View Full Version : Southern Football League - Division 3 talk only!

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 [17] 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40

blac04
14 Aug 2007, 16:12
Talk About Something Other Than Yourself Black

sorry for having a joke going places!!:( pleb

GOING PLACES
14 Aug 2007, 16:14
sorry for having a joke going places!!:( pleb

NO NEED TO REPLY ON THE RESERVES LINK EITHER. I FEEL I KNOW HOW IT WILL GO.

blac04
14 Aug 2007, 16:15
NO NEED TO REPLY ON THE RESERVES LINK EITHER. I FEEL I KNOW HOW IT WILL GO.

too late

scratcha
14 Aug 2007, 16:19
Defeanetly need Cantebury to win, one more win from Doveton and our hopes and dreams are shattered!!

Or just a self inflicted loss and your hopes and dreams shattered. Oops, it happened. :D:D:D

The Enemy Within
14 Aug 2007, 16:37
3rd Div easily the best SFL comp this yr.

Final 4 will finish as so,
Mt Waverley
Canterbury
Black Rock
Doveton Eagles
So, taking into account the finals are being played at Mordiallic (the biggest ground this side of Football Park) the first week of the finals should go like this:

Canterbury to beat Mt Waverley.
Canterbury to strong, polished, experienced and more even across the ground.

Doveton Eagles to beat Black Rock.
Doveton's young legs to run the bigger Black Rocks bodies of their feet.
Have to agree with your statements on Canterbury v Mount luckly for Mount your not coaching them hey Jason.That Is All

The_Cat
14 Aug 2007, 16:40
maybe you should look a lttle closer to what cuts them down!!!!!!! Or a likeness.

Gotcha

discotrain
14 Aug 2007, 16:55
Havent seen micky scanlens name in the skye team for a while MADMAN ! whats happened to him??

goal kicking wingman
14 Aug 2007, 20:51
Yes The Enemy revealed himself,it was great to meet the boys,Frankenfarter in his nice white top my height too i like that make me feel tall.Vulture 72 younger than i thought,Dube' inspite of his red hair seems to be not a bad bloke who the hell is Kouta !!!!!.
Bound for Glory not this year fella maybe next year or 2011 and GKW i can understand why you got your 6 weeks to much distraction off the field with the blonde on your arm.

Gentleman That Is All.

Thanks for the kind words Mr Enemy Within, you really made my day. You planned the whole thing perfectly, Thanks for rushing from the divvy 2 ;)game the boys loved it, we will be talking about that for months. Good luck enjoy the rest of the season.:thumbsu: See ya at training maybe next year:D

MadMan V1.2
14 Aug 2007, 23:09
Havent seen micky scanlens name in the skye team for a while MADMAN ! whats happened to him??

I cant answer that really, not sure where he has gone, its a pity really because he is a great player, exciting to watch!!

MadMan V1.2
14 Aug 2007, 23:11
Any updates on club B&Fs and the league B&F?

Can Black get beaten after the injury?

How about revised teams or positions for Div 3 team of year. Or first couple picked. (i will go out on a limb and say Black would be first picked and Wilkin)

Cat, you might be looking at the wrong end of the tree, maybe you should look a lttle closer to what cuts them down!!!!!!! Or a likeness.

Surely it aint him cat!! There is no way!!!

The_Cat
15 Aug 2007, 10:37
Surely it aint him cat!! There is no way!!!

Mmm... Maybe a brother perhaps!
But then again maybe another goose chase? Me thinks the clue's a bit too obvious to be true.

benchman
15 Aug 2007, 16:11
Have to agree with your statements on Canterbury v Mount luckly for Mount your not coaching them hey Jason.That Is All

How come everyone is writing off Mount for this game already? Are you all forgetting that Cant are yet to beat them this year, and Mount have only lost 2 games all year, and they are probably the side that will most benefit from the increased space on the huge Mordiallic ground.

Thelionsleeps2nite
15 Aug 2007, 16:33
How come everyone is writing off Mount for this game already? Are you all forgetting that Cant are yet to beat them this year, and Mount have only lost 2 games all year, and they are probably the side that will most benefit from the increased space on the huge Mordiallic ground.
Because they are $hit thats why,they have 2 cockroaches in charge who don't know what there doing.Both Seniors and Ressies out in straight sets.

Vulture_72
15 Aug 2007, 16:49
Yeah Enemy, why are you writing off Mount? Don't you rate them?:p

The Enemy Within
15 Aug 2007, 17:06
Yeah Enemy, why are you writing off Mount? Don't you rate them?:p
I'm not writing them off just high lighting HAVE YOU HEARDS comments.Do I rate them i will tell you in the next 6 weeks.That Is All

benchman
15 Aug 2007, 18:24
Because they are $hit thats why,they have 2 cockroaches in charge who don't know what there doing.Both Seniors and Ressies out in straight sets.

Seniors will have it tough. Canterbury will be no walk over, but like i said, MT have beaten them twice already. You have to think that MT need to win though, coming up against the rockers in the prelim, who eliminated them last year, thumped them by 10 goals early on this year and lead them for 99% of their latest encounter would not be something the mounters would be looking forward to.

