View Full Version : Tell us all about yourself

bluesforever
2nd November 2006, 22:27
Hey people,

Only thread I could come up with for the Blue Room was to find out a bit more of all you guys, seeming we only usually talk footy it'll be good to hear a bit about your life, 5 favourite things and such.

Well my name is Brad, i'm 21 and have lived in several parts of Australia the last few years but have found myself here in Geelong with my gf of nearly 2 years where things are going great. I'm currently working in retail, but also looking for other avenues and opportunitys that interest me... the problem with me is that I have always struggled to work out exactly what field of work I would enjoy doing... Being indecisive really pisses me off.

Anyways my 5 favourite things in life would be as follows

1. My family and friends - Always keeping in contact with family, and catch up with friends when I can which is always fun. Also living with my partner is fantastic.

2. Carlton - Always supported Carlton for as long as I can remember, most of my family are Carlton. :thumbsu:

3. Driving/Exploring - Just love getting in the car and going somewhere new, getting lost just makes the trips better.

4. The Ocean - Always has a peaceful effect on me, whenever stressed I take a drive to the beach and think, does me nicely.

5. Animals - Always have formed strong bonds with all my pets, I absoulutely HATE people that are cruel in any way to any harmless animals...

Anyways, if anyone is bored chuck a few lines down about your favourite things, passions or anything you could be stuffed sharing.

Cheers.

Brad.

stokesy
3rd November 2006, 09:06
1. This summer I am coaching a local junior cricket side my younger brother and cousin play in. Let me tell you, it's quite hard. These kids are old enough to know how to play the game and they look up to me, the coach, for guidance and it's a great challenge for me to work with them twice a week and game day to improve their game. They could possibly play for Victoria or Australia.

2. I'm an aspiring sports journalist. In the summer I follow the speedway around the state and write, and also do some race night commentry. Very fun past time and you learn a lot dealing with media, writing reports and commentating. Top stuff. In the winter I write for the local paper covering country footy.

3. Just completing year 12 as we speak, I have a PE exam in exactly 45 minutes and a Multimedia one at 3pm later today.

4. I love exploring the outdoors and hunting. My family are keen at rabbiting, using ferats, not guns. We also enjoy fishing. Rabbiting is great fun I must add too.

5. I enjoy having a hit of golf. With this day lights savings, there is nothing better then playing 9 holes at the local course after tea. Golf can be frustrating, but when you play a good shot it's the same feeling as kicking a goal in footy.

Da Bull
3rd November 2006, 12:32
3. Just completing year 12 as we speak, I have a PE exam in exactly 45 minutes and a Multimedia one at 3pm later today.

Stokesy

What the hell are you doing on here when you have exams!!! Get to the books my man!

Anyway I'm a 36yr old member of the thin blue line. Have been for about 17 yrs. Married with 2 beautiful daughters. 1 x 3yrs and 1 x 9 months. Oh yeah and I've just got a 9 week old Lab puppy (Reuben). I checked his name on names websites and it means "Behold a son!" in hebrew. Pretty ironic seeing I have all chicks in my life.

I've been a Carlton member since 94 varying from silver to gold to social club. Been family Social club for the last 3 years. Signed up the girls straight away. Supported Carlton all my life. Followed on from my dad.

Having seen all the great times I'm really disheartened by everything that has happened in the last 5 years. Sick of seeing crap headlines Pre, During and Post season. It never ends and Fevola just caps it. Geez I hope we can pull ourselves out of the ***** pretty quick.

Thanks for listening (reading) and chat soon. Go Baggers. :) (christ I look like parrott) :D

Tommy Alvin

whippersnipper
3rd November 2006, 14:21
Okie then.

I'm a 20 year old law/media student (first year). Barracked for Carlton my entire life. Other interest? Well I umpire junior footy out in the EFL, I play a bit of tennis, listen to a lot of rock and heavy metal, travelling O/S in about three weeks for a month (will miss the draft:thumbsd:, have to catch up when I get back) getting massively stressed because I have two law exams next week......AHH, I THINK I NEED TO STUDY!!

WalkerTexasRanger
3rd November 2006, 15:18
Some study avoidance here too:

My story is: Final year Arts/Laws (graduating with both degrees in December - assuming I pass these final exams :( ). Play footy at uni - playing in the Rec Footy comp at the moment, which is fun but not much for fitness. Will probably go back to my school old boys in the VAFA next year. Spent time travelling and working before uni and took a year off in the middle to work as well.

Have my second last law exam on Monday and my last next Friday. Can't wait to have more money next year so I can help support the Carlton Footy Club more (as well as not being skint all the time:D ). Will be sad though that I will be time poor:thumbsd: But at least I will have the Blues to watch most weekends.

Gilly1972
3rd November 2006, 15:22
Hey people,

Only thread I could come up with for the Blue Room was to find out a bit more of all you guys, seeming we only usually talk footy it'll be good to hear a bit about your life, 5 favourite things and such.

Well my name is Brad, i'm 21 and have lived in several parts of Australia the last few years but have found myself here in Geelong with my gf of nearly 2 years where things are going great. I'm currently working in retail, but also looking for other avenues and opportunitys that interest me... the problem with me is that I have always struggled to work out exactly what field of work I would enjoy doing... Being indecisive really pisses me off.

