% of the time in the USA. :D

I will pass on your regards to the people of North Carolina. :rolleyes:

Troy Wingate
18th November 2006, 10:31
I will pass on your regards to the people of North Carolina. :rolleyes:

:( North Carolina is one place I would never wish bad stuff among. North Carolina is the home of the greatest athlete ever. Michael Jordan.

portentous
18th November 2006, 10:39
I've just started working for a foreign currency exchange etc company and am getting itchy feet. Have never been overseas so thought we might start with just a small trip to NZ. Suggestions anyone that's been there??

gbear
18th November 2006, 17:16
I've just started working for a foreign currency exchange etc company and am getting itchy feet. Have never been overseas so thought we might start with just a small trip to NZ. Suggestions anyone that's been there??

I went for 3 weeks in Jan/Feb last year (Contiki tour, probably not your scene;) ). Absolutely beautiful and great for adrenalin junkies, skydiving, whitewater rafting, bungee jumping etc. I loved the South more than the North. I would definitely recommend a visit to the seventh and eigth states of Australia;) :D

portentous
18th November 2006, 19:36
What are you imply Gill?? FWIW I'm happy to watch my kids bungy jump and white water raft,while sipping on some decent NZ wine.

How long do you reckon you need to cover both islands?

gbear
19th November 2006, 10:03
What are you imply Gill?? FWIW I'm happy to watch my kids bungy jump and white water raft,while sipping on some decent NZ wine.

How long do you reckon you need to cover both islands?

Conitiki is only for 18-35 y.o's. Probably 4 -5 weeks to cover both Islands very well. Otherwise 2 -3 if only heading to the main places.

portentous
19th November 2006, 10:04
Conitiki is only for 18-35 y.o's. Probably 4 -5 weeks to cover both Islands very well. Otherwise 2 -3 if only heading to the main places.

Yeah, I forgot my smilie. :p

blackdiamond
12th December 2006, 04:48
I have created a website with photo's from my Contiki trip for you all to have a look at.

http://smorton5.photosite.com/?refcd=eps

I plan on creating another one with New Orleans and Baton Rouge at a later point.

Enjoy.

Bresh
5th February 2007, 20:54
Have fun Scott.

I'm heading over to the USA next year, off to the NBA All-Star Game in Las Vegas, also swinging by Los Angeles and Santa Monica. Probably hit up the Canyon while in Sin City.

Well, I'm off tomorrow morning. If you have Foxtel look out for me on ESPN during the Rookie Game ;)

blackdiamond
6th February 2007, 05:15
Have a great time Bresh, Im sure you will enjoy it.

Wish it was me going back.

Total Power
6th February 2007, 05:27
Off to Geneva on thursday and then Zurich.(for one year anyway) I heard its a great place!Cant wait

P.S Will be cheering for Rafa Nadal in the Davis cup on friday :p

Arsene Wenger
6th February 2007, 11:19
went to Melb for the soccer on the weekend - Demoralising

portentous
6th February 2007, 14:43
We're just doing a 3 week trip to Queensland - again. Can't wait until the kids are older so hubby and I can abscond overseas somewhere for a holiday.

*PAFC*13
9th February 2007, 09:07
I went to Phuket for two weeks and I highly recommend it to any single males ;) ... Seriously tho, it’s a great place with nice beaches, good day activities and no legal age to purchase alcohol.

Rory
10th February 2007, 18:29
I'm off to Melbourne in march for the F1s. I'm not a big racing fan but my uncle loves it and his mate is a race official so we get some cool backstage passes. With enough luck Port will reach the NAB cup final and play in Melbourne that weekend :)

PAFC2004
10th February 2007, 18:30
well I'm back from my cruise! I'm sure you all missed me.

Count Zero
15th February 2007, 11:19
well I'm back from my cruise! I'm sure you all missed me.

Welcome back. How was the South Pacific? Got any tips for anyone planning to do the same thing?

PAFC2004
15th February 2007, 20:03
Welcome back. How was the South Pacific? Got any tips for anyone planning to do the same thing?

Tips? Just go. It's awesome. It was my second cruise and I plan to go back soon.

