View Full Version : SDJFL Past greats

Pages : [1] 2

Doona2
2nd November 2006, 08:44
Thought Id start up this "what happened to" thread as a simple post on the GV thread has sparked quite a repsonse.

My SDJFL days were between about 1985 thru to 1991/92. Some of my interleague team photo's from memroy feature blokes like the Pertile's, Mick Thomson (St. Mary's); Jezza Gaehl (Lions); Jeff Roscoe & Mick Beeby (Demons); Lee McRae, Shannon Hope (Kilmore), Jason McGrath & Martin Romeril (Wallan), Fart, Paul Mills, Cam Hilton (Euroa), reckon Darryl Lynch mighta played at Pucka.

From memory my first year in each age group features blokes like Jarrod Humm, Ben "Fonz" Fandrich and Big Abbott (Kilmore), Dave Koevets and Damien Quigg (Demons), reckon Bishop, Ekberg and James Rudd, maybe even a Johnny Burns??? (Seymour), Hayden Langborne (Wallan), Anthony Skinner (Pucka), Matt Mills??? (Euroa) Sobby O'Brien (St. Mary's)

We had guys like Chris Mills, Brett McKenzie, Stuie Denness & Spudda Edge who figured in the rep teams most years I played I reckon.

by "Krakour Magic"

Ahh, the Pertile brothers. That is gold! . From memory one of the boys got cancer at a young age, although I could be mistaken.

Would have been great to see a lot of the former SDJFL players go onto better things in the GV. Some of the stars fade away (or don't grow anymore), and some of the lesser lights blossom.

Whatever happened to that mate of your's from Kilmore, Leigh McCraigh (spelling?). Came good by u/15s, but I never heard anything more of him in football circles.

Some other stars from juniors, some of whom have gone onto GV or other:

Jeff Roscoe (Seymour Demons); Abbott (Kilmore); JJ (Kilmore); Dunn (Broadford); Hilton x 2 (Euroa); Hall (Broadford/Wallan); Francis Peva (Broadford); Petering (Seymour Lions); Jacavou (Broadford - lightening!); Stu Inness (Broadford - spelling? Not the Essendon cricketer, although he could play too); Lamaro (Euroa); Milburn (Broadford - surprise packet); Rudd (Seymour Lions); Makin (Kilmore).

Yes, Doona, everybody's favorite - Jason McMartin.

By "Grandale"

Yeah, I believe Claudio had leukemia as a youngster.

You raise some good names, Maj. Brendan Abbott, hey, everytime I hear about that fella that was the postcard bandit I think back to my under15 days.

I think you mean Stu Denness. He was playing with Seymour a few seasons back (the Johnny Mac era I think) but did his knee and last I recall was back at Broady.

James Rudd was another who was an absolute freak as a junior but just lost interest

Chris Mills and Rory Hilton were the two best SDJFL footballers Grandale saw. Quite amazing given Bustling Barry and Jason Johnson graduated through the ranks at around the same time.

vantheman32
2nd November 2006, 10:52
Shannon Hope, son of kilmore horse trainer Lee Hope, is also a horse trainer up in sunny old seymour, step brother of Young Gun Blake Shinn, and ryan!
good bloke

ringo1
2nd November 2006, 10:58
There was a real mean bastrd called cheeky Allen that played for Broadford. Very scarey when you have'nt reached puberty.:eek:

a.k.a.
2nd November 2006, 11:07
Andrew Moon from euroa was a dead set champion...

head67
2nd November 2006, 11:52
Brodies, O'Bree's had a fair few participants in that SDJFL who were very handy juniors.

TuskenRaider
2nd November 2006, 12:21
A few good names there Doona, you must have a fair memory on you.

Dave Koevets and Damien Quigg- some names from the past there! Eky before he gave it away to play golf and I think Johnny Burns played at St.Marys not Seymour.

Gavin Langborne from Wallan coached Mansfield a few years back too.

Grandale
2nd November 2006, 12:36
A few good names there Doona, you must have a fair memory on you.

Dave Koevets and Damien Quigg- some names from the past there! Eky before he gave it away to play golf and I think Johnny Burns played at St.Marys not Seymour.

Gavin Langborne from Wallan coached Mansfield a few years back too.

John Burns definitely played at Seymour to start with - he's my age so he would have experienced life under all-time great SJFC coaches including Kevvy Cain and Johnny Clarke. Think he might have finished his career with the knee-benders, however (Michael Thomson did the same thing - traiting mongrels!!!)

Great initiative whoever started up this topic on the GVFL thread. Got me thinking about the good old days. Not many of them involved tackling your boys, Doona. I'm on the record as saying what a freak Millsy was, but it also wasn't much fun playing on the boy Denyer (the big one; I think it was Cameron) everytime we played the Roos.

Doona2
2nd November 2006, 12:40
John Burns definitely played at Seymour to start with - he's my age so he would have experienced life under all-time great SJFC coaches including Kevvy Cain and Johnny Clarke. Think he might have finished his career with the knee-benders, however (Michael Thomson did the same thing - traiting mongrels!!!)

Great initiative whoever started up this topic on the GVFL thread. Got me thinking about the good old days. Not many of them involved tackling your boys, Doona. I'm on the record as saying what a freak Millsy was, but it also wasn't much fun playing on the boy Denyer (the big one; I think it was Cameron) everytime we played the Roos.

That would be Matty "D-dog" Denyer, Cammies older brother. D-dog was another one of those Broady boys that got all the gear early doors but never grew all that much, unlike myself a late bloomer who shot up (and out) late :thumbsu:

Doona2
2nd November 2006, 12:41
There was a real mean bastrd called cheeky Allen that played for Broadford. Very scarey when you have'nt reached puberty.:eek:

Ha ha the old Cheek is now living in Geelong and one of Broadies true characters :thumbsu:

Doona2
2nd November 2006, 12:43
Shannon Hope, son of kilmore horse trainer Lee Hope, is also a horse trainer up in sunny old seymour, step brother of Young Gun Blake Shinn, and ryan!
good bloke

Shannon was one of the quickest blokes in my year which would surprise those that know him. Dunno if young Blakey can be called a young gun of late, not in the best of form with the whip, and as for young Ryan well he's always in flying form!!!