Anyways my 5 favourite things in life would be as follows

1. My family and friends - Always keeping in contact with family, and catch up with friends when I can which is always fun. Also living with my partner is fantastic.

2. Carlton - Always supported Carlton for as long as I can remember, most of my family are Carlton.

3. Driving/Exploring - Just love getting in the car and going somewhere new, getting lost just makes the trips better.

4. The Ocean - Always has a peaceful effect on me, whenever stressed I take a drive to the beach and think, does me nicely.

5. Animals - Always have formed strong bonds with all my pets, I absoulutely HATE people that are cruel in any way to any harmless animals...

Anyways, if anyone is bored chuck a few lines down about your favourite things, passions or anything you could be stuffed sharing.

Cheers.

Brad.

1. This summer I am coaching a local junior cricket side my younger brother and cousin play in. Let me tell you, it's quite hard. These kids are old enough to know how to play the game and they look up to me, the coach, for guidance and it's a great challenge for me to work with them twice a week and game day to improve their game. They could possibly play for Victoria or Australia.

2. I'm an aspiring sports journalist. In the summer I follow the speedway around the state and write, and also do some race night commentry. Very fun past time and you learn a lot dealing with media, writing reports and commentating. Top stuff. In the winter I write for the local paper covering country footy.

4. I love exploring the outdoors and hunting. My family are keen at rabbiting, using ferats, not guns. We also enjoy fishing. Rabbiting is great fun I must add too.

5. I enjoy having a hit of golf. With this day lights savings, there is nothing better then playing 9 holes at the local course after tea. Golf can be frustrating, but when you play a good shot it's the same feeling as kicking a goal in footy.

Interesting two posts to have back to back, i assume you guys aren't going to the footy together anytime in the near future? :D :p

BLUEBOY1
3rd November 2006, 16:47
G'Day Guys

My name is Anthony...I am 31 years young...love going to watch the mighty Blue boys wilth my mates (been a member since I was 15)...I have been working for the same company for 7 years as a Logistic Administration Officer (in other words 'A PEN PUSHER')...My interest are playing golf, going fishing and collecting die-cast model cars and I enjoy going for long bike rides on the weekends.

stokesy
3rd November 2006, 18:05
Stokesy

What the hell are you doing on here when you have exams!!! Get to the books my man!

I was studying while I was typing :D In fact, I do all my study while on Big Footy! :o

Interesting two posts to have back to back, i assume you guys aren't going to the footy together anytime in the near future? :D :p

hehehehe, there is nothing better than breaking a neck of a rabbit than skinning them :D

HBF
3rd November 2006, 19:50
My story so far is:

I'm a 32 year old Accountant and been at my current job for just over 5 years. Get to travel alot with my job, so I've seen a fair bit of Australia and New Zealand as well. Spend alot of times in hotels, so the chance to surf around BF keeps me sane

Been supporting Carlton most of my life, not all like most of you. Come from pretty dis-jointed footy family.

Mum - Essendon (Raised in Moonee Ponds, no choice)
Dad - St.Kilda (Arrived in Melbourne from England in the fifties and the first place he lived at was St.Kilda)
Sister - Essendon (Followed mum)
Brother - Kangaroos (Born in Sydney in the '70's. Kangaroos always on the TV, so followed them)
HBF - Carlton (See brothers story, but got converted when I arrived back in Melbourne in the late '70's by my next door neighbour)

Live with my beautiful gf in the Eastern Suburbs in Melbourne. Have lived with her since May last year. She's a slob, i'm a neat freak, she drives me crazy! :p

NWTYRX
3rd November 2006, 20:57
lets see;

im a 22 year old dole bludger, dont have a gf, i still live with my parents

my 3 favourite things are;

1. sport - love to watch most sports

2. movies - goto the movies at least 3-4 times a month, and hire a dvd every week

3. and finally, the internet, what would i do without it

bluesforever
3rd November 2006, 23:48
lets see;

2. movies - goto the movies at least 3-4 times a month, and hire a dvd every week

You must be a stoner.. love it.

HBF
4th November 2006, 05:36
lets see;

No!
A go getter like yourself - amazing!! ;) :p

Johnny_3
4th November 2006, 13:09
Interesting to see some of the older fellas in there 30s on bigfooty. I'm a 15 yo member of Carlton, i have been since i was 8...
I enjoy playing basketball football and soccer, i have played all of those at junior level, still play footy.
Enjoy hanging around with my mates, about to start working with toys r us.. my life revolves around sport i absolutely love it. and yehh,, i think thats about it.

Go BLues

big_sav
4th November 2006, 21:07
My story so far is:

I'm a 32 year old Accountant and been at my current job for just over 5 years. Get to travel alot with my job, so I've seen a fair bit of Australia and New Zealand as well. Spend alot of times in hotels, so the chance to surf around BF keeps me sane

Been supporting Carlton most of my life, not all like most of you. Come from pretty dis-jointed footy family.

