View Full Version : Draft Game 3 The Vote!!

toddy
27th November 2006, 19:34
Which team do you think is best, below is set of criteria that the players were chosen on and indeed should be rated.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION FOR PLAYER AND VOTERS ALIKE:

*Players must have played 20 or more games.

*Players are to be judged on what they have achieved in their career, not on potential. Eg. Mitch Clark (albeit ineligible from this game) ha not accomplished much, and thus would not accrue many votes.

*Players are to be played in their positions (or have at least played a few games in that spot). Eg. Jamie Charman has not played CHF before and thus would be judged harshly if placed in such a position (GRIM!!).

TEAM A:

FB: Adam Kingsley, Chris Grant, Martin Pike

HB: Tyson Edwards, Daniel Bradshaw, Byron Picket

C: A Stevens, Simon Black, James Hird

HF: Nicky Winmar, Barry Hall, Russel Roberson

FF: Philip Matera, Alastair Lynch, Daniel Bandy

R: Paul Salmon, Robert Harvey, Craig Bradley

Interchange: Luke Darcy, Matthew Richardson, John Barnes, Anthony Rocca

TEAM B:

FB: Andrew McLeod, Steven Silvagni, Chad Cornes

HB: Jude Bolton, Glen Jakovich, Luke Power

C: Matthew Pavlich, Michael Voss, Peter Burgoyne

HF: Travis Johnstone, Nick Riewoldt, Robert Murphy

FF: Matthew Lloyd, Gary Ablett (snr) Paul Hudson

R: Dean Cox, Paul Kelly, Tony Liberatore

Interchange: Aaron Sandilands, Peter Bell, Matthew Knights, Paul Williams

TEAM C:

FB: Darryl White, Matthew Scarlett, James Clement

HB: Adam Goodes, Paul Roos, Nigel Lappin

C: Shane Crawford, Greg Williams, Anthony Koutoufides

HF: Warren Tredrea, Wayne Carey (c), Nick Dal Santo

FF: Adem Yze, Jason Dunstall, Brad Johnson

R: Matthew Primus, Mark Rucciuto, Nathan Buckley

Interchange: Daniel Kerr, Scott Lucas, Shane Parker, Andrew Kellaway

TEAM D:

B: Chris Johnson, Dustin Fletcher, Glenn Archer

HB: Shane Wakelin, Justin Leppitsch, Luke Hodge

C: Cameron Bruce, Scott West, Shane Woewodin

HF: Simon Goodwin, Jonathan Brown, Ryan O'Keefe

F: Brendon Fevola, Tony Lockett, Jeff Farmer

R: Peter Everitt, Ben Cousins, Craig Lambart

Interchange: Jamie Charman, Cameron Mooney, Shaun Burgoyne, Wayne Campbell

toddy
27th November 2006, 19:38
Poll shuts in 14 days so cast your vote.

sherminator
27th November 2006, 21:11
Team B gets my vote...

Grimreepah
27th November 2006, 21:55
Team B gets my vote...

Yep. I agree. Team B for me too.

Ashli
29th November 2006, 09:04
No one is voting Toddy! What are you doing? Get it onto the main board!

Ashli
4th December 2006, 14:14
Yep. This is really happening PEOPLE LOOK IN HERE N VOTE!!!! COME ON! YOU KNOW YOU WANT TO ;)

lion_gooner
4th December 2006, 20:51
team d defitnetly cant go past lockett and brown in the same team and with a midfield with bruce and west

sherminator
4th December 2006, 21:15
RE: Gooners post.

Team B's fullback would make Lockett look like a schoolgirl. Being named Fullback of the Century proves that.

Brown would lose to Jackovich. The only CHB able to contain W. carey reasonably well.

Now the midfield is fine. Though you could really do some damage with a Pavlich-Johnstone switch. The undersized Team D defensed would be battling hard against the talls (Pavlich, Riewoldt, Lloyd & Hudson) and Gazza would be too fast for the talls and too strong for the small defends. :o

Midfields are moderatey even though B has Cox, Voss and Burgoyne. Aswell as tough-nut Libba.

Grimreepah
4th December 2006, 21:48
RE: Gooners post.

Team B's fullback would make Lockett look like a schoolgirl. Being named Fullback of the Century proves that.

Brown would lose to Jackovich. The only CHB able to contain W. carey reasonably well.