Ya never said last night van if you're heading up to Broadford with one of our former 3rds guns in Robbo ;)

ringo1
2nd November 2006, 12:49
Ha ha the old Cheek is now living in Geelong and one of Broadies true characters :thumbsu:

Actually got to know him a few years later and he wasn't a bad bloke. Did he go on with his footy Doona? Did Tim Fleming ever play for you guys as a youngster?

Doona2
2nd November 2006, 13:00
Actually got to know him a few years later and he wasn't a bad bloke. Did he go on with his footy Doona? Did Tim Fleming ever play for you guys as a youngster?

Cheek played on and off but for me I loved him for his socialising, great entertainment on those long bus trip/pub crawls home from Elmore.

Tim played junior footy at Broady, would love to have him back home now if I can send an S.O.S to anybody that may have a number for him PM me please :D

TuskenRaider
2nd November 2006, 13:30

Too true, good thread Doona.

I can't recall too many kids who were hoofing it what seemed like 50m in U12's. Funny stuff.

Krakour Magic
2nd November 2006, 13:31
[My SDJFL days were between about 1985 thru to 1991/92. Some of my interleague team photo's from memroy feature blokes like the Pertile's, Mick Thomson (St. Mary's); Jezza Gaehl (Lions); Jeff Roscoe & Mick Beeby (Demons); Lee McRae, Shannon Hope (Kilmore), Jason McGrath & Martin Romeril (Wallan), Fart, Paul Mills, Cam Hilton (Euroa), reckon Darryl Lynch mighta played at Pucka.

From memory my first year in each age group features blokes like Jarrod Humm, Ben "Fonz" Fandrich and Big Abbott (Kilmore), Dave Koevets and Damien Quigg (Demons), reckon Bishop, Ekberg and James Rudd, maybe even a Johnny Burns??? (Seymour), Hayden Langborne (Wallan), Anthony Skinner (Pucka), Matt Mills??? (Euroa) Sobby O'Brien (St. Mary's)

We had guys like Chris Mills, Brett McKenzie, Stuie Denness & Spudda Edge who figured in the rep teams most years I played I reckon.

Doona, that is fantastic! Hilarious to think of these guys in their younger days. That guy Darryl Lynch was funny to play against. One of the angriest 12 year olds I ever came across.

Had forgotten Fonz. The boy could play.

Cameron Hilton from Euroa kicked 17 goals one day against Puckapunyal, but think Makin from Kilmore pipped him for the goalkicking that year.

Broadford and Kilmore were the dominant sides of those eras (thanks largely to those massive Mills blokes, Jacavou, Peva etc.).

As for frightening, I still shudder driving through Wallan. Fierce creatures up there. Expelled from the league for that memorable parental chase involving a poor umpire in a semi final. The likes of Tony Soprano and Tony Montana would have found it tough running their business in Wallan, although I suspect Montana would have had many customers. Bustling Bazza Hall missed out on an under 12 grand final thanks to that incident - guess that makes it 1 premiership from 4 attempts for the big man?

ringo1
2nd November 2006, 13:49
Peter stormy Tempest!

Doona2
2nd November 2006, 14:00
As for frightening, I still shudder driving through Wallan. Fierce creatures up there. Expelled from the league for that memorable parental chase involving a poor umpire in a semi final. The likes of Tony Soprano and Tony Montana would have found it tough running their business in Wallan, although I suspect Montana would have had many customers. Bustling Bazza Hall missed out on an under 12 grand final thanks to that incident - guess that makes it 1 premiership from 4 attempts for the big man?

I happen to work with that umpire in question (great fella) who these days is one of the more prominent bowlers in the local CBA comp - and was actually at a 30th birthday last Friday where a couple of the accused were present.

Forgot about all those drama's, the media coverage and the fact those angry little Magpies still took to the field grand final day in protest.

TuskenRaider
2nd November 2006, 14:38
I happen to work with that umpire in question (great fella) who these days is one of the more prominent bowlers in the local CBA comp - and was actually at a 30th birthday last Friday where a couple of the accused were present.

Forgot about all those drama's, the media coverage and the fact those angry little Magpies still took to the field grand final day in protest.
Remember they got changed over the scoreboard side of Kings Park and ran onto the ground to do their warm up, whilst the other two sides ran out to play and didn't know what was going to happen.

It was my first lesson in don't believe what you see on TV, as they painted the SDJFL as the villains in the piece for not allowing the poor Wallan boys to play. If I recall correctly, I remember they shoved a young Barry Hall in front of the cameras whilst shedding a tear, pleading his case to be allowed to play in that "one day in September" or late August whichever it may have been!

A little bit like last year's drama of "Let Barry Play". No wonder he played so well last year in the GF - he'd been through it all before!

Grandale
2nd November 2006, 14:52
[Cameron Hilton from Euroa kicked 17 goals one day against Puckapunyal, but think Makin from Kilmore pipped him for the goalkicking that year.

If Makin didn't kick 100 one year in under 15s he came very close to it. I suspect he would have won the goalkicking pretty comfortably.

Grandale
2nd November 2006, 14:55
Remember they got changed over the scoreboard side of Kings Park and ran onto the ground to do their warm up, whilst the other two sides ran out to play and didn't know what was going to happen.

It was my first lesson in don't believe what you see on TV, as they painted the SDJFL as the villains in the piece for not allowing the poor Wallan boys to play. If I recall correctly, I remember they shoved a young Barry Hall in front of the cameras whilst shedding a tear, pleading his case to be allowed to play in that "one day in September" or late August whichever it may have been!