Rory
14th March 2007, 21:18
I'm off to Melbourne in march for the F1s. I'm not a big racing fan but my uncle loves it and his mate is a race official so we get some cool backstage passes. With enough luck Port will reach the NAB cup final and play in Melbourne that weekend :)

Well Port didn't make the NAB GF unfortunately but I'm still looking forward to the F1s. I leave tomorrow morning and will be away until Monday night. Make sure to keep those crows supporters in check guys :p

Count Zero
15th March 2007, 11:35
Well Port didn't make the NAB GF unfortunately but I'm still looking forward to the F1s. I leave tomorrow morning and will be away until Monday night. Make sure to keep those crows supporters in check guys :p

Vroom vroom :)

morell
16th March 2007, 14:50
Not going away but I am returning to Adelaide in April after a 3 year hiatus in Melbourne.

No more missing Port home games for me...:)

There is nowhere to rent! :eek:

Troy Wingate
16th March 2007, 14:52
Not going away but I am returning to Adelaide in April after a 3 year hiatus in Melbourne.

No more missing Port home games for me...:)

Welcome back to Heaven Morell..

morell
16th March 2007, 15:28
Welcome back to Heaven Morell..Thanks mate :thumbsu:

Cant wait to be honest, love Melbourne but there’s nothing better than home.

Back into amateur footy too, although I will need to do my own private pre-season as I am dreadfully out of shape. :o

Rory
19th March 2007, 19:29
Just got back. Couldn't find a ****ing score in the newspaper or on the news for Port if my life depended on it and what made it worse was I forgot my phone charger so I've been in the dark. F1s were amazing. Took some snaps, might pop some up later.

Captain Wacky
19th March 2007, 22:03

Don't even get me started.

We got a letter about a month ago saying our lease wasn't being renewed because the owner wanted to do some major renovations, so we had 30 days to find a new place in this utterly $h!tful rental market.

Things turned out okay... except we're paying $85 a week more in rent, for a similarly sized (admittedly a fair bit nicer) place literally 150 metres from where we were. That's how much worse the market is than 3 years ago, anyway.

On the bright side, the internet connection finally transferred over today and I'm getting considerably faster ADSL2+ here so I'm happy now. :)

Rory
20th March 2007, 00:24
OS-a8MRZas0

This is my view of the race on Sunday. We were close to a screen standing along pit straight so we got a pretty good view and I was able to jump the fence in no time and run down to the pits.

morell
20th March 2007, 10:28
Don't even get me started.

We got a letter about a month ago saying our lease wasn't being renewed because the owner wanted to do some major renovations, so we had 30 days to find a new place in this utterly $h!tful rental market.

Things turned out okay... except we're paying $85 a week more in rent, for a similarly sized (admittedly a fair bit nicer) place literally 150 metres from where we were. That's how much worse the market is than 3 years ago, anyway.

On the bright side, the internet connection finally transferred over today and I'm getting considerably faster ADSL2+ here so I'm happy now. :)I heard somewhere that the occupancy rate is something like .5%. I know of families who can't afford to rent a 3 bedroom home in the sticks and are being forced to live in caravan parks.

I live in a pretty nice place in Melbourne, middle of the CBD, great views, real nice. I am paying $310 a week. To get the same in Adelaide will cost me a similar amount if not more. That was simply unheard of 5 years ago, prices in Adelaide could be as much as half that of Melbourne. Its getting out of hand.

If I had a couple of million handy I would knock something down in the CBD and build a nice big apartment block.

Captain Wacky
20th March 2007, 14:44
I heard somewhere that the occupancy rate is something like .5%. I know of families who can't afford to rent a 3 bedroom home in the sticks and are being forced to live in caravan parks.

I live in a pretty nice place in Melbourne, middle of the CBD, great views, real nice. I am paying $310 a week. To get the same in Adelaide will cost me a similar amount if not more. That was simply unheard of 5 years ago, prices in Adelaide could be as much as half that of Melbourne. Its getting out of hand.

If I had a couple of million handy I would knock something down in the CBD and build a nice big apartment block.

We're in a two bedroom cottage on Carrington St., near the Hutt St. corner. $350. Insane. Nice place, but insane.

Yeah, looking at the way the market is at the moment really makes you fantasise about becoming a landlord yourself.

captain ebert
21st March 2007, 14:51
We're in a two bedroom cottage on Carrington St., near the Hutt St. corner. $350. Insane. Nice place, but insane.

my old dear lives just around there & its where i grew up - thats a great part of the city, very close to the cbd & transport, parklands, shops & pubs, pulteney st pizza bar - in this day & age ive seen people pay a lot more for much less!

you should have seen hutt street 20 years ago......

yeh, really nice spot now :thumbsu: dont get back there enough.

