View Full Version : Best concerts attended
Don't think this has been done yet... In the same vein as the best sporting events attended. Great to look back on. Individual acts at BDOs and other festivals allowed ;) Won't go into much detail right now.
1. Arctic Monkeys @ Thebby, 2006
2. Green Day @ Ent Cent, 2005
3. Cody Chesnutt @ Adelaide UniBar, 2004
4. Jurassic 5 @ Thebby, 2003
5. Shihad @ Big Day Out, 2006
6. Kanye West @ Thebby, 2006
7. Poly & the Statics "Chainsaw" EP Launch @ Jade Monkey, 2005
8. Muse @ Big Day Out, 2004
9. Sparta @ Big Day Out, 2003
10. Hilltop Hoods @ Big Day Out, 2004
Still a stack of bands I need to see before I/they die.
crazy_big_al
8 Dec 2006, 20:42
Robbie Adelaide 2006 :rolleyes:
Don't think this has been done yet... In the same vein as the best sporting events attended. Great to look back on. Individual acts at BDOs and other festivals allowed ;) Won't go into much detail right now.
1. Arctic Monkeys @ Thebby, 2006
2. Green Day @ Ent Cent, 2005
3. Cody Chesnutt @ Adelaide UniBar, 2004
4. Jurassic 5 @ Thebby, 2003
5. Shihad @ Big Day Out, 2006
6. Kanye West @ Thebby, 2006
7. Poly & the Statics "Chainsaw" EP Launch @ Jade Monkey, 2005
8. Muse @ Big Day Out, 2004
9. Sparta @ Big Day Out, 2003
10. Hilltop Hoods @ Big Day Out, 2004
Still a stack of bands I need to see before I/they die.
who???? - must be my age - only heard of number 10! :)
Paul Simon - after F1 GP race in 1990s on a day it rained out - a great entertainer!
Hard to rank but give it a go
1: Karnivool- Adelaide Uni bar a few months back, really take it to another level live. If you ever get the chance (and you will) take it.
2: COG- HQ a few months back, ******** venue worse crowd but I love COG so damn much it was great.
3: Velvet Revolver- Thebby at the start of 05 (I think). Was great atmosphere and seeing Slash ripping about 5 metres away is a sight worth seeing. Ripping out the tophat got me most excited.
4: Zakk Wylde and The Black Label society was pretty good, ******** crowd though.
5: G3-06, had heard about 3 songs from 2 of the guys playing but was blown away by the gig. Joe Satriani, Steve Vai, they know how to do a show alright. Was only 2 nights ago, best of all I got free tickets!
6: Probably the Testeagles 99 but I was damn young then and can't really remember it.
7: Grinspoon at the Clipsal this year was a pleasant surprise, really don't like em much since the Guide/Easy era but they did a great gig breaking out many classics. I'd go see em again even though I only own the pushing buttons EP these days. COG at the Clipsal were also kick ass but too short, time limits suck.
I hate to admit that I haven't been to that many other gigs, just some live local stuff (I like Double Handed, check em out). Something I'm strongly trying to rectify.
I'm strongly expecting MUSE and TOOL to take 3+4 at the BDO next year, possibly even 1 and 2 but it would be tough.
missionpossible
9 Dec 2006, 05:20
Blink 182
hmm, gotta get the old thinking cap on with this one
1: The Prodigy @ Thebby 1998
2: LTJ Bukem @ Traffic 2004
3: Wheres The Pope? @ Enigma 2005
4: James Holden @ Skylab 2003
5: Lucien Foort @ Two Tribes 2004
6: The Prodigy @ Two Tribes 2005
7: Fear Factory @ Thebby 2001
8: Slayer/Machine Head @ Thebby 2001
9: LTJ Bukem @ Rush 2002
10: EZ Rollers @ Enchanted 2002
11: Jurassic 5 @ Thebby 2003
12: Ugly Ducklings @ Minke 2003
portentous
9 Dec 2006, 18:28
The Police@Memorial Drive 1979 I think
U2 and BB King @ Rod Laver approx 1989
Powderfinger @ Rod Laver 2003
Tom Petty/Bob Dylan @ Memorial Drive 1983
Cold Chisel @ Adelaide Uni 1983
Muse @ Thebby 2004
Live @ Thebby 2004
Bernard Fanning @ Her Majesty's 2006
Eskimo Joe @ Thebby 2004
JBT @ Thebby 2004
Worst "concert" I ever saw was Mental as Anything in Mt Gambier in the 1980's. They were pissed as......and had NFI where they were and what they were doing. Even Barnesy at his worst could still perform while under the influence.....
