View Full Version : spider to miss start of season

StrengthThroughLoyalty
6 Mar 2002, 14:17
8 weeks for a medial ligament in the knee, ouch.

why couldn't it be justin plapp or troy shchwartze that hurt his knee whilst digging a hole in the garden, if thats really the reason for the injury. it wouldn't surprise me if he did it with some act of pure stupidity and is making this story up, but i'm a cynic. ;)

last year injury took most of our best players and this year it's more of the same with kossi and now spider doing knees. we need close to a full list to be competitive and losing our key player certainly doesn't help our chances for a good start to the season as we will miss him in the ruck and as a forward.

capuano is going to have to get fit and firing in a hurry and oliver or knobel will have to step up.

Savatage
6 Mar 2002, 15:12
Originally posted by StrengthThroughLoyalty
8 weeks for a medial ligament in the knee, ouch.

why couldn't it be justin plapp or troy shchwartze that hurt his knee whilst digging a hole in the garden, if thats really the reason for the injury. it wouldn't surprise me if he did it with some act of pure stupidity and is making this story up, but i'm a cynic. ;)

last year injury took most of our best players and this year it's more of the same with kossi and now spider doing knees. we need close to a full list to be competitive and losing our key player certainly doesn't help our chances for a good start to the season as we will miss him in the ruck and as a forward.

capuano is going to have to get fit and firing in a hurry and oliver or knobel will have to step up.

What a ********.

Spidergirl~RiCkChiCk
6 Mar 2002, 20:05
:( :( :(

The Boot
17 Mar 2002, 10:35
A "ligament" problem ?? What planet are you from mate?

That's just more bloody whitewash to cover up an epidemic that is destroying our players and clubs.

Why don't they just admit some of our players have certain "problems", and get rid of them before they drag the whole team and game down?

Vaul Darkhour
17 Mar 2002, 14:30
Why?.. What do you mean Boot?

thegoldenbear
21 Mar 2002, 08:27
So many rumours flying around from Moorabbin about what is really wrong with Spider. I heard a couple of weeks ago he did his knee after a skateboarding incident. But now I've heard that even that rumour was created to appease the fans who couldn't believe the story about his knee in the first place. St.Kilda is trying very, very hard to keep this one quiet. Unfortunately different sources have spoken to me about the possibility of Spider being in rehab for a substance abuse problem. If this is true - and I hope for his sake it's not - then we need to part company, end of story. If the management is fair dinkum about the hard line stance on the players 'outside activities' then this surely takes the cake. Time after time, players get second and thrid chances after incidents (spider is a prominent example). For a 'professional' player who is considered one of the leaders of the club to consider, let alone get to the point of needing help, is just bloody stupid. Gary Moorecroft was sacked immediately after the club found out he was involved with Mercuri's 16 year old sister. Remember the confusion as to why he was dumped. If we want to be a force, we need to be like an Essendon. This may sound like fiction, but I don't want to tarnish the club's name or give ammunition to those *****heads who don't understand what it's like to support the Saints.

Savatage
21 Mar 2002, 10:23
It really disappoints me that our own supporters need to put this **** onto a public forum.

Especially since we are dealing with ****ing rumours for ****s sake.

Prove it or shut the **** up.

thegoldenbear
21 Mar 2002, 11:38
Mate, the days of supporters with their heads in the sand finished when the players got together and sacked Stan Alves. Oh wait, I bet that's another viciuos rumour too. We have to show the club that we are sick and tired of the tail wagging the dog. If some toes get stepped on then so be it.

On the subject of why address it in a public forum? So the supporters who aren't so one-eyed and slightly realistic can join in the calls for a professional attitude from all concerned down at St Kilda. Last year we were treated with contempt in regards to the Malcolm Blight saga. Although the jury is out on Grant Thomas, to be fed the line about all possible candidates being reviewed then surprise, surprise - care-taker coach beats out more experienced asst. coaches.

'Expect the unexpected' - yeah I can't wait.

sammm
21 Mar 2002, 14:23
if this rumour was in anyway true it would be all over the papers by now. i serisouly doubt that the saints could keep such a thing secret.!

so stop spreading such s..t, !!!

sainter
21 Mar 2002, 22:03
Goldenbear,

I realise it's frustrating when we have performed so badly to see that a lot of us have remained positive and in a way you're right. As St Kilda supporters we shouldn't blindly accept every decision our club makes.

However there is absolutely no need to give any credence to many of these unsubstantiated rumours floating around. Particularly the Spider rumour, he's had his knee operation and will be back somewhere between 12-16 weeks.

Off-field dramas have plagued at least half of the other clubs over this pre-season campaign and for the first time in many years our club has avoided the spotlight. The early form hasn't been to crash hot but we've got a good young list and are heading in the right direction. There's no need to create headlines when our players are behaving.

Spidergirl~RiCkChiCk
22 Mar 2002, 21:16
i gotta bad feeling i will never see Spider play for StKilda again :(

Savatage
23 Mar 2002, 08:41
Originally posted by Spidergirl~RiCkChiCk
i gotta bad feeling i will never see Spider play for StKilda again :(

You're moving interstate?

Spidergirl~RiCkChiCk
23 Mar 2002, 09:46
lol i wish!

nah i just reckon somethins odd about this and knowing Spider and the Saints if they finish bottom again he will chuck in the towell on them like he said he would :( i'm just hoping that he will be back before they said!

Savatage
23 Mar 2002, 11:00
Originally posted by Spidergirl~RiCkChiCk
lol i wish!

nah i just reckon somethins odd about this and knowing Spider and the Saints if they finish bottom again he will chuck in the towell on them like he said he would :( i'm just hoping that he will be back before they said!

Everything will be fine, Spider's his own man, but he's not a ****ing idiot. Rumour mongers can go & **** themselves.

StrengthThroughLoyalty
24 Mar 2002, 16:31
Originally posted by The Boot
A "ligament" problem ?? What planet are you from mate?

That's just more bloody whitewash to cover up an epidemic that is destroying our players and clubs.

Why don't they just admit some of our players have certain "problems", and get rid of them before they drag the whole team and game down?

i have my feet firmly planted on terra firma and have more common sense and intelligence than to believe every bit of innuendo, rumour or scuttle-but that i hear or read.

if the saints were capable of keeping something of this magnitude away from the media hounds i would be staggered. the media would would leave no stone unturned to find the truth in this rumour so that they could take great delight to tell the world of our poor culture and off field problems. the fact that nothing has been reported by the repulsive and vile journalists would suggest that the facts may be different from the innuendo and rumour.

Dingster
24 Mar 2002, 21:53
Begging permission to jump on your board. My parents are both members and use to drag me along to Moorabin as a tacker (until I saw the light ;) ), so I have a soft spot for the Saints.

IMO, Spider for a player that is much maligned and appears laconic at times, goes alright. He has his off days, but overall serves the club well.

Perhaps if some of the managent performed to his level, the club would be better off. Anyway, hopefully some of the younger players can take a step forward and best wishes to Matty Capuano.

Cheers.