View Full Version : Sellar
Ford Fairlane
31 Oct 2006, 06:31
The tiser has run a couple of articles on James Sellar, another #5 possibility.
Sick Sellar slips under radar (http://www.news.com.au/adelaidenow/story/0,22606,20673259-21543,00.html)
ANDREW CAPEL
October 30, 2006 11:15pm
Article from: The Advertiser
JAMES Sellar was ill. Very ill.
The towering Glenelg teenager, who thought he was indestructible, was so sick in the lead-up to this year's AFL under-18 championships that he was confined to bed for a week.
And he was wasting away.
Struck down by food poisoning and not being able to eat - or keep anything down - Sellar lost 8kg from his hulking 195cm, 92kg frame in the 10 days leading up to the carnival. He looked a mere shadow of his former self.
"I was really crook, and the timing was terrible," the 17-year-old revealed, saying he suspected he had been poisoned by some "re-heated chicken".
Rather than take the easy option of pulling out of the championships, Sellar - one of SA's aces along with Tiger team-mate Bryce Gibbs - battled on.
"I'd worked too hard to miss it," the outstanding key position prospect said.
But it was to his detriment.
Touted as the possible No. 1 overall draft pick prior to the under-18 showpiece in late June, Sellar's draft standing plummeted after three performances against Vic Metro, Vic Country and WA which he described as "probably the worst three games I've played in years".
"I just had no energy," he said.
"I was really flat and didn't play well at all.
"I was very disappointed with the way it went individually and as a team. We had a good team and were expected to do better."
SA's only win was against WA.
Sellar, blessed with a great vertical leap and strong hands, was so average that his name suddenly fell from the top of many AFL club's draft boards.
Some understood why Sellar had performed so poorly, others didn't. The player himself refuses to make any excuses, no matter how valid they are.
"You won't hear any excuses from me," he said matter-of-factly as he studied for his Year 12 exams at Brighton High School. "Once you put your hand up to play you are expected to perform, and I didn't."
Sellar's refusal to blame his performances on his poor health says a lot about his character.
He was so sick while on State duty that he sought more medical treatment when the championships were over, and was immediately put on antibiotics to kill the infection.
"After the carnival I didn't train at all for the first week and the bug probably stayed in my system for three weeks all up," he said.
"It took me a while to put my weight back on and get fitness back. I don't think I ever really got my full match fitness back.
"But like I said, no excuses."
Sellar knows his poor showing will hurt his draft standing in what has been labelled as Superdraft III, noting the under-18 championships are important to each combatant's draft chances because "it is when AFL recruiters get to see the best under-18 players on equal standing".
"The rest of the time scouts are trying to weigh up form in the SANFL, WAFL, VFL and under-18s," he said.
"The under-18s offer the chance to put everything you've got on show against the best players of the same age and unfortunately I didn't do that."
But Sellar's pedigree is such that he will still be a high draft selection.
His mail is that he will go anywhere from pick three to 10, though not number one or two.
"I think I've blown that," he said. "The draft's a bit of a lottery and to be honest I know about as much as the next person as to where I'm going to end up."
An AIS Academy member who co-captained the Australian team in one of its three Tests against Ireland this year, Sellar started the season in a blaze of glory by kicking four goals from centre half-forward in the first half of the league match against Norwood at the Parade and he finished strongly in defence against South Adelaide.
In between there were ups and downs; some good league games mixed with some average reserves ones.
"I had a patchy year and I've slipped under the (draft) radar a bit, especially with Gibbsy getting all the hype here, but that's been good," Sellar said "It's allowed me to focus on my footy."
Despite his mid-season setback there are some at Glenelg who predict Sellar will make a bigger impact in the AFL than Gibbs - the likely No. 1 pick - because of his game-breaking capabilities.
There's also this one.
In frame for Port (http://www.news.com.au/adelaidenow/story/0,22606,20673261-21543,00.html)
ANDREW CAPEL
October 30, 2006 11:15pm
Article from: The Advertiser
PORT Adelaide could be the beneficiary of James Sellar's mid-year sickness.
With Bryce Gibbs, WA's Scott Gumbleton and Matthew Leuenberger and Victoria's Lachlan Hansen appearing to jump ahead of him in draft calculations, Sellar could be sitting there waiting for the Power to take him with the fifth overall selection on November 25.
"That's a possibility and something I have thought about," the self-confessed Crows fanatic said.
"I don't know what Port's got in mind but my old man (Ken) has already copped a bit of flak at work about it. He's a mad Crows fan and it doesn't sound real appealing to him but I would love to go to Port Adelaide because it's a very proud club with a great history.
"And to be able to stay in Adelaide with my family and friends adds to the appeal."