snap-shot
10 Dec 2006, 12:13
starting to think i needa see more concerts... :$
Ray Nolan
10 Dec 2006, 13:59
1. Oasis @ Livid 2002
2. Arctic Monkeys @ Thebby 2006
3. R.E.M. @ Entertainment Centre 2005
pafc4life
10 Dec 2006, 14:31
the dillinger escape plan, fowlers, 2004 and 2005
thesouthernend
10 Dec 2006, 18:05
Rolling Stones 19? at Memorial Drive
The Beatles 1964? Wayville showgrounds
The Masters Octagon theatre 1968
The Twilights Big Daddys / The Calledonian Hall King William Street
Cold Chisel many late nights at the Pooraka and the Largs Pier
Credence Clearwater Revival ? 197
Billy Thorpe and the Aztecs Sunbury 197?
I am getting a little old and my memory for exact dates is gone, but the best of all was ? I will think on it some more, as I am off to see Eric Clapton in February
I will go in to bat for the over 50's:
Elton John - with the MSO at Footy Park was the best of the 9 times I've seen him - including last night.
The Eagles - at Apollo Stadium - at their peak - fantastic.
Dire Straits - at Festival Theatre - on their way to the top.
Billy Joel - in the late 70's (I think) at Thebby Theatre
Little River Band, Charlie Daniels Band and Australian Crawl - at Memorial Drive for Australia Day - it was over 40c during the day and absolutely poured during the concert.
Jackson Browne - at Festival Theatre
Van Morrison - in England - my ultimate because of the difficulty in getting to see him play.
Prince @ Flinders Park Tennis Centre, Melbourne - Apr 1992 (Still got the ticket stub - $47.70)
- daylight -
missionpossible
10 Dec 2006, 20:06
The Beatles 1964? Wayville showgrounds
Just a quick question on this. We are lead to beleive that their has never been as much hype around a band as there was with the Beatles.
Is that true or just how everyone likes to portray it.
Second question what did it cost to go.
thesouthernend
11 Dec 2006, 08:44
The body of their work says that the hype was justified, In truth I was a Stones fan really but you had to go to the concert, I cannot remember what I paid but it was affordable and reasonable for the times, if it had been outrageous I would not have able to go.
portentous
11 Dec 2006, 10:02
The worst concerts I ever saw were at Footy Park. The accoustics were just terrible for both Dire Straits and Phil Collins. Would be interested on the thoughts of more recent attendees of concerts at AAMI as to whether this has improved at all.
Doubt that most who went to Robbie Williams went for the music though :)
The worst concerts I ever saw were at Footy Park. The accoustics were just terrible for both Dire Straits and Phil Collins. Would be interested on the thoughts of more recent attendees of concerts at AAMI as to whether this has improved at all.
Doubt that most who went to Robbie Williams went for the music though :)
I saw Dire Straits and ELO at Footy Park and they were not good concerts for the reason you mentioned, as well as the thousands that go who just can't sit in the one spot for 2 hours - that gives me the heebie geebies.
That said, at Footy Park if you are up close you do not get sound problems - I found this at the Elton John concert with the MSO in the 80's.
Ford Fairlane
11 Dec 2006, 17:21
Bruce Springsteen, Telstra Dome, 20 March 2003.
Macca19
11 Dec 2006, 18:37
Saw Elton John on Saturday and he was fantastic. No bells and whistles...just him and his band playing all his classics.
Of all the older concerts ive been to (early 90s), Dire Straits was great in 91. Phil Collins was awesome in about 93ish. Billy Joel and Elton were great together in about 98. Even saw Roxette in 91 just after they really hit the big time.
dreamkillers
11 Dec 2006, 18:54
Just 3 to start with and I'll add more on the weekend......just got to get the grey matter ticking over as I'm sure I'll be able to add at least 20+ shows to the following.........
The best being Ben Harper headlining the East Coast Roots and Blues Festival at Byron Bay in 2001 followed by Pink Floyd at Thebby Oval and AC/DC at Globe Derby the week after..............
The performance by Ben Harper on the second to last and last night of the festival was the best concert musically I've ever seen whilst the Pink Floyd show was the best overall show by a long way.
The festival at Byron Bay over Easter in 2001 is also the best music festival I've ever been to given it opened myself up to plenty of new musicians I'd never heard before as well as getting to see some old favourites.
thesouthernend
13 Dec 2006, 17:04
Saw Elton John on Saturday and he was fantastic. No bells and whistles...just him and his band playing all his classics.
