View Full Version : Favorite Sports

Jabso
13th November 2006, 13:31
What are your favourite sports besides footy.

My top 5 would be...asides from footy:

1. Soccer
2. Tennis (only really the grand slams though)
3. Cricket (not a big cricket fan)
4. American football
5. Basketball (NBA not really NBL)

NeRFaHoLIc
13th November 2006, 13:42
I'm only interested in 3:
Footy
Tennis
Cricket
In that order.

Lonie_from_50
13th November 2006, 14:05
1. Cricket (I have as much interest in cricket as AFL, if possible)
2. Soccer (Just exciting sport. A-League and World Cup 06 has put it up there)
3. Poker (Classified as a sport, is now my fav hobby and love WSOP and WPT on tv)
4. Tennis (Get into it during the summer, and always a spectator)
5. Horce Racing (I love a punt, so I am into it. Spring Carnival, I always spectate big races)

The Majestic
13th November 2006, 14:44
1. Cricket - Always been a big fan, love the ODI's and the new 20/20 games.
2. Rugby - Managed to get hooked when I was young, then it grew, i like both league and union, used to support Wests Maggies, but they had to merge so I like the Wests Tigers, with a soft spot fot the Storm.
3. Soccer - Used to watch the highlight packages on I believe it was the ABC as a kid, then watched the 1994 World Cup, my grandma gave me a soccerball that she found in her yard, and been hooked ever since.
4. Ice Hockey - Got in it by watching the Mighty Ducks movies as a kid, and it grew from there, became a big Gretsky fan and the rest is history.
5. Baseball - Movies again, loved the Major League series of movies, and then started watching the games on a regular basis on Fox sports.

Alkaline
14th November 2006, 18:07
1. Lawn Bowls
2. Rubgy
3. Cricket
4. Horse Racing
5. Basketball

Stakerz
14th November 2006, 18:14
To watch:
1. AFL
2. Cricket/Rugby
4. NFL/Hockey/Golf

To Play:
1. Indoor&Outdoor Footy
2. Golf
3. Cricket
4. Basketball
5. PingPong

magpies42
14th November 2006, 21:58
soccer
Basketball
Tennis

i love all sports

Dj Chriss
14th November 2006, 23:18
Besides AFL it would be

Cricket
Soccer
Basketball
Boxing
Tennis

Lockyer24
16th November 2006, 14:31
Have a strong passion for the Pies, Melbourne Victory and Melbourne Horse Racing (Gallops). Regularly go and see all the above

Im also a Man Utd and Miami Heat fan although don't get to see as many games as I would like

Stakerz
16th November 2006, 14:34
I forgot soccer aswell, Melbourne Victory are always good to watch.

doppleganger
16th November 2006, 18:00
The Mighty Reds - Soccer
Reggie Miller & the Pacers - NBA
Wazza Giddey, Ray Gordon & the Tigers - NBL
Boof, Roy, Warnie & Jon Moss - Cricket

Then take an interest in all sports except for motor racing, as it is shiyte

Jabso
17th November 2006, 19:39
Yeah I hate motor sports.

I really can never decide what team to support in other sports. Melbourne Victory and Storm are the only ones I've decided on. In the EPL it's split between Tottenham and Newcastle and sometimes even Liverpool. In basketball I like the bucks because of Bogut and Cavs coz of LeBron James and the boston celtics for no real reason. In NFL I like the Falcons because I've always been a fan of Vic and I like New England for no real reason.

As far as cricket goes I can't follow the domestic game at all but I would probably say I'm a Tassie supporter.

Dazman
19th November 2006, 13:28
I've been deliberating who to support in EPL as I've become quite a fan over the past couple of months of soccer in general (thanks world cup). I liked Liverpool because of Kewell but I think I've settled for Arsenal because its got my boy Cesc Fabregas dominating in the middle and I'm also a fan of William Gallas (they're both in my EPL dream team)

As sports go it'd be
1. AFL
2. Cricket (can't wait for the ashes)
3. Soccer - Australian internationals or EPL. Going to my first A-league match in a couple of weeks.