Power coach Mark Williams was one of 13 AFL coaches to speak to Sellar at the AFL draft camp - "he grilled me," Sellar joked - while two of the three clubs who did not talk to him (Adelaide and West Coast) have since made contact, leaving Melbourne as the only team not to show any interest.
The versatile Sellar, who has rucked but views himself primarily as a centre half-forward, would seem the perfect long-term replacement for Power captain Warren Tredrea, who battled knee problems this year and turns 28 in December.
Sellar has modelled his game on childhood hero Wayne Carey.
"Obviously I'm not saying I'm going to be as good as him but he was the bloke I would pretend to be in the backyard," he said.
"I loved watching him play, his workrate and his contested marking, and I hope I've learnt something from him. If I end up half as good as him I will be alright."
A former star volleyballer, Sellar had to make a choice between the two sports - at age 16 he was a member of the Australian under-19 volleyball team.
Toots Hibbert
31 Oct 2006, 09:21
I like the sound of this bloke. These are puff pieces from the Tiser but everything he's said here makes him sound like someone with a great attitude. Sounds like he's got the talent to match it too.
Apart from him being prepared to take a risk going to the U18 championships while underdone I like the fact Choco's approach didn't faze him and the fact he's happy to play at Port because of the club's tradition. Hopefully he's too young to be a smooth talker and what we're seeing is what we'd get.
I was a little concerned at the prospect of Port drafting Sellar ahead of Leuenberger, Selwood ect but after reading these articles I think he made of the right stuff. Could be Judd like and by Judd like I mean slip and be one of the best from the class of 06.
spice18
31 Oct 2006, 09:28
Interesting read but wonder if Port will bite ahead of most likely Thorp, the Berger or Selwood - assuming they are still available at pick #5 and also assuming gibbs, gumby ang hansen will be firmly settled at their new clubs. Will be interesting to watch on draft day. Pesonally i don't mind the guy but i know most posters really underrate him. Not sure it is because they have seen him play or its just based on the other posters' views about him. Could anyone who has followed the Bays closely this season give an objective appraisal of this guy for the benefit of others that have not seen him play.
My only genuine worry is that we may draft Thorp, Selwood or the Berger as 'best player available' by our pick and pass on Sellar in much the same way the Crows passed on Cam Wood to pick Meesen as best available, yet in actual fact there was/is nothing between them. Losing out on home grown talent for a just marginally better inter-stater??
He has the size and mobility that could lead to being a superstar or a Chalmers/Downsborough type - I don't know what, but hopefully the recruiters do.
Sellars' type is the most difficult to pick - they look like Greek Gods but turn out ordinary - I remember thinking that Adam Morgan and Cain Ackland were going to be superstars!!
I guess the article was positive (but then they all usually are) - but one thing did concern me - that for someone who didn't want to make any excuses he surely talked up the illness thing a fair bit.
TheFridge
31 Oct 2006, 09:35
Losing out on home grown talent for a just marginally better inter-stater??
The Meesen over Wood selection was a bit of a puzzler, but as I understand it, Adelaide's policy is the same as our mantra "best available talent irrespective of where they are from... unless it is line-ball and then we will take the local". Thus, they must have believed Meesen to be clearly a better prospect than Wood. They may be right - time will tell.
For mine, under that criteria I think we would take Sellar ahead of Thorp, but not necessarily ahead of Leunenberger if he were available.
I am not so certain about Selwood - the injury question mark combined with the priority to improve our future KPP stocks would suggest we would pass him by.
spice18
31 Oct 2006, 09:38
He has the size and mobility that could lead to being a superstar or a Chalmers/Downsborough type - I don't know what, but hopefully the recruiters do.
Sellars' type is the most difficult to pick - they look like Greek Gods but turn out ordinary - I remember thinking that Adam Morgan and Cain Ackland were going to be superstars!!
I guess the article was positive (but then they all usually are) - but one thing did concern me - that for someone who didn't want to make any excuses he surely talked up the illness thing a fair bit.
Natman I think the illness is not overplayed. IIRC, he was touted as SA's best draft prospect early in the season ahead of Gibbs. Then other factors hurt his chances as a top prospect: the illness struck, he lost form, Gibbs developed much quicker and got more media hype because of the Crows' failed F/S bid etc.
TheFridge
31 Oct 2006, 09:38
Totally agree with your points Natman. Also the line "my old man (Ken) has already copped a bit of flak at work about it. He's a mad Crows fan and it doesn't sound real appealing to him..." annoyed me.
Porthos
31 Oct 2006, 09:39
Meeson has a better ruck build than Wood, that was probably the deciding factor.
If we take Sellar, I would put money on us regretting it. You don't learn intensity, and if he's only got CHF height, he lacks enough of the tools for the position that using a top 5 pick on him would be insane.
crazy_big_al
31 Oct 2006, 09:41
Meeson has a better ruck build than Wood, that was probably the deciding factor.
