View Full Version : The Heavy Metal Law!!
DESTRUKTOR
26 Nov 2006, 17:43
Just seeing who is into metal in Hawkland.
Heavy Metal is the law, from KISS, Judas Priest, through to Metallica, Slayer, through to Morbid Angel & Darkthrone.
Heavy Metal is not emo cry baby crap. If you wanna jump, it aint metal, if it raps, its not metal. KORN and SLIPKNOT are heavy, but not metal, do you understand??
Get some testicular fortitude, and go crazy to Beherit, Sarcofago and Revenge. They will teach you the law. Hell, go and check out my band, DESTRUKTOR. You can go to www.myspace.com/666destruktor (http://www.myspace.com/666destruktor) check out a song there. We have played around melbourne a few times, and elsewhere. We have releases coming out this and next month.
Any more declarations of allegiance to kingdom of heavy metal???
yes. :thumbsu:
I listen to bits and peices of various styles of metal but my faves would include:
Strapping Young Lad
Mastodon
Sabbath
Meshuggah
Sepultura (with Max)
Pantera
High on fire
Metallica
Opeth (recently)
And a fair few others that cross into the Stoner/Doom stable like Crowbar, Grand Magus, Down, Rosetta, Kyuss, Corrosion of Conformity, Black Label Society, Karma to burn, Pelican, Electric Wizard,.......I could go on for a while.
Been a Metalhead since 1983. Heavy music is my life, I play drums in a heavy Rockin' band (www.creech.com.au, and I worship bands from almost ALL sub genres of Heavy music, not just the ones the 'true' Metalheads say are Metal. I love Korn and Slipknot, and Mudvayne, Sevendust, Sunk Loto etc, but I also love Opeth (listening to My Arms Your Hearse as I type), Soilwork, In Flames, Dark Tranquility, plus Nightwish and Lacuna Coil. Also into the classic stuff, of course: Maiden, Priest, Sabbath, Slayer, Pantera, Strapping Young Lad and good Aussie Heavy Rock and Metal like Cog, Karnivool, Butterfly Effect, The Amenta and Alarum. Hell, I just about love it all!!! The only stuff I don't get into at all is the really brutal Death Metal, which to me is just plain boring. I despise Deicide, Behemoth, Cannibal Corpse etc etc....
playaplaya
4 Dec 2006, 12:21
there is no meaning to the music its just head baning shi.t ... all about the devil and emo weird music cant stand it white ppl music
PAOKTSIS
4 Dec 2006, 12:43
there is no meaning to the music its just head baning shi.t ... all about the devil and emo weird music cant stand it white ppl music
Thats because you dont understand heavy metal...its much more than just 'headbanging shi.t'....
In reply to the original poster, I love heavy metal, and all types of it...from death to black to viking to folk metal to doom metal....you name it...My fave bands (but I have HEAPS) are:
Immolation
Napalm Death
Deicide
Dalemerots Kingdom
Pagan Reign
Amon Amarth
Sepultura (old stuff)
Dissection
Mithotyn
Summoning
Dark Tranquility
Dark Funeral
Graveworm
Moonsorrow.....
.....the list goes on and on....long live metal!
[quote=PAOKTSIS;6337520]Thats because you dont understand heavy metal...its much more than just 'headbanging shi.t'....
You mean you actually understood that??????
Hugshawks
4 Dec 2006, 14:44
Iron Maiden are great, so are Metallica. Can't stand anything too heavy like Cannibal Corpse, that stuff drives me nuts.
