View Full Version : Your fave TV shows (free to air)
danielcanberra
26 Nov 2006, 09:39
Has anyone noticed just how bad free to air T.V has became. Its shocking It bores me to tears especally the those stupid Pro active ad's and anything that is similar to it. The weekends are the worst times to watch T.V They don't even show live games of the ING cup these days I cant wait for the footy season to start at least that is something to watch. Theres is nothing on these days except yank crappy "comedy" shows during the morning and in the afternoons you have a choice between soap opras cooking shows or my danoz direct ******** its shocking what would you like to see come back on T.v?
Hmmm.... so I was thinking perhaps we could start a new thread and recommend to others which TV shows we enjoy
Mine are
- Smallville (http://thewb.warnerbros.com/shows/smallville) (on at the moment, Ch 10 Fridays at 7.30pm)
- Supernatural (http://thewb.warnerbros.com/shows/supernatural)
- Prison Break (http://thewb.warnerbros.com/shows/supernatural)
- Battlestar Galactica (http://www.scifi.com/battlestar/) (remake)
- Doctor Who (http://www.bbc.co.uk/doctorwho/)
- Tripping Over (http://trippingover.ten.com.au/) (joint UK/Aus production, Ch 10 Wednesdays at 8.30pm) has also been really good
roostersgal4eva
26 Nov 2006, 13:59
Oz
CSI - All three
Law and Order: SVU
Num3ers
All Saints
Crossing Jordan
*Danni*
26 Nov 2006, 14:14
See my ALL TIME FAVOURITE/TOTALL ADDICTED TO IT tv show started out on free to air in the mid to late 80's on the ABC, now the only way I can see it is on Foxtel. Eastenders. Can't help myself, I'm a tragic. I once spent 6 or 7 hours lying on the couch at LadyLawerence's house watching videos of it her mum had just sent from the UK because we were so far behind it all here.
So of course I have discovered the joys of Foxtel. And just for example, every one of roostergal's fave shows, are now or have been on Foxtel. It means if I miss an episode or 2 during teh footy season - which really tends to happen more often than I like - I can catch up over summer watching them all again on paytv.
A couple of weeks ago I would have said House was my fave fta show, but now it's starting on foxtel. Along with Desperate Housewives and Lost, god this is going to be a great tv summer if I can't bear any more cricket on tv!
danielcanberra
26 Nov 2006, 14:25
See my ALL TIME FAVOURITE/TOTALL ADDICTED TO IT tv show started out on free to air in the mid to late 80's on the ABC, now the only way I can see it is on Foxtel. Eastenders. Can't help myself, I'm a tragic. I once spent 6 or 7 hours lying on the couch at LadyLawerence's house watching videos of it her mum had just sent from the UK because we were so far behind it all here.
You are a tragic. What about Coro Street? I think that one is better though I haven't seen an episode in years... time for another UK visit I think.
lionlova
26 Nov 2006, 14:58
Rove Live (I know ppl dont find him funny, but I do)
The O.C (when i feel like it)
House
Before The Game
BTW: i'm 14, so don't bag my choices :p
*Danni*
26 Nov 2006, 15:02
House
Before The Game
Hey you are close to the same age as my son, and I watch those same shows with or without him. No chance of me bagging your choices!
lioness
26 Nov 2006, 15:29
Lost
E.R.
Border Security (hahaha I know, I just like it for some reason :o )
Home and Away
All Saints
Two and a Half Men
I think that's about it.....
roostersgal4eva
26 Nov 2006, 16:09
House
Before The Game
I dont care if some people dont find rove funny - I love Rove Live
Lost
E.R.
Border Security (hahaha I know, I just like it for some reason :o )
Home and Away
All Saints
Two and a Half Men
I think that's about it.....