Now the midfield is fine. Though you could really do some damage with a Pavlich-Johnstone switch. The undersized Team D defensed would be battling hard against the talls (Pavlich, Riewoldt, Lloyd & Hudson) and Gazza would be too fast for the talls and too strong for the small defends. :o

Midfields are moderatey even though B has Cox, Voss and Burgoyne. Aswell as tough-nut Libba.

Pretty good assessment. You sound like you know your stuff:thumbsu:

Ashli
4th December 2006, 22:13
Pretty good assessment. You sound like you know your stuff:thumbsu:

Yeah you say that cos it is all pro-ur team now isn't it?

Grimreepah
4th December 2006, 22:20
Yeah you say that cos it is all pro-ur team now isn't it?

You're very sceptical Ashli. I was just passing on my comments in regards to what I thought was a very well considered post.

POBT
5th December 2006, 09:42
I can't believe I'm the only person to have voted for Team C. It looks to be a no brainer. Look at its spine - IMO it has the 2nd best fullback, the best CHB, the 2nd best centreman, the best CHF and a pretty decent full forward too. Team B's spine is the only one that could compete.

But then, looking at the midfield rotation, Team C has 7 Brownlow medals (Goodes x2, Williams x2, Buckley, Riccuito, Crawford) and a whole heap of top 3 placings. It has the biggest midfield, the best extractor I've seen, great running players and ball magnets. Roo, Buckley and Williams would kill the other midfields on their own. Only Voss, West and Harvey would even come near those 3 and given they are spread out over three teams, Team C looks absolutely dominant to me.

Grimreepah
5th December 2006, 09:48
I can't believe I'm the only person to have voted for Team C. It looks to be a no brainer. Look at its spine - IMO it has the 2nd best fullback, the best CHB, the 2nd best centreman, the best CHF and a pretty decent full forward too. Team B's spine is the only one that could compete.

But then, looking at the midfield rotation, Team C has 7 Brownlow medals (Goodes x2, Williams x2, Buckley, Riccuito, Crawford) and a whole heap of top 3 placings. It has the biggest midfield, the best extractor I've seen, great running players and ball magnets. Roo, Buckley and Williams would kill the other midfields on their own. Only Voss, West and Harvey would even come near those 3 and given they are spread out over three teams, Team C looks absolutely dominant to me.

I thought about (c) but the bench let them down. Kerr is the only midfielder, and they don't have a backup ruckman.

POBT
5th December 2006, 10:01
Goodes could be the back up ruckman. If you go on careers, he did win a Brownlow as a ruckman so conceivably he could rest Primus if required. As far as midfield depth goes, C's midfield rotation includes Williams, Roo, Buckley, Crawford, Kouta, Goodes, Lappin, Dal Santo, Yze and Johnson - 10 players that are regular midfielders with their clubs. They may not even need a bench!

Who picked Team C?

Lady Lawrence
5th December 2006, 14:15
Who picked Team C?

is it just me as a mod that is able to click on the poll results to see who has voted for what? :D

Grimreepah
5th December 2006, 14:20
is it just me as a mod that is able to click on the poll results to see who has voted for what? :D

I think mod's votes should carry extra weighting.

POBT
5th December 2006, 14:36
I meant "who selected Team C in the draft game"!

I picked Team C in the poll because it seemed far and away the best team.

Grimreepah
5th December 2006, 14:39
I meant "who selected Team C in the draft game"!

IIRC it might have been Warwick.

POBT
5th December 2006, 14:41
IIRC it might have been Warwick.
Warwick wins then. Forget the poll! :p

Grimreepah
5th December 2006, 14:45
Warwick wins then. Forget the poll! :p

I suspect he's running a clandestine vote getting campaign as we speak.:rolleyes:

POBT
5th December 2006, 14:49
I suspect he's running a clandestine vote getting campaign as we speak.:rolleyes:
All above board my friend. The only thing clandestine was the way in which Warwick secured all the top talent without anyone else noticing!

Grimreepah
5th December 2006, 14:52
All above board my friend. The only thing clandestine was the way in which Warwick secured all the top talent without anyone else noticing!

He's got to you:thumbsd: Was there money involved?

POBT
5th December 2006, 15:05
He's got to you:thumbsd: Was there money involved?
No money - just respect for footballing genius. Come on - securing Roos and Carey in the two most important positions on the paddock and then also getting the best midfield? Were the rest of you even playing? Like I said, genius!