Lol have you read Cannibal Corpse's lyrics, I don't know how they can think of stuff that is so screwed up. For example just looking at some lyrics:
Under The Rotted Flesh
Under the flesh
Rot my lust for decayed corpses dead bodies exhumed
Their coldness induces me endless defilement,
re-occuring relapses, perverse with the dead, soon I will kill for myself
Impending suffering, spasms shooting through me nausation
A cannibalistic necrophile violating the body, putrefied,
mouldering, gorging on the rotted flesh
Cutting off the body's head drinking from its severed necks
as I rip the corpse in half
Human ******** for nurishment
Coprophagia, consuming feces of the dying,
as their bowels let loose defecation flows down
my throat excremental injestment
Reflections of things to come, mirored in the dead
one's eyes my fantasy of murder
Incarnated open wounds gushing,
blood on skin coagulated tortured of the retched,
no one cares of their dead appaling odor wreaking, piles of rotted bodies
The bodies prepared for slaughter, wallowing in your own blood
Grinding of your fingers and toes feeding on your meat
I immerse my sharpened implement into a fresh bleeding gash
her body used for my sick desires
The blood thirst I can't control
Many more must suffer
Disposal of the dead, the corpse chopped to bits licking up the drivel
The gore enrages me
All I kill a new creation, my work of art bodies torn apart
Liver quivering at my feet
Eyelids cut off to watch your own dismemberment,
cutting through arteries nerves exposed
Feel the power of pain
How anybody can listen to that I don't know but someone has to like it :rolleyes:
PAOKTSIS
4 Dec 2006, 22:27
Lol, well I have all their cd's, and let me tell you, you cant understand a single word theyre saying...but yes theyre known to be as the most "grotesque" band ever...you should see their cd covers - not the prettiest of sights!
Hello ignorant tosspot.
Metal is for true lovers of music, the sort of people who appreciate the abilities and talents and hard work that goes into music.
Metal is for people who understand the hours of practice it takes to master an instrument and then play it to an extreme level.
Metal is for intelligent people who want to see passed the commercial lust for feel-good music.
playaplaya, we don't care about you're love of p.duddy or any of that aussie hip hop shite so please don't tarnish a good thread with your crap.
Hello ignorant tosspot.
Metal is for true lovers of music, the sort of people who appreciate the abilities and talents and hard work that goes into music.
Metal is for people who understand the hours of practice it takes to master an instrument and then play it to an extreme level.
Metal is for intelligent people who want to see passed the commercial lust for feel-good music.
playaplaya, we don't care about you're love of p.duddy or any of that aussie hip hop shite so please don't tarnish a good thread with your crap.
You mean you understood that???
(it's obvious what the problem is, though. It does indeed take intelligence to appreciate HM)
I've heard that sort of un-intelligent crap a number of times, as I'm sure you have Roddy.
"oh, you listen to that raah, head banging crap". :rolleyes:
Yes, I do, and I ****ing love it!
smitchell
6 Dec 2006, 20:33
PanterA is the best band ever. I'm sorry. I respect everyone's opinion, but this is mine.
Fav band since '93, just a little tryhard trying to form an identity.
I have the most eclectic taste in music that i know and they have stuck with my for 13 years.
It's amazing now, as someone in their late twenties seeing how much a band that you truely believe in can shape you as a person.
Now I am by no means a bogan, probably the furthest thing from, If you saw me in the street you would assume that i was into basketball/hiphop/Hawthorn.
But i'm pretty confident they will be my favourite band for life.
Since '93 I've had major love affairs with Sepultura (Max Cavalera days), ACDC, Machine head (still rock), Deftones, Korn, Queens of the Stone Age, Muse, Jay Z (unbelievable storyteller), 50 cent (first album when released) and now, the Kings of Leon.
But PanterA will always be they one for me
If you can get your hands on VH1 Storytellers: Pantera, do so, its awesome and heartbreaking.
I miss Dimebag.
So many people can rest easy in the knowledge that they will see their favourite band perform again or at least reform in the future. Not me. You can't replace a true legend.
At least i got to see them three times over the years. '94, '96 and '00 all at the entertainment center in Perth.
PanterA
STRON-GER THAN ALLLLLL!
I've seen that video smithcell, and I'm not ashamed to say I cried.
I feel much the same way as you, but unfortunately for me, I did the old "I'll go see em next time" trip when the toured last. Stupid me.