If we take Sellar, I would put money on us regretting it. You don't learn intensity, and if he's only got CHF height, he lacks enough of the tools for the position that using a top 5 pick on him would be insane.
Ohhh yes Porthos. You are a recruiting GOD. You know all about what is best for Port Adelaide.
Porthos
31 Oct 2006, 09:42
If we were picking at #15, Sellar would be a great get.
We can do better. We're in blue chip range, not `talented, but risky'.
PS. **** you Al.
Toots Hibbert
31 Oct 2006, 09:48
Totally agree with your points Natman. Also the line "my old man (Ken) has already copped a bit of flak at work about it. He's a mad Crows fan and it doesn't sound real appealing to him..." annoyed me.
I'm not campaigning for the bloke but I take the opposite to you from the comment about his old man.
"I don't know what Port's got in mind but my old man (Ken) has already copped a bit of flak at work about it. He's a mad Crows fan and it doesn't sound real appealing to him but I would love to go to Port Adelaide because it's a very proud club with a great history.
IMO it makes him sound like he's got his own mind. His old man wouldn't be keen but he himself would love to got to Port
TheFridge
31 Oct 2006, 09:53
I'm not campaigning for the bloke but I take the opposite to you from the comment about his old man.
IMO it makes him sound like he's got his own mind. His old man wouldn't be keen but he himself would love to got to Port
It's the genes, Toots... He was also described as a "self-confessed Crows fanatic ". I am therefore worried about his pysch profile and decision making ability.
Toots Hibbert
31 Oct 2006, 09:53
BTW Porthos on your comment about not being able to learn intensity where does that come from. I've never seen Sellar play so am interested to hear what you've picked up on.
Toots Hibbert
31 Oct 2006, 09:56
It's the genes, Toots... He was also described as a "self-confessed Crows fanatic ". I am therefore worried about his pysch profile and decision making ability.
Well Choco's grilling didn't bother him. If we select him I guess we'll find out down the track whether Choco can sense weakness or not.
As for the genes comment, you're taking the ***** aren't you? I liked his comment about Port having a great tradition. He sounds pretty frank to me about his previous allegiance but unless he's been very well coached in what to say he looks to be genuinely prepared to throw his lot in with us and take on the Port attitudes.
Porthos
31 Oct 2006, 09:57
BTW Porthos on your comment about not being able to learn intensity where does that come from.I'll concede that it could be partly a fitness issue (was he ill in Round 8 though?), but the games I've seen him play, he's just sort of loped around as a third forward, not doing either the hard leads or contested marks you'd really want to see. It was like watching Toby Thurstans.
TheFridge
31 Oct 2006, 10:04
As for the genes comment, you're taking the ***** aren't you?
Absolutely, I was.:)
FWIW, I think that it would be rare for a local not to enjoy it once they arrive at Port (or AFC for that matter - I don't see Scott Thompson wanting out of Adelaide, despite his earlier comments about wanting to come back to Port).
My concerns about taking Sellar at pick 5 would be around his speed and agility and I will leave those technical and recruiting decisions to the experts at the club. He is a KPP and I believe we should be aiming to improve our tall stocks in this draft.
Toots Hibbert
31 Oct 2006, 10:04
I'll concede that it could be partly a fitness issue (was he ill in Round 8 though?), but the games I've seen him play, he's just sort of loped around as a third forward, not doing either the hard leads or contested marks you'd really want to see. It was like watching Toby Thurstans.
Fair enough. I'll try to view some footage of him.
My best mates brother is at school with Sellar and Gibbs at Brighton and tells me that Sellar has quite the high opinion about himself where as gibbs is the nicest guy going around. I for one would be dissapointed if we took Sellar at 5.
Well Choco's grilling didn't bother him. If we select him I guess we'll find out down the track whether Choco can sense weakness or not.
As for the genes comment, you're taking the ***** aren't you? I liked his comment about Port having a great tradition. He sounds pretty frank to me about his previous allegiance but unless he's been very well coached in what to say he looks to be genuinely prepared to throw his lot in with us and take on the Port attitudes.
Toots - don't take this the wrong way, but it would be naive to think that any prospective first year player, when questioned specifically about going to a certain club, would usually say positive things about going there.
Sellars looks the goods - but I have a nagging doubt (refer Chalmers, Thurstans, Downsborough, et al).
Toots Hibbert
31 Oct 2006, 11:35
Like I said I'm not campaigning for him and I recognise these were puff pieces. I did like what he had to say but any tentative thoughts I entertained about getting on his bandwagon have been put on hold. If we do pick him up I hope our recruiters have made the right choice.