Dad - St.Kilda (Arrived in Melbourne from England in the fifties and the first place he lived at was St.Kilda)
Brother - Kangaroos (Born in Sydney in the '70's. Kangaroos always on the TV, so followed them)
HBF - Carlton (See brothers story, but got converted when I arrived back in Melbourne in the late '70's by my next door neighbour)

Live with my beautiful gf in the Eastern Suburbs in Melbourne. Have lived with her since May last year. She's a slob, i'm a neat freak, she drives me crazy! :p

im worse

mum - richmond
dad - essendon
older brother - melbourne
little brother - kangaroos
me blues

anyways im an 18 yr old student studying aerospace engineering at RMIT in the city. currently first year. im still living at home which is fairly crap but i really have no choice when i live off $150 a week(work for coles). play cricket for mount eliza which is in the mornginton peninsula. been supporting carlton all my life, well sort of brainwashed as a kid from my mums best friend but i dont care(she showed me the light lol). thats my life in a paragraph. sad eh

NWTYRX
4th November 2006, 21:11
You must be a stoner.. love it.

nope, i don't take any recreational drugs

Lukesta63
4th November 2006, 21:33
Interesting to see some of the older fellas in there 30s on bigfooty. I'm a 15 yo member of Carlton, i have been since i was 8...
I enjoy playing basketball football and soccer, i have played all of those at junior level, still play footy.
Enjoy hanging around with my mates, about to start working with toys r us.. my life revolves around sport i absolutely love it. and yehh,, i think thats about it.

Go BLues
Easy there son! I'm 43 y.o.(and don't even think about calling me an old fart) and I'd be curious to see if I was the oldest poster?!

Anyway ,married with an 18 month boy(goes without saying he's a Carlton supporter).
Work for an airline,like bike riding (pushy),Brazilian Jiu Jitsu and a bit of running.
Followed the Blues since grade 2 (1970) , that's my earliest footy memory anyway.

Have a fewe laughs on here,am at work now actually Sat nightshift!!

mediumsizered
4th November 2006, 21:47
Easy there son! I'm 43 y.o.(and don't even think about calling me an old fart) and I'd be curious to see if I was the oldest poster?!

Anyway ,married with an 18 month boy(goes without saying he's a Carlton supporter).
Work for an airline,like bike riding (pushy),Brazilian Jiu Jitsu and a bit of running.
Followed the Blues since grade 2 (1970) , that's my earliest footy memory anyway.

Have a fewe laughs on here,am at work now actually Sat nightshift!!
I'm 8 weeks older than you and like you 1970 was a watershed year for my support for the Carlton Football Club, although I first noticed them in 1969.

HBF
5th November 2006, 15:10
im worse

mum - richmond
dad - essendon
older brother - melbourne
little brother - kangaroos
me blues

Yep, that is worse mate.
Interesting to see your little brother, and my only brother who is younger than me, both follow the Kangaroos.

Mr.Kennedy
6th November 2006, 08:36
Hi All

I have followed Carlton for twenty five years.My passion for the club drove me to spend time in Melbourne just so that I could see some live games,visit Princes Park,watch training sessions and meet the players.Unfortunately my only MCG experience was the after the siren loss to Hawthorn.I love Cricket,I used to follow heavily Parramatta and Liverpool but both have lost me to AFL.
I turn 33 this Sunday.I have 3 adorable children(if I do say so myself)Two boys, 3yrs & 8yrs and a 4 year old girl.I am Pathology Courier.
I visit BF daily but dont post all that often.I think its a great concept especially for non-Melbourne people.I miss fox footy and now would have been good to learn a bit more about Ackland.My 8 year old and I have been members since 2003,this year my 2 year old will become a member as well

BLUEBOY1
6th November 2006, 15:35
Come from pretty dis-jointed footy family.

:p

And I thought my family was bad:

Dad: Geelong (they won the flag the year to come to Australia)
Mum: Essendon (her Dad followed them)
Sister: Richmond (thanks to her friend in the street when she was young)
Older Brother: (thanks to his friend in the street when he was young plus living in Moonee Ponds)
Younger Brother (thanks to my older brother)

Dad tried to get us to barrack for Geelong and thank god we didn't listen.

ClayBlue87
6th November 2006, 16:11
19 yealrs old...been a member of one sort or the other for the last 18yrs... True Blue for life. Was two weeks old when i went to my first game. Carlton vs Hawthorn 1987 GF. Dad is carlton and Mum is hawkers. I was to support who ever won. Always have a soft spot for the Hawks...and Buddy Franklin!!!

In winter, my life is aobut football. In summer it is about my Dream Team for next year :D !
I play almost any sport and am a strong advocate for soccer to be Australia's no.2 sport. Im studying Biotechnology (Hons.) at Monash and occasionally play Guitar at some local pubs.

So thats me...Footy, Study and Guitar :) ...

Dramoth
6th November 2006, 20:30
heh... well, mediumsizered and Lukesta63 both just top me in the age department, I'm 42, but I beat them in supporting the club.

I started in '69, at the ripe old age of 5, when Brassarse was the captain/coach and I had to put up with my grandparents trying to convince me to support one of their teams (grandmother was a pies supporter and my grandfather was an essendon supporter) and I came out one day and just said, "I barrack for Ron Barassi" and they tried to convince me that I couldnt support him, but I stuck to my guns and they eventually convinced me that I supported the Blues. Then when he left, I was devastated... I was heart-broken and but I have never changed my alliagence at all in the time since then.

