View Full Version : Port Adelaide Draft Discussion

Weaver
25 Nov 2006, 07:25
Discuss Port Adelaide's draft picks here.

5. Travis Boak (Geelong U18)
23. Paul Stewart (Woodville-West Torrens)
39. Nathan Krakouer (Claremont)
55. Robert Gray (Oakleigh)
71. Justin Westhoff (Central Districts)
83. Ryan Williams (Geelong U18)
86. David Rodan (Richmond)
88. Pass

Lightning_Rod
25 Nov 2006, 09:38
havent heard of any of them, and feel rather screwed over, for not picking up the availible thorpe or sellar.
we have in order,
Travis Boak
Paul Stewart
Nathan Krakouer
Robert Grey

tazhawk
25 Nov 2006, 09:41
Boak at pick 5 for PA.

Lightning_Rod
25 Nov 2006, 09:58
Justin Westhoff (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/#)
Ryan Williams
David Rodan

Warwick
25 Nov 2006, 10:09
David Rodan - that's a surprise.

Thunderstruck
25 Nov 2006, 10:10
Rodan!!!:eek: boy oh boy that is an interesting one. Still Port have a habit of turning delisted players from other clubs to handy players.

Crow-mo
25 Nov 2006, 10:31
Port have been good at left field mids - carr & thompson for two.

if they like Boak that much, he must be serious.

Arsene Wenger
25 Nov 2006, 10:43
look we didnt get the names im looking for but I wouldnt know how good these kids are. I think we all over react a little too much. Boak could turn out to be a gun and Mitch Thorp could turn out to be as good as JOn Hay is now. Hopefully they both turn out to be good players for their clubs.... but these coaches and recruiting guys get paid good money so i will trust their judgment

crowsarethebest
25 Nov 2006, 10:52
Boak is very underated on BF. Wasn't even rated much up until 2 weeks ago or so. Obviously the Recruiting staff all rate him. Geelong would've snapped him up at 7 but Port go in first. Krakour... another Danyle Pearce excitement machine. I don't know if you need another one of them though...Gray will kick many goals for you guys. SMall forward to replace Mahony(sp?) . Suprised about Rodan...

pafc4life
25 Nov 2006, 11:47
im happy with the Rodan pick. was very exciting in 03 and 04 before doing his knee....hes fit and raring to go now, good for an 80 something pick

morell
25 Nov 2006, 12:59
im happy with the Rodan pick. was very exciting in 03 and 04 before doing his knee....hes fit and raring to go now, good for an 80 something pickWhat?

He was, is and will be a dud.

in 03 he averaged 7.6 kicks and 4.2 handpasses, plus a massive 0.8 goals. Oh sorry, I forgot his 2 and half marks.

in 04 he was worse - 5.4 K's, 5.1 HP's, 1.8 M's and 1/2 a goal.

This wasn't in good sides either, he couldn't crack it in one of the worst sides in the comp, what makes you think he will crack it at Port? Who will he replace out of our first 22?

*PAFC*13
25 Nov 2006, 13:47
morell just chill out. Give him time, see what he can do at a new club with new people around him. If he's still ********, you can rip into him and I will join you.

pafc4life
25 Nov 2006, 13:53
Rodab sghould be vice captern

Lightning_Rod
25 Nov 2006, 14:22
Rodab sghould be vice captern
dear lord.:o

morell
25 Nov 2006, 15:14
morell just chill out. Give him time, see what he can do at a new club with new people around him. If he's still ********, you can rip into him and I will join you.Go tell that to James Ezard.

sante
25 Nov 2006, 17:50
Good luck to Rodan at Port

Crow-mo
25 Nov 2006, 20:31
What?

in 03 he averaged 7.6 kicks and 4.2 handpasses, plus a massive 0.8 goals. Oh sorry, I forgot his 2 and half marks.

This wasn't in good sides either, he couldn't crack it in one of the worst sides in the comp, what makes you think he will crack it at Port? Who will he replace out of our first 22?

jesus dude,

you dislike your players more than we dislike your guys. are you a plant? :D

Spider_Burton
26 Nov 2006, 01:54
RObbie Gray is ridcliously good

Rory
26 Nov 2006, 01:58
Go tell that to James Ezard.

He still has a chance to be picked up in the PSD.

