View Full Version : Mid Gippsland Football leagues

montfort
4th November 2006, 23:45
Anyone heard anything during pre-season

jcraw1
5th November 2006, 15:12
Don Webb (Morwell) has signed with Mirboo North

Dean Hendriske (coach) and Duncan Ireland (ex-coach) have left Trafalgar for Buln Buln. Apparently DeHaas is gone too, but yet to get confirmation. Vincent Proud is close to signing with Nilma Darnum

Dale Burridge is head coach at Yallourn North, replacing the nut Leo Galea

NoRumoursAllFact
14th November 2006, 17:37
hey anyone know a daniel werkan?? played for maffra for last few years i think.. how does he go??

jcraw1
14th November 2006, 21:50
hey anyone know a daniel werkan?? played for maffra for last few years i think.. how does he go??

I know the league pretty well but havent heard of him.. Sorry

Mobbenfuhrer
29th April 2007, 13:54
Just grabbed this off heraldsun.com.au in case it generates any discussion ...

MID GIPPSLAND
Mirboo North 15.9 d Yallourn Yallourn North 2.6
Thorpdale 10.11 d Boolarra 10.7
Trafalgar 12.9 d Hill End 6.11
Newborough 17.13 d Yarragon 6.5
Morwell East 8.11 d Yinnar 3.10

Res:
Yallourn Yallourn North 6.10 d Mirboo North 6.8
Boolarra 11.12 d Thorpdale 6.2
Trafalgar 14.8 d Hill End 2.2
Newborough 31.16 d Yarragon 0.0
Morwell East 11.12 d Yinnar 5.5

U-18:
Mirboo North 15.16 d Yallourn Yallourn North 2.7
Boolarra 12.12 d Thorpdale 4.6
Trafalgar 17.13 d Hill End 8.5
Newborough 26.14 d Yarragon 0.0
Yinnar 11.10 d Morwell East 8.5.

jcraw1
29th April 2007, 21:27
Despite the mass spending spree during the offseason at Yarragon, after two games they cannot pay their players. The pub bailed them out for the first two rounds (rumor), and the league knocked a mass exodus (a LOT put in clearances, apparently), but one has definitely gone.

The infamous Vincent Proud, who loves to change clubs and chase the dollar, is no longer coach and is looking for a new club.

EDFL follower
30th April 2007, 11:56
Despite the mass spending spree during the offseason at Yarragon, after two games they cannot pay their players. The pub bailed them out for the first two rounds (rumor), and the league knocked a mass exodus (a LOT put in clearances, apparently), but one has definitely gone.

The infamous Vincent Proud, who loves to change clubs and chase the dollar, is no longer coach and is looking for a new club.

Neither Yarragon reserves or thirds scored on the weekend and they dont have a fourths side. I wonder how much longer the Yarragon footy club will be in existence. I knbow they approached Darnum a few years ago about a possible merger but it doesnt look too good for them.

goodie
1st May 2007, 14:47
this year was make or break for yarragon and IMHO i think its going to turn out to be a break, hope the cricket club stays strong though, top notch after noon tea. best in the league.

EDFL follower
1st May 2007, 15:15
this year was make or break for yarragon and IMHO i think its going to turn out to be a break, hope the cricket club stays strong though, top notch after noon tea. best in the league.

If the footy club folds there might be a chance for another turf wicket in the league at Yarragon. It would be a great game to have a turf pitch on.

dustinmal
1st May 2007, 16:58
Would it help yarragon to survive if they applied to join the EDFL - how do the leagues compare in regards to standard of football?

goodie
1st May 2007, 17:52
ellinbank is probably a higher standard these days i would think.

wingnut1969
1st May 2007, 20:57
If the footy club folds there might be a chance for another turf wicket in the league at Yarragon. It would be a great game to have a turf pitch on.
it would be good for them getting a turf wicket as there would only be 1 person in yarragon hoping the footy club folds and thats jack elliot

jcraw1
1st May 2007, 21:14
ellinbank is probably a higher standard these days i would think.

I wouldn't think so... The likes of Morwell East, Mirboo North and Yinnar are too strong.. Even the weaker clubs appear stronger this year, and the stronger clubs have picked up some of the better players from West Gippy Latrobe (Don and Ben Webb from Morwell to Mirboo North, Tom McQualter from Traralgon to Yinnar, etc.)

goodie
2nd May 2007, 21:40
it would be close. its really hard to tell. they would sruggle in the EDFL though....

