View Full Version : Carlton Board Draft Lists and Discussion
Pages :
[
1]
Jeremias
4 Nov 2006, 18:37
Hey all.
Just thought I would liven the board up a bit. We need 16 people to participate in a draft game for the Carlton board. We are going to do a draft out of all the current AFL players. Once we get all the participants, I will organise a random pick order.
Who wants to have some fun?
[Edit]This is the merged discussion thread. All of the comments about picks etc have been added to this thread.
Splendini
4 Nov 2006, 18:56
count me in Jeremias :thumbsu:
Jeremias
4 Nov 2006, 19:01
I might be interested as long as it doesn't drag on for a week.
It will most definitely take a LONG time. A fantasy AFL draft with all current players up for grabs will take a long while. It will be fun, though.
Are you in or not?
Man City Blues!
4 Nov 2006, 19:04
count me in.
Jeremias
4 Nov 2006, 19:06
count me in.
no worries, but are you really on here enough to contribute?
Man City Blues!
4 Nov 2006, 19:07
I will be for this.
Jeremias
4 Nov 2006, 19:09
I will be for this.
OK, cheers, you are in.
The Old Dark Navy's
4 Nov 2006, 20:13
It will most definitely take a LONG time. A fantasy AFL draft with all current players up for grabs will take a long while. It will be fun, though.
Are you in or not?Fine. So if I am out working and you guys have to wait a few hours for my next pick, then so be it huh? I'll give it a whirl.
Jeremias
4 Nov 2006, 20:17
Fine. So if I am out working and you guys have to wait a few hours for my next pick, then so be it huh? I'll give it a whirl.
Correct-we will wait for everyone to take their turn.
We may just PM you to remind you, just in case you have forgotten.
Welcome aboard :thumbsu:
Smell The Glove
4 Nov 2006, 20:33
I'm up for it:thumbsu:
bluegal1983
4 Nov 2006, 23:36
I'll have a go as well
bluesforever
5 Nov 2006, 12:53
May aswell chuck me in also.
Blues_Man
5 Nov 2006, 12:58
I'll give it a shot
blues4flag
5 Nov 2006, 13:08
Sounds cool, I'm in.
Beagle_Charlie
5 Nov 2006, 13:16
i'll join
bluegal1983
5 Nov 2006, 13:28
count me in Jeremias :thumbsu:
You sure you can handle the Phantom Draft and this as well? :p ;)
Jeremias
5 Nov 2006, 15:38
I can't edit the original post due to the site upgrade, so here is an updated list of the teams.
Teams:
1. Jeremias
2. Gilly1972
3. Man City Blues!
4. The Old Dark Navy's
5. whippersnipper
6. NWTYRX
7. bluegal1983
8. bluesforever
9. Blues_Man
10. blues4flag
11. Beagle_Charlie
12. recently blue
13. HugeBluesFan
14. deluxeman
15. Hu$$ey
16. gandaal
You sure you can handle the Phantom Draft and this as well? :p ;)
Doubt it BG.
Jeremias
5 Nov 2006, 15:53
Doubt it BG.
Come on HBF, join the fun.
The game may not get started for a while anyway, we still need others to join. We will wait for you to select. No big deal.
Well, are you in?
recently blue
5 Nov 2006, 15:55
OK, I'll join
Jeremias
5 Nov 2006, 15:58
OK, I'll join
thanks for joining-we should be able to get this game up and running pretty soon. Just need a few more Carlton supporters to join.
bluegal1983
5 Nov 2006, 17:59
Count HBF in as well!!
I just spoke to him and he wants to be involved now as well :thumbsu:
The Old Dark Navy's
5 Nov 2006, 18:46
Count HBF in as well!!
I just spoke to him and he wants to be involved now as well :thumbsu:Yeah, he likes people to get on their knees and beg for everything. A personalised invitation. Or maybe you just slapped him around the head for a while? Either way, good work BG.
deluxeman
5 Nov 2006, 18:54
Count me in also.
I'll give it a shake up too.
I'll join as well if there's a spot left.
yeah, i think you're the last spot gandaal
bluegal1983
5 Nov 2006, 19:01
Yeah, he likes people to get on their knees and beg for everything. A personalised invitation. Or maybe you just slapped him around the head for a while? Either way, good work BG.
That's it ODN. HBF need's a slap around the head every now and then :p ;)
Damn just saw this. Oh well, good luck all.
Just a suggestion.