A little bit like last year's drama of "Let Barry Play". No wonder he played so well last year in the GF - he'd been through it all before!

LOL. Remember that day myself.
Also think of the incident regularly when I see the umpire who was at the centre of the controversy - Chrissy Pruden - yelling abuse at the GV umpires at Seymour games these days.

Duff Man
2nd November 2006, 14:56

Darren 'D I C K' Kemp was another who could put the wind up you!

HJ32
2nd November 2006, 14:58
i can sorta remember the day your are talking about Raider. I was only u/10's back then but also remember a TV Network Chopper there that day too!

my SDJFL Days were from 1987 - 1994. Hilts and JJ, were probably the best two players during my time. I had some good battles with fellas such as Ronnie Spykers (st marys) James Head (St Marys) Brett Slade (Bford) Ray Rowbo (Bford) and Mark Mills (Euroa).

Here's some where are they nows from some of my former Lions teammates:

Justin Rooney - Moved to Wycheproof and played a fair few senior games there. Then located at Swan Hill - not sure if he's still playing footy.

Kristen Gaehl - Journeyman who I dont think has kicked a footy in anger since round 1 of the GV season in 1996 when we beat Euroa in the 3rds.

Wes Bishop - I think he's managing a club x franchise somewhere in Melbourne.

Damian Lindsay - Don't think he plays footy anymore, but a successful music career was on the horizon at one stage.

Brendan Donovan - Had a stellar u/10 season via the astute coaching of Jack Bishop in 1987, but did a knee at a young age and never seen again.

Colin Rossiter - Bushies/Mildura/Colbinabbin/Seymour/Mildura - still playing i think.

Doona2
2nd November 2006, 15:01
What about some people's "best of" sides from their respective era's. I'll have a quick go at a Braodford team based on the guys I played with between 1985 & 1991 to start things up.

Backs: Clinton Bruce; Matt Denyer; Matt Huxtable
H/Backs: Adam Lejins; Ian Denness; Shaune Moloney
Wings: Daniel Fletcher; Billy Neilson; Andrew Jacavou
H/Fwds: Travis Blackwell; Brett McKenzie; Marcus Gleeson
Fwds: Daniel Cleary; Frank Wyngaard; Darren Edge
Rucks: Chris Mills; Barry Hall; Stuie Denness

Int: Cam Denyer; Scott Weideman; Josh Willingham

Doona2
2nd November 2006, 15:03
Darren 'D I C K' Kemp was another who could put the wind up you!

Another one of those beauties that was massive early but nowadays just blends into the crowd at 6'3"

Doona2
2nd November 2006, 15:06
If Makin didn't kick 100 one year in under 15s he came very close to it. I suspect he would have won the goalkicking pretty comfortably.

Knickers is a ripper bloke, played 3rds at Broady during our golden "9 in a row" era, then went home to Kilmore, came back, went to Tongala, played at Violet Town I think when his olds had the pub.

ringo1
3rd November 2006, 05:45
Another one of those beauties that was massive early but nowadays just blends into the crowd at 6'3"

There were two darren Kemps one from Kilmore and one from Broadford. Are we talking about manchild from Broadford? If so he was huge in u/16's

SUPASTARR
3rd November 2006, 13:24
Must of been playin bout the same time HJ. What about some of these names during my days- C. Dunne, Pellegrino, D Inness (Broad.) D Jones, Ronnie (StM) W Old, T Robinson H McD Liddell Papa (Sey) Rowan Mills (Eur). Still the scariest of all was M Kinnear (Kilm) back in the U/11s.

behind_post
3rd November 2006, 14:20
i can sorta remember the day your are talking about Raider. I was only u/10's back then but also remember a TV Network Chopper there that day too!

my SDJFL Days were from 1987 - 1994. Hilts and JJ, were probably the best two players during my time. I had some good battles with fellas such as Ronnie Spykers (st marys) James Head (St Marys) Brett Slade (Bford) Ray Rowbo (Bford) and Mark Mills (Euroa).

Here's some where are they nows from some of my former Lions teammates:

Justin Rooney - Moved to Wycheproof and played a fair few senior games there. Then located at Swan Hill - not sure if he's still playing footy.

Kristen Gaehl - Journeyman who I dont think has kicked a footy in anger since round 1 of the GV season in 1996 when we beat Euroa in the 3rds.

Wes Bishop - I think he's managing a club x franchise somewhere in Melbourne.

Damian Lindsay - Don't think he plays footy anymore, but a successful music career was on the horizon at one stage.

Brendan Donovan - Had a stellar u/10 season via the astute coaching of Jack Bishop in 1987, but did a knee at a young age and never seen again.

Colin Rossiter - Bushies/Mildura/Colbinabbin/Seymour/Mildura - still playing i think.
Justin Rooney left Wyche to play up at Woorinen and now playing at Lalbert in the Central Murray I think.

How did Kristen "Saucehead/The Wanderer) Gaehl ever go in football? I hear he spent as much time on the field as he does in the pubs/clubs due to frequent bans!

What happened with his brother Jez this year at the Lions?

Duff Man
3rd November 2006, 15:26
There were two darren Kemps one from Kilmore and one from Broadford. Are we talking about manchild from Broadford? If so he was huge in u/16's

I'm referring to Kempy from Broadford. Another one was big Dave Kiddy from Kilmore.

nogood99
3rd November 2006, 15:45
what was jim lebidka like as a jnr footballer?

vantheman32
3rd November 2006, 16:18
Shannon was one of the quickest blokes in my year which would surprise those that know him. Dunno if young Blakey can be called a young gun of late, not in the best of form with the whip, and as for young Ryan well he's always in flying form!!!