Does everyone know tomorrow is the 2nd anniversary of the great man's death?
It is, and I'll watch my copy of the home videos in tribute to him.
http://www.nabokoff.net/dimebag.jpg
Macquarie Eagle
11 Dec 2006, 09:46
Not a lover of Metal, but I do like Fear Factory.
Resurrection is one of my favourites
DESTRUKTOR
13 Dec 2006, 22:32
Roddy, I tried to go to your site, no luck. Did you go to ours???
Galon and PAOKTIS are on the right track. THis was not a Panteras tribute site, @#$%!! By the way, the best song by them would have to be "Shattered".
Good to see there are some out in Hawkland that lean towards the metallic law. Sorry, KORN is not Metal, and Slipknot is not metal. But we can argue that all day. Just because HMV put it in the metal section, does not make it metal. I think it is pop rock!!
Playaplay is a disgrace. While opinions I do not agree with are not restricted to him, his is the only one not welcome. To bag someone for listening to "white man" music is ridiculous. What has the Australia come to???
What is more ridiculous is white man copying black man!!! (let alone listening to that crap)
Galon, I hear your words. Check out DESTRUKTOR mate!! I think you would understand our brand of fury!!!
My favourite albums, though bound to change day to day, would be the following.
CANDLEMASS-Epicus Doomicus Metalicus
DARKTHRONE-A Blaze in the Northern Sky
JUDAS PRIEST-Stained Class/Killing Machine
MORBID ANGEL-Covenant/Altars of Madness
Anyone else know these albums?? Any other contributions?? Maybe the uneducated can learn from those that are educated.
And remember kids...Heavy Metal is the LAW!!!
I have a few Morbid Angel tracks on my home PC. I dig the groove.
My ex-bandmates are heavily into MA, Athiest, Death, etc. So I've heard a fair bit.
Far from a Pantera tribute thread, but a tip of the hat to one of the guitar champions of the past decades. Too hard to pick a fave song.
Just started up a new band and amongst other covers that we've chosen to help us fill a set out while we write originals are 'seasons in the abyss, master of puppets and supercharger heaven'.
Have fixed my link up, you should be able to get into it now. Although if you think Korn and Slipknot are pop Rock, you'll probably think we sound like the Pussycat Dolls!!!
Will check out your link now....
Los Angeles thrashers SLAYER will embark on an Australian/New Zealand tour in April. Support at the shows will come from MASTODON. The dates are as follows:
Apr. 12 - Metro, Perth
Apr. 14 - Thebarton, Adelaide
Apr. 15 - Vodafone Arena, Melbourne
Apr. 17 - Hordern, Sydney
Apr. 19 - Riverstage, Brisbane
Apr. 21 - St James Theatre, Auckland (New Zealand)
Tickets go on sale on January 18.
I'm there!!
Hawk Dork
9 Jan 2007, 12:25
I love good music from all genres from classical, jazz, blues,punk,swing, folk,Country and Western and some Rap
The only one that doesnt rock my world is Metal
the heaviest I can get to it is Iggy and the Stooges or MC5 and small doses of Black Sabath and Led Zeplin
I stopped listening after that.
There must be something about lycra and the ability to write and sing a song
When I need to be depressed in a Gothic theme Nick cave is the man
There must be something about lycra and the ability to write and sing a song
If you are implying that people who play Metal wear Lycra then i think you're about two decades behind the times.
Hawk Dork
9 Jan 2007, 20:22
If you are implying that people who play Metal wear Lycra then i think you're about two decades behind the times.
My lycra theory reaches beyond metal.
Its a universal law.
Its effect stretches over all musical genres
smitchell
9 Jan 2007, 23:26
S'up Y'all.
Always liked Slayer, never loved them.
But I HAVE to see Reign in blood live! I'm there.
May not go this time. Have seen Slayer twice already. Don't like Lombardo's playing as much as Bostaph's. Don't like anything I've heard from the new album. And despite trying really hard, have struggled to get into Mastadon.....
smitchell
10 Jan 2007, 18:07
Haven't had a chance to catch them yet. It'll be their first appearance in WA.