Of all the older concerts ive been to (early 90s), Dire Straits was great in 91. Phil Collins was awesome in about 93ish. Billy Joel and Elton were great together in about 98. Even saw Roxette in 91 just after they really hit the big time.
Billy Joel was by far the better performer, blew the audience away IMHO
Santos L Helper
13 Dec 2006, 20:26
hmm, gotta get the old thinking cap on with this one
1: The Prodigy @ Thebby 1998
2: LTJ Bukem @ Traffic 2004
3: Wheres The Pope? @ Enigma 2005
4: James Holden @ Skylab 2003
5: Lucien Foort @ Two Tribes 2004
6: The Prodigy @ Two Tribes 2005
7: Fear Factory @ Thebby 2001
8: Slayer/Machine Head @ Thebby 2001
9: LTJ Bukem @ Rush 2002
10: EZ Rollers @ Enchanted 2002
11: Jurassic 5 @ Thebby 2003
12: Ugly Ducklings @ Minke 2003
I am indeed honored.
Arsene Wenger
16 Dec 2006, 11:01
U2 and Robbie this year were great and Pearl Jam in 97 was awesome at thebarton oval. Except the greeks ran out of booze halfway thru the concert !! not that i was allowed to drink then anyway.
Sarah Brightman.
Neil Diamond.
Black Sabbath
Lovelace Watkins
Not really a concert but The Phantom of the Opera was brilliant.
dreamkillers
18 Dec 2006, 11:25
Black Sabbath
Which version and where and when....??
Toots Hibbert
18 Dec 2006, 14:37
What does it matter? Black Sabbath were terrible. :thumbsd:
Of the so-called big three heavy rock groups of the late sixties early seventies Led Zeppelin>>>>>>> Deep Purple>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>Black Sabbath
dreamkillers
18 Dec 2006, 15:01
What does it matter? Black Sabbath were terrible. :thumbsd:
Of the so-called big three heavy rock groups of the late sixties early seventies Led Zeppelin>>>>>>> Deep Purple>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>Black Sabbath
That's your opinion of which you are entitled to just as I'm entitled to my own opinion.........I'd have the original Black Sabbath way in front of any version of Deep Purple and even further in front with some of the latter glam garbage they came out with.
As for why does it matter......well I want to know what the line up was, when it was and where they played so I asked the question........ok??
Who's Black Sabbath?
Deep wha?
Led whatsamadoosit?
Leaping Lindner
18 Dec 2006, 15:13
That's your opinion of which you are entitled to just as I'm entitled to my own opinion.........I'd have the original Black Sabbath way in front of any version of Deep Purple and even further in front with some of the latter glam garbage they came out with.
As for why does it matter......well I want to know what the line up was, when it was and where they played so I asked the question........ok??
I can only think of two Black Sabbath tours..
1971 with Osbourne at the MYPONGA Festival:eek: :D (anyone remember those purple stickers advertising this?)
and in 1980 or there abouts with Ronnie Dio.
You'd imagine 71 would have been the one to see.
For what it's worth. My top 5 (not in order)
The Buzzcocks (Old Lion 1992)
The Stooges (BDO 2006)
Radio Birdman (The Palace 1996)
TISM (Dom Polski 1993(?))
Iggy Pop/Nick Cave/Sonic Youth (BDO 1993)
Toots Hibbert
18 Dec 2006, 15:14
That's your opinion of which you are entitled to just as I'm entitled to my own opinion.........
It was just my way of expressing how much I detest that band. As you say each to their own.
turbo182
18 Dec 2006, 15:20
Blink 182
BINGO.
Others that were close
MY CHemical Romance - Hifi Bar in mlebourne
Alkaline Trio/Taking Back Sunday - Fowlers
Rise Against - Fowlers
Flogging Molly/Story Of The Year - Thebby
Angel and Airwaves - Festival Hall in melbourne
Greenday, Jimmy Eat World and My CHemical Romance @ Telstra Dome.
dreamkillers
18 Dec 2006, 16:46
1971 with Osbourne at the MYPONGA Festival:eek: :D (anyone remember those purple stickers advertising this?)
and in 1980 or there abouts with Ronnie Dio.
The Stooges (BDO 2006)
That Myponga Festival was supposed to be something different........:D
Unofortunately I was only 4 or 5 at the time and my parents wouldn't have went anywhere near it.
That Buzzcocks show at the Old Lion was pretty good even if the memory is a bit hazy from it..........:D
dreamkillers
18 Dec 2006, 16:48
It was just my way of expressing how much I detest that band. As you say each to their own.