I loved my grandparents to pieces 6 days a week, and then we were all mortal enemies every Saturday and while I can at least put up with Essendon, there is no love at all in my heart for the team that my grandmother supported. They are both unfortunately no longer with us these days.

Thanks to my dad, I am half English and I am moving over there Permanently next year (because I can earn more over there and I am planning on buying a lot of property in France and Italy) and I am considering starting a Carlton Supporters club over there.

But despite being half English, I am a passionate Australian having grown up here... I get tears in my eyes when I hear the national anthem (or the Carlton theme song). I screamed my voice away on the 22nd of June when Australia drew with Croatia to qualify for the second round of the world cup and I am planning on losing it again during the rugby world cup in France next year.

I am a professional computer programmer and I am currently studying for a masters degree in Computer Security.

For anyone making plans on having a holiday over there, drop me a line and we can meet up one day and watch some football and drink some beer and have a good time.

Funkalicous
8th November 2006, 11:56
I'll keep my story short.... :cool:

I'm a Gold Coast based uni addict (studying multimedia). Just hit 21yo. Still kind of living that life too (so no wife, no kids, no house, and no worries...). I do project based work for a telecommunications company. A lot of that money gets spent on shiny things and for whenever I go out. I really don't save much money....
Despite sounding like a bludger, I do have plans for the future. Plans that are in motion.

As for physical activitites, I play indoor cricket and basketball once a week. I'm about 6ft.2 - 6ft.3, so I'm a fast bowler in cricket, and a small forward/shooting gaurd in basketball. I go to the gym most other nights. Considering the tedious nature of my degree/work, sport is the main thing that keeps me from going insane. I'm an outdoors/active person masquerading as a computer geek. :o - Then again, perhaps I'm an example of how much technology and media has penetrated the mainstream.

I was born a Carlton supporter. - So no story of a revelation or conversion here. There's a whole crew of Carlton fans up here that I share my support with. We have an absolute blast everytime Carlton are playing on the tele..... until they lose. :(

Things I like:
Movies - Who doesn't?
Beach - I'm trying to learn surfing.
Music. - Especially dance, rock, and techno. I've even mixed a few tracks, and I also play an instrument. Would love to do some DJ work part time.
Other Sports- Tennis, cricket, basketball, table tennis, snooker, poker.

HBF
8th November 2006, 14:03
^^^ Nice to see you back on BF Funky. I thought you had gone AWOL on us, or something like that. :p

Funkalicous
8th November 2006, 16:16
^^^ Nice to see you back on BF Funky. I thought you had gone AWOL on us, or something like that. :p

Glad someone noticed my absence.

It was a combination of assignment rushing (with caffeine poisoning), and my computer playing up on me.

Just what the hell has happened these last couple of weeks?!
I return to find that:
a) The Carlton Board split in 2
b) Cypher is not who he used to be
c) ODN is much, much sexier.
:eek:

HBF
9th November 2006, 09:55

Not just me mate. To be honest, it's good to have our other mod back on board. ODN was starting to get a bit to big for his boots round here!! :p

It was a combination of assignment rushing (with caffeine poisoning), and my computer playing up on me.

Ouch. Glad it's you and not me doing those exams!

Just what the hell has happened these last couple of weeks?!
I return to find that:
a) The Carlton Board split in 2

Virtual Board is going along very nicely mate. Any chance you want to put your hand up?

b) Cypher is not who he used to be

But he still thinks he's hilarious, when we all know that he is just making himself look silly. ;)

c) ODN is much, much sexier.

Did not need that mental image after quite a few drinks last night!

TheGeneral
9th November 2006, 12:17
But he still thinks he's hilarious, when we all know that he is just making himself look silly. ;)
An 5'6" accountant and a draft geek! :eek:

You must me a huge hit with the ladies. ;)

Gilly1972
9th November 2006, 12:27
An 5'6" accountant and a draft geek! :eek:

You must me a huge hit with the ladies. ;)

Well seeing as you mention it Cypher.......HBF does very well :eek:

TheGeneral
9th November 2006, 12:53
Well seeing as you mention it Cypher.......HBF does very well :eek:
Just making myself look silly again. ;) :rolleyes:

Gilly1972
9th November 2006, 13:16

Take heart in that it suprsises us all, including me :o

HBF
9th November 2006, 15:02

What else would we expect Cyp, oops I mean ILF!!

HBF
9th November 2006, 15:05
Take heart in that it suprsises us all, including me :o

Once again, Mr. Dave O'Neil everybody..........;) :D

Hu$$ey
9th November 2006, 19:46
I'm a 19 year old budding Accountant. Studying Commerce at Melbourne, first year, and want to major in Accounting before moving on to do my C.A or CPA, still haven't decided which one yet.

Started following Carlton in 1993 when I was desperately barracking them to get up in the GF which they unfortunately failed to do but since then it's been all Blues for me!

I love going to the footy with my mates, also enjoy playing footy/cricket, going to the movies etc, just the usual teenage stuff ;)

C4[2]Yo`DooR
9th November 2006, 19:53
I'll keep it breif.

I'm a 21 year old Science Graduate (officially graduate in December), and my hobbies are the following:

Carlton FC
Girls :thumbsu:

WalkerTexasRanger
10th November 2006, 13:29
and my computer playing up on me.