Just got the live Machine head DVD on as I type this. Good DVD, tight band.
I just love that power groove sound.
Pantera, stronger than all!
Haven't had a chance to catch them yet. It'll be their first appearance in WA.
Just got the live Machine head DVD on as I type this. Good DVD, tight band.
I just love that power groove sound.
Pantera, stronger than all!
MH have a new album coming out pretty soon. Lookin' forward to that! :)
Slayer and Mastodon, here I come.
Seen 'em before?
(either?)
Seen neither before, but I'm a much bigger fan of Mastodon than Slayer. But that doesn't mean i won't be bellowing along to seasons in the abyss. :thumbsu:
You're in for a treat then!!!!!!
melbournemartin
19 Jan 2007, 17:50
Heavy Metalllllllllllllll
Or no metal at alllllllll
Wimps and posers
Leave the hallllllllll
Heavy Metalllllllllllllll
Or no metal at alllllllll
Wimps and posers
Leave the hallllllllll
Is that you Eric?
Tool on wednesday.
Slayer and Mastodon in april.
New albums from Meshuggah and Down in the works.
2007 is looking good already.
Tool on wednesday.
Slayer and Mastodon in april.
New albums from Meshuggah and Down in the works.
2007 is looking good already.
Awesome!
Don't forget Machine Head and Dark Tranquility!!!
Haven't really listened to Machine since 'the more things change', they turned to crap for a while there, I have heard a bit of 'empires'( or something like that) and it seemd like a bit of a throwback to the first couple of albums, so I might give them another listen if they bring out something decent.
'Through the Ashes of Empires' is their best album since their sophomore, imo. Great album. Apparently the newie's gunna be even heavier. Can't wait!
Also gunna check out a new (ish) band called 'Mnemic'. Have heard some of their stuff, sounds totally awesome! Heard of 'em?
Have heard of them, but haven't had a listen yet.
I'll have a look around.
Got myself some Mnemic. I dig it. Reminds me a little bit of Raunchy, but also SYL and Meshuggah, if only a more easier listening version.
illnino
28 Jan 2007, 11:32
Gee, looks like i'm on my own here...
Best Bands in the world-
Korn
Slipknot
Mudvayne
Mushroomhead
Motograter
Stone Sour
Ghost Machine
5 Finger Death Punch
Demon Hunter
Bullet for my Valentine
American Head Charge
HellYeah
And there is only ever gonna be one good rap band on this planet - Insane Clown Posse!
Got myself some Mnemic. I dig it. Reminds me a little bit of Raunchy, but also SYL and Meshuggah, if only a more easier listening version.
Well, anyone's gunna sound easy listening next to SYL and Meshuggah! Gunna pick up the album soon.....
smitchell
29 Jan 2007, 23:38
Gee, looks like i'm on my own here...
Best Bands in the world-
Korn
Slipknot
Mudvayne
Mushroomhead
Motograter
Stone Sour
Ghost Machine
5 Finger Death Punch
Demon Hunter
Bullet for my Valentine
American Head Charge
HellYeah
And there is only ever gonna be one good rap band on this planet - Insane Clown Posse!
Crickets....
Yup, I think you're on your own.
Sorry.
Best bands in the world?!?
Korn?
Slipknot?
Mudvayne?
hehe, I got a chuckle out of that.
DESTRUKTOR
30 Jan 2007, 17:22
Hey boys, killer to see that this thread has basically become a metal forum within the hawks portal.
Though I am not on board with a majority of the bands discussed, it's good to see that no one except illnino has mentioned rubbish like Mudvayne, Slipknot, and......Insane Clown Posse!!
Man, I hope I can get to Slayer!!! This would be wild!!! Reign in Blood, Angel of Death, Black Magic, Hell Awaits, all killers!! I don't know Mastadon.