Have the random order for the first round and then reverse the order for the next round so the person with the 16th pick has the 17th pick, the person with the 15th pick has the 18th pick and so on. While in the next round the reverse order stays put so the person with the 16th pick has pick 33.
Just a suggestion.
Have the random order for the first round and then reverse the order for the next round so the person with the 16th pick has the 17th pick, the person with the 15th pick has the 18th pick and so on. While in the next round the reverse order stays put so the person with the 16th pick has pick 33.
Sorry to interrupt, but the way we have played our two drafting games on the lions board is by continually reversing the order, i.e. 1 2 3 4 4 3 2 1. We found that to be the fairest way, and it worked out perfectly. We used a random number generator site to get our initial order.
Jeremias
6 Nov 2006, 08:17
I have a random number generator on my calculator, and here are the results. The order of the picks is:
1. Jeremias
2. Hu$$ey
3. deluxeman
4. whippersnipper
5. recently blue
6. The Old Dark Navy's
7. Gilly1972
8. blues4flag
9. blues4ever
10. bluegal1983
11. Beage_Charlie
12. NWTYRX
13. Man City Blues!
14. HugeBluesFan
15. gandaal
16. Blues_Man
I assure you that this order was done randomly, and it is mere coincidence that I recieved the first pick.
I have decided that after each round, the order will be revised for the next round of selections, rendering the draft order completely random.
^^^ How many picks will this thing go up to J?
Splendini
6 Nov 2006, 11:37
^^^ How many picks will this thing go up to J?
HBF got 14, :D :D :p
The Old Dark Navy's
6 Nov 2006, 14:55
Are we picking 22 players or more? Bear in mind that about 100 out of the 600 senior players have been delisted and we can't use current non-listed players. So a best 22 is the go ... yes?
If you randomly generate every round, does that mean that it is possible for the same people to get late picks and the same people to get early picks or does it equal out eventually?
Edit: Nice pick Jeremias, was pointing out recently that there might be some strategy to this and not simply best available tactics.
The Old Dark Navy's
6 Nov 2006, 14:57
By the way, do you PM individuals to let them know it is their turn?
The Old Dark Navy's
6 Nov 2006, 18:51
******** ******** ******** ******** I knew it. Sweating on that.
I was taking Cox at one and now there is no ruckman worth the next pick. Man, this is like the draft where there is half a dozen standouts and then they all equal out after that, especially when you factor in age.
blues4flag
6 Nov 2006, 19:17
Damn it, my strategy has been shaken, was hoping that Dean Cox would last till eight. Ah well, still a couple who would be great pickups at eight.
Jeremias
7 Nov 2006, 06:54
Please refer to the first post in this thread, which now includes a list of every pick, updated regularly.
The order for the second round will also be put up later this afternoon
recently blue
7 Nov 2006, 07:38
I'm going to the Cup.. back very late. If I get on here late tonight and pick David Teague, please ignore it, I should be sober by morning.
I love my smokies, i am taking Marc murphy :D :p
Pick 7 - Marc Murphy
You need to be admitted to an institution Gilly! :p
The Old Dark Navy's
7 Nov 2006, 13:56
You need to be admitted to an institution Gilly! :pI convinced him that he needed to look at the present AND the future.
bluesforever
7 Nov 2006, 14:11
Aye btw Jeremias, on your first post I am bluesforever, not blues4ever:thumbsu: Cheers.
Splendini
7 Nov 2006, 18:47
Pick 10 - Ben Cousins
I am ecstatic that he is still around. Cousins is an absolute champion and is an asset to any team, even at 28 years of age.
She is even talking like a recruiter now :p
bluegal1983
7 Nov 2006, 18:51
She is even talking like a recruiter now :p
Well, I have learnt from the best afterall ;) :D
Jeremias
8 Nov 2006, 07:01
I have now put up the order of picks in the 2nd round, to be found in the original post.
Beagle_Charlie is up next, with pick 11.
I will put up the order of picks in the 3rd round up when we are in the middle of the 2nd round.
The Old Dark Navy's
8 Nov 2006, 07:46
Jeremias, is this system of yours designed to balance out at some point or it it just the luck of the draw? All of the quality is at the front end like any draft so if HBF for example only starts to get early picks after 200 players have been taken, the difference is negligible compared to the front end. Would have been better off doing a reverse order every round IMO. so 16+17 = 1+32.
Also, if we can't take this years draftees now and this thing goes beyond the draft which is almost certain given the lack of progress so far, do we assume the draft hasn't happened?
