Hawks taking their time with this pick.
Please take either McKenzie or Renouf!
philhawk
25 Nov 2006, 09:21
Welcome to Hawthorn, Renouf!
Maybe McKenzie will slip to Pick 33!
philhawk
25 Nov 2006, 09:24
Jarryd Morton. Very nice pick with Pick 33.
West Coast will be annoyed. :p
We've done so well!
Hawthorn '06
25 Nov 2006, 09:25
i wanteed bachar houli with pick33 :(
Alex_au
25 Nov 2006, 09:27
Alwyn Davey!
edit: AFL site made a mistake lol. Welcome Morton!
Nightwolf
25 Nov 2006, 09:36
Pretty happy with our choices...
Essendon have dominated..
MR PERFECT
25 Nov 2006, 09:40
Im stoked that we got Thorp, but we need some Quicker players now!
MightyHawks
25 Nov 2006, 09:40
I thought we'd go another midfielder with the first pick...
Why another tall? how long until Thorp develops?
juddy_Like
25 Nov 2006, 09:46
We've done so well!
You damm right we Are. But we had our chance at 29 and TBH, quite Happy with Mckenzie.
JezzHawk
25 Nov 2006, 10:01
What a draft!
Sellar at Pick 14!
he really did slip:eek:
Brown, Everitt, Reiwolt and bolted in front of him
Roughie
25 Nov 2006, 10:07
Why another tall?
Why another tall? Maybe the fact we only have one defender who can play man on man and hold his own (Croad). And after Franklin, Dowler, and Roughie, we have who? Boyle?
I think we drafted well and im extremely happy!
buddy23
25 Nov 2006, 10:26
We drafted another tall because that's who we needed! Everyone is saying we should have drafted a midfielder with one of our top 3 picks, but they are forgetting that last year we drafted quality mid's yet to debut.
- Ellis
- Muston
- Tuck
+ This year - Kennedy
Roughie
25 Nov 2006, 10:27
We drafted another tall because that's who we needed! Everyone is saying we should have drafted a midfielder with one of our top 3 picks, but they are forgetting that last year we drafted quality mid's yet to debut.
- Ellis
- Muston
- Tuck
+ This year - Kennedy
^Spot on and Midfield wasnt our major concern! We are still a very good clearance team, we just suck at the key position ranks thats why we needed to draft tall!
Hugshawks
25 Nov 2006, 10:32
Wow!!! Just got home and hear we got Thorp, so excited about him. Stunned that Leuenberger is at Brisbane!
Albo's opinion
25 Nov 2006, 10:59
happy with the new guys. stoked with thorp but essendon got everyone i wanted, they truly dominated this draft.:(
PAOKTSIS
25 Nov 2006, 11:08
Im absolutely rapt with our picks...Thorp at 6 is exactly who I wanted. Renouf, according to Burgan is the 2nd best ruckman, Morton was closely looked at by West Coast for their first pick and Moss was captain of W.A!
1 KPP
1 Ruckman
1 Tall Utility
2 Mids
Just for those in the know, do you think we should've gone with McKenzie instead of Renouf at pick 24, and Connors/Allen instead of Moss at Pick 56?
If I remember correctly, on the afl website there is a review of the draft camp, and the host (keep forgetting his name) stated that Moss reminded him of Scott West!!
And going against the trend, I dont think that Essendon did THAT well to the extent that everyone is raving about. They obviously did well, but other teams (definitely including us) did just as well if not better!
There was always question marks over Jetta's attitude, Davey was tipped to go much later & he's also a little older and Houli might have issues with injuries.
Overall though, Im extremely happy with our picks!
mcphee_is_a_gun
25 Nov 2006, 11:49
IMO did the best in the draft :thumbsu:
Roughie
25 Nov 2006, 12:03
IMO did the best in the draft :thumbsu:
Are you talking about Essendon lol? You guys dominated, hopefully 2 of the three (Houli, Davey, Jetta) will make the transition to the midfield and dont all stay as small forwards though.
mcphee_is_a_gun
25 Nov 2006, 12:06
Are you talking about Essendon lol? You guys dominated, hopefully 2 of the three (Houli, Davey, Jetta) will make the transition to the midfield and dont all stay as small forwards though.