For mine, MT/Cant may as well be elimination for MT, they lose that and it's a formality. They win however, and it's a different story, Cant/BR as the prelim would be a tough close game, and no doubt help in MT's preparation for the granny.

Frankencow
15 Aug 2007, 19:30
I love bagging Mount's full forward. The blonde hair and the headband is made for sledging. He's actually a pretty decent player though, very quick on the lead.

fristad
15 Aug 2007, 21:13
[quote=Frankencow;8418923]I love bagging Mount's full forward. The blonde hair and the headband is made for sledging. He's actually a pretty decent player though, very quick on the lead.[/quote

Are u serious champ. When I played on kirkup he didn't even get a kick. I dont rate him as a full forward at all

blac04
15 Aug 2007, 23:26
Are u serious champ. When I played on kirkup he didn't even get a kick. I dont rate him as a full forward at all[/quote]

well well well!!! the giant killer himself has logged on to big footy!! didn't know you had time for a computer in between chasing all those young fel.... ladies at the clubs!! see you at training tomorrow night young fella!!

the kid3
16 Aug 2007, 10:30

To attach someones footballing ability or smarts on this site seems to be the norm, and thats fine by me! But when a spider like yourself personaly attacks others from under your rock, i dont think thats right. Why don't have the guts to out yourself and tell us all who you are CHAMP!

Frankencow
16 Aug 2007, 17:56

To attach someones footballing ability or smarts on this site seems to be the norm, and thats fine by me! But when a spider like yourself personaly attacks others from under your rock, i dont think thats right. Why don't have the guts to out yourself and tell us all who you are CHAMP!
Come on now, that's not the BigFooty way... :D

benchman
17 Aug 2007, 10:52
Heard a little rumour that the MT train may have lost a wheel or 2 on the weekend, losing 3 or 4 key defenders, possibly for the season? Confirm or deny?

No one from MT has come on to confirm or deny this? What's going on!?

lonewolf
17 Aug 2007, 11:19
Here are the facts as they stand: We have lost one defender for the rest of the year (in the last 2 minutes of the Yarra game - broken jaw). Apart from that, everyone should be on deck come finals (a couple have slight niggles - resting to recover. Do not read as taking opposition lightly, just making sure we are topped up come September).

Master of Cooks
17 Aug 2007, 12:24
Here are the facts as they stand: We have lost one defender for the rest of the year (in the last 2 minutes of the Yarra game - broken jaw). Apart from that, everyone should be on deck come finals (a couple have slight niggles - resting to recover. Do not read as taking opposition lightly, just making sure we are topped up come September).
It wouldn't surprise me if he made it back. He's as hard as nails and i have no doubt he will be doing everything he can to try and get back. Very unlucky, but good luck to him. Wish him a speedy recovery.:thumbsu:

benchman
17 Aug 2007, 12:43
It wouldn't surprise me if he made it back. He's as hard as nails and i have no doubt he will be doing everything he can to try and get back. Very unlucky, but good luck to him. Wish him a speedy recovery.:thumbsu:

Broken jaw is 4-6 in the AFL with all their specialists and hyperbaric oxygen therapy and all that fancy crap. Which would make me think it's a 6-8 week injury for any normal person. 6 weeks is grand final week, so you never know.

Sounds like MT are undermanned this week, as lonewolf said, resting quite a few? I think i'm tipping the demons. Rockers of course. Skye and Cerberus. That will be all.

lonewolf
17 Aug 2007, 13:28
Broken jaw is 4-6 in the AFL with all their specialists and hyperbaric oxygen therapy and all that fancy crap. Which would make me think it's a 6-8 week injury for any normal person. 6 weeks is grand final week, so you never know.

Sounds like MT are undermanned this week, as lonewolf said, resting quite a few? I think i'm tipping the demons. Rockers of course. Skye and Cerberus. That will be all.

Actually, we had a couple come back into the seniors this week, so is a stronger lineup than the last couple of weeks. Not resting a lot, just a couple that will bolster the ranks in a couple of weeks.

The Enemy Within
17 Aug 2007, 15:20
Mounts not tanking for Draft picks are they Wolfie.That Is All

The Enemy Within
17 Aug 2007, 15:21

Might be cherry ripe come Sept though hey Benchy.That Is All

benchman
17 Aug 2007, 15:38
Might be cherry ripe come Sept though hey Benchy.That Is All

As i said before mate, the one single thing that MT do not want, is to be playing BR in the prelim. They will be damn well hoping that Duffton knock off the rockers rd 1, or praying to god they can get over the line against Cant.

But resting players in the lead up is not the way in my opinion. You are gonna end up with players out of touch having not played a few weeks, you already have that week off to begin with, so to rest players now is to rest them for 3 weeks, that's a long time to lose form. You want to be right on your game at this part of the season, and the last thing MT want is to lose either of the remaining 2 games after winning 7-8 straight or whatever it is now.

Master of Cooks
17 Aug 2007, 16:13
As i said before mate, the one single thing that MT do not want, is to be playing BR in the prelim. They will be damn well hoping that Duffton knock off the rockers rd 1, or praying to god they can get over the line against Cant.

