View Full Version : G. Jones - Appreciation Thread
Bartram_Class
6 Dec 2006, 19:58
I think his selection over Read was and still is, the right choice. He has been great with his glove work so far, much better than Gilchrist (who was poor yesterday with the gloves) with just the one blemish IIRC, being the drop of Clarke yesterday when the game was dead and buried.
With the bat, he hasnt done all that much, but has done no less than what Read would have done. Dont draw attention to his innings yesterday as they all batted like gooses, not just Geraint.
I think his selection over Read was and still is, the right choice. He has been great with his glove work so far, much better than Gilchrist (who was poor yesterday with the gloves) with just the one blemish IIRC, being the drop of Clarke yesterday when the game was dead and buried.
Gilchrist was not poor with the gloves at all, it was one of is better days.
As for Jones, yes his glove work has been much better this series than the last.
http://www.danheller.com/images/California/DeathValley/Misc/dv-tumbleweed-1.jpg
King Elvis
6 Dec 2006, 20:02
He's in the team for his batting.
How many runs has he made?
Bartram_Class
6 Dec 2006, 20:04
He hasnt done much, you are right but he has not done anything wrong with the gloves so it evens up. Read would have done no better.
Cassius_Clay
More than Flintoff? :o
Cassius_Clay
He hasnt done much, you are right but he has not done anything wrong with the gloves so it evens up. Read would have done no better.
Read could have done no worse either mate ;)
Bartram_Class
6 Dec 2006, 20:05
Gilchrist was not poor with the gloves at all, it was one of is better days.
As for Jones, yes his glove work has been much better this series than the last.
I counted 3 byes at least, and a couple of deliveries from Warne he didnt collect cleanly.
Jones on the other hand, stood up to Hoggard the other day and was looking quite comfortable.
King Elvis
6 Dec 2006, 20:08
I thought Gilchrist kept beautifully, and his 64 was a great contribution.
SWANNIES RULE
6 Dec 2006, 20:34
His selection in the side was wrong, Read deserved it.
Junior55
6 Dec 2006, 20:37
With the bat, he hasnt done all that much, but has done no less than what Read would have done. Dont draw attention to his innings yesterday as they all batted like gooses, not just Geraint.
I agree entirely.. he has been criticised very widely for his glovework but it has been pretty good this series.. His batting hasnt been fantastic but i Dont think Read's glovework would have been better and his batting wouldnt have helped them much either.. His keeping to Hoggard this test was very good...
KrunchNKans
6 Dec 2006, 20:47
Gee the kid loves an appeal. Goes up for anything,
Bartram_Class
6 Dec 2006, 21:03
Isnt that you want in a keeper?
Someone who never shuts up. :D
funkyfreo
6 Dec 2006, 21:07
I must admit he has been better than I thought. I don't see that Read would have made much difference. Except that he was getting confidence from a run in the side. I just don;t see what changed to make them bring Jones back in the side. If the batting line up is weak then surely you need it strong against all sides.
funkyfreo
6 Dec 2006, 21:07
Not a Warne and Gilly thread - start your own.
King Elvis
6 Dec 2006, 21:08
He was born and raised in Australia remember.
Bartram_Class
6 Dec 2006, 21:26
:D :thumbsu:
wce4premiership
6 Dec 2006, 21:38
he's improved heaps but not better then gilly, they are par imo.
King Elvis
6 Dec 2006, 21:43
Except Gilly is way better.
:eek:
Gilly may be out of form but
32 > 15.8 :thumbsu:
Jones keeping has improved but is sub-par at best. He would be a joke trying to keep to Warney ripping it out of the rough like Gilly has to
Cooldude
6 Dec 2006, 22:59
Gilly's glovework this match was incredible, particularly off Warnie. People don't know how hard it is to keep to Warnie, particularly on a raging Day 5 turning deck, and also when he comes around the wicket.
His glovework in the past couple of years have turned into absolute top class
Geraint Jones? He's been okay with the gloves, tidy enough for his low standards, but you gotta be concerned about the boy when he came up to the stumps to Anderson who bowls at 140 clicks
Bartram_Class
6 Dec 2006, 23:00
Gilly's glovework this match was incredible, particularly off Warnie. People don't know how hard it is to keep to Warnie, particularly on a raging Day 5 turning deck, and also when he comes around the wicket.