Which really has nothing to do with the topic - Best concerts attended
Sometimes it's much better to say nothing than 'not' add to the topic being discussed but feel free to create a new thread discussing bands you de-test.
Leaping Lindner
18 Dec 2006, 18:03
That Myponga Festival was supposed to be something different........:D
Unofortunately I was only 4 or 5 at the time and my parents wouldn't have went anywhere near it.
That Buzzcocks show at the Old Lion was pretty good even if the memory is a bit hazy from it..........:D
Damn those evil bar staff at the Old Lion forcing you to drink.:p
portentous
18 Dec 2006, 18:06
Hubby and #1 son are off to BDO in January-their first BDO ever. Any tips for surviving over 12 hours of music? I just hope that it's not over about 30 degrees or they'll fry.
BDO is pretty easy if you've got your wits about you. Just take hat (prepare to lose), sunscreen and at least $80 for t-shirt and sustenance. Also, they will probably have the most efficiently good time if they start with Poly & the Statics at 10am :thumbsu:
My memory is not what it use to be but it was in the early 70s out at Myponga i think with Ozzie Osborne still in the band, we had to hitch-hike out there & to be honest i can't remember too much about the concert due to the sun & flies :D
& i definitely have no idea how or when we got back home.
One other concert i went to a couple of years ago was the David Bowie latest gig which was a bit of a disappointment.
1971 with Osbourne at the MYPONGA Festival:eek: :D (anyone remember those purple stickers advertising this?)and in 1980 or there abouts with Ronnie Dio.
The Stooges (BDO 2006)
Don't remember the stickers or too much else but was you there LL ??
Ronnie James Dio had the better voice but old Ozzie was a showman & knew how to play up to the crowd. :thumbsu:
Leaping Lindner
19 Dec 2006, 11:11
Don't remember the stickers or too much else but was you there LL ??
Ronnie James Dio had the better voice but old Ozzie was a showman & knew how to play up to the crowd. :thumbsu:
Alas I was a bit young but my older cousin ,who was a bit of a hippy went. God knows what he made of Black Sabbath being a hippy :D .
IIRC Daddy Cool played Myponga just before they were big and if you've ever seen The Eagle Rock filmclip I believe the live footage in it is actually taken at Myponga. That's if I remember correctly.
The stickers I talk of were the size of a beer coaster, purple and white in colour, and featured a drawing of a hippy chick riding a frog (WTF?) - far out and groovy man.
I also remember there being an uproar in the Adelaide media at the time about the sanitary conditions and basically alluding to the fact that all the punters were "filthy hippies". You've got to love conservative media.
Leaping Lindner
19 Dec 2006, 11:19
Hubby and #1 son are off to BDO in January-their first BDO ever. Any tips for surviving over 12 hours of music? I just hope that it's not over about 30 degrees or they'll fry.
Don't worry too much about #1 son. I'm guessing he is at an age where he is indestructable (or at least thinks he is):D . I'm guessing hubby is about my vintage so my advice would be pace yourself. Lots of water and not too many beers. If you drink too much early you are wasted later in the day (when the good bands are on) and depending on your age you pay for it for days after :D (especially if it's 30 degrees plus).
I went to the first BDO at Adelaide Uni and it was 43 degrees :eek:. Seriously!
I didn't get there until just before Sonic Youth played (about 3.3opm) and drank lots of water and took it very easy. I ran into friends who'd been there since opening and started drinking early and they were gone (to put it mildy).
portentous
19 Dec 2006, 18:01
#1 son is prone to sunburn easily and #1 husband is prone to not noticing it happen!
I know they'll have an awesome time, but I'll hear them moaning about it for days afterwards if they don't look after themselves. Hate it when males have a minor ailment!
missionpossible
20 Dec 2006, 11:41
#1 son is prone to sunburn easily and #1 husband is prone to not noticing it happen!
I know they'll have an awesome time, but I'll hear them moaning about it for days afterwards if they don't look after themselves. Hate it when males have a minor ailment!
this raises some issues that need to be covered
#1 son I understand
BUT
#1 husband, would you like to enlighten us as to who #2 is. You may wish to refresh your knowledge of the laws of this great land of ours.
"Hate it when males have a minor ailment"
I hate it when the women refuse to kiss it better ;)
this raises some issues that need to be covered
#1 son I understand
BUT
#1 husband, would you like to enlighten us as to who #2 is. You may wish to refresh your knowledge of the laws of this great land of ours.
