View Full Version : Best cover version of a song.
What would be your favourite cover version of a song, that has been released by a band?
One of mine would be "Landslide", as done by Smashing Pumpkins - originally done by Stevie Nicks/Fleetwood Mac. The band orginally released the cover as a b-side to the 'Disarm' single in the U.K.
It's available on the Pisces Iscariot album (1994), which is a collection of b-sides and out-takes by the band up until that point in time.
Danny Chook Fan Club
7 Mar 2002, 15:29
Twist And Shout - The Beatles
Heroes - Oasis
The Hitman
7 Mar 2002, 15:43
The Drugs Don't Work - Ben Harper
F*ckin' Up - Pearl Jam
Keep on Rockin' in the Free World - Pearl Jam
The Hitman
faith- limp bizkit
and the cheesiest would be:
no scrubs- incubus
man on the moon- incubus
Mooster7
7 Mar 2002, 16:22
'The Killing Floor' is a great Blues standard. Lot's of people have covered that one. Led Zeppelin did the best one IMO when they re-worked it as 'The Lemon Song' on LZ2.
Jimi Hendrix cover of Bob Dillan's 'All Along the Watchtower' is an absolute favorite.
When I'm working in a band, the sets are primarily covers. I like to do these two I just mentioned - and a host of others.
Peace,
Foo Fighters "Baker St"
What a riff!! Seriously great song though
The Beach Boys - 'Why Do Fools Fall In Love'
carneagles
7 Mar 2002, 18:16
Cake's version of "I Will Survive"
Mr. Blonde
7 Mar 2002, 18:58
I can't remember the name of this band I saw at the Bonnie Doon pub a few years ago but they played an awesome version of the theme from "Different Strokes".
"What you talk'n 'bout Willis?"
Living Colour's version of the Prince song 17 Days. Much better than the original.
Followed by Dr Evil's What If God Was One Od Us by Joan Osbourne.
Hmmmmmmmm so many good ones to choice from.....give me more time......
At the moment I don't mind Marilyn Mansons version of Tainted Love (and I generally hate Manson - so it must be good!).
However, the worst HAS to be when that group - ummm All Saints was it????? totally tore to shreds Under The Bridge :mad:
Guns n Roses - Knocking on Heavens Door. I LOVE IT - from all the cover songs i can remember, it is the only song which is better than the original.
Shinboners
7 Mar 2002, 21:29
Every track on the "Step Right Up" album. It was a tribute album to Tom Waites.
I also liked the Dead Kennedy's version of "Viva Las Vegas"
The Hippie
7 Mar 2002, 21:39
Tesla's version of 'Signs', an old Five Man Electrical Band song.
And Joe Elliot and Phil Collen of Def Leppard joined up with a couple of original Spiders from David Bowie's early days and covered a heap of classic Bowie songs, Moonage Daydream was the pick of those covers.
Mr Eagle
7 Mar 2002, 22:07
Hitman said it - Pearl Jam doing Neil Young's "Rockin' In The Free World".
Honourable mentions:
Live's cover of "I Walk The Line"
Something For Kate doing "Genie In a Bottle"
Rolf Harris's remarkable version of "I Touch Myself"
Originally posted by carneagles
yes, i love that one..
cibo matto's version of nirvana's 'About a girl'
lemonheads' doing simon & garfunkel's 'Mrs Robinson'
jimmy barnes doing abba's dancing queen... (kidding)
The_Flying_Egg
7 Mar 2002, 23:20
Whiskey in a Jar - Metallica
Turn the Page - Metallica
Astronomy - Metallica
Hey Hey My My (Neil Young) - Oasis
Rockin in the free world (Neil Young) - Pearl Jam
****in' up - Pearl Jam (I luv Neil Young Covers)
Helter Skelter (Beatles) - Oasis
Daytripper (Beatles) - Oasis with Eddie Vedder (a perfect combination)
Last Kiss - Pearl Jam
And all Frank Bennett covers. Specially Betterman and Disarm
Brod Smith and Doug Parkinson's version of 'Sun aint gonna shine anymore'.
Doug Parkinson's 'Dear Prudence'.
Collen Hewitts 'Day by day'.
Jebs have a few good covers, they covered...
Midnight Oil's - When the Generals Talk
SFK's - Clint
Flock of Seagulls - I Ran
Done a couple of other covers...Hungry Like the Wolf which i think was a Duran Duran original and they covered Simple but i cant remember who originally did it. Any help would be appreciated.
Rusty Brookes
8 Mar 2002, 07:36
Originally posted by The_Flying_Egg
Whiskey in a Jar - Metallica
Turn the Page - Metallica
Astronomy - Metallica
Hey Hey My My (Neil Young) - Oasis
Rockin in the free world (Neil Young) - Pearl Jam
****in' up - Pearl Jam (I luv Neil Young Covers)
Helter Skelter (Beatles) - Oasis
Daytripper (Beatles) - Oasis with Eddie Vedder (a perfect combination)
Last Kiss - Pearl Jam
And all Frank Bennett covers. Specially Betterman and Disarm
I'd be interested to hear Metallica's version of Astronomy by the Blue Oyster Cult-one of my favourite all time bands. I love Neil Young's songs as they are: he is so ramshackle that no-one I have heard can get the feel of his songs.