EDFL follower
3rd May 2007, 11:03
I wouldn't think so... The likes of Morwell East, Mirboo North and Yinnar are too strong.. Even the weaker clubs appear stronger this year, and the stronger clubs have picked up some of the better players from West Gippy Latrobe (Don and Ben Webb from Morwell to Mirboo North, Tom McQualter from Traralgon to Yinnar, etc.)

Ellinbank league is miles stronger than Mid Gippy. I reckon Nyora/Catani would beat Mirboo Nth/Morwell East by 10 goals. I also reckon Dusties/Koo Wee Rup would beat the likes of Yarragon/Hill End/Boolarra by 10 goals.

10 goals stronger right across the board in my opinion.

bigpapagman
3rd May 2007, 12:25
Ellinbank league is miles stronger than Mid Gippy. I reckon Nyora/Catani would beat Mirboo Nth/Morwell East by 10 goals. I also reckon Dusties/Koo Wee Rup would beat the likes of Yarragon/Hill End/Boolarra by 10 goals.

10 goals stronger right across the board in my opinion.

Oh God Yes. Could not agree more. We played Yinnar in a practice match and there was a goal in it.

Cheers

jcraw1
3rd May 2007, 13:48
Oh God Yes. Could not agree more. We played Yinnar in a practice match and there was a goal in it.

Cheers

You're going off a practice match, when teams *rarely* play their proper team???

EDFL follower
3rd May 2007, 14:37
You're going off a practice match, when teams *rarely* play their proper team???

I have actually played in both Mid Gippy and EDFL and can assure you from personal experience that EDFL is far stronger than MGFL. I also think that EDFL is getting stronger each year and Mid Gippy is getting weaker so the gap between the two will only get bigger.

jcraw1
3rd May 2007, 22:23
I have actually played in both Mid Gippy and EDFL and can assure you from personal experience that EDFL is far stronger than MGFL. I also think that EDFL is getting stronger each year and Mid Gippy is getting weaker so the gap between the two will only get bigger.

I have a stronger knowledge of the West Gippy and Mid Gippy, but my experiences in seeing the teams in practice matches, and talking to people who have played in both have been different.

I also don't think the Mid Gippsland league is getting weaker. I think there are better players in there this year than there was last year, but over the years they have also lost a few too.

I think it is hard to be impartial when you've got a vested interest in a particular league, and as a result your opinion may be slightly clouded. I mean no disrespect with that comment, so please do not take it as such. You may be completely on the ball with everything you have said.

mjhen3
4th May 2007, 08:33
From an outsider's perspective I'd have to agree that the EDFL would be well ahead. jcraw mentioned that a few decent players have left higher leagues for Mid Gippy, that also is the case in the EDFL. The Allen bros at Bunyip, Luke Franklin at Lang Lang among a heap of others. I'm not too sure where Bunyip will end up in the EDFL but if they were in the Mid Gippy they'd be the team to beat I reckon. Ryan Ablett as a gun full forward with the Allen bros et al.

EDFL follower
4th May 2007, 10:02
I have a stronger knowledge of the West Gippy and Mid Gippy, but my experiences in seeing the teams in practice matches, and talking to people who have played in both have been different.

I also don't think the Mid Gippsland league is getting weaker. I think there are better players in there this year than there was last year, but over the years they have also lost a few too.

I think it is hard to be impartial when you've got a vested interest in a particular league, and as a result your opinion may be slightly clouded. I mean no disrespect with that comment, so please do not take it as such. You may be completely on the ball with everything you have said.

I played over 100 senior games in Mid Gippy and can assure you that the standard from the mid/early 90s to now has dropped considerably. It probably has a lot to do with the SEC being privatised back then and a lot less jobs for young blokes in the valley. The Traf sides back then were far stronger than any of the sides now.

Likewise the EDFL with the inclusion of ex West Gippy clubs and the population growth around Pakenham/Cranbourne etc. has access to so many more players than it used to. It is one of the few leagues that is improving each year.

I believe that the Nyora side last year (EDFL premiers) were stronger than Warragul and Warragul played finals in WGLFL.