Also, those that have already chosen are probably checking in regularly in case it is their turn but those that have yet to make a choice may not even be aware that it has started. Can we have a time limit whereby a reserve takes over for those yet to enter the draft?
Blues_Man
8 Nov 2006, 10:29
Jeremias, is this system of yours designed to balance out at some point or it it just the luck of the draw? All of the quality is at the front end like any draft so if HBF for example only starts to get early picks after 200 players have been taken, the difference is negligible compared to the front end. Would have been better off doing a reverse order every round IMO. so 16+17 = 1+32.
Also, if we can't take this years draftees now and this thing goes beyond the draft which is almost certain given the lack of progress so far, do we assume the draft hasn't happened?
Also, those that have already chosen are probably checking in regularly in case it is their turn but those that have yet to make a choice may not even be aware that it has started. Can we have a time limit whereby a reserve takes over for those yet to enter the draft?
as i seemed to have ended up with pick 16 ..i am assumning i will be pick 1 in the next round ...any other method is just unfair and totally unbalanced.
edit just checked and i somehow have pick 24 second round ..this is a joke right ????
The Old Dark Navy's
8 Nov 2006, 10:35
I think it is a random number generator of some sort Blues Man. These things can work if it takes into account the number of participants, the number of choices they have and generates an order accordingly to balance it. If it is just starting again each round, it has the potential to be like Carlton vs West Coast in this years draft in that they are worlds apart in terms of equality. Having said that they first couple of rounds are vital as that is where the cream is and after that things even up and it is more about personal choice.
Jeremias
8 Nov 2006, 13:56
Guys, I assure you that the draft order is totally random.
As the second round hasn't started yet, do you think it would be better if we did the reverse order of the 1st round for the 2nd round? Then, after the 2nd round, I will randomly order the 3rd round, and the 4th round will be the reverse of the 3rd. Would that be better?
ODN, I don't think that we will include those players drafted in the upcoming draft. If there is enough interest later on, we could add an additional draft for the new draftees. After that, we could all post our lists and best 22, and then vote on the winner. What do you all think?
Gee I expected to be holding everyone up when I came online. Where the hell is Beage_Charlie?
The Old Dark Navy's
8 Nov 2006, 17:27
As the second round hasn't started yet, do you think it would be better if we did the reverse order of the 1st round for the 2nd round? Then, after the 2nd round, I will randomly order the 3rd round, and the 4th round will be the reverse of the 3rd. Would that be better?Would be much better to continue reversing right through the 22 rounds, will end up as even as you can doing that. So in round 2 you go last but you then get to choose 2 players in a row as you take the first pick in round 3 again. Those in the middle never get the first pick of a round but never get the last either so it balances out. It really is only the first 2-3 rounds where the original draft order matters.
ODN, I don't think that we will include those players drafted in the upcoming draft. If there is enough interest later on, we could add an additional draft for the new draftees. After that, we could all post our lists and best 22, and then vote on the winner. What do you all think?Yeah, leave it out but I would hope we can get through this faster as there is still a while to go to the draft.
Jeremias
8 Nov 2006, 18:12
I have updated the original post to include the draft order for the first 7 rounds of the game. I have used the reversing picks method.
When we get close to the end of the 7th round, I will put up the order for further rounds.
I think we need to implement a time restriction on each pick, otherwise we will never finish. Maybe each person gets 4 hours per pick. If they have not made a selection after the 4 hours, they pass, therefore forfeiting their pick. The timed period will be between 8:00am and 11:00pm. Players are allowed to make their picks in between these hours, providing it is their turn to pick, of course.
The Old Dark Navy's
8 Nov 2006, 19:48
I think we need to implement a time restriction on each pick, otherwise we will never finish. Maybe each person gets 4 hours per pick. If they have not made a selection after the 4 hours, they pass, therefore forfeiting their pick. The timed period will be between 8:00am and 11:00pm. Players are allowed to make their picks in between these hours, providing it is their turn to pick, of course.Not sure we can do this either Jeremias. I am probably on more than everybody but even I will find times where I out on a job for 4 hours. If someone just happens to take their pick after I log off for half the day, I am stuffed.
All we really need is an undertaking from everyone to log in and check this thread if they have a spare few minutes here and there, at work or at home. Maybe each person could have a reserve person picking for them if they go beyond four hours?
In fact, whoever is online should be able to choose so everyone could be involved. What do you guys think?
i was thinking making it 24 hours -- so, as soon as it's your pick, you have 24 hours
Yep, so in the future if someone took as long as Beagle_Charlie did to take their pick they'd lose it.