I like other sports but not as much as the ones above. I enjoy playing golf and table tennis, NFL is good on ps2 (go the patriots). I watch a little bit of tennis and keep one eye on the Melbourne storm.

cult_hero26
29th November 2006, 21:01
In this order besides AFL

1. Cricket, if I was offered a choice between oxygen and cricket I'd take...cricket.
2. Rugby Union, a hugely emotive game
3. Rugby League, more skilful than it appears, get a load of those tries from bombs. Greg Inglis is an absolute genius with a football.
4. Tennis, love to play socially.
5. American Football, Superb tactical and strategic game. Pity I don't have satellite TV so I only get to see the Super Bowl every year.

vinnie_vegas69
6th December 2006, 12:27
It would be:

1: NBA Basketball
2: NFL Football
3: Major League Baseball
4: International Cricket
5: Boxing

If I could bring myself to count Poker as a sport, it would make it, but I just can't do it.

doppleganger
19th December 2006, 11:04
I've been deliberating who to support in EPL as I've become quite a fan over the past couple of months of soccer in general (thanks world cup). I liked Liverpool because of Kewell but I think I've settled for Arsenal because its got my boy Cesc Fabregas dominating in the middle and I'm also a fan of William Gallas (they're both in my EPL dream team)

interesting to note that both liverpool & collingwood were established in 1892!

that and the fact that robbie fowler was playing for em was enough for me to jump on in the 90's, seeing the reds win the champions league was brill!!

at least u didn't decide on manU or chel$ki!!

SKAMAN
23rd December 2006, 14:56
EPL Football: West Ham United:thumbsu:

NFL: Minnesota Vikings:thumbsu:

NBA: Boston Celtics :thumbsu: NBL: Crocs/ Dragons:confused:

ARL: Cowboys/ Storm:confused:

Hoggy
24th December 2006, 12:39
Cricket
Rugby League
Soccer

SKAMAN
25th December 2006, 15:05
Good to see you follow the Irons Hoggy and also Nobby Doldrums....Pisser avatar!!:D :thumbsu:

HorseHead
25th December 2006, 17:00
Footy and cricket. Nothing else matters.

Hoggy
27th December 2006, 20:42
Good to see you follow the Irons Hoggy and also Nobby Doldrums....Pisser avatar!!:D :thumbsu:

LOL it's about time someone recognised my vintage comedy references.

lenny&carl
6th January 2007, 19:47
It's pretty debatable whether you'd call it sport or not, but I go in for a spot of this sort of thing.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8AchtJgc94o&mode=related&search= Don't be put off by the twat talking at the start, and the music is atypically bad for this sort of thing, but it's an interesting clip otherwise imho. The last 20 seconds is entertaining.

nick_savo
12th January 2007, 16:14
Cricket
Soccer
Tennis
Swimming
BMX Riding (Thats a sport)

rumanu
2nd March 2007, 13:37
Soccer: Manchester United/South Melbourne FC/ Legia Warszawa

Cricket: Aussies and also love watching the Windies play

Rugby League: South Sydney

and skiing which i love:cool:

Tarkyn_24
2nd March 2007, 20:43
Soccer: Manchester United/South Melbourne FC/ Legia Warszawa

Cricket: Aussies and also love watching the Windies play

Rugby League: South Sydney

and skiing which i love:cool:
I thought I was the only one of them...

Tarkyn_24
2nd March 2007, 20:47
I'm a patriotic Perth citizen;)

AFL: Collingwood
NRL: South Sydney
NBL: Melbourne Tigers
Super 14: Canterbury Crusaiders

Soccer is a wussy sport but I go for Melbourne in the A League and Newcastle in Premier.

