View Full Version : Jarryd Morton: Potential key-position-player?

B-HAWK 26
25 Nov 2006, 11:25
Have heard a bit about this guy but not much, was just wondering whether he is a short kpp or a tall midfielder.

ps: absolutely stoked with Renouf

amos
25 Nov 2006, 11:32
Here's the insights from TOA, MACCA69 and WEAVER

Pick 24 – HAW – Jarryd MORTON (5/10/88) – 190cm/ 80kgs
An athletic flanker/3rd tall who can play at either end and has a very good kick. Probably wont turn out to be a key position player at AFL level but has played at CHF in the colts this year to good effect. Considered a good chance to go first round, West Coast, Pies and Hawks said to be interested. Hawks spoke to him for over an hour at the DC and West Coast are reported to be keen at 16. Hawthorn have stated publicly they want to draft players who are good kicks, they also seem to like the tall flanker types (see Birchall last year). Having already secured a tall early and a midfielder in Kennedy, they will probably on the look out for something abit different, Morton might be that sort of player.

24. Hawthorn – Jarryd Morton
Hawks very keen on Morton apparently. Is a flanker/wingman in the mold of Embley. He may grow to be true KPP size, but even with a couple of cms he’ll still be a flanker IMO. He is touted as the “middle Morton” (less talented than his brothers) but he’s as hard a worker as you will come across in junior footy. He’s quick with good skills and can take a mark, definitely the type of player the Hawks have liked to draft in recent times. Could go earlier than #24, potentially as high as #13.

36. Jarryd Morton (Essendon) – Outside HFF who has been used at CHF and CHB. Will be a 3rd forward or winger in time and has earned comparisons to Andrew Embley who plays a similar style and was similarly raw. Most clubs are prepared to gamble on those athletic types which bring some versatility to the table.

Embers
25 Nov 2006, 11:33
Have heard a bit about this guy but not much, was just wondering whether he is a short kpp or a tall midfielder.

ps: absolutely stoked with Renouf

Tall midfielder. Plays KPP at WAFL but would be eaten alive at AFL level I think.

Hawk Dork
25 Nov 2006, 12:50
Tall midfielder. Plays KPP at WAFL but would be eaten alive at AFL level I think.

Today yes
in the future ??????

Big Cox
25 Nov 2006, 21:11
I played on Jarryd bout 8 months ago. 4 yeard older then him. Both played on a wing. Damn he fast for his height. Damn he can mark, but boy does he suck at the defensive side of the game. Cant tackle spoil or pretty much do anything to do which involves defending. A similar player to Mark Williams IMO in terms of height and speed however more endurance and not as good a kick of the footy, however your lot will play him as a half forward flanker in the O Keefe/Didak/Embley role I feel. Thats where he will play most of his AFL footy.

Hawk0373
25 Nov 2006, 21:39
I played on Jarryd bout 8 months ago. 4 yeard older then him. Both played on a wing. Damn he fast for his height. Damn he can mark, but boy does he suck at the defensive side of the game. Cant tackle spoil or pretty much do anything to do which involves defending. A similar player to Mark Williams IMO in terms of height and speed however more endurance and not as good a kick of the footy, however your lot will play him as a half forward flanker in the O Keefe/Didak/Embley role I feel. Thats where he will play most of his AFL footy.

he's 191cm, Williams is 180cm..

you sure you got the right bloke?

Gary Shadforth
25 Nov 2006, 22:07
I played on Jarryd bout 8 months ago. .... terms of height and speed however more endurance and not as good a kick of the footy,Your comments are welcome BC, but with respect, do you imagine Jarryd will be the same ilk of a footballer when he makes his senior debut for the Hawks. I wouldn't wish to be playing on him when he reaches the standard that will be required of him. Apples are apples and oranges are oranges, mate.

Big Cox
26 Nov 2006, 01:51
he's 191cm, Williams is 180cm..

you sure you got the right bloke?