We did good but Hawks also did very very well.
benrey_demons
25 Nov 2006, 12:10
id be very happy being a hawthorn supporter with this draft
what a great bunch of talls you are assembling
deano the hawka
25 Nov 2006, 12:13
We've done so well!
Yes...either Bachar Houli or Jarryd Allen could have been there...but who cares now!
Dixie Flatline
25 Nov 2006, 13:14
I'm pretty happy with our draft picks. Thorp gives us yet another tall to watch develop over the next few years. Renouf is rated as the second best ruckman in the draft after Leuenberger, so it was good to get him with our second round pick. It's also been reported that Renouf has played CHB in the U-18s, so perhaps he might support Robbie Campbell in defence and make it easier for us to play 3 ruckmen in the future, with Bailey in the centre and Campbell and Renouf around the ground (not getting ahead of myself though!).
Morton seems highly rated and I'm sure we pushed for a third rounder from Sydney for Everitt to pick up somebody like Morton who would be available in the third round. Kennedy carries some excellent genes. If I recall correctly, Moss is about the same height as Crawf - not saying, of course, that Moss will be Crawf incarnate, but if he approaches the levels Crawf has reached over his career, I'll be rapt. Our last pick saved for the PSD/rooke lists (we must have our eyes on somebody).
I am happy. I thought we needed another tall and hoped for Thorp. I thought we needed another ruckman and hoped for Renouf or maybe Goldstein. I wanted another mid and we got Morton and also Moss. Fantastic.
Maybe I might have preferred Connors to Moss because he is taller and maybe quicker, but the recruiting guys know what they are doing and I am sure they have picked the right guys for us.
Bring on the future!:)
delirious1
25 Nov 2006, 14:28
Moss at pick 56? god damn thats good, im pretty sure he was in the AA team
18s AA Side
B: Patrick Veszpremi (Vic M), Nathan Brown (Vic C), Mitch Thorp (TAS)
HB: David Armitage (QLD), Lachlan Hansen (Vic C), Ricky Petterd (QLD)
C: Daniel Connors (Vic C), Garry Moss (WA), Shaun Grigg (Vic C)
HF: Leroy Jetta (WA), Scott Gumbleton (WA), Daniel Dzufer (QLD)
F: Tom Hislop (TAS), Tom Hawkins (Vic M), Tom Hurley (SA)
Foll: Matthew Leuenberger (WA), Bryce Gibbs (SA), Leigh Adams (Vic M)
I/C: Craig Bird (NSW/ACT), Nathan Djerrkura (NT), Jarryd Allen (Vic M), Robert Eddy (Vic C)
Audemars Piguet
25 Nov 2006, 17:47
I know someone who went to school with Morton and apparently he is a chain smoker. Not all that ambitious with regards to an AFL career in general, pretty laid back and almost failed year 12.
Could still turn out to be a good AFL player though.
PAOKTSIS
25 Nov 2006, 17:52
What? Now you tell us??
Bucky shouldve been told of this before the draft, not now!
Dammit, there goes a wasted pick!:rolleyes:
Nightwolf
25 Nov 2006, 17:54
I know someone who went to school with Morton and apparently he is a chain smoker. Not all that ambitious with regards to an AFL career in general, pretty laid back and almost failed year 12.
Sounds a ripping bloke then..
Roughie
25 Nov 2006, 17:56
Guess he could fit in with your bunch if he doesnt make it at Hawthorn then?
Could still turn out to be a good AFL player though.Surprised the Tiges didn't jump before us to make Polak feel at home ;) or the Saints come to think of it ........
RustyHawk
25 Nov 2006, 18:31
Ricky Nixon was speaking on 3AW at 1.36pm today (Saturday) and said "Renouf was the steal of the draft" and predicted big things for the big guy.
sounded like Ricky has him signed up or will try and sign him up for the long term.
Ricky Nixon was speaking on 3AW at 1.36pm today (Saturday) and said "Renouf was the steal of the draft" and predicted big things for the big guy.
sounded like Ricky has him signed up or will try and sign him up for the long term.Sounds just like Ricky. Talking up his price even before a contract renewal is coming :thumbsd:. Unfortunatley Nixon isn't a recruiting officer, he's a player agent.
disclaimer ... assuming he's one of Nixon's clients. Still, I'd rather these words coming from anyone else apart from Nixon.
