View Full Version : Hawks My Choice: Thorp

deano the hawka
24 Nov 2006, 16:18
Here's an exciting article posted on the AFL website about Thorp's wanted-to-be-drafted club!

http://afl.com.au/default.asp?pg=news&spg=display&articleid=307493

Hawks my choice: Thorp
12:33:58 PM Fri 24 November, 2006
Matt Burgan
Sportal for afl.com.au
Tasmanian Mitchell Thorp has named Hawthorn and then the Brisbane Lions as his preferred AFL options, on the eve of Saturday's NAB AFL Draft.

Thorp, a key forward/defender, said he was optimistic about being drafted in the top 10 and was hopeful the Hawks (No.6) or Lions (No.4) could snap him up.

"Somewhere in the top 10 would be nice," Thorp said at AFL House on Friday.

"Hawthorn would be my number one preference - they play in Tassie, so that'd be a good connection there to get back down there and play a few games."

"There are about four or five guys (from Tasmania) that are a really strong chance to be drafted this year."

Thorp has been strongly linked to the Brisbane at No.4, although the Lions are also considering Bendigo's Joel Selwood with the same selection.

"I've been up in Brisbane a bit and I enjoy it up there and I know a few guys - obviously (Tasmanian Justin) Sherman and I know him quite well, so to be up there in the sun would be quite good," Thorp said.

"They (Brisbane Lions) have (shown a fair bit of interest). I've spoken to them a fair bit at the Draft Camp and they're fairly keen, but we'll just have to see how it pans out in the first couple of picks."

Seems as though he wants to go to the Mighty Hawks :thumbsu:

Don't know if he'll get there, but if either him or Sellar are available (not saying it's gonna happen), i would take Sellar...Thorp is a bit skinny at the moment, and very raw, unlike Sellar, who although lost 8 kg from his once handsome weight, he gained around 5 kg back!

Thoughts???:thumbsu:

deano the hawka
24 Nov 2006, 16:31
I'm not quite certain...is he a forward, or a backman???:confused:

Hugshawks
24 Nov 2006, 16:32

Plays both.

Can't really see him sliding, seeing as though the Lions need KPP's badly, but if he does, I'd be stoked.

Roughie
24 Nov 2006, 16:38

Extremely versatile I read that he has even played midfield on occasions.

His fast and agile for his size I really want Thorpe over Sellar!

dipper86
24 Nov 2006, 17:36
Extremely versatile I read that he has even played midfield on occasions.

His fast and agile for his size I really want Thorpe over Sellar!

He might be more versatile as in he can play midifield but Sellar plays the KP part of the game better than what Thorpe does. Forward or back.

Its a tough choice.

deano the hawka
24 Nov 2006, 17:37
What do people think about this article???

Hawk0373
24 Nov 2006, 17:50
What do people think about this article???

Seems to be solely due to the Tas connection, he's either keen for the cold or keen for the sun.

MR PERFECT
24 Nov 2006, 19:13

Thorpe can play back or forward, midfield and even ruck on occasion, we NEED Thorp :thumbsu:

MR PERFECT
24 Nov 2006, 19:15
Don't know if he'll get there, but if either him or Sellar are available (not saying it's gonna happen), i would take Sellar...Thorp is a bit skinny at the moment, and very raw, unlike Sellar, who although lost 8 kg from his once handsome weight, he gained around 5 kg back!
Thoughts???:thumbsu:

Thorp ain't skinny, he is pure muscle and is very strong by all reports ;)

philhawk
24 Nov 2006, 19:48
I remember reading a similar article about Grant Birchall the day before the draft.

I really hope we draft him.

deano the hawka
24 Nov 2006, 20:47
Thorp ain't skinny, he is pure muscle and is very strong by all reports ;)
Yes...but only 85kg pure muscle ;)

deano the hawka
24 Nov 2006, 20:51
Seems to be solely due to the Tas connection, he's either keen for the cold or keen for the sun.
TOTALLY agree!

The reasons he wanted to play for us is because we play in Tassie some weeks, not because he wants to commit to the club...Good pick up at 6, but still want Sellar more than Thorp...see him fitting in the club...im just confused who should we consider...Thorp or Sellar!

mulhollanddrive
24 Nov 2006, 21:30
I trust Buckernara and co. to select the best player out of the 2 if both are available.

I'd prefer Thorp as I'd love to see him playing FB at Box Hill and seeing if he is a prospect at that pos.

Gary Shadforth
24 Nov 2006, 23:11
Seems he is quite versatile. Place an 'e' on the end of his name and he could be a great swimmer :D . Corny comment I know, sorry guys and gals.

amos
24 Nov 2006, 23:21
Seems he is quite versatile. Place an 'e' on the end of his name and he could be a great swimmer :D . Corny comment I know, sorry guys and gals.I'll bookmark that one too, Gary ;)

Me, I hope we het Lubes, but if not, tehn Thorp, but I trust Bucky and co to get the best talent for us whether it be Lubes, Thorp, Sella or whoever.

Gary Shadforth
24 Nov 2006, 23:31
Me, I hope we het Lubes, but if not, tehn Thorp, but I trust Bucky and co to get the best talent for us whether it be Lubes, Thorp, Sella or whoever.

Just caught them on live-cam. It appears our guys are working through the night :D.

http://i34.photobucket.com/albums/d107/GaryShadforth/002Draftmorning26.jpg

MaccaHawk
25 Nov 2006, 00:29

Just caught them on live-cam. It appears our guys are working through the night :D.

