View Full Version : Robbie Tarrant - Bendigo Pioneers
TheClokes
6 Oct 2006, 09:14
Is he worth a pick, or just a waste of time?
rossfunke
6 Oct 2006, 09:50
If you ask me, it's a waste of time, just like his older brother, loves the drink.
He was seeing a girl i know and came across as pretty arrogant.
Didn't play much this year. Still eligable for another year in the Under 18 competitin.
safely kept
6 Oct 2006, 10:24
If you ask me, it's a waste of time, just like his older brother, loves the drink.
He was seeing a girl i know and came across as pretty arrogant.
Didn't play much this year. Still eligable for another year in the Under 18 competitin.
I have known Robbie personally for around 10-11 years and i believe him to be far from arrogant. The kid has himself switched on to what he wants to achieve and he has both the ability and desire to play at the highest level.
He has had a horror run with injury over the past 2 years, but with fingers crossed by the time pre-season is ready to start he will be injury free and ready to show is full ability in 2007.
rossfunke
6 Oct 2006, 10:26
I have known Robbie personally for around 10-11 years and i believe him to be far from arrogant. The kid has himself switched on to what he wants to achieve and he has both the ability and desire to play at the highest level.
He has had a horror run with injury over the past 2 years, but with fingers crossed by the time pre-season is ready to start he will be injury free and ready to show is full ability in 2007.
Fair enough. When I met him he was blind, and came across as arrogant. Making it well known he was Chris Tarrant's brother.
Good luck to him though.
c'wood-pies
6 Oct 2006, 10:43
yeah you were right the first time. i dont know about being arrogant, but definately LOVES a drink. hes a xavier boy and i know a few people that know him. but which teenager isnt like that these days
good luck to him
safely kept
6 Oct 2006, 11:06
yeah you were right the first time. i dont know about being arrogant, but definately LOVES a drink. hes a xavier boy and i know a few people that know him. but which teenager isnt like that these days
good luck to him
He has seen what damage has been done to Chris by public appearance and has used that as a learning curve. He might get drafted this year, but if he doesn't sign him up as a definate top 5 next year.
If Essendon delists/trades enough players to have 6=>8 picks, I'd hope we'd use one trying to second guess a bottom ager. Maybe Tarrant would be worth a shot.
What style of player is he? Like his brother - really a tall HFF? Or more KP or midfielder?
Palmer Stoat
6 Oct 2006, 11:21
If Essendon delists/trades enough players to have 6=>8 picks, I'd hope we'd use one trying to second guess a bottom ager. Maybe Tarrant would be worth a shot.
What style of player is he? Like his brother - really a tall HFF? Or more KP or midfielder?
From what I've read on BF, he's more of a power forward compared to Chris, who's more of a flanker. From memory, he's already 195cm and over 90kg. I'd be surprised if at least one club wasn't prepared to take a punt on him with a late pick.
if his name wasnt tarrant he wouldnt even be heard of.
safely kept
6 Oct 2006, 11:38
After some of the publicity that Chris has received this year, do you think the name becomes a help or a hinderance.
Robbie is a big boy for a 17yo looks exactly like Chris. Would make a great forward but likes to have a run in the middle, he is very quick for 195cm. Natural right foot kick unlike big bro.
HavUEvaSeenTheRain
6 Oct 2006, 11:40
if his name wasnt tarrant he wouldnt even be heard of.
Agree mate it is a joke we are even talking about him. Is very lucky to even be in the Pioneers but still good luck to him.
tales129
6 Oct 2006, 11:42
my mate from mildura sez hes **** and its all the name just cruising along in his brothers wake
rossfunke
6 Oct 2006, 11:50
... Robbie is a big boy for a 17yo looks exactly like Chris...
I rekon... spittin' image of Taz.
safely kept
6 Oct 2006, 11:57
my mate from mildura sez hes **** and its all the name just cruising along in his brothers wake
Bad enough to win league best and fairest in every age dividion he played. That had only been done by one other junior in the sunraysia league history and it wasn't Taz.
theGav56
6 Oct 2006, 11:58
came across as pretty arrogant.
Arrogance is the type of quality that a forward needs, or that a lot of football players can use, IF they can back it up with skill and ability.
Looks like Chris anyone have a pic?