Mark Williams plays like a 190cm player (didnt explain that right sorry). Morton doesnt play like a geniune KPP and dont think he ever will be. Half forward flank is his spot. I played on him on the wing and he gave me the run around but I was able to drop forward and kick 2 goals on him (He kicked 2 on me too but got 13 more possessions)

It was only 8 months ago Gary so id say it was a fair assumption that not much has dramatically changed. First thing that has to happen is teach him to tackle and spoil. Boy does he have a engine though. Runs all day

Robber Baron
26 Nov 2006, 07:45
Here's the insights from TOA, MACCA69 and WEAVER

Pick 24 – HAW – Jarryd MORTON (5/10/88) – 190cm/ 80kgs
An athletic flanker/3rd tall who can play at either end and has a very good kick. Probably wont turn out to be a key position player at AFL level but has played at CHF in the colts this year to good effect. Considered a good chance to go first round, West Coast, Pies and Hawks said to be interested. Hawks spoke to him for over an hour at the DC and West Coast are reported to be keen at 16. Hawthorn have stated publicly they want to draft players who are good kicks, they also seem to like the tall flanker types (see Birchall last year). Having already secured a tall early and a midfielder in Kennedy, they will probably on the look out for something abit different, Morton might be that sort of player.

24. Hawthorn – Jarryd Morton
Hawks very keen on Morton apparently. Is a flanker/wingman in the mold of Embley. He may grow to be true KPP size, but even with a couple of cms he’ll still be a flanker IMO. He is touted as the “middle Morton” (less talented than his brothers) but he’s as hard a worker as you will come across in junior footy. He’s quick with good skills and can take a mark, definitely the type of player the Hawks have liked to draft in recent times. Could go earlier than #24, potentially as high as #13.

36. Jarryd Morton (Essendon) – Outside HFF who has been used at CHF and CHB. Will be a 3rd forward or winger in time and has earned comparisons to Andrew Embley who plays a similar style and was similarly raw. Most clubs are prepared to gamble on those athletic types which bring some versatility to the table.

Looks like Bucky and Pelch pulled off another coo with snaping him up under the noses of West coast. He sounds like hes gunna be a start for us.

Hawk0373
26 Nov 2006, 16:33
Mark Williams plays like a 190cm player (didnt explain that right sorry). Morton doesnt play like a geniune KPP and dont think he ever will be. Half forward flank is his spot. I played on him on the wing and he gave me the run around but I was able to drop forward and kick 2 goals on him (He kicked 2 on me too but got 13 more possessions)

It was only 8 months ago Gary so id say it was a fair assumption that not much has dramatically changed. First thing that has to happen is teach him to tackle and spoil. Boy does he have a engine though. Runs all day

How old are you BC and how old was Morton 8 months ago?

Do you think in time Morton has the upside to improve in these areas?

Alex_au
26 Nov 2006, 16:43
Hope he turns out like Adam Hunter;)

Krale Brown
26 Nov 2006, 17:53
. First thing that has to happen is teach him to tackle and spoil. Boy does he have a engine though. Runs all day

Tackle and Spoil ha if thats all he needs to improve we have a gun.:D

The Kipster
27 Nov 2006, 09:13

Embers would typically no idea about the kid infact the chooks are spewing we got him before them, he comes from fantastic stock and is a better player than his brother Mitch who is on the chook list and not getting a game obviously.....securing Jarryd is a bonus as Mitch is discontent were he is at with the chooks and there is a possibility when out of contract we may gain his services.....:thumbsu:

sgbn77
27 Nov 2006, 09:33

Thanks Coxy, it's good to get an insight like that! Despite the others getting defensive about him already, I appreciate hearing your opinion on his up- and down-sides.

FriarTuck
27 Nov 2006, 09:55
An interesting choice. A HFF seems to fly in the face of stocking up on HBF.

My only concern is he may be yet another soft WA flanker.

We have not had a high marking HFF since the Krumm.