Porn......:D

WalkerTexasRanger
10th November 2006, 13:31
Yo`DooR;6202168']

Carlton FC
Girls:thumbsu:

In that order?

Congrats on grad - I just had my last ever law exam today!!! graduate in December too - can't wait!

HBF
10th November 2006, 14:06
Yo`DooR;6202168']I'll keep it breif.

I'm a 21 year old Science Graduate (officially graduate in December), and my hobbies are the following:

Carlton FC
Girls :thumbsu:

......player :thumbsu:

Funkalicous
10th November 2006, 14:52
In that order?

Congrats on grad - I just had my last ever law exam today!!! graduate in December too - can't wait!

Man, I would be a graduate too if not for changing degrees. :o
Mind you, who wants to be stuck doing something they're not meant for?

Good luck in your profession. Now you'll be stuck doing it full-time. :eek:

Funkalicous
10th November 2006, 14:56
Porn......:D

Worms, viruses....
My security let me down. :(

It's all good though. i've got a new machine with a new operating system. A blessing in disguise I think.

And Cypher, your new name is dumb. :)

Thalidomide
10th November 2006, 15:12
Hi I'm 20 years old and like everyone else here, love the Blues! I am in my second year at uni at UQ in Brisbane studying geology and thats going pretty awesome. Have a scholarship with Xstrata so will be going to Mt Isa in my holidays to do bring work that is nowhere near a beach. I'm pretty much your token uni student who drinks, parties but not too much because islanders are a hell of a lot bigger than me...

I am 6"2 and like to socially play basketball, tennis, squash and love the beach. I played soccer for 15 years of my life but only enjoyed one premiership and that was joint because there was no golden goal time!

I live in a sharehouse with five other people, one of who is my girlfriend. Lived on Sunny Coast, Grafton, Tumut and was born in the always cold Portland. I think thats about it - stalkers just pm me!

Muji
10th November 2006, 15:45
Hi i'm 16 and am studying year ten at school. i've loved carlton since i was eight saw my first granny in 99' and loved beating essendon in the prelim. I live in melbourne and love to play soccer, basketball and footy.My favourite sports other then footy would be soccer, cricket, basketball and rugby. I love going to the beach and kicking back there.

TheGeneral
10th November 2006, 15:52
And Cypher, your new name is dumb. :)
And the name Funkalicious is intelligent. :)

Does it matter? :cool:

bluegal1983
11th November 2006, 08:10
And the name Funkalicious is intelligent.

Does it matter? :cool:

It's actually "Funkalicous" which I am assuming is a typo??

Funky.....?? ;) :p

C4[2]Yo`DooR
11th November 2006, 09:39
In that order?

Thanks buddy,

Congrats on your graduation also. :thumbsu:

HBF
11th November 2006, 21:23
Hi I'm 20 years old and like everyone else here, love the Blues! I am in my second year at uni at UQ in Brisbane studying geology and thats going pretty awesome. Have a scholarship with Xstrata so will be going to Mt Isa in my holidays to do bring work that is nowhere near a beach. I'm pretty much your token uni student who drinks, parties but not too much because islanders are a hell of a lot bigger than me...

I am 6"2 and like to socially play basketball, tennis, squash and love the beach. I played soccer for 15 years of my life but only enjoyed one premiership and that was joint because there was no golden goal time!

I live in a sharehouse with five other people, one of who is my girlfriend. Lived on Sunny Coast, Grafton, Tumut and was born in the always cold Portland. I think thats about it - stalkers just pm me!

What part mate?
I've just spent a week at Sunshine Beach and loved it.

Thalidomide
12th November 2006, 08:13
What part mate?
I've just spent a week at Sunshine Beach and loved it.Awesome waves there! My parents still live between Maleny and Montville, in the hinterland. With dirty hippies

Smokey_22
13th November 2006, 21:47
Im a 20 yo uni student at Newcastle. My whole family follows Collingwood and sometimes i hate them bitterly for it. My old man cried when they lost in 03:) . The only time ive seen the blues in person was at the start of the year (http://bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?p=4601663#post4601663) when they came to newy to promote the game. I've never actually been to a game before and am looking at going sometime next season. Cant wait.

nicolbolas
14th November 2006, 20:54
33, been Carlton supporter since 79 grand final, winning was always influential to a six year old, before then was south supporter, dad wore the bloods colors for Noorat. Am Social Club member and can be found in vb bar behind the goals at TD games, or standing room punt road end at the G (hate to sit). Currently on month leave with work, awaiting the birth of first child, suppsoed to be 16/11, but no movement at the station as yet!!!

Cheers

DIG
15th November 2006, 07:32
I'm 29, married and work for an oil company in logistics. Current role's pretty good, get to travel interstate and internationally fairly often but never for more than a few days.

My Grandpa goes for Carlton. Grandma used to go for Richmond (until Gramps set her straight on about the 2nd date). Dad goes for Carlton, my olders brothers go for Carlton so it's no surprise i've been following them all me life. My missus doesn't give a crap about footy (but loves cricket tho which is a bonus).

Just had a little baby boy 2 weeks ago (our first) - no prizes for guessing who he follows already!

bluegal1983
10th December 2006, 16:50
Considering the board is very quiet today, I thought I would ressurect this thread and let you all know a bit about BG :D

I am 23 years old (24 in Feb) and live in Melbourne. I am a Membership Manager for an employer association and have been in this position for the past 5 years (first 12 months were spent doing a traineeship in Office Administration).

