View Full Version : Assistant coach Rob Wiley announces retirement
Hes been at the club a loooooooooooong time and hes decided its time for a change in career. He gave the Eagles notice of this last year hence the reason we had Darren Harris from West Perth join the team last year. I imagine he will be his replacement. Whether someone else is brought in is beyond me. He is apparantly going to take over at a coaching position in the WAFC
Well done and Thanks Robbie. :thumbsu: . Great servant of the club
hawkeye23
8 Dec 2006, 15:30
He's actually taking over a performance coaching position (champagne may be affecting my memory here, but it was something like that) at the WAFC, according to Trevor Nisbett. It's a real step up for him, and a fantastic opportunity.
A fantastic servant to the club. Good luck Robbie, and thanks!
He's actually taking over a performance coaching position (champagne may be affecting my memory here, but it was something like that) at the WAFC, according to Trevor Nisbett. It's a real step up for him, and a fantastic opportunity.
A fantastic servant to the club. Good luck Robbie, and thanks!
Lord knows what hes actually doing, but all that is known is he wont be assistant coach no more. How many years has he been here. I lost count. Apart from our medical staff he would be the longest serving person at the club id think
hawkeye23
8 Dec 2006, 15:33
Lord knows what hes actually doing, but all that is known is he wont be assistant coach no more. How many years has he been here. I lost count. Apart from our medical staff he would be the longest serving person at the club id think
17 years according to Nizzy, 2 as a player, a year off, then 15 years assistant coaching at the club.
Stayed when Mick left and has had alot of personal problems recently yet still done a top job. Just heard some of the press conference then. All I heard was coaching position so I guess what you said is right
Seemed happy to be an assistance coach - wonder why he never aimed for the top job with another AFL club with all that experience?
Good luck to him
Seemed happy to be an assistance coach - wonder why he never aimed for the top job with another AFL club with all that experience?
Good luck to him
I like some were surprised he didnt get the nod when Mick left
Boy from the West
8 Dec 2006, 16:34
A loyal and faithful servant of our great club who will leave with his head held high after a job well done.
Cro_Pavo
8 Dec 2006, 18:54
Made a fantastic contribution to the Eagles over the years and played a role in developing the Eagles into a competition force!
Thank you Robbie and Best Wishes for the future! ;)
tiger of old
9 Dec 2006, 10:01
As a member of our 1980 premiership side i wish Rob all the best in the future.Gave outstanding service both on and off the field.:thumbsu:
If you all care to check back on the Mick Moylan thread in September you'll find that I posted it then that Wiley would not be at the Eagles in 2007 and what he would be doing.
quiksilva
9 Dec 2006, 17:47
Been massive for the club over all these years. Goodluck to him
wce_all_da_way
9 Dec 2006, 18:24
Goodluck Rob, really have given your all to the Eagles :thumbsu:
If you all care to check back on the Mick Moylan thread in September you'll find that I posted it then that Wiley would not be at the Eagles in 2007 and what he would be doing.
is mick joining the eagles? haven't heard anything so i assumed it was a rumour.
He's as good as there, you'll read about it during this coming week.
mick ryan
10 Dec 2006, 19:16
Top bloke who is a credit to the game and deserves all the accolades that come his way BUT this new position smells suspiciously like another 'Job for the Boys'. Bet anything you like it wasn't advertised, just a little arrangement between Trev and Wayne or more like Trev told Wayne it would happen. Wonder if the WCE will be putting up part of his salary and if his duties will include coaching the State U18's and in doing so replacing that other Dud who was another 'Job for the Boys' arranged by the WCE.
Not hard to work out who is running Football in WA!
imright
10 Dec 2006, 19:26
Top bloke who is a credit to the game and deserves all the accolades that come his way BUT this new position smells suspiciously like another 'Job for the Boys'. Bet anything you like it wasn't advertised, just a little arrangement between Trev and Wayne or more like Trev told Wayne it would happen. Wonder if the WCE will be putting up part of his salary and if his duties will include coaching the State U18's and in doing so replacing that other Dud who was another 'Job for the Boys' arranged by the WCE.