BTW I recall us going hard after Brad Ottens a few years back. Does anyone else think we dodged a bullet there?
Like I said I'm not campaigning for him and I recognise these were puff pieces. I did like what he had to say but any tentative thoughts I entertained about getting on his bandwagon have been put on hold. If we do pick him up I hope our recruiters have made the right choice.
BTW I recall us going hard after Brad Ottens a few years back. Does anyone else think we dodged a bullet there?
Absolutely - add Ottens to my list.
He is the perfect example of the Greek God type - you know, looks like Tarzan, plays like Jane.
Toots Hibbert
31 Oct 2006, 12:16
According to this thread on the main board http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?p=6151915#post6151915 Fabian DeLuca's brother Adrian has retired from football.
Raises a couple of issues. Does it change who the Blues might select with their first draft pick? Would it give our recruiters food for thought when assessing the potential of Fabian and determining what sort of player to recruit?
Porthos
31 Oct 2006, 12:24
I don't think that will have even a little bit of impact on any decision we make.
I reckon there's no way you could actually write down specific reasons why it might be relevant without feeling like a complete goose for doing so.
Malibu#27
31 Oct 2006, 12:27
According to this thread on the main board http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?p=6151915#post6151915 Fabian DeLuca's brother Adrian has retired from football.
Raises a couple of issues. Does it change who the Blues might select with their first draft pick? Would it give our recruiters food for thought when assessing the potential of Fabian and determining what sort of player to recruit?
I think Fabian was always regarded as a more natural footballer than Adrian.
Ford Fairlane
31 Oct 2006, 12:45
It might explain Carlton's haste to recruit Ackland and bring Leuenberger back into calculations for the #1 pick (depending on those that thought recruiting Ackland locked in Gibbs at #1).
Toots Hibbert
31 Oct 2006, 12:47
I don't think that will have even a little bit of impact on any decision we make.
I reckon there's no way you could actually write down specific reasons why it might be relevant without feeling like a complete goose for doing so.
Genetics.
I'm not suggesting that because Adrian failed as a footballer Fabian automatically will too but I'd be looking at it and it would make me wonder.
TheGeneral
31 Oct 2006, 12:57
Raises a couple of issues. Does it change who the Blues might select with their first draft pick?
No, we will pick the best player and I think it will be Gibbs.
Archie retired because he's likely to be delisted next year and he can earn more money as an accountant than playing football.
But Carlton supporters still joke that Deluca is Italian for two grabs. :D
Porthos
31 Oct 2006, 13:01
Genetics.
I'm not suggesting that because Adrian failed as a footballer Fabian automatically will too but I'd be looking at it and it would make me wonder.
Michael Stevens must be a gun, Anthony was.
Nick Stevens must be ****, Danny was.
Russell Ebert's son must be an amazingly good player.
Toots Hibbert
31 Oct 2006, 13:07
Yeah we've been down that track before. You've never had a good footballer in your side, heard he's got a brother who plays and thought "gee I must have a look at him". ?
I haven't written him off but I've never been sold on DeLuca and Adrian's demise only increases my concern.
Porthos
31 Oct 2006, 13:11
Yeah we've been down that track before. You've never had a good footballer in your side, heard he's got a brother who plays and thought "gee I must have a look at him". ?For sure, have a look. Thats not what this is though.
You're seriously suggesting that the guy we have is somehow worse because his brother has turned out to be a dud? That is just retarded.
Pav was a mad crows fan as well but it hasn't seemed to affect his performances for freo. Who a draftee barracks for isn't a big concern for clubs I dont think as they are all happy getting a gig at an AFL joint.
Porthos
31 Oct 2006, 13:16
Particularly when they get to do it in their home state.
Toots Hibbert
31 Oct 2006, 13:36
For sure, have a look. Thats not what this is though.
You're seriously suggesting that the guy we have is somehow worse because his brother has turned out to be a dud? That is just retarded.
If you're asking whether I think Fabian overnight has become a worse footballer, of course not! I'm simply saying I've had my doubts and the fact Adrians not much good does nothing for my confidence in how Fabian will turn out.
Porthos
31 Oct 2006, 13:43
If you're asking whether I think Fabian overnight has become a worse footballer, of course not! I'm simply saying I've had my doubts and the fact Adrians not much good does nothing for my confidence in how Fabian will turn out.So if Adrian hadn't been delisted, would your opinion of Fabian have been any different?
Toots Hibbert
31 Oct 2006, 14:05
So if Adrian hadn't been delisted, would your opinion of Fabian have been any different?
No because I came to the conclusion a couple of years ago that Adrian was a hack. If Adrian had turned out a good player I could look at Fabian and think "Well I've got my doubts but his brother turned out alright maybe there's hope still". I wouldn't consider it a guarantee but it would be some grounds for optimism. I'm not saying Fabian's now guaranteed to fail. I'm just that bit more negative because of his brother and it's something I expressed last year.