Carlton are a big part of my life and have been since I was 5 years old. My dad took me to my first game in 1988 and I haven't missed a Victorian game since.

I attended the 93, 95 and 99 Grand Final and must say, I am looking forward to the next time we are apart of the last day in September!!!

Other than that, I have been single for the past 4 months and have unfortunately moved back home (which isn't as bad as it sounds). I enjoy going out with friends, listening to music, holidaying, having a laugh and most of all, having fun!!!

cfc05
12th December 2006, 06:47
Would it be hard for you guys/girls to date a football fanatic who isnt a blues supporter?

bluegal1983
12th December 2006, 11:26
Would it be hard for you guys/girls to date a football fanatic who isnt a blues supporter?

No not at all.

My ex wasn't even a footy fan!!!

bluesforever
13th December 2006, 01:34

Well, your question appealed to me as my GF is an Essendon supporter, I can't ********ing stand it, so I have recently ALMOST converted her, even offered her my Carlton guernsey which she seems to like. So I think I have her over to us, but ******** it was hard, I hated her praising Essendon when they won a rare game last season.

bluesforever
13th December 2006, 01:35
No not at all.

My ex wasn't even a footy fan!!!

Well that would be easier for you other than dealing with a opposition supporter BG! Imagine if he/she went for Collingwood? :eek:

Gilly1972
13th December 2006, 07:59
I'm 29, married and work for an oil company in logistics. Current role's pretty good, get to travel interstate and internationally fairly often but never for more than a few days.

My Grandpa goes for Carlton. Grandma used to go for Richmond (until Gramps set her straight on about the 2nd date). Dad goes for Carlton, my olders brothers go for Carlton so it's no surprise i've been following them all me life. My missus doesn't give a crap about footy (but loves cricket tho which is a bonus).

Just had a little baby boy 2 weeks ago (our first) - no prizes for guessing who he follows already!

Congratulations mate
:thumbsu:

HBF
16th December 2006, 14:41

Not at all. My ex (a few back now) couldn't give a stuff about the footy, but she knew I loved it, so it has never really been an issue. My current gf is a Hawthorn supporter, but she's probably takes a bit more than a passing interest in it, and thats about all.

HBF
16th December 2006, 14:41
Congratulations mate

Tell us about yourself Gilly.

DIG
16th December 2006, 16:04
Congratulations mate
Thanks buddy! If i'm ever on BF in the middle of the night it's becoz there's a screaming little bubs keeping me awake. I...could deal with it myself, but hey, i'd hate to step on the missus's toes.:D

swans12
20th December 2006, 07:19
Im a 20 yo uni student at Newcastle. My whole family follows Collingwood and sometimes i hate them bitterly for it. My old man cried when they lost in 03:) . The only time ive seen the blues in person was at the start of the year (http://bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?p=4601663#post4601663) when they came to newy to promote the game. I've never actually been to a game before and am looking at going sometime next season. Cant wait.

Went to the Newcastle camp as well, Are you involved in footy up here with any clubs? Maybe the Blues ?

Smokey_22
20th December 2006, 08:01
Went to the Newcastle camp as well, Are you involved in footy up here with any clubs? Maybe the Blues ?

No but I meant to - was a little busy with uni work and such. It will hopefully be a priority next year.

3kzisfootball
2nd January 2007, 21:47
Well, being born in 1961 I must be by far the oldest one here!

I migrated from Italy (Milan to be exact) in the mid-70's when my father got a job offer that would have advanced his career considerably.

There is a long tradition of supporting soccer in our family. AC Milan hs been the team to support for at least three generations.

So with this tradition we came to Australia, and initially it was Sydney.

We couldn't get into Rugby League at all. No disrespect to anyone here that likes RL, but from someone who grew up on soccer, the idea of a ball being often on the ground being fought by scrums didn't really grab us.

I vaguely knew that there was this strange game played in Melbourne. The Sydney TV channels would show it on a Sunday night about 11.30 way past my bed-time.

Then just a few years later my father got another job offer in Melbourne. So we decided to give VFL (as it was known then) a go. The grand final was shown live, so imagine which one it was? It was the 1977 Grand Final between North Melbourne and Collingwood. I knew nothing about the game. I knew nothing about North Melbourne having been not very successful up to that point and who Barassi was and what he did with that club. I knew nothing about Collingwood and the history of that club and how much it was hated by everyone else.

And what a match to choose for the first one. Unlike Rugby the ball flowed from one end to the other in seconds. Possession could change in an instant. The ball was in the air...no idea at the other end would be good enough to tussle the other player and get the ball. And the scoring was good because unlike rugby the ball was kicked (like soccer) and for a few instants I had no idea whether it would score or not.

And of course it was a tight match....which ended in a draw. I said to my father that once in Melbourne we had to follow this game.

So we did. The question was which team? My sister who was living in Melbourne was in Carlton, and while my father wanted to live in the leafy eastern suburbs the rest of the family wanted to stay close. So we bought in Carlton which at the stage was not yet that desirable suburb it is now.

The choice was: Should we support Carlton, the suburb where we lived, or Essendon because their colours where the same as our AC Milan?