Anyway my favourite cover versions are: MC5 -I Want You originally by the Troggs, Stepping Stone by the Sex Pistols originally by the Monkees and Space is the Place by Antiseen (southern redneck punk rockers) originally done by wacked out jazz psycho Sun Ra (which is an amazing concept when you think about it)
Wall of Voodoo's cover of teh Beach Boys classic "Do it Again". It's not offen anyone out does the Beach Boys.
Theres a guy out the Guidal yankavic (sp.) whos a pisser. Has covers of Nirvanas teen spirit (smells like nirvana), Michael jacksons bad (fat), chilli peppers give it away (yabaa daba doo)and others which are really funny.
Cheers
Pointy Birds
8 Mar 2002, 08:50
The Stranglers and their searing version of "Walk On By".
Yes, definitely Cake's "I Will Survive".
Devo's "Satisfaction"
Talking Heads "Take Me to The River"
Hunters and Collectors "Stuck on You"
Um, probably heaps more.
Originally posted by blueworms
Theres a guy out the Guidal yankavic (sp.) whos a pisser. Has covers of Nirvanas teen spirit (smells like nirvana), Michael jacksons bad (fat), chilli peppers give it away (yabaa daba doo)and others which are really funny.
Cheers
You mean Weird Al Yankovic? Yeh, he's cool.
My fav's: Jeff Buckley - Halleluja (Leonard Cohen)
Nick Cave & Die Haut - Pale Blue Eyes (The Loved Ones)
Primal Scream did 'Kick Out the Jams' live when I saw em
Faith No More - Easy
Mr Bungle - Welcome Back Kotter
One of the best covers I have heard is Brian Wilson's cover of the Barenaked Ladies song 'Brian Wilson'. :) Showing his unrivalled sense of humour.
Another good one is Carl Wilson's awesome cover of 'Rockin All Over The World'
I'm with Mooster,
Hendrix's cover of All Along The Watchtower is a brilliant cover.
Come to think of it, most covers of Dylan songs turn out better than the originals, but this one is the standout.
Originally posted by Mr Eagle
Hitman said it - Pearl Jam doing Neil Young's "Rockin' In The Free World".
Honourable mentions:
Live's cover of "I Walk The Line"
Something For Kate doing "Genie In a Bottle"
Rolf Harris's remarkable version of "I Touch Myself"
Like Eagle Fan said, SFK's version of Genie In a bottle, tragic vocals the first time you hear it but gets better, I also like their covers of Harpoon and Dreamworld. There's a couple of good song's on Andrew Denton's Musical Challenge cds. Alex Lloyd's Mysterious Ways, Barenaked Ladies' When Doves Cry, Neil Finn's Sexual Healing are a few that come to mind with a special mention to The Cruel Sea's version of Loving You (Tex Perkins - classic).
Cats In The Cradle - Ugly Kid Joe
Teenage Dirtbag - Adam Brand (Denton's Musical Challenge)
JubJub and I went to a Jimmy Barnes gig at the Barooga Sporties a couple of years ago. When Barnesy started singing Dancing Queen, we couldn't believe what we were hearing.
After listening to Andrew Denton's Musical Challenge a few times, the song has grown on me.
Worst covers:
Madonna should be shot for what she did to American Pie.
Lee Kernaghan's crappy version of Copperhead Road.
The Hitman
9 Mar 2002, 06:00
Originally posted by Sly77
However, the worst HAS to be when that group - ummm All Saints was it????? totally tore to shreds Under The Bridge :mad:
Agree with that. I have always said that they should be hung, dawn, and quatered for what they did to one of the best songs ever. You just don't do that. :mad: :(
The Hitman
Tori Amos does a couple of really good covers ... Smells Like Teen Spirit and Losing My Religion.
Originally posted by PeteLX
Jeff Buckley - Halleluja (Leonard Cohen)
[/B]
Spooky............I have that song on right now. I didn't know it was a re-make.
I love Suspicious Minds by Fine Young Cannibals. Way better than dumb Elvis! :eek:
Reel Big Fish - Take On Me
New Found Glory - My Heart Will Go On
Less Than Jake - Summer Nights
Rusty Brookes
10 Mar 2002, 11:20
Originally posted by mandy5
I love Suspicious Minds by Fine Young Cannibals. Way better than dumb Elvis! :eek:
Some respect for the King please-Fine Young Cannibals-pfff!
The Judas Priest and Black Sabbath tribute albums have some very good covers on them. Tribute albums are usually pretty ordinary, but there's a few belters on those. Heaven's Gate do a great version of Priest's "The Sentinel" and Megadeth's versions of Sabbath's "Paranoid" and "Never Say Die" are good too.
Deep Purple started their career with several covers on their early albums, including Neil Diamond's "Kentucky Woman" and (dunno the artist) "Hey Joe" which has an interesting Spanish guitar bit at the start.
Santana did such a good job with Peter Green's "Black Magic Woman" that it has become his signature tune, and most people don't realise it is a cover.