Captain Wacky
21st March 2007, 18:27
my old dear lives just around there & its where i grew up - thats a great part of the city, very close to the cbd & transport, parklands, shops & pubs, pulteney st pizza bar

Yeah, it's pretty awesome... I'm just a 20 second walk to, and a 40 second stagger back from, the magnificent General Havelock. :D

captain ebert
22nd March 2007, 13:24
he hehe, i once worked there - very convenient :thumbsu:

Bresh
22nd March 2007, 20:11
Couple of pics from my recent trip to the States:

Before the game
http://img403.imageshack.us/img403/8275/beforerookiegamefq6.jpg

Andrew Bogut and me :D
http://img135.imageshack.us/img135/169/bogutmyneckqu2.jpg

Dave Chappelle :thumbsu:
http://img263.imageshack.us/img263/5503/allstardavechappelleae8.jpg

This joint has since been imploded
http://img262.imageshack.us/img262/5770/stardustex8.jpg

Canyon... Grand thereof
http://img144.imageshack.us/img144/2807/grandcanyonhz8.jpg

shaz63
23rd March 2007, 07:51
Well at least you got to see Bogut before he did his injury that ended his season. :D

Bresh
23rd March 2007, 11:20
"Injury" ;)

shaz63
23rd March 2007, 11:28
"Injury" ;)

He sprained his left foot and will be out for the rest of the season.. :thumbsu:

Bresh
23rd March 2007, 11:47
That's the report, the Bucks are clearly tanking. Charlie V is "injured" too.

I also hope that thumbs up doesn't indicate you are pleased that someone could be physically hurt.

shaz63
23rd March 2007, 12:06
That's the report, the Bucks are clearly tanking. Charlie V is "injured" too.

I also hope that thumbs up doesn't indicate you are pleased that someone could be physically hurt.

Dont like hearing that anyone is physically hurt.. Just sick of all the hype over Bogut.

morell
23rd March 2007, 14:58
Im with Shaz. Paul, Bynum, and even David Lee will be better players than Bogut.

Bresh
23rd March 2007, 15:27
Well, "everyone" thinks he's a bust anyway, so I fail to see a) where this hype comes from and b) why that necessitates not supporting a fellow Aussie who made himself into the #1 pick overall. Not to mention, he has so far outperformed Marvin Williams, his competition for that pick, that no one talks about in "bust" discussion.

I think he is and will continue to be better, in terms of impact on actual basketball games (not numbers), than everyone perhaps bar Paul and Deron, but we have different opinions and time will tell and that. I just don't really understand why people actively root against their coutryman who is the torch bearer for the sport here.

morell
23rd March 2007, 16:05
Well, "everyone" thinks he's a bust anywayGee, tell that to Foxtel.

so I fail to see a) where this hype comes from and b) why that necessitates not supporting a fellow Aussie who made himself into the #1 pick overall. Not to mention, he has so far outperformed Marvin Williams, his competition for that pick, that no one talks about in "bust" discussion.and well done to him. All the luck in the future. He was not deserving of that higher pick is all.

I think he dominated physically in Utah and has started to realise he cant do that in the big time.

He will be a solid contributor, but never a star.

I think he is and will continue to be better, in terms of impact on actual basketball games (not numbers), than everyone perhaps bar Paul and Deron, but we have different opinions and time will tell and that. I just don't really understand why people actively root against their coutryman who is the torch bearer for the sport here.Well, he isnt my countryman, but I know of the tall poppy syndrome you speak of.

I think he has done OK so far, but not #1 pick sort of standard like these recent ones are;

Yao Ming
LeBron James
Dwight Howard

Bresh
23rd March 2007, 16:18
In an acknowledged weaker draft. He probably would've gone 6th or 7th in the James draft, 3rd in Howard's. Don't think you can blame him for that. As I said, Marvin Williams somehow gets a free pass.

As for Foxtel, I can't agree. I live on the thing, and he's barely being shoved down our throats (as opposed to the Chattanooga Choo-Choo shot and Aussie Hoops America). How many Bucks games have we had this year... 3 or 4?

