View Full Version : Draft Game IV - A cricket draft
Warwick
7th December 2006, 19:49
Once again to fill time in the off-season, The Den hosts another draft game.
This time footy is replaced by cricket. The aim of the game is to see who could draft the best possible "Test World XI" as judged by a poll amongst other members. The game will follow the same structure as previous draft games on this board.
The rules are as follows:
You must draft one player that has played test cricket in every decade since the 30s in your team.
You are allowed to draft a maximum of two players from any one decade.
If a cricketer has played in more than one decade (i.e. the 80s and 90s), you can choose which decade he falls into.
The draft order will be determined randomly, and the order will be reversed every other round (i.e. team 1 gets the first pick in the 1st and 3rd round, but the last pick in the 2nd and 4th rounds).Everyone is welcome. If you haven't played one of these draft games before - i encourage you to join (but only if you can stand the sledging). We only need to pick 11 players so it wont take nearly as long as the football drafts. Ideally, it would be best if we got around 5 or 6 players, but there is room for more. Put your name down if you are interested. :)
sherminator
7th December 2006, 19:53
Im in. I'll suck, though. :o
Warwick
7th December 2006, 19:55
Im in. I'll suck, though. :o
The good thing is, you can pretty much determine who is good by looking at bowling and batting averages - you don't have to have seen them play at all.
sherminator
7th December 2006, 19:57
The good thing is, you can pretty much determine who is good by looking at bowling and batting averages - you don't have to have seen them play at all.
Yep. :)
Grimreepah
7th December 2006, 20:10
Perhaps Bradman should be excluded. Whoever gets him would have too big an advantage.
Warwick
7th December 2006, 20:15
Perhaps Bradman should be excluded. Whoever gets him would have too big an advantage.
Yeah i'm happy with that.
toddy
7th December 2006, 20:24
im in
sherminator
7th December 2006, 20:32
Alright. :)
sherminator
7th December 2006, 20:48
Okay I have a rough 16* now. :D
CoZi36
7th December 2006, 22:21
I want to play in this game as I missed the last.
POBT
8th December 2006, 07:23
I'd like to have a crack at it but I won't be online over the weekend. Happy to sit out if that causes problems.
Lady Lawrence
8th December 2006, 08:01
happy to have a go seeing as it is probably the only opportunity this pommy will have at possibly winning a game of cricket!!
I won't be on line on Saturday but will be today and later on Sunday (once my hangover clears!!)
Grimreepah
8th December 2006, 10:35
Good to see some new faces. For those of you who are new it should be pointed out that the goal is not to pick the best side, but to pick the side that you think will get the most votes. A poll will be conducted in the Den to determine a winner.
POBT
8th December 2006, 10:38
For those of you who are new it should be pointed out that the goal is not to pick the best side, but to pick the side that you think will get the most votes.
The two should be one and the same but clearly that is not the case ;)
Warwick
8th December 2006, 10:40
I'm waiting to see how Grim will fit 3 'keepers in his team.
Grimreepah
8th December 2006, 10:47
I'm waiting to see how Grim will fit 3 'keepers in his team.
Why would I do that?
Warwick
8th December 2006, 11:01
Taking the moral high-ground already? :rolleyes:
I think most people will make up their mind as soon as the game gets underway.
Grimreepah
8th December 2006, 11:05
Good luck everyone.
Warwick
10th December 2006, 19:37
Participants:
Warwick
Grimreepah
toddy
POBT
CoZi
Sherminator
Lady Lawrence
We could probably sort out the random draft order tonight. Its going to be very difficult trying to get 7 people on at the same time, so maybe we need to just take our turn when it comes and possibly PM your next pick if you are not going to be on for a while.
John
10th December 2006, 19:49
Good luck all. I am looking forward to being entertained as I have all the other draft games.
sherminator
10th December 2006, 19:50
Good luck all. I am looking forward to being entertained as I have all the other draft games.
I am looking forward to giving it a crack, probaly finish last. ;)
Warwick
10th December 2006, 20:00
I'm disappointed not to see you giving it a go John. There is room for more if you have the time.