NBA: LA Lakers
WAFL: East Freo

rumanu
2nd March 2007, 21:56
I thought I was the only one of them...

lol nah, quite a few turn out when souths play the storm here in Melbourne and i still see random cars with souths stickers or people wearing souths jumpers or other gear around, i follow them cos my grandfather on my mum's side played for them and Australia:)

giantpie
12th May 2007, 18:25
my top five besides AFL is
Cricket
Soccer
Basketball
Swimming
Tennis

I hate Rugby

james_aloni
13th June 2007, 20:35
1. four square best game!!!!!!!
2. golf
3. Footy
4.cricket
5. soccer

C-Dog
13th June 2007, 20:46
2. golf
3. Footy
4.cricket
5. soccer

4-square is so good

Team Mo'
14th June 2007, 19:20
2. golf
3. Footy
4.cricket
5. soccer
BEST
1. Got to love that 4 square
2. Cricket
3. Footy
4. Golf
5. Ice Hockey

Worst
1.Nascar
2. Baseball
3. Athletics
4. Swimming
5. Ultimate Frisbee

giantpie
16th June 2007, 17:34
my favorite teams are
AFL: Collingwood
EPL: Manchester United
NRL: North QLD Cowboys
A-League: Melbourne Victory
NBA: San Antonio Spurs

Marklar_33
16th June 2007, 17:47
4-square is so good

4-square is ok, but best played with 2 players, against a wall haha

Essentially, not 4-square at all!

Sports I play

Cricket (and its Indoor variety)
Indoor Soccer
Indoor Netball
Lawn Bowls

Fav Sports to watch

Cricket
NFL Football
Baseball

C-Dog
16th June 2007, 18:00
thats downball thats not fun at all. Anyone interested in a 4 square thread?

james_aloni
16th June 2007, 18:47
thats downball thats not fun at all. Anyone interested in a 4 square thread?

downballs for losers, 4 squares the skillful game

Team Mo'
17th June 2007, 18:30
4-square is ok, but best played with 2 players, against a wall haha

Essentially, not 4-square at all!

Sports I play

Cricket (and its Indoor variety)
Indoor Soccer
Indoor Netball
Lawn Bowls

Fav Sports to watch

Cricket
NFL Football
Baseball
Got to love that girls netball and old man bowls

medhurstISGOD
22nd December 2007, 22:48
Bumpaaaah

1. Footy
2. Cricket
3. Union
4. League
5. Basketball

MagpieGirl_13
23rd December 2007, 20:45
1. AFL
2. Hockey
3. Cricket
4. Softball
5. (can't think of a 5th)

swiftdog
23rd December 2007, 21:19
AFL - Pies
Cricket - Australia
EPL - Middlesbrough
Women's honey wrestling - i just wanna see some chicks get sticky
NBA - LA lakers

Whacker
23rd December 2007, 22:31
AFL - Pies
Cricket - Australia
EPL - Middlesbrough
Women's honey wrestling - i just wanna see some chicks get sticky
NBA - LA lakers
The old amber queen on channel V at at nite. Love it!!!

Fav sports
1. AFL
2. Cricket
3. Ice Hockey-Go you mighty Avs
4. Soccer-Newcastle (started out liking them because of collingwood colours :D)
5. NFL-Green Bay

Honorable mentions to Denver in the NBA and the rugby both union and league Brumbies and Storm.

Cant stand Tennis, swimming, athletics anything in the olympics really.
Motorsport a big big hate all the do is go round and round it is so ****ing boring until a crash which if good enough will be shown somewhere else anyway

shizzle
24th December 2007, 07:15
My fav sports to participate in would be:

Golf
Afl
Cricket
Athletics
Tennis

and to watch:

Afl
Horse Racing
Cricket (20/20)
Golf
Bobsled

hellfire
8th January 2008, 10:42
1. AFL
2. Boxing

[daylight]

3. Cricket
4. Soccer
5. Tennis

Marklar_33
9th January 2008, 21:09
Got to love that girls netball and old man bowls

Bowls is the shizzz! As for Netball, well... :o

Optimax
12th January 2008, 09:01
Bowls is the shizzz! As for Netball, well... :o

went to the lawn bowls during the commonwealth games, we got those old guys jumping around like Hewitt apart form the english who actually yelled us for being rowdy hooligans lol.