His glovework in the past couple of years have turned into absolute top class
Geraint Jones? He's been okay with the gloves, tidy enough for his low standards, but you gotta be concerned about the boy when he came up to the stumps to Anderson who bowls at 140 clicks
That was the thing though, he looked perfectly comfortable up at the stumps to the quickies, i cant remember him fumbling one ball.
When Jones came up to the stumps, Anderson dropped his pace IIRC. The guy isn't half as good as Read with the gloves, Read is fantastic. Jones isn't in there for his keeping, the reason is he is in there for his batting, he is averaging 15.8 with the willow, only just over half of what Warney is averaging.
Read averaged 40 + with the bat in the last English summer and was great when he was keeping to Monty. Its nothing to do with Jones batting I feel, Hes in there because he is Fat Duncs favourite. Reeks of coaches son.
Fletcher made Jones a selector, unbelievable :eek: :thumbsd:
davey_magik
7 Dec 2006, 10:20
Jones has done a good job so far, though really he needs to be scoring 30-40 every innings with the bat to really justify his spot.
He has kept very well though, and he's not afraid to dish it out from behind the stumps :D .
spanna050
7 Dec 2006, 10:56
I know the game was getting away from them anyway, and the throw was shocking, but his effort in preventing 4 overthrows with his pads rather than his gloves was 'ordinary' at best.
Joffaboy
7 Dec 2006, 10:56
Club Pro Rulz.
Worst keeper since Mickey Stewart gave his son a gig which he kept for about 10 years.
Now Jones is on Fat Dunc's selection panel he will never get dropped, just like Mickey's boy.
All for for the Aussies :thumbsu: :)
Hap Hapablap
7 Dec 2006, 10:57
read is a far better wicketkeeper than g.jones period.
Redlegs14
7 Dec 2006, 11:26
I think the biggest mistake Jones has made this series is wearing gloves almost identical in colour to the stumps. It cost them the run out of Hussey in the first innings, and very nearly cost them the run out of I think Hayden in the first test.
Grimreepah
7 Dec 2006, 11:45
Jones keeping has improved but is sub-par at best. He would be a joke trying to keep to Warney ripping it out of the rough like Gilly has to
Exactly. Giles doesn't give keepers a lot of work to do.
Jones got a golden blob today against WA whilst Read scored an unbeaten 59. Add to this the blinding catch Read took in WA first innings and surely he has to push past Jones for the Third Test.
Read is a class act and is should play in Perth with Monty.
Jones got a golden blob today against WA whilst Read scored an unbeaten 59. Add to this the blinding catch Read took in WA first innings and surely he has to push past Jones for the Third Test.
Read is a brilliant keeper, is in form with the bat and can keep to Monty. However, when the Club Pro is a selector and is the coaches favourite he doesnt have much chance does he.
SWANNIES RULE
10 Dec 2006, 21:20
England are retarded if they don't choose Read.
TheColeTrain
10 Dec 2006, 21:30
Unfortunatly I can't see one of the selectors dropping himself, absolute joke, Read is so much better then Jones, batting and keeping, maybe he should get in bed with Fat Dunc as well so he gets a shot
Blue Boyz
11 Dec 2006, 00:35
Club Pro Rulz.
Worst keeper since Mickey Stewart gave his son a gig which he kept for about 10 years.
Now Jones is on Fat Dunc's selection panel he will never get dropped, just like Mickey's boy.
Disagree with you here Joffa as I reckon Stewart was better. IMHO Jones is the worst English WK since the days of David Bairstow.
eddiesmith
11 Dec 2006, 00:44
I hope Jones gets dropped so at the end of the series Gilly will have more dropped catches :D
Shocking effort off Warney on the last day in Adelaide
Thewlis Dish
11 Dec 2006, 02:22
Shocking effort off Warney on the last day in Adelaide
Agreed, if they were playing opponents with a spinal cord then it could have been quite costly.
Partridge
11 Dec 2006, 07:52
England are retarded if they don't choose Read.
They won't and - at least from a selection viewpoint - they are.
Coin_Toss
11 Dec 2006, 08:05
I thought Jones was the better batsman of the two in Australian conditions?
Read couldn't be that bad if he scored an unbeaten 59. He's reached at least 50 runs this summer, something Jones hasn't done as yet - HS 33 runs.
They need a gloveman and Read is touted as better behind the stumps.
SWANNIES RULE
11 Dec 2006, 08:17
Read is a better gloveman than Gilchrist, he IS that talented.