His success in the NBA is correlated with exposure over the league over here. We've seen a 100% increase in game coverage this year, only a small percentage of which have been Milwaukee games. I could imagine ramrooters sending a bit more grace in Craig Bradshaw's direction if he were to achieve similar.

morell
24th March 2007, 11:45
In an acknowledged weaker draft.True. But there were players in that draft, picked behind him, who have so far outperformed him. He should have been pick 4 or 5 in 05 and a pick 10 in the James/Wade/Anthony/Bosh draft.

Isn't heinsight wonderful.

He probably would've gone 6th or 7th in the James draft, 3rd in Howard's. Don't think you can blame him for that. As I said, Marvin Williams somehow gets a free pass.I guess its the prestige of the #1 pick...extra pressure.

As for Foxtel, I can't agree. I live on the thing, and he's barely being shoved down our throats (as opposed to the Chattanooga Choo-Choo shot and Aussie Hoops America). How many Bucks games have we had this year... 3 or 4?Must be watching different shows. I recall hearing about "Bogut and the Bucks!" numerous times.

I agree about "Aussie Hoops America" though, FFS its on every ad break.

Isn't there a Port poster who works in the Foxtel advertising department?

His success in the NBA is correlated with exposure over the league over here. We've seen a 100% increase in game coverage this year, only a small percentage of which have been Milwaukee games. I could imagine ramrooters sending a bit more grace in Craig Bradshaw's direction if he were to achieve similar.We don't do such despicable acts! Ewes only thankyou.

The extra coverage is a good side effect of Bogut in the NBA, however I don't think it is entirely due to him. The NBA is back IMO, it has 4 or 5 players who are the same age and will be future Hall of Famers all playing at the same time in relatively successful teams ala the 90's.

Back on Bogut, he shouldn't get criticised unfairly simply because he is Australian, however he also shouldn't escape criticism for the same reason. He isn't performing to the standards expected and is being called out on that. Him being Australian doesn't have that much to do with it IMO.

Rory
19th July 2007, 21:45
The AFL are sending me up to Brisbane/Gold Coast Friday week to umpire in the under 16s championships being held for 8 days. Only problem is I'm going to miss the Melbourne game and the Showdown :thumbsd: At least I will be able to watch the Melbourne game on fox, but I will be in the air when the Showdown is being played so I will have no idea of the score until I land... I will be so anxious waiting :(

morell
20th July 2007, 11:22
In Melbourne this weekend for footy and to catch up with friends.

In fact, I am posting this whilst overlooking the 'G from Hotel Lindrum on Flinders Street. Sweeet.

Total Power
20th July 2007, 11:31
Going to Paris and Barcelona next month on a Euro Rail pass (yeah i know :o)) Cant wait

morell
20th July 2007, 11:41
Going to Paris and Barcelona next month on a Euro Rail pass (yeah i know :o)) Cant waitShow off.

blackdiamond
24th July 2007, 01:48
Have just moved to Detroit, Michigan to live.

portentous
25th July 2007, 21:06
Send me a car over BD will ya?

Rory
27th July 2007, 00:27
Will see you rascals Sunday week, hopefully to a less than hostile bay 13 ;)

Count Zero
27th July 2007, 15:28
Going to Paris and Barcelona next month on a Euro Rail pass (yeah i know :o)) Cant wait

Does the train leave from Keswick or Adelaide? :D

Have a great time TP.

Count Zero
27th July 2007, 15:36
Have just moved to Detroit, Michigan to live.

Are you going to start "rooting" for the Lions now, or will you stick with the Saints?

blackdiamond
28th July 2007, 01:35
Send me a car over BD will ya?

http://a332.g.akamai.net/f/332/936/12h/www.edmunds.com//media/2006/detroit/dodge.challenger.concept/dodge.challenger.f34.500.jpg

Don't say I never give you anything. :p

blackdiamond
28th July 2007, 01:48
Are you going to start "rooting" for the Lions now, or will you stick with the Saints?

Looks like I will be 'rooting' for the Lions and anything else this city has to offer although I will always have a soft spot for the Saints. (just need to work on the avatar)

One thing that will always remain strong though is my passion for Port Adelaide, you can take me out of the Port but my blood still bleeds black, white & teal (black & white when the Port Magpies are playing).

Troy Wingate
29th July 2007, 10:49
http://a332.g.akamai.net/f/332/936/12h/www.edmunds.com//media/2006/detroit/dodge.challenger.concept/dodge.challenger.f34.500.jpg

Now THAT is a BEAST!!!! Damn that car is nice.