The Kipster
27 Nov 2006, 09:58
Thanks Coxy, it's good to get an insight like that! Despite the others getting defensive about him already, I appreciate hearing your opinion on his up- and down-sides.

What the hell would he know? who is he? what a load of crap.......I can tell you now he would of carved Big Coxy up....beside like I said the chooks are spewing we got him and I would say 1 pick before them....further more there is one more Morton to go who again has great talent, we may end up with a dynasty...:thumbsu:

Rexcellent
27 Nov 2006, 10:31
Hope he turns out like Adam Hunter;)

that would be great, but i like pelchens thoughts

http://hawthornfc.com.au/default.asp?pg=news&spg=display&articleid=307749

describes morton as ''being in the chad cornes mould'

sgbn77
27 Nov 2006, 10:43
What the hell would he know? who is he? what a load of crap.......I can tell you now he would of carved Big Coxy up....beside like I said the chooks are spewing we got him and I would say 1 pick before them....further more there is one more Morton to go who again has great talent, we may end up with a dynasty...:thumbsu:

Mate, chill out. It's good to hear the opinion of someone on the field with the guy. If Big Cox had come out and said "he's crap, I'm faster, stronger, a better kick, better mark, and all round better player", then yeah, I'd question the merits of putting up the post. But he has highlighted some good and bad points of the player, which I appreciate. I can tell you, as a 17 year old, he'll have some things he has to learn, no doubt about it.

Mate, you just said "who is he?" and then "i can tell you now he would of carved Bix Coxy up". You either know who is he, or your assuming you do.

So again, thanks for the post Coxy.

The Kipster
27 Nov 2006, 10:54
Mate, chill out. It's good to hear the opinion of someone on the field with the guy. If Big Cox had come out and said "he's crap, I'm faster, stronger, a better kick, better mark, and all round better player", then yeah, I'd question the merits of putting up the post. But he has highlighted some good and bad points of the player, which I appreciate. I can tell you, as a 17 year old, he'll have some things he has to learn, no doubt about it.

Mate, you just said "who is he?" and then "i can tell you now he would of carved Bix Coxy up". You either know who is he, or your assuming you do.

So again, thanks for the post Coxy.

Your relying on information from the enemy....but hey if you believe all that is said by your foes...good on ya...for me I'll listen to my Hawk bretheren....so again thanks for nothing Coxy you chook nerd...:thumbsu:

Lingsface
27 Nov 2006, 11:47

were would of u played on him.... he hasnt played any snior footy and unless your 22 and playing colts I dont see how it would of happened.

Lingsface
27 Nov 2006, 11:55
Jarryd Morton
Club-Claremont
Position-CHF/HF/could develop into a wing
Honors-
WAFL Colts Team of The Year-CHF 2006
State 18s 2006

All the Boxes are ticked for Jarryd
Skill-Tick
Endurance-Tick
Height-Tick
Goal Kicking-Tick

A 191cm CHF who runs a 13.8 beep test and kicks bags of up to 7-8 in the Colts system hes an exciting prospect who I think will be snapped up higher than most expect on this board. Morton had another excellent year in the colts system kicking bags of goals and taking a lot of marks, he can play on the Wing because of his endurance and maybe where clubs see him playing in the future, has a very very good over head mark which would trouble a lot of wingmen that would play on him, but in the other sense he can play forward and take a grab in a contested situation or make 50m leads and get the ball, hardly ever gets beaten in a contested marking situation it either comes to ground or he takes it, can win the ball very well on the ground as well. A hard worker and loves the physical contests as well would be good if he could get to 193-4 cm but I don’t think it will affect him much as he has the ability to turn into a HFF/Wing if needed.

Verdict- Morton will go around the 16-29 picks I think that if West Coast don’t pick him up with there first pick Hawthorn may snap him up at 24 if that does not happen West Coast should pick him up at 29.

