View Full Version : Benalla & District
Pages :
[
1]
Hey, anybody got any news on this struggling league, would be a shame to see it fold however not to sure how the drought and lack of teams is going to affect it this year.
far as i know mate, it will be up and running again in 07 - all sides to go around!
Do you have an interest in the comp? Which club?
Cheers,
FOOTYBOSS
5 Dec 2006, 09:59
Would be a shame if this comp was to fold, but the future isnt looking to bright for over the next 5 or so years.
Wont survive - blame the VCFL who shoulda done something with the now defunct CGFL and the BDFL - Thornton and Alex didnt wanna go south initially and Yea and Violet Town went to the KDFL. Thought Shepp East & Rumba shoulda went KDFL and Dookie PDFL.
Mighta taken some time to get the BDFL clubs up to speed with say under 17's but they have netball comps and a passion for the game and had those 4 clubs mentioned above joined ya never know, maybe a rejuvenated 9-10 team comp just coulda saved the BDFL.
Very strong talk around that Devenish wiil fold/go into recess very ,very soon.
No coach,no players and no water. Longwood and Bonnie Doon also struggling I'm told. This could possibly be the last season for the good old Biff and Dong FL. The VCFL wont prop it up.
TuskenRaider
5 Dec 2006, 12:01
I don't think Longwood have too many problems at the moment.
No coach,no players and no water. Longwood and Bonnie Doon also struggling I'm told. This could possibly be the last season for the good old Biff and Dong FL. The VCFL wont prop it up.
Basically the impression we got during the CGFL talks slim18. Pity . . . every little club & comp across the state should have the luxury of the VCFL helping promote the game in everyone's best interest but it seems eveident whats gunna happen in this case.
Also the no go with u/17s for '07 wont assist any of the clubs
If they were to have U/17s it would only take away from the Benalla Junior comp which I believe is one of the strongest in country Vic
TuskenRaider
5 Dec 2006, 14:30
I don't believe that BDFL clubs need U17's. It's a different set up to other leagues and the towns that play in the BDFL would really struggle to field U17s. Swanpool & Goorambat might be able to get enough from Benalla, but I don't believe the others could without a lot of trouble.
Wont survive - blame the VCFL who shoulda done something with the now defunct CGFL and the BDFL - Thornton and Alex didnt wanna go south initially and Yea and Violet Town went to the KDFL. Thought Shepp East & Rumba shoulda went KDFL and Dookie PDFL.
Mighta taken some time to get the BDFL clubs up to speed with say under 17's but they have netball comps and a passion for the game and had those 4 clubs mentioned above joined ya never know, maybe a rejuvenated 9-10 team comp just coulda saved the BDFL.
Makes a lotta sense Doon, could this happen in the future? Say if the Boners and Alex get sick of the travel? I know that the YV clubs aren't all happy campers about having to go out there!
Think the water is settled, not sure about the others - what;s your source?
how is Tatong going? or is it in a different league.
Makes a lotta sense Doon, could this happen in the future? Say if the Boners and Alex get sick of the travel? I know that the YV clubs aren't all happy campers about having to go out there!
Horse has bolted on this one Im afraid, reckon it's like Ivan Drago in Rocky IV . . . . . "if it dies it dies"
Why is it stuggling Doon? If the Junoir comp around the area is still strong and there is footballers who don't want to commit the rigors of the upper league training req's there must be th plyaers. Or is that the prob , there just isn't as many footballers around. How many other district leagues in Vic are struggling. The district leagues up here in NSW are getting stronger. Has the admin of country footy got it horribly wrong? I would be saddened to see the demise of the B&D league as that is where i started. But if there's not the players any more then thats the way it is.
TuskenRaider
6 Dec 2006, 09:23
You make a very good point there head about the players who just want to have a kick without having to put in the training required of higher leagues, and also for the blokes that simply wouldn't get a game in other leagues even at 2s level.
But the VCFL don't seem to care too much about this league and it seems they will just let it go. It would be ideal if Thornton could come back in, I think Alex is too big. I always thought Glenrowan could come back to the league as well and possibly Benalla All Blacks, although they seem to have a fairly strong thirds team which would be a problem.
Think the water is settled, not sure about the others - what;s your source?
Just general discussion with some of the remaining people at the club
how is Tatong going? or is it in a different league.
Reportedly building themselves up for a big one. ???? also supposedly handing a bit of Patrick out to do it.
You make a very good point there head about the players who just want to have a kick without having to put in the training required of higher leagues, and also for the blokes that simply wouldn't get a game in other leagues even at 2s level.
But the VCFL don't seem to care too much about this league and it seems they will just let it go. It would be ideal if Thornton could come back in, I think Alex is too big. I always thought Glenrowan could come back to the league as well and possibly Benalla All Blacks, although they seem to have a fairly strong thirds team which would be a problem.
Benalla as atown supplies,though not in huge quantities in some cases, players to the GV -Benalla,Bdfl -Tatong,Dev,G/bat,S/pool,O&K All Blacks,greta,G/rowan, O&M Wang&rovers and Violet Town in the KDFL.
The kids no's at junior level are still strong but once they get to 17 retention
becomes a problem to the point that you may only get 12-20 kids graduate.
That puts a fair drain on the resources and it is now really starting to impact hard.
Well said Tusken, good points you make there! :thumbsu:
Heard tonight that Dev have actually gone. Can anyone confirm? League to run with 5 teams in 07.