We finally went for the suburb where we lived and decided to follow the Blues. This was also helped by the fact that our new neighbours, a Milk Bar owner who had been there for ages were also Carlton supporters and took us to the first matches.

That was 1978. I knew nothing of the Blues illustrious past. As a bit of a leftie I was a bit taken aback when I discovered that the then Prime Minister, Malcom Fraser was the number one ticket holder, and this was somewhat augmented when I learned that Bob Menzies was also a Carlton fan (I remember when at Arden St when Malcom Fraser went into the grandstand some Norths supporters started booing and one even threw an orange!)

I went to the first match of the season at the MCG against Richmond. And I was overawed by the noise and athmosphere and how huge that stadium was!

Carlton lost. And it seemed that I would have had a hard time with that team. Trawling through the results:

Carlton 14.13 (97) Richmond 25.24 (174)
Carlton 13.17 (95) Geelong 15.19 (109)
Carlton 13.20 (98) Melbourne 11.19 (85)
Carlton 16.8 (104) Essendon 19.17 (131)
Carlton 17.14 (116) Sth Melb 18.9 (117)
Carlton 19.12 (126) Hawthorn 24.13 (157)

After round six we were second bottom from the ladder. But then Jesaulenko took over as captain-coach and the rest is history. This also brings me to the other thing I loved about football. It seemed to welcome people of Non-English backgrounds in its ranks. Ever since I have been following football there has beens the Silvagnis, Alessis, Busostows etc. and also my father and I were barricking in Italian and no one even flinched!

The 1979 Premiership was a highlight. In those days you could buy standing tickets and there I was in the old southern stand watching the Blues winning my first premiership as a Carlton supporter against Collingwood by a slender margin.

Of course I wish the Blues could be successful like they were then now. My eight year old doesn't want to say he is a Carlton supporter because he gets teased at school! :(

But it is cycle. The good times will come back.

My signature comes back to those good times. I rememebr I always brought my transistor radio to the football and 3KZ had the 'Captain and the Major' (I think) and the announcer would say: 3KZ is football! With a big emphasis on the 'is'.

Of course, because of my background my other passion is soccer.

I always been a supporter of the Socceroos since the early 80's. So I have followed them in all their failed world cup campaigns and I was in Sydney to witness their triumph.

Now I am also a keen follower of the Mebourne Victory and all my dreams are in navy blue and white.

swans12
16th January 2007, 07:18
Live in Newcastle Northern NSW, age 43, 3 kids 2 boys and a girl. Both boys play footy, age 7 in the under 10's and age 15 in the under 16's. Coach kids at local level (Mighty Blues), Newcastle Region and Northern NSW last year and do some talent identification for an AFL club.
Pretty involved in development of footy up here I suppose.
Have been a lifelong blues supporter since the early 70's after some friends moved to Melbourne and followed the Blues, as well as following the Swans up here as well.
Played 20 years of senior footy (thus the swans 12) in this area after changing over from another code.
Spreading the AFL gospel in a non AFL environment.
Looking forward to the Blues and the Swans having strong seasons in 2007

Smokey_22
16th January 2007, 09:03
Live in Newcastle Northern NSW, age 43, 3 kids 2 boys and a girl. Both boys play footy, age 7 in the under 10's and age 15 in the under 16's. Coach kids at local level (Mighty Blues), Newcastle Region and Northern NSW last year and do some talent identification for an AFL club.
Pretty involved in development of footy up here I suppose.
Have been a lifelong blues supporter since the early 70's after some friends moved to Melbourne and followed the Blues, as well as following the Swans up here as well.
Played 20 years of senior footy (thus the swans 12) in this area after changing over from another code.
Spreading the AFL gospel in a non AFL environment.
Looking forward to the Blues and the Swans having strong seasons in 2007

Hey im from newy too mate. Been to a few city blues games. It'd be good to see a pre-season AFL game here this year.

swans12
19th January 2007, 06:29
Hey im from newy too mate. Been to a few city blues games. It'd be good to see a pre-season AFL game here this year.
Unsure whether that is a goer this year. There is alot to organise and I am unsure whether the local AFL guy really wants it.

Do you play or just follow the footy.

I am involved in the Juniors at this time pretty heavily.

I know they are always on the lookout for players and supporters in the seniors as we are in the juniors.

Sublime
23rd January 2007, 21:50
A little about me...

I'm 24 and currently play soccer and cricket. I've played pretty much every sport there is to play at some time or another, i don't know what i'd do without sport.

I live in the Latrobe Valley in Victoria and have supported the Blues since i was 5. My dad tried bribing me by buying lots of Essendon stuff when i was small and impressionable and i must admit it worked for a while, but since i was 5 i saw the light and followed my mum to barrack for the mighty Blues! Also a few weeks ago i sent away for my first ever Carlton membership, so very proud i am! Can't wait to get down to lots of matches this year.

I work in a successful family Curtain and Blind business, with a view to take it over in the nearish future. I have a beautiful gf who is a more mad Carlton supporter than me, and has been a Gold member for quite a few years.

I love getting to melb very often to see alot of my friends who live there and see alot of live music as well. I listen to a bit of everything but old school punk and metal would have to be my favs!