Agreed very funny show, dissapointed i didnt catch onto it earlier...
black_hart
26 Nov 2006, 16:57
CSI-all
Collectors
Criminal Intent
House
Monk
Futurama
Enterprise
roostersgal4eva
26 Nov 2006, 18:17
ZOMG how could I forget Futurama :eek:
lioness
26 Nov 2006, 18:57
Agreed very funny show, dissapointed i didnt catch onto it earlier...I have to admit, I didn't get into it the first time around, we hired season one and I loved it so I've been a devoted fan from that point on. :o
danielcanberra
26 Nov 2006, 19:10
- The Glass House (http://www.abc.net.au/glasshouse/)
- Chaser's War on Everything (http://www.abc.net.au/tv/chaser/war/)
lion_gooner
26 Nov 2006, 21:30
mine are really only neighbours and big brother when its on and of course the footy
Warwick
26 Nov 2006, 21:34
mine are really only neighbours and big brother when its on and of course the footy
Sorry gooner, but if i could choose to have my eyes gouged out with a rusted spoon, or watch either of those shows, i would choose the spoon.
lion_gooner
27 Nov 2006, 07:35
hahahah thats a good way to put it but i hardly watch any free to air tv i always watch foxtel
sherminator
27 Nov 2006, 18:05
Ummm...uhhh...hmmm :rolleyes: Let me think...
Oz (Go roostersgal *high 5*)
The Glass House
Rockwiz
House
I don't watch alot of TV, but I try make an effort to see atleast 2 of these shows a week. :cool:
Oz is by far the greatest mentioned. :D
sherminator
27 Nov 2006, 18:07
ZOMG how could I forget Futurama :eek:
Lol, before I saw your post with Oz in it (I was typing mine out when I saw it) I was thinking 'ZOMG no one has Oz down!'
You made my day..TWICE! :p
danielcanberra
27 Nov 2006, 18:35
Ummm...uhhh...hmmm :rolleyes: Let me think...
Oz (Go roostersgal *high 5*)
The Glass House
Rockwiz
House
I don't watch alot of TV, but I try make an effort to see atleast 2 of these shows a week. :cool:
Oz is by far the greatest mentioned. :D
What? I would never let my 14 year old stay up that late and watch such a show (that is if I had a 14 year old kid...). Yeah, is a gritty and well made show though. You're probably far more mature and sensible than most 14 year olds.
The Flying Belgian
27 Nov 2006, 19:27
Family Guy
Mythbusters
Curb Your Enthusiasm (OK I watch it on Foxtel, but it was on FTA at one stage)
Scrubs
lion_gooner
27 Nov 2006, 20:50
i suppose you can count south park as a free to air show DAMN i love that show :D
scott522
27 Nov 2006, 21:23
charmed
supernatural
spicks and specks
jamie oliver
Warwick
27 Nov 2006, 21:26
charmed
supernatural
spicks and specks
jamie oliver
How could you Scotty? Can we blame you on why he is on all the time?
Mine would be:
Thank God You're Here
The Simpsons
Family Guy
Any decent British comedy that gets a run (all time favourite show is Dad's Army)
The Flying Belgian
28 Nov 2006, 07:12
How could you Scotty? Can we blame you on why he is on all the time?
Jamie's orright my little fruitbat, once you get past the vampire's fang and all of 'is flash rusty gates, you can settle down on the Italian loafer and watch some sweet beer belly. Orright?
scott522
28 Nov 2006, 07:37
Jamie's orright my little fruitbat, once you get past the vampire's fang and all of 'is flash rusty gates, you can settle down on the Italian loafer and watch some sweet beer bully. Orright?
Cheers yeah?
Lubbly jubbly !:p
Sorry guys but I love him to bits!
As an avid cook, have all his books and dvd's -
Scott522 now goes and sits in the naughty corner with her back to the forum
:o
Chezwick
28 Nov 2006, 14:08
Sorry gooner, but if i could choose to have my eyes gouged out with a rusted spoon, or watch either of those shows, i would choose the spoon.
Same.
If I wanted to watch enclosed animals, I'd go to a zoo, not watch bloody Big Brother :mad:
danielcanberra
28 Nov 2006, 16:38
charmed
supernatural
spicks and specks
jamie oliver
I started watching Charmed too and thought Shannen Doherty was really cool, until I realised that at the same time every episode, the demon was vanquished and the sisters lived happily ever after.
Now I am too embarrassed to admit that I ever watched it.
http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/en/thumb/d/db/Charmed_Season_1_Promo-2.jpg/230px-Charmed_Season_1_Promo-2.jpg
Piper, Prue and Phoebe (whinge whinge whinge)
I thought Beverly Hills 90210 was much better.
roostersgal4eva
28 Nov 2006, 17:31
Lol, before I saw your post with Oz in it (I was typing mine out when I saw it) I was thinking 'ZOMG no one has Oz down!'