Audemars Piguet
25 Nov 2006, 19:25
Guess he could fit in with your bunch if he doesnt make it at Hawthorn then?
Ahhhh no. Nice try though.
LukeHodge15
25 Nov 2006, 21:46
Very very HAPPY.
4 outa 5 im estatic with, the other one. Lets hope i'm wrong with judgement of him.
Bucky does it again :thumbsu:
hawkaz1
25 Nov 2006, 21:59
What player aren't you so happy about us taking?
LukeHodge15
25 Nov 2006, 22:02
What player aren't you so happy about us taking?
Morton. I for one think he struggles with the tempo of underaged footy so the step up to AFL will be massive. And what did we need another TWEENER for when we already have heaps on our list. IMO Pick 33 should have been used for a speedy midfielder, but hey thats just me
hawkaz1
25 Nov 2006, 22:09
Thanks, yeh I was also hoping for a speedy midfielder with 33, oh well I suppose there's always next year :thumbsu:
Boy from the West
25 Nov 2006, 22:10
Morton. I for one think he struggles with the tempo of underaged footy so the step up to AFL will be massive. And what did we need another TWEENER for when we already have heaps on our list. IMO Pick 33 should have been used for a speedy midfielder, but hey thats just me
Hodgey, he didn't have a great Carnival because he was being played out of position by that goose who coaches WA,
This kid can play. He leads explosively and to the right spot. Takes a strong contested mark and then is deadly in front of goal.
Give him time in the gym and a season at Box Hill and in 08 you will start to see a player. IMHO
LukeHodge15
25 Nov 2006, 22:15
Hodgey, he didn't have a great Carnival because he was being played out of position by that goose who coaches WA,
This kid can play. He leads explosively and to the right spot. Takes a strong contested mark and then is deadly in front of goal.
Give him time in the gym and a season at Box Hill and in 08 you will start to see a player. IMHO
Mate, i hope u are so right and im so wrong. Wouldnt be the first time :p
Seems the Hawks now have a policy that we dont draft Midgets (except Moss) over the last 3 years.
LukeHodge15
25 Nov 2006, 22:16
Also he would have to make it as forward because as a backman he looks lost and rushed whenever he gets the pill. Fair assumption :confused:
Boy from the West
25 Nov 2006, 22:20
Yeah mate - Morto's no backman that's for sure.
Mossy is a little champ. A footballer's footballer with a heart like a lion. Tough as old boots. Platten like - and he was a decent servant of your mob.
PAOKTSIS
25 Nov 2006, 22:23
Yeh the beauty of the kids being so young means that they can possibly grow a few cm's over the next few years.
If for some reason he doesnt grow any more, I think its very good for us to have a few players of his size (i.e. similar to Birchall, Murphy) that can play on the wings/around the flanks, and cause lots of problems to the opposition due to their height and versatility. So a couple of these players either side of the ground is very handy. Its also been stated that he is a good kick, so that could be another reason why we were so keen on him?!
As for him struggling with the tempo at underage footy, that doesnt sound good, but hopefully with the right training and support he can easily adjust.
Was just wondering Hodgey15 since you were a big rap on McKenzie...would you have preferred McKenzie at 24 and Goldstein at 33, or the way we actually went?
Either way Im still over the moon with our selections!
macca69
25 Nov 2006, 22:24
Mossy is a little champ. A footballer's footballer with a heart like a lion. Tough as old boots. Platten like - and he was a decent servant of your mob.
Agreed on both points. Moss is a great get, I reakon he'll captain Hawthorn one day.
LukeHodge15
25 Nov 2006, 22:25
Worried about Moss's kicking, will be interesting to go back and review the players the Hawks took in greater detail from my DVD's.
Know a recruiter that actually had Moss ranked at 3 on his list. :eek:
Lets hope he knows his footy ......... :p :D
dipper86
25 Nov 2006, 22:32
Seems the Hawks now have a policy that we dont draft Midgets (except Moss) over the last 3 years.
I have alot of faith in our recruiting staff, so should you, so far they have performed very well, they have obviously seen something special in Morton that you or havent seen or else why would we have picked him? especially at 33.