But resting players in the lead up is not the way in my opinion. You are gonna end up with players out of touch having not played a few weeks, you already have that week off to begin with, so to rest players now is to rest them for 3 weeks, that's a long time to lose form. You want to be right on your game at this part of the season, and the last thing MT want is to lose either of the remaining 2 games after winning 7-8 straight or whatever it is now.
Don't worry Benchman, we're not taking these games lightly. We'd love to not loose another game for the rest of the year, and will try our best to do so. Hopefully we can prove this tomorrow.

The blokes that are being rested are being rested becuase they are not right to play at the moment. Last thing we want to do is play a player at only 70% and then end up loosing them for the season.

The_Cat
17 Aug 2007, 17:51
My tips for this round.

Black Rock v Sandown
– At home, too strong. Will win it at the stoppages through all their ruck work practice this week. 50pts

Cerberus v Sth Yarra
– Will sign out of 2007 with a win and enjoy the road trip home. 18pts

Mount Waverley v Dandenong
– Must win for the demons to keep their hopes alive, but for mine Mount will secure the minor premiership. 24pts

Skye v Doveton
– The bombers to bounce back after last week. Last game in front of the home crowd, will salute by 12pts

Master of Cooks
17 Aug 2007, 18:09
This week cpuld be the first final for Doveton. Must win to secure fourth spot. They don't want to leave it to the last round against Black Rock. However it might come down to that game regardless.

Should be a great game.

discotrain
17 Aug 2007, 20:50
My tips for this round.

Black Rock v Sandown
– At home, too strong. Will win it at the stoppages through all their ruck work practice this week. 50pts

Cerberus v Sth Yarra
– Will sign out of 2007 with a win and enjoy the road trip home. 18pts

Mount Waverley v Dandenong
– Must win for the demons to keep their hopes alive, but for mine Mount will secure the minor premiership. 24pts

Skye v Doveton
– The bombers to bounce back after last week. Last game in front of the home crowd, will salute by 12pts

ROCKERS with ease 50+

CERBERUS at the base by 27

MOUNT easily over dandy 43

EAGLES to beat skye 23

The Enemy Within
19 Aug 2007, 14:06

Mount must of been undermaned again hey Benchy.That Is All

scratcha
19 Aug 2007, 15:54
With 1 game left and with the final 4 supposidly sorted out, will Dandenong Demons push to get Black Rocks points taken off them for playing an unregisted player!!!! How many games did Black Rock play and win when Handfield was on the team list while still being registed and not being cleared from Belgrave!!! :confused::confused::confused:

Whos eva fault this may have been, Black Rock were still playing an illegal player and should lose points. If I were invloved at Dandy I would be pushing this. They would win in the courts! Just a thought.

SMUU28
19 Aug 2007, 18:25
With 1 game left and with the final 4 supposidly sorted out, will Dandenong Demons push to get Black Rocks points taken off them for playing an unregisted player!!!! How many games did Black Rock play and win when Handfield was on the team list while still being registed and not being cleared from Belgrave!!! :confused::confused::confused:

Whos eva fault this may have been, Black Rock were still playing an illegal player and should lose points. If I were invloved at Dandy I would be pushing this. They would win in the courts! Just a thought.
While playing ammo's we got kicked out of the grand final on the thursday night before the game because of a technicality. Still bitter about it! But if this is true rockers are up a very ordinary creek with out a paddle, maybe even without a boat!!:D

oc37
19 Aug 2007, 19:56
While playing ammo's we got kicked out of the grand final on the thursday night before the game because of a technicality. Still bitter about it! But if this is true rockers are up a very ordinary creek with out a paddle, maybe even without a boat!!:D

If he was cleared to play by Southern League he is eligible regardles of what his old club says- end of story- you are clutching at straws here.
What ammo side were you with and when??

scratcha
19 Aug 2007, 20:17
If he was cleared to play by Southern League he is eligible regardles of what his old club says- end of story- you are clutching at straws here.

End of story... Thats not what ive heard!!!!!

lonewolf
19 Aug 2007, 20:45
Mounts not tanking for Draft picks are they Wolfie.That Is All

Guess not given the result on Saturday! 22 goal turnaround is nothing to sneeze at.

lonewolf
19 Aug 2007, 20:48

Sorry, not the end of the story - he was never cleared from Belgrave, so technically he was never registered at Parkmore. I really don't care either way, just food for thought.

SMUU28
19 Aug 2007, 20:53
1999 North Old Boys Under 19's. Got Done on a rule technicality which we checked with the league in round 1. Apparently players can play between leagues as long as they play a higher level eg: under 18's in edfl can play ammo seniors. what we had was 3 under 17's playing under 19's which we thouht was a higher standard and the league said yeah no worries untill grand final eve they classed it is the same ie: 3rds football and we got booted. Apparently the team manager of the side we were playing found out about it and challenged it, hollow victory for those boys. still a sore point!!!!

benchman
20 Aug 2007, 00:26

If I recall correctly, Black Rock played an extra man on the field in the elimination final against MT last year, and it went to the tribunal with the rules stating that a team with too many players would have the scoreboard wiped at that point. It was the 3rd quarter and no way could BR have come back from 0 pts to win... The tribunal did nothing about that, so it just goes to show what they think about div 3, obviously not much. BR again under the pump in the rule books

benchman
20 Aug 2007, 00:30
Sorry, not the end of the story - he was never cleared from Belgrave, so technically he was never registered at Parkmore. I really don't care either way, just food for thought.