Ya never said last night van if you're heading up to Broadford with one of our former 3rds guns in Robbo ;)

yeah woodnt have picked shannon for being quick!

blake is a young gun mate, scobie breasley medal as an apprentice, although he hasnt won many big races yet hes still only 19 n hes in the big ones! kid will win a lot!
bloody ryan though can b a pest ringing me everyday wantin 2 me 2 go get pissed with him hes makin me unfit! ahha
broadford nah mate, dunno wat im doin yet, supposed 2 b going up 2 bendigo for pre season, see how that goes

Doona2
3rd November 2006, 18:55
blake is a young gun mate, scobie breasley medal as an apprentice, although he hasnt won many big races yet hes still only 19 n hes in the big ones! kid will win a lot!

Just kidding about Blake van - the young fella can certainly ride but battles on the golf course as I reckon I've rolled him every time we go out!!!

One Kilmore bloke I left out earlier was Terry Ahearn. Complete oversight as Tez is a personal mate, was an exceptional junior footballer and is doing good things for the Blues in his current role as senior coach.

Doona2
7th November 2006, 18:05
Was talking with good mate Adam "Lej" Lejins about this thread and one name he'd love to hear about is Peter Tuckwell. Tucky from memory was a Seymour Lions boy and Lej reckons he used to go alright at little Aths . . . . what's he doing these days?

HJ32
8th November 2006, 11:11
Doon, I ran into big tucky a while back at work. I assume he's an accountant based in Melb, as he was doing some contract audit work at the time.

Grandale
8th November 2006, 15:19
what was jim lebidka like as a jnr footballer?

He was actually all right

ROOBOY007
9th November 2006, 13:35
Anybody remeber a kid from Euroa Grant Delahey won heaps of league medals in the early 80's

head67
10th November 2006, 07:13
Anybody remeber a kid from Euroa Grant Delahey won heaps of league medals in the early 80's
Yeah i remember him,very developed younster. Don't know where he ended up but.

Grandale
11th November 2006, 09:06
Was talking with good mate Adam "Lej" Lejins about this thread and one name he'd love to hear about is Peter Tuckwell. Tucky from memory was a Seymour Lions boy and Lej reckons he used to go alright at little Aths . . . . what's he doing these days?

Actually spent a day at the Yarra Glen races wth the big Tuckster late last year when I attended Kieran "Mad Dog" McCrohan's Bucks Day. Can't remember what he said he's doing but he is living in Melbourne somewhere.
And it was swimming that the big man excelled at.

Whippet
12th November 2006, 11:52
What a great thread to browse through. Absolutely cured my hangover. Cant stop grinning. Some absolute great memories.
I have to say Ronald Spykers from Stmary's stood out for me. Not just the fact that he was the only Asian in country Victoria at the time, but in under 12's he seemed to be 6ft 3 and averaged more disposals than greg williams and robert harvey together.

Justin Rooney...... He was a great junior, but was clearly visible that he had a short fuse, and I suspected his career wouldn't kick on too well.

Mark Kinnear was very good as well. Does anyone know if he plays anymore?

TuskenRaider
12th November 2006, 15:54
Actually spent a day at the Yarra Glen races wth the big Tuckster late last year when I attended Kieran "Mad Dog" McCrohan's Bucks Day.

Whatever happened to Kieran? He was a fairly handy player who I'm sure suffered the affliction commonly known as gingervitis. Did he go to Assumption?

Junkie
23rd November 2006, 18:05
What a great thread to browse through. Absolutely cured my hangover. Cant stop grinning. Some absolute great memories.

Mark Kinnear was very good as well. Does anyone know if he plays anymore?

I'm pretty sure Kinnear went off the rails in a major way...heard he broke into a mates house looking for stuff to steal & sell to feed his addiction:(

Not a good story as he was one of the most natural footballers i've seen and a pleasure to watch, even when he was so young!

What about Wayne Kilmartin from Broadford Doona?

Doona2
23rd November 2006, 19:11
I'm pretty sure Kinnear went off the rails in a major way...heard he broke into a mates house looking for stuff to steal & sell to feed his addiction:(

Not a good story as he was one of the most natural footballers i've seen and a pleasure to watch, even when he was so young!

What about Wayne Kilmartin from Broadford Doona?

Have no idea what young fruity Kinnear is up to these days, but agree he was one very talented young man.

Unsure what happened to the Kilmartin's Junkie, the family musta left town 10-15 years ago at a guess.

Doona2
15th January 2007, 09:55
Whatever happened to Kieran? He was a fairly handy player who I'm sure suffered the affliction commonly known as gingervitis. Did he go to Assumption?

Ha played under 10's with the Mad Dog, another who jumped ship to end up playing footy and cricket against us. Hey Grandy is he playing footy or cricket these days???

Thought we better try and revive this thread fella's, no doubt a few of you mighta caught up with rellies or mates over the Xmas break who may have had some names.

A cousin of mine (Paul Speechley) still remember Darren Comi as an out and out gun in his junior days - and I was at a 30th prior to Xmas where I caught up with Ashley Chapman who I reckon booted 100 for Wallan 16's white boots and all

footyfan001
15th January 2007, 10:09
Larry N. Gytis was a gun in his day...

kingfooty
15th January 2007, 10:16
Larry N. Gytis was a gun in his day...mike hunt was also a gun although he was abit of a receiver and he couldnt play every 4 weeks because of the blood rule.

Grandale
15th January 2007, 11:50

Mad Dog went to Abumption until Year 10 when he joined at STHS. After school he combined with Uni and with overseas travel and is now a teacher as some swisho private school in Melb. I'm pretty sure it's Wesley College.

Grandale
15th January 2007, 11:53
Ha played under 10's with the Mad Dog, another who jumped ship to end up playing footy and cricket against us. Hey Grandy is he playing footy or cricket these days???