Where did you get the live-cam from?

amos
25 Nov 2006, 01:00
Where did you get the live-cam from?Don't believe a word Gary is saying, MaccaHawk :D. They're not live, they're all in the cot. That picture would be from last year's draft. Looks like they're were contemplating whether or not to go with Dowler.

philhawk
25 Nov 2006, 01:07
Looks like they're were contemplating whether or not to go with Dowler.

Personally, I reckon they were playing naughts and crosses. ;)

MaccaHawk
25 Nov 2006, 03:27
Don't believe a word Gary is saying, MaccaHawk :D. They're not live, they're all in the cot. That picture would be from last year's draft. Looks like they're were contemplating whether or not to go with Dowler.

The dirty rat!

Hawk Dork
25 Nov 2006, 12:58
Where did you get the live-cam from?

Is the one in the back Robber Baron?

Hawkk
25 Nov 2006, 17:09
Looks like the Tassie games have a silver lining after all ;)

Hawkk
25 Nov 2006, 17:09

You love that pic don't you Gary :p

Gary Shadforth
25 Nov 2006, 18:35
Don't believe a word Gary is saying, MaccaHawk :D. They're not live, they're all in the cot. That picture would be from last year's draft. Looks like they're were contemplating whether or not to go with Dowler.

Shucks! Sprung again.

Gary Shadforth
25 Nov 2006, 18:38
You love that pic don't you Gary :p

Yes I do Hawkk. It could apply to this year as we have taken the pick of the crop for the second year in a row.

Eat your heart out the Likes of Sheeds ;).

Gary Shadforth
25 Nov 2006, 18:41
The dirty rat!

I know I am ... but a cunning one though:p .

arupist
26 Nov 2006, 12:35

I know I am ... but a cunning one though:p .

Yes, definitely a cunning stunt.

MB23
26 Nov 2006, 19:37
who is the kid in the hawks t shirt far right in the pic with all the new top draftees on the mainpage of the afl site?

Gary Shadforth
26 Nov 2006, 20:13
Fledgling Hawk talk of the town
BRETT STUBBS and KEN PIESSE
November 26, 2006 12:00am
Article from: The Sunday Tasmanian

http://www.news.com.au/common/imagedata/0,,5315684,00.jpg

Mitch with his dad, Peter a Tassie footy legend.

THE tiny historic township of Ross, with a population of just 700, has produced Tasmania's highest AFL national draft selection in a decade.
Mitch Thorp, a 17-year-old strong-marking centre half-forward, was swooped on by Hawthorn in yesterday's draft at pick six, making him the highest picked Tasmanian since Essendon grabbed Daniel McAlister at pick five back in 1996.
"It does mean something to me to be picked that high but, at the end of the day, no matter what pick you go, everyone is the same," Thorp said yesterday.
"While it's nice to be in the top 10, it is just a number and it doesn't mean too much unless you prove yourself to the coaches and players."
He was one of four Tasmanians selected yesterday, with Jack Riewoldt going to Richmond (pick 13), Tom Hislop to Essendon (20) and Colin Garland (46) becoming a Melbourne Demon.
Thorp, previously an Essendon supporter, said he was thrilled to become a Hawk, especially given the club's ties to Tasmania. The Hawks will play four games in Launceston next year.
He was just one of six players invited to yesterday's national draft.
"Being there, you knew you were going to go somewhere," he said.
"It probably made me a little bit more nervous as a lot was expected.
"The first bloke went -- you thought, `When am I going to go?'
"I am absolutely rapt going to Hawthorn. It is the club I wanted to go to because they are tied up with Tassie, they play down here and I know a couple of the guys there."
Thorp and his parents were then invited to Hawthorn coach Alistair Clark son's home for a barbecue.
"He was really good and said to get on board for a really exciting trip," Thorp said.
"Obviously, they have got a really young group and they just need a few more key-position players. Hopefully, I am one of them at centre half-forward."
The powerhouse teenager caught a 3pm flight back home yesterday to party with family and friends in the Midlands town.
"We invited 70 or 80 but there's likely to be a few more, don't worry about that," he said.
Hawks chief recruiter Gary Buckenara said Thorp had the physique and presence to play an immediate key position.
"He's been playing open-age footy since he was 15 or 16 and we think he has a very, very bright future," he said.
Thorp said he had the same drive and ambition as his footballing father Peter, who won 10 best-and-fairests at Ross despite a serious accident and doctors telling him he'd never be able to walk again.

JezzHawk
27 Nov 2006, 21:02
isn't it ironic that one Thorpe retires and another one begins.

Let just hope Thorp is half as good as Ian.

KingRich
8 Dec 2006, 14:26
I asked the following question on the Tassie local leagues thread:

Originally Posted by KingRich http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/images/buttons/viewpost.gif (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?p=6359017#post6359017)
Has anyone seen Mitch Thorp that got drafted by Hawthorn play local footy in Tassie? Is he as good as they say?

I have seen him play a few games for Tassie VFL and I didn't think much of him so was interested to hear from anyone in the know....

And Reply Below:

played against him this year king rich....... if your a hawks fan feel pretty lucky, at 17 years of age, you know your good when we couldnt get the thing passed him. played good at vfl level. weill be a ten year player...

Good positive signs I think. Obviously was playing down back this day.