Troy Wingate
29th July 2007, 10:50
Looks like I will be 'rooting' for the Lions and anything else this city has to offer although I will always have a soft spot for the Saints. (just need to work on the avatar)

One thing that will always remain strong though is my passion for Port Adelaide, you can take me out of the Port but my blood still bleeds black, white & teal (black & white when the Port Magpies are playing).

Just do yourself a favor and avoid supporting a thug team like the Detroit Pistons. You support a classy team over here in Port Adelaide, so do the same over there and support the Cleveland Cavaliers :D

Toots Hibbert
29th July 2007, 11:09
We got back last night from a week at Falls Creek.

I've come to a few conclusions.

1) Just because you might fall over a few times and your kids can go 50% faster doesn't mean they're better than you.

2) The black slopes are for losers. Blue and green is where it's at. :thumbsu:

3) When you fall everything goes into slow motion so you can experience the joy of it for longer.

Here's one thing that happened.

I'm going down this slope feeling really good because it's a blue run and I've got everything under control with the parallel turn thing. Up ahead are a gaggle of snowboarders and they're slowing me down. I see an opportunity to pass and I go for it. "Bloody losers" I mutter smugly to myself.

I zip in front and commence another turn but soon I realise things aren't going well and I may be in trouble. One thing I've noticed about falling is that there's always a pattern. You realise you're in strife, you take corrective action and then just when you think you're back on track you find out that was an illusion and the real fall has just begun. Therefore it was no surprise to me when I started sailing through the air. The time slowing down thing is good though because it gave me the opportunity to realise that legs pointing in different directions was not a good thing and to make sure I fell sideways.

There I am lying on the ground with one ski still attached and the other about five yards back. The snowboarders meanwhile come past chatting quietly amongst themselves.

Oh well. It was good while it lasted. I get myself sorted out and make it to the bottom and go back to the green slopes for a few runs to refine my skills.

We had a good time and the kids had a ball. We'll go back the next few winters until they don't want to be around us anymore.

blackdiamond
29th July 2007, 11:16
Just do yourself a favor and avoid supporting a thug team like the Detroit Pistons. You support a classy team over here in Port Adelaide, so do the same over there and support the Cleveland Cavaliers :D

Thanks for the advice but if it saves a bullet in the head I might just stick with the Pistons. :thumbsu:

I did a walk-around the Detroit Tigers Stadium today, very nice.

portentous
29th July 2007, 12:43

Thanks BD, will need to put a cushion on the seat so that I can see over the steering wheel though but I'm sure she goes allright down Salisbury Highway! :D

blackdiamond
29th July 2007, 13:31
Thanks BD, will need to put a cushion on the seat so that I can see over the steering wheel though but I'm sure she goes allright down Salisbury Highway! :D

I'm not sure that she will be in one piece by the time you get it home. :p

Count Zero
31st July 2007, 16:30
We got back last night from a week at Falls Creek.

I've come to a few conclusions.

1) Just because you might fall over a few times and your kids can go 50% faster doesn't mean they're better than you.

2) The black slopes are for losers. Blue and green is where it's at. :thumbsu:

3) When you fall everything goes into slow motion so you can experience the joy of it for longer.

Here's one thing that happened.

I'm going down this slope feeling really good because it's a blue run and I've got everything under control with the parallel turn thing. Up ahead are a gaggle of snowboarders and they're slowing me down. I see an opportunity to pass and I go for it. "Bloody losers" I mutter smugly to myself.

I zip in front and commence another turn but soon I realise things aren't going well and I may be in trouble. One thing I've noticed about falling is that there's always a pattern. You realise you're in strife, you take corrective action and then just when you think you're back on track you find out that was an illusion and the real fall has just begun. Therefore it was no surprise to me when I started sailing through the air. The time slowing down thing is good though because it gave me the opportunity to realise that legs pointing in different directions was not a good thing and to make sure I fell sideways.

There I am lying on the ground with one ski still attached and the other about five yards back. The snowboarders meanwhile come past chatting quietly amongst themselves.

Oh well. It was good while it lasted. I get myself sorted out and make it to the bottom and go back to the green slopes for a few runs to refine my skills.

We had a good time and the kids had a ball. We'll go back the next few winters until they don't want to be around us anymore.

Sounds like a gas TH (apart from all of the falling over that is)

Rory
5th August 2007, 18:53
I'm back :(