You need to lay off a bit as well. Give these players time to prove themselves rather than ripping into them and the club :rolleyes:

Spider_Burton
26 Nov 2006, 02:03
Robbie Gray is ********ing awesome and a gr8 pick up

Port_GW
26 Nov 2006, 02:09

I hope you're right :thumbsu: :D

morell
26 Nov 2006, 14:13
jesus dude,

you dislike your players more than we dislike your guys. are you a plant?So because he has now changed guersney's, I am now supposed to think he is instantly a good player? I am sure there are players on the crows list that you wished weren’t there ... how is Jericho going? What if the Crows draft J.Cloke?

Unlike most I am not an one-eyed faith based supporter.

I think Thurtsans is a hack, I think Lonie is as soft as fresh dog********, I think K.Cornes is massively overrated.

Of course whilst they are on the ground, wearing the strip, I would cheer and barrack as strong as anyone and I have NEVER bagged a player out loud at a game.

I also dont dislike Rodan at all. Indeed I admire him for his determination and commitment. I just think he is a dud footballer. Nothing wrong with that, so am I!

You need to lay off a bit as well. Give these players time to prove themselves rather than ripping into them and the clubExcuse me? How about I will post however and whatever I damn well please (within the rules of BF.)

I don’t tell you and others to stop making immature, stupid threads and embarrassing yourselves and our club on bay 13 now do I?

Also, please highlight the post where I have 'ripped' into the club. I think you will find it has been very specifically related to David Rodan and his abilities as a footballer.

Barmera roo
26 Nov 2006, 14:55
Why would port not go for a local tall who will not want to go home? Sellar had to be the one!:(

Captain Wacky
26 Nov 2006, 16:53
Why would port not go for a local tall who will not want to go home? Sellar had to be the one!:(

Sellar slid for a reason, he's got a lack of committment and a bad attitude. He'll be pretty much another Thurstans, only with even more unfulfilled talent. A decent risk at 14, not a decent risk at 5.

Crow-mo
26 Nov 2006, 19:31
Sellar slid for a reason, he's got a lack of committment and a bad attitude. He'll be pretty much another Thurstans, only with even more unfulfilled talent. A decent risk at 14, not a decent risk at 5.

Really, the draft is that exact? are you sure?

is this the same reason Pearce slid through the entire draft? ;)

PJ Power
26 Nov 2006, 19:48
The more I think through it, the more I reckon we did well yesterday.

Putting Rohde's pre-draft insights to one side, we obviously identified this draft as an opportunity for us to consolidate our midfield. We now have potentially an excellent longterm midfield with the only risk to its viability being if Boak or Salopek surrender to homesickness during their careers.
It is exceptionally balanced on paper, with 2 all-round midfielders in Sal and Boak, 2 outstanding clearance dynamos in JB and Pearce, an extricator in Thomson and 2 hard-working accumulators in Kane and Dom. Factor in Peter Burgoyne for a couple of years, and the less certain contributions of Logan, Stewart, Krakeour, Surjan, Symes and Bentley as midfielders and it really is a good mix.

No regrets about not taking Sellar. Ruck-forwards are a worse investment IMO than midfielders with such early picks.

DSL64
26 Nov 2006, 22:43
What?

Mate, I'm on your side...
Totally agree, and felt the same way when we drafted Nathan 'I'm softer than wet Dog do-doo ' Lonie

Spadge
26 Nov 2006, 22:54
RObbie Gray is ridcliously good

im keen to hear a bit more from you about Robert Gray
you seem to think he is a gun... lets hear why

SimonH
26 Nov 2006, 22:55
The loss of Dew on top of all of the other experienced players put Port at risk of being an exceedingly bottom-heavy club in the age department. There was absolutely no way that Port could have afforded to inject 7 eighteen-year-olds into its list. Port's selections have to be looked at in that light. Port had to pick for list balance, and came up with:
• a 23 year old small forward (while Rodan is at best a fringe, bit-part player)
• a 20 year old KPP forward (albeit one who needs a bit of bulk)
• a 19 year old 'betweener size' who's close to being ready-to-play, plus
• the obligatory 3 small/mid-sized 18 year olds (including a guy who would have to win the record for the lightest guy ever on a club list in the AFL era: I present to you all 61kg of Nathan Krakouer. Now don't touch him, whatever you do).

Then there's one slot for the PSD, which would have to be a decent chance of going to a matooor player.

That's a pretty fair effort.

footy_paul
27 Nov 2006, 08:55
does anyone know anything about boak, he was quite a bolter. stats?