View Full Version : What other sports are you passionate about?
The Old Dark Navy's
1 Nov 2006, 21:12
We spend so much time talking about the Blues, I was wondering who has other passionate sporting interests.
I love all competitive sports, love my V8 Supercars, get involved in the NRL, a spot of cricket here and there, the tennis majors. Always something going on.
philhawk
1 Nov 2006, 21:22
Let's try and get this sub-forum rolling. ;)
I'm a huge NRL fan (evident in my display picture) and was pretty dismayed when we lost the Premiership this season. Whilst i'm not a huge soccer fan, i'm slowly getting 'into it' and becoming a fan of the Sydney FC.
I should mention that i'm also one of the greatest 'Cricket tragics' that you're ever likely to meet in your life. :p
C4[2]Yo`DooR
1 Nov 2006, 21:33
Im a crazy soccer fan. Follow mainly the Greek league (although now its getting boring) - where unlike my beloved Carlton, my Greek side 'Olympiakos' just cannot lose.
I follow the Champs League, and in EPL im a Bolton Wanderers fan (thanks to the signings of Giannokopoulos & Tal Ben Haim).
However, AFL is my number #1. :)
K.Simpson
1 Nov 2006, 21:45
Am a MASSIVE fan of the MELBOURNE VICTORY!
I l0ve my cricket, i play as well, im a keeper and opening batsman
thats about it.
But i really love my victory, if only the carlton cheer squad could be as loud as the victory, and maybe chant! could you imagine.........:rolleyes:
mediumsizered
1 Nov 2006, 21:46
Love my cricket. Warney & Watson are my 2 favorite Aussie players & even though I live in Qld nowadays, I still follow the Bushrangers (watch out for Lloyd Mash, he could be the goods). Follow the V8s. Grew up as an Allan Moffat fan, then jumped on the **** Johnson bandwagon, and now have settled on Craig Lowndes, although I would be wrapped if Stevie Johnson enjoyed some success. Watch out for James Courtney in the next couple of years.
whippersnipper
1 Nov 2006, 21:53
Love cricket (bring on Boxing Day!), play a fair bit of tennis (and generally try and make it to the Aus Open each year). Other than that, anything goes really- if its competitive and I have a reason to go for a side/player/athlete then I'll go for it.
kouta 4 president
1 Nov 2006, 22:36
Nothing. Footy is the only sport I find interesting. Sometimes I might watch a game of soccer, and I'll start getting into it and then one of the 'tragic' events happens and a player 'breaks' his leg until he gets a free kick or whatever and it magically heals. Sometimes I watch cricket but I dont really enjoy it all that much. So its footy all the way :D :D :D
McKinleyISgood
1 Nov 2006, 22:58
pretty much any sport (excludng swimming,equestrian and netball). but especially soccer, keen player and coach. don't really follow one team, but certain players in each team, all i know is that when its on tv, i can't stop watching - only trouble is that its on sooooo late on foxsports.
Love most sports but don't like any other football code apart from soccer, just can't find myself getting into Rugby League and/or Union.
Soccer I love and follow Manchester United in EPL and Melbourne Victory in the A-league. Love F1 also, big Ferrari supporter. Don't mind horse racing either, cricket's ok too as is Tennis and I love swimming.
That's about it.
Cricket is easily my second favourite sport. Played it for the best part of a decade or so, but time for a rest a do something different.
Can easily sit through a day of Test Match Cricket, with a beer in one hand a the remote in the other. Excellent.
Like most other sports, but motor sports tend to bore me quite quickly, and have no real interest. Lets just say it surprises me when Bathurst comes around so quickly every year.
And anything to do with Melbourne/Victoria I will follow. So,
Melbourne Storm (They were robbed in the GF)
Melbourne Victory
South Dragans
Melbourne Tigers
Victoria Bushrangers
even the Melbourne Phoenix
bluegal1983
2 Nov 2006, 06:27
I would have to say my second favourite sport is cricket. I don't really get into the test matches as they drag out a bit (IMO). Always love a result at the end of the day/night so I enjoy watching the one dayers and the day/nighters.