TuskenRaider
7 Dec 2006, 08:36
Heard tonight that Dev have actually gone. Can anyone confirm? League to run with 5 teams in 07.
Geez, I hope not. This would be almost the end if true. I cannot see how a competition could be sustained with only 5 teams. It's bad enough with 6, as teams have to play each other 3 times during the H&A season and it surely must become a little bit boring doing that.
The re-structuring of the GV/North East region has been pretty ordinary and the VCFL should have a good hard look at themselves. They won't though, they'll just blame "small towns", population shift etc. Not good enough, as when (it seems inevitable) this league folds you are going to have at least 120 players who in all probability will never play football again. That figure I've come up with is just based on the reserves BDFL players so I reckon it's fairly conservative.
These clubs in the BDFL are the social hub of most of these small towns.
Geez, I hope not. This would be almost the end if true. I cannot see how a competition could be sustained with only 5 teams. It's bad enough with 6, as teams have to play each other 3 times during the H&A season and it surely must become a little bit boring doing that.
The re-structuring of the GV/North East region has been pretty ordinary and the VCFL should have a good hard look at themselves. They won't though, they'll just blame "small towns", population shift etc. Not good enough, as when (it seems inevitable) this league folds you are going to have at least 120 players who in all probability will never play football again. That figure I've come up with is just based on the reserves BDFL players so I reckon it's fairly conservative.
These clubs in the BDFL are the social hub of most of these small towns.Get the boys from the bogie ranges to reform.
far as i know mate, it will be up and running again in 07 - all sides to go around!
Do you have an interest in the comp? Which club?
Cheers,
Yeah mate have played at Tatong.
Something needs to happen with this league, if the rumours are true and Devenish have folded surely it cannot continue with only 5 teams
Yeah mate have played at Tatong.
Something needs to happen with this league, if the rumours are true and Devenish have folded surely it cannot continue with only 5 teams
If the league did fold after 07 I think the better run clubs like G/bat may find a home elsewhwere, in the O&K for example. Their facilities and ground are good enough. Just a thought!
Hope you're wrong on this one slim...have ya heard anymore?
I'll ask my brother what he knows - last I heard they were looking for players (as usual) and about to appoint a coach. I'll keep ya's informed as I hear things!
Jeez, I hope the Barbers and the comp survive tho - good for footy!
Cheers,
Hope you're wrong on this one slim...have ya heard anymore?
I'll ask my brother what he knows - last I heard they were looking for players (as usual) and about to appoint a coach. I'll keep ya's informed as I hear things!
Jeez, I hope the Barbers and the comp survive tho - good for footy!
Cheers,
Hope I'm wrong too Hansie, but thats been the buzz for quite a while. And as we all learned inthe last couple days where there's smoke, there's [bush]fire.
TuskenRaider
8 Dec 2006, 09:40
And there's plenty of smoke around the B&D at the moment! Literally.
Hope I'm wrong too Hansie, but thats been the buzz for quite a while. And as we all learned inthe last couple days where there's smoke, there's [bush]fire.
Asked my brother, and he says he knows nothing of it, so I guess at this stage the Barbs are still going, for now, at least!
Cheers,
Was in Benalla over the weekend and it seems that all the talk around town is that Devenish have folded and will not be able to field any teams in the B&D in 2007.
O&K could be the answer for the teams who are stong enough to compete, possibly G'Bat and Tatong and maybe Doon going towards the alexandra way.
Any thoughts?
rockstarr
13 Dec 2006, 20:52
Was in Benalla over the weekend and it seems that all the talk around town is that Devenish have folded and will not be able to field any teams in the B&D in 2007.
O&K could be the answer for the teams who are stong enough to compete, possibly G'Bat and Tatong and maybe Doon going towards the alexandra way.
Any thoughts?
what about swanpool are they strong enough to compete anywhere else? i would very much doubt it they have really struggled in the last few years.
TuskenRaider
14 Dec 2006, 07:12
Any thoughts?
I'm not so sure any clubs from the BDFL would be strong enough to head up into the O&K. Goorambat may possibly be the only one, however All Blacks have been struggling there so it would be very tough, even though they have been going well in the BDFL.
Doon couldn't go Alex way as they are down in the Yarra Valley league and you would think it'd be too far south. Same with Longwood.
What about Glenrowan and All Blacks coming back into the BDFL? Dookie would be a possibility in the next few years as well if they don't improve soon and there's more than enough sides in the PDFL.
The BDFL would be back up to 8 or 9 teams then.
I'm not so sure any clubs from the BDFL would be strong enough to head up into the O&K. Goorambat may possibly be the only one, however All Blacks have been struggling there so it would be very tough, even though they have been going well in the BDFL.
Doon couldn't go Alex way as they are down in the Yarra Valley league and you would think it'd be too far south. Same with Longwood.
What about Glenrowan and All Blacks coming back into the BDFL? Dookie would be a possibility in the next few years as well if they don't improve soon and there's more than enough sides in the PDFL.
The BDFL would be back up to 8 or 9 teams then.