In fact the sides at the western or Melbourne end of EDFL are becoming that strong that I believe there will be a breakaway league or 2 divisions as the Warragul based clubs (Ellinbank, Dusties, Neerim South, Nilma Darnum) can not compete with those other clubs long term.

dustinmal
4th May 2007, 10:08
In fact the sides at the western or Melbourne end of EDFL are becoming that strong that I believe there will be a breakaway league or 2 divisions as the Warragul based clubs (Ellinbank, Dusties, Neerim South, Nilma Darnum) can not compete with those other clubs long term.

Yeah thats what i was thinking too - maybe an east/west division of the EDFL. Yarragon could be included in Warragul based division maybe.

Hoggwash
4th May 2007, 10:19
Why should Nyora be any stronger than Neerim or Dusties? Nyora is further away then any team. Things change each year. I remember 6 years ago Neerim were beating nyora by 150 plus and last year it was the other way around, just the way things go. Nyora success is because they had a good group of players that stuck together after juniors and the team was made of of a lot of players between 21-24 that had played a lot of footy together, thats the key to success. They didnt when any flags in juniors, just kept the best kids together. Other teams should look at this like nilma who lose all there good kids, they need to find out why they are leaving, big spending in 1 year will never rebuild a club.

Maybe a 2 division comp would be the go, this should have happened 3 years ago, 14 teams + drouin warragul and garfied, bass and PI and maybe tooradin or yarragon would have giving 20 teams and 2 equal divisions of 10 sides. The Ellinbank and West Gippy leagues should have just merged.

EDFL follower
4th May 2007, 10:37
Why should Nyora be any stronger than Neerim or Dusties? Nyora is further away then any team. Things change each year. I remember 6 years ago Neerim were beating nyora by 150 plus and last year it was the other way around, just the way things go. Nyora success is because they had a good group of players that stuck together after juniors and the team was made of of a lot of players between 21-24 that had played a lot of footy together, thats the key to success. They didnt when any flags in juniors, just kept the best kids together. Other teams should look at this like nilma who lose all there good kids, they need to find out why they are leaving, big spending in 1 year will never rebuild a club.

Maybe a 2 division comp would be the go, this should have happened 3 years ago, 14 teams + drouin warragul and garfied, bass and PI and maybe tooradin or yarragon would have giving 20 teams and 2 equal divisions of 10 sides. The Ellinbank and West Gippy leagues should have just merged.

Good point about Nyora. It is cyclical. That would be the advantage of 2 divisions. When a club is strong they play division 1 and when they are weak they drop back to div 2

bigpapagman
4th May 2007, 10:45
then warragul & garfield would be too strong...... theres no real way to win. there are going to be lopsided contests anywhere. ESPECIALLY when teams are spending the amount of money they are these days. Imagine if darnum or cora lynn for that matter, spend the same amount of money next year that they have this year, and retain all their current players? i hate to think what will become of teams like dusties & ellinbank!

EDFL follower
4th May 2007, 10:48
then warragul & garfield would be too strong...... theres no real way to win. there are going to be lopsided contests anywhere. ESPECIALLY when teams are spending the amount of money they are these days. Imagine if darnum or cora lynn forthat matter, spend the same amount of money next year that they have this year, and retain all their current players? i hate to think what will become of teams like dusties & ellinbank!

Why would Garfield be too strong in the long term. The town of Garfield is no bigger than any of the other towns in Ellinbank league.

Hoggwash
4th May 2007, 11:04
Garfield have been successful b/c they have retained all there players and looked after them, they always get flogged by drouin in juniors but beat them in seniors. They have kept blokes like the soumalis's, marsh's, mckenna and these blokes which is what each club should try to do. They would be good in our league but dont think they would dominate.

bigpapagman
4th May 2007, 11:05
winning culture, homegrown players, ability to draw outside players with massive ease; knackers & souma.

bigpapagman
4th May 2007, 11:13
excuse me? wouldn't dominate? rightio champ. Andy soumalis in the edfl. it would be a farce. he would be all like "ok brett anthony, i see your 40 touches and i'll raise you 20." would poll close to max votes in the b & f. easty would steal the occasional vote off him.