I hope he turns out a gun. I've got nothing against him and it would be good for our club.
thegossip
31 Oct 2006, 14:05
the cornes boys where very big crows fans, also i think his dad to haha!! You guys make me laugh at time. for these guys its a job you go and play where ever. Gibbs is a big Kangaroo fans so then he should not be drafted by port if available. I dont think so
Malibu#27
31 Oct 2006, 14:26
the cornes boys where very big crows fans, also i think his dad to haha!! You guys make me laugh at time. for these guys its a job you go and play where ever. Gibbs is a big Kangaroo fans so then he should not be drafted by port if available. I dont think so
Actually the Cornes boys 'dad' I beleive was actually a port supporter growing up. (can someone confirm) ... he almost appears to be the anti-Chad
PowerKat
31 Oct 2006, 15:35
Actually the Cornes boys 'dad' I beleive was actually a port supporter growing up. (can someone confirm) ... he almost appears to be the anti-Chad
Yeah I've heard that as well - that Graham was a Port fan as a kid. Playing for Glenelg obviously 'turned' him.
BTW Porthos on your comment about not being able to learn intensity where does that come from. I've never seen Sellar play so am interested to hear what you've picked up on.
and what about intensity and Surjan this year compared to last
Powerstufff
31 Oct 2006, 16:07
"....I would love to go to Port Adelaide because it's a very proud club with a great history...".
Won't that burn is his Camry loving guts if we don't pick him up? :D
Macca19
31 Oct 2006, 16:27
To me hes that awkward in between height. Hes been a junior ruckman seemingly all his life but has had to learn something else this year because hes not tall enough. When ive seen him play in the ruck he looks great. When ive seen him play forward ive barely seen him get a kick.
Many players have struggled to change from the freedom to roam the ground when your bigger than everyone else in the juniors to playing the rough and tumble CHF position against men. I havent seen much to suggest that Sellar would be able to become a great player at CHF in the AFL.
He may improve but in my opinion hes a step behind the top 5-6 in this years draft. As some others have said, the others have played in their positions for a long time now and look set on continuing that in the AFL. There is still a decent risk on whether Sellar can adapt to being a full time forward or not.
pafc4life
31 Oct 2006, 16:29
IMO Pick 5 priority list should be:
Gumbleton -> Leuenberger -> Sellar
RussellEbertHandball
31 Oct 2006, 16:56
If Sandilands makes another big leap in 2007 like he did this year, and again in 2008, you will have to be at least 205cms to be drafted as a ruckman in a couple of years. Cox also is changing the face of rucking. He is 204cms and runs like a 185cm mid fielder.
I actually have been quite happy to very happy with Deluca's form when he has played in the ones.
Plenty to look forward to IMO.
blackdiamond
31 Oct 2006, 19:15
Confirmed and so was Max Basheer.
dreamkillers
31 Oct 2006, 19:16
and so was Max Basheer.
I thought his connection was with Norwood or Sturt..........
blackdiamond
31 Oct 2006, 19:20
I thought his connection was with Norwood or Sturt..........
I will find a scripture on it but Im willing to bet my .......... on it!
dreamkillers
31 Oct 2006, 19:33
I will find a scripture on it but Im willing to bet my .......... on it!
You could be right but I'd never heard that before and was thinking you may have been confusing him with David Basheer.
blackdiamond
31 Oct 2006, 19:44
Im fairly positive he grew up supporting Port Adelaide but he later had an affiliation with North and Sturt in the SANFL.
Ford Fairlane
31 Oct 2006, 19:50
I can't back it up with any reference, but like bd I'd heard Max was a Port man, which is why the 1990 bid especially burned him.
His link to Norwood is probably through his playing days with St Peters or PAC.
blackdiamond
31 Oct 2006, 20:07
FF you make me feel a little better, there doesn't appear to be much information on Max via the net and all my books have gone missing. :(
dreamkillers
31 Oct 2006, 20:34
I can't back it up with any reference, but like bd I'd heard Max was a Port man, which is why the 1990 bid especially burned him.
perhaps it's just my attitude to him over what's he's done over the years........:D
blackdiamond
31 Oct 2006, 21:08
I think the only reason I remembered is because I couldn't understand how he could live with himself.
He must've got a knock on the head while playing for those other clubs.
Ford Fairlane
31 Oct 2006, 21:22
There's a special on a couple of the draft candidates from the Bay on 9 news tomorrow, including Sellar.
Ford Fairlane
31 Oct 2006, 21:23
FF you make me feel a little better, there doesn't appear to be much information on Max via the net and all my books have gone missing. :(
I was told by a couple of people close to the club at the time of the 1990 bid.
