View Full Version : Which was the better game ???
Satay Mat
3 Mar 2002, 16:35
talking quality of the game not result.
Which was the better game last year ???
1. Essendon v North....coming back when 69 points down.
2. Port v Essendon....hard at it all day...Bombers come back twice....scores level with 1.5 mins to go....Port get up by 7 points.
Results aside I pick (2). I much prefer games which are tight....where the whole game is push and shove....where for 4 quarters you do not know who will get up.
The North game was an interesting game....but for one half Essendon fans sit back and watch and for the other half North fans sit back and watch.....a great contest in the end but not much of a game throughout.
So....
a close game (pick any game you like not just Port) for 4 quarters...hard tough physical contest....goes down to the last kick or thereabouts OR a game of 2 halves where 1 side dominates for 1 half and then the other side dominates for the other ???
Satay Mat
windyhill
5 Mar 2002, 07:39
North went mental then we had our turn,the second half was mostly goal for goal.The port game was sensational as well.I remember Moorcroft took a mark in the last quarter..."watch Lucas watch Lucas" i remeber screaming as he was hanging around waiting for moorcroft to hand off,he did and it sailed through from 50.That`s it I thought, we are home,only for Port to raise another effort.
NorthBhoy
5 Mar 2002, 07:49
I reckon the North Essendon game in 99 was better than last years. That first quarter was the fastest, hardest, most skillful 30 minutes of footy I have seen.
We all know what Carey and Loyd did, but there were other incidents that made this game special. My favorite was Arch beating the crap out of Dean Wallis right in front of me :D , why he did not get 4 weeks I will never know!!
I agree with Northbhoy, that game in 99 was sensational.
Loved to have seen either but neither was on CH7 here.
The North game was the first one that I listened to live on the net and I couldn't believe it...I was on the edge of my seat...great one to listen to.
nonchalance
15 Mar 2002, 10:07
I prefer those games of equality, both sides showing that fantastic desperation and skill that comes out in the even matches.
But- that North game last year was electrifying to watch.
I'd take a close game all day, though the North game was significant because comebacks like that are so bloody rare.
definitely the north game
it was exciting to see the bombers come back like that and it showed that they aint gon' lose even though heaps of people thought they would
Bomber Spirit
15 Mar 2002, 20:46
Normally I'd go for the game that's tight and close all day. But the North game was something special - to see a record like that broken, with such high scoring; that was an exceptional game.
The Port one wasn't bad, but even then it wasn't all that tight throughout. Had a close finish, but Port were in control for most of it before Essendon nearly stole it.
Watched the Essendon Vs North Melbourne game again today ... and the comeback is more amazing each time i watch it. It was awesome!
danzy_rocks
20 Mar 2002, 18:25
Originally posted by vk22
definitely the north game
it was exciting to see the bombers come back like that and it showed that they aint gon' lose even though heaps of people thought they would
woohoo! you finally posted! took ya long enuff! :p
Bomber Spirit
23 Mar 2002, 20:07
Originally posted by topdon
Watched the Essendon Vs North Melbourne game again today ... and the comeback is more amazing each time i watch it. It was awesome! When James Hird played on and ran around that bloke on the mark and then ran into the open goal at around the 20 minute mark in the 2nd quarter it was a turning point. Kicking goals was easy after that.
joininthechorus
25 Mar 2002, 10:29
the north game for sure -
although the 99 game was even better - Carey and Lloyd at their proverbial best.
Watch the game from round 15 in '93 the other day - between North and Essendon - and yet another fantastic game - Carey played a blinder, as did Mcadam and Longmire - and for Essendon - Watson Harvey - Mercuri and Misiti.....you guys went on to win the flag - but it was a great night at the 'G
Seems our 2 clubs have put on some memorable matches over the years......