View Full Version : Wayne Carey
danzan22
8 Nov 2006, 18:32
im not a roos supporter but this man had some carrer and took some awsome marks, a must watch for the roos fans and not bad for other supporters.
g42H2QwJZEg&NR
or you can go to this link http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=g42H2QwJZEg&NR
weapon_of_choice
9 Nov 2006, 08:47
Geez that brings back memories. One of the best videos i have ever seen!
Abou********e superstar who couldnt be beaten. Cheers danzan.
palisades
9 Nov 2006, 10:37
Awesome stuff, I wonder who put it together. It's not from the Story So Far video, so it might have been done by the club for something
Gasometer
9 Nov 2006, 13:07
NO 1 in there is that mark over Timmy W...what a night that WAS!
Gaso
Thanks for that, best ever player without a doubt.
danzan22
9 Nov 2006, 18:48
thought i would be nice to the roos fans and also give them this vid of carey
rQ2gI85zwd0
Awesome stuff, I wonder who put it together. It's not from the Story So Far video, so it might have been done by the club for something
It's off a CD-Rom that was selling in about 1999 by MCD Video Card.
They had about 20 different ones with club or player highlights.
Hard Ball Get
13 Nov 2006, 20:03
Best i've seen.
If you want to watch the best game ever played by Carey (and possibly the best ever by an individual in the history of the game) do yourself a favour and buy/rent/steal North Melbourne vs Melbourne (@ MCG) 1996.
This was played during the Atlanta Olympics and was never shown on FTA (only on C7). Was a crappy cold night - small crowd - and an often forgotten gem.
It wasn't just the 11 goals from CHF - it was the total and utter dominance over an opponent (of which he had about 5 that night).
Hard Ball Get
15 Nov 2006, 07:51
If you want to watch the best game ever played by Carey (and possibly the best ever by an individual in the history of the game) do yourself a favour and buy/rent/steal North Melbourne vs Melbourne (@ MCG) 1996.
This was played during the Atlanta Olympics and was never shown on FTA (only on C7). Was a crappy cold night - small crowd - and an often forgotten gem.
It wasn't just the 11 goals from CHF - it was the total and utter dominance over an opponent (of which he had about 5 that night).
Yeah I have it on tape.
11 goals
31 disposals
and something like 18 marks.
Sensational game.
The only bad thing about it is that Rex and Malcom blight are commentating:thumbsd:
BK Eaglesfan
16 Nov 2006, 12:05
That goal around Jakovich was a ripper, pure class.....it was also the day I wondered if perhpas the best of Jakovich had already passed before his knee recos. Carey was sooo good, and got round him so easily, something he hadn't always done.
footyfreak
16 Nov 2006, 22:51
******** he really was that good wasn't he???
You forget just a little over time...but man could he play.
Couldn't get the second vid to work either but the first was a ripper :thumbsu: :thumbsu:
King Corey
17 Nov 2006, 00:51
danzan22 - I love you.
That goal around Jakovich was a ripper, pure class.....it was also the day I wondered if perhpas the best of Jakovich had already passed before his knee recos. Carey was sooo good, and got round him so easily, something he hadn't always done.
I reckon Carey usually had the edge of Javovich when he ran off him like that. But too many times his ego got the better of him, and he'd try and go body on body against the bigger Jakovoch. It was only on those occasions when Carey had his colours lowered.
But for mine - that was the best duel/rivalry in my 30 years of watching footy.
Rod Stroker
19 Nov 2006, 16:31
******** he really was that good wasn't he???
You forget just a little over time...but man could he play.
My thoughts exactly. Those vids just reminded me that the blokes courage and skills on a football field were unsurpassed.
I remember one game against the Bulldogs when in the opening minutes Carey edged Chris Grant under the ball like he was a b grade rookie, turned around and slotted it straight through the middle from 55 out.
Thats why they called him The King!
A grade superstar is what comes to mind after watching that clip. he had it all! i'd love to see jono brown on one team and carey on the other in their prime now that would be a ripping game to watch.
danzan22
18 Dec 2006, 19:11
A grade superstar is what comes to mind after watching that clip. he had it all! i'd love to see jono brown on one team and carey on the other in their prime now that would be a ripping game to watch.
now that would be a game i would go and see, brown would kick 8 but would probably just be beaten by carey who kicks 10.
NimChief
18 Dec 2006, 19:32
Come on fellas.
Brown isn't fit enough to tie Carey's shoe laces.
micky_11
18 Dec 2006, 22:10
Come on fellas.
Brown isn't fit enough to tie Carey's shoe laces.
Well said Nim, and your right, Brown is in no class carey was in
foxdoog50
19 Dec 2006, 11:16
Bloody great stuff. Any suppoter would have to admire how he played!!! Bloody great stuff
I couldnt have been in a better position at Subi when he kicked that goal.Where he turned and ran past Jacko I was 3 rows from the front
That goal on i think it was Smart-ass off the ground was amazing, but if anyone could do it, it was the King. Shame his carrer ended how it did though.
viccles
20 Dec 2006, 06:22
Ahh memories :D Carey = absolute champion
Super Goalie
4 Jan 2007, 00:46
One of the best footballer I've seen live, is right up there with sheer acts of brilliance with those in the elk of Darren Jarman, of which there are few.
Carey's domination over Geelong in the Sunday Night Q/F against Geeeeelong in 97 or 98 was the best single handed dominance of a finals match I can remember. Kicked about a million goals, 3000 touches and no one could get near him. From memory Kangas lost?