Hoggwash
4th May 2007, 11:30
Withers has gone, would easty play at garfield if they were in EDFL, doubt it. Ppl are saying nyora were as good as warragul, are garfield better than warragul?? I know hes a gun but is he that much better then Anthony, Gilliatte, Ablett, Brendan Hislop (did ya see the GF last year? 45 touches). Anthony did win a West Gippy league medal too.

bigpapagman
4th May 2007, 11:49
no, we arent talking circumstantial. we are assuming that easty would play for garfield in the edfl. yeah andy soumalis is that much better than any of them. and you cant even compare him to Ryan ablett. different type of players. yeah anthony won a medal. but how bad were killy bass then? they had no other players, and they were whipping boys.

Hoggwash
4th May 2007, 12:09
I still dont think he is miles better than those blokes, he might be better but the gap isnt as big as you say. Brendan Hislop is a freak, he has been a gun in eastern div 1. I am not saying he is better but he would have to be close, he kept nyora in that game last year, got 45 touches off half back and still kept his opponent quiet, and never misses a target.

Him and ablett are diff players but you can still compare because they are playing the same game, Ryan kicked 60-70 goals in the VFl and won the Port B&F, thats a fair effort.

bigpapagman
4th May 2007, 12:37
fine. Hayden & Adrian Burgiel. **** you. there is always going to be better players in the wg league than the ellinbank league. maffra, sale traralgon are all that far ahead of gfield, drn, wgl ,moe, mrwl. all of them. it happens in every league. lopsided contests.

Hoggwash
4th May 2007, 13:48
I know there are gun players in the WGLFL, souma, withers, burgiels, shuback etc. There are also guns in this league that would dominate west gippy, gilliate was a gun at wonthaggi blues when they lost to maffra in a GF and they had an awesome side back then with Dean Rice as coach. To say souma would get 60 touches a game and all league votes is a stupid thing to say. I still dont reckon Garfield and Warragul would dominate the ellinbank league, i reckon they would be strong but teams like nyora, catani and cora lyn would be just as good.

mjhen3
4th May 2007, 13:50
fine. Hayden & Adrian Burgiel. **** you. there is always going to be better players in the wg league than the ellinbank league. maffra, sale traralgon are all that far ahead of gfield, drn, wgl ,moe, mrwl. all of them. it happens in every league. lopsided contests.

Agree with most of that. However, I must pull you up on this. Morwell and Warragul have both beaten T'gon in the last 2 weeks.

EDFL follower
4th May 2007, 13:56
I know there are gun players in the WGLFL, souma, withers, burgiels, shuback etc. There are also guns in this league that would dominate west gippy, gilliate was a gun at wonthaggi blues when they lost to maffra in a GF and they had an awesome side back then with Dean Rice as coach. To say souma would get 60 touches a game and all league votes is a stupid thing to say. I still dont reckon Garfield and Warragul would dominate the ellinbank league, i reckon they would be strong but teams like nyora, catani and cora lyn would be just as good.

Sounds like you have a good knowledge of Nyora Hoggwash. Is it true that Rory Gilliate is about 15kg overweight this year.

Hoggwash
4th May 2007, 14:01
Yeah he is carrying a bit more than the end of last year but he is still playing good footy, he will be dominating again by mid season.

jcraw1
4th May 2007, 17:31

Traralgon? They're nothing this year..

It's probably Maffra, Sale and then the rest.

goodie
4th May 2007, 17:50
talk shit. garfield would win the flag by a long way, they are a far better team than anyone else.
hosswash, get off your high horse and stop talking nyora up at every point, we can see you have a connection and we know that they will be competitive again this year in the edfl. i mean this is the mid gippy thread, lets move on.
WGFL>EDFL>WDJFL>MGFL.

Hoggwash
4th May 2007, 23:44
Good to see ya stick up for ya brother goodie. I do have a conenction to nyora but at least they have won something, not like these nilma blokes pumping there tyres up all pre season. Garfield are a good side and should be in our league but i dont think they would dominate our league. I watched them play this year, take withers out and the good EDFL teams could beat them. I like garfield, great club hope they do well but in the end they should be an EDFL side.

goodie
5th May 2007, 08:54
yes, we pumped up our tyres, but we can also admit, where we are going wrong, and that our season is going to be as good as what was predicted.
you seem like a good bloke hogg, it's just something about nyora that pisses me off.
belive me mate, the last thing i would do is stick up for that fat melonselong of a human.