Player Comparision- Mixture of Chris Tarrant/Andrew Embley

dipper86
27 Nov 2006, 12:00
Jarryd Morton
Club-Claremont
Position-CHF/HF/could develop into a wing
Honors-
WAFL Colts Team of The Year-CHF 2006
State 18s 2006

All the Boxes are ticked for Jarryd
Skill-Tick
Endurance-Tick
Height-Tick
Goal Kicking-Tick

A 191cm CHF who runs a 13.8 beep test and kicks bags of up to 7-8 in the Colts system hes an exciting prospect who I think will be snapped up higher than most expect on this board. Morton had another excellent year in the colts system kicking bags of goals and taking a lot of marks, he can play on the Wing because of his endurance and maybe where clubs see him playing in the future, has a very very good over head mark which would trouble a lot of wingmen that would play on him, but in the other sense he can play forward and take a grab in a contested situation or make 50m leads and get the ball, hardly ever gets beaten in a contested marking situation it either comes to ground or he takes it, can win the ball very well on the ground as well. A hard worker and loves the physical contests as well would be good if he could get to 193-4 cm but I don’t think it will affect him much as he has the ability to turn into a HFF/Wing if needed.

Verdict- Morton will go around the 16-29 picks I think that if West Coast don’t pick him up with there first pick Hawthorn may snap him up at 24 if that does not happen West Coast should pick him up at 29.

Player Comparision- Mixture of Chris Tarrant/Andrew Embley

Nice write up.
What do you think Moss as a late selection ?

Lingsface
27 Nov 2006, 12:13
Nice write up.
What do you think Moss as a late selection ?

GARY MOSS
Club-East Perth
Position-Midfielder pinch hit small forward
Honors-
WA U/18s Captain
AIS Scolarship
All Australian 2006
State 18s-2006
State 16s-2004

The true “footballer” of this years group of WA boys (maybe team mate colbung as well), Moss who gained an AIS scholarship in 2004 after his very impressive 16s carnival fell victim to a badly broken collarbone that stuck with him through late 2004 and the whole of 2005 stinted his ratings amongst wannabe recruiters like myself, although I always thought that Moss was special he as smart a footballer as you will see at his age group his disposal by hand and foot is very accurate and he kicks goals from the midfield also add to that he runs a 14-15 beep test you would say he is the perfect midfielder but this is where the recruiters rule comes in hes under 180cm and has a underdeveloped body, personally I think who gives a ******** the guys proved himself as a jet footballer at league level with this body and at a national carnival, sure hes got an underdeveloped body but hes 18 and had 2 years on the sidelines with a collar bone injury don’t think he would have been doing many bench presses during that time. He was the most dominant colts footballer this year when he played his 5 games averaging something like 38 possesions and 2 goals in those games and as we have all seen hes not just a number gatherer he uses the football extremely well.

Verdict- Moss is a hard one to judge someone could see that he is not to much behind Murphy when he was drafted and really rate him and he goes first round, or there is the 2nd scenario he drops to a rookie list spot because people think he is too small and just your normal decent rover. Personally I feel picking up Moss anywhere after pick 25 is a real steal.

Player Comparison-Lenny Hayes (smaller version)

B-HAWK 26
27 Nov 2006, 14:58
Great write ups lingface, could u do ones for thorp and renouf please :)

hawkaz1
27 Nov 2006, 15:49
Yeh thanks for the info, I didn't know anything about them, but since reading your analysis I'm really happy we got them.

94_Eagles
27 Nov 2006, 16:43
We could have got him, but got McKenzie instead.

Time will tell whether we made the right decision.

Roughie
27 Nov 2006, 19:12
We could have got him, but got McKenzie instead.

Time will tell whether we made the right decision.

McKenzie was a very good pick IMO and I was suprised he lasted to your pick, I thought Port would of drafted him.

4th Tier
27 Nov 2006, 20:45
were would of u played on him.... he hasnt played any snior footy and unless your 22 and playing colts I dont see how it would of happened.