This is an interesting one. He was definitely at parkmore the entire year last year, and I'm pretty sure he was at Dandy Demons the entire year before that. So surely Dandy themselves would have to have played an entire season with Handfield being uncleared for that to be true. Unless he got cleared to Belgrave in an off season somewhere, in which case Dandy would be in the best position to know the truths, cos they would have had to clear him.

benchman
20 Aug 2007, 00:48
End of story... Thats not what ive heard!!!!!

Just did some number crunching. Handfield played in 1 reserves game and 4 senior games. Ressies can't make it so irrelevant. Of the 4 games, only 2 were wins, so brings them back to 40 pts. Dandy on 36, with neither of the 2 games being against Dandy.

That means even if the courts took the points, Dandy have to beat Cerberus and hope that Duffton smash the rockers. They lose the 87 pt smashing of yarra and 45 pt drubbing of skye, so percentage would drop a bit, but wouldnt be as low as Dandy, so even if all dandy's dreams come true and the above 3 things all happen, it comes down to percentage, of which BR have the highest in the comp and Dandy have the lowest of the finals competitors.

One thing to note. Skye would get back the 4 points from the BR game, putting them on 36 just like Dandy and in 5th spot. Bringing back their chance to possibly make it. So maybe Skye wanna push too, but who knows.... All that said, I'm pretty sure he was cleared

Frankencow
20 Aug 2007, 03:25
But South Yarra can't make it?

The Enemy Within
20 Aug 2007, 09:07
This is an interesting one. He was definitely at parkmore the entire year last year, and I'm pretty sure he was at Dandy Demons the entire year before that. So surely Dandy themselves would have to have played an entire season with Handfield being uncleared for that to be true. Unless he got cleared to Belgrave in an off season somewhere, in which case Dandy would be in the best position to know the truths, cos they would have had to clear him.
No real dramas here,Parkmore cleared Jayde to Belgrave,Jayde played 2 games there this year and decided to come back to Parkmore no clearance lodged to return.

Parkmore played Jayde and folded mid year Jayde went to Black Rock and played he had an open clearance from Parkmore.

Sthn league made the mistake when he was at Parkmore,Jayde was innocent in all this as was the Rockers,but in saying that you can make a claim for challenging what has occurred.

Would hate to see the Rockers miss out wouldn't i Benchman.That Is All.

lonewolf
20 Aug 2007, 09:22

The first parts are true - he was at Dandy, the was at Parkmore for all of 2006. He went with half the senior team to Belgrave over the summer, and played a couple of games for them. He was (apparently) never cleared back to Parkmore from there.

blac04
21 Aug 2007, 10:48

interesting article in the dandenong star last week in regards to handfield. acting ceo wayne holdsworth is qouted saying that it was the leagues understanding that handfield won't be playing anywhere this season. if that's the case, b/rock would be shattered as he is a more than handy late season recruit!!

JSM11
21 Aug 2007, 11:02
interesting article in the dandenong star last week in regards to handfield. acting ceo wayne holdsworth is qouted saying that it was the leagues understanding that handfield won't be playing anywhere this season. if that's the case, b/rock would be shattered as he is a more than handy late season recruit!!

Funny you would mention that Blac,

About 2 weeks ago he was in the Southern Footy Record asplayer for the round. So does that mean he is eligible to play, or not?

blac04
21 Aug 2007, 11:14
Funny you would mention that Blac,

About 2 weeks ago he was in the Southern Footy Record asplayer for the round. So does that mean he is eligible to play, or not?

in the article it says the league was told he wasn't cleared but took a couple of weeks before deciding he was ineligable to play any more games for b/rock. if the league are fair dinkum they'll take the points off b/rock for the affected games and make a decision on handfield for the remainder of the year before this weeks round of games. still don't think it will have any effect on the ladder as it stands, but they have to be seen to be doing something about it!!

Vulture_72
21 Aug 2007, 11:30
in the article it says the league was told he wasn't cleared but took a couple of weeks before deciding he was ineligable to play any more games for b/rock. if the league are fair dinkum they'll take the points off b/rock for the affected games and make a decision on handfield for the remainder of the year before this weeks round of games. still don't think it will have any effect on the ladder as it stands, but they have to be seen to be doing something about it!!
I dont care what decision they make just as long as they clear this up once and for all. And they need to do it straight away.

The Enemy Within
21 Aug 2007, 11:33
You all know i LOVE Black Rock with a passion and like i said Jayde did nothing wrong,but its time the League stood up and showed some backbone on this issue.Parkmore had no right in playing him and the League didn't pick it up the buck must stop some where maybe Phil Stevens took the bullett for the mistake.

Even if you take the points off the Rockers they still stay in the four as for Parkmore they never had any points to deduct from .That Is All

No 1 important
21 Aug 2007, 12:53
I dont care what decision they make just as long as they clear this up once and for all. And they need to do it straight away.