If not, thanks for your wishes. I expect we will all be entertained - who knows what Grim will do this game, or whether toddy will stack his team with numerous players who all hold the same role in the team. :)
And Sherminator - the person who has claimed underdog status has traditionally done very well. ;) These games are all meant for a bit of fun and time to fill during the summer. I think most of us are in the same boat for this game, i.e. relying on statistics and hearsay.
John
10th December 2006, 20:05
I'm disappointed not to see you giving it a go John. There is room for more if you have the time.
If not, thanks for your wishes. I expect we will all be entertained - who knows what Grim will do this game, or whether toddy will stack his team with numerous players who all hold the same role in the team. :)
And Sherminator - the person who has claimed underdog status has traditionally done very well. ;) These games are all meant for a bit of fun and time to fill during the summer. I think most of us are in the same boat for this game, i.e. relying on statistics and hearsay.
I am not sure I can devote the time.
What I will say is that I do have the week between Xmas and New year free if we had a draft game going then.
Warwick
10th December 2006, 20:15
I am not sure I can devote the time.
What I will say is that I do have the week between Xmas and New year free if we had a draft game going then.
No worries.
Actually while you are here, would you be able to determine the draft order considering you are a neutral observor? We will just do it the same way we have done for previous drafts. Every player gets a number according to alphabetical order, therefore:
CoZi (1)
Grimreepah (2)
Lady Lawrence (3)
POBT (4)
Sherminator (5)
toddy (6)
Warwick (7)
And you enter numbers 1-7 into this random number generator: http://www.pangloss.com/seidel/rnumber.cgi to determine the order (i.e. if 5 is on top of the list, Sherminator has first pick).
The only thing with that generator is you have to use numbers between 1 and 8 for 7 to be included.
Are you able to do that for us John?
John
10th December 2006, 20:36
My pleasure. I have cut and pasted the results.
Here is the list of random integers between 1 and 8:
Warwick
10th December 2006, 20:41
Ok thanks mate. :thumbsu:
The order for the draft is:
1. Lady Lawrence
2. POBT
3. Grimreepah
4. Sherminator
5. CoZi
6. Warwick
7. toddy
8. toddy
9. Warwick
10. CoZi
11. Sherminator
12. Grimreepah
13. POBT
14. Lady Lawrence
And so forth...
I'll start another thread now for the actual selections. When it is your turn, go nuts. LL has first pick.
Grimreepah
10th December 2006, 20:43
I probably won't be ready until Tuesday. If that is inconvenient, then I don't mind to sit out.
Warwick
10th December 2006, 20:46
It shouldn't matter. This may be spread out a little more.
POBT
11th December 2006, 10:17
Before I take my pick in the other thread, can I just get some clarification on the parameters:
Are we counting the 30s and the 00s as decades that we have to pick from?
Warwick
11th December 2006, 10:42
Before I take my pick in the other thread, can I just get some clarification on the parameters:
Are we counting the 30s and the 00s as decades that we have to pick from?
Yeah just to confirm POBT, 8 of your players will consist of one player form the:
30's
40's
50's
60's
70's
80's
90's
00's
Your other 3 can be from any decade (although you are only allowed a max of 2 players from one decade).
Lady Lawrence
11th December 2006, 12:02
are they all Australian or is this an international side?
POBT
11th December 2006, 12:10
This time footy is replaced by cricket. The aim of the game is to see who could draft the best possible "Test World XI" as judged by a poll amongst other members.
are they all Australian or is this an international side?
LL, it is international.
Grim, you are up next.
Lady Lawrence
11th December 2006, 12:12
thanks POBT - i'll look o/s as well, hopefully we have a good englishman I can chuck in there!
POBT
11th December 2006, 12:20
thanks POBT - i'll look o/s as well, hopefully we have a good englishman I can chuck in there!
Giles? ;)
Grimreepah
11th December 2006, 12:37
Gerraint Jones?;)
Grimreepah
11th December 2006, 12:45
Grim, you are up next.