Nice conspiracy theory. Have any proof of this "Jobs for the boys" or has it come straight out of your active imagination.
BTW did you know that WCE pours millions of dollars into running Football in WA each year.
mick ryan
10 Dec 2006, 19:43
Nice conspiracy theory. Have any proof of this "Jobs for the boys" or has it come straight out of your active imagination.
BTW did you know that WCE pours millions of dollars into running Football in WA each year.
It's no conspiracy theory mate it was arranged over 3 months ago, as Ted38 has eluded to. It's a new position at the WAFL and should've been advertised and I am well aware how much money the WCE puts into footy in WA but it shouldn't give them the right to engineer preferential appointments.
imright
10 Dec 2006, 20:38
It's no conspiracy theory mate it was arranged over 3 months ago, as Ted38 has eluded to. It's a new position at the WAFL and should've been advertised and I am well aware how much money the WCE puts into footy in WA but it shouldn't give them the right to engineer preferential appointments.
Ted38 was referring to Mick Moylan's employment at WCE not Rob Wiley's position at the WAFL.
mick ryan
11 Dec 2006, 07:02
Ted38 was referring to Mick Moylan's employment at WCE not Rob Wiley's position at the WAFL.
Go back and have another read.
Belgarion
11 Dec 2006, 11:12
Hey Mick, why don't you go some place else and remove that big chip on your shoulder before coming here?
Boy from the West
11 Dec 2006, 12:39
Mick, WCE had nothing to do with "that other dud" getting the State 18s job. If you recall he was at Fremantle not WCE.
He got the the job because he is in the clique with Grant Dorrington - nothing to do with WCE.
Mick, WCE had nothing to do with "that other dud" getting the State 18s job. If you recall he was at Fremantle not WCE.
He got the the job because he is in the clique with Grant Dorrington - nothing to do with WCE.
Just shows how little you know my friend, he got the job because he's part of the clique of Nisbett, Bradshaw, Roberts, Dorrington the Woodhouse's etc., who are the same people that Mick Ryan is referring to. "That other dud" wasn't even an applicant for the State 18's job.
Boy from the West
12 Dec 2006, 18:10
Just shows how little you know my friend, he got the job because he's part of the clique of Nisbett, Bradshaw, Roberts, Dorrington the Woodhouse's etc., who are the same people that Mick Ryan is referring to. "That other dud" wasn't even an applicant for the State 18's job.
My My, You are the aggressive one Mick.
Last years State 18s coach - who got the job again - is in the Dorro clique. That much I do not for 100% and that is who I was talking about.
He is certainly a dud.
If we want to have a debate about him, let's start a new post somewhere and not defile Wiley's thread.
My My, You are the aggressive one Mick.
Last years State 18s coach - who got the job again - is in the Dorro clique. That much I do not for 100% and that is who I was talking about.
He is certainly a dud.
If we want to have a debate about him, let's start a new post somewhere and not defile Wiley's thread.
Mate if you want to debate something with Mick Ryan why dont you PM him?
You obviously cant understand my post.
Goldenblue
14 Dec 2006, 18:20
One year as a player, he then coached Perth for 2 years before rejoining the Eagles if my memory serves me correctly.
You are on the correct track GB.
Robbie was a standout player and all round nice guy. Maybe he never wanted a senior coaching job due to his wifes illness at the time. Anyway I reckon he would be too nice to be a senior AFL coach.
Please can we keep the name Dorrington off these boards, the name still brings shivers to me after 25+ years.
mick ryan
15 Dec 2006, 21:11
You are on the correct track GB
Please can we keep the name Dorrington off these boards, the name still brings shivers to me after 25+ years.
Now being an obvious fan of the TALKING HEAD have you noticed that he no longer comes up on your TV talking about the road toll etc., I reckon that he had become something of an embarrassment and the powers that be had him gassed.
Have you ever seen someone who talks as much sh-t as him and is as full of himself?