Also, my band got kicked off myspace for bagging a band. We will update our site at www.destruktor.cjb.net very soon. Check it out sometime. If anyone thinks SYL or Meshuggah are full on, well it may be worth checking out us, just to give your ears something more full on again.
Keep the thread rolling fellas.
Really keen to know if there are more people into Death/Thrash/Doom/Black Metal.
illnino
30 Jan 2007, 17:39
Just thought I'd let you know the new KoRn album drops this winter........hehe
BTW Terry Bozzio(Pantera) is the Drummer for this KoRn Cd and is even writing with Korn as we speak. Will more than likely tour with them too. Guess he has good taste...:p
hyperswivel
30 Jan 2007, 18:19
Nope, Shihad are about as heavy as I get.
Metal just doesn't speak to me about my own personal experiences.
When Timmy Rogers says "I talk a lot about football, and girls I kissed in grade four," I can relate to that... not least of all cause I can understand the words that are comin' out of his mouth.
Speaking of Doom, I recently got my hands on a copy of Trouble's Psalm9, which I've read was a catalyst for a strong movement into this style of music in the mid 80's. I also like Electric Wizard but have lost my albums of thiers.
I can vouch for Melbournes own Clagg too if you dig the Doom sound.
BTW Terry Bozzio(Pantera) is the Drummer for this KoRn Cd and is even writing with Korn as we speak. Will more than likely tour with them too. Guess he has good taste...:p
What does Bozzio have to do with Pantera?
I know he was in Zappa's band and he toured with Fantomas and recorded with Vai and Townsend but I can't think of anything with Pantera.
What does Bozzio have to do with Pantera?
I know he was in Zappa's band and he toured with Fantomas and recorded with Vai and Townsend but I can't think of anything with Pantera.
Yeah, that's got me scratching my head too. If anyone else other than Vinnie played with Pantera, I don't know about it. And neither would he, I'd imagine. Pretty happy to hear that Bozzio's Rockin' with Korn, though. Silveria's a great, underrated player in my book. Must have more CTS atm.
My own band has played with Clagg a few times. The 1st time I saw them, I thought they were the biggest pile of shyte I'd ever seen. But they've grown on me a fair bit with subsequent views....
The singer from Clagg had cancer at one stage I'm pretty sure, and there was a guy who filled in for them who was also in a metal band called Strict Vincent who we played with a few times. Top bloke.
I've never seen Clagg live, just heard their recorded stuff.
I'm not sure how it is classed, in a metal sense, but two bands I really like that could possible fall into the Doom, Stoner or Metal genre's are Pelican and Rosetta. Fantastic stuff from these two bands.
If you like epic songs with minimal vocals built on heavy rolling riffs then you'll love them.
I'd call Clagg 'Sludge Metal'.
Would Crowbar be classed as Sludge Metal too?
I'm listening to a SYL bootleg atm. Devin is a funny bastard.
Would Crowbar be classed as Sludge Metal too?
I'm listening to a SYL bootleg atm. Devin is a funny bastard.
Haven't heard that much of Crowbar, but what I have heard may be 'sludge Rock' possibly. It's not that Metallic, if memory serves me correctly.
Devin's hilarious. He's also an extraordinary musical genius....:thumbsu:
illnino
31 Jan 2007, 17:43
Yeah, that's got me scratching my head too. If anyone else other than Vinnie played with Pantera, I don't know about it. And neither would he, I'd imagine. Pretty happy to hear that Bozzio's Rockin' with Korn, though. Silveria's a great, underrated player in my book. Must have more CTS atm.
Lol.....Whoops, got two things mixed up.....
1.Bozzio is drummin' for Korn while Silveria has a 'break'. He is currently recording with them.
2. Vinnie Paul (Pantera :thumbsu: ) is working with Chad (Mudvayne Vocalist), and a few others in a new band called Hellyeah (:confused: )
http://www.myspace.com/hellyeah
Sounds Good!