Ford Fairlane
31 Oct 2006, 21:29
Here's another article on Sellar from the Age, in December 2005.
Sellar's market for top teen (http://www.realfooty.theage.com.au/realfooty/articles/2005/12/10/1134086848683.html)
December 11, 2005
James Sellar is part of the AFL's push to win over elite athletes from other fields, writes Emma Quayle.
FOOTBALLERS-in-waiting have made choices before. But few have juggled as much as James Sellar.
About five months ago, the 16-year-old decided he wanted to play football for a living. It was a choice he wished someone else could have made for him, but one that will have an significant impact on next November's national draft.
Sellar played for South Australia in the under-16 championships this year, was the best player at the carnival, and is already tipped to be up at the top of next year's draft order. "He's a tall, athletic player who can do all the things you like tall, athletic players to do," St Kilda recruiting manager John Beveridge said.
"When he was playing, they'd win, South Australia. He had that sort of impact," said the Western Bulldogs' Scott Clayton. "He's tall, and he can run, and take a mark," said Hawthorn's Gary Buckenara. "He's got a bit of everything. He's a ripper."
With a year still to go before next year's draft, that's a good start. The tricky thing for Sellar, though, was that he had equal prospects in another place. Not to mention a potentially bigger pay packet.
The teenager began playing volleyball when he started at Brighton High in Adelaide. He captained South Australia's under-17 team at this year's national championships, got picked in the All-Australian team and was treated like a movie star when he travelled to Taiwan with the national under-19 side for the world youth championships.
"We'd have massive crowds at all the games, and people would come up to you asking for your autograph and for a photo," he said. "When we went out, we'd get swamped. It was amazing."
Volleyball could have taken to Europe, where players earn money in the millions. "They get treated like celebrities and they're commercials and billboards," Sellar said."If you're good enough, it's massive."
The Olympics loomed too; as much as Sellar loved booting balls around his backyard as a kid in Glenelg, he can still remember the tingles he got watching Cathy Freeman zoom towards her gold medal in Sydney.
About two months after he was offered an Australian Institute of Sport scholarship, though, the AFL popped its head up again. Two weeks after he was in Canberra playing volleyball, Sellar was back there this week, completing a nine-day camp with the AIS-AFL Academy.
The program, which wraps up with an international rules series against Ireland each year, is something of a sales pitch, with more than half of the 30 players having reached elite level in other sports.
Sellar chose football because the Olympics, for him, were a long way away. "For 2012 and 2016 they said I was a chance, but they thought 2008 wasn't that good," he said. "If it was, I might have been able to do both."
He also preferred the camaraderie of footy, and its more random nature.
"Volleyball is pretty repetitive. You know exactly where you're going to be hitting the ball every time," he said. "Footy's more unpredictable. I like that."
Sellar isn't sure he'll ever know that he made the right call. But he plans to take what he has learnt this week back to Glenelg, where he is doing pre-season training with the senior team.
"I still think the Olympics would be the best thing you could ever do. It's a bit weird to think you're 16 and you're making decisions about the rest of your life, but I've chosen footy and I love footy," he said.
"I'm going to stick with it, and see if I can make something of it."
Port_GW
31 Oct 2006, 21:29
I'm pretty sure that Max Basheer was a Sturt person, played for them in the 40/50's i think.
As for the Deluca comparison....i think thats foolish as well, especially when you consider Russell Ebert (champion) and his brother Craig (battler).
Alex_au
31 Oct 2006, 21:32
As a Hawthorn supporter I am hoping Port do take Sellar due to the South Australian connection. I am a bit worried about his height for being a ruckman, as most teams are out to play 200cm+ giants in this day and age.
Saying this Sellar will be a star, but I would rather Thorp the safer option at Hawthorn if it came down to it.
Ford Fairlane
31 Oct 2006, 21:34
Max trained with Sturt, but didn't play for them. Here's a transcript of his interview on Stateline (http://www.abc.net.au/stateline/sa/content/2003/s910598.htm).
I'm pretty sure that Max Basheer was a Sturt person, played for them in the 40/50's i think.
As for the Deluca comparison....i think thats foolish as well, especially when you consider Russell Ebert (champion) and his brother Craig (battler).
Max Basheer sat at our table for a while at the Russell Ebert testimonial held at the GMH site and whilst he didn't say that be barracked for Port - his words directly to me were "Gee, this is a great club and they have put on a good show tonight". Don't know it that helps the issue.
blackdiamond
31 Oct 2006, 21:48
Not questioning where he played, just who he supported.
Port_GW
31 Oct 2006, 22:12
Max trained with Sturt, but didn't play for them. Here's a transcript of his interview on Stateline (http://www.abc.net.au/stateline/sa/content/2003/s910598.htm).