Nothing wrong with mixed netball can be a very physical sport if you play correctly

thatday
12th January 2008, 11:23
I really only care about 3 sports, Aussie Rules obviously, Tennis and sometimes Cricket.:thumbsu:

Even though i don't compete in any of them. I tend to be Coordinationaly challenged, and i think i just made up a word... :D

martyTHOMAS
14th January 2008, 08:00
I like Netball:) not so much watching it, but playing it.
I'm going to Sydney on Thursday for a tournament :D

Footy has to be the best though.
I hate soccer, they can't do anything without getting a red card or whatever.
Tennis is okay when Lleyton Hewitt isn't playing.

Optimax
14th January 2008, 12:25
I like Netball:) not so much watching it, but playing it.
I'm going to Sydney on Thursday for a tournament :D

Footy has to be the best though.
I hate soccer, they can't do anything without getting a red card or whatever.
Tennis is okay when Lleyton Hewitt isn't playing.

Good luck with the tournament, whats wrong with soccer? i agree on hewitt but seeing as he is our only player that could win anything ill support him

martyTHOMAS
14th January 2008, 14:45
Good luck with the tournament, whats wrong with soccer? i agree on hewitt but seeing as he is our only player that could win anything ill support him

In soccer they can't tackle or anything it's not that exciting to watch, whereas in AFL theres so much going on and everything.

swiftdog
14th January 2008, 19:27

Go The Gooch!!!:thumbsu:

Optimax
15th January 2008, 06:50
Go The Gooch!!!:thumbsu:
has all the attributes but is lacking ticker, how can a man that size be out powered in a rally? he should never have any trouble making to the net but he seems to struggle some matches.

shizzle
15th January 2008, 07:23
Watching Gooch's match I wondered how he possibly beat hewitt,time and time again his return of serve was a soft short shot straight to the other guy,rarely did he go down the lines at all.

I just kept thinking of other big hitters in times gone by Phillipoussis,Ivanisevic,Rusedski etc all went for big forehand/backhand returns especially taking advantage of second serves they faced.

Something Gooch didn't do once in that match which was just unbelievable he obviously has power to burn he could at least try using it.

At one stage the other guy won 4 straight service games to love.
Even with Gooch's big serves the other guy still managed to take some points off him.

dale_thomas13
15th January 2008, 07:27
I play cricket, also a massive fan of it.
Also i did play Hockey, still love watching the game

Optimax
15th January 2008, 09:29
Watching Gooch's match I wondered how he possibly beat hewitt,time and time again his return of serve was a soft short shot straight to the other guy,rarely did he go down the lines at all.

I just kept thinking of other big hitters in times gone by Phillipoussis,Ivanisevic,Rusedski etc all went for big forehand/backhand returns especially taking advantage of second serves they faced.

Something Gooch didn't do once in that match which was just unbelievable he obviously has power to burn he could at least try using it.

At one stage the other guy won 4 straight service games to love.
Even with Gooch's big serves the other guy still managed to take some points off him.

short shots were so he could hit the net butb they were terrible approach shots from the first set tie breaker on, if he puts it all together he'll be unstoppable but until he learns to use basline power as well as fanatsic volleying ala Sampras who has said he sees some of his own style in what gooch is trying to do he will be nothing more that a top 60 odd player

thatday
15th January 2008, 09:32
I don't care if Lleyton Hewitt is Australian or not, i refuse to cheer for him, he is an arrogant little shit and when he doesn't get it his way he complains, e.g his press conference after he lost to Gooch. I don't cheer for him i don't cheer against him, if he wasn't Australian i wouldn't be so nice.

shizzle
15th January 2008, 12:11
The gooch 12 aces to 3 in 1st set and lost it.

shizzle
15th January 2008, 12:48
I don't care if Lleyton Hewitt is Australian or not, i refuse to cheer for him, he is an arrogant little shit and when he doesn't get it his way he complains, e.g his press conference after he lost to Gooch. I don't cheer for him i don't cheer against him, if he wasn't Australian i wouldn't be so nice.