Grimreepah
5th December 2006, 15:18
No money - just respect for footballing genius. Come on - securing Roos and Carey in the two most important positions on the paddock and then also getting the best midfield? Were the rest of you even playing? Like I said, genius!

You can blame Ashli for that....

... it's a long story.

I'm surprised POBT. You're normally a good judge. I'd just like to know what enticements Warwick is offering on an internet forum:confused:

Ashli
5th December 2006, 19:05
You can blame Ashli for that....

... it's a long story.

I'm surprised POBT. You're normally a good judge. I'd just like to know what enticements Warwick is offering on an internet forum:confused:

Oi atleast one of those were in my number exclusions buddy. don't pin this on me haha.

CoZi36
5th December 2006, 19:09
This is a hard one! :cool:

Warwick
5th December 2006, 19:46

Well, well, well.

The Brisbane's board best poster voted for C? That's good enough for me. I think B and D are getting a lot of votes based on their attraction to younger patrons. Someone mentioned Brown and Lockett were in the same team - what about Carey and Dunstall? Brown has nothing on Carey at the moment.

I can't go past a team with Scarlett, Roos, White, and Clement in defence. Team B has a fairly solid defence, but Jude Bolton has never played on a HBF, and Chad Cornes plays the lose man across HB, not in a pocket. Lappin and Goodes on the flanks providing the run in Team C are unstoppable.

The midfield however, is where the main differences appear. Greg Williams has won 2 Brownlow medals (should have been 3), and there have been no better winners of the hard-ball to have played the game in the past 40 years. I don't think half of the voters have even seen the man play. The rules state to vote on what the players have done during their career. Has Matthew Pavlich ever played on a wing? Bruce and Woewodin in the same team? Come on! Crawf and Kouta would eat them for breakfast (based on career performances). You do know these teams don't have to play tomorrow don't you?

Take a look at each team's on-ball division. As POBT said, Primus, Rucciuto, and Buckley in Team C would wipe the floor against all others. No questions.

The forwards are a close contest. But Team C has the greatest player ever to strap on a boot in Wayne Carey at CHF. Really, the kangaroos won premierships and made 7 straight preliminary finals with a decent midfield kicking it to the freak. Imagine the likes of Buckley, Rucciuto, Crawford, Kouta, Williams, Lappin, Dal Santo, Kerr, and Goodes hitting the big bloke on the chest? Those 9 would all be close to being ranked in the top 20 midfielders from the last 15 years.

Dunstall at full forward just confirms the dominance Team C has in the spine. Add in Tredrea and Brad Johnson, and i can't see any backline stopping those blokes.

As for a back-up ruckman - i believe a man called Adam Goodes won a Brownlow playing in that position. He is the only ruckman in any team who as done that.

It's a no-brainer for me as well. Team C would beat all teams, and by a fair margin.

Oh and btw POBT, is it alright if i make the cheque out to "cash"?

Warwick
5th December 2006, 19:47
Quoted for truth.

Warwick
5th December 2006, 19:48
Oi atleast one of those were in my number exclusions buddy. don't pin this on me haha.
Already blaming each other on how one team got all the good players. :p

POBT
6th December 2006, 07:32

The Brisbane's board best poster voted for C?

Just a bit of mutual admiration. Aah, the superiority.:p

John
6th December 2006, 07:38
I think B and D are getting a lot of votes based on their attraction to younger patrons.

Glad you recognise my youth and vitality:p. Thanks Warwick:thumbsu::thumbsu:.

Warwick
6th December 2006, 08:58
I'm surprised by you John. The other people who have voted for team D are aged 17, 18 and 19.

Rewind 10 years ago to 1996 and they were aged 7, 8 and 9. This was when Carey was dominating and Diesel and Roos were just winding up their magnificant careers. No wonder they don't remember.

Ashli
6th December 2006, 09:13
I'm surprised by you John. The other people who have voted for team D are aged 17, 18 and 19.

Rewind 10 years ago to 1996 and they were aged 7, 8 and 9. This was when Carey was dominating and Diesel and Roos were just winding up their magnificant careers. No wonder they don't remember.

Wouldn't you have been like 11?? And it isn't my fault I am young!!!!!!!! Sheesh!!!