LukeHodge15
25 Nov 2006, 22:36
Yeh the beauty of the kids being so young means that they can possibly grow a few cm's over the next few years.
If for some reason he doesnt grow any more, I think its very good for us to have a few players of his size (i.e. similar to Birchall, Murphy) that can play on the wings/around the flanks, and cause lots of problems to the opposition due to their height and versatility. So a couple of these players either side of the ground is very handy. Its also been stated that he is a good kick, so that could be another reason why we were so keen on him?!
As for him struggling with the tempo at underage footy, that doesnt sound good, but hopefully with the right training and support he can easily adjust.
Was just wondering Hodgey15 since you were a big rap on McKenzie...would you have preferred McKenzie at 24 and Goldstein at 33, or the way we actually went?
Either way Im still over the moon with our selections!
Had every concievable body part crossed when we were reading out our Pick 24 when McKenzie was still on the board.
Put it this way, Hansen has some pretty ordinary disposal and he gets taken at 3. McKenzie (196cm-90kgs) has similar skills to Hansen and he gets smashed for it. Go figure. I personally have McKenzie and Hansen on roughly the same par.
Renouf, Im a big fan. But if i had to choose i would have selected McKenzie at 24 and a speedy midfielder at 33. I know our rucks arent the best. But we do have Cambell - Taylor - Bailey & McEntee ( Who i rate, he just needs time ) on our books.
Saying that, I'm also a fan of having 4 Ruckman on our main list with 1 ruckman on our rookie list. So the Renouf selection makes good sense with our team list.
Good Question :confused: :confused:
LukeHodge15
25 Nov 2006, 22:38
I have alot of faith in our recruiting staff, so should you, so far they have performed very well, they have obviously seen something special in Morton that you or havent seen or else why would we have picked him? especially at 33.
I do, but their is no point in having an opinion and changing it midstream.
Good luck to the kid and welcome to the Hawthron FC. I will shut up now and hope for complete serve of "Egg on my face in a couple of years"
JezzHawk
26 Nov 2006, 00:33
The reason we choose Renouf over McKenzie is because we didn't think renouf will last to pick 33. With the departure of Spider we are quite thin in the ruck division.
Let's face it, ruckmen take longer to develop so its better to get them into the system earlier than later.
Nightwolf
26 Nov 2006, 01:00
Agreed on both points. Moss is a great get, I reakon he'll captain Hawthorn one day.
Now lets be honest here. Hodge and Mitchell are 10 year captains..
Hawk0373
26 Nov 2006, 01:04
I thought we'd go another midfielder with the first pick...
Why another tall? how long until Thorp develops?
Consider this lineup...
2010 Grand Final Team
FB: Sewell(26yo) Roughead(23) Jacobs(30)
HB: Gilham(26) Croad(30) Brown(27)
C: Kennedy(22) Mitchell(27) Ellis(23)
HF: Franklin(23) Thorp(22) Muston(23)
FF: Morton(22) Dowler(22) Williams(27)
FOLL: Campbell(28) Hodge(26) Birchall(22)
Int: Bailey(23), Bateman(29), Tuck(23), Lewis(26)
Emerg From: Murphy(24) Young(26) Osborne(28) Renouf(22) Little(24) Guerra(28) Dawson (24) Dixon(33) Crawf(36);)
Quite scary, isn't it...
Alex_au
26 Nov 2006, 04:56
We have Ellis and Muston from last draft who are the speedy midfielders. I personally wouldn't mind a Cornes type backman. I know we have a collection of these players at the moment. But whats great about it is that we get a choice of player.
Pharaoh
26 Nov 2006, 08:12
It certainly wouldn't. You have a demonstrated history of having no idea.
Smiggs Pig
26 Nov 2006, 10:10
Consider this lineup...
2010 Grand Final Team
FB: Sewell(26yo) Roughead(23) Jacobs(30)
HB: Gilham(26) Croad(30) Brown(27)
C: Kennedy(22) Mitchell(27) Ellis(23)
HF: Franklin(23) Thorp(22) Muston(23)
FF: Morton(22) Dowler(22) Williams(27)
FOLL: Campbell(28) Hodge(26) Birchall(22)
Int: Bailey(23), Bateman(29), Tuck(23), Lewis(26)
Emerg From: Murphy(24) Young(26) Osborne(28) Renouf(22) Little(24) Guerra(28) Dawson (24) Dixon(33) Crawf(36);)
Quite scary, isn't it...