I wouldn't take that as gospel, although i'm not saying it isn't correct.
I'm going to do some research to see if i can confirm that he did play for Sturt because im pretty sure he did. Even if he didn't, i'm pretty sure the Double Blues are the club that he is closest affiliated to/barracks for.
Port_GW
31 Oct 2006, 22:14
Not questioning where he played, just who he supported.
In a general sense, its quite often the same thing.
RussellEbertHandball
31 Oct 2006, 23:21
I don't think Max barracked for Port but he did play in the black and white between 1946 and 1951 at my old club Adelaide Uni.
He was zoned to North, but wanted to play for Sturt, however North refused to clear him. He did represent the Amateur League at state level in 1950 and '51. He stayed out of footy for a season waiting for a transfer, then went back to the Blacks for a season I think, before retiring and starting his admin career at The SA Amateur League. You would think that based on wanting to go to Sturt he probably barracked for them.
Ford Fairlane
1 Nov 2006, 06:38
You'd think as a PAC graduate and lawyer, Max would've had more mates at Sturt than North ... ;)
The way I see it, if Sellar goes to another club, he will be stuck in the ruck/forward rut and suck. If he comes to Port, he'll be a gun. Because like, we're PAFC est. 1870 and stuff...
That's why I'm not so hung up on who we draft.
Toots Hibbert
1 Nov 2006, 09:11
I'll have some of what you're having thanks.
*PAFC*13
1 Nov 2006, 12:40
I'll have some of what you're having thanks.
Make that two doses! ;)
You'd think as a PAC graduate and lawyer, Max would've had more mates at Sturt than North ... ;)
There are quite a few PAC alumni that grew up in the Giberton/Walkerville/Medindie/Fitzroy/Prospect area.
Ford Fairlane
1 Nov 2006, 13:06
There are quite a few PAC alumni that grew up in the Giberton/Walkerville/Medindie/Fitzroy/Prospect area.
Fair enough, but how many played at North Adelaide? I've always thought of the Roosters (maybe unfairly) as being more the Broady, Windsor Gardens, Kilburn, Ingle Farm crew ... maybe they're just the ones I encounter in the outer :o
blackdiamond
1 Nov 2006, 18:55
Fair enough, but how many played at North Adelaide? I've always thought of the Roosters (maybe unfairly) as being more the Broady, Windsor Gardens, Kilburn, Ingle Farm crew ... maybe they're just the ones I encounter in the outer :o
HEY! But yes back in my day we did come under the North Adelaide banner, just wasn't silly enough to support the Roosters.
The pie nights were good though - nice try! :p
Ford Fairlane
1 Nov 2006, 18:57
The Antrobi were from Ingle Farm IIRC. And didn't Maurie Francou coach/play out there after his SANFL days were done?
blackdiamond
1 Nov 2006, 19:58
The Antrobi were from Ingle Farm IIRC. And didn't Maurie Francou coach/play out there after his SANFL days were done?
Tony Antrobus lived around the corner from me and Maurie Francou owned the Clovercrest Pub.
Ford Fairlane
1 Nov 2006, 19:59
And I vaguely recall big Dennis Sachse playing for Ingle Farm too.
blackdiamond
1 Nov 2006, 19:59
Add to that I played in the same footy team as Danny Morton.
blackdiamond
1 Nov 2006, 20:00
And I vaguely recall big Dennis Sachse playing for Ingle Farm too.
Who is he? I think you might be showing your age now. :p
Dennis Sachse, brother of Neil and John
Huge, huge man mountain, played full forward for North Adelaide circa 60's/70's, kinda like Grenville Dietrich did later in the 1980's etc.
blackdiamond
2 Nov 2006, 18:55
Yes before my time.
PHANTOMS_20
8 Nov 2006, 15:06
I have coached James Sellar since he was about 6 years old- i havnt coached him every year but i think 5 times since then. He is going to be a star- dont let his illness or waht people are saying fool you. He will be the steal of the draft. If he hadnt been ill we wouldnt even be talking about this on this thread becuase he would be going number one. better then gumbleton and has a better brain then thorpe. Best mates with gibbs and it is uncanny the connection the two have. 20M sprint time of 2.94 takes all the question of agility out of the equation as well as being an australian voleyballer at the age of 16 the youngest in history of australian voleyball. Guaranteed a starting spot in the beijing olympics gave it all up to play AFL. The kid wants it and who ever does pick him up will be one lucky club. lol but thats just IMO. the rest of u will get proven wrong soon enough
Yep. Sounds good. So whats he actually done at CHF before?