I got into the World Cup this year, and woke up early every morning to watch the Aussies! If Melbourne Victory are on Foxtel and I am at home then I'll watch but not a major soccer fan.
And the Australian Open I watch every year as well.
Used to be a massive cricket fan, but just got burnt out with it. Hopefully this years Ashes series will get me watching again.
I started following the A-League in the first season and have become a big Victory fan, haven't missed a game on tv this year. I always used to follow the EPL and Liverpool but the whole A-League starting and qualifying for the World Cup made me get more into it. Addicted to Football Manager 2006.
Big fan of UFC, although it's difficult to get your hands on recent stuff. The DVD's are starting to get into stores though. Was a big Frank Shamrock fan in the early days.
I love my cricket, can't wait for the Ashes.
Also very passionate about speedway racing, sprintcars in particular.
Generally, I can launch into all sports. Don't mind the odd soccer, tennis game etc.
Jeremias
2 Nov 2006, 13:31
Love my cricket, soccer and basketball.
In soccer, I follow Man United in the EPL, PSG in the French league, and Cameroon internationally. In the A-League I follow the Victory.
Basketball, I am a Laker in the NBA. In the NBL I am a Dragon fan, after being a Titans/Giants fan.
As I am disabled physically, I have never been able to play any of these sports competitively (well, except for under 9's soccer and school sports), so I play lawn bowls. Great sport, even if it isn't physical.
Overall, I just love my sport :D
All in all, I love sport, and can watch any.
Huge NBA fan!!Lived out a life long dream a couple weeks ago when i got to see my Golden State Warriors play a prac game at the Arena.Will never forget it
and yer i know,i follow the warriors and carlton.Its a tough fkn gig!!
love to watch and to play soccer , i play for a club i support man unt :) and also love watching melbourne victory hoping one day to play soccer as a professional :)
After footy, cricket would be my favourite sport (can't wait for Boxing Day!). I follow the soccer a bit, supporting the Victory over here and Leeds United (fourth bottom in the Championship :( ) in England.
I have never got into Rugby, I find it pretty boring.
Huge NBA fan!!Lived out a life long dream a couple weeks ago when i got to see my Golden State Warriors play a prac game at the Arena.Will never forget it
I was a big Warriors fan back in the days of Chris Mullin, Tim Hardaway, Young Chris Webber and Latrell Spreewell... what a team!
Cricket (Bushrangers) - i also play cricket, Soccer (Man U & Victory), NRL (Storm), NBL (Tigers), NHL (Dallas Stars), NFL (Dallas Cowboys), NBA (New Jersey Nets)
The Old Dark Navy's
2 Nov 2006, 17:45
Dallas Cowboys fan here too NWTYRX.
Chicago Bulls fan in the NBA, Atlanta Braves in the baseball, Queensland Bulls in the cricket, Cronulla and Brisbane in the NRL, Qld Roar of course, Was a Forest fan in the English soccer and still am if they ever make it back again. Holden fan, mostly HRT, usually like McLaren in the F1 although I was a fan of David Coulthard, I hope he can keep getting a gig somewhere, Brisbane Bullets in the NBL. Anything I've missed?
I am a very passionate cricket supporter and take an interest in most other mainstream sports as well - except motor and horse racing.
I follow Wests Tigers in Sydney Rugby League and Portsmouth in the EPL.
I also enjoy my wrestling (WWE) - that is a real sport isn't it? :D
deluxeman
2 Nov 2006, 18:57
Only other sport I'm passionate about is soccer. Have supported Manchester United for a while now and have gotten into the Melbourne Victory over the last couple of years. Also love the big international tournaments and sacraficed a lot of sleep during June and July!
Don't mind watching some cricket, tennis, basketball or swimming occasionaly but definitely don't care about is as much as I care about AFL and soccer.
Am I the only Liverpool Carlton supporter on here?
Surely there is one more out there, surely!!!!
Corrosion
2 Nov 2006, 20:38
I think I'm the only Arsenal Carlton supporter here.