How does that joke go about Jones being in the team for his batting?
Squizza
15 Dec 2006, 13:37
What a dud :thumbsd:
But I'm not complaining, a free wicket for Australia.
Cassius_Clay
15 Dec 2006, 13:43
Haha this guy is almost a worse batter than his captain.
ShearMagic9
15 Dec 2006, 13:45
I stuck up for Jones at the start of the series.
Not anymore.
Piss off you hack
Cooldude
15 Dec 2006, 13:57
Gee he's a hack
If Chris Read can't bat better than this then there's something wrong
ShearMagic9
15 Dec 2006, 13:59
Gee he's a hack
If Chris Read can't bat better than this then there's something wrong
You cant bat any worse. How do you get worse than a duck?
Cooldude
15 Dec 2006, 14:00
I said can't bat better, not can't bat worse
ShearMagic9
15 Dec 2006, 14:01
I said can't bat better, not can't bat worse
Yeah I know, so he's really only going to either equal or better it.
Cooldude
15 Dec 2006, 14:04
Which was what I was implying anyway...
ShearMagic9
15 Dec 2006, 14:05
Which was what I was implying anyway...
Yes I know.... I was agreeing with you.
Cooldude
15 Dec 2006, 14:10
Good, then we're fine ;)
Seriously though, the first time I saw Chris Read, which was a couple of years ago, I always thought he could bat. Has a technique and knows what he's doing with the piece of wood
Jones' technique is pretty ******** ordinary, where's this conception that he can bat comes from?
Good, then we're fine ;)
Seriously though, the first time I saw Chris Read, which was a couple of years ago, I always thought he could bat. Has a technique and knows what he's doing with the piece of wood
Jones' technique is pretty ******** ordinary, where's this conception that he can bat comes from?
Activities under Fletchers desk ;)
Go for a duck off three balls or less. :p
spell_check
15 Dec 2006, 23:43
Or run out without facing a ball. ;)
But that might only mean he was involved in poor communication, but meh. :)
Thewlis Dish
15 Dec 2006, 23:50
Yeah but that is cancelled out by the fact he got out off a juicy half volley. It's not like he got a jaffa of a ball.
And I'd rather get out for a diamond than a golden. At least you can blame someone else.
red+black
15 Dec 2006, 23:51
I'm surprised you all let this remain unchallenged for so long.
He wasn't born in Australia, but in Papua New Guinea.
ShearMagic9
16 Dec 2006, 16:43
Its still a duck though, still 0 runs.
Who cares how many balls you face.
Coin_Toss
16 Dec 2006, 17:13
He has got to go...he's an embarrassment to International cricket.
How many chances has he passed up? I've lost count - 2 weeks ago. :D
He's deplorable with the bat, even though they said he is better suited to Australian conditions than Reid. I think Reid pips him and he hasn't played so far in the Ashes.
missed stumping Clarke on 2.
Clarke goes on to make an unbeaten 135
Bentleigh
16 Dec 2006, 23:24
missed stumping Clarke on 2.
Clarke goes on to make an unbeaten 135
Decided to drop Hussey on not many as well.
Whoops.
SWANNIES RULE
16 Dec 2006, 23:34
He has Duncan Fletcher in his back pocket so he will be in the side on boxing day.
red+black
16 Dec 2006, 23:34
He wouldn't even be Papua New Guinea's best wicketkeeper at the moment.
SWANNIES RULE
16 Dec 2006, 23:53
http://www.cricinfo.com/db/PICTURES/CMS/69600/69637.jpg
Bentleigh
16 Dec 2006, 23:54
"Bugger"
Coin_Toss
17 Dec 2006, 07:44
http://www.cricinfo.com/db/PICTURES/CMS/69600/69637.jpg
It wasn't even a designated "close catching" chance. He should have left it to Pietersen but that wouldn't have been a certainty as well.
At least KP would have got his hands on it... he was never going to get to it and showed poor judgement (again).
We should start up the G.Jones school of incompetence. How costly can a keeper be? In for his batting.:D And the golden rule is that runs cost by misstumpings and dropped catches will not be made up for in the long run than someone who is at best marginally better with the bat than his rival in any case.
"Jones was pathetic. His mental attitude to Test-match cricket at the moment is shocking. He's just getting out in some ridiculous ways."
Geoff Boycott, no big fan of Geraint Jones, says what many others in England have been thinking in recent days
His 2nd dig in Adelaide summed it all up. In the team for his batting, team in danger and he hangs the bat out to a very wide one and feeds gully.