I think at these levels football clubs tend to rise and fall according to the standard - would Dookie be attracting Shep based players if they were in the B&D
Maybe Goorambat could attract a few topliners to be a force in the O&K or could Devenish have been competitive in the Picola or O&K 2 and 3 years ago
The B&D will just keep plugging away, as I do not think the VCFL thinks it exists
TuskenRaider
14 Dec 2006, 09:50
I think at these levels football clubs tend to rise and fall according to the standard - would Dookie be attracting Shep based players if they were in the B&D
Maybe Goorambat could attract a few topliners to be a force in the O&K or could Devenish have been competitive in the Picola or O&K 2 and 3 years ago
The B&D will just keep plugging away, as I do not think the VCFL thinks it exists
All good points. I'm dead sure the VCFL couldn't care less about this league.
The Ararat DFL died a few years ago and it was a similar type league. A positive from that though is that not all the clubs died with it.
No doubt Devenish could have been competitive a few years ago in the PDFL, but it obviously wasn't sustainable if there is talk of the club folding now. That's one of the big problems.
My point with Goorambat is that if All Blacks can't attract enough good players at the moment to be competitive in the O&K (especially given at the time of moving it was seen by Blacks to be their saviour), then how is Goorambat going to do it, and be able to sustain it over time?
My point with Goorambat is that if All Blacks can't attract enough good players at the moment to be competitive in the O&K (especially given at the time of moving it was seen by Blacks to be their saviour), then how is Goorambat going to do it, and be able to sustain it over time?[/QUOTE]
Two points here - from what I have heard Blacks are recruiting strongly, apparently picked up Duane Haebich from Tungamah with his contract enforcing a few minor details to keep him on track.
And the main word is 'sustain' as with Devenish and most minor league teams who have limited fundraising capabilities to consistently attract talented footballers.
You only have to look at minor league clubs who are up there year in and out Shep East, Stanhope and perhaps Katandra, and then can Tungamah, Dookie, Ardmona etc clubs that can 'sustain'
My point with Goorambat is that if All Blacks can't attract enough good players at the moment to be competitive in the O&K (especially given at the time of moving it was seen by Blacks to be their saviour), then how is Goorambat going to do it, and be able to sustain it over time?
Two points here - from what I have heard Blacks are recruiting strongly, apparently picked up Duane Haebich from Tungamah with his contract enforcing a few minor details to keep him on track.
And the main word is 'sustain' as with Devenish and most minor league teams who have limited fundraising capabilities to consistently attract talented footballers.
You only have to look at minor league clubs who are up there year in and out Shep East, Stanhope and perhaps Katandra, and then can Tungamah, Dookie, Ardmona etc clubs that can 'sustain'[/quote]
Good point Sparra. It only takes 1 or 2 famillys to move in or out of an area to affect the footy club. Lets hope they can get the barbers through this tough patch. Is there a possibillity of a merger between the bats and the barbers and put the blacks back into the B&D.
Good point Sparra. It only takes 1 or 2 famillys to move in or out of an area to affect the footy club. Lets hope they can get the barbers through this tough patch. Is there a possibillity of a merger between the bats and the barbers and put the blacks back into the B&D.[/QUOTE]
I would say there would be no chance of Blacks going back to the B&D, if you where in volved with Blacks would you want to
And why would Goorambat want to merge with Devo when they can maybe pick up some of this years players, if they fold
Good point Sparra. It only takes 1 or 2 famillys to move in or out of an area to affect the footy club. Lets hope they can get the barbers through this tough patch. Is there a possibillity of a merger between the bats and the barbers and put the blacks back into the B&D.
I would say there would be no chance of Blacks going back to the B&D, if you where in volved with Blacks would you want to
And why would Goorambat want to merge with Devo when they can maybe pick up some of this years players, if they fold[/quote]
What league will the bats join if they don't? The league is Rooted if it can't field at least 6 teams
And why would Goorambat want to merge with Devo when they can maybe pick up some of this years players, if they fold
What league will the bats join if they don't? The league is Rooted if it can't field at least 6 teams[/QUOTE]
If the league crumbles, Goorambat could possibly go the O&k,their ground and facilities are good and the club is very well run. Possibly one more team could also go to the O&K,perhaps a Swanpool/Tatong merger. Though both grounds are pretty ordinary. Swanpool has good facilities.
tiger of old
16 Dec 2006, 09:57
As a former player at Longwood and the rumour of devnish folding im fearful of the future of Longwood.I see Longwood as a town in the middle of nowhere.To the North you have Euroa.A town not big enough to "supply" 3 teams in Euroa,Voilet Town and Longwood although in VT,s case they have Benalla to recruit from as well.
To the South you have Seymour while bigger than Euroa,Seymour has to "supply" players to Avenel,Nagambie,Broadford & perhaps Yea.Years ago it wasnt so much of a problem for Longwood as they had puckapunyal to fall back on however with Pucka being a ghost of its former self nowdays the problem for longwood compounds after each year.
I dont know what the solution is for Longwood apart from the obvious merge senerio with either Avenel or Nagambie.
The BDFL is/was a great comp for those who just wanted a kick.It would be shame if it folded
As a former player at Longwood and the rumour of devnish folding im fearful of the future of Longwood.I see Longwood as a town in the middle of nowhere.To the North you have Euroa.A town not big enough to "supply" 3 teams in Euroa,Voilet Town and Longwood although in VT,s case they have Benalla to recruit from as well.
To the South you have Seymour while bigger than Euroa,Seymour has to "supply" players to Avenel,Nagambie,Broadford & perhaps Yea.Years ago it wasnt so much of a problem for Longwood as they had puckapunyal to fall back on however with Pucka being a ghost of its former self nowdays the problem for longwood compounds after each year.
I dont know what the solution is for Longwood apart from the obvious merge senerio with either Avenel or Nagambie.
