View Full Version : Whats the latest on Cole?
King_Of_Ling
4 Dec 2006, 11:43
Just wondering if anyone knows how cole is traveling? He obviously needs to put in a big pre-season and loose a bit of weigh in the process. Any news would be greatly appreciated. cheers
danzan22
4 Dec 2006, 11:49
apparently hes lost some weight and is looking more healthy, seems like he knows that hes playing for his future next season.
Now with most of the crap gone, which players on our list would be close to the chopping block if they dont have a great 07?
Id mostly think Peverill, MJ, Laycock, Cole, Bradley and Winders would be placed under the microscope more than the rest of our squad. Any thoughts??
Not sure about MJ and Bradley, Dyson would be in there before them IMO. Do I dare say Bolton?
Laycock just signed for 2 years, I know what happened to Lucy, but the ******** would be on bigger money, they'd stick with him id think.
nesski47
4 Dec 2006, 13:24
Not sure about MJ and Bradley, Dyson would be in there before them IMO. Do I dare say Bolton?
If Sheeds goes (and i think he should) Bolts is done. Bit harsh on MJ. We're really struggling for leadership and i think he needs to stay. Winders would have to be on his very last legs.
Winderlich also penned a new 2 year deal, which makes matters harder, I think he'll step up anyway
Bombs Away
4 Dec 2006, 13:35
If he has would leave the others mentioned, dyson, peverill, cole, mj, bolton and people forget heffernan and camporeale (even though I expect him to really stand up this season and show why we got him)
Will have to get rid of at least 3 but that will work itself out as the season progresses.
King_Of_Ling
4 Dec 2006, 14:36
apparently hes lost some weight and is looking more healthy, seems like he knows that hes playing for his future next season.
Thats great news Dannyboy, with a bit of luck he'll keep up the good work all they way into the new season.:thumbsu:
Daytripper
4 Dec 2006, 14:54
Now with most of the crap gone, which players on our list would be close to the chopping block if they dont have a great 07?
Id mostly think Peverill, MJ, Laycock, Cole, Bradley and Winders would be placed under the microscope more than the rest of our squad. Any thoughts??
Peverill, Lonergan, Neagle, Cole, Slattery, Bolton, Heffernen and Camporeale would be the main contenders.
If Dempsey has an absolute shocker he could be another but thats highly unlikely.
If he has would leave the others mentioned, dyson, peverill, cole, mj, bolton and people forget heffernan and camporeale (even though I expect him to really stand up this season and show why we got him)
Will have to get rid of at least 3 but that will work itself out as the season progresses.
I cant really see Heffernan offering us much more other than depth on our list. with this influx of talent, he might have to be satisifed with a career in the VFL after 07.
Peverill, Lonergan, Neagle, Cole, Slattery, Bolton, Heffernen and Camporeale would be the main contenders.
If Dempsey has an absolute shocker he could be another but thats highly unlikely.
Bolton, Heffernan, Camporeale and Peverill will be the older players with the thumb on them imo.
Lonergan, Neagle, Cole, Nash, Slattery and Winderlich in the same position for the players born after 1983.
Given Laycock and Winders have signed two year deals this year i cant see them being on the block at the end of 2007. Cole and MJ will be under pressure as will Pev,Dyson, Bolts, Heff,Campo and Lonergan i would think.
Signed until 2008 so the pressure wont be as great on him.
Shane Hird
4 Dec 2006, 21:00
I think its going to a very interesting season for the EFC in 07'. With the draftees looking like they will all play senior footy ( not all will agree;) ) at one stage or another,the pressure will be on right from the start for everyone except Lloydy.;)
If we start winning games in the first 5 or 6 rds and the side is settled, I don't rekon sheeds will muck around with the line up to much. One or two changes here and there. I can come up with many different possible combinations this team could field right now,but I have no idea what KS will go with...
If we are losing and looking like sh-t,be prepared for mass numbers of players getting dropped and made to fight their way back in...unless your Lovett;)
Pev,Campo,Bolton,Mal and Winderlich are my contenders for...
to be watched and judged closely by the coach on their every move
Cole is an absolute mystery on what his form is going to be next year...
Hope he rises to the top. He's got heaps of exprience playing with those black and white ferrals. He will be fantasic for our team he he fires.:thumbsu:
Back to Cole reports are he is going along well. :thumbsu:
Cannot See MJ,Laycock and Bradley being in Strife. However i do agree with Peverill, i also think Bolton might be in some trouble too.
Boris_Bewick
7 Dec 2006, 11:58
Cannot See MJ,Laycock and Bradley being in Strife. However i do agree with Peverill, i also think Bolton might be in some trouble too.
I agree. MJ should be fine, he did enough last year, even though it wasn't his best.
Laycock and Bradley are still developing. Remember Kep has only just turned 21, he has had loads of experience already and his prime is still a couple of years away. He has got to improve sure. While he has been beaten on many occasions, he has gained valuable experience off them. If Essendon were to drop him, he would get picked up in a second by another club, and probably flourish. Patience is needed with the big Kep unit.