If Parkmore put in the transfer and there was no reply from Belgrave in the next six buisness days then he is automaticaly transferred, to Parkmore.

Then if the Rockers put in a transfer from Parkmore to the Rockers before the end of June the same rule applies, but since he is tranferring to a second club in the one year Belgrave also need to reply unless once again no reply is forthcoming in the six days.(unless the rules have changed this year)

Interestingly if he hasn't been transferred what would happen if he recieved a major injury and wasn't insured? Whoi would be held liable?

benchman
21 Aug 2007, 17:27
If Parkmore put in the transfer and there was no reply from Belgrave in the next six buisness days then he is automaticaly transferred, to Parkmore.

Then if the Rockers put in a transfer from Parkmore to the Rockers before the end of June the same rule applies, but since he is tranferring to a second club in the one year Belgrave also need to reply unless once again no reply is forthcoming in the six days.(unless the rules have changed this year)

Interestingly if he hasn't been transferred what would happen if he recieved a major injury and wasn't insured? Whoi would be held liable?

According to Belgrave's website, they never received the transfer from Parkmore. Which means the 6 day rule doesn't even come in to play.

Really the league should take this oppurtunity to show some balls, as enemy said, it's not likely to change the final 4, so what does the SFL gain by not doing anything? If they strip BR points, everyone is happy. Belgrave can sit back happy the SFL finally did something, BR still make the finals, Skye get pissed off cos they missed out on percentage, and we all get on the tinnies.

MadMan V1.2
21 Aug 2007, 19:08
We sent an email off many weeks ago, only since the article in a local paper last couple of weeks has something happened!!

oh well thems the breaks!!!

McAdam41
22 Aug 2007, 09:09
If the league took a couple of weeks to decide & allowed Handfield to play whilst making that decision, I don't see how Black Rock are at fault. THE SFL Appear to be the ones at fault for actually registering him back @ Parkmore.

Anyway I reckon that you do not want players disqualified on a technicality. For the sake of the finals you want the best players available & having played with Jade in SFL & VAFA know that he is a quality player

Master of Cooks
22 Aug 2007, 10:00
If the league took a couple of weeks to decide & allowed Handfield to play whilst making that decision, I don't see how Black Rock are at fault. THE SFL Appear to be the ones at fault for actually registering him back @ Parkmore.

Anyway I reckon that you do not want players disqualified on a technicality. For the sake of the finals you want the best players available & having played with Jade in SFL & VAFA know that he is a quality player
You want the best players playing in the finals, thats for sure, but you don't want people playing illegally. The rules are in place for a reason, and they shouldn't be ignored regardless of the player or the grade.

benchman
22 Aug 2007, 11:39
You want the best players playing in the finals, thats for sure, but you don't want people playing illegally. The rules are in place for a reason, and they shouldn't be ignored regardless of the player or the grade.

Are you a player yourself MoC? How would you feel right now if the SFL said that MT Waverley stuffed up and never cleared you properly, meaning you personally have to sit there on the pine and watch your team in the finals instead of playing? I know I'd be shattered if it were me.

Everyone agrees that BR weren't at fault. Jayde was never at fault. Why should either of them suffer the consequences of someone else's actions. But on the other hand, if I steal a car and sell it to you super cheap and the cops find out, why should you lose your new car. It's a tough one, rules are there for a reason like you said, it's just heart breaking for a player to not be able to play finals with his team mates when he's done absolutely nothing wrong and has put in so much effort.

Master of Cooks
22 Aug 2007, 12:23
Are you a player yourself MoC? How would you feel right now if the SFL said that MT Waverley stuffed up and never cleared you properly, meaning you personally have to sit there on the pine and watch your team in the finals instead of playing? I know I'd be shattered if it were me.

Everyone agrees that BR weren't at fault. Jayde was never at fault. Why should either of them suffer the consequences of someone else's actions. But on the other hand, if I steal a car and sell it to you super cheap and the cops find out, why should you lose your new car. It's a tough one, rules are there for a reason like you said, it's just heart breaking for a player to not be able to play finals with his team mates when he's done absolutely nothing wrong and has put in so much effort.
Yeah your right, I'd be absolutely shattered. I'm really not sure of any of the details, so I really cant comment on the black rock scenario.
Above were just my general thoughts on any situation involving a player that hasn't been cleared legally.
Hopefully all turns out alright.

Frankencow
22 Aug 2007, 18:16
I agree with MoC. There's no point having the rules there if you're going to bend them every time they become relevant. However, another solution is giving Black Rock a "Please show cause" as to why they should not be deducted points, allowing Black Rock to officially put the case they did nothing wrong and the SFL making a ruling. At least there's something official then, other than ignoring it. Gives the SFL some discretionary power. Not sure whether the current rules allow anything like that though.

Master of Cooks
24 Aug 2007, 10:15
Its been bloody quite on here for the last few days, so i thought i'd ask everyone a question.

Now that the final 4 are set in concrete and nobody can move up or down, what are teams trying to get out of the last game before finals? Will Black Rock and Doveton go all out for a win, or will they hold back their special weapons for the following week?