A cousin of mine (Paul Speechley) still remember Darren Comi as an out and out gun in his junior days - and I was at a 30th prior to Xmas where I caught up with Ashley Chapman who I reckon booted 100 for Wallan 16's white boots and all

No, I don't believe the Puppy is playing either sport.
Matthew Makin was a fella that popped up on this thread a couple of months back and lo and behold last week I was flicking through the Herald Sun and on a rural page or something there was a pic of this fella called Matt Makin (red hair and all) who I think they described as a Vet or something. Could it be the same one?

Doona2
15th January 2007, 12:01
Matthew Makin was a fella that popped up on this thread a couple of months back and lo and behold last week I was flicking through the Herald Sun and on a rural page or something there was a pic of this fella called Matt Makin (red hair and all) who I think they described as a Vet or something. Could it be the same one?

Wouldn't have thought it was him, Makes got into the banks after school, spent time at Crown and then back to the banks I thought.

I could be wrong though.

One bloke from our vintage I haven't heard of for a while was Anthony Skinner. Remember a day at Broady he got the ball in the back pocket and no bugger could catch him, ran all the way and goaled for Pucka . . . . there only score of the day, unfortunately there was many a day like that for Pucka, even though they always battled he was a standout.

TuskenRaider
15th January 2007, 12:07
One bloke from our vintage I haven't heard of for a while was Anthony Skinner. Remember a day at Broady he got the ball in the back pocket and no bugger could catch him, ran all the way and goaled for Pucka . . . . there only score of the day, unfortunately there was many a day like that for Pucka, even though they always battled he was a standout.

Good get Doona! Yes, A. Skinner, Pucka's only shining light through some tough times. The toughest ask back in those days playing away against Pucka was negotiating the cliff on the way down to the ground from the rooms without half the side succumbing to serious injury.

Grandale
15th January 2007, 14:43
Wouldn't have thought it was him, Makes got into the banks after school, spent time at Crown and then back to the banks I thought.

I could be wrong though.

I saw Ton Ton at a Seymour game a couple of seasons back. Looked well on the way to matching his old man's physique and had even less hair.
Think he might be living in Wodonga.

Grandale
15th January 2007, 14:45
Good get Doona! Yes, A. Skinner, Pucka's only shining light through some tough times. The toughest ask back in those days playing away against Pucka was negotiating the cliff on the way down to the ground from the rooms without half the side succumbing to serious injury.

Yes, A Skinner was a star for the blue and whites, but let's not forget they also had one Chad "Pop" Rivett for a little while.
Sure was tough coming up against a guy that was 6 foot 8 in Under 12s.

TuskenRaider
15th January 2007, 19:09
Yes, A Skinner was a star for the blue and whites, but let's not forget they also had one Chad "Pop" Rivett for a little while.
Sure was tough coming up against a guy that was 6 foot 8 in Under 12s.

Never easy in U12s to play against 6 foot 8 blokes!

Doona2
16th January 2007, 12:20
Never easy in U12s to play against 6 foot 8 blokes!

A few years above me I reckon there was a big blonde kid from Nagambie they use to call Magilla or Gorilla or something like that.

It's always a terrifying sight in junior footy when there's big developed kids competing against little tackers years away from getting any hair around it!!!

rockstarr
16th January 2007, 19:58
how good was the great jason " fanta pants" "fart" mcmartin back in his younger days played with him a couple of seasons ago have heard he was pretty handy.

On The Money
16th January 2007, 21:50

I could be wrong though.

Matty Makin spent time with Tongala in about 1994/95 was a pretty solid goer from memory I can't remember what he was doing for work though being a VET rings a bell but can't be sure.

nomad
17th January 2007, 06:57
A few years above me I reckon there was a big blonde kid from Nagambie they use to call Magilla or Gorilla or something like that.

It's always a terrifying sight in junior footy when there's big developed kids competing against little tackers years away from getting any hair around it!!!

Probably quite a few years before your time Doon, but I remember a big blonde bloke from Nagambie that they called 'Yogi', absolute monster of a kid who used to frighten the daylights out of me.

Grandale
17th January 2007, 07:25

Adam Miller is the man you're thinking of: "Gorilla". He wasn't ridiculously tall like Pop Rivett, but he had the body of an 18yo in under 14s.
In a sad post script, I am pretty sure I heard a few years back that he had actually passed on. Can't be certain of it, but it jjust rings a bell for some reason.

bazlurhmann
18th April 2007, 03:48
hey guys from the uk.
what about seymour junior football games record holder aaron cain. he must be in with a shot.

Doona2
18th April 2007, 07:54
hey guys from the uk.
what about seymour junior football games record holder aaron cain. he must be in with a shot.

Aaron was a very handy junior footballer yes :thumbsu:

nogood99
18th April 2007, 11:08
hey guys from the uk.
BAZ wats goin on ya mad cat? how do ya like it over there?

bazlurhmann
19th April 2007, 02:18
BAZ wats goin on ya mad cat? how do ya like it over there?

not much mate. just working my arse of at the moment. havent started up yet. its a little cold at times here mate. and the people are a little hard to understand at times. different sayings and so on. hows things with you pal?

Albo's opinion
19th April 2007, 12:39
best from my time in sdjfl.
Tom Lyons, Dave Mundy, Mark Treble, Micheal Greenaway, Mick Sheils (St Mary's) Rodney Van Reit, James Hender, David Brockway (Seymour) Robbie Douglas (Broadford) Ken Dickenson (Heathcote) "Happy" (Euroa)- cant remember happy's name:confused:

nogood99
19th April 2007, 15:05
not much mate. just working my arse of at the moment. havent started up yet. its a little cold at times here mate. and the people are a little hard to understand at times. different sayings and so on. hows things with you pal?
wat r ya doin for work? yeh ya picked a shit country to go to all those whinging ass poms lol, im not doin much mate just lookin for a job other than safeway, well hope all goes well mate catchya

scotywok
19th April 2007, 15:41
Matty Makin spent time with Tongala in about 1994/95 was a pretty solid goer from memory I can't remember what he was doing for work though being a VET rings a bell but can't be sure.