I'm a huge fan of Arsenal, and I'm a huge Cricket fan too.
Cricket and Soccer are my favourite sports behind Australian Rules Football. Will be going to the Ashes Test at the Gabba, at the end of this month.
I'm also planning to go over to England early next year for a holiday and to watch Arsenal in action.
Aussie Joe
3 Nov 2006, 03:01
Dude, I'm going to the game vs the Trailblazers on Friday night. I am hoping that this is our year.
The other teams/sports that I love are:
NFL - San Francisco 49ers
MLB - San Francisco Giants
NHL - San Jose Sharks
Going to a game in a couple of weeks vs. Philly Flyers
Premier League - The mightly Toffees EVERTON FC.
Aussie Joe
3 Nov 2006, 03:02
Yes, you KOP filth :p
Once you are blue you should stay blue. GO TOFFEES.
Well there's atleast two of us... Rafa's rotation policy is a joke at the moment. Crouch is the only striker scoring with any consistency and he keeps getting rested. Did like the signing of Kuyt though, once he starts getting the quicker flow of english football he'll be really good (... although I would've went for Arouna Kone from PSV who is turning into a consistent version of Cisse in the Dutch and Champions League, exciting player)
Bloody Typical! *shakes head as I walk off* :p :D
Add another :D. I love my european football. Huge fan of the greek super league and english premier league. AEK ATHENS, LIVERPOOL :thumbsu:
BlueDevil
3 Nov 2006, 16:25
ah just like my mate wayne.......
once a blue FOREVER A RED:thumbsu: though i do agree with the KOP filth
blues4flag
3 Nov 2006, 21:33
Just getting into soccer - doesn't help with it being moved to FS3 (damn you analogue payTV:( ). I'm a Chelsea fan, with Everton a close second. Not really into cricket, watch it sometimes, like the Ashes series, but don't really follow it. Like tennis and watch it when its on, but again not a huge follower.
Fanatico
3 Nov 2006, 22:02
Besides Carlton and Afl, I am a fan of Newcastle United in the soccer, I also like hockey.:)
BLUEBOY1
6 Nov 2006, 15:29
Apart the footy I like
Basketball: Melbourne Tigers (NBL) Orlando Magic (NBA)
MotorRacing (The Lion Roars)
HorseRacing (Only live a hop, skip and jump from Moonee Valley RC)
Cricket (Bushrangers of course)
Golf (play every weekend between Late Nov - March)
I don't mind watching the soccer, baseball and ice-hockey but don't follow anyone.
Cheers
ClayBlue87
6 Nov 2006, 16:15
EPL: Everton
A-league: Melbourne Victory
Nrl: Melbourne Storm
NBL: Melbourne Tigers
Cricket: Bushangers or any local team that will let me take an esky
:D
I play soccer, cricket, footy, bit of tennis here and there.
PLay (if u can call hacking the ball around) golf here and there.
And Poker....if u can call it a sport
what other sports am I passionate about...
Rugby Union (Super 14): Western Force... gonna shock quite a few teams this year I reckon... top 6 team
Rugby League: I have to admit that I am a closet Parra supporter and have been for about 20 years now.
Cricket: Has to be NSW...
Football (Soccer): EPL: Manchester United (thanks Dad for being born there)
A-League: Perth Glory
V8 super cars, WRC, MotoGP, Super bikes
And any sport where Australia is playing...
Must admit that when I was in Europe for the Football World Cup back in June, I had a ball in Germany, Switzerland and England (although I was in a pub in Earls Court when Australia got knocked out by Italy)
AndSmithMustScore
13 Nov 2006, 20:07
I actually have another club that is on a par if not slightly in front of the Blues for my sporting passion and that's the english football club Brighton and Hove Albion.
Big fan of american sports, and follow any teams from the Boston,Mass.
As an athlete i'm a very passionate about playing Gaelic Football and Basketball.
Aussie Joe
14 Nov 2006, 08:07
EPL: Everton
Ah, GO TOFFEE's.
