View Full Version : Memo:Aussie cricket selectors
portentous
10th November 2006, 16:55
Pick Taity for the Ashes and ODI series.
PAFC2004
11th November 2006, 01:28
I'm sure all of the Aussie selectors that read the Port board will pay attention ;)
But yes, I agree.
morell
11th November 2006, 10:19
GO THE POMS! :p
PAFC2004
11th November 2006, 12:50
Pfft... What?
morell
11th November 2006, 16:03
Pfft... What?I hope the English smear the Aussie cricketers like marmalade on a crumpet.
I doubt it will happen though.
Toots Hibbert
11th November 2006, 19:07
GO THE POMS! :p
Do you enjoy the benefits of living in this country? Well then barrack for the team that represents this country.
morell
11th November 2006, 20:18
Do you enjoy the benefits of living in this country? Well then barrack for the team that represents this country.I will reply to this in PM to avoid un-sightly poster battles.
quiksilva
11th November 2006, 20:47
Do you enjoy the benefits of living in this country? Well then barrack for the team that represents this country.
Ditto that one :)
morell
11th November 2006, 23:47
Ditto that one :)Oh I'm sorry, I think I may have bumped into the facism board. My bad.
I will assume you follow Freo with as much gusto as you do WC, as after all, you LOVE WA so much you would hate to see a team from there lose ... right?
because that is the case with us Port fans, ever single one of us lives within the Port Adelaide City Council, and we love it when the Crows win because they are from the same state that supplies us with such a great lifestyle.
Schlez
12th November 2006, 08:34
Are you high? Morell should be free to barrack for who he/she likes. One of the great benefits is to barrack for whoever you want. Comments like that sounds like Costello and his rant on adhering to 'Australian' values, whatever that is. Or maybe you're taking the piss :rolleyes:
On another note I hope Australia muzzle the poms
Toots Hibbert
12th November 2006, 09:19
Are you high? Morell should be free to barrack for who he/she likes. One of the great benefits is to barrack for whoever you want. Comments like that sounds like Costello and his rant on adhering to 'Australian' values, whatever that is. Or maybe you're taking the piss :rolleyes:
On another note I hope Australia muzzle the poms
Just stating a point of view, Schlez, in response to another post. If others don't agree that's up to them. I'm not on a crusade about this.
Sandola
12th November 2006, 10:27
Oh, eek, Toots. I'm not gonna barrack for a Victorian side, no matter how many bloody benefits I'm enjoying over here.
Toots Hibbert
12th November 2006, 10:59
Oh, eek, Toots. I'm not gonna barrack for a Victorian side, no matter how many bloody benefits I'm enjoying over here.
Club allegiance is a different issue IMO.
Just to clarify my earlier post, I think if you're just living here for a few years and regard another country as your home then fine. However if you are a permanent resident here and regard this as your home then I feel my comment applies. Each to their own I guess.
Schlez
12th November 2006, 12:05
Fair enough Toots, one of the great things is that we can have differing opinions and the freedom to express those opinions (well to a point). I know if I moved to another country, by choice or not, I would never give up my love my home country, and that love would always come first, particularly in regard to sporting teams. However I would be eternally grateful to the country that had granted me residence.
Lightning_Rod
12th November 2006, 15:58
where is morell from, fair enough if she wasnt born here and has an ifinity to her homeland, but if its just to be different then thats rubbish.
Sandola
12th November 2006, 16:34
where is morell from, fair enough if she wasnt born here and has an ifinity to her homeland, but if its just to be different then thats rubbish.
Yeh. Let's all march in lockstep (if not goosestep). Affinity.
Toots Hibbert
12th November 2006, 17:59
If I had my time again I would have posted in a more diplomatic fashion. Morell and I have exchanged pms and as I said I didn't intend to cause offence and I was more thinking about cases like the Australian Rugby League player who concocted a New Zealand grandmother in order to play test match level League. I also find it odd that some second generation Australians supported the land of their parents against Australia in the soccer world cup.
It's hard to govern emotions. I think the correct principle is to support the country you call home but I can understand recent arrivals feeling loyalty to their old country. I recall my parents experiencing a great deal of angst about the decision to become Australian citizens because of issues like this but having made their decision they didn't look back. It was easier for us kids at the time. It's Australia first and our former country second. Like I said each to their own.
morell
12th November 2006, 18:20
where is morell from, fair enough if she wasnt born here and has an ifinity to her homeland, but if its just to be different then thats rubbish. Err, firstly, its a he. :D
Secondly, no I was not born in Australia, I am a Kiwi who holds dual citizenship of both Australia and NZ, however I do not consider myself Australian.
I am not going for the Poms to be different. I am going for the Poms because I think the Australian cricket team are one of the most arrogant and hypocritical sporting institutions in the world.