The BDFL is/was a great comp for those who just wanted a kick.It would be shame if it folded
Tiger. You bring up a great view from the south. Not 1 mention about what the legs will do(jim where you) This issue needs some serious attention from the VCFL. There's some logistical issue's for all concered in this league, if it folds.
crabbman_69
20 Dec 2006, 09:35
The VCFL are very aware of the B&D's situation however teams like Dookie would lose to many players if they went into that league due to the fact that there team relys on students and the students dont wont to play in a league of such a low standard. They are struggling to get quality students to play in the Picola league as it is.
crabbman_69
20 Dec 2006, 09:51
These clubs in the BDFL are the social hub of most of these small towns.
Mate the VCFL can't keep a towns population at an adequate level to field sides. Teams within the Benalla and district league if it folds will have to travel up to 200km for a game of footy in leagues that are at a lot better standard to what they are used to. But the big question remains will clubs supporters and players do this sort of traveling if they are going to be flogged week in week out. The VCFL does have leagues for these clubs however teams will have to merge and be willing to travel in order to be competitive in these leagues.
TuskenRaider
20 Dec 2006, 10:16
Mate the VCFL can't keep a towns population at an adequate level to field sides. Teams within the Benalla and district league if it folds will have to travel up to 200km for a game of footy in leagues that are at a lot better standard to what they are used to. But the big question remains will clubs supporters and players do this sort of traveling if they are going to be flogged week in week out. The VCFL does have leagues for these clubs however teams will have to merge and be willing to travel in order to be competitive in these leagues.
Have a bit to do with the VCFL do you mate?
We all know some of these towns populations struggle to support their sides, they rely on the larger towns nearby to supply many of the players, as indicated in a lot of the posts.
What are your options for clubs, you've flagged mergers etc., but what leagues are you/the VCFL suggesting for these clubs? You are more or less saying in your last sentence that these clubs may as well give up the ghost because they're not going to be able to compete.
The people around the B&D area have a poor view of the VCFL due to their handling of issues in the area like the demise of the Central Goulburn League and the restructuring that occured due to that for example. And whether it is right or wrong, it is the perceived view.
iwantanotherflag
20 Dec 2006, 13:33
The Benalla District League is a great league that services some great communities. They must remember that many rural areas are doing it tough at the moment. I am sure that when the drought breaks and families come back to the farms they will pick up again.
I myself used to think of the BDFL as the lowest of the low in footy in our area, but once I took the time to watch a few games I saw how great it was. True, none of the BDFL clubs will fit in any neighboring leagues, mainly due to no 3rds and 4ths or junior netty. But they must work something out. If Devenish can field just one side, they can stay alive. If they go into recess it will be very hard for them to come back. Stick with it B&D. A great unique league.
crabbman_69
20 Dec 2006, 14:10
Have a bit to do with the VCFL do you mate?
We all know some of these towns populations struggle to support their sides, they rely on the larger towns nearby to supply many of the players, as indicated in a lot of the posts.
What are your options for clubs, you've flagged mergers etc., but what leagues are you/the VCFL suggesting for these clubs? You are more or less saying in your last sentence that these clubs may as well give up the ghost because they're not going to be able to compete.
The people around the B&D area have a poor view of the VCFL due to their handling of issues in the area like the demise of the Central Goulburn League and the restructuring that occured due to that for example. And whether it is right or wrong, it is the perceived view.
No not on the board but had a bit to do with them during the reconstruction of the Central Goulbourn. They done the job extremely well I don’t know of any club that is disappointed with where they now are. As for the other clubs that are struggling the VCFL only come in when clubs and leagues aren’t happy with there situation. You may say that the B&D teams aren’t happy with there situation but don’t you think that they should take some initiative and work out where they want to go instead of the VCFL telling them where to go and not being happy with it. They can't make a club move into a league to keep it alive if they don't want to go. Maybe its time for the clubs within the B&D to start looking at the leagues around them. Merging with other clubs may be the only option available to them as these small towns don’t have the population to sustain enough teams that are required within these leagues.
Pretty good opening there crabman, just wonder what mighta been if geographically the whole CGFL thing was taken more seriously, which we all know wasn't.
I too was involved quite animatedly thru various media outlets and community based meetings at the time to the point where my club was asked to pull me up . . . . . a lot of passionate football people were quite upset during that period and what choices or alternatives were offered at the end of the day?
I was either cop the umpire's (VCFL) decision or simply dont play!!!
Do you mean reconstruction or destruction
TuskenRaider
21 Dec 2006, 07:03
You may not be on the board but you've obviously taken some sting from some of the comments on this thread. A lot of what you have said there is just a cop out.
Are you sure Alexandra and Thornton-Eildon are really happy? If they are now they certainly weren't when they were effectively pushed south. They were keen to keep their association and rivalry with Yea. Clubs can't just go where they feel like, the league they're in/are going to can stop that fairly quickly.
I've seen some better thoughts on these pages from a few of our posters like Doona than I saw with a few of the proposals the VCFL put forth for the restructuring of the Picola/Central Goulburn/KDFL.
As I asked in my previous post, can you please give us yours/VCFL suggestions for the BDFL clubs futures? Mergers or not, I want to see what ideas you have.
iwantanotherflag
21 Dec 2006, 07:22
This is a little
I thought a BDFL with Yea, Alexandra, Violet Town, Nagambie, Thornton-Eildon, Avenel would be good. Issue would be 3rds and 4ths. But surely a draw could be made where 3rds could be played and if BDFL clubs cannot field a side then so be it, but if they can then field one.