Westy's_Warriors
6 Oct 2006, 14:31
Spent a bit of time coaching down at Xavier college this year, and i can tell u that robbie tarrant has all the physical attributes of being a good CHF. He is tall, Massive frame for his height also, and is extremely quick for his height. He does have a very alarming intensity problem however, and thus could see him slip out of contention. The kid is just way too soft at the moment considering he is playing against kids he is nearly twice the size of, and i don't think he will handle the transition from juniors to seniors very easily. He is a good kid and has a pretty level head. He won't get drafted this year, however may get picked up next season as a 3rd or 4th rounder, but if he lifts his intensity in games next year and starts to dominate a bit his value will quickly rise which could see him go a lot higher.
http://www.realfooty.theage.com.au/realfooty/articles/2006/10/05/1159641462566.html
Tarrant the younger a mystery to some
Emma Quayle, Canberra
October 6, 2006
AT EACH AFL draft camp, there are players who have not done much playing of late. Their season might have been ruined by injury, leaving recruiters perplexed about their potential.
On each trip to Canberra, there are other players, too, with familiar last names.
Robbie Tarrant fits both categories.
Tarrant would have played for Xavier College and Bendigo this year, had he actually been able to play. After a handful of pre-season practice games, the 17-year-old dislocated his shoulder and missed almost three months. He worked hard to get back, but hurt his knee in his return game and hasn't played since.
Given all of that, Tarrant might have been a bit surprised to be invited to camp this week — had his big brother not played for Collingwood.
advertisement
"I think Chris might have helped me," Robbie said. "If he wasn't my brother, then people would probably never have heard of me at all. I'd just be some guy who had played three or four games and been injured all the time. I don't think I'd be here at all."
Tarrant was only eight when Chris moved from Mildura to Melbourne, and younger still when he left home for Bendigo, to play for its TAC Cup team. "I don't remember much about it at all," Robbie said. "I don't even remember Chris, really. I can remember going to watch him play and things like that. But I didn't really know him."
The pair have become closer since Robbie took up a scholarship and started year 11 in Melbourne last year. Robbie has seen his brother in the newspaper, wondered how much it has affected him, but never really asked.
But while Robbie has always wanted his own AFL career, the brothers' relationship has not been all about football. "We're more like friends. It's more like we've just become mates," he said.
Many of the recruiters have never seen Robbie play, although at least four requested he be invited to draft camp, and John Beveridge can understand why. "It's fair to say he can take a mark and kick a few goals here and there," said the St Kilda recruiting manager, who saw Tarrant play one of his practice matches.
"He certainly kicks the ball quite well and he's a nice size, so all those things considered, he looks like a capable key forward. How capable, I'm not sure. We'll have to do our research."
Should he not be drafted, Tarrant is young enough to spend one more season in the under 18s. "All I can do here is my best, and let other people make up their minds."
Palmer Stoat
6 Oct 2006, 16:36
Spent a bit of time coaching down at Xavier college this year, and i can tell u that robbie tarrant has all the physical attributes of being a good CHF. He is tall, Massive frame for his height also, and is extremely quick for his height. He does have a very alarming intensity problem however, and thus could see him slip out of contention. The kid is just way too soft at the moment considering he is playing against kids he is nearly twice the size of, and i don't think he will handle the transition from juniors to seniors very easily. He is a good kid and has a pretty level head. He won't get drafted this year, however may get picked up next season as a 3rd or 4th rounder, but if he lifts his intensity in games next year and starts to dominate a bit his value will quickly rise which could see him go a lot higher.
Are you saying he lacks courage, work ethic, or mongrel?
Or all of the above?
Being a Tarrant, he would probably start well in his career, then taper off, joining his brother as a soft hack:rolleyes:
Fair enough. When I met him he was blind, and came across as arrogant. Making it well known he was Chris Tarrant's brother.
Good luck to him though.
You mentioned earlier that he loves the drink, but it sounds now like you only met him once and whilst blind drunk he was able to keep his composure of appearing proud, over confident and egotistical (arrogant). He is very skillful, not many can hold their composure when "blind". It does not make sense that he would just be saying "I'm Chris Tarrant's brother", surely he would have added to the conversation if he was so arrogant and I am sure you would of noted it. Maybe he had been drinking and maybe people were asking him and maybe he was replying..yes I'm Chris Tarrant's brother. Robbie holds himself well and as usual people love to interept it as being arrogant. In the Age today he sounds just an every day kid and was very honest about why he believes he was asked to the draft camp.