And for the teams that cant make the finals, what are you trying to get out of the last game of the year?

benchman
24 Aug 2007, 12:19
Its been bloody quite on here for the last few days, so i thought i'd ask everyone a question.

Now that the final 4 are set in concrete and nobody can move up or down, what are teams trying to get out of the last game before finals? Will Black Rock and Doveton go all out for a win, or will they hold back their special weapons for the following week?

And for the teams that cant make the finals, what are you trying to get out of the last game of the year?

Little birdy tells me that BR will be resting quite a few, and may even let the eagles win as a bit of a mind game.

Another birdy tells me that MT are also resting 1 or 2, and the big retard we all love so much may be not only getting a game, but a game in the 1's!! How's that for a joke, will be the funniest thing i've seen all year if it's true.

Master of Cooks
24 Aug 2007, 12:31
Little birdy tells me that BR will be resting quite a few, and may even let the eagles win as a bit of a mind game.

Another birdy tells me that MT are also resting 1 or 2, and the big retard we all love so much may be not only getting a game, but a game in the 1's!! How's that for a joke, will be the funniest thing i've seen all year if it's true.
I'm not sure losing to a team is the best sort of mind games you should be playing.
Wouldn't that give the eagles the confidence they need to knock you off when it counts. IMO it would be better to give them a flogging so that they don't have any confidence. Anyhow time will tell whether or not its the right move.

My tips for this week:
Black Rock too big and strong for the eagles - 5 goals
Canterbury need a good hitout against Skye considering they are only going to play 1 game in 3 weeks leading up to finals. Cobras by 9 points.
Mount should continue their good form over the Cobras.
Cerberus to continue Dandy's horrid end of the year in a close one. 15 points in the end.

The Enemy Within
24 Aug 2007, 14:24

A little birdy tells me that infact you are resting players but not by choice it seems you guy's have struck some injuries down there.Can you confirm or deny,making an excuss in case you get beat tommorrow is in fact a smoke screen to hide the truth.That Is All

Frankencow
24 Aug 2007, 17:29

Bwahahahaha!:D

benchman
24 Aug 2007, 21:07
A little birdy tells me that infact you are resting players but not by choice it seems you guy's have struck some injuries down there.Can you confirm or deny,making an excuss in case you get beat tommorrow is in fact a smoke screen to hide the truth.That Is All

I can't confirm or deny anything. As i've said countless times, i'm not on the selection team, committee, coaching staff or playing field. Just got my eyes and ears out everywhere. To MoC, don't you think letting them win would make them come in next week all cocky thinking they have it in the bag? Anyway, like I said, all rumours. Enemy is right, few injuries. But rumours are that even more will be rested.

benchman
24 Aug 2007, 21:10
I'm not sure losing to a team is the best sort of mind games you should be playing.

If losing is not what you want before finals, why would you be resting your best player and quite possibly ruin his chances at the league b+f? Just sayin

McAdam41
25 Aug 2007, 00:41
If losing is not what you want before finals, why would you be resting your best player and quite possibly ruin his chances at the league b+f? Just sayin
Agree, you don't want to flirt with your form so unless players are injured I reckon you play your best side

chapmanmagic35
25 Aug 2007, 19:08
Black Rock def. Doveton by a few goals.

Vulture_72
25 Aug 2007, 22:59
Cant beleive Big Pete played in the seniors. Could he be the first player to play seniors one week and then not get a game in either team the following week. Enemy Within, whats your veiw on this.

benchman
26 Aug 2007, 16:14
Cant beleive Big Pete played in the seniors. Could he be the first player to play seniors one week and then not get a game in either team the following week. Enemy Within, whats your veiw on this.

Depends on your definition of "played". I think you have to get on the ground first? Hahaha. Couldnt have happened to a nicer bloke.

Anyone brave enough to have a crack at the div 3 team? When is it officially named? I'd take Wilkin from MT, and add him to the rest of the BR team and be done with it.

The Enemy Within
26 Aug 2007, 20:35
The big fella had a major influence on the result .That Is all

The Enemy Within
26 Aug 2007, 20:38
Depends on your definition of "played". I think you have to get on the ground first? Hahaha. Couldnt have happened to a nicer bloke.

Anyone brave enough to have a crack at the div 3 team? When is it officially named? I'd take Wilkin from MT, and add him to the rest of the BR team and be done with it.
Must agree depends on the term "Played" he had a Major influence on the result,Black Rock for premiers ha ha ha an absolute shoe in That Is All.

ausde13
27 Aug 2007, 10:26
Does this spell the end for Div 3?
Is this the gentleman who so politely and pointedly made reference to the fact he was going to recommend to the SFL that Div 3 be disbanded reaier in the season? He was concatenating all of the responses on this forum and adding them as part of his recommendation. I do hope said gentleman added his own rather colourful, if not eloquent responses.

Eastern guru heads South

21Aug07
EXPERIENCED football administrator Craig Braddy has joined the Southern Football League in a consultancy role.

AFL Victoria will fund the position, aimed at improving management and brand recognition for the Southern league.

Braddy will work with the league on a number of review areas, including its management and governance models and opportunities for growth.