Lol.....Whoops, got two things mixed up.....
1.Bozzio is drummin' for Korn while Silveria has a 'break'. He is currently recording with them.
2. Vinnie Paul (Pantera :thumbsu: ) is working with Chad (Mudvayne Vocalist), and a few others in a new band called Hellyeah (:confused: )
http://www.myspace.com/hellyeah
Sounds Good!
Yeah, heard a coupla tracks off the Hellyeah album. Didn't mind 'em. Sounded like a cross between Mudvayne and Pantera (funny, that!), but probably not quite as good as either (definitely not as good as LD50 era 'Vayne, or Vulgar to Trendkill era Pantera)
Pretty interested to hear Bozz with KoRn, too....
Matt Murder
1 Feb 2007, 07:52
I've always thought we were the most metal team in the AFL. Hoping to get Slayer/Mastodon tix next week , also Lamb of God are coming soon and a pretty cool band called Converge also coming up. I head more towards Meshuggah , Dillinger , Tool (not really heavy but awesome sound) , Death , Gizmachi , Ion Dissonance as well as prog stuff like Dream Theater ,King Crimson.
Someone mentioned Mnemic earlier , pretty cool band. Feel free to check out my band Modern Murder on myspace too. Lots of time signature changes and a heavyish vibe. www.myspace/modernmurder (http://www.myspace/modernmurder)
Raise the horns
Matt
PS. If you haven't checked out an animated series called Metalocalypse I would suggest to do so.
Haven't heard that much of Crowbar, but what I have heard may be 'sludge Rock' possibly. It's not that Metallic, if memory serves me correctly.
Devin's hilarious. He's also an extraordinary musical genius....:thumbsu:
Crowbar is definitely sludge metal. Awesome band. Love them.
Kirk is a laugh on the Pantera home vids too.
Pretty interested to hear Bozz with KoRn, too....
Not I.
Korn lost it a few albums ago. Actually, I lost interest in them after life is peachy.
I saw one of their last singles on rage and it was beyond terrible. I'd seriously rather listen to Wolfmother than what Korn have become.
Not I.
Korn lost it a few albums ago. Actually, I lost interest in them after life is peachy.
I saw one of their last singles on rage and it was beyond terrible. I'd seriously rather listen to Wolfmother than what Korn have become.
Yeah??????? That's the most bizarre thing I've ever heard. I hope you're actually joking. I'd rather have all of Andrew Stockdale's hair shaved off and shoved down my gullet than listen to WM.
And you don't rate Follow the Leader????? All time classic Heavy music album, IMO. I admit their output hasn't matched their 1st 3 albums, but come on, WOLFMOTHER????????????????:thumbsd::thumbsd::thumbsd::thumbs d::thumbsd::thumbsd::thumbsd::thumbsd:
I think you misunderstand.
Let me give you some perspective Roddy.
I detest Wolfmother. ;)
For anyone....
What would Opeth's best album be?
I have Ghost Reveries and Blackwater Park. I'm not even aware of how many others they have.
For anyone....
What would Opeth's best album be?
I have Ghost Reveries and Blackwater Park. I'm not even aware of how many others they have.
They have 6 others, but Gr and BP are their best 2, IMO. Those 2 albums are truly stunning...
'Baying of the hounds' is my fave track so far I guess. It'll take a bit of beating.
My absolute favourite is 'The Grand Conjuration', followed very closely by 'Bleak' and 'Blackwater Park'.
I have two Mnemic albums now, but for a few songs, they are a watered down version of Meshuggah that just don't grab me as much. Still good listening to them though, perhaps they'll grow on me.
Which reminds me I must check out what Meshuggah are up to with this new album of thiers.
Meshuggah actually bore me. They're WAY too cold and calculating for me. I much prefer Heavy bands with some melody and groove to their music. So I like melodic bands with big choruses like Mnemic heaps more than Meshuggah.
I've heard many people say the same thing. I used to think the same.
I couldn't listen to an album from start to finish.