Westy's_Warriors
6 Oct 2006, 17:34
Or all of the above?
He lacks courage and mongrel, he doesn't have the desire to kill himself to win the footy, he will just keep getting the footy when it is presented to him nicely, he won't go out and throw his body on the line to get it. I might be a little harsh in saying this as he has had a lot of problems with injuries and may well be the reason for his lack of intensity, but i still think that he will struggle wiht the physical presence in the AFL, if he gets there.
mudgeathon
6 Oct 2006, 17:39
What area were you coaching in?
I played footy with Robbie for about 5 years at South Mildura and he was easily the most dominant player in the comp. People thought he only got votes because his name was 'tarrant' but that wasnt true he was head and shoulders clear of the next best player. He use to play ruck rover but was big enough to play CHF and you just pop the ball up in the air and he would mark it every time. An excellent contested mark.
Mmmm im with the others and in fact himself in saying that he is only known because he is a Tarrant... not having a dip at him but i really think he is being hyped up. im sure if he changes his game style and goes at it 100 miles an hour he would be fantastic but yeah its not as easy said as done, time will tell..
What hype? Robbie Tarrant has had little hype at all.
What often happens with injured players in under 18s is that clubs want to get a look at them before they play a 2nd year of TAC cup to try and "steal" them with a late round pick, hoping that if they played a full year next year they may go like 3rd round or higher. It may be because his name is Tarrant, but with players with talent who miss a year through injury it may be a blessing in disguise for the players.
hawks2008premiers
6 Oct 2006, 21:42
Known him through his juniour career
ABSOLUTE GUN
What chance does this kid have of getting drafted. Haven't seen him a yrs then ran into him at Derby Day, MASSIVE. Told me his done rowing for the past 2 summer seasons and its payed off big time. With his hight and shoulders i would love to have him in my team. I think he should be given a go. rate him better than his brother at his age.
sinepari
7 Nov 2006, 15:48
Ran into him first time in years yet you think he's better than his brother at the same age? I don't really get it..
footy_paul
7 Nov 2006, 15:52
you dont see him play in years, but because he is massive he will be better then his brother. Not hard to be better then tarrant at this stage. Therefore this thread is stupid, as are you
i've seen robbie play! watched him play in practice matches for bendigo was very good! presented well. his massive boy! which allows him for so much more development in his game. If he doesnt get picked up this year i think a few AFL teams will be kicking them selfs in year to come.
King Corey
7 Nov 2006, 22:35
Count em - every endorsement of the kid in this thread is posted by a 'newbie'.
Make of that what you will.
HavUEvaSeenTheRain
8 Nov 2006, 14:24
Count em - every endorsement of the kid in this thread is posted by a 'newbie'.
Make of that what you will.
Haha i was just thinking the same thing. Also Kirky don't make up stories if you had seen him in a practice match for Bendigo then you would be saying why the hell was he picked not that he was "very good."
you dont see him play in years, but because he is massive he will be better then his brother. Not hard to be better then tarrant at this stage. Therefore this thread is stupid, as are you
wouldn't expect anything less coming from a guy who states his location as Berwick, Do they even have running water there mate??
On a serious note, would a club take him with a late pick this year?
footy_paul
9 Nov 2006, 16:31
wouldn't expect anything less coming from a guy who states his location as Berwick, Do they even have running water there mate??
wouldnt expect anything smarter from a carlton supporter, planning on leaving the bottom of the ladder this year??:cool:
Ran into him first time in years yet you think he's better than his brother at the same age? I don't really get it..
Robbie has a lot to do to get to the level Chris has, however at the same age Chris was tall and lean and Robbie has a bigger frame. As with the Selwoods, I have no doubt that the older twins give their brothers advise on weights, drills and specifcs to help them better than they were at that age (developmental).
wouldnt expect anything smarter from a carlton supporter, planning on leaving the bottom of the ladder this year??:cool:
Mate the dons arnt that far off. We are last because we have a young list, you guys are 2nd last because u have a ******** list.:cool: Just another question, Do u guys have a go on a special bike to power your house in Berwick?