Ummm i could keep writing for ages but that'll have to do for now:) Maybe i'll add to it some other time if someone asks me nicely haha.

sherb
27th January 2007, 14:02
Well, being born in 1961 I must be by far the oldest one here!

Ummm, no you aren't. :o

Once I recover from the shame of my Senior Citizen status, I will post a little about myself. :p

Smokey_22
27th January 2007, 14:40
Unsure whether that is a goer this year. There is alot to organise and I am unsure whether the local AFL guy really wants it.

Do you play or just follow the footy.

I am involved in the Juniors at this time pretty heavily.

I know they are always on the lookout for players and supporters in the seniors as we are in the juniors.

That sucks regarding the practice match.

I played a bit as a kid, but not much as late - mostly muck-around college stuff. Me and a mate are keen to sign up though this year.

Thrawn
27th January 2007, 19:42
Well... I guess I'd better add something since I've been on this forum forever. ;)

Despite what some people may think, I'm not in my 30's. Nah, I'm not an old codger... but I did have a stick at one stage. The Carlton logo on it was never scratched despite its many usages, although I think ODNs one is getting a bit worn out. :p

Yeah, I recently graduated and due to my work committments I'm no longer a mod. I am a research assistant working for the CSIRO atm, enjoy most sports (and used to play a few too at local/school level and that includes footy as a rover), love scotch with coke and have been a carlton fan since I was 5 years old. My favourite player of all time... well, I can't split Silvagni and Ratten. My all time best sporting experience was the 95 GF (as I was there), and I crave for it again!

I also enjoy a good read, and an avid gamer (I still play World of Warcraft from time to time, yes I am sad). Am also an animal lover (having heaps of pets as a kid does that to you), and at the moment I own a black labrador and two rats (no, I don't "own" John Howard). Every pet you can think of in the pet store I've owned one time or the other, including some more exotic animals (certain lizards) too. Dogs are #1 because they have the best personalities, and are the most loyal/friendly. Worst I've had were hamsters (litle buggers are antisocial and bite) and snakes don't really have any personality. Am considering getting a golden retriever.

Also have a large collection of DvDs too, not pirated mind you. I have err, around 200 in my collection - various action movies, sci fi, a lot of comedies (Red Dwarf and Blackadder FTW). I'm also a big Star Wars fan (as you can tell, that is, if you're into the SW EU) - especially Timothy Zahn's novels. In fact, Lucas nicked the name Coruscant off him. Yeah, "we don't care" - quiet, you. This is MY info thank you very much. :)

Live in Eltham, Victoria atm, lovely suburb. Have been overseas, seen most of Europe (Spain and Russia are amazing) but yet to visit the US.

I see that there are a lot of new faces, as I haven't popped in often at recent times. Hope to see you all this year, posting yer guts out and crushing the life out of illogical trolls.

HBF
28th January 2007, 12:10
I see that there are a lot of new faces, as I haven't popped in often at recent times. Hope to see you all this year, posting yer guts out and crushing the life out of illogical trolls.

I think we would all like to see you get back onto the main board and get that "rivalry" back with JD and the likes. :thumbsu:

swans12
29th January 2007, 06:35
Training starts tonight at Hawkins Oval.

Very successful club, details on the BDAFL website, Newcastle City Blues link on the website.

shacka
31st January 2007, 13:43
James, 27, Perth, atheist. Currently in the closing stages of my Master's thesis (examining Australia's media/political system), i tutor at the university across a couple of units and have just recently knocked off the first draft of a novel (looking into trying to get it published).

Drinks: Guinness, Whiskey (Irish and Scotch), Newcastle Brown Ale, Tiger Beer, Gin and Tonic, Reds, Carlton Draught.

Eats: Cashews, Bread, Chips, Pizza, Fish (diet is almost red meat free).

Interests: Philosophy, Football, Music, Writing, Culture.

Reads: George Orwell, John Steinbeck, Bret Eason Ellis, Franz Kafka.

Hears: Manic Street Preachers, Oasis, Super Furry Animals, The Clash, The Smiths, Iron & Wine, Augie March, You Am I, Wilco.

Watches: Simpsons (up to series 11), Cracker (UK), Arrested Development, The World At War (Doco series), I'm Alan Partridge, QI, Royal Tennembaums, Seven, Withnail and I, anything Monty Python (esp Life of Brian).

Players: Stephen Kernahan, Steve Silvagni, Brett Rattern, Adrian Hickmott, Andrew MacKay, Lance Whitnall.

bexta444
13th February 2007, 17:41
A little about me...
I have a beautiful gf who is a more mad Carlton supporter than me, and has been a Gold member for quite a few years.

Hehe that's me, yes I love the Blue boys!!
I'm 24 also living in Latrobe Valley. My mum got me barracking for the Blues as a youngster, and became a Gold member..ages ago, I eventually joined her - one the best things I've done. We've gotten a few wooden spoons since, I've truly learnt patience! But each game I take away something positive, we have some talented kids, it's great watching them come along.

I avoided any persuasion from my Dad to go for the Saints! Though I went to Moorabbin to watch them a bit as a kid. The days of "Plugger", was a great time to watch.
I work full time in a government job and also study part time in Enviro Science through Deakin Uni.

I love pretty much any sport. Also music and travelling.

Sublime I am very proud your signed up for 07 too, I have some great advice huh! :D