One day something clicked.
Have you heard of a band caled 'High on Fire'....check em out.
Heard of em, got a link?
I listened to Destroy Erase Improve over and over, trying to like it, but I couldn't get around the lack of melody. Certainly respect them, though.
My band Godrott is the best metal band out there
http://www.myspace.com/highonfireslays
There you go Roddy, check out the song 'Devilution'.
cradle of filth
9 Mar 2007, 09:34
Absoloutly Love Metal
Cradle of Filth, Crytopsy, Deathstars, Dream Theatre, Type O Negative, sooooooooo many more
http://www.myspace.com/highonfireslays
There you go Roddy, check out the song 'Devilution'.
They sound pretty cool. Maybe a little too 'old school' sounding for me, but pretty good.
yeah, I dig em. Love the muddy guitar.
Clutch are touring in June, not metal these days but only due to there evolution into a more bluesy sound over time. One of my favourite bands, I will be keen to see them again.
Must remind myself to keep a look out for 'hell yeah'(vinnie paul's new band).
Have you heard any yet roddy?
Hell yeah! Didn't mind them. Strangely enough they sounded like a cross between Mudvayne and Pantera/Damageplan!
Funny that. haha
Never really been a big fan of Mudvayne and Damageplan didn't really pull my strings either.
Regardless, I'll check em out.
If you haven't yet, you must check out Mudvayne's first album LD50. I would rate it as one of the greatest Heavy music albums ever released. It's mindboggling. But yeah, they've disappointed sionce....
I'll look into it.
check this out.
"Get Thrashed: The Story of Thrash Metal" had its world premiere at the 2006 Raindance Film Festival in London. The documentary screened on October 3 at the CineWorld, Trocadero Centre, Piccadilly, London. Director Rick Ernst, a longtime freelance producer for MTV, was on hand at the event. Check out pictures from the screening at www.getthrashed.com. An interview with Ernst can be found here.
"Get Thrashed" will include interviews with the following musicians/music industry personnel:
METALLICA
MEGADETH
SLAYER
ANTHRAX
EXODUS
TESTAMENT
OVERKILL
DEATH ANGEL
SHADOWS FALL
LAMB OF GOD
KILLSWITCH
HATEBREED
MESHUGGAH
GODSMACK
IN FLAMES
STRAPPING YOUNG LAD
DARK ANGEL
KREATOR
DESTRUCTION
SODOM
STONE SOUR
SLIPKNOT
Phil Anselmo (PANTERA)
VIO-LENCE
NUCLEAR ASSAULT
D.R.I.
CHIMAIRA
BIOHAZARD
Chris Jericho (FOZZY)
SEPULTURA
KITTIE
THE HAUNTED
SOILWORK
HEATHEN
HIRAX
Brian Slagel (Metal Blade Records)
Jon & Marsha Zazula (Megaforce Records)
Ian Christe ("Sound of the Beast")
Steven Blush ("American Hardcore")
Eddie Trunk (VH1 Classic)
Ron Quintana (Rampage Radio)
The film also features the music of METALLICA, MEGADETH, SLAYER, EXODUS, ANTHRAX, KREATOR, SUICIDAL TENDENCIES, PANTERA, ULYSSES SIREN, WARNING SF, OSMIUM, CONCRETE COFFIN, THE LAW, STEVE CONE, VISCID, NOCTURNAL FEAR, EXIT TO ETERNITY, KAOS, RESPONSE NEGATIVE, URTO and KRONIN.
Back in Black was the first album I owned, the second was For those about to Rock, AC/DC have been my favorite band since the very first time I heard them, I'd say i'm more Hard Rock than HM.
1. AC/DC
then, over time i've enjoyed:
Rose Tattoo
Hush:o
The Cult
Smashed Glady's
Pearl Jam
RHC Peppers
Body Count
Live
and on & on
Now I enjoy:
The Darkness
Wolfmother
Jet
and others I can't think of ATM
deathevocation
29 Mar 2007, 19:09
Just seeing who is into metal in Hawkland.