Hasn't been a good couple of weeks lately:(
celtic_pride
14 Nov 2006, 21:46
BTW I go along with AndSmithMustScore with his taste in American Sports teams, but sadly I reckon the New England Pats are the only team atm that's actually got a shot of winning anything out of any of the clubs I follow in any sports.
I also follow Leeds United in the ECL, Sydney FC in the A-League, South Dragons and the Melbourne Ice (no, not the drug, the Ice Hockey team)
Gibbsrightboot
15 Nov 2006, 12:21
U should be following the mighty toon of Newcastle United............
Has anyone ever been to a EPL game before?One of my dreams are to watch Newcaslte at St.James Park......
nicolbolas
15 Nov 2006, 13:43
Love Liverpool, still remember craig johnston scoring against Everton in FA Cup final, have three or four jerseys somewhere!!!! have to hide them well or the other half will donate them to savers. That and the Ice Hockey tops, absolutely hates my KINGS one with all the hook ups from when the "Great One" was still playing.
MLB: Yankees, NFL: Green Bay, NHL: Kings, SPL: Rangers
Will watch any sport on TV, reason why i got foxtel.
Looking forward to the ASHES, next door neighbour is a pom, can see a few cans been drunk at one or both houses!!!
Cheers
AndyWalkersGirl
15 Nov 2006, 16:30
LOVE my sport. Playing and watching. Have played soccer, cricket, basketball (hate watching it!), netball, and squash mainly, but my love, other than AFL and Carlton, is soccer. Juventus are my team.
I love watching sport on tv, especially anythign that australia is in.... except Golf and Car Racing, unless is Mark Webber coz he's a local boy :)
So, in summation, the only other sport i'm passionate about is soccer, and supporting Australia at an international level.
celtic_pride
15 Nov 2006, 17:59
AWG Watching basketball live is so way more exciting then watching soccer live (playing as well) I can assure you.
I've been to a few Melbourne victory games and for the most part they are pretty boring, whereas the Dragons in the NBL put on a great show for ya all night (well during the game anyway) :)
So in summination
Basketball >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>> Soccer/World football :)
U should be following the mighty toon of Newcastle United............
Has anyone ever been to a EPL game before?One of my dreams are to watch Newcaslte at St.James Park......
I should follow Newcastle becuase........?
deluxeman
15 Nov 2006, 18:10
AWG Watching basketball live is so way more exciting then watching soccer live (playing as well) I can assure you.
I've been to a few Melbourne victory games and for the most part they are pretty boring, whereas the Dragons in the NBL put on a great show for ya all night (well during the game anyway) :)
So in summination
Basketball >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>> Soccer/World football :)
Don't let Melbourne Victory games represent your feelings towards soccer. Whilst I enjoy Victory games they are nothing compared to watching any English, Spanish or Italian League matchs or big international tournaments like the World Cup and Euro. And after all 3 billion people simply cannot be wrong. :)
celtic_pride
15 Nov 2006, 22:18
Don't let Melbourne Victory games represent your feelings towards soccer. Whilst I enjoy Victory games they are nothing compared to watching any English, Spanish or Italian League matchs or big international tournaments like the World Cup and Euro. And after all 3 billion people simply cannot be wrong. :)
yeah true but still I reckon Soccer is better off watching at a pub with mates and basketball is much better live then on TV IMHO.
The atmosphere of the old Celtics-Lakers rivarly at Boston Garden in the 80's was amazing and I reckon it sure beats any footage of any world cup final or european cup tournament etc.
Yeah I'd love to go to the UK and to Elland Road to watch my Leeds United play (I'll never go to an non-leeds game once i move to the UK BTW) but really my no 1 sports aim in life is to go to Boston and watch the Celtics live (even if we're struggling at the moment)
deluxeman
16 Nov 2006, 08:47
yeah true but still I reckon Soccer is better off watching at a pub with mates and basketball is much better live then on TV IMHO.
The atmosphere of the old Celtics-Lakers rivarly at Boston Garden in the 80's was amazing and I reckon it sure beats any footage of any world cup final or european cup tournament etc.