"Hate it when males have a minor ailment"
I hate it when the women refuse to kiss it better ;)
Two words.=
Flower Power.
portentous
20 Dec 2006, 15:00
Share the love hey noddy? :)
PowerKat
21 Dec 2006, 11:18
Kiss @ Adelaide oval 1980? My first ever concert
Midnight Oil @ Memorial drive 1980something
Dire Straits @ Memorial drive - 1983-ish
Greenday @ ent centre 2006
Quite a few great acts at BDOs throughout the nineties.
If I went through my ticket stubbs I'm sure there would be a couple more to add to the list but the above 4 are certainly amongst the best.
I loved concerts at Memorial Drive - great venue.
I quite enjoyed DS @ footy park - I was close to the front though. I think the sound there can be quite different depending on where you are in the stadium. At U2 a few friends went for a wander and came back saying that the sound sucked elsewhere. I remember seeing the Rolling Stones there and didn't enjoy it at all. Not a big Stones fan, but the sound was crap from where we were.
You Am I always put on a good show. I've seen them 4 times i think. Rocketscience at the BDO a few years ago were great. Augie March are a top live band.
The first gig i saw was Gerling at the Enigma bar about 6 years ago i think, that a was a pretty fun show from what i remember. Something for Kate were great at Heaven.
Worst i've seen: Interpol. I love their music, but if they had any less energy or enthusiasm they'd have resembled jelly that can wobble to a rhythm. At one point, half way through a song, the vocalist stopped and told someone at the front to stop clapping to the music.
I saw Pearl Jam a couple years ago at the EC. A bit meh. But then, i was in a balcony.
On a side note: Best comedy concert i've been to = Tripod at the fringe in 2003 (i think?) The one that they scripted about robots and computer games or something ;) Brilliant
blackdiamond
23 Dec 2006, 04:08
Best Concert: Midnight Oil
Best Comedy: Puppetry of the Penis
birdmanptr
23 Dec 2006, 10:07
Kiss @ Adelaide oval 1980? My first ever concert
Midnight Oil @ Memorial drive 1980something
Dire Straits @ Memorial drive - 1983-ish
Greenday @ ent centre 2006
Quite a few great acts at BDOs throughout the nineties.
If I went through my ticket stubbs I'm sure there would be a couple more to add to the list but the above 4 are certainly amongst the best.
I loved concerts at Memorial Drive - great venue.
I quite enjoyed DS @ footy park - I was close to the front though. I think the sound there can be quite different depending on where you are in the stadium. At U2 a few friends went for a wander and came back saying that the sound sucked elsewhere. I remember seeing the Rolling Stones there and didn't enjoy it at all. Not a big Stones fan, but the sound was crap from where we were.
Agree thats where i saw the best Jimmy Barnes concert 1987
also saw Chisel and AC/DC at Apollo basketball stadium
Captain Sensible
23 Dec 2006, 10:53
The Stooges (BDO 2006)
As usual LL your taste is spot on.
-Not a festival goer
-Seen 1000s of bands in my lifetime
-It was about 30, 000 degrees celsius
-Most of the crowd had little idea
But The Stooges were the single greatest thing I have ever seen.
I think the White Stripes had the least enviable job ever having to walk on stage after Ig and the boys had finished.
The Rolling Stones at Footy Park - 1995
Alice Cooper at Footy Park - 1977. After intermission Alice came on stage wearing a Port gurnsey, and an omen it was !
MrMeaner
4 Jan 2007, 07:46
Radio Birdman (BDO c1996)
Pearl Jam (Memorial Drive 1995)
Dirty Three (Forum Theatre 2006)
Pavement (The Old Lion c 1994/5)
MrMeaner
4 Jan 2007, 07:52
I wish that I had made it to that BDO. Was that the one that the Disposable Heroes of Hiphoprisy also played?
I was just out of High School and was about the only one of my group of firends without a purely bogan taste in music (Metallica, Iron Maiden, maybe Nirvana at a stretch and not much else) so I couldn't find anyone to go with. I remember listening to parts of it on JJJ and kicking myself for not just going.
captain ebert
4 Jan 2007, 07:52
Kiss @ Adelaide oval 1980?
i completely agree. KISS are easily right up there with any band in the world in terms of great live performances - they are tight.
i have a few mates that work for music mags & also play in bands - they went to the last KISS concert in sydney only because they had free tickets - they said they wouldnt have bothered otherwise - well, they were blown away, & admitted that it was as though they had gone to their very first real rock concert - they just couldnt believe a band could be that good live & now have genuine respect for a band they once laughed off.
i pity those that never got to see KISS play live.
metallica at summer sonic in tokyo was awesome.