You made my day..TWICE!
I love both of them :D - Oz is so gritty and it has my favorite actor, Christoper Meloni...how he doesn't have a Emmy yet is beyond me
And TGYH is sooooooo funny
And anyone that disses Jamie gotta mess with me!!
:D
What? I would never let my 14 year old stay up that late and watch such a show (that is if I had a 14 year old kid...). Yeah, is a gritty and well made show though. You're probably far more mature and sensible than most 14 year olds.
You think that til you hear his idea for a road trip :p
danielcanberra
28 Nov 2006, 18:38
Cheers yeah?
Lubbly jubbly !:p
Sorry guys but I love him to bits!
As an avid cook, have all his books and dvd's -
Scott522 now goes and sits in the naughty corner with her back to the forum
:o
Pukka tucker! Did you see that humdinger of a tray he uses?
I stopped after the third book when I realised I had not used a single recipe from any of them...
He is much better than that Nigella Lawson. I'd cringe everytime she wielded a knife. That lady seriously cannot cut or chop properly... (but she knows how to lick a bowl...;))
Now here is a cookbook to tower over all other cookbooks (my pride and joy)
http://ec3.images-amazon.com/images/P/1579651070.01._SS500_SCLZZZZZZZ_V1056523201_.gif
campbell
28 Nov 2006, 19:18
I love
House
Criminal Intent
Scrubs
Family Guy
The Cricket
armagedon ready
28 Nov 2006, 22:43
The Insiders
The Offsiders
Lateline
Fourcorners
The Chaser
Spicks and Specks
Lost
Six Feet Under (Was addicted to this)
The Sopranos
Friday nights on ABC
Criminal minds
You watch a lot of TV when you cant read.
The Insiders
The Offsiders
Lateline
Fourcorners
The Chaser
Spicks and Specks
Lost
Six Feet Under (Was addicted to this)http://www.hbo.com/img/core_template/spacer.gif
The Sopranos
Friday nights on ABC
Criminal minds
Me too. Watched from the first to the last. The final episode was emotional. I suspect if it was repeated I just may not be able to watch it.
http://www.channel4.com/entertainment/tv/microsites/S/sixfeetunder/images/sixfeet_10_113x84.jpg
http://www.hbo.com/img/core_template/spacer.gif
sherminator
1 Dec 2006, 18:23
I'd like to think so...
armagedon ready
2 Dec 2006, 15:33
Me too. Watched from the first to the last. The final episode was emotional. I suspect if it was repeated I just may not be able to watch it.
http://www.channel4.com/entertainment/tv/microsites/S/sixfeetunder/images/sixfeet_10_113x84.jpg
So many episodes had a moment when I felt as though someone had pulled a trapdoor out from under me. The women in this show were amazing.
danielcanberra
7 Dec 2006, 05:43
Anything with Jennifer Love Hewitt (http://www.jenniferlovehewittonline.com/)
;)
roostersgal4eva
11 Dec 2006, 07:46
loz
I do like watching Ghost Wisperer too :)
ill make u a deal - u get Jen and I will have her onscreen hubby (yuuuuuuumm) :D
*Danni*
11 Dec 2006, 08:25
The Insiders
The Offsiders
Lateline
Fourcorners
The Chaser
Spicks and Specks
Lost
Six Feet Under (Was addicted to this)
The Sopranos
Friday nights on ABC
Criminal minds
OMG how could I have forgotten to mention this show! I LOVE it!!! It drives everyone else in the house nuts -me glued to the tv yelling out the answers or singing along trying to get the answers.........I LOVE it!
*Danni*
11 Dec 2006, 08:26
Yeah, and Ghost Whisperer too................another one that I forgot about. That last episode with the '6th sense' twist after the plane crash........great episode!
danielcanberra
13 Dec 2006, 17:42
On SBS - Wednesday's at 7.30pm
Food Safari (http://www21.sbs.com.au/foodsafari/)
Last week's episode was on Moroccan food. Tonight's is Malaysian.
Next week, Portuguese food.
Definitely going to try out the Moroccan chicken tajine, and the Malaysian Rendang...