May have been a match involved in a match between the initial state 18's squad and a WAFL League side...
Would be interesting to see which match it was in though

Bit of background of Jarryd's school football
Year 10 - Captain of that side, didnt poll a B&F vote
Year 11 - Played half the season in the 2nds and then came through and played relatively well in the 1sts
Year 12 - V/Capt to Clinton Benjamin, finished third in the B&F, which was won clearly by Matthew Leuenberger - also played a handful of colts game that year

Big Cox
22 Feb 2007, 18:21

Lol Im not 22. Profile is wrong and I didnt really want to tell ya which team I played for :D. Im only a year older then him. (how old is he) Played on him in Colts. Didnt play many games though cos my shoulders are both buggered up so i had to give it up. He was the only opponent of real note I played on. Remember the day cos ive never ran so much before in me life.

ANyway reason I bump is to ask how is he going and will he play this year. If he does ill keep a watch out on him

GALON
22 Feb 2007, 19:21
Has been touted as the one draftee from 2006 who is putting his hand up the hardest so far. This was voiced by Clarkson and Viney.

Rowie6
23 Feb 2007, 09:09
Sounds unsimilar to one of our premiership greats,in Tony Hall.Great pack mark,beautiful kick and huge engine,until that little mongrel Andy Collins chopped him down at his best,i will never will forgive him for that.I hope Jarryd can be as good as the great Tony Hall.

Collins-Langford-Ayres
23 Oct 2008, 14:32
Some time on from when this was posted. Interested to see what people think of Morton.

Some of the quotes identified that he has very good footskills, but what I saw suggests he has some work to do in this area. The comments about his endurance seem spot on though.

Not sure he is really ready for a HFF and wonder whether he could be played as a HBF replacing Birchall, thereby enabling Birch to form part of our wingman rotations, with Lewis, Young, Bateman, etc.

Any thoughts?

chenyan
23 Oct 2008, 15:26
Amazing ball winning ability for a young kid. Reminds me of Craig Treleven (sp?) from about a decade ago. Gets so much of it, but doesn't have the skills. Hopefully X Ellis can talk to him and give him some of the composure that Ellis found this season and he'll be amazing. I have him above Tuck, and def. in our best 25 for next season

I prefer him as a HFF or Ruck Rover, not a KPP, but I haven't seen anything of note in regards to his marking ability.

HAWKS HEROES
23 Oct 2008, 16:55
hope he enjoyed the wine i gave him :thumbsu:

Cheeseman
23 Oct 2008, 18:15
Morto had a disposal efficiency of 75.93% for the season, the AFL average for season 2008 was 74.95%.

Clinton Young had a disposal efficiency of 72.01% for 2008.

Now we all know that stats can be used to twist any argument, but that's not my aim, I think that Morts' efficiency isn't as bad as his kicking style, which makes the average unco look graceful in comparison. :o

Whatever "it" is that makes an AFL footballer, he has "it"

Lachlan Hansen, meet Jarryd Morton. ;)
http://www.realfooty.com.au/ffximage/2008/06/22/majhawks7_gallery__257x400.jpg

Collins-Langford-Ayres
23 Oct 2008, 20:04
Morto had a disposal efficiency of 75.93% for the season, the AFL average for season 2008 was 74.95%.

Clinton Young had a disposal efficiency of 72.01% for 2008.

Now we all know that stats can be used to twist any argument, but that's not my aim, I think that Morts' efficiency isn't as bad as his kicking style, which makes the average unco look graceful in comparison. :o

Whatever "it" is that makes an AFL footballer, he has "it"

Lachlan Hansen, meet Jarryd Morton. ;)
http://www.realfooty.com.au/ffximage/2008/06/22/majhawks7_gallery__257x400.jpg

Cheeseman, love you work.

Thanks.

:thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:

Roger Rogerson
24 Oct 2008, 22:22
Morton's kicking - he is an accurate kick but he tends to be a bit one dimensional in that he kicks low and hard pretty much all the time meaning that his kicks can get chopped off a bit. Once he learns to weight the ball and kick it into space (ala Jordan Lewis) in addition to being able to kick the low and hard ball he will be better. Hodgey does both beautifully.