Warwick
6th December 2006, 09:18
Wouldn't you have been like 11?? And it isn't my fault I am young!!!!!!!! Sheesh!!!
Yes it is.

This is what you missed out on:

g42H2QwJZEg&NR

Grimreepah
6th December 2006, 09:21
I respect your opinion John:thumbsu:

That would have been my 2nd choice.

roostersgal4eva
6th December 2006, 09:37
18 could of been an exclusion number...

The Flying Belgian
7th December 2006, 07:23
B over D, just, by the proverbial fraction of an insect's genitalia.

Edit: Whose wrath have I incurred by tipping B into the lead over D? :o

Grimreepah
7th December 2006, 08:48
B over D, just, by the proverbial fraction of an insect's genitalia.

Edit: Whose wrath have I incurred by tipping B into the lead over D? :o

Haha, a bit cynical there TFB. In all seriousness, you're a well respected poster here, and I'm sure we are all mature enough to appreciate the time you have taken to share with us your well considered view.:)

roostersgal4eva
7th December 2006, 08:50
like i though - team a's getting spanked atmo :(

The Flying Belgian
7th December 2006, 09:36
Haha, a bit cynical there TFB. In all seriousness, you're a well respected poster here, and I'm sure we are all mature enough to appreciate the time you have taken to share with us your well considered view.:)

Hope you stay in front Grim!!! :D

I take it I may receive some hate mail from Ashli.....

Ashli
7th December 2006, 09:46
Hope you stay in front Grim!!! :D

I take it I may receive some hate mail from Ashli.....

hahahaha nah. Not yet. maybe cos atm I am just too tired thought. I am so lazy. Just woke up! As long as it was only by a fraction I suppose I can deal with that (as long as someone else comes along and votes for me to catch me up to grim again :P)

sherminator
7th December 2006, 17:41
Whens the next draft game (if there'll be one)? I'd like to participate.

Grimreepah
7th December 2006, 18:13
Whens the next draft game (if there'll be one)? I'd like to participate.

I don't know if there will be another one, but keep an eye out in the Den. It is fairly time consuming and for this reason it can be hard to find enough players who are willing to commit. We only managed to get the 4 this time because Roostersgal filled in at the last minute, but she was greatly disadvantaged because she didn't have any preparation time. IMO the rules committee should look at somehow simplying the process to make it less time consuming.

sherminator
7th December 2006, 18:17
I don't know if there will be another one, but keep an eye out in the Den. It is fairly time consuming and for this reason it can be hard to find enough players who are willing to commit. We only managed to get the 4 this time because Roostersgal filled in at the last minute, but she was greatly disadvantaged because she didn't have any preparation time. IMO the rules committee should look at somehow simplying the process to make it less time consuming.

Cool word. :thumbsu:

I'd be dedicated to the game, if it is not during footy season. :)

Grimreepah
7th December 2006, 18:36
Cool word. :thumbsu:

I'd be dedicated to the game, if it is not during footy season. :)

I'll give you a pm if another game starts up.

There's an air of confidence about you sherminator. I think you fancy your chances;)

sherminator
7th December 2006, 18:37
I'll give you a pm if another game starts up.

There's an air of confidence about you sherminator. I think you fancy your chances;)

Planning ahead already. :)

Warwick
7th December 2006, 18:39
We should maybe look at having a cricket draft game - see who could draft the best team of 11. That would only take a night you would think. You could have a rule that you have to pick a player from every decade or every country or something like that to make it more interesting.

I don't know, i'm just throwing ideas out there. It's going to be a long off-season.

sherminator
7th December 2006, 18:46
We should maybe look at having a cricket draft game - see who could draft the best team of 11. That would only take a night you would think. You could have a rule that you have to pick a player from every decade or every country or something like that to make it more interesting.

I don't know, i'm just throwing ideas out there. It's going to be a long off-season.

Im up for it. Though I am not fantastic with cricket history. Good thinking Wazza.

Warwick
7th December 2006, 18:55
Im up for it. Though I am not fantastic with cricket history. Good thinking Wazza.
Ok, well i might start a thread when i get back from the gym seeing if a few people are interested. I think 5 or 6 players would be the perfect number, but there would be room for more.

Grimreepah
7th December 2006, 19:04
Planning ahead already. :)

:D If we're playing teams, I'll be on your side.

Yep. I like it.