The Matty Makin that we all know works for JB Were. Bump into him every week at the AFL.

bazlurhmann
20th April 2007, 02:36
best from my time in sdjfl.
Tom Lyons, Dave Mundy, Mark Treble, Micheal Greenaway, Mick Sheils (St Mary's) Rodney Van Reit, James Hender, David Brockway (Seymour) Robbie Douglas (Broadford) Ken Dickenson (Heathcote) "Happy" (Euroa)- cant remember happy's name:confused:

all very good players. also tam smeaton was a good player. rob douglas didnt feature much at broadford as he playing at kilmore. i also remember ben hutton, cam clydesdale, ryan hauser, alan loweke, richard purcell ( before he had two knee recos) and then also tom robinson, john rudd, wayne pisani and leroy and ben rohde all being good players through the juniors. seymour won a premiership with most of those players in the under 15s in 95 i think.

buzz1234
4th May 2007, 21:13
Anyone have any thoughts towards the players in the Seymour Junior league today? St Marys, Euroa, Broadford. etc

Big Kim
4th May 2007, 22:40
I cannot believe Adam Smith (St Marys) has not been mentioned on this thread yet. He killed the SDJFL for years. He and Rory Hilton were the best in my time by a mile.

Luke Weller (Kilmore) was also very good in the early years.
Robert Lincoln from Nagambie is a blast from the past. He was very handy in the juniors.

Big Kim
4th May 2007, 22:43
Oh, and lets not forget, Trevor 'Carpy' Chapman. Where's he these days?
........Wherever the fish are biting I guess.

bigTonys_son
7th May 2007, 12:38
team from 2002 -2005
b j vidler j robertson f rewen
hb j ivill s wright s ezard
w m ure k giovannini (aka kouta best ive seen) r fere
hf b clifton b gleeson j morrison
f a hobbs a green w wheeler

R HAPPYS BROTHER (GLAD)

b cunningham
salidino

nogood99
7th May 2007, 19:29
team from 2002 -2005

R HAPPYS BROTHER (GLAD)

b cunningham
salidino
did u only watch euroa play? from saint marys in those years were probly, jake anderson, sonny judge williams, dom russo, michael dundon, jack hesse and Mr seymour scotty the frenzie mcenzie!! also from other clubs were; leck (heathcote), brent le cerf (tahbilk), jacko hutton (tahbilk), tyrone muir (tahbilk), grant hately (tahbilk), willie hollman(st marys), dukey jenkins(seymour)

fuzzyswan
9th May 2007, 16:53
team from 2002 -2005

R HAPPYS BROTHER (GLAD)

b cunningham
salidino

ill have a go at mine. finished in the under 15s in 2002
b: Adam Saunders Robbie Douglas Ron Surmiak
hb: Darcy Waugh David Mundy Mark Treble
c: Tom Lyons Rodney Van Reit Luke Gilliland
hf: Danny Haysom David Brockaway Jake Anderson
ff: Dom Russo Jesse Silver Chris Ball
foll: Tim O'Keefe James Ezard Richard Douglas
int: Ben Carboon Andrew Dundon Roman Chawanetz Kane Touhey

st marys and broadford were the dominate sides for pretty much my whole time in the sdjfl. must be heaps ive forgotten.

big tony
9th May 2007, 18:39
not a past great but thought i might mention euroa u15s clocked a score of 315 last weekend.

nogood99
9th May 2007, 21:39
not a past great but thought i might mention euroa u15s clocked a score of 315 last weekend.
who kicked all the goals?

HJ32
9th May 2007, 22:28
all very good players. also tam smeaton was a good player. rob douglas didnt feature much at broadford as he playing at kilmore. i also remember ben hutton, cam clydesdale, ryan hauser, alan loweke, richard purcell ( before he had two knee recos) and then also tom robinson, john rudd, wayne pisani and leroy and ben rohde all being good players through the juniors. seymour won a premiership with most of those players in the under 15s in 95 i think.

Think that flag was 1996
from memory that 15s team had Joffa Anderson, Wayno Pisani, the Rohde boys, the purcell twins, hauser and Tommy Rob.
Ruddy was more my time bazz, our last season was 94 under the coaching of Bryan Smith.

HJ32
9th May 2007, 22:31
Oh, and lets not forget, Trevor 'Carpy' Chapman. Where's he these days?
........Wherever the fish are biting I guess.

quality post Kim.

maybe he's hanging out with his old mate Brenton Crispin.....

HJ32
9th May 2007, 22:50
what about SDJFL Players who have gone onto the AFL?

I'll start the List:

Barry Hall (Broadford/Saints/Sydney)
James Ezard (Broadford/Port Adelaide) he's yet to play seniors???
Ritchie Douglas (Broadford/Adelaide)
David Mundy (St Mary's/Freo)
Rory Hilton (Euroa/Brisbane/Tigers)
Darren Milburn (Kilmore/Geelong)
Ben Kinnear (Kilmore/Sydney/Collingwood) i think it was ben?
Mick O'Sullivan (St Marys/Melbourne/Essendon)
Jon Soloman (St Marys/Brisbane) or did jonno play at the lions?
Jason Johnson (Kilmore/Essendon)
Russell Richards (seymour/melbourne)
Hayden Lamaro (Euroa/Melbourne)

feel free to add

Meat Head
9th May 2007, 22:56

I'll start the List:

feel free to add

what about reece sullivan from summer bay...he had a pretty good stint at the swans for a while there didnt he? too bad he's not round summer bay anymore...dont know what hes up to these days...

Grandale
10th May 2007, 13:28
Peter McLean was a Seymour junior who got drafted to the Cats but never played a senior game.
And Richmond and Hawthorn draftee Chris Martin played juniors for Seymour.
And I'm pretty sure Ezard has played a game. Might have played several. I'm almost certain he player for Port last year when they spanked Essendon at the Dome.