Mobbenfuhrer
6th May 2007, 18:39
Post something about Mid-Gippy! Quick!

Umm ... umm ... I've been to Yinnar South ... not Yinnar but ... hills and trees and stuff.

I think I went through Thorpdale and Yarragon along the way. Never see any footy there though.

Apparently The MGFL came about as a replacement for the Morwell and Yallounr Junior FA (back in the early days, Junior didn't necessarily mean restricted age, it could mean lesser grade).

That league had sprung from the Morwell FA, which at times was also known as the Mrowell-Mirboo league, the Morwell-Boolarra league.

Interesting places to have played : Jeeralang, Allambee, Coal Mine, Tarwin Valley, Morwell Bridge, Willow Grove, Haunted Hills, Morwell Remnants (who the hell were THAT mob?) and Erica.

There, thread back on track :D

archer
6th May 2007, 20:17
its amazing how many more football teams and leagues there were in the old days. spose there was not much else to do on a weekend.

Mobbenfuhrer
7th May 2007, 06:49
its amazing how many more football teams and leagues there were in the old days. spose there was not much else to do on a weekend.

No PlayStation 3s, for instance! Not even an amstrad or Atari!

Not much money nor means of travel, ppl were confined close to home.

Harder times meant a more intense need for a routine and ritual let-the-hair-down holiday.

I dunno, something like that!

PS: Another thing, there were no reserve teams, probably no under-age teams. So your current club could probably have fielded 3 teams back then! And no real training, no gear like footy boots, mouthguards, strapping. No serious health care eg rubdowns, exercises.

Much easier to play a game, and less admin staff required.

archer
7th May 2007, 09:19
PS: Another thing, there were no reserve teams, probably no under-age teams. So your current club could probably have fielded 3 teams back then! And no real training, no gear like footy boots, mouthguards, strapping. No serious health care eg rubdowns, exercises.

Much easier to play a game, and less admin staff required.

sounds like my type of football!

dustinmal
7th May 2007, 09:26
Here you go Mobbenfuhrer, to keep thread on track
from http://midgippslandfl.vcfl.com.au/default.asp

Round 4 Results and Ladder

» Team Pld Won Lost Drawn Byes For Agst % Pts
» Morwell East 4 4 0 0 0 339 187 181.28% 16
» Mirboo North 4 3 1 0 0 317 183 173.22% 12
» Newborough 4 3 1 0 0 348 247 140.89% 12
» Trafalgar 4 3 1 0 0 310 239 129.71% 12
» Yallourn Yallourn North 4 2 2 0 0 281 296 94.93% 8
» Thorpdale 4 2 2 0 0 256 314 81.53% 8
» Hill End 4 1 2 1 0 305 331 92.15% 6
» Yinnar 4 1 3 0 0 263 274 95.99% 4
» Yarragon 4 0 3 1 0 219 406 53.94% 2
» Boolarra 4 0 4 0 0 262 423 61.94% 0

:: Last Round Played: Round 4 Date: 5/5/2007

Home Team v Away Team
» Thorpdale 3.2 (20) v » Mirboo North 12.9 (81)
» Hill End 16.14 (110) v » Boolarra 8.14 (62)
» Newborough 10.6 (66) v » Trafalgar 8.6 (54)
» Morwell East 18.10 (118) v » Yarragon 5.6 (36)
» Yallourn Yallourn North 11.8 (74) v » Yinnar 9.7 (61)

LukeHodge15
21st June 2007, 19:26
Mirboo North have another recruit to unvail yet :p

jcraw1
24th June 2007, 21:06
Mirboo North have another recruit to unvail yet :p

Who? I see that they beat Morwell East on the weekend. That's two straight losses, after losing to Hill End the weekend before, after going undefeated to that point.

LukeHodge15
25th June 2007, 19:28
Who? I see that they beat Morwell East on the weekend. That's two straight losses, after losing to Hill End the weekend before, after going undefeated to that point.

He broke down in the 1st quarter with a shoulder injury. The Captain-Coach of last years premiership.

Both sides had a heap of players out. Morwell East with 3 of their best onballers and Mirboo Nth with there CHF, FB, Ruckman & a couple of onballers.

Its Mirboo Nths premiership to lose this year.