Leaping Lindner
4 Jan 2007, 08:36
I wish that I had made it to that BDO. Was that the one that the Disposable Heroes of Hiphoprisy also played?
I was just out of High School and was about the only one of my group of firends without a purely bogan taste in music (Metallica, Iron Maiden, maybe Nirvana at a stretch and not much else) so I couldn't find anyone to go with. I remember listening to parts of it on JJJ and kicking myself for not just going.
That's the one. Iggy Pop got up and sang "Foxy Lady" with the Disposable Heroes of Hiphoprisy which was a magic moment.
Where's the Pope? also played at that BDO but it was a good day anyway ;) :p
Did you see Radio Birdman at the BDO in Melbourne or Adelaide?
MrMeaner
4 Jan 2007, 08:59
Did you see Radio Birdman at the BDO in Melbourne or Adelaide?
Adelaide.
I have only been to one BDO in Melbourne - 2002. Since then, I have gone off the big festivals a bit. I would like to get down to Meredith at some stage though.
Adelaide.
I have only been to one BDO in Melbourne - 2002. Since then, I have gone off the big festivals a bit. I would like to get down to Meredith at some stage though.
Yeah, Meredith is a real festival, no advertising, byo, more appreciative audience, better acts
Wishinman
15 Jan 2007, 16:23
Radio Birdman (BDO c1996)
Agree 100%. Was the best mosh i have ever been involved in. When they played New Race, i went from the back to the front, back to the back and then back to the front in the space of 30 seconds.
Saw them again at Heaven in 97, and they were no where near as good, although i still enjoyed the concert.
Armed & Dangerous
16 Jan 2007, 11:32
BEST CONCERTS
1. Pink Floyd - The Barton Oval 1988
2. ZZ Top - Memorial Drive 1987
3. KISS - Ent Cent. 2002? They must've been brilliant back in 1980 coz they were still dedicated to giving the fans their money's worth in 2002. Wasn't expecting them to develop as much passion 20+ years on. And many of the fans wore their KISS makeup and clothing that looked like the real thing! Amazing spectacle. When they tour again "do yourself a favour."
4. U2 - Apollo 1984
Memorial Drive w BBK 1989?
Zoomerang tour 1994. Bono called up G. Cornes and he had the audacity to ask what they were doing on HIS oval!
5. Midnight Oil - Memorial Drive 1986?
6. Red Hot Chillies - Ent Cent - 1992? (BSSM tour)
7. Beth Orton - BDO 2000 Wayville. Chemical Bros played the same gig but it just looked like two guys sending E-Mails to one another.
8. John Cougar Mellencamp - Memorial Drive 1988. Surprisingly good performance.
9. Jimmy Barnes - Memorial Drive 1987? Concert was cut short to 45 mins after rain made conditions dangerous for the performers. Barnesy was the last to leave, not happy with the end result and screamed "Build me a F*****g entertainment centre" Be nice if it was utilised for what it was built for - more headline performers in winter.
10. Outbreak - Crown & Anchor 2005. Funky little band that played music that bypassed the brain and went straight to the feet.
WORST CONCERTS
1. Dire Straits - 1985. Poor sound, going through the motions, crap australiana themed back up band that gained no interest or momentum.
2. AC/DC - 1993? The second concert ever held at the ent cent. Most who went say it was the first, considering that honour went to a conglomeration of Australian bands that was headlined by the ever-retiring John Farnham. Anyway you get into the venue and no passouts are issued period. There is only light beer available, or champagne. Everyone on the ground during the concert wasnt able to leave the vicinity of their seats. There were large walkways with lots of security to keep the crowd orderly? Did they not trust us to have a sensible good time? The whole night was overly controlled and a pathetic way to hold an AC/DC concert!
1988 at Globe Derby had poor sound unless you were up close.
3. Fleetwood Mac 1989. I hate bands that rock up for one night and just simply go through the motions.
4. Men At Work - 1983. The Barton Town Hall. Going through the motions. Dull, drab, lifeless.
5. ASO plays the classics - 2003 Festival Theatre. They advertised playing the classic music from the screen. The Magnificent Seven (the highlight of the night as it turned out to be. Would be good if they'd finished with it instead of starting with it.) and other movies that also included Ennio Morricone's theme to The Good, The Bad and The Ugly. This was the main reason of my attending this event and it was never played. Very dissapointed.
birdmanptr
25 Jan 2007, 17:02
BEST CONCERTS
9. Jimmy Barnes - Memorial Drive 1987? Concert was cut short to 45 mins after rain made conditions dangerous for the performers. Barnesy was the last to leave, not happy with the end result and screamed "Build me a F*****g entertainment centre" Be nice if it was utilised for what it was built for - more headline performers in winter.