SUPASTARR
10th May 2007, 21:26
Andrew Mills - Euroa/Richmond

Doona2
11th May 2007, 15:21

I'll start the List:

feel free to add

Alan Ezard was a Broadford junior

Its Mark Kinnear H ... dont think he ever fronted once he was traded to Vic Park

bazlurhmann
11th May 2007, 20:18
you are right.
also on modern players such as holman and clifton and so on, and this might sound bias, but Jake Loraine managed to slam home 103 goals in the st marys premiership yeah last year, all with a year left in the juniors.

I would like to know how many of these players have gone on at senior level. obviously the guys that have played league footy have but how many others.

vantheman32
24th May 2007, 16:34
did u only watch euroa play? from saint marys in those years were probly, jake anderson, sonny judge williams, dom russo, michael dundon, jack hesse and Mr seymour scotty the frenzie mcenzie!! also from other clubs were; leck (heathcote), brent le cerf (tahbilk), jacko hutton (tahbilk), tyrone muir (tahbilk), grant hately (tahbilk), willie hollman(st marys), dukey jenkins(seymour)

come on mate hesse hes a spud lol lecks a spaz, muirs fat, dukes short n fat, willie holman is the size of my willie haha

vantheman32
24th May 2007, 16:38
ill have a go at mine. finished in the under 15s in 2002
b: Adam Sanders Robbie Douglas Ron Surmiak
hb: Darcy Waugh David Mundy Mark Treble
c: Tom Lyons Rodney Van Reit Luke Gilliland
hf: Danny Haysom David Brockaway Jake Anderson
ff: Dom Russo Jesse Silver Trav Hede
foll: Tim O'Keefe James Ezard Richard Douglas
int: Ben Carboon Andrew Dundon Roman Chawanetz Kane Touhey

st marys and broadford were the dominate sides for pretty much my whole time in the sdjfl. must be heaps ive forgotten.

edited for perfection haha

SOLMAN86
27th May 2007, 14:23
[quote=HJ32;7485779]what about SDJFL Players who have gone onto the AFL?

I'll start the List:

Yeah HJ Jonno was at the Bears going back a few years ago now.
Good to see some more recent players making the SDJFL greats.
The best I seen is
in no particular order are
R Van Riet, D Mundy S Middleton, Rich & Rob Douglas, Jimmy Ezard, Mick Shiels & Greenaway, Mark Treble & what a pitty Tommy Chee never played juniors in this comp.
Man was hard and tough and could of still played for Tabilk when he first moved here but opted fr Avenel 3rds instead where he absolutely killed it befor he moved somewhere else.

Someone else im sure would of blossomed where eva he went would of been Chris Hodders brother Nick, would be interested t know how he faired after he left the SDJFL

r

]

Pupster
28th May 2007, 17:34
Ben Clifton from st marys.. can play.
Tim Flemming im pretty sure started at Broadford and then went onto Richmond.

Rgs011
29th May 2007, 18:33
Hugh Robinson was a star at the Seymour Lions too in the juniors, and Dave Paton was St Mary's best in the early 90's (after the Patellies?? left)

vantheman32
29th May 2007, 20:07
hughy legendary bloke tommy was handy too

HJ32
29th May 2007, 22:35
Yeah HJ Jonno was at the Bears going back a few years ago now.
Good to see some more recent players making the SDJFL greats.
The best I seen is
in no particular order are
R Van Riet, D Mundy S Middleton, Rich & Rob Douglas, Jimmy Ezard, Mick Shiels & Greenaway, Mark Treble & what a pitty Tommy Chee never played juniors in this comp.

][/QUOTE]

mate you talking about the fella from Heathcote?
If so you should pop your head into the HDFL Thred, they're bagging him big time at the moment labelling him a sniper among other things

HJ32
29th May 2007, 22:39
I know that most of you fellas are still young bucks, but you should start paying attetion to the new Superannuation ads doing the rounds at the moment.
Why? because when they do the example of Charlie the Chef you will notice that non other that Ronnie Spykers is snagging away on the juicy steaks grilling away in the background!
next time the ad is on, take a peak - i must say i lost it when i saw the great man grinning at the camera at the end of the ad!

Grandale
31st May 2007, 13:52
Anyone see the yarn in yesterday's Herald-Sun about a fella who "allegedly" got nabbed doing 147km above the speed limit?
Well, I am 99.99% sure that is the same Mark Doggett who was in the same year as me at school (but went to Grant St) and if memory serves me correct might have played a few games of junior footy for the mighty Demons.

Doona2
31st May 2007, 15:00
Anyone see the yarn in yesterday's Herald-Sun about a fella who "allegedly" got nabbed doing 147km above the speed limit?
Well, I am 99.99% sure that is the same Mark Doggett who was in the same year as me at school (but went to Grant St) and if memory serves me correct might have played a few games of junior footy for the mighty Demons.

Thats a massve get Grandy, thats what we wanna hear those former SDJFL blokes to have hit the headlines.

Wallygrout
31st May 2007, 17:04
:) I played all my junior football at SEYMOUR untill i left and went 2 WYCHEPROOF in 1995 NCFL then moved to SWAN HILL in 2000 & played at WOORINEN CMFL for 3 years then went to SEA LAKE in the malle for a year then went 2 LALBERT for 3 years coached the 2nds for 2 years and now playing for MURRABIT IN THE GRFL .I would like 2 say hi to past & present players of the SDJFL i am still alive JUSTIN ROONEY good thread:)

HJ32
1st June 2007, 16:09
Where are they now?

Damien Lindsay (Seymour)
Lorrie 'pud' McMartin (Euroa)
Brendan Donovan (Seymour)
David Monkton (Seymour)
Wes Old (Seymour)

Grandale
1st June 2007, 17:05
Where are they now?