GRANGE_GSM
10 Nov 2006, 10:21
Mate the dons arnt that far off. We are last because we have a young list, you guys are 2nd last because u have a ******** list.:cool: Just another question, Do u guys have a go on a special bike to power your house in Berwick?
your a duckhead mate! berwick is 25 mins max from the city you tool!!!! mate you proberly couldnt afford a house out towards that way!!!!
On a serious note, would a club take him with a late pick this year?
Yes and moslty likely late, I personnally believe a club will take a gamble.
your a duckhead mate! berwick is 25 mins max from the city you tool!!!! mate you proberly couldnt afford a house out towards that way!!!!
pitty i live in an South Yarra townhouse... better luck nect time mate:D
footy_paul
10 Nov 2006, 15:41
bull********** you do. yes berwick has water, do you even know where berwick is? we have water. your either stupid or ignorant so either way you have no clue. Essendons list is better then yours, grow up, move on.
your dreamin footy paul... Carlton > Essendon
footy_paul
10 Nov 2006, 15:56
ask nuetural supporters
This boy can drink, and heaps.
He doesnt like footy though, professional part.
PS: He didnt try at DC.
Lingsface
10 Nov 2006, 19:20
Heard hes pretty overweight and looked real out of place at draft camp, hasnt done much has he?
Missing Doogs
10 Nov 2006, 19:51
Go to school with him (he's finished this year). Got some talent but a man playing against boys means he looks better than he is.
Only at Draft Camp because of his name, don't think he'll make it at AFL level, some of my mates who board with him reckon he's a massive pisshead.
But good luck to him, if he makes it.
wizard_9
10 Nov 2006, 22:52
Sounds like Cameron Croad to me.
bull********** you do. yes berwick has water, do you even know where berwick is? we have water. your either stupid or ignorant so either way you have no clue. Essendons list is better then yours, grow up, move on.
hey dont hate the player hate the game.....its not my fault that i'm loaded.
Missing Doogs
12 Nov 2006, 13:07
I would say Robbie loves his footy whereas Croad was just disinterested.
johnson_26
12 Nov 2006, 14:00
Go to school with him (he's finished this year). Got some talent but a man playing against boys means he looks better than he is.
Only at Draft Camp because of his name, don't think he'll make it at AFL level, some of my mates who board with him reckon he's a massive pisshead.
Why, go online on a public forum, just to badmouth a perspective draftee. We want to know about his playing abilities. Leave his personal life out of it, you have no authority to say stuff like that.
Why, go online on a public forum, just to badmouth a perspective draftee. We want to know about his playing abilities. Leave his personal life out of it, you have to authority to say stuff like that.
Yay, let's only say nice things. Won't that be fun and informative.
"A man playing against boys", he has just turned 17, he was playing against 18 year olds. He had a huge jump from juniors to TAC cup hence the injuries to prove it. In answer to the other thread, he is not over weight and I believe he is very focused now and ready to start training in a few weeks. I think highly of West Coast and their coaches and selectors, they wanted Chris, Robbie might just come your way.
Haha i was just thinking the same thing. Also Kirky don't make up stories if you had seen him in a practice match for Bendigo then you would be saying why the hell was he picked not that he was "very good."
He did play well in the last few practise matches however it was two Xavier games he played in that got the eye of a few clubs. It was those five clubs that requested him to go to the draft camp, fully aware that he has not been able to play or train. Clubs were impressed with his beep test results by taking the abovementioned into consideration.
Missing Doogs
13 Nov 2006, 17:24
His first game for Xavier I saw he kicked 6 goals 6 and he dominated, so he definately has talent and I'm not trying to badmouth him at all.
Just saying that he doesn't seem to be the type of player I'd be too excited if my club picked up; not too much SCI and possibly problems off field.
Gazelle
14 Nov 2006, 19:39
Heard hes pretty overweight and looked real out of place at draft camp, hasnt done much has he?
Obviously you have never seen the kid, he is six six and weighs only 90kg.
He works hard, hope he makes it just to prove you all wrong. ITS UNFAIR TO JUDGE HIM ON WHAT HIS BROTHER DOES.
Gazelle
14 Nov 2006, 19:42
Yay, let's only say nice things. Won't that be fun and informative.