Which part of that was you being so nice?:p

For the record I like watching him play tennis adds excitement wears his heart on his sleeve and you get to see Bec every time he plays.

thatday
15th January 2008, 13:25
Which part of that was you being so nice?:p

For the record I like watching him play tennis adds excitement wears his heart on his sleeve and you get to see Bec every time he plays.

Oh i can be alot meaner, :D, he is good to watch but he still shits me, the way he carries on when he doesn't get his way or win really really annoys me, i do like Bec tho:p.

Jabso
17th January 2008, 18:36
I like Lleyton and support him but I'm one of these people who doesn't let the behvaiour off the court (and on court antics sometimes) affect their view of the person. I don't really enjoy boxing but I'm a fan of Mundine's just because of all the controversy he creates. I laugh my ass off when Tommy from Templestowe rings up SEN complaining about the latest Mundine spiel when it is always an attempt to drum up interest (negative or positive) in Mundine's current goings on (a match or some PR). He reminds me of a wrestling heel (bad guy).

Lleyton is gettng less interesting to watch because he has pretty much lost it. He used to be a great player to watch because he had a pretty different style. He had to beat his opponents with court coverage, smart shots and heart while others were more skillful and powerful (although Hewitt has plenty of skill too). But hey nothing lasts forever, and we should just be grateful that he has been a good player representing Australia and not put the weight of the tennis-nation on his shoulders, it's not his fault noone else is anywhere near him in the country.

thatday
17th January 2008, 23:06
I actually went to the Aussie open today, well yesterday.., anyway, spent most of the day in Vodafone so saw Peter Luczak lose which sucked but my friend got his autograph because we saw him practising earlier, also saw Novak Djokovic (really really good) and Venus (good and for some reason was amazed that Serena was sitting in her coaches box), and most of James Blakes game outside (fun game to watch and be apart of the crowd for), was a good day, didn't see Lleyton although the scoreboard said he won and the crowd inside Vodafone was a bit weird actually, some people cheered and some people kinda made a weird noise.

My favourite game of the day was probably Djokovics game although it wasn't close or anything it was just really good to see how he plays.:thumbsu:

luvlicca
19th January 2008, 13:40
Aside from AFL my sports are

1. NRL - Go the Mighty Melbourne Storm!! I love these guys as much as my beloved Pies!!

2. BASKETBALL - Love watching NBA, but I also watch the NBL cause I like watching the up and coming talent that the Aussies have coming thru. I also like the WNBA cause I like watching the aussie girls in action especially Penny Taylor and Lauren Jackson - I used to play against her when we played juniors - she was huge then too lol!!

3. CRICKET - I love the one day and twenty20 games - but really not the test matches, they bore me

4. SOCCER - Starting to get into a little bit more, I enjoy watching Victory games in the A-League and Newcastle United in the EPL

5. Tennis - Like the grand slam events - Am really enjoying watching Casey Dellaqua playing at the moment and also Peter Luzack

mdc
19th January 2008, 14:19
has all the attributes but is lacking ticker, how can a man that size be out powered in a rally? he should never have any trouble making to the net but he seems to struggle some matches.

Size doesn't translate to power in tennis. It's all about raqcuet-head speed. If you look at the hardest hitters, like Gonzales or Monfils, they're hardly big guys. Even Federer is a good example.

short shots were so he could hit the net butb they were terrible approach shots from the first set tie breaker on, if he puts it all together he'll be unstoppable but until he learns to use basline power as well as fanatsic volleying ala Sampras who has said he sees some of his own style in what gooch is trying to do he will be nothing more that a top 60 odd player

Sampras is a bit of a strange comparison - he covered the court like few others, and had a killer forehand.

Guccione has a massive serve and little else. He's no better than an average volleyer, and his ground-strokes are below average. He's no Arthurs from the back of the court, but he'll never out-rally any top-100 baseliners.
I think if he does reach the Top 50, he would have absolutely fulfilled his potential.