The Old Dark Navy's
8 Nov 2006, 19:59
i was thinking making it 24 hours -- so, as soon as it's your pick, you have 24 hoursLet's hope not everyone utilises the 24 hours. 22 rounds times 16 participants = 352 picks x 24 hours. Well we will be finished late October 2007.
Splendini
8 Nov 2006, 20:52
Pick 11 - Chad Cornes
Going with a bit of a smokey here. Very versitile player who can take out CHB or CHF
Sh1t, i can't believe my next choice was taken so early as a smokie, damn you CB ;) :mad:
Jeremias
9 Nov 2006, 11:33
gandaal is up now.
bluegal1983
9 Nov 2006, 13:08
C'mon guys!!! I want my next pick!!! :D
Blues_Man
9 Nov 2006, 14:19
C'mon guys!!! I want my next pick!!! :D
I still haven't had my first pick ..so whats your problem :eek:
Sh1t, i can't believe my next choice was taken so early as a smokie, damn you CB ;) :mad:
Tissues Gilly?
bluegal1983
9 Nov 2006, 14:56
I still haven't had my first pick ..so whats your problem :eek:
You get two picks in a row!
P.S I am impatient.
How are we exactly supposed to 'pick for needs' when we don't know which team we are picking for?
Unless you mean we all are trying to get a balanced line-up which will give a best shot at a premiership? Or assemble a team full of young guns?
The Old Dark Navy's
9 Nov 2006, 21:36
Starting from scratch Hu$$ey. In the end people will vote for the best team, I expect taking into account current strength and longevity considering future potential. So ability to win flags now and in the future perhaps.
Jeremias
10 Nov 2006, 09:17
Blues_Man now has the next 2 picks.
Interesting pick at #17 BM.
Although, hard to argue with his form in 2006 though.
Blues_Man
10 Nov 2006, 14:42
Interesting pick at #17 BM.
Although, hard to argue with his form in 2006 though.
He looked great in the Irish games as well ..pace to burn with lots of composure ....picked him for the future
The Old Dark Navy's
10 Nov 2006, 15:03
My strategy is completely blown out the window again. I have the wrong picks!
Splendini
10 Nov 2006, 15:27
My strategy is completely blown out the window again. I have the wrong picks!
Do what i'm doing ODN and spit the dummy and withdraw.
Smell The Glove
10 Nov 2006, 15:39
To make it faster, why dont we allow some people to trade picks and players? Since we are judging this at the end, we should let some of the more inactive people trade away their picks for players already picked or something like that, to pace things up a bit.
Hey guys, got a suggestion if you're in a hurry. Someone mentioned a four hour time limit then someone loses their turn. how bout after 4 hours, or more if needed, the next person can take their pick, but the person who missed still can come back later and take a pick (as long they choose a different player). This means the player they wanted may be gone but they still get to pick someone else.
gandaal
10 Nov 2006, 16:08
Hey guys, got a suggestion if you're in a hurry. Someone mentioned a four hour time limit then someone loses their turn. how bout after 4 hours, or more if needed, the next person can take their pick, but the person who missed still can come back later and take a pick (as long they choose a different player). This means the player they wanted may be gone but they still get to pick someone else.
Some people have to work where they don't have access to the internet.
There's also a thing called sleeping which I heard that some people do for far long than four hours. Shocking I know.
Now I know those two groups represent a minority of the population but I think that it would be a bit unfair on them.
gandaal
10 Nov 2006, 16:10
Johnny_3
10 Nov 2006, 17:16
no worries, but are you really on here enough to contribute?
count me in too.. and yes i will contribute
Jeremias
10 Nov 2006, 17:18
count me in too.. and yes i will contribute
Umm...don't you think the draft has started already?
Johnny_3
10 Nov 2006, 17:36
Umm...don't you think the draft has started already?
hmm thought so,, i honestly thought u just added more numbers lmao.. sozz.. be sure to let me know with any upcoming things like this
The Old Dark Navy's
10 Nov 2006, 20:15
Gilly the slack ass piker.
bluegal1983
11 Nov 2006, 08:04
Do what i'm doing ODN and spit the dummy and withdraw.
Johnny, you can take my spot if you are happy with Marc Murphy as your first pick. I doubt my availability to commit to this in the next month.