Even if for the start two sets of final series are played (One for BDFL & One for the Rest) over time the teams in this league would work themselves out (true some might find it very tough, but some may become better teams like Violet Town & Thornton Eildon have who have only recently (last 15 years) left the BDFL.) It would give teams a few more games and really lift the reputation and standard of the comp.
Needs a bit more thought but I think these six teams are the teams that the BDFL should target. Maybe All Blacks as well, there you go 13 teams!!
And yes Devenish 2004 were very powerful, did they break the bank?
[QUOTE=
Needs a bit more thought but I think these six teams are the teams that the BDFL should target. Maybe All Blacks as well, there you go 13 teams!!
And yes Devenish 2004 were very powerful, did they break the bank?[/QUOTE]
The Blacks are firmly entrenched in the O&K, though they have only won a few senior games the other football and netball sides have improved out of sight. My mates there tell me that 07 will be the 3rd of a 5 year plan to rebuild the club as a whole
Heard that the O&K are wrapped with their contribution to the league.
From memory Dev started 06 in the black but just lost too many players and helpers to be a viable force.
I thought a BDFL with Yea, Alexandra, Violet Town, Nagambie, Thornton-Eildon, Avenel would be good. Issue would be 3rds and 4ths. But surely a draw could be made where 3rds could be played and if BDFL clubs cannot field a side then so be it, but if they can then field one.
Tell us crabman was the following ever considered in your VCFL meetings Crabman with any great seriousness?
Rumba to Murray FL
Shepp East to KDFL
Dookie to Picola FL
Avenel, VT, Yea, Alex, Thornton (CGFL) to join the BDFL clubs in Devenish, Swanpool, Tatong, Goorambat, Bonnie Doon & Longwood to give it any realistic chance of survival.
Travelling woulda been reduced and like someone suggested with 5 existing underage clubs, it mighta been enough to rejuvenate a unique little footballing part of the Goulburn Murray region and guarantee it a future
Tell us crabman was the following ever considered in your VCFL meetings Crabman with any great seriousness?
Rumba to Murray FL
Shepp East to KDFL
Dookie to Picola FL
Avenel, VT, Yea, Alex, Thornton (CGFL) to join the BDFL clubs in Devenish, Swanpool, Tatong, Goorambat, Bonnie Doon & Longwood to give it any realistic chance of survival.
Travelling woulda been reduced and like someone suggested with 5 existing underage clubs, it mighta been enough to rejuvenate a unique little footballing part of the Goulburn Murray region and guarantee it a future
Hear hear Doona! :thumbsu:
big tony
21 Dec 2006, 21:42
Rumba to Murray FL
Shepp East to KDFL
Dookie to Picola FL
Doona you are probably one of the most respected people on this forum, and I for one dip my lid to you, but your continuing post that keep saying over & over again yours & yeas opinion of what should have happened is giving everyone the *hits, Clubs like VT reckon the process was Ok, there now in a bigger & better league, now players, sponsors and supporters are getting on board, a revamped BDFL ( as you see it, or wish it)would see, in there case a mass exodice of players from VT who don't want to play that standard,I feel for the BDFL Clubs but maybe the remaining clubs should look at the bigger picture and consider merging & reforming in other leagues not drag 5 or 6 other clubs down with them as your proposal suggests, I'm not trying to start an argument but do look forward to your response.
TuskenRaider
22 Dec 2006, 07:18
Big Tony. Doona has asked the question of whether those moves were considered by the VCFL.
It might annoy VT (and they would no doubt lose a few players), but don't forget that he's included Yea (& Alex) in his list there, a town which is bigger than VT and has a history of playing in stronger leagues than VT (eg. Waranga NE)and would have to drop back a standard as well. So I don't think he's being biased in his thoughts.
I actually think the Central Goulburn was originally stronger than the KDFL anyway, with Mansfield involved, but the last five years or so it seems the KDFL have gotten stronger.
He's putting forth a proposal that would hopefully keep more people playing football throughout the region. Bringing Broadford into Doona's proposal is an idea I would consider too.
Doona you are probably one of the most respected people on this forum, and I for one dip my lid to you, but your continuing post that keep saying over & over again yours & yeas opinion of what should have happened is giving everyone the *hits, Clubs like VT reckon the process was Ok, there now in a bigger & better league, now players, sponsors and supporters are getting on board, a revamped BDFL ( as you see it, or wish it)would see, in there case a mass exodice of players from VT who don't want to play that standard,I feel for the BDFL Clubs but maybe the remaining clubs should look at the bigger picture and consider merging & reforming in other leagues not drag 5 or 6 other clubs down with them as your proposal suggests, I'm not trying to start an argument but do look forward to your response.
Geez Tone lighten up it's Xmas :( .
I for one spent 4 years at Yea yes but am a lifelong Broadford boy gone back home who just wants the game to remain healthy in all regions as Im passionate about me footy. Im a big boy and my words are always my own, never have spoke on Yea's behalf so dont drag them into this please.
I do agree the VT fit in the KDFL seems ok for now, time will tell if it has for Yea and I guess the true indication will be in a decade or so. The jury is still out as far as Alex and Thornton people I speak to are concerned.