May 87 that was as the previous 2 shows to that one was late 86 at the old Adelaide Uni and rained both Sat and Sun.
Late 87 at the drive was his best concert as it was the release of freight train heart first time we saw the show open with driving wheels
portentous
2 Feb 2007, 17:45
I had a message from hubby to say that #1 son and his mate were in the mosh pit when Butterfly Effect were on. Hate to think how hot and sweaty they'll be when they get home. I'm sure they've had an awesome time though and will get the full details when they get home late tonight.
Why did it have to be so hot today though??
I had a message from hubby to say that #1 son and his mate were in the mosh pit when Butterfly Effect were on. Hate to think how hot and sweaty they'll be when they get home. I'm sure they've had an awesome time though and will get the full details when they get home late tonight.
Why did it have to be so hot today though??
I think that my daughter is in there as well - I'm not sure if it would be a good thing if they bumped into teach other.:eek:
portentous
4 Feb 2007, 15:04
My son's mate got his head in the Tiser yesterday, but not my son. Thankfully my son had enough sense to get out of there before it got even hotter.
They had mixed ideas on the bands though-were far from impressed with the Killers, but said Muse and Eskimo Joe were awesome. (we've seen Muse and EJ Live before and they were awesome then too) Son enjoyed Jet but hubby wasn't overly impressed with them. They both said that Evermore were awful but it's probably just their taste in music. All said that Tool were great but My Chemical Romance weren't that flash.
Just 3 to start with and I'll add more on the weekend......just got to get the grey matter ticking over as I'm sure I'll be able to add at least 20+ shows to the following.........
The best being Ben Harper headlining the East Coast Roots and Blues Festival at Byron Bay in 2001 followed by Pink Floyd at Thebby Oval and AC/DC at Globe Derby the week after..............
The performance by Ben Harper on the second to last and last night of the festival was the best concert musically I've ever seen whilst the Pink Floyd show was the best overall show by a long way.
The festival at Byron Bay over Easter in 2001 is also the best music festival I've ever been to given it opened myself up to plenty of new musicians I'd never heard before as well as getting to see some old favourites.
For a Port man you have good taste ( in music ) I have been to the last 7 Blues and Roots festivals and they are bloody brilliant. I am so pissed off this year as it is sold out.
Oh well Eric Clapton tomorrow night and Crosby Stills and Nash next week will take some of the pissed offishness away.
Hodges 153!
7 Feb 2007, 08:35
Oh well Eric Clapton tomorrow night and Crosby Stills and Nash next week will take some of the pissed offishness away.
You might want to confirm that one...
IIRC a snippet in the paper yesterday said that has been postponed until December....
You might want to confirm that one...
IIRC a snippet in the paper yesterday said that has been postponed until December....
Thanks mate. Yes, I was told by a mate in Adelaide yesterday.David Crosby must be replacing another internal organ:D
russellthemuscle
8 Feb 2007, 16:06
:confused: Faith No More early 90's, Le Rox. Outstanding.
dreamkillers
8 Feb 2007, 17:35
:confused: Faith No More early 90's, Le Rox. Outstanding.
If that was the show before most people knew them I was there as well.........it was a great show.
pjcrows
23 Feb 2007, 17:00
Pearl Jam - Adelaide Night 1 2006
Pearl Jam - Brisbane Night 1 2006
Pearl Jam - Adelaide Night 2 2006
Pearl Jam - Perth 2006
Pearl Jam - Melbourne Night 2 2006
Pearl Jam - Brisbane Night 1 2003
Pearl Jam - Brisbane Night 2 2006
Pearl Jam - Melbourne Night 1 2006
Pearl Jam - Adelaide 2003
Pearl Jam - Melbourne Night 1 2003
:p
portentous
23 Feb 2007, 19:00
Groupie.
Even Barnesy at his worst could still perform while under the influence.....I'd prolly dispute that. I was at a Cold Chisel concert in the Mayo refectory at Adelaide Uni in about 1986/7 when Barnsey proceeded demolish most of a bottle of Vodka, then to make some slurred comments about the "f'n c's up the back...something something...f'n c's up the front", and then just leave the stage and piss off. The band had to carry on without him - Mossy did Georgia, but needless to say, it was a short show.
Concerts schmoncerts.
Give me a Rave anytime.