Yeah I'd love to go to the UK and to Elland Road to watch my Leeds United play (I'll never go to an non-leeds game once i move to the UK BTW) but really my no 1 sports aim in life is to go to Boston and watch the Celtics live (even if we're struggling at the moment)
Fair enough. I guess its personal preference. I mean i was willing to go with hardly any sleep in June to catch as many World CUp games as possible but I wouldn't do that for a basketball. If only it was in South Korea or Japan every year. :mad:
Blues_Man
16 Nov 2006, 14:39
Cricket is my second favourite sport from Aussie Rules, I played cricket all during my younger days , opening batsman/spin bowler, these days i love watching both tests and one dayers.
I also have followed the V8 touring cars since the Allan Moffat days and am a die hard Ford man.
I used to enjoy the boxing and idolized Ali...it lost it's appeal when Tyson was world champion.
I am back playing competition 8 ball after a 2 year break and am enjoying that as well .
as a sidenote , although not a sport ..I am becoming addicted to poker and try and play as many tournaments as i can . love it !
as for the sports i don't like :
I can't watch Gridiron, soccer, tennis, or basketball as they bore me to tears
celtic_pride
16 Nov 2006, 19:29
Fair enough. I guess its personal preference. I mean i was willing to go with hardly any sleep in June to catch as many World CUp games as possible but I wouldn't do that for a basketball. If only it was in South Korea or Japan every year. :mad:
I guess it also sort helps as I've played basketball for most of my youth and now I'm starting to get into it again actively, whereas I only played Soccer/Football for a couple of years and didn't really enjoy it (indoor soccer is fun though)
Djibril Cisse
17 Nov 2006, 20:18
Let's try and get this sub-forum rolling. ;)
I'm a huge NRL fan (evident in my display picture) and was pretty dismayed when we lost the Premiership this season. Whilst i'm not a huge soccer fan, i'm slowly getting 'into it' and becoming a fan of the Sydney FC.
I should mention that i'm also one of the greatest 'Cricket tragics' that you're ever likely to meet in your life. :p
You're not a huge soccer fan, yet the quote you have at the bottom of all your posts is from from Bill Shankley (R.I.P) :confused:
Yo`DooR;6162444']Im a crazy soccer fan. Follow mainly the Greek league (although now its getting boring) - where unlike my beloved Carlton, my Greek side 'Olympiakos' just cannot lose.
I follow the Champs League, and in EPL im a Bolton Wanderers fan (thanks to the signings of Giannokopoulos & Tal Ben Haim).
However, AFL is my number #1. :)
The signing of Israeli International helped you follow Bolton? I can understand that Stelios would persuade you to follow Bolton, just don't know where Tal Ben-Haim fits into it
P.S - Carragher, chips it over the top, Mellor, heads it down into the path of Gerrard, Gerrard shoots, and it's in!!! Liverpool 3 - 1 Olympiacos! The Kop goes wild! Sorry, just had to say it, couldn't help myself.
I love cricket, watching or playing, whether it be International (even when Australia are not playing) or Domestic (even when Victoria aren't playing) I do play for a club, and I also coach a junior side.
I am a huge Liverpool fan, I never miss a game on TV, I have jerseys, flags, hats, etc. etc.
Melbourne Storm in the NRL, I am a Green Bay Packers fan in the NFL, Melbourne Tigers NBL, don't follow the NBA, don't actively follow the NHL (though, I check for Penguins results), I don't follow Motorsport, and I love the thoroughbreads. Hate Baseball, if you have another sports that you think I might follow, just post them here, and I'll get back to you.
Does Poker count as a sport? If it does, I am passionate about Texas Hold'em
C4[2]Yo`DooR
20 Nov 2006, 07:30
The signing of Israeli International helped you follow Bolton? I can understand that Stelios would persuade you to follow Bolton, just don't know where Tal Ben-Haim fits into it
Ben-Haims mother is Greek, aside from that, I think he's quite a sturdy player (even if he does look exactly like Ivan Campo - when his hair is long), should have left Israel and come to Olympiacos though when he was a youngster (that way he could have played for Greece)
P.S - Carragher, chips it over the top, Mellor, heads it down into the path of Gerrard, Gerrard shoots, and it's in!!! Liverpool 3 - 1 Olympiacos! The Kop goes wild! Sorry, just had to say it, couldn't help myself.