If NZ is not involved I decide to go for the team based on their respective merits. I went for the Wallabies (*shudder*) against England in the '03 world cup final. I supported the Socceroos in the World Cup. I go for the Poms in the Ashes and ANYONE against Australia in Netball etc etc. Just like if Port was not involved, you would go for a team based on your individual feeling of the other teams.
Australians seem to think that when a national sporting team takes the field, it some how transforms into warfare, its as if the English are invading, we must win at all costs or the national pride will be tarnished, so I guess it is only natural to react with scorn when it appears one of your own has gone AWOL.
To this I say, national sporting teams do not represent the entire embodiment of a nation, there is far more to Australia that I do support, that I do absolutely unconditionally cherish, and these things rank at a far higher importance than a quaint old game of cricket.
Ron The Bear
12th November 2006, 20:36
I am not going for the Poms to be different. I am going for the Poms because I think the Australian cricket team are one of the most arrogant and hypocritical sporting institutions in the world.
Arrogant? Pig's arse!
Hypocritical? We believe in true sportsmanship and the spirit of the game - hooray for Trevor Chappell!
morell
13th November 2006, 09:08
Arrogant? Pig's arse!
Hypocritical? We believe in true sportsmanship and the spirit of the game - hooray for Trevor Chappell!Indeed.
The problem is, I have found that this attitude filters down the ranks into grass roots cricket.
I have filled in for an exclusive old collegians cricket team, their attitude is reflective of many of the senior group of the Australian team in terms of arrogance, lack of leadership, poor sportsmanship and borderline racism.
Needless to say I evacuated myself from that toff club very quickly, and it is pleasing to see that they are now struggling to field sides let alone win a game.
Ray Nolan
13th November 2006, 09:10
I'd rather stick pins in my eyes than support the bilge that is the Australian Cricket team.
I shall wave my UK Passport & cry "C'mon England!" instead!
portentous
13th November 2006, 18:13
I shall wave my UK Passport & cry "C'mon England!" instead!
I can see you doing plenty of crying Ray old son. :D
Ray Nolan
14th November 2006, 08:34
I can see you doing plenty of crying Ray old son. :D
Tears of joy, tears of joy when we take The Ashes back home with us!:thumbsu:
Paralowiepower
14th November 2006, 19:14
Tears of joy, tears of joy when we take The Ashes back home with us!:thumbsu:
It's easy to win the Ashes Ray, but alot harder to retain them as England and the Barmy Army will finally get to find out. :D
morell
15th November 2006, 08:11
In all honesty I think the Aussies will win them back. They are too strong at home at the conditions will be tailor made.
However, the long awaited demise of Australian cricket is on the horizon IMO. This is one of the oldest sides Australia has ever produced and once a few of the elder statesman go, its will be tough times ahead.
If you imagine that the following players wont be around in 3-5 years;
McGrath
Warne
Ponting
Langer
Hayden
Martyn
MacGill
Gilchrist
Hogg
Katich (?)
Lee (?)
Symonds (?)
Hodge (?)
Hussey (?)
What young talent is there to replace them? I think the pace stocks may be there, but the batting talent is short (other than Clarke) >
Two champion spinners?
Two players under 25 who will be able to open and average 50?
A player under 25 who can come in late in the innings, strike at 75 and average 45?
A star batsman who average 55 and comes in at first drop?
The counter argument is that the domestic comp is so strong there will always be 30 yr olds in form who are ready to be plucked, I would argue that is only the case now because you have 5 future hall of famers in the side, therefore players that would usually be in the Australian side are playing state league.
Or maybe its just wishful thinking on my behalf :p
Toots Hibbert
15th November 2006, 10:02
Mostly wishfull thinking I reckon. About 6 players might be playing their last test series this summer but as far as batting goes Mark Cosgrove, Phil Jacques and Shane Watson are waiting in the wings. Bowling wise Shaun Tait and Mitchell Johnson are amongst a number of guys showing good signs they can back up Brett Lee in the pace department. Shane Warne looks to be the guy who will be very difficult to replace. It's a shame that Stuart McGill came along when he did rather than five years later.
Toots Hibbert
16th November 2006, 10:14
So Trescothick is the first English casualty of the tour. Pretty sad circumstances when a person is so debilitated by depression that they are unable to sleep properly for weeks on end.
(It does put a new perspective on the term "mental disintegration")
Hopefully he will make a complete recovery and be able to continue with the career he loves.
Ford Fairlane
16th November 2006, 15:50
13 man squad named
Australia squad: R Ponting (captain), M Hayden, J Langer, D Martyn, M Hussey, S Watson, A Gilchrist (wkt), S Warne, B Lee, G McGrath, S Clark, M Johnson, S Tait.
portentous
16th November 2006, 19:07
Feel a bit sorry for Phil Jacques.
Toots Hibbert
16th November 2006, 19:27
Ditto.
portentous
18th November 2006, 10:23
Taity's not doing his chances any harm ATM either.