It aint an opinion your getting stuck into me about, I was merely asking Crabman how far considerations went as he indicated to some inside knowledge - the umpire has ruled, the horse has botled, clubs have new homes and we've all moved on.
Lets hope VT do make it to another Grand Final, maybe even in 2007 the way things are looking . . . . because their last effort (2003) should still be churning in a few bellies :D
big tony
22 Dec 2006, 10:12
Big Tony. Doona has asked the question of whether those moves were considered by the VCFL.
It might annoy VT (and they would no doubt lose a few players), but don't forget that he's included Yea (& Alex) in his list there, a town which is bigger than VT and has a history of playing in stronger leagues than VT (eg. Waranga NE)and would have to drop back a standard as well. So I don't think he's being biased in his thoughts.
I actually think the Central Goulburn was originally stronger than the KDFL anyway, with Mansfield involved, but the last five years or so it seems the KDFL have gotten stronger.
what i'm saying is why bring any team down to a lower level when they are doing well in the standard of league they are in.
these bdfl teams mainly goorambat (who have been the dominent team in recent times), should be looking to move up a standard and prove how good they are.
A merger of goorambat and devo, swanpool and tatong or bonnie doon and longwood would all make competitive teams in the kdfl, okfl, pdfl.
by doing that it will make those leagues bigger and better which would be the best thing for country footy.
TuskenRaider
22 Dec 2006, 13:46
what i'm saying is why bring any team down to a lower level when they are doing well in the standard of league they are in.
these bdfl teams mainly goorambat (who have been the dominent team in recent times), should be looking to move up a standard and prove how good they are.
A merger of goorambat and devo, swanpool and tatong or bonnie doon and longwood would all make competitive teams in the kdfl, okfl, pdfl.
by doing that it will make those leagues bigger and better which would be the best thing for country footy.
No dramas big tony, you make some good points and I can see totally where you're coming from.
The good thing about this thread is seeing some ideas floating around which may one day work or at least can be considered.
Did you guys here that dev has gone that leaves the league with only five. Its time that the Three strong teams move to new leagues. The Bats to make PDFL 16 team comp Longwood and the doone to move to a southern comp maybe make a new southern league including a merged swanpool/tatong out fit. I coached in this league for four years and that is the only way for these clubs to survive into the future.
The Barbers gone for sure? What's your mail on this?
PDFL has too many sides already
All good points. I'm dead sure the VCFL couldn't care less about this league.
The Ararat DFL died a few years ago and it was a similar type league. A positive from that though is that not all the clubs died with it.
No doubt Devenish could have been competitive a few years ago in the PDFL, but it obviously wasn't sustainable if there is talk of the club folding now. That's one of the big problems.
Same thing happened in gippsland with Riveria league just disbanbed altogether a couple of years ago and clubs forced into Nort Gippsland league and 2 of the 5 clubs forced went into recess after 1 year the VCFL do not give a stuff about minor footy
Hi doona how is the writing going. Look it is about time the V.C.F.L finaly did somthing about what is happening to this league. I only found out about Devinish last Wednesday i think it has been on the cards for some time. The bats are strong enough to come into the P.D.F.L, they will have to do some work but they are stonger then Wunghnu and Benalla Allblacks in both footy and netball, maybe the tungumaha league needs to start again.
PDFL has too many sides already
Hi doona how is the writing going.
Not going at all at the minute - I have been at Neslte back at Broady for just on 2 years now and miss the newspaper stuff like buggery if you got a gig for me.
No sorry Doona2, but if somthing comes up you know who i will call. So what are your thoughts on B&DFNL do you think the bats could make it in the PDFNL. A past president of the club thinks they can
galloping gasometer
30 Dec 2006, 19:23
Merging with other clubs may be the only option available to them as these small towns don’t have the population to sustain enough teams that are required within these leagues. [/COLOR]
The issue with any clu is that they are creatures of habit. If they did it last year or 10 years ago theres every chance it will happen again in the coming year.
The VCFL is a body who is supposed to add to the league a word called FORESIGHT and they should have already been down the discussion path with all teams in this league to ascertaine if a team folded what would happen. The VCFL is not doing its job and I believe the clubs pay fees on a yearly basis to the league that affiliates it to the VCFL. Whats the money for at present?
As you can tell I am extremely disappointed the VCFL sticks its head in the sand and waits for country footy to die.
galloping gasometer
30 Dec 2006, 19:39
The VCFL are very aware of the B&D's situation however teams like Dookie would lose to many players if they went into that league due to the fact that there team relys on students and the students dont wont to play in a league of such a low standard. They are struggling to get quality students to play in the Picola league as it is.
This quote from an earlier post.
I struggle to understand that if Dookie is not up to standard and struggles to get quality players why it would not be a prime candidate for BDFL. This comment doesnt mean much and I think its always easier to recruit players when you are successful. Say things like no 3rds and 4ths but dont mention in one sentence low standard as I would have thought it would improve in the BDFL with more teams. There seems to be a reoccuring spin on why the VCFL is looking after certain leagues. Sure BDFL is not very strong but I guarantee if the teams are found or the leagues can be merged that the standard will improve.
Has a division 1 and 2 for a central league ever been discussed? Works for YVMDFL at present I think.
I think that the VCFL has already tried a central league CGFL it fell on its face after the VCFL allowed teams to leave. The only way out for the remaining BDFL teams to continue on is for the recreation on the old tung league and the creation of a new southern league
The tunga league (easten league) could have Shepp east, Congupna, Katandra, Dookie, Tugamaha, Violet Town, Goorambat, Rumbalara, Katamatite, All Blacks. And the Southern League could have Tatong, Swanpool, Boonie Doon, Yea, Thornton, Alexadra, Avenel, Nagambie, Bradford,.