Also when I was down at Brissie, me and a mate used to bet on the cricket all the time. We'd bet on each player's score, (triple points if exact), most wickets, most runs conceded, highest strike rate, etc. Gave the Test Match an extra dimension having a bit riding on it. Obviously we can't bet per se, but I mention this in the spirit of throwing out ideas.

Warwick
7th December 2006, 19:37
Also when I was down at Brissie, me and a mate used to bet on the cricket all the time. We'd bet on each player's score, (triple points if exact), most wickets, most runs conceded, highest strike rate, etc. Gave the Test Match an extra dimension having a bit riding on it. Obviously we can't bet per se, but I mention this in the spirit of throwing out ideas.
Good idea. You will have to start a thread before the Perth test.

I'll start a thread on the cricket draft to see how many people would be interested.

toddy
7th December 2006, 19:40
Can i please let everyone know there is 4 days left to vote, enough time to save us from hearing Grim gloat over a win.

Grimreepah
7th December 2006, 19:49
Can i please let everyone know there is 4 days left to vote, enough time to save us from hearing Grim gloat over a win.

Relax toddy. I'm not even sure who is winning. I think everyone has done exceptionally well and we should all be very pleased with our efforts.

Warwick
7th December 2006, 19:50
Anyone know the Collingwood song?

I may be needing it soon.

Ashli
11th December 2006, 09:16
Good old Collingwood forever
They know how to play the game
Side by side they stick together
to up-hold the magpies name
See the barrackers are shouting as all barrackers should
all the premierships are cake walk
For the good old Collingwood!

Lookin for those Warwick???

Warwick
11th December 2006, 10:44
Lookin for those Warwick???
Yes, thankyou Ashli. :rolleyes:

Sing along now...

Warwick
11th December 2006, 15:00
I jumped the gun. I thought this was closed today, but two more people have voted.

I'm not out of this yet.

Grimreepah
11th December 2006, 15:06
I jumped the gun. I thought this was closed today, but two more people have voted.

I'm not out of this yet.

The 2 weeks start from the time the poll closes. You are now a Collingwood supporter on a voluntary basis.

POBT
11th December 2006, 15:07
Nice avatar though.

toddy
11th December 2006, 18:36
Cmon people get voting for C the is an hour or so to dislodge Grim.

Grimreepah
11th December 2006, 19:41
Fancy a little wager motor-mouth Grim?

If my team receives more votes than yours, you have to post as a Collingwood supporter (change your team in your profile), for a week after the completion of the poll.

The first signs of panic perhaps? I think it would spin everyone out if Grim had to do that - imagine an articulate Collingwood fan?

Don't be soft now Grim. I have heard all about your great team and the weaknesses in mine, surely you are confident with polling more than me?

Your week starts from 8:35pm today. Good to see you honouring your side of the bargain. Respect to that.:thumbsu:

Grimreepah
11th December 2006, 19:44
Cmon people get voting for C the is an hour or so to dislodge Grim.

Toddy, your active campaigning for me to not win will not be forgotten, especially considering you were supposed to be an impartial official. Bring on Draft Game IV.:)

toddy
11th December 2006, 19:59
haha well done Grim!!! well earned victory......... i need to break my duck with this cricket game.

Ashli
11th December 2006, 20:33
Congrats grim. Not too much gloating now:p

Grimreepah
11th December 2006, 20:56
Lady Lawrence, can we sticky this thread. Cheers:)

Warwick
11th December 2006, 20:57
Well done Grim. Congratulations.

And as they say in the classics, 2 outta 3 ain't bad.

Grimreepah
11th December 2006, 21:04
Paul Collingwood:rolleyes:

Nice try, but Paul Collingwood isn't a team.

Grimreepah
11th December 2006, 21:06
And as they say in the classics, 2 outta 3 ain't bad.

I believe the Port Adelaide analogy is quite apt.:)

Warwick
11th December 2006, 21:12
Give it another day and i would have had it. I think the punters were just coming around. It was 8-4 at one stage.

The Old Dark Navy's
20th December 2006, 14:25
Can we impose on you fellow phantom drafters to head over to the Blues board and vote on a 5-4-3-2-1 basis for the 16 teams we have completed over there? 5 being the best, considering current form, current injuries, 2007 chances of success and future chances of success. So in essence, which list would you rather have in order to gain success now and later.

http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=288078

Thanks guys.