The Scorpions do a very good version of The Cars' "Drive" on their acoustic set "ACOUSTICA" from last year.
I think with more modern sounds, and with covers crossing different genres these days, the ratio of covers being better or worse is fairly even.
Stealth bomber
10 Mar 2002, 13:20
One of the best covers I have heard is Brian Wilson's cover of the Barenaked Ladies song 'Brian Wilson'. Showing his unrivalled sense of humour.
Being a BNL fan I'd really like to hear that.
Stealth bomber
10 Mar 2002, 13:30
Barenaked Ladies - Do They Know it's Christmas?
Red Hot Chili Peppers - Higher Ground and Love Rollercoaster
Van Halen - You Really Got Me
Lemonheads - Mrs. Robinson
Desredandwhite
10 Mar 2002, 14:53
Originally posted by Stealth bomber
Being a BNL fan I'd really like to hear that.
It's great!! though only a few seconds long - only really does the chorus
pretty easy to find that snippet on kazaa or morpheus.
Rusty Brookes
10 Mar 2002, 14:57
Originally posted by Darky
Deep Purple started their career with several covers on their early albums, including Neil Diamond's "Kentucky Woman" and (dunno the artist) "Hey Joe" which has an interesting Spanish guitar bit at the start.
I love Deep Purple's version of Hush as well. I didn't know Peter Green wrote Black Magic Woman. Is that the same Peter Green who was in Fleetwood Mac before they went AOR?
Originally posted by Rusty Brookes
I love Deep Purple's version of Hush as well. I didn't know Peter Green wrote Black Magic Woman. Is that the same Peter Green who was in Fleetwood Mac before they went AOR?
Yep same one. Obviously a very influential musician and writer, as Gary Moore did an entire album of Peter Green songs (Blues For Greeny, 1995 or 1996), and Judas Priest have long had Green's "The Green Manalishi" as part of their live set.
Originally posted by carneagles
Ditto. :)
When are Cake going to tour here dammit!
carneagles
11 Mar 2002, 16:59
Another great cover was the Ramones doing "Spider Man".
The Ramones also did a great cover of "Happy Birthday" on the Simpsons ... Monty Burns: "Have the Rolling Stones killed!"
Malibu, I'd go to see Cake if they toured. Fashion Nugget was a brilliant record
Yep, I loooove Daria (the song that is) :)
I've suddenly had a massive deja vu, and I'm wondering whether I've posted this exact post before, but really I have no memory, so probably not
Tori Amos - Smells like teen spirit
Jewel - Have a little faith in me
Fiona Apple - Across the Universe (okay, so it's not a good cover per se, but I can't stop listening to it.
lemonheads - mrs robinson
them - it's all over now baby blue (same as the fa one, it's probably not great
And the one that cracks me up, Sesame cover of the Beatles Let it Be titled "Letter B"
"Well I find I can't remember what comes after A or before C, my mama whispers to me Letter B"
Magpie-Fletch
11 Mar 2002, 18:36
Pennywise - Down Under.
Pennywise - Minor Threat.
RATM - The Ghost of Tom Joad.
RATM - How I could just kill a man.
Originally posted by Malibu
Ditto. :)
When are Cake going to tour here dammit!
sh1t yeah... thats one i'll be at for sure !~
Macca19
14 Mar 2002, 17:32
Favourite cover songs.....i have a few
Machine Head - Message In A Bottle isnt too bad
Korn - Earache My Eye is brilliant...especially with the band swapping instruments etc
Fear Factory - Dog Day Sunrise is brilliant
Coal Chamber - Shock The Monkey (featuring Ozzy) is catchy
basically the whole Renegades cd by Rage Against The Machine (specifically Pistol Grip Pump and Ghost of Tom Joad)
Disturbeds version of Shout (shout, shout, let it all out, these are the things we can do with out come on....im talking to you.....) is ok
Maralyn Mansons new version of Tainted Love is awesome i reckon as well
Factory 81's version of Insane In The Brain is different
but i two all time favourite cover songs:
Kittie covering Pink Floyds 'Run Like Hell' - its mindblowingly brilliant
and the best one....Kill II This version of 2 Tribes - download it, or buy the Trinity cd....its brilliance!!!!!
The best cover version I've ever heard, compared to the original, is "Live and Let Die" by the Guns and Roses. Much better than Paul and Linda McCartney's original (sorry to all the hippies out there).
Oh, and because I'm a big Oils fan, "Real Thing".
The Hippie
15 Mar 2002, 22:39
Originally posted by madboy
(sorry to all the hippies out there).
Dammit, I really am going to have to copyright this name, I could be making a fortune in royalty's. :D ;)
AT VANCE do a great version of Abba's "The Winner Takes It All". Just recently discovered it.
I heard punky version of 99 Luft Balloons on Triple M earlier today. It was by a band called Goldfinger and jumps from the English to German and back to English lyrics and is a bit of fun.
It turns out that its from the Not Another Teen Movie soundtrack from which everyone's probably already heard Marilyn Manson's Tainted Love & Good Charlotte's If You Leave. I really want to get a listen of this soundtrack because it's got Scott Wieland and Stabbing Westward also doing 80's covers.