There could be other teams to be included but at least this would be a positive step for the VCFL.
This quote from an earlier post.
I struggle to understand that if Dookie is not up to standard and struggles to get quality players why it would not be a prime candidate for BDFL. This comment doesnt mean much and I think its always easier to recruit players when you are successful. Say things like no 3rds and 4ths but dont mention in one sentence low standard as I would have thought it would improve in the BDFL with more teams. There seems to be a reoccuring spin on why the VCFL is looking after certain leagues. Sure BDFL is not very strong but I guarantee if the teams are found or the leagues can be merged that the standard will improve.
Has a division 1 and 2 for a central league ever been discussed? Works for YVMDFL at present I think.
That's actuallly not a bad idea cain...
galloping gasometer
31 Dec 2006, 16:07
The tunga league (easten league) could have Shepp east, Congupna, Katandra, Dookie, Tugamaha, Violet Town, Goorambat, Rumbalara, Katamatite, All Blacks. And the Southern League could have Tatong, Swanpool, Boonie Doon, Yea, Thornton, Alexadra, Avenel, Nagambie, Bradford,.
There could be other teams to be included but at least this would be a positive step for the VCFL.
Cain, I like the idea. The CGFL needed to have clubs replaced after the stronger sides left but this was not done. As soon as a couple leave the league its obvious to be hunting new teams. This was not done and if it was there was not a big enough carrot involved to get teams to continue this league. I was very disappointed when this league folded as I think all clubs would still be happy to be a part of it if it survived, although no point dwelling in the past
In regards to the Southern League you mentioned it could possibly go as far as Kilmore and Wallan.
[INDENT]The tunga league (easten league) could have Shepp east, Congupna, Katandra, Dookie, Tugamaha, Violet Town, Goorambat, Rumbalara, Katamatite, All Blacks. And the Southern League could have Tatong, Swanpool, Boonie Doon, Yea, Thornton, Alexadra, Avenel, Nagambie, Bradford,.
Cain, I like the idea. The CGFL needed to have clubs replaced after the stronger sides left but this was not done. As soon as a couple leave the league its obvious to be hunting new teams. This was not done and if it was there was not a big enough carrot involved to get teams to continue this league. I was very disappointed when this league folded as I think all clubs would still be happy to be a part of it if it survived, although no point dwelling in the past
In regards to the Southern League you mentioned it could possibly go as far as Kilmore and Wallan.
I think that for teams like Tatong and Swanpool this would be a fair hike for there players to go, I know alot of their footballers come from Shepparton (mainly swanpool) but maybe with the two clubs merged together thay would be stronger. I think as the crow flies they are only 10kms apart.
Great Ideas guys but stop straining your brains, it'll never happen because it makes sense.
[quote=crabbman_69;6425849]No not on the board but had a bit to do with them during the reconstruction of the Central Goulbourn. They done the job extremely well I don’t know of any club that is disappointed with where they now are.
You could of done it better by setting up a new league such as the old Tungmah league. It seem funny every since the VCFL finished of the TFL things have gone to ********. it seem stupid that there are 15 teams in the Picola league and you look at league like this one that 5 teams. Maybe it might be good idea for these club to merge who no's but they need set up the obvious and set up a new league with 10 clubs that are close together
Jim Main
3 Jan 2007, 18:03
hey cain1 how do you know that they are stronger then wunghnu and all blacks? did you play against them or what!Hi doona how is the writing going. Look it is about time the V.C.F.L finaly did somthing about what is happening to this league. I only found out about Devinish last Wednesday i think it has been on the cards for some time. The bats are strong enough to come into the P.D.F.L, they will have to do some work but they are stonger then Wunghnu and Benalla Allblacks in both footy and netball, maybe the tungumaha league needs to start again.
[INDENT]hey cain1 how do you know that they are stronger then wunghnu and all blacks? did you play against them or what!
Hi Jim, I was apart of the bats for four years, I know the people who are running the club and i know the support the club gets. They have people who drive back from Melb just to be apart of the club for little to no money. If i was not doing what i am doing now i would be back their.
[INDENT]
Hi Jim, I was apart of the bats for four years, I know the people who are running the club and i know the support the club gets. They have people who drive back from Melb just to be apart of the club for little to no money. If i was not doing what i am doing now i would be back their.
Didn't quite answer the question there Cain1. When was the last time you played in a match for premiership points against either club.
Jim Main
4 Jan 2007, 12:20
Thanks slim18 thats what I want to know !:thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:Didn't quite answer the question there Cain1. When was the last time you played in a match for premiership points against either club.
Thanks slim18 thats what I want to know !:thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu: Maybe Wunghnu and Bats should have a pratice match this year, with players from the Shepparton/Numurkah area. It sounds like it could be a interesting match. Wunghnu have started recruiting well this year and the Bats that have a good core of players that travel down it should be good match
[INDENT]Didn't quite answer the question there Cain1. When was the last time you played in a match for premiership points against either club.
Sorry i didn't know that i had to be a player of the game to understand the game. I might have never played the game before does it make a diffrence. I think that the bats could hold there own in pdfl, they may not be strong early but as a club they will work on it.