Damien Lindsay (Seymour)
Lorrie 'pud' McMartin (Euroa)
Brendan Donovan (Seymour)
David Monkton (Seymour)
Wes Old (Seymour)

My brother, I believe you know him HJ, has told me one of the funniest footy stories I've heard thanks to old Davey Munckton.
He reckons one day in under 10 "Munkos", who couldn't get a kick out of a pound of cocaine, somehow ended up with the ball in the goalsquare at Kings Park. Set to cover himself in glory, the Munkster went back to take his first ever (and probably most recent) shot at goal. Upon approach it was clearly obvious the Munkanator had no idea what he was doing, but threw the ball on to his boot anyway and, as was prone to happen with Munky, contact wasn't flush. As such, the ball only trickled off Munky Cold Medina's boot, but as luck would have it, the man on the mark leapt up at the same time to try and smother the kick, resulting in the ball rolling UNDER his feet and through for a goal.

judd-lyk
4th June 2007, 11:33
we need to think about present greats, like i hear that jamie elliot is rated very highly his down from euroa. i was wonderin if anyone knows how he goes? cheers

Doona2
6th June 2007, 20:57
we need to think about present greats, like i hear that jamie elliot is rated very highly his down from euroa. i was wonderin if anyone knows how he goes? cheers

No we dont :mad: There is no such thing as a present great, start up ya own chat for ya under 15 buddies mate and let myself and some of my former SDJFL team mates and opposition discuss what went down in the 80's & 90's.

Now whilst on Euroa did Cam Hilton ever go on with his footy. That's one guy I never heard much of after he moved up around the border had ability as a kid did he play O & M or anything like that?

SUPASTARR
6th June 2007, 21:09
No we dont :mad: There is no such thing as a present great, start up ya own chat for ya under 15 buddies mate and let myself and some of my former SDJFL team mates and opposition discuss what went down in the 80's & 90's.

Now whilst on Euroa did Cam Hilton ever go on with his footy. That's one guy I never heard much of after he moved up around the border had ability as a kid did he play O & M or anything like that?

Cam was a sensational junior at Euroa. However I think when he moved to the border, he played in some minor bush league or something. Might of coached but not 100% sure. Don't think he played O & M.

Also HJ32, big Laurie McMartin isn't playing footy anymore I don't think. Not really interested these days.

Grandale
7th June 2007, 09:58

Not that I'm aware of. I did hear that he occupied some role at the Bushies (stats man or something like that) while Rory was playing there but not sure what he's done since

Krakour Magic
8th June 2007, 02:09

You're not bad on the memory, Doona. Herb played a few senior games at Wodonga Raiders and was seen as a very good u/18 players there (think he played an u/18 premiership?). Went on to coach in minor league up there (Tallangatta?) with Keiwa Sandy Creek (or maybe just played there?). Maybe Barnawatha? Shoulders ended him I think. May have even won a league B&F in that comp.

Herb also pulled on the boots up in Brisbane last year, but not sure who for - just in one of the suburban comps.

Good man, Cameron.:thumbsu:

Rgs011
13th June 2007, 21:27
Not much of a mention of my old whipping boys...Seymour Demons.
Didn't have much success towards the end of the club, but I remember playing in a Premiership (U/12's I think) with Nev Roscoe as the coach.

When I think back I seem to always remember Chittick Park as either Rock Hard or just a swamp, no in between.

My most enjoyable year was when leaving the U/15's moved to Seymour for the U/16 comp. This was fantastic for me, it was like moving to an All Star Team. We had the best of the Demons (actually I may have been the only one...so doesn't apply here), the best of Seymour, St Mary's and some guys from Nagambie too.

Pretty good side we had...finished 3rd I think, but there was only ever 3 teams in the running. Us, Kyabram (was our bogey team) and Echuca.

In the side we had Roo Saunders, Schotty, Boruch, Adam Smith, Hughie Robinson, Kelloggs (was always mental), Huxy (the start of his tough man period), Dave Patton, and more I can't recall now.

At the end of that season Roster, Mick Thompson, Rossiter and myself all got invited to the Bushrangers which probably adds to my comment of being my most enjoyable season.

Afterwards I played loosely in the thirds (mostly playing seconds as they were so short) due to living in Melbourne. I played a few games in the EDFL, WRFL, ACTAFL with Ainslie before giving it away. Nothing beats playing with the lads you grew up with!

Great board topic!

Russ

Grandale
15th June 2007, 16:40
Not much of a mention of my old whipping boys...Seymour Demons.
Didn't have much success towards the end of the club, but I remember playing in a Premiership (U/12's I think) with Nev Roscoe as the coach.

When I think back I seem to always remember Chittick Park as either Rock Hard or just a swamp, no in between.

My most enjoyable year was when leaving the U/15's moved to Seymour for the U/16 comp. This was fantastic for me, it was like moving to an All Star Team. We had the best of the Demons (actually I may have been the only one...so doesn't apply here), the best of Seymour, St Mary's and some guys from Nagambie too.

Pretty good side we had...finished 3rd I think, but there was only ever 3 teams in the running. Us, Kyabram (was our bogey team) and Echuca.

In the side we had Roo Saunders, Schotty, Boruch, Adam Smith, Hughie Robinson, Kelloggs (was always mental), Huxy (the start of his tough man period), Dave Patton, and more I can't recall now.

At the end of that season Roster, Mick Thompson, Rossiter and myself all got invited to the Bushrangers which probably adds to my comment of being my most enjoyable season.

Afterwards I played loosely in the thirds (mostly playing seconds as they were so short) due to living in Melbourne. I played a few games in the EDFL, WRFL, ACTAFL with Ainslie before giving it away. Nothing beats playing with the lads you grew up with!

Great board topic!

Russ

Lucky you signed off Rusty. Thought you were playing Ed Phillips for a second there and asking us a question for a pick of the board.