Onya Shaun! Hope to get down to AO this arvo to watch some cricket, have a few drinks........
morell
18th November 2006, 16:44
If it were up to me I would go with Johnson.
That way you have
Genuine quick - Lee
Champion Line and Length - McGrath
Swing - Johnson
Reliable run saving Back up - Clark
If you pick Tait, you are essentially doubling up on Lee's role and you may concede too many runs if the going gets tough.
Johnson can really move the ball around, alleviating the problem that came out of the last series - Australias lack of variety in the pace stakes.
portentous
18th November 2006, 19:37
I'd rather play Taity, at least at the Gabba and WACA.
morell
7th December 2006, 07:14
*bump*
You see, I told you Johnson should have played :o
I guess it is Lee on the chopping block now rather than Clarke, which gives Tait a bit more of a look in, but I doubt they will change except for the Sydney Test
Despite my loathing of them, the Aussie boys played sensational cricket. Wonderful win, one of the best I have seen in a long time.
portentous
7th December 2006, 07:39
I suspect the only change the Aussies will make for the 3rd test will be Martyn for Watson.
Will England pick Vaughan or is it too soon?
Toots Hibbert
7th December 2006, 07:45
I don't think Brett Lee is in any danger whatsoever of being dropped given the way he bowled on the last day. I doubt there'll be any changes to the bowling lineup other than those forced by injury.
Watson's not fit (I'm beginning to wonder whether this bloke will ever be injury free for any length of time). Glenn McGrath must be a slight doubt but he bowled on the last day so surely will be ready to go in the third test.
Damien Martyn is the one who should be looking over his shoulder I reckon.
portentous
7th December 2006, 08:14
What about Matty Hayden toots? I reckon it's about time Phil Jacques got a game and Langer just seems to do enough whenever his spot is under pressure.
Toots Hibbert
7th December 2006, 08:43
What about Matty Hayden toots? I reckon it's about time Phil Jacques got a game and Langer just seems to do enough whenever his spot is under pressure.
I reckon you're right. But I think the selectors will give him a bit more grace. I think it's time they looked to bring in a few blokes like Jacques now so that they get a few games under their belts and we're not left with a bunch of inexperienced players all coming in at once.
Who do you reckon is the better bowler out of Tait and Johnson?
portentous
7th December 2006, 14:23
I haven't seen enough of Johnson to make an honest assessment-and I'm very Pro-Tait so am obviously biased anyway.
Who they pick will depend on the pitch I guess. Have heard it's a very flat track at the WACA this season. Not sure who that favours though-maybe a 2nd spinner as a move out of the blue! Dan Cullen come on down :)
TheFridge
7th December 2006, 14:30
Unlikely we will see any changes of the eleven for Perth. Martyn is the obvious contender to lose his spot, but Watson is unlikely to play and while bringing in a Hodge, a Jacques (as a middle order bat) or Cosgrove may improve the liine-up, I think the selectors will give Martyn another chance, especially at home.
There are also suggestions the pitch to be used for the test will have some bounce - it is an old pitch (using the original WACA soil) that has not been used for the last four years. If this is the case it will strengthen Marto's case, given his strength against the bouncing ball.
Hayden and Langer are both pretty safe for the remainder of this series - Jacques will have to wait, but should have a case for the one day team. I believe the selectors will retain their faith in the experienced hands for this series, but Sydney may well be the curtain call for one or two of them.
TheFridge
7th December 2006, 14:37
Who do you reckon is the better bowler out of Tait and Johnson?
Johnson has more potential - ignore the left hander bit (you should not pick someone just because they bowl with the wrong arm...). He does have pace, bounce and swing, and a lot more control than Tait. However, I prefer Tait just for his raw speed - he is awesome to watch when on song.
Johnson has been the next big thing for a few years now and good judges like DK Lillee have been pushing his case since he was a junior.
portentous
7th December 2006, 14:40
Unlikely we will see any changes of the eleven for Perth. Martyn is the obvious contender to lose his spot, but Watson is unlikely to play and while bringing in a Hodge, a Jacques (as a middle order bat) or Cosgrove may improve the liine-up, I think the selectors will give Martyn another chance, especially at home.
There are also suggestions the pitch to be used for the test will have some bounce - it is an old pitch (using the original WACA soil) that has not been used for the last four years. If this is the case it will strengthen Marto's case, given his strength against the bouncing ball.
Hayden and Langer are both pretty safe for the remainder of this series - Jacques will have to wait, but should have a case for the one day team. I believe the selectors will retain their faith in the experienced hands for this series, but Sydney may well be the curtain call for one or two of them.
So they're using a different pitch to the one that's been used in the state games?? Might make things interesting. I miss the old days when the WACA was a paceman's heaven.
EDIT:Tait's not doing his chances any harm down in Tassie either.