Ultrasonic at the Brickworks in '99.
izzyskint
6 Mar 2007, 21:25
Iron Maiden x2 both awesome wish they'de come back here again!!:thumbsu:
Guns'nRoses
Offspring
Status Quo (was smashed BUT IT WAS A GOOD SHOW i THINK)
Kiss (meh)
U2 x2 (what was I thinking??)
Yngwie J Malmsteen (Awesome):thumbsu:
Meatloaf
Moody Blues (Brilliant)
Skid Row
ELO
Dire Straits (meh)
Bob Dylan (was so smashed I saw 3 of him strumming)
PAFC2004
8 Mar 2007, 14:41
Green Day - 2005
Eagles (2004?)
Reel Big Fish 2003, 2005, 3 weeks time! :D
Cat Empire, 2006
Since my last post, Muse @ BDO in 06 and Kanye/Lupe Fiasco/Gnarls Barkley at in Las Vegas for Chinese New Year probably situate in the top 3 or 4.
RED HOT CHILI PEPPERS, last night.
Say what you will about the latest album, they still know how to put on a show.
Wishinman
15 Jun 2007, 20:13
Sabbath are coming back to Oz without Ozzy in August. Playing Thebby on August 5th with Dio at the front.:thumbsu::)
silverfingers
4 May 2008, 00:25
Be interested to hear your favourite / best concert you've ever been to?
I guess my top few would be, in no particular order -
bob dylan, burswood casino - 2001.
fleetwood mac, adelaide oval - 2004
joan armatrading, burswood casino - 2001
john mayer, adelaide enter. centre - 2004
david byrne, adelaide enter. centre - 2002
tracey chapman, adelaide festival theatre - 1996
19 April, 1992 - Drove from Adelaide to Melbourne to see Prince @ The Tennis Centre...
Still the best concert I've been to...
dyertribe
4 May 2008, 01:15
Lo-Tel, Big Star basement, 2001.
And it still didn't get me laid.
BomberAce7
4 May 2008, 01:59
Kiss 2001
MannumPower
5 May 2008, 14:41
Bryan Adams in 92 or 93
the Wiggles 05
dyertribe
5 May 2008, 21:40
Lo-Tel, Big Star basement, 2001.
And it still didn't get me laid.
I can't believe I haven't received a single PM offering a sympathy root.
PS- I am awesome.
PowerKat
5 May 2008, 22:45
since my last post
-Muse @ BDO
-Ben Folds with the ASO @ festival theatre
dreamkillers
5 May 2008, 22:58
I can't believe I haven't received a single PM offering a sympathy root.
The Wiggles left a room no. for you...........:p
Short_shorts
6 May 2008, 01:34
All in the last couple of years:
U2
The Police
Gwen stefani
BDO
Soundwave
Most recent Korn
and so much more!
Campbell's Chunky
6 May 2008, 01:36
since my last post
-Muse @ BDO
-Ben Folds with the ASO @ festival theatre:thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:
PowerKat
6 May 2008, 15:40
since my last post
-Muse @ BDO
-Ben Folds with the ASO @ festival theatre
Unbelievable - I forgot RATM @ BDO 08 *smacks forehead*
PowerKat
6 May 2008, 15:52
:thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:
:thumbsu: saw them at the Ent Cent as well but the atmosphere there generally sux and so I reckon the BDO gig was better for that reason
Midnight Oil, Heaven 2002 :thumbsu:
blackdiamond
9 May 2008, 08:21
Midnight Oil but for concerts of a different kind....... Poetry of the Penis.
A Bit High
9 May 2008, 11:56
In not particular order -
Midnight Oil late (80's early 90's) - Oils Strike Now tour - Memorial Drive, there was even a lightning storm that night (Blue Sky Minning album cover)
Metallica - Black album tour 1993 - Adelaide Entertainment Centre
ACDC - Razors Edge tour 1991 - Adelaide Entertainment Centre
Kiss Symphony 2003- Telstra Dome, Melbourne
Iron Maiden 2007 - Acer Arena, Sydney
cooperjai
9 May 2008, 21:58
All 80's concerts...
David Le Roth at the Thebby...true showman, great concert.
Pink Floyd at Thebby oval....awesome show.
Bon Jovi at Memorial Drive....the best concert ever. came out for the encore and did "Shout", the best I've ever heard it. Getting in for free was a great start to a great night.
John Cougar Mellencamp at Memorial Drive ( I think).....great music.
Def Leppard at the Entertainment centre.....another great show.
My 1st concert was INXS at Footy Park, a fun night out with mates, nothing spectacular.