This team looks a little top heavy for me with only a couple of players in the team with genuine speed.
I don't like Roughie at FB too slow IMO
If Birch lined up as the rover he would be the tallest rover in history.
Smiggs Pig
26 Nov 2006, 10:16
This is how I see the draft selections -
Thorp - Thrilled, the player I wanted most of all.
Renouf - Talented and versatile who adds depth, was hoping we would take McKenzie though.
Morton - Was hoping for a speedy mid, but sounds like he has the potential to play an O'Keefe like combination Midfield / Leading forward position. His comparison to Embley is exciting.
Moss - At 56 to secure an actual footballer like Moss is a strong selection.
Dixie Flatline
26 Nov 2006, 11:46
This team looks a little top heavy for me with only a couple of players in the team with genuine speed.
Think Adam Goodes. Undersized ruckman who won a Brownlow in that position turned in to an overgrown midfielder who wins a Brownlow. Not saying that Birch will be in Goodes' class, but Birch has the tools.
Hawk0373
26 Nov 2006, 16:30
Roughie is only 19 and will improve in both speed and defensive skills, already has clean hands and can hold his ground.
The way the game is being played now, ie tall/athletic ball carriers with great skills and evasive run through the lines approach like embley, i can see Birch being one of these types. Remember Kouta and how effective he was in the centre during his heyday?
Just my thoughts.
cschreuder61
26 Nov 2006, 19:42
Did well to get Thorp.
Don't know anything about the others but few people like GOALdenhawk rate Morton very very highly so that sounds promising.
He'll be a better player than the older brother.
macca69
26 Nov 2006, 20:12
He'll be a better player than the older brother.
Maybe, but that's got nothing to do with their respective abilities. It's amazing how different the 2 Morton's attitudes are though. Couldn't be more different.
I like what we did yesterday. Another quality tall, another highly regarded young ruckman, another ball carrying utility, another Kennedy and a classy mid.
Thorp, Renouf, Morton, Kennedy, Moss....Welcome to the Hawks, boys.
CaptainPorks
26 Nov 2006, 20:13
cschreuder61, do you have a profile of Morton writen by GOALdenhawk?
Maybe, but that's got nothing to do with their respective abilities. It's amazing how different the 2 Morton's attitudes are though. Couldn't be more different.
I would've thought that it's got everything to do with their respective abilities. If you know something about their repective attitudes fair enough, all I know is that they come from a very good family background and the three of them are keen to make a career and living out of playing AFL footy.
Cheeseman
26 Nov 2006, 20:31
I really think the term TWEENER is off the mark for Morton, I mean, He's taller than Trent Croad, doesnt seem to stop Croady playing KP.
Im prepared to be equally excited about every new addition on our list until such time as they give me reasons to second guess them.
As a supporter, this is my role. ;)
macca69
26 Nov 2006, 20:32
I would've thought that it's got everything to do with their respective abilities. If you know something about their repective attitudes fair enough, all I know is that they come from a very good family background and the three of them are keen to make a career and living out of playing AFL footy.
What I was trying to say was if Jarryd becomes a better player than Mitch it will be as a result of Jarryd's great work-ethic and Mitch's lack of work-ethic. No doubt Mitch is by far more talanted than Jarryd and of course how good they both become will be prodominantly due to their respective abilities, but if, like you said, Jarryd becomes a better player than Mitch (which could well happen) it'll be because Jarryd has gotten the best out of himself, while Mitch hasn't.
Point taken, but I dont agree that Mitch is necessarily far more talented. I followed them both through their PSA involvement and comparing them at that level I saw very little between them in ability.
macca69
26 Nov 2006, 20:43
Point taken, but I dont agree that Mitch is necessarily far more talented. I followed them both through their PSA involvement and comparing them at that level I saw very little between them in ability.
fair enough, you would have seen more of them than me, but from what I've seen of both at u/18 level, Mitch appears to have more class about him.
Unfortunately that is why the U18's Championship can sometimes be misleading and also why some of the so called experts who post opinions on players on here make mistakes.
macca69
26 Nov 2006, 20:56
Unfortunately that is why the U18's Championship can sometimes be misleading and also why some of the so called experts who post opinions on players on here make mistakes.