So, aside from cain, is there any final, official word on the state of the Barbers? Personally, I reckon the comp would be nuts to not let them run even just the one team for a year or two, better than nothing and keeps the club going, you never ever know what might happen!
Can I just confirm something is it official that Devenish have folded and will not be having a team for the 2007 season. It just there has not been anything in the newspaper and only news on it is from this website.
Dont worry about the website its been empty all year. I'm told from sources at the heart of the club that they have gone into recess and have told the league. I dont know why it hasnt been released into the press.
Dont need it officially released by the league, as we all know the media gets a lot of handy mail from our pages. Do the local papers give the BDFL any real exposure normally . . . . . I surely hope this is announced shortly either way as this should be a big story that could magnify into a lot of heat on the VCFL to act quickly on football throughout the Goulburn Murray region.
And before you jump down me throat again Big Tone, Im back in the Bendigo region in 2007 remember mate ;)
got told a story today that chisnal has purchesd a local watering hole and wants to come back and wont let the barbers go into recess
Wasn't able to get any info on that over the weekend Cain1, how good was your source. He'd have a hell of a job with no players left and huge shortage of willing committee people etc. Did he buy the pub from the co-op.
galloping gasometer
9 Jan 2007, 12:20
Is the league up and running?
I heard over the weekend that Longwood have appointed Bredan Redfern to coach who used to play with Euroa.
Any other coaching appointments or players into this league?
Is the league up and running?
I heard over the weekend that Longwood have appointed Bredan Redfern to coach who used to play with Euroa.
Any other coaching appointments or players into this league?
Look out for Redder he is crazy he was assistant coach at shepp east in 1997 and he is one crazy different man. He has a good heart but all the guys did was hang sh#t on him all the time, but good luck to him
[INDENT]Wasn't able to get any info on that over the weekend Cain1, how good was your source. He'd have a hell of a job with no players left and huge shortage of willing committee people etc. Did he buy the pub from the co-op.
I have spoken to someone who was on the barbers committe. It wont happen with chisnal (he purchased the tunga hotel). There were several reasons why they have folded 1 Lack of local support no one wonts to go on the committe, 2 the cost of putting water on their oval they dont have a water system like everyone else $30 000 for two tanks and $5000 a year for water. They can not pay this and players as well in the end all over red rover
[indent]
I have spoken to someone who was on the barbers committe. It wont happen with chisnal (he purchased the tunga hotel). There were several reasons why they have folded 1 Lack of local support no one wonts to go on the committe, 2 the cost of putting water on their oval they dont have a water system like everyone else $30 000 for two tanks and $5000 a year for water. They can not pay this and players as well in the end all over red rover
This is really disappointing news cain. I thought the water problem had been fixed for both the Barbs and Tunga? Maybe the Shepp News was wrong (it so often is)
Cheers,
roberts-thompson
17 Jan 2007, 22:58
Look out for Redder he is crazy he was assistant coach at shepp east in 1997 and he is one crazy different man. He has a good heart but all the guys did was hang sh#t on him all the time, but good luck to him
yeah red should lead longwood well this year i reckon.. he has been playing there for a few years now and knows how it all goes. training this sunday hopefuly a few new faces which should be good for the redlegs.
galloping gasometer
18 Jan 2007, 12:38
I have also heard that an ex Euroa champ in Nipper Harvey may pull the boots on again to help out Redfern. Nipper would have to be at least 40? at a guess.
The season in the BDFL will actually be extended and there will be 16 rounds and 4 byes this year. 20 round season unheard of in this league!!
There will be a bye every 4 rounds as all teams will play each other 4 times plus finals.
Surely the last year of this league.........................:thumbsd:
TuskenRaider
18 Jan 2007, 13:13
I have also heard that an ex Euroa champ in Nipper Harvey may pull the boots on again to help out Redfern. Nipper would have to be at least 40? at a guess.
I'd be fairly surprised if this happened but you never know your luck in the holy city.
The season in the BDFL will actually be extended and there will be 16 rounds and 4 byes this year. 20 round season unheard of in this league!!
There will be a bye every 4 rounds as all teams will play each other 4 times plus finals.
maybe thats why they are having so many round as grand finalee year
To find a positive, at least they will know their opponents first name if they play that often.
Its always good to find a postive
Jim Main
18 Jan 2007, 19:25
nipper is ass at shepp swans this year not playing at allI have also heard that an ex Euroa champ in Nipper Harvey may pull the boots on again to help out Redfern. Nipper would have to be at least 40? at a guess.
TuskenRaider
19 Jan 2007, 07:48
nipper is ass at shepp swans this year not playing at all
.......but is he?
Also, I believe the season is 16 rounds long with 4 byes meaning each club plays 12 games, rather than a 20 round season. That is what I was led to believe, you can correct me if I'm wrong.
nipper is ass at shepp swans this year not playing at all
Jim are you on the money with this one or not, there seems to be doubt about this info were did your source come from:D
TuskenRaider
19 Jan 2007, 09:45
Jim are you on the money with this one or not, there seems to be doubt about this info were did your source come from:D
I think it was in the Shepp News mercs but I'm not sure if it's going to happen.
black n' white army
20 Jan 2007, 08:29
There is a Benalla & District league meeting scheduled for next week to discuss possibility of all clubs playing each other 4 times for the coming season. It is not likely to get the go ahead though. I believe it is too late as the draw for the 2007 season is out. Does anyone have any news on any clubs new recruits at all?