This show is torture!
danielcanberra
4 Jan 2007, 18:10
The Loop (http://www.fox.com/theloop/) (on Seven/Prime Thursdays at 8pm) is hilarious.
roostersgal4eva
6 Jan 2007, 21:49
Does anyone watch Midsummer Night Murders on ABC
I'm also watching a Doco on ABS on Thursday Nights called Race to Dakar - it follows the fortunes of three British Riders that compeated in Last years Dakar Rally
Oh and are they any Iron Chef Fans - Classic :D
Great stuff
Iron Chef is great.
Iron Chef vs. Sydney Swans game = Iron Chef all the way. The footy just can't compete with that sort of competition. I was very tempted to switch over during the Carlton and Richmond games last year.
Gotta join the Six Feet under appreciation corner. Loved the show when I was in Oz, of course i'm very behind now.
Just if anyone's interested, although i'm not sure it's on FTA in Oz, but have just finished watching the 1st series of 'Dexter', starring Michael C Hall (David in 6 Feet Under).
I'm out of the loop with what's on FTA in Oz so sorry if they're not, but a couple of shows that I would recommend (ie. my recent favourites) if you can get on DVD (or through other unmentionable means on the internet) are...
Weeds
Entourage
Heroes
Deadwood
*edit: Also, Clone Wars is an animated series set between the 2nd & 3rd episodes of the latest starwars movies and is infinitely better than the movies themselves.
danielcanberra
31 Jan 2007, 20:04
My new favourite show, Heroes (http://www.nbc.com/Heroes/) on 7 (Prime in regional areas), Wednesdays at 8.30pm
Warwick
31 Jan 2007, 21:56
My new favourite show, Heroes (http://www.nbc.com/Heroes/) on 7 (Prime in regional areas), Wednesdays at 8.30pm
I think it is just a poorer version of Lost. But then again, i have only seen the first episode.
roostersgal4eva
31 Jan 2007, 22:02
I seeing all the good shows come back and ive gotta wait another two weeks before All Saints starts......arrrrrgh
I watch this great series on SBS on Sunday nights called Inspector Montalbano - based in Sicily - its in italian with subtitles but i get a laugh every week
Any Fans?
Warwick
31 Jan 2007, 23:01
I'm more of an Inspector Rex fan myself.
armagedon ready
31 Jan 2007, 23:16
I seeing all the good shows come back and ive gotta wait another two weeks before All Saints starts......arrrrrgh
I watch this great series on SBS on Sunday nights called Inspector Montalbano - based in Sicily - its in italian with subtitles but i get a laugh every week
Any Fans?
My soulmate finds him facinating.
I'm an Inspector Rex fan myself, even now that I am unable to read the sub-titles I know what the dog is saying.:D :D
danielcanberra
1 Feb 2007, 05:20
I think it is just a poorer version of Lost. But then again, i have only seen the first episode.
I gave up on Lost last year and missed all of the second season.
I was getting frustrated that they had not been rescued.
roostersgal4eva
1 Feb 2007, 13:24
I'm an Inspector Rex fan myself, even now that I am unable to read the sub-titles I know what the dog is saying.:D :D
your soul mate is right - he is a fascinating character....too kind hearted to be a police officer in Italy...but has an amazingly sharp witt
and his sidekicks are hilarious
Family Guy
Mythbusters
Curb Your Enthusiasm (OK I watch it on Foxtel, but it was on FTA at one stage)
Scrubs
I must say TFB you have excellent taste. Scrubs is my favourate but I get a good laugh out of all the others athough I must say I enjoyed Mythbusters more without the ensemble cast. Others that I am liking at the moment are Rockwiz and Top Gear (not a car buff at all but I enjoy it all the same) and Before the Game is by far the best AFL show on TV.
If there are ever any reruns of Red Dwarf, Black Adder, The Young Ones or the Rockford Files I make sure I am watching them. I loved those shows when they came out and they hold up all right.
Haha. Very good.
If there are ever any reruns of Red Dwarf, Black Adder, The Young Ones or the Rockford Files I make sure I am watching them. I loved those shows when they came out and they hold up all right.
They always seem to be on cable:p .