Morto will be a permanent fixture next year. Played some ripping AFL games this year. Well and truly a class above VFL level. He fits into our hard running game plan beautifully and will be an option up forward at times also. Good overhead.

Collins-Langford-Ayres
24 Oct 2008, 22:48
Morton's kicking - he is an accurate kick but he tends to be a bit one dimensional in that he kicks low and hard pretty much all the time meaning that his kicks can get chopped off a bit. Once he learns to weight the ball and kick it into space (ala Jordan Lewis) in addition to being able to kick the low and hard ball he will be better. Hodgey does both beautifully.

Morto will be a permanent fixture next year. Played some ripping AFL games this year. Well and truly a class above VFL level. He fits into our hard running game plan beautifully and will be an option up forward at times also. Good overhead.

If blokes can't do that by the time they're twenty-odd, how do they learn afterwards?

Hodgepodge
25 Oct 2008, 09:51
He's our ROK in 2009 I feel.

Dragz
25 Oct 2008, 11:01
If blokes can't do that by the time they're twenty-odd, how do they learn afterwards?

Something i've always found quite strange about AFL, in Soccer, you won't make it to the top level (ie, where you can make decent money) unless you can kick. Yet in AFL, players seem to come thru with poor kicking and get it fixed at the clubs.

I wonder why the AFL doesnt run permanent academy's ala what happens in Soccer. (For those not in the know, regular schools, but one of their subjects is soccer)

Maybe they do, but hey, i'm just filling in time here.

xyakks
25 Oct 2008, 11:50
Last pre-season Morton was the Hawthorn player to challenge Timmy the most on the endurance side of things.

Makes him the Hawthorn player with the biggest engine now. Considering he looks like he can find a spot in our 22 it's great news!

Miss_Hawk_Fan
25 Oct 2008, 23:26
Some time on from when this was posted. Interested to see what people think of Morton.

Some of the quotes identified that he has very good footskills, but what I saw suggests he has some work to do in this area. The comments about his endurance seem spot on though.

Not sure he is really ready for a HFF and wonder whether he could be played as a HBF replacing Birchall, thereby enabling Birch to form part of our wingman rotations, with Lewis, Young, Bateman, etc.

Any thoughts?

I seen Morton play in Tas this year and you have summed it up well, he played a defensive link role... His awareness, running, skils & tackling was fantastic in 08. Would like to see him contine this role in 09 even if it is just for his future development!

Collins-Langford-Ayres
26 Oct 2008, 11:34
Last pre-season Morton was the Hawthorn player to challenge Timmy the most on the endurance side of things.

Makes him the Hawthorn player with the biggest engine now. Considering he looks like he can find a spot in our 22 it's great news!

Seems to be a natural fit for our side, given our reliance on endurance players to find space and keep possession of the ball, etc.

FriarTuck
26 Oct 2008, 12:07
I am a big fan of Morto. 191cms is big enough to play down back as a CHB. He has lined up at CHB for BHH - not too often.

He has played a run with role and showed he could lock down on an opponent. Looks like he gives it to his opponents.

His other option is to play the lead up forward. Doubt many in the afl would have the legs to go with him.

medusala
27 Oct 2008, 00:14
I wonder why the AFL doesnt run permanent academy's ala what happens in Soccer. (For those not in the know, regular schools, but one of their subjects is soccer)

Why would Hawthorn pump money in to junior development programs only to see other clubs take advantage via the draft?

Each club having a local zone would be good for junior development and the game as a whole.

markr
27 Oct 2008, 14:41
Why would Hawthorn pump money in to junior development programs only to see other clubs take advantage via the draft?

Exactly. It was interesting to read a few comments from one of our NSW scholarship players that he meets twice a week with a Hawthorn rep for coaching and can contact people at the Hawks at any time for assistance. This sort of thing would really help any good young player, but no club will provide it because they're probably just going to end up helping another club.