``This is a unique opportunity for the SFL to benchmark itself and set the league's future directions in partnership with AFL Victoria,'' SFL CEO Garry Cranny said.

``The SFL board and management are firmly committed to the health and development of Australian Rules football in our region.

``We need to provide an improved pathway for junior and youth players to a reputable, well administered senior competition.

``For this to occur, we must have the trust and confidence of all stakeholders and the wider community.
``The changes we will make in the forthcoming months are fundamental in positioning this league to meet the ever-changing needs of our operating environment.''

Cranny said it was gratifying that AFL Victoria was being so supportive of Southern.

A former Fitzroy and Sydney player, Braddy was the long-time CEO of the Eastern Football League.

benchman
27 Aug 2007, 12:41
Must agree depends on the term "Played" he had a Major influence on the result

Are you being serious? I heard he didn't even get on the ground.

Black Rock for premiers ha ha ha an absolute shoe in That Is All.

I can't tell when you are joking enemy. Does this mean you are on board now? I thought you ruled the rockers out already with injuries and such? Cant winning by 15 goals on the weekend has to make people wonder...

The Enemy Within
27 Aug 2007, 12:52
Are you being serious? I heard he didn't even get on the ground.

I can't tell when you are joking enemy. Does this mean you are on board now? I thought you ruled the rockers out already with injuries and such? Cant winning by 15 goals on the weekend has to make people wonder...
Clearly Canterbury are the class side a 15 goal win on the eve of the finals puts them in the box seat.Black Rocks just starting to peak Ando isn't playing mind games is he.Big Pete was sensational.That Is All.

No 1 important
27 Aug 2007, 16:06
So what are peoples thoughts on the make up of the grand final?

I think the Rockers will get over the Eagles again this week, The Mount/Canterbury game could go either way. The following week in the prelim i think the Rockers will get over the looser of the Mount/Canterbury game to make it a Rockers v Mount/Canterbury GF with one of these two to go out in straight sets

Master of Cooks
27 Aug 2007, 16:59
So what are peoples thoughts on the make up of the grand final?

I think the Rockers will get over the Eagles again this week, The Mount/Canterbury game could go either way. The following week in the prelim i think the Rockers will get over the looser of the Mount/Canterbury game to make it a Rockers v Mount/Canterbury GF with one of these two to go out in straight sets
I'm not having a go, but i was just interested into your thoughts behind this. I think BR are a very good team and are going to be very competetive and give the finals a good shake, however why are you so sure that they'll make the GF? They've lost to Cant twice this year, and once to Mount.

Frankencow
28 Aug 2007, 02:12
Is Kreskas going with him? With reports beforeon this forum Rossburgh is going with as many as 15 players, will Sandown even have a team to coach next year?

No 1 important
28 Aug 2007, 08:37
I'm not having a go, but i was just interested into your thoughts behind this. I think BR are a very good team and are going to be very competetive and give the finals a good shake, however why are you so sure that they'll make the GF? They've lost to Cant twice this year, and once to Mount.

Finals are a different ball game, The Rockers have the experience in finals having played in the last 5 years (except for when in div 2). Benchman would probably know how many years exactly.

Mount Waverley and Canterbury play a very similar type of game, where the Rockers play a more physical game, and i just think in finals this will help them get over the top of one of these two teams, saying that they stilll need to beat Doveton this week.

But in saying this i notice Tim Sim has been dropped to the two's and Jayde Handfield hasn't played since the start of August.

No 1 important
28 Aug 2007, 08:53
Heard today from a good source the cobras have sacked M Allen,he really struggled this year as a coach,he couldn't get the best out of his players,alot of them didn;t like him cause he abused them from the sidelines/while the boys were playing/who will they appoint now.

I doubt this very much as the Cobras have alread advertised for a reserves coach, if they were replacing the senior coach don't you think the adert would have asked for senior and reserves coachs?

From an outsider it seems that Mick has a great working releationship with the club, and i think if anyone is to get the runs on the board then it is Mick.

You also have to look at some of the results, 4 games lost by 3 goals or less, should have beaten Dandy at the start of the year having eleven more scoring shots to lose by 7 points, same with Doveton having 10 more scoring shots but lost by 4 goals. If they got 3 out of those wins then all of a sudden they would be around 6th on the ladder.

and yes i know IF

lonewolf
28 Aug 2007, 09:13
I doubt this very much as the Cobras have alread advertised for a reserves coach, if they were replacing the senior coach don't you think the adert would have asked for senior and reserves coachs?

From an outsider it seems that Mick has a great working releationship with the club, and i think if anyone is to get the runs on the board then it is Mick.

You also have to look at some of the results, 4 games lost by 3 goals or less, should have beaten Dandy at the start of the year having eleven more scoring shots to lose by 7 points, same with Doveton having 10 more scoring shots but lost by 4 goals. If they got 3 out of those wins then all of a sudden they would be around 6th on the ladder.

and yes i know IF

Mick Allen definitely has the club moving in the right direction - admittedly they still finished bottom, but were much more competitive than last year. It appeared that the players actually wanted to play for each other, not just themselves.

blac04
28 Aug 2007, 09:56
good to see that no-one is giving doveton a chance at all in the finals!! i understand that we havn't beaten any of the teams above us, but a few people on here are quick to point out that it's finals, and anything can happen!! don't think we are that far behind b/rock and should give them a good run for their money this week, if we succeed there, i think we will be up against mount in a prelim, which we have lost to by less than a kaick on both occasions this year, canterbury are the major hurdle though!!