Hrrrrrrm... :rolleyes:
gandaal
11 Nov 2006, 10:16
Its funny how different opinions can be about a game like AFL footy. I was throwing around eight or nine players for my first two picks. I finally picked the two who I rated the highest and hoped Blues_Man wouldn't pick Shaun. And now nine picks after my original selection only one of those seven or so players I was debating has been chosen :D
Smell The Glove
11 Nov 2006, 10:23
Its funny how different opinions can be about a game like AFL footy. I was throwing around eight or nine players for my first two picks. I finally picked the two who I rated the highest and hoped Blues_Man wouldn't pick Shaun. And now nine picks after my original selection only one of those seven or so players I was debating has been chosen :D
Yeah - I have two players in particular that I was pretty sure would be picked in the top 20 that still havent gone.
Some people have to work where they don't have access to the internet.
There's also a thing called sleeping which I heard that some people do for far long than four hours. Shocking I know.
Now I know those two groups represent a minority of the population but I think that it would be a bit unfair on them.
gandaal i was just using the four hours as an example as that had been suggested earlier. also suggested earlier was that after 11 there was no time limit for that 'minority' who sleep. i'm not fussed mate coz i'm not playing but there seemed to be alot of people saying it took to long so i was just making a suggestion
gandaal
11 Nov 2006, 15:47
Pick 24 - Brad Johnson
Johnno is a star, I've been lucky to pick up 2 Bulldog champions.
Been wondering how long it would be before someone picked him.
Smell The Glove
11 Nov 2006, 15:50
Been wondering how long it would be before someone picked him.
LOL, he was one of the two I was referring to.
Blues_Man
11 Nov 2006, 15:55
you're lucky ...as i seriously considered him
Spewing i missed this thread - i'm a mad dreamteamer!
Hope something like this comes up again.
gandaal
11 Nov 2006, 16:18
Spewing i missed this thread - i'm a mad dreamteamer!
Hope something like this comes up again.
Take over for Gilly if you want. Of course you have to get Jeremias' ok first.
Jeremias
11 Nov 2006, 16:22
Take over for Gilly if you want. Of course you have to get Jeremias' ok first.
If Gilly gives permission, I have no problem with DIG taking his spot.
The Old Dark Navy's
11 Nov 2006, 16:42
Maybe everyone can commit to being in at a certain time, maybe a couple of hours at a specified time over the weekend. Should be able to whip through another 40 picks by doing that. 5 days for 24 picks is not a great level of commitment.
Also if people are going to be offline all day or all night, if they let us know then those next in line aren't wasting their time checking in every half an hour.
I've got one player here and have been checking in about 30 times per day for 5 days.
Jeremias
11 Nov 2006, 16:50
Maybe everyone can commit to being in at a certain time, maybe a couple of hours at a specified time over the weekend. Should be able to whip through another 40 picks by doing that. 5 days for 24 picks is not a great level of commitment.
Also if people are going to be offline all day or all night, if they let us know then those next in line aren't wasting their time checking in every half an hour.
I've got one player here and have been checking in about 30 times per day for 5 days.
Well, something needs to be done-this is going WAY too slowly.
A time restriction should be made for each pick. The poster can post their pick themselves, or through others via PM or text if they know each other.
This really shouldn't be taking as long as it is.
The Old Dark Navy's
11 Nov 2006, 16:58
Out of those that wanted in but didn't get in, name a shadow recruiter for each participant perhaps?
Splendini
11 Nov 2006, 17:03
Seriously, i am going to be very unreliable for the next couple of weeks with days at a time without internet access so DIG can take over from me.
gandaal
11 Nov 2006, 17:08
Does the whole time thing really matter? Unlike the phantom draft there isn't really a set date where we have to finish by.
Jeremias
11 Nov 2006, 17:35
Does the whole time thing really matter? Unlike the phantom draft there isn't really a set date where we have to finish by.
It doesn't really matter, but it just drags on, far longer than it should.
Gilly the slack ass piker.
Culture!!
blues4flag
11 Nov 2006, 19:43
Pick 27 - Darren Glass
Damn it, was hoping no one would start picking up defenders (Glass in particular)this early
The Old Dark Navy's
11 Nov 2006, 21:38
Damn it, was hoping no one would start picking up defenders (Glass in particular)this earlyIt's nice to stuff up someone else's strategy for a change. ;)
It's nice to stuff up someone else's strategy for a change. ;)
Boo Hoo! ;)
The Old Dark Navy's
11 Nov 2006, 21:47
Boo Hoo! ;)Pfft ... lightweight. :p