Never speak to me again :)
Dusan Bajevic cost us that game - fancy leaving Giovanni on for the entire game .... redicoulos ... ask Nick Theodorakopoulos.
Djibril Cisse
20 Nov 2006, 16:28
Nope, it was Rafa's master substiutions, Sinama coming on at the start of the second half and scoring immedaitely, Mellor coming on and scoring a goal, and the king of the world scoring a wonder strike!!!
After Rivaldo split the red sea and scored from a free kick.
Olympiacos looked home with 15 minutes to go. But it was not to be, at least Olympiacos can say, they got beaten by The European Champions, and the Champions League MVP of that season :D
C4[2]Yo`DooR
20 Nov 2006, 17:35
Olympiacos looked home with 15 minutes to go. But it was not to be, at least Olympiacos can say, they got beaten by The European Champions, and the Champions League MVP of that season :D
Thats what helps me sleep at night ;)
Djibril Cisse
20 Nov 2006, 21:37
Naturally, after all, Liverpool are the greatest club in the world!
C4[2]Yo`DooR
20 Nov 2006, 21:38
2nd to Heidelberg.
Djibril Cisse
20 Nov 2006, 22:10
3rd to Preston Footballers Cricket Club
Big fan of UFC, although it's difficult to get your hands on recent stuff. The DVD's are starting to get into stores though. Was a big Frank Shamrock fan in the early days.
There's a combat sports forum on bigfooty now, get yourself there dude.
My two favourite sports are football (which you would all call soccer) and MMA fighting. AFL would be close in behind those as my 3rd fav.
walshy93
5 Jan 2008, 15:13
NFL Football (Up the Cowboys)
BlueMania
5 Jan 2008, 15:29
With AFL being my no 1 sport by far , i love watching cricket through the summer . Not a fan of soccer , however i have been keeping track of victory . Been to see the Storm and plan to catch some more games next season . Otherwise the only other sport i love playing is squash ,though i haven't played in a while . Tennis can be good to watch during the aussie open too .
Pretty much am interested in just about any sport there is.
Cricket, NBA, Soccer, NRL and NFL and pretty much keep tabs on as many sports as i can (except netball:thumbsd:)
BlueMania
5 Jan 2008, 15:54
Pretty much am interested in just about any sport there is.
Cricket, NBA, Soccer, NRL and NFL and pretty much keep tabs on as many sports as i can (except netball:thumbsd:)
Some nice legs in netball at least Judd5:D:thumbsu:
lol
one of those games which can be interesting to watch (at times for a split second) but then otherwise boring.:D
walshy93
5 Jan 2008, 19:57
Quite liked the moment in the WC final where they all jumped over each other, Uniforms, arms (and of course legs) flailing about...great work by the camera man :D:thumbsu::eek:
I follow and play/ed way too much sport for my own good unfortunately.
AFL - Carlton
EPL - Aston Villa
Serie A - AS Roma
Spanish - Barcelona
A League - Melbourne Victory
NBA - New Orleans Hornets
Rugby League - Melbourne Storm
Cricket - Aussies and Bushrangers
Baseball - Mets
I also watch pretty much any sport on tv when its on. Love it.
Cough cough DC. :rolleyes:
BlueGibbs2011
8 Jan 2008, 07:14
Texas NL poker.
And I'll take umbrage if anyone says that is not a sport LOL. It was included in the Corporate games for the first time this year, so i think that settles it!
carltonlover3
10 Jan 2008, 10:54
im into golf alot, but im also obsessed with internation sports like NBA - denver nuggets, gridiron - dallas cowboys , baseball- new york yankes as much as i hate soccer i still follow arsenal alot mainly because fabregas is a gun.