Master of Cooks
28 Aug 2007, 11:53
Now that the home and away season is complete, i was wondering whether or not peoples Team of the Year has changed much since the half way point?

benchman
28 Aug 2007, 11:55
good to see that no-one is giving doveton a chance at all in the finals!! i understand that we havn't beaten any of the teams above us, but a few people on here are quick to point out that it's finals, and anything can happen!! don't think we are that far behind b/rock and should give them a good run for their money this week, if we succeed there, i think we will be up against mount in a prelim, which we have lost to by less than a kaick on both occasions this year, canterbury are the major hurdle though!!

Not far behind BR? What a joke.... The only thing duffton have going for them this week is the big ground, but it won't matter. And why do you think you will play Mount in the prelim? Cant haven't beaten them all year, I think MT will smash them, but maybe that's just me.

destruction
28 Aug 2007, 12:04
Is Kreskas going with him? With reports beforeon this forum Rossburgh is going with as many as 15 players, will Sandown even have a team to coach next year?
Kreskas wont be going with him thats for sure,he will be coaching an S.F.L Division 3 team and it wont be the cobras and Clint Sheedy will be his assistant coach.

Frankencow
28 Aug 2007, 15:14
Kreskas wont be going with him thats for sure,he will be coaching an S.F.L Division 3 team and it wont be the cobras and Clint Sheedy will be his assistant coach.
I heard Sheedy's just pretty happy that he didn't have to play under Sandown's ex-coach this year. Apparently the guy before Mick Allen was the worst coach he's seen.

No 1 important
28 Aug 2007, 16:42

I belive that the Rockers will make the GF, the only way that can happen is if they win this week against you guys, but like you said anything can happen. Good luck Sat

discotrain
28 Aug 2007, 17:48

and yes i know IF

just to correct you on the doveton game, the scores were posted wrong cobras kicked 17.14 not 17.24 like was put into the results

flying dutchman
28 Aug 2007, 19:58
Finals are a different ball game, The Rockers have the experience in finals having played in the last 5 years (except for when in div 2). Benchman would probably know how many years exactly.

Mount Waverley and Canterbury play a very similar type of game, where the Rockers play a more physical game, and i just think in finals this will help them get over the top of one of these two teams, saying that they stilll need to beat Doveton this week.

But in saying this i notice Tim Sim has been dropped to the two's and Jayde Handfield hasn't played since the start of August.

Tim Sim hasnt been in great form in the games ive seen this season, if he's good enough he will get back in.

destruction
28 Aug 2007, 22:02
spoke to sheedy tonite at the library, definately doing an assistant coaching role next year with his best mate Robbie.:p

scratcha
28 Aug 2007, 22:08

Does that go to show how much better Div 2 is compared to Div 3. With the Rockers making finals in the last 5 years of Div 3 and finally winning a premiership, only to come last and get flogged in most games of Div 2 and come down after 1 year????

MadMan V1.2
29 Aug 2007, 09:31
Does that go to show how much better Div 2 is compared to Div 3. With the Rockers making finals in the last 5 years of Div 3 and finally winning a premiership, only to come last and get flogged in most games of Div 2 and come down after 1 year????

That happens in every comp, look at tooronga malvern!!!

No 1 important
29 Aug 2007, 10:33
just to correct you on the doveton game, the scores were posted wrong cobras kicked 17.14 not 17.24 like was put into the results

Point taken, all i could go on was the published results.

No 1 important
29 Aug 2007, 10:35

I think it all depends on the team, take a look how Moorabbin Kangaroos went last year, even go back to i think 2000 with TM, and Hamptons first year in Div 2 played off in the GF.

halfmongreal
29 Aug 2007, 18:51

sheedy coach good on ya:):) he wont even be at the club next year!!!!

SMUU28
29 Aug 2007, 20:34
We played them that year in divvy 2 and they had lost a lot of players, and it seems to be a trend you win a flag get a heap of blokes retire and your massively under-manned

the mighty abyss
29 Aug 2007, 22:17
I was just reading under the coaches coloum that Rossborough is coaching Dandy Demons next year they cant be serious can they,Sandown sacked him this year from coaching the seconds,whats going down at Dandenong,would anyone from Dandy like to comment on this?

JSM11
30 Aug 2007, 09:58
I was just reading under the coaches coloum that Rossborough is coaching Dandy Demons next year they cant be serious can they,Sandown sacked him this year from coaching the seconds,whats going down at Dandenong,would anyone from Dandy like to comment on this?

Coaches have not even been interviewed yet, or potential coaches. This is all news to me. Someone is stirring the pot early.

Frankencow
30 Aug 2007, 10:09
Coaches have not even been interviewed yet, or potential coaches. This is all news to me. Someone is stirring the pot early.
Mick said he's going to Dandy. Not that he'd Coach though. What would be the Dandy reaction?