With Laycock it is almost time to deliver. Unlike Kep, he hasn't had as much of a chance to stay on the park. His pre-season should be focusing on a complete rehab, to get his body feeling 100%. Confidence in your body is vital to performance on the field. That's why Hird has remained such a good player. Despite all his injuries he has (somehow) managed to remain 100% confident that his body will hold up. A great way to get his confidence is in a pre-season.
donsman4eva
7 Dec 2006, 17:46
Back to Cole again, even if he is fit for round 1, does he just step into Solly's place, or has that gone to Mal. If so, where does Cole fit into the game plan. I can't see a spot for him to tell you the truth.
He's got a lot of hard work to do to force his way into the team and play consistent enough to keep it, pretty good player for depth though
Hopefully he has got the picture that he's on his last chance at AFL level. Would be one of the most talented players on the Essendon list, even his best at Collingwood could be better. Like with Cupido and Riloli to a lesser excent, talent will only get you so far
kelvin_sheedy
7 Dec 2006, 20:16
Cole is in my if's and but's category.
I'm relying on him, Winders and Dyson to step up next year and provide the run that will get us into the 8 and take us towards being a powerhouse again.
Those 3 have the run and dash the we need on the flanks.
I'm hoping he knuckles down and gets himself as fit as possible.
If he isn't the fittest he has ever been at the start of this season then I will be seriously peeved at our coaching staff. They have to get him fit whatever it takes. Some players are not natural trainers but need something different or new to get them in peak condition.
daics cousin
8 Dec 2006, 13:18
Cole will let you team down,he carrys the ball to the extent that he thinks he can do it all by himself,he's not fast enough,always gets caught with the ball.Don't know about sheedy's choices with the recycled hacks he keeps picking up for you guys....Which one of the recycled players that have come to essendon have worked out.I can't think of any.Please enlighten me.Now you guys have picked up mal (over the hill) michael.Was a ex collingwood player ,then went to brisbane and did well now he's at the bombers.For someone that will only train part time i would not hold much hope that he is your answer in the backline,fletcher is very good and a shinning light,but you'll see in time that mal will be left flat footed by some of the other power forwards from other teams.Guys he is toooooo slow.He is past in now ,like richard cole.If these guys were that good do you think their respective clubs would have let them go ?Get real.Sheedy is trying to save his own arse cause hiis contract is up next year,that's why he got mal michael.Not looking at your longevity.
Collingwood wanted to keep Cole and Brisbane would still have Mal if he wanted to play there.
Campo has taught our young midfielders a hell of a lot, the amount of games he's played for us isn't everything he's provided
daics cousin
8 Dec 2006, 13:57
I agree that sheedy recruited well with your
midfield,houli,hislop,jetta,davey will be a very formidable combination in say 3 years,but what happens to your spine of fletcher,mal michael,lucas and Lloyd and hird,all these guys will be close to retiring,who's gonna step up to the mantle then.You do have gumbelton who will be a gun forward but not much else.
I agree that sheedy recruited well with your
midfield,houli,hislop,jetta,davey will be a very formidable combination in say 3 years,but what happens to your spine of fletcher,mal michael,lucas and Lloyd and hird,all these guys will be close to retiring,who's gonna step up to the mantle then.You do have gumbelton who will be a gun forward but not much else.
Adam McPhee is a very good footballer, Kepler and Andrew Lee are developing, Courtney Johns has a lot of potential. We have a tonne of kids we're developing, just like any other team, you hope you draft well and hope they're good enough to be very good senior players.
Who's to say we won't find further very good player in future drafts, you have to hope you develop your kids right and help them reach their potential, our past history has shown we're pretty good at it.
daics cousin
8 Dec 2006, 14:13
Mcphee and lee and johns at best thay are only serviceable.In 3 years you guys will have a top midfield,a serviceable forward line and a terrible backline.Not a great springboard, to be poised to win premierships.
facemaker
8 Dec 2006, 14:17
It's all about a mix of experience and youth. Sheedy did'nt recruit Mal because he thinks he will help us to win a flag next year he got him to help the young kids develop. Bradley struggled down back last year on some of the monster forwards so by having Mal there to teach him and take a big forward will prove invaluable in years to come. Ditto with Campo. You can say what you like about him (He is still Carlton scum in my eyes) but he is good when he's fit and the kids will learn off him.
Mcphee and lee and johns at best thay are only serviceable.In 3 years you guys will have a top midfield,a serviceable forward line and a terrible backline.Not a great springboard, to be poised to win premierships.
How do you know about Lee & Johns when one has played 12 games and the other hasn't even reached 5?
Just because they're not regular senior players does not mean they cannot fullfill their potential. How can you say Houli will be a star with 0 games under his belt while Lee has shown a lot at AFL and VFL level but will only be servicable?