Having said that, I'm not ragging on the guy. He's fun to watch and is a genuinely nice guy. I remember playing him in a tournament when I was 14, and I got crushed 1 and 3. Even then, that serve was ridiculously good.

Jabso
19th January 2008, 14:31
People need to be thankful we have Hewitt and at least we can hate/love a pretty good player. Look at England who pumped up Henman for years. If it wasn't for Hewitt, Guccione would be our Henman!

walshy93
19th January 2008, 14:40
NFL Football. Tactics are great, the game is great!

mdc
19th January 2008, 15:02
People need to be thankful we have Hewitt and at least we can hate/love a pretty good player. Look at England who pumped up Henman for years. If it wasn't for Hewitt, Guccione would be our Henman!

Henman was a top-10/20 player for a long time mate, Guccione is a long way off ever reaching that.

Jabso
19th January 2008, 15:22
Henman was a top-10/20 player for a long time mate, Guccione is a long way off ever reaching that.

Henman was an average to good player but Guccione would be our Henman in terms of pumping him up to heights he'll never achieve.

mdc
19th January 2008, 16:26
Henman was an average to good player but Guccione would be our Henman in terms of pumping him up to heights he'll never achieve.

I know what you're saying...but calling Henman "average to good" is v.harsh. He was as high as no.4 in the world at some stage.

I think the better comparison is Alicia Molik ;)

Optimax
19th January 2008, 16:44
Size doesn't translate to power in tennis. It's all about raqcuet-head speed. If you look at the hardest hitters, like Gonzales or Monfils, they're hardly big guys. Even Federer is a good example.

Sampras is a bit of a strange comparison - he covered the court like few others, and had a killer forehand.

Guccione has a massive serve and little else. He's no better than an average volleyer, and his ground-strokes are below average. He's no Arthurs from the back of the court, but he'll never out-rally any top-100 baseliners.
I think if he does reach the Top 50, he would have absolutely fulfilled his potential.

Having said that, I'm not ragging on the guy. He's fun to watch and is a genuinely nice guy. I remember playing him in a tournament when I was 14, and I got crushed 1 and 3. Even then, that serve was ridiculously good.

i understand the power isnt just because he is big but he plys very limp most days.

His AIS coaches keep saying he'll start to play a style of sampras and will become unstoppable especially on grass, im with Newc he could dominate and be unbeatable om grass but he is either lazy or his coach/s arnt teaching him correctly

Chris should be in the top fifty baseliners and at least top 20 volleyers, are more sportsmen lacking ticker

mdc
19th January 2008, 16:57
i understand the power isnt just because he is big but he plys very limp most days.

His AIS coaches keep saying he'll start to play a style of sampras and will become unstoppable especially on grass, im with Newc he could dominate and be unbeatable om grass but he is either lazy or his coach/s arnt teaching him correctly

Chris should be in the top fifty baseliners and at least top 20 volleyers, are more sportsmen lacking ticker

If Newcombe actually said this, he's being intentionally misleading.

As for the last bit - he'd be lucky to be in the top 500 baseliners in the world, let alone the top 50. He's an ok volleyer, but nothing outstanding (c.f. Federer for example).

His serve will allow him to make plenty of money over many years...but he just doesn't have the talent to ever be a top player.

Optimax
19th January 2008, 18:09
If Newcombe actually said this, he's being intentionally misleading.

As for the last bit - he'd be lucky to be in the top 500 baseliners in the world, let alone the top 50. He's an ok volleyer, but nothing outstanding (c.f. Federer for example).

His serve will allow him to make plenty of money over many years...but he just doesn't have the talent to ever be a top player.

just before adelaide international, said Chris looked unfit and slow on court and with his natural attributed coulde be unstoppable on grass and should aim to win wim,bledon soon, i agree he has the natural skills but i dont think he actually ahs the heart for it.

Gooch hs the ability to very good but unlike arthurs who lacked some ability doesnt seem to really want it