My fave show of all time is:
Home Improvement!
roostersgal4eva
9 Mar 2007, 20:59
Sunday April 1st - not long to go :D
danielcanberra
9 Mar 2007, 21:03
Smallville is really getting so good.
scott522
9 Mar 2007, 21:57
Q'ld rules...with Vossy now at 10 and McEwen gone, hopefully he'll (Voss) anchor it...
You guys getting Rome over there on Fox or FTA? Fantastic...my favourite new show.
Must admit, unless its the footy the only thing I watch on fta is the ABC news, & I even watch that on pay.
lionlova
10 Mar 2007, 15:19
Sunday April 1st - not long to go :D
I know! Can't wait! :D
lionlova
10 Mar 2007, 15:21
Biggest Loser is also pretty good. Just can't stand some of the idiots on there. eg Courtney and Munnalita.
danielcanberra
9 Jul 2007, 18:26
I finally watched the entire first season of Rome (http://www.hbo.com/rome/) (box set).
Missed it on TV the first time around. I had no idea it was so good.
Even already knowing the story of Pompey, Julius Caesar, Brutus, Marc Antony etc, watching an enactment of the political intrigue and sly maneuvering was incredible. And that was from the women!
Sherminator.
11 Jul 2007, 21:10
Cowboy Bebop (ABC2)
I have the first two seasons, and I reckon it is a great anime show. I am an anime fan, I have alot of the shows and wish to continue my collection.:)
lionsrock9
11 Jul 2007, 22:51
Cowboy Bebop (ABC2)
I have the first two seasons, and I reckon it is a great anime show. I am an anime fan, I have alot of the shows and wish to continue my collection.:)
Here are some of my fav anime -:cool:
Vampire Hunter D
Dragon Ball Z
Ninja Scroll
Cowboy Bebop
Street Fighter II: The Animated Movie
Ghost in the Shell 2: Innocence
Ghost in the Shell: S.A.C. 2nd GIG
Ghost in the Shell: Stand Alone Complex
Neon Genesis Evangelion
Hellsing
Samurai Champloo
Akira 1&2
If you liked Cowboy Bebop I suggest you watch Samurai Champloo. :)
Dr Pea P.I
17 Jul 2007, 02:58
Any anime fans had a chance to watch Death Note? The last episode was screened in Japan a couple of weeks ago. I also like anime (mainly because the japanese are exceptional at contructing fascinating story-lines) but Death Note was a standout.
Sherminator.
18 Jul 2007, 19:34
Here are some of my fav anime -:cool:
Vampire Hunter D
Dragon Ball Z
Ninja Scroll
Cowboy Bebop
Street Fighter II: The Animated Movie
Ghost in the Shell 2: Innocence
Ghost in the Shell: S.A.C. 2nd GIG
Ghost in the Shell: Stand Alone Complex
Neon Genesis Evangelion
Hellsing
Samurai Champloo
Akira 1&2
If you liked Cowboy Bebop I suggest you watch Samurai Champloo. :)
I like those highlighted, but also these-
Bubblegum Crisis Tokyo 2040 (Used to be on SBS, got me started on the entire anime thing)
Blue Submarine Number 6
Trigun
Gasaraki
Geneshaft
Gungrave
Bleach
Devil May Cry
http://www.animenewsnetwork.com.au/ is a good site to find new anime shows. Then find a video store or torrent. :)
I'll try find some Samurai Champloo soon. Thanks.
My faves right now are:
Media Watch
Cutting Edge
Foreign Correspondent
Nightly Business Report
That business news thing on ABC after lateline
Iron Chef
The Chasers War on everything
Oz (greatest show after ever after Seinfeld)
Arrested Development (was that ever on FTA?)
Veronica Mars
I also like
The Tudors
Rome
Drive
Top Gear
Battlestar Galactica
Damn i watch a lot of tv. :(
Sherminator.
18 Jul 2007, 21:00
Oz (greatest show after ever after Seinfeld)
Agreed. :thumbsu: (Earlier post says so, too :))
notting18
20 Jul 2007, 23:13
As somewhat of a tv addict thought i should post an sample list of some great shows people may/may not know that i love: Psych, Weeds, Huff, Scrubs, Arrested Development, 3rd Rock From The Sun, Frontline, Entourage, 24, The Class, Studio 60 on the Sunset Strip, The Office (US).....and thats enough for now lol