I know nothing about Danny Stanley, but could say his a dud because he hasn't done anything yet, but I know better
kelvin_sheedy
8 Dec 2006, 14:23
Can you give us an insight into where the Pies are going to be in 3 years - no Presti, Clement, Bucks, Rocca, Burns, Licuria etc.
danzan22
8 Dec 2006, 14:37
so i guess that you think that mcphees 2004 season was just average, or foward line wil be fine in 3 years and our backline will get better with thee additions of lee and most likely daniher, i know i shouldnt be saying daniher cos he hasnt even been drafted yet but he most likely will come to essendon and he is meant to be very good.
daics cousin
8 Dec 2006, 14:40
Yes the answer to that is BROWN,REID,DAWES,.THese guys will take up the mantle when presti,clement,and wakelin retire.Anthony will move into the backline next year with obrien.Our weakness is the midfield which if we finish 10th or 11th we will pick up afew good midfielders in next years draft,and finally work out our ruck problems in 3 years we will challenge for a flag or two.Given we will lose buckley,licuria,burns,wakelin and clement by then the younger players will have more experience .You guys will lose hird,fletcher,michael,camporale,lucas,Llovd,Mcphee(in 3 years he'll be over thirty and slow) not to mention duds like cole,peverill,and your list goes on.Where you guys will do well is the midfield,because of recruiting, houli,jetta,hislop,and davey.Gumbelton will be your only forward with some experience by then and your backline will be shot.What happens then?
daveyboy3
8 Dec 2006, 14:41
Servicable players dont make the all Aus Team mate.
Yes the answer to that is BROWN,REID,DAWES,.THese guys will take up the mantle when presti,clement,and wakelin retire.
How could you possibly know they are the answer when they have done absolutely ZERO at AFL level except being high picks.
Going by that logic comparing to what Lee, McPhee and Kepler have achieved they will all be All Australians, you are really struggling buddy, but keep coming back please, we love a good laugh during the pre-season
How could you possibly know they are the answer when they have done absolutely ZERO at AFL level except being high picks.
Going by that logic comparing to what Lee, McPhee and Kepler have achieved they will all be All Australians, you are really struggling buddy, but keep coming back please, we love a good laugh during the pre-season
I don't think there is any logic to what he has said at all.
Reid already done zero at TAC level. As Leigh Matthews said about Tom Williams before he got drafted "has anybody seen him get a kick?" Dawes wont even play next year. Apart from that they have superstar writen all over them:confused:
daveyboy3
9 Dec 2006, 09:39
Yes the answer to that is BROWN,REID,DAWES,.THese guys will take up the mantle when presti,clement,and wakelin retire.Anthony will move into the backline next year with obrien.Our weakness is the midfield which if we finish 10th or 11th we will pick up afew good midfielders in next years draft,and finally work out our ruck problems in 3 years we will challenge for a flag or two.Given we will lose buckley,licuria,burns,wakelin and clement by then the younger players will have more experience .You guys will lose hird,fletcher,michael,camporale,lucas,Llovd,Mcphee(in 3 years he'll be over thirty and slow) not to mention duds like cole,peverill,and your list goes on.Where you guys will do well is the midfield,because of recruiting, houli,jetta,hislop,and davey.Gumbelton will be your only forward with some experience by then and your backline will be shot.What happens then?
Mcphee just turned 25... 25 + 3 makes 28 and a time when most players are in their peaks
I think that rule applies to every team except Essendon.
Audemars Piguet
9 Dec 2006, 11:45
McPhee is 24.
And we have plenty of young KPPs/Rucks
FF .......Johns(22) Laycock(22)
HF .......Gumbleton(18)........
C ....................................
HB ........Bradley(21)...........
FB Ryder(18) Lee(20)..........
R McKinnon(19)..................
Nice one, McPhee born 6/10/82 last time i checked that makes him 24 now and 27 in three years. But hey dont let facts get in the way :rolleyes:
As for your other dribble , what makes you think that BROWN,REID,DAWES will be any better than Bradley , Lee and Johns ?
Longy413
10 Dec 2006, 10:53
As for your other dribble , what makes you think that BROWN,REID,DAWES will be any better than Bradley , Lee and Johns ?
They don't play for Essendon. Apparantly that's all it takes.
This 'daics cousin' sure is struggling to gain any credibility at the moment. Wonder if maigraines are becoming a problem for him.
They don't play for Essendon. Apparantly that's all it takes.
I forgot about that :D
Anyway back to Cole again, had a look at him at training this morning and he is looking good. Probably still has a little to trim off but he is in good shape for pre christmas. At this stage it looks like he is on track :thumbsu:
Bombs Away
11 Dec 2006, 12:30
Thats good to hear Ant.
Dont be surprised if Lloyd, Lucas, McPhee and Michael are all still running around in 3 years
Why do people bother with that Collingwood Troll, he is well out of his depth and people should let him sink on his own by the crap he writes. Daics cousin - more like Daics creton
danzan22
11 Dec 2006, 21:25
McPhee is 24.
And we have plenty of young KPPs/Rucks
FF .......Johns(22) Laycock(22)
HF .......Gumbleton(18)........
C ....................................
HB ........Bradley(21)...........
FB Ryder(18) Lee(20)..........
R McKinnon(19)..................
whats happend there, mckinnon benched and ryder in ruck.