Robbie Tarrant is a great guy that's had a few bad injuries. Wait till he makes it and people can eat their words. PROVE THEM WRONG ROBBIE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Gazelle
14 Nov 2006, 19:43
GET A LIFE. NOTHING LIKE HIM AT ALL#########################
footyman
15 Nov 2006, 13:15
Not a happy Gazelle by the look of it!!!!
He's a kid who some recruiting managers have probably not seen kick a footy this year so he gets the curiosity nomination. There's nothing wrong with that, its happened with players before and it will happen again in the future.
HavUEvaSeenTheRain
15 Nov 2006, 15:40
It wont be his drinking that will stop him being drafted as 99% of 17 yr olds drink themselves stupid. he wont make it because his not good enough.
tin can sam
15 Nov 2006, 16:07
It wont be his drinking that will stop him being drafted as 99% of 17 yr olds drink themselves stupid. he wont make it because his not good enough.
Wouldn't even be close to that amount.
johnson_26
15 Nov 2006, 18:34
Wouldn't even be close to that amount.
would you care to bet your life on that? 90+% would be about right.
footyman
16 Nov 2006, 09:58
You're right there.
A very high number of 17 year olds seem to carry fake ID and regularly go to nightclubs and get into the alcohol.
To make a point of one player doing it is silly and to deny that it happens on a larger scale is foolish.
vinnie_vegas69
16 Nov 2006, 10:09
90% wouldn't even be close to right.
I would suggest that 15-20% of people never touch alcohol in their lives, so obviously the percentage of 17 year olds drinking, when you factor in those who won't drink until they're 18, is going to be lower than 75-80%.
Perhaps around that culture, the number would be higher, but it is hardly the case that 90% of 17 year olds drink themselves stupid regularly.
nesko_25
16 Nov 2006, 10:26
90% wouldn't even be close to right.
I would suggest that 15-20% of people never touch alcohol in their lives, so obviously the percentage of 17 year olds drinking, when you factor in those who won't drink until they're 18, is going to be lower than 75-80%.
Perhaps around that culture, the number would be higher, but it is hardly the case that 90% of 17 year olds drink themselves stupid regularly.
Ha haha....hahahahaha. Sorry I thought that was a joke! I can tell you being a young fella living in country victoria that I only know 1 person thats aged 16-18 that doesnt drink and that due to medical reasons (drank to much when aged 14-15). If you think that you are kidding ya self. Reading your other posts I thought you were a knowledgeable man but...... I even know bushies players that like the bottle
vinnie_vegas69
16 Nov 2006, 10:46
Ha haha....hahahahaha. Sorry I thought that was a joke! I can tell you being a young fella living in country victoria that I only know 1 person thats aged 16-18 that doesnt drink and that due to medical reasons (drank to much when aged 14-15). If you think that you are kidding ya self. Reading your other posts I thought you were a knowledgeable man but...... I even know bushies players that like the bottle
A much higher percentage of country people drink, especially when underaged, than city people.
First, it's more part of the culture, as you have testified to, and second, the rate of drug use is lower. I knew guys who didn't drink when they were underage because they were too busy getting high as a kite on the full gamut of anything they could get, from marijuana to heroin.
Not to mention that there are significantly more people who come from cultures where drinking simply isn't the done thing.
Are you suggesting that there aren't Muslim's who don't drink under any circumstances? People from Asian backgrounds who won't drink, A) because they suffer from Alcohol flush reaction and B) because culturally and spiritually it is frowned upon. There is also many people who simply do not drink because they prefer to lead a healthier lifestyle, or they follow their religion closely enough that they do not ever drink.
I don't think you know nearly enough about the wide range of cultures that exist to be suggesting anything different.
nesko_25
16 Nov 2006, 11:00
A much higher percentage of country people drink, especially when underaged, than city people.
First, it's more part of the culture, as you have testified to, and second, the rate of drug use is lower. I knew guys who didn't drink when they were underage because they were too busy getting high as a kite on the full gamut of anything they could get, from marijuana to heroin.
Not to mention that there are significantly more people who come from cultures where drinking simply isn't the done thing.