I'm aware of Jarryd putting in performances below his best at the Champs due to being played out of position, but I still feel he lacks the class of his brother, although he easily has him done for work-rate IMO.
Nightwolf
26 Nov 2006, 20:59
Im kinda interested in Jaryd's thoughts about coming to Hawthorn. He strikes me as a type who will do the old 2 years and then back to W.A... (Nothing has suggested this, just a gut feeling)
I'm aware of Jarryd putting in performances below his best at the Champs due to being played out of position, but I still feel he lacks the class of his brother, although he easily has him done for work-rate IMO.
I've seen PSA games last year where Jarryd did things that would change your mind. I guess we'll just have to watch and see how they both develop.
macca69
26 Nov 2006, 21:29
I've seen PSA games last year where Jarryd did things that would change your mind. I guess we'll just have to watch and see how they both develop.
That's a pretty low standard of competition though isn't it?
If he is as talanted as Mitch, then with his work-rate he is an absolute steal at #33.
philhawk
3 Dec 2006, 11:11
I just wonder whether Morton will be the HFF cum Midfielder that Birchall is to the HBF. What's his agility and kicking skills like (in comparison to Birchall?)
I don't know of Birchall so I can't offer an opinion.
Morton in my opinion is essentially a side of the ground player eg., HFF/WING/HBF probably better suited to the HFF but could handle any of the other roles including Midfield very well. He uses either foot equally well and I have seen him kick goals from 50m with either foot, his agility and marking skills are also very sound. All in all you have got a very good player.
OneEyedHawk
4 Dec 2006, 01:03
Given this blokes posting history (re.Hawthorn-related matters), all signs point to this being a drafting masterstroke.
MCGBEAST
4 Dec 2006, 06:47
Hawthorns draft selections clearly show that their recruiting staff are hopelessly out of touch with contemporary football standards. In 2006 they recruited a bunch of lame ducks who have done nothing, and will continue to do nothing. This year, its a bunch of would-be-if-they-could-be pretenders.
To all the players out there who actually possess some skill (mostly already located in Hawthorn's own back yard), please accept an apology. It seems that the following are recommended prerequisites for future AFL drafts:
1. A pedigree
2. A large bag of cash
3. To be well connected and/or well marketed
Skill does not seem to be located in any part of the equation.
How could you possibly say that any one of the players drafted by Hawthorn is better than Leigh Adams (Captain of the victorious Vic Metro team) and all-Australian?
Some of the young guns at Box Hill Hawks must be laughing their heads off.
Hawthorns draft selections clearly show that their recruiting staff are hopelessly out of touch with contemporary football standards. In 2006 they recruited a bunch of lame ducks who have done nothing, and will continue to do nothing. This year, its a bunch of would-be-if-they-could-be pretenders.
To all the players out there who actually possess some skill (mostly already located in Hawthorn's own back yard), please accept an apology. It seems that the following are recommended prerequisites for future AFL drafts:
1. A pedigree
2. A large bag of cash
How could you possibly say that any one of the players drafted by Hawthorn is better than Leigh Adams (Captain of the victorious Vic Metro team) and all-Australian?
I wouldn't have thought a Brissie supporter could be so bitter but there you go. Nice words from a team on a huge slide to the bottom 3 and likely to stay there for the next few years, to a team climbing and challenging the eight in 2007 or 2008.
Enjoy your next few years of below par mediocrity. :)
Frankston Rover
4 Dec 2006, 09:42
1. A pedigree
2. A large bag of cash
If he's so good, why didn't Brisbane draft him, you f**kwit?
dipper86
4 Dec 2006, 10:43
1. A pedigree
2. A large bag of cash
WTF. :confused:
That was really one of the worst efforts i have ever seen.
Lingsface
4 Dec 2006, 13:07
Im kinda interested in Jaryd's thoughts about coming to Hawthorn. He strikes me as a type who will do the old 2 years and then back to W.A... (Nothing has suggested this, just a gut feeling)
very happy to be there thats all you need to know.
KingRich
4 Dec 2006, 15:29
If he's so good, why didn't Brisbane draft him, you f**kwit?
Good Call!