Shmoses
17 Dec 2006, 20:26
http://www.cricinfo.com/db/PICTURES/CMS/69600/69637.jpgThat's the best thing I've seen in my life. It's a man trying desperately to impress, and failing.
Bartram_Class
26 Dec 2006, 22:44
Read - 3
Experiment failed, get Jones back.
Read - 3
Yeah, Jones does have that spectacular series average of 10.5. Mind you, if we take out the one time he looked competent with the bad (when he made 33) then he would drop to a series average of 6.00. :rolleyes:
Bartram_Class
26 Dec 2006, 23:20
Yeah, Jones does have that spectacular series average of 10.5. Mind you, if we take out the one time he looked competent with the bad (when he made 33) then he would drop to a series average of 6.00. :rolleyes:
Thats still twice Read's average so far this series :thumbsu:
eddiesmith
27 Dec 2006, 01:05
Read - 3
Jones with a pair in the last test so Read did have a better test :thumbsu:
Plus he is ahead in the keeping with 0 dropped balls :D
just maybe
27 Dec 2006, 08:45
Club Pro Rulz.
Er...Alec Stewart was a bloody good keeper.
Read - 3
What do you mean the experiment failed ?
Jones was more of an experiment, he was in there because he was supposed to be a better batsman than Read and he was basically picked as a 7th batsman.
Jones has made bugger all runs this series, so being picked for his batting he was always going to be dropped if he wasn't making the runs required.
So they bring in a keeper finally and a gun one at that.
SWANNIES RULE
27 Dec 2006, 12:51
Read is the best gloveman in the world.
Read - 26* (second top scorer in the second innings)
Who knows? He could've gone on to eclipse Jones' series high score of 33. Regardless, his average for the series is now 29, which is about THREE TIMES Jones' average. Also, he took quite a few catches (five from memory). Regulation as most of them were, I think it's safe to assume Jones would've grassed one or two.
Read averages 29, 4th highest of the Pommie batsman.
Plus he is a far better gloveman, Fletcher made to look like a halfwit AGAIN
Shmoses
29 Dec 2006, 02:14
Read - 26* (second top scorer in the second innings)
Who knows? He could've gone on to eclipse Jones' series high score of 33. Regardless, his average for the series is now 29, which is about THREE TIMES Jones' average. Also, he took quite a few catches (five from memory). Regulation as most of them were, I think it's safe to assume Jones would've grassed one or two.Actually it was six catches, which would have to be close to Jones' career aggregate.
bresker
29 Dec 2006, 02:32
Just one off equalling the world record of 7.
They were all fairly regulation chances, but he still took them.
He looks livlier than Jones, better at geeing up his teammates. His head didn't drop unlike some of the others.
Partridge
29 Dec 2006, 07:39
Just one off equalling the world record of 7.
They were all fairly regulation chances, but he still took them.
He looks livlier than Jones, better at geeing up his teammates. His head didn't drop unlike some of the others.
He just looks a better player. And the second innings showed he's got a lot more ticker. He never really looked comfortable, but at least had the balls to stay out there.
Grimreepah
16 Jan 2007, 18:50
In a stunning fall from grace, the man who began the Ashes series as England's first-choice wicketkeeper will see out the summer with Brisbane first grade club Beenleigh-Logan.
Jones will play as a batsman for Beenleigh-Logan with former Queensland Bulls player Dan Payne keeping the gloves.
Article (http://www.foxsports.com.au/story/0,8659,21070927-23212,00.html)
ShearMagic9
16 Jan 2007, 20:11
Article (http://www.foxsports.com.au/story/0,8659,21070927-23212,00.html)
HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA back where he belongs.
Coached by Ricky Pontings Uncle LOL
Can you imagine the sledges the grade cricketers will give him. HILARIOUS
Coached by Ricky Pontings Uncle LOL
Can you imagine the sledges the grade cricketers will give him. HILARIOUS
yeh i guess but he will just say "at least i played test cricket"
Cue in the tack ons added by opposition players
ChrisFooty
17 Jan 2007, 00:05
Should they have considered Paul Nixon for the last Ashes, and for future tests? Should he have gotten an oppourtunity if he was in their world cup plans? It would of been more ideal if Nixon played the last two tests. Give him an actual taste of playing against the best test side, would of given him a better platform for the current ODI's.