Heavy Metal is the law, from KISS, Judas Priest, through to Metallica, Slayer, through to Morbid Angel & Darkthrone.
Heavy Metal is not emo cry baby crap. If you wanna jump, it aint metal, if it raps, its not metal. KORN and SLIPKNOT are heavy, but not metal, do you understand??
Get some testicular fortitude, and go crazy to Beherit, Sarcofago and Revenge. They will teach you the law. Hell, go and check out my band, DESTRUKTOR. You can go to www.myspace.com/destruktor666 (http://www.myspace.com/destruktor666) check out a song there. We have played around melbourne a few times, and elsewhere. We have releases coming out this and next month.
Any more declarations of allegiance to kingdom of heavy metal???
Haha...what a surprise. Might put my Brutal Desecration 7" on.
Two more sleeps till Slayer, ;)
afl genius
15 Apr 2007, 20:15
Any of you in to power metal?
Gamma Ray, Sonata arctica, Helloween, Edguy that sort of thing the best metal genre there is.
Any of you in to power metal?
Gamma Ray, Sonata arctica, Helloween, Edguy that sort of thing the best metal genre there is.
Disagree with all possible intensity. There's alot of good PM out there but most of it is cheesy shyte....
Anyone a fan of Alexisonfire? Not sure how 'Metal' gets classified now days...
Can I just report, Slayed slayed, and Mastodon were tighter than a fishes rectum. Brilliant.
Jealous...
toomanysquibs
18 Apr 2007, 18:12
f you wanna jump, it aint metal, if it raps, its not metal. KORN and SLIPKNOT are heavy, but not metal
For the love of Ronnie James Dio, how narrow minded can you be - Anthrax make you want to jump, they rap - are you saying they weren't metal? Go wash your mouth out with soap.....
wce_all_da_way
18 Apr 2007, 18:16
It's tempting to change to a Hawthorn fan just for this thread ;)
Jump on, if you wish.
"Angel of Death!!"
I'm still smiling, Roddy.
Pity Mastodon didn't get a sideshow of their own. They were well recieved but could've done with tier own private crowd if you know what I mean.
I got to see arguably two of the most impressive drummers to ever sit behinmd a kit in one night.
Brann Dailor is just so fluid and smooth, but one thing I really noticed live that I've never picked up in the film clips of the other live shows I've seen on youtube Dailor really has that 'vibe' about him (something I always look for in a drummer, you've got to groove and feel the beat as well as be able to hit the skins). I could watch him hit the skins all night.
Then there was Lombardo....well I've seen him twice with Fantomas and that is probably hard to top as the things he's called onto to produce in that environment is jaw dropping but he really is a drum machine.
Still think Bostaph's better than Lombardo....
(...ducks)
I've never seen Bostaph, so I really can't make a comment.
Being a drummer yourself roddy, you're probably more educated in the regard anyway. But I do tend to really enjoy the drums and love the chance at sitting down behind the kit and bashing out any sort of beat I can when my drummer vactes his stool. Regardless, I'm just a singer who loves to air-drum.
Just discovered a new band. Pretty awesome, from Atlanta. Check these guys out:
www.myspace.com/daath
Diggin' their album. Sounds like an improved version of Lamb of God to me.
Had a listen, wasn't really my thing, the vocals were a bit scratchy. I like big ballsy vocals.
Such as whom?
I think he has very similar taste to myself, if you know what I mean Roddy. ;)
Na , dunno mate. What do you mean, G?
You mean you and the cosby kid are one?
Getting back to Opeth. I think Blackwater park is now my alltime fave track....well for this week anyway.
High on fire are going back into the studio soon to record a new album.
Rosetta have a split ep in the works.
Down also have an album on the cards.
Saw Slayer and Mastodon only weeks ago.
Secret Chiefs 3 are touring.
Clutch in june.
Turning out to be a great year.