PHANTOMS_20
9 Nov 2006, 18:59
4 goals in Glenelg league side round 1
3 goals round 4
25 possesions vs West Adelaide round 7
(has played alot more at CHF then what alot of people think) dont worry about the doubters mate. Kid can play
Thanks phantom ... Sellar is younger than most at this draft so is in a year earlier IIRC? Interesting points about his league games earllier this year.
Remember that Pavlich was overlooked at age 17 by us, crows and lots of other clubs ...
If Sellar has any ability lets not let him get away - unless Gumby falls to 5 - go for Sellar, IMO.
I'm sure the club has examined everything about Sellar and wil pick him if they think he is the best available. At pick 5 I'll be happy with whoever we get.
PJ Power
10 Nov 2006, 09:42
Thanks phantom ... Sellar is younger than most at this draft so is in a year earlier IIRC? Interesting points about his league games earllier this year.
Remember that Pavlich was overlooked at age 17 by us, crows and lots of other clubs ...
If Sellar has any ability lets not let him get away - unless Gumby falls to 5 - go for Sellar, IMO.
I'm sure the club has examined everything about Sellar and wil pick him if they think he is the best available. At pick 5 I'll be happy with whoever we get.
I'd like to think that if Sellar is as good as has been suggested above, our recruiting group would have identified this and won't miss out on him.
Pick 5 is so critical to us that it would be damning if Moylan, Williams and co. get it wrong.
macca69
10 Nov 2006, 14:00
4 goals in Glenelg league side round 1
3 goals round 4
25 possesions vs West Adelaide round 7
(has played alot more at CHF then what alot of people think) dont worry about the doubters mate. Kid can play
Will he be available at #5 though?
If he's gone before then, then one of Hansen, Gumbleton and Leuenberger will still be available (as Gibbs is a confirmed #1). I wouldn't cry if he went 2 - 4 and we got one of those 3 players instead.
Porthos
10 Nov 2006, 15:54
What is our highest priority?
1) Drafting a player that absolutely won't want to leave the club for 10 years?
2) Drafting the best available player in terms of talent, skills, attitude?
3) Drafting the player that can best help us to win our next premiership?
All 3!
PowerKat
10 Nov 2006, 16:15
Someone who comes closest to meeting all 3 of those criteria? Is each mutually exclusive?
PHANTOMS_20
10 Nov 2006, 20:11
Someone who comes closest to meeting all 3 of those criteria? Is each mutually exclusive?
well assuming the draft goes by the general consesus on BF and in my general oppionion. Gibbs, hansen, gumbleton and thorpe all gone. U hav a choice between luenberger, sellar, selwood, armitage. What are you thoughts? Who fills those 3 criteria the best>
footyman
12 Nov 2006, 18:22
I have coached James Sellar since he was about 6 years old
I really dont believe that.
PHANTOMS_20
12 Nov 2006, 22:07
I really dont believe that.
U dont have to believe it mate... If u have a problem with someone knowing more about a topic then urself. Perhaps ask me about Gibbs or austin or Day or Button or Lally or any other glenelg player from that age group Tom Redden, matt Graham, mark ruwoldt.
Any player....
Toots Hibbert
13 Nov 2006, 12:42
Any interesting insights you might have about any of those guys who wind up getting drafted I'd be interested to hear. It must be rewarding to watch guys you've coached and see them demonstrate skills you helped to develop.
macca69
13 Nov 2006, 13:10
U dont have to believe it mate... If u have a problem with someone knowing more about a topic then urself. Perhaps ask me about Gibbs or austin or Day or Button or Lally or any other glenelg player from that age group Tom Redden, matt Graham, mark ruwoldt.
Any player....
mate, what do you think Tom Holmes' chances are of getting drafted this year, and how do you rate him as a player?
Cheers.
Ford Fairlane
13 Nov 2006, 13:15
Any player....
Be interested in hearing about Matt Graham, seeing as he's training with Port. 30 touches on his league debut this year I believe.
PHANTOMS_20
13 Nov 2006, 13:36
mate, what do you think Tom Holmes' chances are of getting drafted this year, and how do you rate him as a player?
Cheers.
Tom Holmes a great talent and a great kid. has esquisite skills on both sides of his body one of the few true two sided players. I think his biggest down fall is going to be his height and pace. For his hieght he is not quick. I think he will turn ou to be a magnificent player at SANFL level but i wonder whether he can get to the next level.... Getting an oppertunity is the key
PHANTOMS_20
13 Nov 2006, 13:39
Be interested in hearing about Matt Graham, seeing as he's training with Port. 30 touches on his league debut this year I believe.
Matty graham the punk rocker- dark hair with a big earing. Has only recently started taking his footy seriously; i think he shocked everyone including him self with his debut performance. Has spent this first part of pre-season in th gym and is starting to add to his wirey frame. I really hope he gets rookied. Although that is a bias oppinion.