Rod Stroker
9 Jan 2007, 15:12
Carey's domination over Geelong in the Sunday Night Q/F against Geeeeelong in 97 or 98 was the best single handed dominance of a finals match I can remember. Kicked about a million goals, 3000 touches and no one could get near him. From memory Kangas lost?
The Sunday night QF against Geelong (2nd) was in 97 and the Roos (7th) won.
Carey did indeed dominate that night, but an even better finals performance against the Cats was the 94 PF. Kicked 6 goals, had about 4 opponents on the day and was BOG by a mile playing injured.
The Sunday night QF against Geelong (2nd) was in 97 and the Roos (7th) won.
Carey did indeed dominate that night, but an even better finals performance against the Cats was the 94 PF. Kicked 6 goals, had about 4 opponents on the day and was BOG by a mile playing injured.
********en oath, he tore his calf muscle the week before, was a six week injury, didnt train, couldnt walk, came into the game and did that.
Seriously one of the greatest performances on a football field that game of Careys in 94
Rod Stroker
10 Jan 2007, 12:33
********en oath, he tore his calf muscle the week before, was a six week injury, didnt train, couldnt walk, came into the game and did that.
Seriously one of the greatest performances on a football field that game of Careys in 94
It was his performances in that 94 finals series against Hawthorn and Geelong that earned him his champion status, even at such a tender age.
danzan22
10 Jan 2007, 12:43
I found a few other vids of carey taking marks and such, enjoy.
i-rehqX5CA0
Nq1MBZBoAqE
Heres a video i know kanga fans will love.
HY1jEcDvEKw
this one is painful to watch for me
Bs1l1rN6aqs
Hard Ball Get
10 Jan 2007, 18:36
Keep it up mate.
Great viewing
Roo-Boy
15 Jan 2007, 20:00
I found a few other vids of carey taking marks and such, enjoy.
i-rehqX5CA0
Nq1MBZBoAqE
Heres a video i know kanga fans will love.
HY1jEcDvEKw
this one is painful to watch for me
Bs1l1rN6aqsThanks so much danzen22 for those Wayne Carey videos good work watching those videos really cheers me up:thumbsu:
gokangas
15 Jan 2007, 21:30
And to think there are still some people who reckon Ablett was the greatest ever. No player in the history of the game won more games for his team than Carey - add the pressure of captaincy and playing the hardest position on the ground to dominate, you have the greatest player ever. There is no doubt.
Smyth94
17 Jan 2007, 15:05
And to think there are still some people who reckon Ablett was the greatest ever. No player in the history of the game won more games for his team than Carey - add the pressure of captaincy and playing the hardest position on the ground to dominate, you have the greatest player ever. There is no doubt.
That left-foot banana against the 'Dons in '99 was just CRAZY... I wasn't able to go to that game but I think it would've been one of the best games of the 90's... two genuine top teams going at it, goal for goal, both power forwards (Carey and Lloyd) kicking 10 and 7 respectively. The 1999 GF would've been one of the best in the modern era had it been Essendon vs North Melbourne
dyertribe
17 Jan 2007, 16:12
Come on fellas.
Brown isn't fit to tie Carey's shoe laces.
2001 - 21 games
2002 - 19
2003 - 19
2004 - 17
2005 - 14
2006 - 10
He struggles to tie his own.
J-Ro-20
23 Jan 2007, 12:11
Thats awesome! Gotta love Carey. I wish Carey was as good as these clips when he came to the Crows...
"Carey the king...Hes got it again!!" - Bruce
2001 - 21 games
2002 - 19
2003 - 19
2004 - 17
2005 - 14
2006 - 10
He struggles to tie his own.
But when Carey has been asked, who is most like him today. The answer is Jon Brown. But what would Carey know.
dyertribe
26 Jan 2007, 13:48
I love BigFooty :D
danzan22
30 Jan 2007, 12:46
http://img300.imageshack.us/img300/5030/carey1ov3.jpg (http://imageshack.us)'
http://img329.imageshack.us/img329/4250/10111478ff5.jpg (http://imageshack.us)
I'm bored. :D
dyertribe
30 Jan 2007, 13:07
http://img300.imageshack.us/img300/5030/carey1ov3.jpg (http://imageshack.us)
That's my favourite.
In abysmal wet weather conditions in the first week of the 99 finals, in one motion he ran to the arc, then doubled back to the square and took that towering chest mark over a pack of 2-3 defenders and the odd teammate.
Majestic.
afl genius
3 Feb 2007, 10:47
Always wondered if he was the 3rd best player ever or the 2nd, after watching these im convinced he was the second greatest player ever, what a champ
Hard Ball Get
3 Feb 2007, 14:44
Whats the difference between Wayne Carey and a Kangaroo?
A Kangaroo can ******** whoever it wants and still be a Kangaroo.
Whats the difference between Wayne Carey and a Kangaroo?
A Kangaroo can ******** whoever it wants and still be a Kangaroo.
Yeah good one mate....
You sure know how to get old jokes out of the cupboard...
Hard Ball Get
3 Feb 2007, 18:43
Yeah good one mate....
You sure know how to get old jokes out of the cupboard...
Thats what I'm here for.
NimChief
4 Feb 2007, 00:19
Always wondered if he was the 3rd best player ever or the 2nd, after watching these im convinced he was the second greatest player ever, what a champ
Matthews rates Carey as the greatest ever.
Enough said.