Yeah, look, I might have to sit this one out. Please carry on without me. I'll adjudicate if need be, but I'm still a bit exhausted from the other draft games. The new order is:
1. Lady Lawrence - Mark Taylor
2. POBT - Garfield Sobers
3. Sherminator
4. CoZi
5. Warwick
6. toddy
7. toddy
8. Warwick
9. CoZi
10. Sherminator
11. POBT
12. Lady Lawrence
LL, would you have chosen someone different if you were picking an international side?
POBT
11th December 2006, 12:45
Gerraint Jones?;)
The Welsh Queenslander born in Papua New Guinea?
Grimreepah
11th December 2006, 12:48
The Welsh Queenslander born in Papua New Guinea?
If we are going to base these things on where someone grew up, there won't be many "Englishmen" for LL to choose from.;)
POBT
11th December 2006, 12:49
LL, would you have chosen someone different if you were picking an international side?
LL, not sure about anyone else but I'm happy for you to change your first pick if you like.
Grimreepah
11th December 2006, 12:55
LL, not sure about anyone else but I'm happy for you to change your first pick if you like.
I agree. LL may have chosen the same but if she does want to change, I think she should be given the option. Sobers is already taken though.
POBT
11th December 2006, 14:17
Sobers is already taken though.
Nah - LL can have Sir Garry if she likes. She had first pick so is entitled to her first choice.
Warwick
11th December 2006, 14:48
Yeah, look, I might have to sit this one out. Please carry on without me. I'll adjudicate if need be, but I'm still a bit exhausted from the other draft games.
Ok that's cool. We could send you our picks if we aren't going to be on for a while. We should have a time limit as well, so we aren't waiting forever for someone's pick. I understand at least one player has school which is fair enough - maybe a limit of 24 hours before you lose your turn. Or even if you log on and take your pick, and maybe send a PM to someone else with a shortlist of 2 or 3 players you want to select with your next turn, if you know you wont be on for a while. If Grim is happy to get those PMs, it would be very helpful.
Also, is CoZi still playing? She didn't seem to understand what she needed to do.
sherminator
11th December 2006, 14:50
Walter 'Wally' Hammond-
1927-1947
Test- 7249 runs (22 100's, 24 50's) Averaged 58.45 in 85 matches. HS- 336
1st Class- 22 389 runs (167 100's 185 50's) Averaged 56.10 in 634 matches. HS- 336
EDIT- One of the best slip fielders there was in 1930's.
Grimreepah
11th December 2006, 15:08
If Grim is happy to get those PMs, it would be very helpful.
Yep. Happy to help where I can.:thumbsu:
Grimreepah
11th December 2006, 18:52
If Grim is happy to get those PMs, it would be very helpful.
I just hope that if toddy pms me his picks, I don't accidently call out the wrong name.
sherminator
11th December 2006, 19:13
Lol. :D Please do so. ;)
Warwick
11th December 2006, 21:00
We'll give CoZi till tomorrow afternoon to decide whether she is playing. If not, we will just move on.
sherminator
11th December 2006, 21:07
We'll give CoZi till tomorrow afternoon to decide whether she is playing. If not, we will just move on.
That mean the order moves up a possie again?
Warwick
11th December 2006, 21:10
If CoZi is out it does. But if she is still playing, she has next pick.
sherminator
11th December 2006, 21:34
Sweet.
Warwick
12th December 2006, 15:19
Well it's been 24 hours and we have no idea if CoZi is playing or not. If she is she can have her pick when she logs on. I'll take mine now.
sherminator
12th December 2006, 15:22
I have to pull out, broke my thumb. It's too hard to type because it literally snapped and I have a fore-arm length cast on...
Sorry.
Warwick
12th December 2006, 15:53
Ouch. I'm sorry to hear that Sherminator, i hope it gets better soon. :thumbsu:
You can't type with one hand?
roostersgal4eva
12th December 2006, 17:03
get better soon
will be happy to step in last min but i cant go back on untill 9-9.30 adelaide time :(
toddy
12th December 2006, 18:01
you can pick your 2 now Roostersgal before LL goes for hers.
vBulletin® v3.7.1, Copyright ©2000-2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.