Are you suggesting that there aren't Muslim's who don't drink under any circumstances? People from Asian backgrounds who won't drink, A) because they suffer from Alcohol flush reaction and B) because culturally and spiritually it is frowned upon. There is also many people who simply do not drink because they prefer to lead a healthier lifestyle, or they follow their religion closely enough that they do not ever drink.
I don't think you know nearly enough about the wide range of cultures that exist to be suggesting anything different.
I never suggested that different races drink, where did you pull that from? I suppose being high is better than being pissed. 90% of teenages abuse some sort of substance, I was in Melb for the Pearl Jam concert on tues and went out clubbing and there were sh.it loads of underages out using fake IDs.
vinnie_vegas69
16 Nov 2006, 11:08
I never suggested that different races drink, where did you pull that from?
I pulled that from this comment:
90% of teenages abuse some sort of substanceWhen the fact is, it simply isn't true. People from different races, religions and cultural backgrounds are teenagers too, and many of them do not drink or use any kind of illicit substance. Not to mention the many young people who simply decide that they won't drink until they are 18.
If you are making a statement as to what you and your mates, and the crowd you hang around with do, then fine, but you are trying to suggest that of every 10 people between the ages of 13 and 17, 9 of them drink.
That is quite simply factually incorrect. You can argue all you like, but if your assertion is that 90% of all teenagers drink, then you are wrong.
I was in Melb for the Pearl Jam concert on tues and went out clubbing and there were sh.it loads of underages out using fake IDs.
And did it ever occur to you that you don't ever run across the people that aren't drinking and aren't going out with fake IDs?
I mean, the people who sit at home and study on a Tuesday night aren't likely to factor into the scene, are they?
His first game for Xavier I saw he kicked 6 goals 6 and he dominated, so he definately has talent and I'm not trying to badmouth him at all.
Just saying that he doesn't seem to be the type of player I'd be too excited if my club picked up; not too much SCI and possibly problems off field.
I know you know your club much better than I do however Robbie is very raw and under your coaches I believe they can mould Robbie over the next few years into a very exciting player. I believe your club can transform him into another or similar Adam Goodes type player.
Robbie does not have problems off the field, he struggled with being continously struck down with injuries and had a really rough time during the year. These other threads have got off the track, trust me, he is focused and if he got picked up by your club he will give it 100%.
sarbear
18 Nov 2006, 01:34
this is going to sound really uninformed (which is cool because i know nothing of how the whole rookie list works) but. . . .
what would a club lose by drafting him and taking a chance. from what i have heard they dont get paid nearly as muchas the main squad boys so it wouldnt be a huge financial burdon and the club only has to offer a two year contract which they can break anyway. Freo now has no one on their rookie list (the i expect bennet will get redrafted.)
is there a certain amount of rookies a club is required to have or is it all up to the club?.
vinnie_vegas69
18 Nov 2006, 09:16
this is going to sound really uninformed (which is cool because i know nothing of how the whole rookie list works) but. . . .
what would a club lose by drafting him and taking a chance. from what i have heard they dont get paid nearly as muchas the main squad boys so it wouldnt be a huge financial burdon and the club only has to offer a two year contract which they can break anyway. Freo now has no one on their rookie list (the i expect bennet will get redrafted.)
is there a certain amount of rookies a club is required to have or is it all up to the club?.
He's too young to be eligible for rookie listing - players are only eligible if they're "top age".
That essentially means that if they young enough to play another season of U/18's next year, then they aren't eligible to be rookie listed.
Rabbito
22 Nov 2006, 21:54
I know you know your club much better than I do however Robbie is very raw and under your coaches I believe they can mould Robbie over the next few years into a very exciting player. I believe your club can transform him into another or similar Adam Goodes type player.
Robbie does not have problems off the field, he struggled with being continously struck down with injuries and had a really rough time during the year. These other threads have got off the track, trust me, he is focused and if he got picked up by your club he will give it 100%.
where do you fit in nipper? you seem to know a far bit about the tarrant's, chris and robbie. I was a the mildura trotts tonite and robbie was there with a group of local young blokes, looks as fit as a bull, arm in a sling, had a shoudler clean out a guess. I would mind look as unfit and as fat as it has been said he is on thie tread. Nipper u also have an eye for ben Mc but don't post on the sunraysia forum??
footyman
22 Nov 2006, 22:09
I was a the mildura trotts tonite
You find a few winners?